Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Metallic Python Dress

$44 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Try out this season's animal print trend with this sexy Halston Heritage one shoulder dress. With a little bit of shine this style is sure to be a hit.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Python printed stretch velvet with sequins. One shoulder neckline. Hidden shoulder pad. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

70 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 55
Large 9
Photos 20
CL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Apr 8, 2011

Great customer service

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought the dress was beautiful, and I got amazing compliments, however it gave me a rash under my arm from the zipper hook, and the sequence.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 8, 2011

This dress was a dream to wear! Perfect for the party, so comfortable to dance in, and overall fit was fabulous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Wore to my sister's bachelorette party and received many compliments! I wanted to keep it, so when it goes on sale, I may buy it! The material is so soft, and it's very comfortable to wear. I thought it would be so tight that I may need to go up in size, but that was not the case. I absolutely love this dress!
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Looking awesome

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Well, the dress is more awesome in person that on the site. The detail is beautiful and its SUPER COMFORTABLE. I love that its not super tight at the bottom, but not "bell shaped" either. Just an awesome dress I wish I could wear again and again. Thanks so much..the pleasure was all mine! (and my husbands :)
Debra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Being out in Vegas w friends.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was a nice little dress, but it did bunch up in the back a little and did not lay completely flat. I wouldn't wear it again but it worked for an evening out in Vegas.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2012

perfect for new years - got lots of compliments from friends & family!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Rented this for New Years Eve out in Boston with my girl friends. I have been losing weight but in general have worn a L or 12 in any dresses I have rented but got the 10 as a back up and glad I did - the 12 fit but was loose and did nothing for my figure. The 10 was a little shorter but fit like a glove so I actually went with the smaller size. Beware if you are tall and have long legs this dress is DEFINITELY short!
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

New Years Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress was short and fitting at the top but not at the bottom. However, it was a fun and sparkly dress
MiMi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

Best Dress Ever

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is the hottest dress I've ever rented. So hot that I went out and bought it!!!! I highly recommend. The fit was great, and it was very sexy even though I was fully covered. I wore it for New Years Eve and was VERY comfortable all night. Cheers!!
Jenica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 22, 2012

Dream Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress! It fit perfect, flattered in all the right places and received dozens of compliments. A definite winner!
Stacie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
May 13, 2012

Great dress but...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was a great dress and sexy but I agree with the other reviews that the zipper came up too high under your arm pit and was very uncomfortable. I was unable to wear the dress except for a picture. Too bad they can't do something about that.
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Super comfortable dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this dress in Vegas for a girls night out. I expected it to be a bit shorter. I was a little tight in the sleeve and the sequins were itchy under the armpit but overall super comfortable.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Loved it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is really great. It was simple but caught the light really well. There's a shoulder pad there, I didn't really notice it before. Very classy
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Body type: Pear
Aug 24, 2012

RTR is so helpful, and i got a lot of compliments about the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is great ! I thought it would be tighter fitting, but i was happy with the way it loosened a little at the bottom.It's not amazing for dancing, but it's pretty good. I would recommend it !
NYCgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Good for a night out.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am short and this dress was short on me. Very flattering and the fabric is very forgiving as it is stretchy. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 4 worked for me. The fabric is not as shiny as it appears in the picture and the dress was a bit work when I received it. I didn't wear it because it was my backup, but definitely a safe bet for a night out.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Runs way big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I wasnt able to wear this because I ordered a 2 and 4, and both were large. Wish I would have gotten a 0.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Classy dress worn for a winter party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Russian birthday party in February. I wore it with black patent heels and black tights. The fit was absolutely perfect for an hourglass-shaped girl like me.
Farrah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fit well. Short enough on a petite girl which is what I wanted.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the one shoulder and it had a little shoulder pad which made it look even better. Great for a Christmas party. I loved this dress. This was my first of many rentals from rent the runway! Love rent the runway!!!!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 20, 2012

Gorgeous on, but tight in the arms.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the way this stretchy mini fit, but it was tight on the left arm (went high into my armpit) and the material was scratchy at armpits The material scratched up my back when I put the dress on, but once the pain faded and so did the marks I really liked the dress (and after ignoring the armpit tightness).
Bri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Fun and Flirty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the look of the dress. A bit disappointed the bottom was more "A line" than fitted (in other words, this is not a skin hugging dress). Also disappointed with the fabric which was very thin and flimsy (like wearing a halloween costume); may want to think about that in terms of weather/temperature. Overall though, the dress was very fun and flirty.
Jess
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Loved it looked amazing worn for homecoming so many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit well chose between a 6 and an 8 went for the 8 because it was a tad longer definatley wear with sheer black tights completes the outfit!!!!!
Sparks
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

AMAZING DRESS

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for the post-party after a formal ball, and it was AMAZING... It fit perfect, I feel like it would fit any body type... a very easy to wear dress. The snake pattern of the sequins is just enough. I'm not big on crazy patterns or animal print, and it was a good step out of my comfort zone without being too crazy. It also makes the dress more appropriate if you're looking to dress it up for a more formal occasion. The shoulder has a pretty sizable shoulder pad - but frankly, it gives that special touch, that "wow" that makes this dress a bit more fashionable than every other "vanilla" one-shoulder mini. The only downfall I can imagine is how TERRIBLY raw the underside of your arm is after rubbing against the armhole (its only on the one side)... but as a stylist once told me "fashion is pain darling"... and this dress is worth it!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Great, sexy dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was a bit short, but I felt comfortable it in an got tons of compliments. I have a pretty big bust and this minimized it, which it was I usually look for in a dress.
ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Great dress for NYE!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for NYE in Chicago, loved renting from RTR! The material wasn't as 'stand-out' or shiny as I was hoping, but I still loved it.
Gilson
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 29, 2012

Having the perfect dress for NYE!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress, easy to wear. Wore it for New Year's and it was perfect! Only downside is that the sequins rubbed the inside of my arms slightly. Other than that, fabulous dress!
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Great for a party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great Pros: fun to wear out Cons: material scratches a little under the arm, wide on the one shoulder so its more like a short sleeve than a sleeveless on the shoulder that has the fabric
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Sexy yet respectful lbd.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was comfortable and came across the same in person as the photos online. I felt it ran true to size for the most part; the hip area may have run slightly large. I thought this dress was perfect for my hourglass figure; the stretch in the material allowed the waist to be fitted and accomodated my bust as well. Sometimes when a dress has little to no give I need to move up to a four to fit my bust leaving the waist and hip area loose; not the case with this dress! I received many compliments and felt sexy but also comfortable to be around the conservative members of my family in this dress. I left off one star because the dress was itchy around the upper arm/shoulder and I wished the covered shoulder had a slightly narrower cut to show some shoulder and upper arm. All in all a great dress that I would rent again.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Great dress for a night on the town!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this for NYE, and it was perfect for that. I always worry about ordering dresses because I am 5'6 athletic build, but I have hips & a chest. This dress was great because you didn't have to worry about cleavage spillage, or pulling your dress up all night, and the fit was really slimming. However, this dress is quite short. I wouldn't have been able to wear it without dark tights, because you actually cannot bend over at all. My only real complaint was that the arm hole was really tight and uncomfortable, so the sequins rubbed into the back of your arm. I'd grab some bandaids or moleskin for the night ahead of time.
NYCKitty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Great Bachelorette Maid of Honor Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great! And it was very confortable for dancing moving and getting around all the mysterious events that happen on Bachelorette nights! LOVE LOVE LOVE RTR! XOXO
Spenser
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress!! I loved how the sequins were not really stand out but instead were more subtle. I also though the python look on the dress gave it an edgy look. My only complaint was that it was a little tight on my underarm but other than that it worked fine. I ordered the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 4. I would recommend sizing up instead of down!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Great little black dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered this as my main dress, but when with my backup style, because this was a little shorter than I am used to wearing. It fit great and had good stretch (great for us curvy girls). One thing that I wasn't crazy about was the shoulder pad. You can't tell in the photos but it has a pretty decent shoulder pad and I have very square shoulders so it look a bit bulky on me. But overall great dress!
janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Pretty..

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was cute but definitely tight in the arm pit but the bottom (and I am bigger on the bottom) was loose so it wasn't as sexy as I inted it to be.
Bec
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Great dress, nice material, and formal without being too fancy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding 5 weeks after having a baby. The material is stretchy and form fitting, but really comfortable and flattering. Even with a few extra post-baby pounds, I felt great. I'm a swimmer and have trouble zipping up most dresses because of my large back and shoulders. This dress has a side zipper and with the stretchy material, it zipped just fine.
Lynzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Overall the dress was really adorable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm short with bigger chest/ribs. The material on the dress was a lot thicker than I expected. I don't think that was a problem, but it did make the dress kind of bunch up on its own. I could have easily worn the 8, but as a girl who's pretty self-conscious and going out with a bunch of twigs, i felt like the 10 looked better on me (plus it was a little longer, and I'm not the most graceful when exiting a taxi...). So if you're my size and leaning towards the 8, you should be fine. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and felt really great all night!
T
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Amazing party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for NYE party: it was perfect! The material is thick, so the dress holds its shape nicely. The subtle sequins over the snake print looks very cool.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

I wish this one fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was one of the dresses that I ordered for New Years Eve. I ended up wearing my backup dress because this dress just fit very weird. The top was very tight and the arm hold was too small, but then the bottom was large and actually fit more A-line rather than clinging to my hips. If you have a large bust or small hips, I don't think this would be a good pick.
Lisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

PERFECT LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Oh, wow, I absolutely adore this dress! The fit is flattering and beautiful! I love that it's a true mini dress. Although it seems loose fit-wise, it doesn't bother me since it is so short. Very sexy, yet still classic. I can't wait to wear it!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 1, 2013

Not sure yet... gorgeous buts fits a little odd.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I love the fabric and the detail of this dress, but I'm not sure if it's going to fit my body type. It bunches up in the back, so my torso may be too long or I may be too large breasted for this dress. It fits perfectly, except for the little bit of bunching. If it doesn't end up working for me, then I'll give it to one of my younger, less curvy cousins. Either way, I'm totally happy that I bought it for only $44 during the clearance!
Adri
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Absolutely LOVE this dress!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for homecoming dance, fit perfectly on my small figure!!!! :)
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

It was my birthday!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove. I wore it for a fraternity formal in Charleston, SC which was on my birthday as well. It was a little itchy in places from the sequins but over all I would rent again.
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Cute party dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfect but a little short. I'm 5'2 with a long torso and the length was just barely under my butt so be careful.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Cool and edgy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well, but definitely for those who want to show off their figure. Cool dress, but itchy under the arms.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×