Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

74 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 28
Large 40
Photos 43
Natalie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

Rented for a charity dinner and auction. I looked and felt great. Many compliments, great night.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Originally reading the sizing chart, I was worried about the R length w/ 4 inch heels since I"m 5'9. Dress still had pooling and I had to watch my train in the crowd. I was let down with the fit top of the dress. I'm 36D and did not fill out the top. Thank goodness for a safety pin and double sided tape! All was well hidden by the fabric that comes up over the shoulder though
Faith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 23, 2013

Pretty, but HUGE!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is forgiving, but definitely not for short people. At 5' even with 3" heels, I had about a foot of dress behind me. It also fits really, really big. I usually wear an 8, but I was swimming in it. The 6 was large too, but fit a little better. There is no support at all, so a good strapless bra is a must. The part that drapes over your shoulder is also really wide.
Inslee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this for the event, but can provide what I thought about it!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very large in the bust!
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 26, 2013

Didn't end up wearing this dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Both of the sizes I ordered were a bit oversized and the fit was off
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

I received many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4", 115 pounds and normally wear a size 2-4 in formal dresses. I wore a size 2 in this dress, and it fit me a little loose. In particular I had plenty of extra room in the bust and tummy area. It is a stretchy fabric, so it has plenty of give. Also, I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was slightly sweeping the floor (luckily not enough to trip over it).
CherylR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 24, 2013

Beautiful dress with just a couple of issues

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The style of this dress is gorgeous, and I think it would be flattering on a variety of body types. You do need to be aware of a couple of things, though. As I think other reviewers have said, this dress is super-long. I've always needed the "long" option when I've rented before, so that's what I went with this time (because I really didn't want to risk getting a dress that's too short). But the semi-sheer overlay fabric is very long. I had to gather it up in order to walk. The other thing about the overlay -- I was glad it was there, because that is one high, wide slit! The overlay fabric does make it much more modest, but if the fabric moves, be ready to show off your legs! Overall, I was very pleased with the look of the dress -- it was great for the very formal affair I was attending. I just found myself a little uncomfortable as I dealt with the length of the overlay fabric and the slit.
Cassie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Classic, simple and easy to wear dress made prom a breeze!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The long was just long enough with my 4 in heels, and the slit up the front was sexy but classy, not trashy. Fit well around my wide hips, but even the two was too big around my waist and chest- I had to safety pin! Overall a very nice dress. I will rent from this company again!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

super big in the chest

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a large chest (30G) but this dress was HUGE up top. I had to safety pin it to keep it up (my other two dresses being unwearable, I was stuck) - it just seemed the top was way out of proportion to the rest of the dress. I might have been able to wear one size down, but honestly the dress wasn't that big elsewhere. Not sure if its stretched out from other wearings. It did not have any structure up top - boning or whatnot. It was very pretty and a nice length. I wore heels but didn't have to put on anything too tall.
Camoura
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
May 1, 2013

Tons of compliments!!!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. I expected it to be long, but it wasn't so long that it impeded me having a great time. Once I went into my flats, it was stepped on a few times. I also ordered the 12, as I sometimes need the bigger dress for my bust, but I got into the 10 with no problem! I received many compliments, so, thank you, RTR!!!
ALB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
May 1, 2013

I received compliments all night

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt the size was true. The material is clingy and with my tummy pooch a size smaller would have looked terrifying. It is a bit long though. I'm 5'5'' and with 3 inch platform pumps the dress still drug a bit.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

I received so many compliments on this dress. It instantly makes you feel sexy and glamorous.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am tall for a women and this dress was still long with heels on.
KatieKates
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 19, 2013

I left this dress on the hanger...

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the sheer shoulder was lost on me. Also i have a petite frame and the fit seemed a bit awkward for my build. I am sure it is a beautiful dress for the right person, just on me i am glad i had a backup.
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Sep 30, 2013

Went with a different dress from RTR and loved it!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress but runs BIG. I normally wear a 4 and ordered the 4L but it was very big in the chest. There was a lot of extra material and I would have been better off with the 2L but the backup size was not available.
Ms Toni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 26, 2013

Didn't wear it!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was my original choice for a formal event. However, after getting a call from Rent The Runway, I learned that it was returned to them "damaged beyond repair" so I ended up selecting a different dress. However, I DID get one of this one sent to me, in a size 12. It actually had great stretch to it, and usually wear size 14 so I was pleased that I could fit it pretty well. I just ended up going with my second selection, but this was still lovely on. I would suggest that this be worn at an outside, day/afternoon event. Or at least at a venue that's lit very well. I felt like the darkness at the formal event would have left the sheer panel detail uneasily detected. And that's part of the charm of this dress.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Perfect dress for a black tie affair

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'9 and wore 4.5" heels, and the dress still hit the floor/was a bit long. Other than that, it was a perfect dress for an elegant event.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jan 16, 2014

It was a beautiful dress

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the little extras that came with the dress, to help the fit be perfect. The dress was beautiful and I received many comments on it throughout the night. I would recommend this site to anyone!
Lin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Pretty dress but got the 6 after reading thr reviews, for me it ran small, I probably needed the 10. :(. Better luck next time. This was my first dress that didn't fit.
Tina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

I was so busy being gorgeous with this dress that I did not get a photo.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size six but because of read reviews I went to 2L and it was perfect. Stunning dress!
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

I wore this dress to an awards ceremony. It was a classy dress and I received plenty of compliments.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Even though the dress is beautiful it fits rather large in the bust. I normally were a size 4L, in this case I had to order a 2L to fit the bust. It didn't fit snug but I am the only one who noticed.
crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2014

Elegant

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this gown for a formal Gala fundraising event and it was breath taking. The gown runs large so might order your size and one smaller. But what a wonderful choice for any formal event!
Jill
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Feb 25, 2014

Very beautiful dress. Have to work to show that much leg.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a beautiful dress. If you have a pear shaped body, order for your top size-- it is plenty roomy on bottom.
Taty_BC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

I got so many compliments and could see the look of amazement on people's faces !

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It Fits a tiny bit large, because I normally wear a size 2 but wore the size 0. This may be because the fabric was strechy, which takes me to my second point. In the picture, the dress looks like it has some volume and hold to it from the waist down, but in person it's pretty flat; hence the 4 stars. Now the top is actually prettier in person, and if you are looking for a bit of a wow factor, know that you will get it from the detail on the top instead of the volume on the bottom. It was also really long, I am 5.2" and wore 5" heels and it was still way too long, so I had to use hemming tape to fix this. If you are short, I would definitely recommend investing in some hemming tape (they offer it on rtr) and getting it two days before your event, cuz it needs fixing. But overall, it was a great dress and I really did get a bunch of compliments on it, and felt amazing. I also want to say that the service is great and they make everything so easy. If you are hesitant about renting, know that you are in good hands :).
Grace
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Mar 17, 2014

This dress was so fab!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought it was very true to size, no real cons!
Marianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Elegant and classy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding it made me look very elegant and classy. I made an updo and long chandelier earings. It was perfect!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Not my favorite...

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
As others have pointed out, this runs long. Even w/ 3+ inch heels, it was dragging the ground. I ended up going with my back-up dress, as this just didn't wow me once I put it on. Also, the one I received was really stretched out in the chest area, so I'm not sure it would've stayed up all night. The dress was comfortable, but just didn't have that punch for me.
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Very cute dress.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Flattering dress. Split is not as high as the picture. Lots of compliments.
amanda
Age: 28
Apr 20, 2014

They had my back when I needed a third option to choose from when the other dresses didn't fit

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful and perfect for the occasion
gellybear
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Too baggy, not flattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Even with 4L, it was too baggy at the chest, and not flattering at the waist and hip either. Slit looks nice on the model, but in real life when standing still this just looks like a plain black dress with few details to make it attractive. Perhaps an even smaller size would have worked? Would not rent again... Good thing this was the back up dress.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Elegant, simple yet sexy

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it turned out great! I was super nervous about ordering a size 0R for a back up size, but I am very glad I did. The size 2 was huge (unwearable) on me - especially in the chest area. The material is stretchy so it hugged my midsection perfectly, and flowed very nicely. I wore 2.5 inch heels with the dress to make the length perfect on me. It was elegant yet sexy because of the high slit - which I loved! Felt great wearing it. You do need to think about the slit while sitting, etc bc it is so high.
Krizia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I couldn't use this style for my event

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to return this style for another because both sizes I chose ran large. The 2 was big and unflattering on my frame so I didn't even attempt the 4. Unfortunately the 0 was unavailable so I had to chose another style that worked for my body.
Becky
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 23, 2014

I could not recommend this dress any more. I felt like a model rocking this gown, it fit perfectly!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous, it definitely runs a little big so I highly suggest getting a size smaller than you would usually wear. I'm usually a size 6 and the 4R fit me perfectly! However, if you have any problem areas like I do (I've got a little cellulite on the top of my thighs), definitely definitely invest in Spanx! The dress is pretty slinky, but it's super flattering. I was complimented all night and the slit makes it SO much better. I wish I could buy this dress!!
Roni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Overall great dress...lots of compliments

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the perfect length for me and the slit was just right. The picture doesn't show that there actually is fabric covering the slit so it only shows when you are walking which was fine with me. I don't normally wear spanx and because I did I think it bunched a little on the back side under my arms. Other than that I received so many compliments and felt very comfortable in the dress.
Tami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 168 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Great dress that looks elegant.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress has a great fit and is true to size. It runs a bit long though so I did have to keep picking it up so people wouldn't step on it.
Karla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 9, 2015

Classic

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It is light and softly fitting. The off the shoulder style is not over done in the dress. It truly is a classic. The only issue was that I accidentally ordered a long size and am 5'-2. It dragged too much. I did not end up wearing it but will rent again in the appropriate length.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×