Nepal Sunset Gown

$70 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exude radiance in this flowing red gown by Halston Heritage. Layers of chiffon will have you ready to swirl around the dance floor! Really make it shine with accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Cuff.

Also available in black and emerald.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Front slit. Hidden side zip. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
637 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size370
Small178
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 7, 2016
Comfortable and beautiful dress
The dress fit perfectly, it was a little longer than expected but I wore heels so it was perfect. The movement of the dress is stunning, I got compliments all night. The chest was a little tight but it worked out so I didn't have to wear a bra. Very beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 5, 2016
The fit is overall nice. Tight on top, not for busty ladies.
Very pretty and moves well. Length perfect with kitten heel ( I'm 5'5"). I wear 34C and found it to be a little tight, I could not wear a bra with it. Three of us wore the dress for the bridal party and had the same complaint.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 3
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2016
The lady in red....show stopper!
Wore this to a formal Christmas party. The color red of this dress is the perfect red! The fabric was beautiful & fit true to size. Only thing is the Regular length dragged even with high heels. Could not improve upon the length if you choose a petite since the waistline is exactly where it should be & unless you are true petite, don't go there. Was great for dancing, moves beautifully when walking & comfortable for a formal dinner. Many compliments since the color & fabric are gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2015
Great color
I rented this for a Mardi Gras ball. The fit was tight in the bust area, so I would suggest sizing up. I rented a 4p and 6r (6p was unavailable). I was worried the 6r would be too long but thankfully it worked okay with heels as the 4p was too tight in the best. I was excited about the side slit. Unfortunately there is so much fabric to the skirt it really wasn't visible unless you pose with your leg out.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 28, 2015
really comfortable
the slit was the perfect height!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2015
Only good for high school prom
This dress did not look sophisticated in person at all. It was very high school-ish. I have 32D and it was hard for me to zip up the dress if I were to wear a bra. So the overall fit was not great either. There was supposed to be a slit but sadly, it probably only looked good on someone with very lean and long legs. Sadly, this dress did not work out for me. The backup dress did.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Weight: 150lbs
December 24, 2015
Beautiful dress - I can't imagine a body type that this does't flatter.
Not for big busted ladies, but its elegance is stunning. It was long, even with heels, but that was my fault for ordering a long instead of a short.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 16, 2015
LADY IN RED!
I'm 6', 155lbs so the 10L I ordered was PERFECT! I wore a 5" heel & the length just grazed the floor just right. I was super comfortable! I'm a 36C and didn't need to wear a bra either. When I walked, the gown flowed beautifully and the slit was the perfect height making me feel like I was on a runway! I highly recommend this for any black tie event or wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2015
This dress made my night, it fit and like a glove and so many people love it as well!!!
I'm tall so this dress was long enough for me, order a 4L & 6L and the 4L was a lil tight in the top, but the 6L was a awesome fit. So. Ladies if your tall this the dress for you. I loved it hope y'all do as well. Now I'm ordering the black for engagement pictures I can't wait. Enjoy ladies
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable to wear
This dress is beautiful and comfortable to wear. The chiffon just floats as you walk in it. This was my first experience with RTR and I will definitely use it again. This dress was a safe, fairly conservative, lovely choice for a military ball. It's soft and lightweight, and came out of the box ready to wear, no steaming needed, which was definitely a plus. I'm 5'7" 135lb 34C Size 27 jeans Based on reviews, I was a little concerned about the length because I wanted to wear flats. I normally wear a 6 in formal wear, but 6 was only available in regular length. I ordered a 4P as my backup size. I *may* have been able to barely squeeze into the 4 if I had skipped the bra, but it was a non issue because the 6 was exactly the perfect length for me in flats, as pictured here. The bodice was exactly right, not too tight and extremely comfortable. The zipper was a little tricky, even with the ideal fit, but I've always found chiffon the be tricky with zippers. You won't regret this choice. It's a very classic, lovely look, and a welcome departure from a sea of black dresses. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 6, 2015
beautiful, flowy dress. Wore with nude heeled sandals and red lipstick
Perfect fit, ended up going with the larger of the 2 sizes i was sent
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 1, 2015
Being with the love of my life at his military ball and looking absolutely amazing while doing it :)
The dress fit very well in the bust, however it was a bit snuggle with my bra. The length of the dress was great. I wore 4 inches tall heels to ensure that the dress would not drag on the ground. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
November 30, 2015
Flowed with me, tight bodice, very comfortable, lightweight
Loved this dress! It was very tight in the bodice, VERY hard to zip... but fit perfectly once it was on and zipped. The fabric doesn't give, but the dress actually wasn't too tight at all once it was on. I am usually a 2, but the 4P was tight and fit beautifully. After reading the reviews, I was torn on what size to choose. Let me sum it up for you... SIZE UP.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
November 29, 2015
This gown is such a showstopper! I wore it for my engagement photos and it was like a chiffon dream!
The 6R and 8R fit just about the same, I chose the 8R because it was a tad more comfortable around my wider ribcage, however was a hair loose around my shoulders, but not enough to go back to the 6R. The length on both dresses was perfect (especially because of my 4-inch heels)! Overall, a sublimely comfortable and stunning dress for any occasion.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
November 27, 2015
So classy!
I wore this to my prom and absolutely loved it. Rent the Runway is a great company: loved having the back up size and the easy return. The dress runs a bit long and even with my 4 inch heals the dress was still dragging on the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 24, 2015
The perfect dress for a formal evening as the temperature cools.
I love this dress. It's striking without being attention seeking. I went bra-less and it was comfortable throughout the night. I'm not into showing off my legs, and I thought the slit was an appropriate length. There is enough material that you don't have to worry about the dress showing every curve of your body, but it's not so much to feel or look bulky.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
November 23, 2015
The dress was so flowy and beautiful! I had so much fun wearing it
This dress could look beautiful on pretty much everyone. I was a little nervous about the size because 0R were all booked so I went with 2R and it fit perfectly! I think this dress runs close to being true to size but because it is a designer, the dresses tend to be slightly smaller. I wore about 4 and a half inch heels and the dress touched the floor perfectly. I didn't have any trouble walking or tripping over it either. I also liked that I didn't need to wear a bra with this dress. The dress came when they said it would and it was in great condition. They make it super easy to receive and return the dress. Overall beautiful dress! I would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 23, 2015
In the sea of black, white, golden and silver gowns, I stood out in red.
The fit is true to the size. I'm 5'2" and 118 lbs, so size 2 fit me perfectly. I didn't even have to try on the size 4, because I fit so well in the size 2. It hugged my waist at the right place, and was roomy enough that after a night of eating, I didn't feel like I was bursting out of my dress. I have a short torso, so sometimes it would bunch up and I would have to pull the dress down, but it was barely noticeable. It didn't get caught in my heels when I'd walk, so it wasn't too long. I wore nude pumps and a bib necklace with it. The slit was long enough to garner whistles from my male friends, but not long enough to make my boyfriend worry. All in all, it was one of a kind!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 23, 2015
Not meant for women with large chests
The dress itself is beautiful. However, it does run a bit snug in the chest area. I am 38D and did not have enough room for a strapless bra and the way the seems run across the chest, it is very unflattering when you do not wear a bra. The main cross seem hits about center on your right breast and causes bulging on the top and bottom. Also, the slit is not as dramatic as it is on the model. I'm 5'4" and it barely came to my knee.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2015
Made me feel like the prettiest girl at the ball!
It fit me perfectly in all the right areas. The zipper stuck a little bit so I needed help getting it zipped. It was the perfect length to wear with four-five inch heels. I'm short as it is. My date couldn't take his eyes off of me all night. And it felt like heads turned as I walked through the room. Of course this picture isn't the greatest but whatevs. You don't need a lot of jewelry with this dress. I wore a jeweled bracelet, jeweled earrings I got from target a while back, and my mothers diamond heart necklace. Nothing too flashy or over the top. The dress itself makes you look like a million bucks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 15, 2015
The color is stunning! Dress runs between true to size and slightly small.
The color and style of this dress make it a stand out. I wear a 2 in many brands but the 4 fit perfectly in this gown. I'm just under 5'7" and the regular length was adequate with 4" heels. The fitted top is well designed - comfortable enough to wear all night, figure flattering and no weird arm pit cleavage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2015
Backup dress
This was a backup dress that I didn't wear. The color is an orangey red rather than a deep red. The fabric felt cheaper than the other dress I rented. The fit was good and the dress seemed really comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2015
It was the stunner of the ball
I wore this dress to the Marine Corps Ball and it was perfect! I'm usually a 0 put I wore the petite 2 so that it wouldn't be too long since the would be dancing and it worked out great. I got compliments all through the night, every loved it. I couldn't have worn a better dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 13, 2015
All eyes on me
This dress was everything. When ordering it I was a tad bit worried because they didn't have a size 6, but the 4 fit perfectly. I rented this dress for a breast cancer ball. I received so many compliments from the time I walked through the door, to the moments spent on the dance floor, even now as I'm writing this review. All eyes were on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2015
Great color!
I wore this to a wedding on the beach. Really great flowy style. The bust was very tight, so I could not wear a strapless with it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 10, 2015
I wore this dress for my finance's Marine Corps ball this fall.
The bodice fit pretty tight (I couldn't wear a bra) which I wasn't expecting since I'm pretty small in the chest area. Other than that, the dress fit very well. It wasn't too long and it flowed nicely. The color complimented his uniform perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 7, 2015
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Marine Ball.
The dress was not only comfortable, but it fit me perfectly too. I loved the color of the dress, the slit on the side made a little more sexy, and the way the dress flowed when I walked was gorgeous. I felt beautiful in this dress! The length was perfect as well with the 4.5" heels I wore, the dress hit the floor gently with out dragging. I'm absolutely pleased with the outcome of the dress, highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 3, 2015
Nice bright color. Great for photographs.
I'm 5'4 , fit well with 4 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
November 1, 2015
Dress was too small.
Dress was too small BUT I loved it. May rent if for another function in the future.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2015
the dress!
Great color. Not much give on the top but that ends just above the hips. Zipper was slightly difficult. Slit is not as high as in the picture. Received so many compliments and very fun to dress to dance the night away in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 29, 2015
Unfortunately I couldn't wear this dress. It was too tight in the breast area.
Unfortunately I couldn't wear this dress. It was too tight in the breast area. If you have a large breast you might want to reconsider ordering this dress. Really wanted to wear this but it was unavailable in the large size.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
October 28, 2015
It was perfect!
It was a little small but it was worked so well! I wore it to the Marine Ball and got so many compliments on it. Sooo worth it!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2015
Perfect dress for the holiday season!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress. I normally wear a 2 or 4, but after reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 and 6, and I'm super glad I did. I ended up wearing the 6R. It was way more comfortable in the ribcage, bust area. The great thing about this dress is that while it is very fitted in the upper body, it is super comfortable for your tummy. A great dress to wear to an event that you know you'll be eating at. I ate and didn't have to suck in my stomach all night. I found the draping/ruching up top to be very flattering, and didn't have to wear a bra which is a total bonus. The color is amazing -- a true, rich red. The event we attended was between Thanksgiving and Christmas, so it worked really well. The length was perfect - I wore 4 inch heels and didn't have to worry about dragging the dress on the ground. Overall, a fantastic dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2015
The dress was perfect- great fit and the material wore very well.
This dress was very comfortable. The length was good, maybe just a touch long, but with 4 inch heels it fit perfectly. The shoulder strap made it very comfortable for dancing all night and not having to worry about it falling as is the usual concern with strapless dresses.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2015
The whole experience was so easy!
Gorgeous dress...my only complaint was that the zipper area buckled a bit so it wasn't flush against my torso, but this is partially because the dress was a bit snug. I am Apple shaped and have a larger midsection and bust measurement, but a siZe larger would have probably been too big on me. (I ordered 10r and 12r). The length was perfect- in the picture I am not wearing any shoes and the dress was touching the floor but I put on 2" in heels and it was just right. (I am 5'6.5") Loved that it didn't require any ironing ...easy to just take out of the box and put on and go!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
October 19, 2015
Beautiful dress, a lot of material...
Although this is a beautiful dress, being petite prevented this dress from working for me. It is a lot of material. The slit was not nearly as high as expected. It hit right around the knee. The bust and upper area did fit perfectly but it really didn't do much to flatter me. Even in 5 inch heels, this dress looked like it was swallowing me up. I would definitely say it is a better choice for a taller woman!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 12, 2015
Beautiful dress, small in bust
This would have been an amazing dress had my size been available. At the last minute I was emailed that my ordered size was not available, but they still sent the size 2 (I ordered a size up due to reviews of tight bust area). I think the 4 would have been perfect, and had I not found a replacement I would have squeezed into this and loved it! The length was great for shorter girls and the slit was sexy.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 11, 2015
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal school dance and got so many compliments! Gorgeous dress!!
It was amazing and the fit was perfect! I am a 4 usually but I was worried about it not fitting but he size is exactly right! The four really is a four size so I was very pleased!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 11, 2015
Dress fit great for black tie hospital gala! Got a LOT of compliments!
I'm very short (5'1") so I was very nervous about renting a long dress. I got 2 sizes - 4P and 0R because a lot of reviews said it runs a little small in the bust area. The 4P fit great on me above the waist and the length was just right with my 3.5" heels. It dragged about an inch on the floor but was not uncomfortable to walk in. The slit on the side you could not really see when I was just standing there or walking (I'm assuming because it dragged a little). Overall, great dress (even for my fellow petite gals) & didn't want to give it back! My body type: I'm very petite (5'1"), bra size is 32B, waist is about 25-26"; hips are about 37-38".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
October 8, 2015
Sweet and elegant backup dress that I didn't end up wearing...
This was my back up dress and I didn't actually wear it, but I still liked it. Out of the bag, the dress fit like a glove. It's a nice holiday red, very comfortable. I liked that it can be worn with a bra. Although the dress would have been appropriate for my formal event, the Halston Heritage reminds me of a bridesmaid dress. It's very flattering, kind of sweet and definitely classy, but not sexy like the Badgley Mischka dress I ended up wearing.
See more reviews:
2 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×