Nepal Sunset Gown

$104 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Exude radiance in this flowing red gown by Halston Heritage. Layers of chiffon will have you ready to swirl around the dance floor! Really make it shine with accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Cuff.

Also available in black and emerald.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Front slit. Hidden side zip. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
677 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(387)
Small
(186)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
February 3, 2014
Didn't fit me...but
The dress is very pretty - but I have a strange body type and this dress just didn't work with it. I'm large busted but a size 4 everywhere else. I tried both the 6 and the 8, and neither would zip at my bust, but the dress was too large for me everywhere else. Beautiful dress though, wish it would have fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2014
Lightweight, gorgeous, and flowy!
This dress was beautiful, and the color of red was just perfect. I received many compliments. It will cover any problem areas you may have (tummy, thighs, etc.) I found it very easy to move around in. I am 5'3", wore 2.5 inch heels, and I didn't have to worry about tripping over the gown. The only reason I didn't rate this with 5 stars, was because the zipper was a problem. It is very hard to zip this up and down, even when you aren't wearing it. I think the designer should rethink this for future designs. Aside from that, this dress was fab! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2014
Classic and warm!
Zipping was a 2 person job. Very warm. Very comfortable. Can certainly hid any sort of mom belly, too! Thanks for the great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2014
Loved the dress! I added a black belt with a black bow around the waist. It really set it off!
Lovely material. I am 5'3" and it was a little long, but with the slit in the skirt, I was able to hold it up while I danced. If you are big busted, go a size up. The bodice is snug.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 6, 2014
Loved the dress!
This dress fit perfectly! I got so many compliments in this dress. This was my first time renting, so I was very nervous. It arrived a day early, and I went to try it on but the zipper wasn't working. I sent a message to RTR and they overnighted the same dress in a 2R. The zipper worked in this dress and it fit perfectly. LOVE, LOVE, LOVED IT!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2014
Stunning Dress! I felt like a queen! Perfect for a black tie affair!
Let me start by saying I received so many compliments on this dress I felt like a movie star. I wore it to a New Years Eve, Black Tie Gala. The color was so gorgeous- you cannot go wrong in RED!! I stood out in a sea of black dresses! The only complaint I had was even with 4 inch heels it was REALLY LONG and I had to pick it up when I walked- wish I went with the regular instead of long, but all dresses run a little different! It was really flattering on my curvy frame
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 9, 2014
I felt gorgeous the whole night! Word to the wise: Rent up a size or two- I am usually a 0 or 2!
This dress is gorgeous, but runs very small and narrow. Thank GOODNESS I decided to spring for a "4L" as my second size when I rented the 2L-- it ended up being the only version I could fit into! Have a friend handy to zip up the dress-- zipper is finicky. If you order a Long (I'm 5'9") be sure to wear super high heels-- I wore 3.5 inch heels and the dress was still a bit long. All in all, I would rent this again since I felt fabulous the entire night and got a ton of compliments. If you're scared that it's too conservative, don't be-- the slit in the leg lends a bit of sexiness to an otherwise very straight-forward dress. The color is breathtaking in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2014
Not for busty gals.
Pretty dress, but I wasn't really blown away by it. It's definitely dramatic, and you can't miss that red. The split isn't an obvious one....I ended up not wearing it because the top seemed way smaller than the rest of the dress. I'm a usual size 6, but the size 8 wouldn't even zip up all the way, so if you're a C cup or larger, you're gonna have to do at least 2 sizes up.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2014
I rented this dress for a gala and felt like the belle of the ball. Everyone loved it!
The dress runs exactly true to size. I am 5'8" and got a size 4 in L and R - the R size was the right length for my height (and 3" heels) The fabric material was great, though you have to be careful (and probably need a friend's help) to zip into the dress - the ruching can get caught on the zipper. The dress was super flowy and great for dancing and posing in pictures. You will look like a million bucks in this beautiful dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
February 20, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
Great dress! Fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2014
Gorgeous, flattering, comfy
Slimming and gorgeous. Ran a little long but that's better than too short!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
February 28, 2014
It was worn to a heritage ball and people couldn't stop complimenting my dress!
If you are busty, I recommend going up at least one to two sizes. I generally wear an 8 but I decided to get a 10 as well. The 10 fit tightly because of my bust. I probably could've worn a 12 because of that factor but overall, GREAT DRESS!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2014
I started receiving complements even before I walked in the door of the event!
The hem was loose in a few places but I fixed that with fashion tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 2, 2014
First formal.
My daughter wore this to the Navy Ball and it met all the requirements. They weren't allowed to wear strapless or above knee, and the red was a stunning color on her. She could have worn the 4 but it wouldn't zip. I was able to pull the sides together and fasten the hook and eye at the top, but the zipper wouldn't go. The 6 wasn't a perfect fit, but you couldn't tell because of the style. We are very happy with our experience with RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2014
my backup dress!
The dress was too long for me - I'm usually a size 4 (which was what I rented) and I'm 5" 2. The dress length was about 2 inches too long (accounting for 2-inch heels). The color was beautiful though!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable!
I normally wear a 4 but I ended up wearing a 2R and the bust was still a little bit big. The length was perfect for my 3 inch heels! Overall great dress! Easy to move in and very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 5, 2014
The dress was beautiful, and it fit perfectly!
I got this dress to wear to a Mardi Gras ball, and it was perfect. I got the dress in green, and a back up dress in red and I do wish I was able to wear the green one, but they didn't have the right size. I am 6' tall, and I was able to wear 3 inch heels, which I rarely get to do! I got a lot of complements on the dress, and I will definitely be using Rent the Runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
Great dress just runs small in the top
As you can see from my measurements, I am a petite girl on top. I rented both this gown and the Halston Heritage Forever Mine gown, which is the same exact gown just in green, in size 4R. The Forever Mine in 4R fit almost perfectly yet this one could barely be zipped up. I knew that 6R would have been too large for me. This is a beautiful dress but I didn't have the complexion/hair color nor was I small enough to properly pull off this gown.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2014
Elegant dress in a gorgeous color!
The color of this dress is gorgeous in person. It also accentuated my waist really well and the skirt flowed beautifully. I have a bigger chest (34D) so I was worried about the top half of the dress fitting. But the size 6 fit my chest perfectly! Just a couple other notes - you do have to be careful when you're zipping up the dress as the zipper tends to get caught. And the slit isn't as dramatic as it looks on the model, it only really shows when you're sitting down. But overall, a beautiful dress and bigger chested women shouldn't shy away from renting it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 19, 2014
I got many compliments, even against all the beaded and sparkly dresses there!
I am usually actually a 00. The top was the slightest bit loose on the side without the strap, occasionally showing my bra, but since my arms never went above my head that wasn't much of a problem! It has a nice snug fit in the tummy. It is a very pretty dress - I would definitely recommend it. The length of the dress began to bother me when it started to get stuck under everything at dinner: under the chair legs when I scootched my chair in, under other people's feet, under my own feet, etc., but I think that might just be the case with all long dresses
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 19, 2014
Wore this red number for my NBLSA Gala, and loved it.
Definitely a two-person job to get in the dress due to the side zipper. If you have a large bust be ready to go up a size, however the dress is very comfortable once you get it on. Dress also blows beautifully in the wind, and I recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2014
Stunning!!
I rented the dress for a black tie formal. It was a little tight in the chest but the overall fit was perfit. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 26, 2014
I really liked the dress! The color worked well for the winter formal I attended. It stood out.
I'm 5'11" and normally wear a size 6. I, however, have a large bust (34D). Based on the reviews I ordered a 6L and an 8L as my backup. I was more nervous about the length then fitting into the dress because on top of my height, I had 3" heels. To my delight the dress in 6L and 8L were both long enough to cover my shoes...just grazing the ground (ie: perfect in my world). I ended up going with the 8L because my boobs wouldn't fit in the 6L. The 8L fit fine for my comfort...was a tad bit loose, which was actually a good thing as the night went on.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 26, 2014
Felt beautiful all night :)
The fit of the six and eight were very similar! The reason I didn't wear the 6L was because the zipper was missing a tooth and wouldn't unzip… I called RTR and they were so helpful! Gave me some money back for my troubles with the dress- the nicest, most helpful company! At the end of the sorority formal, I didn't want to take it off! Great rental- will absolutely be renting from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 29, 2014
Felt like I was going to the Oscars!
I ordered a 12r and a 14r since I'm rather curvy. The hips fit great but it was rather large for my bust. Had to wear a super padded strapless bra to fill it out more! It was a little long but I loved it that way. Super comfortable and I got a ton of compliments on it! Felt incredibly beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
March 30, 2014
dress was beautiful but I didn't wear it
dress was way to small in the top. If you have boobs, you'll have a hard time breathing in this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2014
Killer in engagement pics
Got compliments on this dress all night. This dress is true to size except in the bust -- I had to size up for that reason. Tough to zip up because of rouching. Check the slit; it is lower than I expected and had been sewn up some before I got it. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 30, 2014
Perfect.
I have nothing, absolutely nothing, bad to say about this dress. Fit like a glove. The cut out was just sexy enough to make a wee statement but not overdone. Length was great. Dress moved perfectly. Everyone was complimenting me on how well it looked. Do not hesitate to rent this. I will certainly be re-renting for another event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
March 31, 2014
The MOST beautiful dress I have ever warn!
This dress was incredible. Supper comfy and surprisingly light weight for how much fabric there is. It was a little long on me but that just meant NEW SHOES and it was easy to walk in. If you get this dress expect a lot of compliments! I never wanted to take it off! Thank you Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
April 1, 2014
Super flattering, great color and silhouette!
Runs a bit snug so would recommend sizing up. Also it's VERY long - I'm 5'9 and got the long and was tripping on it. Otherwise a fab dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 1, 2014
Beautiful wedding of good friends.
Dress is beautiful in person. I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses after having a baby, so I ordered an 8 and 10 since people said to size up. The 8 was a little big, so I sent back the 10 in exchange for a 6. I put the 10 in a UPS dropbox and received the new dress in two days with no hassle. People commented on the dress and said it was very flattering. Like I said, I had a baby a little under a year ago, and it held in everything I wanted it to. Only issues were that the zipper was really difficult, bust was a little tight (which I already expected from the reviews), and it was a little long for me so I had to be careful people didn't step on it. Rent the Runway is excellent, though, and I fully intend on using them again. Excellent customer service! Thanks!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 1, 2014
My husband really loves me in this color & very suitable for a spring formal
The bust was to tight. If you are a C cup and over, this is not the dress for you. When I sized up , the dress fit the bust and bulged at the waist/ not cute! I was uncomfortable all night and had to keep adjusting to prevent my braziere from showing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2014
Color was amazing! Sexy leg slit
The dress was comfortable and great quality just too long for me. I am 5'2" and was wearing 3" heels and the length was unmanageable- I had to tie it at my waist in a knot- but I LOVED the dress otherwise
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2014
Gorgeous dress - so many compliments!
Usually wear a size 6 but a 4 fit perfectly. On my 5'4" body with 2 inch heels hem length dragged the floor just slightly. Loved the cut, the fabric, how it hung and flowed. Thigh slit was not too racey for high school prom. I was told by many that my dress was their favorite of all they saw at prom.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
April 2, 2014
I wore this dress for my first pageant and it was AMAZING ! Everyone loved it !!
It fit great very true to size, it was long enough for me being tall and wearing tall heels .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
April 3, 2014
Red in a room full of black
So, I bought this dress for Casino charity event, black tie affair. I got so many compliments on the dress! Perfect dress for the casino night! It flowed beautifully. Was a little tight around bust but was able to squeeze a bra on. Zipper was hard to zip up! Secret... zip half way up turn it around put arm in then zip it up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 3, 2014
Beautiful dress, but not for busty girls!
This is a gorgeous dress!! Unfortunately, even one size up it was too small for me. I have a wide torso and a large bust, and since there is no give in the torso area, it just didn't zip up. With 4" heels, the length was just a little long for me (but I expected that since I'm a shortie). The returns process was wonderful. I chatted with a stylist, and since I had rented some accessories that I still wanted to wear, she let me keep the accessories and return them on my normal return date. I would definitely recommend RTR again! (and did, to the UPS guy who was helping his daughter look for prom dresses!)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
April 4, 2014
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!
This was my first dress rental from Rent the Runway and I am so absolutely happy w their service. I literally rented this dress two days before the Gala and it still got here on time. I read through most of the reviews here before finally just going for it and I'm so glad I did. Some reviewers mentioned that the dress runs small which is great for me though it felt true to size to me. It was still a bit wide on me on top (I'm a 30AA) and I pinned it to make it fit me better. I love how the dress flowed and the movement of the dress was perfect. I had to wear 5" heels and the dress just grazed the floor. I received so many compliments on this dress throughout the night. My husband said this is a must rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2014
So many compliments! Loved the way it flowed when I walked!
Overall the dress for really nice. I decided to wear the 6R because it was a little tighter on my body and It helped to hold everything in. I did not expect the fabric on the dress to be so elegant! I felt so sophisticated! And the way the slit was, and the flowing of the fabric looked soooo beautiful when I walked! Overall fantastic experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
April 6, 2014
I wore this dress to my prom and it was perfect and elegant !
I have no complaints ! My dress was perfect and exactly what I wanted!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×