New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size29
Small2
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2014
Very beautiful dress. Have to work to show that much leg.
This was a beautiful dress. If you have a pear shaped body, order for your top size-- it is plenty roomy on bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Elegant
Wore this gown for a formal Gala fundraising event and it was breath taking. The gown runs large so might order your size and one smaller. But what a wonderful choice for any formal event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2014
I wore this dress to an awards ceremony. It was a classy dress and I received plenty of compliments.
Even though the dress is beautiful it fits rather large in the bust. I normally were a size 4L, in this case I had to order a 2L to fit the bust. It didn't fit snug but I am the only one who noticed.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2014
I was so busy being gorgeous with this dress that I did not get a photo.
I usually wear a size six but because of read reviews I went to 2L and it was perfect. Stunning dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2014
Too small
Pretty dress but got the 6 after reading thr reviews, for me it ran small, I probably needed the 10. :(. Better luck next time. This was my first dress that didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
January 20, 2014
This dress was simple, yet elegant and so comfy!
I had read all the reviews but was nervous because most of the reviews were not for my size and I was sure that this dress just wasn't going to fit. But it did! If you wear a 12 in GAP or Old Navy jeans and have a larger chest size, this dress will fit you! I usually have to worry about "side boob" hanging out when wearing one shoulder dresses, but did not have a problem at all in this dress. Even with lots of movement, the dress stayed in place. Phew! I did not wear spanx and was still secure throughout the night that my stomach wasn't puffy b/c the dress wasn't tight around the waist/hips. I am 5'7 and had on 3 inch heels and the 14L was still longer than I'd like but I doubt I could go 14R. Just a heads up, when you are standing around and it's crowded, someone could easily be standing on the train so be aware of that before you walk off! Loved the dress and will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 16, 2014
It was a beautiful dress
I loved the little extras that came with the dress, to help the fit be perfect. The dress was beautiful and I received many comments on it throughout the night. I would recommend this site to anyone!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2013
Perfect dress for a black tie affair
I'm 5'9 and wore 4.5" heels, and the dress still hit the floor/was a bit long. Other than that, it was a perfect dress for an elegant event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2013
Didn't wear it!
This dress was my original choice for a formal event. However, after getting a call from Rent The Runway, I learned that it was returned to them "damaged beyond repair" so I ended up selecting a different dress. However, I DID get one of this one sent to me, in a size 12. It actually had great stretch to it, and usually wear size 14 so I was pleased that I could fit it pretty well. I just ended up going with my second selection, but this was still lovely on. I would suggest that this be worn at an outside, day/afternoon event. Or at least at a venue that's lit very well. I felt like the darkness at the formal event would have left the sheer panel detail uneasily detected. And that's part of the charm of this dress.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 23, 2013
Beautiful dress and super easy process
My first RTR experience and it was perfect. The reviews are spot on, this dress runs big and is super long. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes an8 in formal attire. I have very broad shoulders so the top fit perfectly on me, I figured that would be the case given how big everyone else it would be. I had to get the 4L because the 4R was out it stock and finally just starting holding it on my arm at the end of the night because it was constantly getting stepped on. I am 5'6" with at least 3 inch heels on, the front was okay but the back and train were too long. Overall it was beautiful, I loved the fit, comfort and elegance of the dress. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2013
Rented this dress for a formal dinner/dancing evening - it is just spectacular. Felt beautiful!
It is a tad long (I am 5'*' and wore 3" heels, plus it has a (gorgeous) train - so dancing became a bit of an issue. However, the fabric is simply stunning, flows beautifully and the fit is very flattering.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
I loved wearing this dress. I felt sophisticated and comfortable.
It did run big as the reviews note, so instead of wearing a 6, I wore the 4L. It was long, but was supposed to be and I just had to make sure my date stopped stepping on the train ;-). The one thing which maybe because I am so self conscious... I felt that my stomach was sticking out a bit ( the material is forgiving, but there is not much structure in the waist so I felt like you can see my stomach, but it was not a deal breaker. This is a great gown for a black tie event. Adding a big necklace, I also think helped style it more since it is simple, but elegant!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
September 30, 2013
Went with a different dress from RTR and loved it!
Very pretty dress but runs BIG. I normally wear a 4 and ordered the 4L but it was very big in the chest. There was a lot of extra material and I would have been better off with the 2L but the backup size was not available.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
I left this dress on the hanger...
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the sheer shoulder was lost on me. Also i have a petite frame and the fit seemed a bit awkward for my build. I am sure it is a beautiful dress for the right person, just on me i am glad i had a backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 25, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress. It instantly makes you feel sexy and glamorous.
I am tall for a women and this dress was still long with heels on.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 24, 2013
The dress was perfect -- very flattering fit and the slit made it sexy but in a classy way.
I tried on an 8L at the NYC showroom but my stylist suggested getting the 6L as a back-up as she thought it looked a little big. I thought it fit fine, but when I got both the 6L and the 8L I agreed that the 6L looked more flattering. I am usually a size 8 and generally have to go up to a 10 if I need a different size -- I never wear 6's -- so I would say this dress runs small. I think it's because the fabric is quite stretchy.
JennySeptember 25, 2013
Were you able to wear heels with this dress?
EsaNovember 12, 2013
If you normally wear an 8/10 but were able to wear a 6 in this dress, I would think that the dress ran big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 18, 2013
Elegant yet sexy dress!!!
I wore this dress for a work event and received tons of compliments. It was comfortable and elegant. I ended up wearing the size 2 because the larger size was too big in the bust. My only complaint is that it was a bit too long in the back. I wore 4 inch heels and was stepping on the train most of the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 1, 2013
So so easy! Beautiful dress, process was surprisingly simple! I would definitely rent again!
I wore this to a black tie affair. Bust part was a little big but it didn't matter because the netting overlay covered things nicely and was so flattering. The slit was fantastic - just sexy enough to be fun but not overly high. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I felt very comfortable and confident! Thank you for such a painless process!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 176lbs
May 24, 2013
Very Classy & A Tad Bit Risque!
I went on my Senior prom and wore this dress. The model makes the dress look like it's satin or some stiffer fabric. It turns out the dress is jersey-knit and is a tad bit under whelming. The dress really does run large!! I swore I wore a size 12, I ended up ordering the 10 & the 12. Even the 10 was too big, I wish I would've ordered the 8. I did receive a lot of compliments. I'm happy with the choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2013
I felt like an old Hollywood Starlet
This dress is stunning!! I got so many compliments. The overlay really adds a layer of intrigue and it fit perfectly. The slit is just enough to add some drama without being over the top. Just a stunning dress all around!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Comfortable, and easy to wear
I ordered a 4L and it was perfect. I have a big chest and am always worried about things being too small up top and too big at the waist, but this dress was a perfect fit. I'm 5'6 and wore 3" heels, the 4L was the perfect lengeth.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
May 14, 2013
Fun party dress!
Great experience! The dress was fantastic. As noted by the other reviews it is a bit big in the bust and the shear overlay is very long. I wore with 3 inch heels and its was still on the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2013
Dress is sexy with the split. Overall fit was good, but too long.
Dress was too large in the bust area and really long, even with 3" heals, 4" would have been better. The look was still stunning, but better for someone taller and bustier. Did not end up being able to wear to the social, but this was the back up dress, so all was good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2013
I received compliments all night
I felt the size was true. The material is clingy and with my tummy pooch a size smaller would have looked terrifying. It is a bit long though. I'm 5'5'' and with 3 inch platform pumps the dress still drug a bit.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 1, 2013
Tons of compliments!!!!
The dress fit perfectly. I expected it to be long, but it wasn't so long that it impeded me having a great time. Once I went into my flats, it was stepped on a few times. I also ordered the 12, as I sometimes need the bigger dress for my bust, but I got into the 10 with no problem! I received many compliments, so, thank you, RTR!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
super big in the chest
I have a large chest (30G) but this dress was HUGE up top. I had to safety pin it to keep it up (my other two dresses being unwearable, I was stuck) - it just seemed the top was way out of proportion to the rest of the dress. I might have been able to wear one size down, but honestly the dress wasn't that big elsewhere. Not sure if its stretched out from other wearings. It did not have any structure up top - boning or whatnot. It was very pretty and a nice length. I wore heels but didn't have to put on anything too tall.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 29, 2013
Classic, simple and easy to wear dress made prom a breeze!
The long was just long enough with my 4 in heels, and the slit up the front was sexy but classy, not trashy. Fit well around my wide hips, but even the two was too big around my waist and chest- I had to safety pin! Overall a very nice dress. I will rent from this company again!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
Beautiful dress! Very comfortable and easy to move around in. Everyone loved the dress and earrings.
The fit in the bust is very large, but the jersey material stretches enough that you can wear a smaller size to compensate. I am 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length.
KarleyMay 7, 2014
What earrings did you wear?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
April 24, 2013
Beautiful dress with just a couple of issues
The style of this dress is gorgeous, and I think it would be flattering on a variety of body types. You do need to be aware of a couple of things, though. As I think other reviewers have said, this dress is super-long. I've always needed the "long" option when I've rented before, so that's what I went with this time (because I really didn't want to risk getting a dress that's too short). But the semi-sheer overlay fabric is very long. I had to gather it up in order to walk. The other thing about the overlay -- I was glad it was there, because that is one high, wide slit! The overlay fabric does make it much more modest, but if the fabric moves, be ready to show off your legs! Overall, I was very pleased with the look of the dress -- it was great for the very formal affair I was attending. I just found myself a little uncomfortable as I dealt with the length of the overlay fabric and the slit.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 2, 2013
I received many compliments on the dress.
I am 5'4", 115 pounds and normally wear a size 2-4 in formal dresses. I wore a size 2 in this dress, and it fit me a little loose. In particular I had plenty of extra room in the bust and tummy area. It is a stretchy fabric, so it has plenty of give. Also, I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was slightly sweeping the floor (luckily not enough to trip over it).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 26, 2013
Didn't end up wearing this dress
Both of the sizes I ordered were a bit oversized and the fit was off
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this for the event, but can provide what I thought about it!
Very large in the bust!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2013
Pretty, but HUGE!
The dress is forgiving, but definitely not for short people. At 5' even with 3" heels, I had about a foot of dress behind me. It also fits really, really big. I usually wear an 8, but I was swimming in it. The 6 was large too, but fit a little better. There is no support at all, so a good strapless bra is a must. The part that drapes over your shoulder is also really wide.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2013
Stylist Review!
This is such an easy and elegant black tie option! The material has stretch to it and was very comfortable. The detail around the waist was so flattering and this could work on a variety of body types. Simple and gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
March 10, 2013
Rented for a charity dinner and auction. I looked and felt great. Many compliments, great night.
Originally reading the sizing chart, I was worried about the R length w/ 4 inch heels since I"m 5'9. Dress still had pooling and I had to watch my train in the crowd. I was let down with the fit top of the dress. I'm 36D and did not fill out the top. Thank goodness for a safety pin and double sided tape! All was well hidden by the fabric that comes up over the shoulder though
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×