Halston Heritage

New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(30)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 9, 2014
Loved this dress! Perfect for my black tie wedding.
Dress fit perfectly. Long slit made it super sexy & stretchy material made this so comfortable! A bit roomy in the bust, but I knew that based off of other reviews I read. I'm 5'4 and wore 3" heels. Dress just barely touched the ground so length was perfect. Would definitely recommend for a black tie or formal affair!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2014
Understated elegance!
Loved this dress! Being almost 5'9" I was concerned with length. This dress was perfect in the L version and I wore 3" heels! I loved the simplicity and elegance. It is made of jersey knit so I did wear spanx to reduce panty lines. Hangs nicely and was so comfortable. I fit both the 4l & 6l but opted for the 6l for a little extra breathing room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 30, 2014
This was a great dress for a black tie affair! I felt very elegant and comfortable all evening
After reading lots of reviews I decided to get and 8 and a 10 . I have put on some weight this past year so I probable wear a size 10 in an everyday dress. As the reviews said it runs large. I found the 10 to have too much length in the bodice and the chest area. I wore the 8L with spanx it looked nice. IT WAS VERY LONG... I am 5'9 and I wore 3 inch heals and it was dragging all night. Even if you're tall and you wear heels I suggest the regular length. The material around the chest was also very generous so definitely rent smaller!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable, tre chic!
I'm 5'8 and worried about the length with heels. I would have liked it 1-2 inches longer (the Long wasnt available so I got a 8R) but it totally worked. I had to stand up at my sisters wedding 4 months after having a baby and this was flattering, comfortable and really worked perfectly on the areas I was self conscious about. I think this would be a stunning dress at any size and the detailing of the sheer overlay made it very special. I had tons of compliments and felt great!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2014
Black tie gala event in Atlanta and the dress was perfect!
I based my size choice on the reviews and almost could have gone down two sizes. The fit is somewhat forgiving as it is a stretchy material. I felt elegant but understated and it fit the occasion perfectly. I am slightly less than 5'4" and wore 3 inch heels. It resulted in a small 'train' behind me which my husband only stepped on twice. There was no dancing which could have been tricky. I am anywhere from a 6 to an 8 to a 10 depending on style and fabric. The 8 worked. The best part was that no one else was wearing the same dress. This was my first time so I will definitely do it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 12, 2014
This dress was really comfortable and soo elegant.
I just had a baby, so the fact that the bust was roomy was appreciated! The detailing around the middle also helped camoflauge my post-baby belly. It helped me feel super glamorous at a time when I'm feeling frumpy and lumpy!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2014
The dress was a great hit for the black tie event. Very classy and simple.
I normally wear 6 but 4L worked great. The dress is very simple but a great fit that highlights the curve. This was my first experience with RTR but won't be last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 4, 2014
Not flattering
This dress was beautiful but the fabric is not forgiving. It was very stretchy but the top was so loose I didn't wear it for fear of it falling down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2014
This dress was amazing, I wanted to keep it!
Fit was excellent, and as others have stated, the top runs a little large. This actually was the reason I ordered this dress, My girls are fairly large and they FIT! Dress also has a bit of a stretch which was fantastic. The 8 and 10 both were just a tad short, they didn't hit the ground in heels, but totally overlookable.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful black dress!
I think this would flatter any shape. It is very comfortable. Beautiful elegant black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 21, 2015
Pretty
This is a very simple gown, but it was still very elegant and I felt great in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2015
Stunning
This was my back up dress and ended up being my main dress for the night. Absolutely loved it. The model picture doesn't do this dress justice. I cannot say it enough but I really really loved it. I'm 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels and it just touched the floor with my heels on, which I love because its hard to find long dresses for tall girls like me along with high heels thrown in the mix. I definitely recommend this dress. PS the slit is amazing
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2013
Dress is sexy with the split. Overall fit was good, but too long.
Dress was too large in the bust area and really long, even with 3" heals, 4" would have been better. The look was still stunning, but better for someone taller and bustier. Did not end up being able to wear to the social, but this was the back up dress, so all was good.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 176lbs
May 24, 2013
Very Classy & A Tad Bit Risque!
I went on my Senior prom and wore this dress. The model makes the dress look like it's satin or some stiffer fabric. It turns out the dress is jersey-knit and is a tad bit under whelming. The dress really does run large!! I swore I wore a size 12, I ended up ordering the 10 & the 12. Even the 10 was too big, I wish I would've ordered the 8. I did receive a lot of compliments. I'm happy with the choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 1, 2013
So so easy! Beautiful dress, process was surprisingly simple! I would definitely rent again!
I wore this to a black tie affair. Bust part was a little big but it didn't matter because the netting overlay covered things nicely and was so flattering. The slit was fantastic - just sexy enough to be fun but not overly high. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I felt very comfortable and confident! Thank you for such a painless process!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2013
Elegant yet sexy dress!!!
I wore this dress for a work event and received tons of compliments. It was comfortable and elegant. I ended up wearing the size 2 because the larger size was too big in the bust. My only complaint is that it was a bit too long in the back. I wore 4 inch heels and was stepping on the train most of the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
I loved wearing this dress. I felt sophisticated and comfortable.
It did run big as the reviews note, so instead of wearing a 6, I wore the 4L. It was long, but was supposed to be and I just had to make sure my date stopped stepping on the train ;-). The one thing which maybe because I am so self conscious... I felt that my stomach was sticking out a bit ( the material is forgiving, but there is not much structure in the waist so I felt like you can see my stomach, but it was not a deal breaker. This is a great gown for a black tie event. Adding a big necklace, I also think helped style it more since it is simple, but elegant!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 23, 2013
Beautiful dress and super easy process
My first RTR experience and it was perfect. The reviews are spot on, this dress runs big and is super long. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes an8 in formal attire. I have very broad shoulders so the top fit perfectly on me, I figured that would be the case given how big everyone else it would be. I had to get the 4L because the 4R was out it stock and finally just starting holding it on my arm at the end of the night because it was constantly getting stepped on. I am 5'6" with at least 3 inch heels on, the front was okay but the back and train were too long. Overall it was beautiful, I loved the fit, comfort and elegance of the dress. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2014
Amazing dress. Loved it.
After reading the reviews, I ordered the 4 & 2 (I'm between a 4/6) glad I ordered a smaller size, the dress ran large. It was an amazing dress & the fit of the 2L was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
June 4, 2014
The dress was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended.
I'm normally a 10 but the dress ran a little bit so I was able to fit into the 8. It has a little spandex in it so it was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding, and it was absolutely perfect!
I normally wear a 4L, and this dress fit true to size. I'm 5'8" and wore around 4 inch heels to the event, and the dress was perfectly skimming the ground. The slit isn't as wide as on the model, and I found that it was the perfect little "wow" factor for this dress! The only issue that I had was with the bust, but I think that it was only for this specific dress. Someone much larger than me on top had worn this dress before and stretched out the bust underneath the sheer shoulder. However, two pieces of fashion tape fixed it right up, and I didn't have a single issue with it that night! I received so many compliments for what I was wearing that night. I absolutely loved this dress and will definitely rent it again for another black tie event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 25, 2014
Everyone raved about the gown and the jewelry- all were rented from RTR.
Ordered the 8R and 6L (out of 6R), and ended up wearing the 6L. Overall fit was great. I am curvy on the hips, but small on the bust, so the top was a bit lose on me. Ended up using fabric tape to keep the top attached to my bra. Wore with 3" heels, and gown draped beautifully on the floor.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2015
Great dress for a NYE celebration
This dress was perfect for the event. Very elegant and I got a ton of compliments! I typically wear a size 4, although ordered a 2 because other reviews said it ran large. Luckily the 2 fit because the 4 was a bit more worn. The dress was a little long for me, even with 3" heels, so it dragged on the floor a bit. Other than that, it was a great dress and RTR has been a wonderful experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 30, 2015
Customer service ON FLEEK
Pretty but wouldn't rent again… The skirt kept rotating to the side a little bit and even though I was wearing 3 inch heels, the skirt still seemed long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 29, 2013
Classic, simple and easy to wear dress made prom a breeze!
The long was just long enough with my 4 in heels, and the slit up the front was sexy but classy, not trashy. Fit well around my wide hips, but even the two was too big around my waist and chest- I had to safety pin! Overall a very nice dress. I will rent from this company again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
super big in the chest
I have a large chest (30G) but this dress was HUGE up top. I had to safety pin it to keep it up (my other two dresses being unwearable, I was stuck) - it just seemed the top was way out of proportion to the rest of the dress. I might have been able to wear one size down, but honestly the dress wasn't that big elsewhere. Not sure if its stretched out from other wearings. It did not have any structure up top - boning or whatnot. It was very pretty and a nice length. I wore heels but didn't have to put on anything too tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2013
I received compliments all night
I felt the size was true. The material is clingy and with my tummy pooch a size smaller would have looked terrifying. It is a bit long though. I'm 5'5'' and with 3 inch platform pumps the dress still drug a bit.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2013
Perfect dress for a black tie affair
I'm 5'9 and wore 4.5" heels, and the dress still hit the floor/was a bit long. Other than that, it was a perfect dress for an elegant event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2014
Elegant and classy
Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding it made me look very elegant and classy. I made an updo and long chandelier earings. It was perfect!
ChristineApril 15, 2014
Hi Marianna - have the same measurements as you do - I usually wear a 6, but believe there is no way I could get a 2 on - does the dress run that big?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
Too baggy, not flattering
Even with 4L, it was too baggy at the chest, and not flattering at the waist and hip either. Slit looks nice on the model, but in real life when standing still this just looks like a plain black dress with few details to make it attractive. Perhaps an even smaller size would have worked? Would not rent again... Good thing this was the back up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
Elegant, simple yet sexy
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it turned out great! I was super nervous about ordering a size 0R for a back up size, but I am very glad I did. The size 2 was huge (unwearable) on me - especially in the chest area. The material is stretchy so it hugged my midsection perfectly, and flowed very nicely. I wore 2.5 inch heels with the dress to make the length perfect on me. It was elegant yet sexy because of the high slit - which I loved! Felt great wearing it. You do need to think about the slit while sitting, etc bc it is so high.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
I could not recommend this dress any more. I felt like a model rocking this gown, it fit perfectly!
This dress is gorgeous, it definitely runs a little big so I highly suggest getting a size smaller than you would usually wear. I'm usually a size 6 and the 4R fit me perfectly! However, if you have any problem areas like I do (I've got a little cellulite on the top of my thighs), definitely definitely invest in Spanx! The dress is pretty slinky, but it's super flattering. I was complimented all night and the slit makes it SO much better. I wish I could buy this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 9, 2014
Overall great dress...lots of compliments
This dress was the perfect length for me and the slit was just right. The picture doesn't show that there actually is fabric covering the slit so it only shows when you are walking which was fine with me. I don't normally wear spanx and because I did I think it bunched a little on the back side under my arms. Other than that I received so many compliments and felt very comfortable in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 164lbs
September 7, 2014
Great dress that looks elegant.
This dress has a great fit and is true to size. It runs a bit long though so I did have to keep picking it up so people wouldn't step on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
October 20, 2014
Didn't work.
Unfortunately the 4r arrived torn- something happened in shipping, but I tried it on anyway as this was my original first choice. The fit was REALLY unflattering on me. The bust was huge, the waist was small (pinched a little almost giving me a weird muffin top) and the armhole in the top was tight., yet the sheer material was weirdly loose over my bust . Luckily my backup worked out like a dream, so I didn't bother with this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2015
Classic
I loved this dress. It is light and softly fitting. The off the shoulder style is not over done in the dress. It truly is a classic. The only issue was that I accidentally ordered a long size and am 5'-2. It dragged too much. I did not end up wearing it but will rent again in the appropriate length.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×