Halston Heritage

New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(30)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
Too baggy, not flattering

Even with 4L, it was too baggy at the chest, and not flattering at the waist and hip either. Slit looks nice on the model, but in real life when standing still this just looks like a plain black dress with few details to make it attractive. Perhaps an even smaller size would have worked? Would not rent again... Good thing this was the back up dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
Elegant, simple yet sexy

I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it turned out great! I was super nervous about ordering a size 0R for a back up size, but I am very glad I did. The size 2 was huge (unwearable) on me - especially in the chest area. The material is stretchy so it hugged my midsection perfectly, and flowed very nicely. I wore 2.5 inch heels with the dress to make the length perfect on me. It was elegant yet sexy because of the high slit - which I loved! Felt great wearing it. You do need to think about the slit while sitting, etc bc it is so high.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
I could not recommend this dress any more. I felt like a model rocking this gown, it fit perfectly!

This dress is gorgeous, it definitely runs a little big so I highly suggest getting a size smaller than you would usually wear. I'm usually a size 6 and the 4R fit me perfectly! However, if you have any problem areas like I do (I've got a little cellulite on the top of my thighs), definitely definitely invest in Spanx! The dress is pretty slinky, but it's super flattering. I was complimented all night and the slit makes it SO much better. I wish I could buy this dress!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
October 20, 2014
Didn't work.

Unfortunately the 4r arrived torn- something happened in shipping, but I tried it on anyway as this was my original first choice. The fit was REALLY unflattering on me. The bust was huge, the waist was small (pinched a little almost giving me a weird muffin top) and the armhole in the top was tight., yet the sheer material was weirdly loose over my bust . Luckily my backup worked out like a dream, so I didn't bother with this one.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 24, 2013
The dress was perfect -- very flattering fit and the slit made it sexy but in a classy way.

I tried on an 8L at the NYC showroom but my stylist suggested getting the 6L as a back-up as she thought it looked a little big. I thought it fit fine, but when I got both the 6L and the 8L I agreed that the 6L looked more flattering. I am usually a size 8 and generally have to go up to a 10 if I need a different size -- I never wear 6's -- so I would say this dress runs small. I think it's because the fabric is quite stretchy.

JennyJune 24, 2013
Were you able to wear heels with this dress?
EsaJune 24, 2013
If you normally wear an 8/10 but were able to wear a 6 in this dress, I would think that the dress ran big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2014
Too small

Pretty dress but got the 6 after reading thr reviews, for me it ran small, I probably needed the 10. :(. Better luck next time. This was my first dress that didn't fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2013
Stylist Review!

This is such an easy and elegant black tie option! The material has stretch to it and was very comfortable. The detail around the waist was so flattering and this could work on a variety of body types. Simple and gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
April 24, 2013
Beautiful dress with just a couple of issues

The style of this dress is gorgeous, and I think it would be flattering on a variety of body types. You do need to be aware of a couple of things, though. As I think other reviewers have said, this dress is super-long. I've always needed the "long" option when I've rented before, so that's what I went with this time (because I really didn't want to risk getting a dress that's too short). But the semi-sheer overlay fabric is very long. I had to gather it up in order to walk. The other thing about the overlay -- I was glad it was there, because that is one high, wide slit! The overlay fabric does make it much more modest, but if the fabric moves, be ready to show off your legs! Overall, I was very pleased with the look of the dress -- it was great for the very formal affair I was attending. I just found myself a little uncomfortable as I dealt with the length of the overlay fabric and the slit.

Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 1, 2013
Tons of compliments!!!!

The dress fit perfectly. I expected it to be long, but it wasn't so long that it impeded me having a great time. Once I went into my flats, it was stepped on a few times. I also ordered the 12, as I sometimes need the bigger dress for my bust, but I got into the 10 with no problem! I received many compliments, so, thank you, RTR!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2013
I felt like an old Hollywood Starlet

This dress is stunning!! I got so many compliments. The overlay really adds a layer of intrigue and it fit perfectly. The slit is just enough to add some drama without being over the top. Just a stunning dress all around!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 7, 2013
Rented this dress for a formal dinner/dancing evening - it is just spectacular. Felt beautiful!

It is a tad long (I am 5'*' and wore 3" heels, plus it has a (gorgeous) train - so dancing became a bit of an issue. However, the fabric is simply stunning, flows beautifully and the fit is very flattering.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 16, 2014
It was a beautiful dress

I loved the little extras that came with the dress, to help the fit be perfect. The dress was beautiful and I received many comments on it throughout the night. I would recommend this site to anyone!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
January 20, 2014
This dress was simple, yet elegant and so comfy!

I had read all the reviews but was nervous because most of the reviews were not for my size and I was sure that this dress just wasn't going to fit. But it did! If you wear a 12 in GAP or Old Navy jeans and have a larger chest size, this dress will fit you! I usually have to worry about "side boob" hanging out when wearing one shoulder dresses, but did not have a problem at all in this dress. Even with lots of movement, the dress stayed in place. Phew! I did not wear spanx and was still secure throughout the night that my stomach wasn't puffy b/c the dress wasn't tight around the waist/hips. I am 5'7 and had on 3 inch heels and the 14L was still longer than I'd like but I doubt I could go 14R. Just a heads up, when you are standing around and it's crowded, someone could easily be standing on the train so be aware of that before you walk off! Loved the dress and will definitely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2014
So classy and beautiful

The dress was a fun, beautiful and young dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended. I received a ton of compliments. The only complaint I have is the dress was a little long on my 5'4 frame. Other then the length I felt beautiful.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 17, 2014
This dress was so fab!!

I thought it was very true to size, no real cons!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190lbs
March 26, 2014
Very sleek high fashion dress

Dress was perfect for this formal event. But was great that it also had sex appeal as well with the leg. side do for the hair also worked well. Needed 1 size up to add the length.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress, easy to wear!

Following other reviews, I ordered the 2R. The dress has some stretch and the chiffon overlay is flattering. I needed 4" heels to walk comfortably and there was still a little train. The slit was about mid-thigh. I felt like a star walking around the dinner with the dress flowing behind me! Tons of compliments, would definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Not my favorite...

As others have pointed out, this runs long. Even w/ 3+ inch heels, it was dragging the ground. I ended up going with my back-up dress, as this just didn't wow me once I put it on. Also, the one I received was really stretched out in the chest area, so I'm not sure it would've stayed up all night. The dress was comfortable, but just didn't have that punch for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
April 13, 2014
Very cute dress.

Flattering dress. Split is not as high as the picture. Lots of compliments.

Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
April 20, 2014
They had my back when I needed a third option to choose from when the other dresses didn't fit

The dress was beautiful and perfect for the occasion

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
July 7, 2014
Felt amazing all night with room the dance!

This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding i attended. Not only did I feel like a million bucks but the dress was comfortable and slit allowed me to bust out my crazy dance moves all night long. I high recommend this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 9, 2014
Loved this dress! Perfect for my black tie wedding.

Dress fit perfectly. Long slit made it super sexy & stretchy material made this so comfortable! A bit roomy in the bust, but I knew that based off of other reviews I read. I'm 5'4 and wore 3" heels. Dress just barely touched the ground so length was perfect. Would definitely recommend for a black tie or formal affair!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2014
Understated elegance!

Loved this dress! Being almost 5'9" I was concerned with length. This dress was perfect in the L version and I wore 3" heels! I loved the simplicity and elegance. It is made of jersey knit so I did wear spanx to reduce panty lines. Hangs nicely and was so comfortable. I fit both the 4l & 6l but opted for the 6l for a little extra breathing room.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable, tre chic!

I'm 5'8 and worried about the length with heels. I would have liked it 1-2 inches longer (the Long wasnt available so I got a 8R) but it totally worked. I had to stand up at my sisters wedding 4 months after having a baby and this was flattering, comfortable and really worked perfectly on the areas I was self conscious about. I think this would be a stunning dress at any size and the detailing of the sheer overlay made it very special. I had tons of compliments and felt great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 4, 2014
Not flattering

This dress was beautiful but the fabric is not forgiving. It was very stretchy but the top was so loose I didn't wear it for fear of it falling down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2014
This dress was amazing, I wanted to keep it!

Fit was excellent, and as others have stated, the top runs a little large. This actually was the reason I ordered this dress, My girls are fairly large and they FIT! Dress also has a bit of a stretch which was fantastic. The 8 and 10 both were just a tad short, they didn't hit the ground in heels, but totally overlookable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2015
Stunning

This was my back up dress and ended up being my main dress for the night. Absolutely loved it. The model picture doesn't do this dress justice. I cannot say it enough but I really really loved it. I'm 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels and it just touched the floor with my heels on, which I love because its hard to find long dresses for tall girls like me along with high heels thrown in the mix. I definitely recommend this dress. PS the slit is amazing

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 1, 2013
So so easy! Beautiful dress, process was surprisingly simple! I would definitely rent again!

I wore this to a black tie affair. Bust part was a little big but it didn't matter because the netting overlay covered things nicely and was so flattering. The slit was fantastic - just sexy enough to be fun but not overly high. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I felt very comfortable and confident! Thank you for such a painless process!!!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding, and it was absolutely perfect!

I normally wear a 4L, and this dress fit true to size. I'm 5'8" and wore around 4 inch heels to the event, and the dress was perfectly skimming the ground. The slit isn't as wide as on the model, and I found that it was the perfect little "wow" factor for this dress! The only issue that I had was with the bust, but I think that it was only for this specific dress. Someone much larger than me on top had worn this dress before and stretched out the bust underneath the sheer shoulder. However, two pieces of fashion tape fixed it right up, and I didn't have a single issue with it that night! I received so many compliments for what I was wearing that night. I absolutely loved this dress and will definitely rent it again for another black tie event!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 25, 2014
Everyone raved about the gown and the jewelry- all were rented from RTR.

Ordered the 8R and 6L (out of 6R), and ended up wearing the 6L. Overall fit was great. I am curvy on the hips, but small on the bust, so the top was a bit lose on me. Ended up using fabric tape to keep the top attached to my bra. Wore with 3" heels, and gown draped beautifully on the floor.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2013
I received compliments all night

I felt the size was true. The material is clingy and with my tummy pooch a size smaller would have looked terrifying. It is a bit long though. I'm 5'5'' and with 3 inch platform pumps the dress still drug a bit.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2013
Perfect dress for a black tie affair

I'm 5'9 and wore 4.5" heels, and the dress still hit the floor/was a bit long. Other than that, it was a perfect dress for an elegant event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2014
Elegant and classy

Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding it made me look very elegant and classy. I made an updo and long chandelier earings. It was perfect!

ChristineMarch 24, 2014
Hi Marianna - have the same measurements as you do - I usually wear a 6, but believe there is no way I could get a 2 on - does the dress run that big?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 9, 2014
Overall great dress...lots of compliments

This dress was the perfect length for me and the slit was just right. The picture doesn't show that there actually is fabric covering the slit so it only shows when you are walking which was fine with me. I don't normally wear spanx and because I did I think it bunched a little on the back side under my arms. Other than that I received so many compliments and felt very comfortable in the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 164lbs
September 7, 2014
Great dress that looks elegant.

This dress has a great fit and is true to size. It runs a bit long though so I did have to keep picking it up so people wouldn't step on it.

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 166lbs
February 7, 2017
dress was beautiful

Dress ran true to size. Very long. I am 5'10 and 167. I wore heels and it still was long enough. Loved it.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×