Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

La Scala Draped Dress

$135 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Halston Heritage number hits all the right notes this season. For a real statement, pair with Dannijo's Omala Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetrical hem hits above knee in front and below knee in back

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetrical hem hits above knee in front and below knee in back

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Faux wrap drape front. Asymmetrical hem. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 44
Large 3
Photos 6
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 6, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't fit...but it's really a great, great dress! I was a little worried about this dress...it looks like a red-orange in the website, which is a hard color for me to wear..but I liked the design, so I ordered it. It ended up being a beautiful blue-red, a much better color for me. They didn't have my backup size available, but I wished they did because I would have loved to have worn this dress. It was a little too narrow in the hips for me to wear and I would have worn it, had they had the larger size available. I will definitely rent this dress another time for another occasion, this time in a larger size.
Ibby
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Oct 11, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is a great dress. Dynamic color that will stand out in the traditional sea of black dresses. It was a little smaller than the typically size I would wear.
NC
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Oct 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a hit at the fall wedding I attended! It's beautiful color and cut make it a real stand out, but it covers you up in all the right places for a family gathering. Went with a chunky gold statement necklace (a la the picture to the left) and people were referring to me as a greek goddess! Thanks!
V
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is a gorgeous red - the photos aren't quite true-to-life in terms of the actual color. The dress fit well, and looked very pretty, but a bit shapeless on me - a belt took care of that. Also, you'll need the fashion tape to keep the skirt from flying open!
aa
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I was the only girl wearing a red dress at this event and it was a huge success. I am petite. My ideal weight would be 15 pounds smaller but regardless a size 4 should have fit me. To my surprise it was a bit tight at the back and bunched up near the waste. Despite that, it's a beautiful dress and I highly recommend it. If you're not skinny, I recommend getting your true size and 1 size up.
CG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Gorgeous dress. Color is not the orangey coral in the picture -- I would say a true scarlet, instead. Runs very narrow through the back - you can sort of see this on the model in the back view. Sizing up would have been perfect but wasn't available when I rented. Despite being tight through the back, the cut and drape were otehrwise VERY forgiving; it's a very flattering dress. Sooooo many complements!
LeLe
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Really pretty dress. I wore it to a fall wedding and it is a beautiful color and very different. The fabric drapes really pretty. I wore it with a statement necklace like the one pictured and it had a very moroccan feel. I would order this dress bigger than smaller because the smaller size I ordered tended to twist around and didn't fit around the bust.
MWA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 10, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I ordered the size 0 and it was still too big. it drapped so low that my chest was hanging out. I wish it had worked because the colour was great. Sad that I wasted money on dresses that were too big.
Shleigh02
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was a beautiful dress, and I wish it would have fit better. I'm about 110lbs and ordered a size 2 - which fit great, except for the length of the bodice. Because I'm short, it was a little loose on the shoulderless side, and I was afraid one of the girls would make an appearance. The overall length of the dress wasn't bad though, it hit about the same place as it did on the model. If you are super curvy, this probably isn't the dress for you. It fit comforably around my hips, but a pear shape would have a little bunching or stretching. RTR was a great experience and I'll be renting again soon!
Birthday Girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress. Ended up wearing the 0 (even though I am usually a 0-2) as the 2 was a bit too roomy. The color is indeed a perfect blue-red and though it is on the more conservative side, the way it falls is amazing, especially when you're in motion. My fiancé is adamant that I buy it ;)
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to an awards dinner that I was the emcee for...the dress was a big hit. I received compliments on it that night and days after the event. It was very flattering and I found it to be true to size. Great color, much prettier in person than on screen.
Sarah
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Mar 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
very pretty, i belted it with a silver metallic belt to give the dress more shape. if you are petite there will be a little gaping on the off the shoulder sleeve. beautiful color and got lots of compliments!
adrienne
Top Contributor
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
i love love LOVE this dress! i just wore it to a weddding and my fiance now wants to buy it for me, he loved it so much. sexy, but definitely classy. i have a very broad back which usually takes me up a size in dresses (a 6 or 8), but bottom half i'm usually a 4 or 6. i rented this last minute and was only able to rent a 4 and 8, i wore the 8 because the 4 was too small up top. i think my perfect size would have been the 6 because the hips were a *teeny* bit too wide in the 8, but it worked because the dress is so flowy! i would definitely rent this dress again!
Amy
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! This was my favorite rental from RTR so far. The color is more beautiful in person (as mentioned in many reviews: it's more of a blue red than orange red), I found it very sexy and comfortable, and I got plenty of compliments. It's also a great dress if you are in the mood to eat plenty, because it flows nicely and isn't skin tight. Just something I know I'm going to keep in mind for my next event.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress lays beautifully! It's flirty with the one-shoulder style and shorter cut in front! Loved that it wasn't too clingy to my midsection!
Lilly
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Jul 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous dress. I'm 107 lbs, 5'1", and it fits perfectly. Although it's a drapey style, it's still form fitting and show off you curves (especially at the back). Feel very luxurious and regal. If you're looking to make a big impact, wear this. I almost want to buy this dress for myself, but since it's so memorable, that's not a good idea.
Miss Fern
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am in love with this dress. So so beautiful and the color is a really great red, richer than the picture portrays.
theverge
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Color fabric style, gorgeous. Just not on me. The seams puckered and stretched along my hips while the stomach gaped. And all night I had hold back my right b**b from escaping. If you have a figure this is NOT your cut. This dress is for the straight and narrow. (The size was fine).
J. Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved the dress and got many compliments. The draping of the front is very forgiving (especially, for my recently post-baby body). My only note is that as a tall woman I was a bit self conscious of the leg opening in the front... I ended up using a bit of body tape to keep the flap closed. I would definitely recommend this dress to a friend and would consider renting it again.
wendyht
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous dress! Wore it with the necklace pictured and received tons of compliments. Taller women take note: Had to use fashion tape to hold down the front to keep from showing too much thigh at a family wedding. Probably wouldn't have bothered for any other event...
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I love the color of this dress (a true red), but the fit did not work on me and I didn't end up wearing it. It was too large on top but pulled awkwardly around my hips. I could have worn it but it didn't do anything to flatter my body type at all.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 9, 2011

Overall fit: Small
As other reviewers have pointed out, this dress is definitely red rather than coral. It also runs very small through the hips and big up top. I typically wear a small, 4 or 6 depending on the shape of the dress so I ordered a 4 and 6 for my backup. Both were too big up top and both were too tight through the hips. If you're a pear shape or just have bigger hips in general I would not recommend renting this dress. The lining is way too tight for women with curves.
Shoppy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Ordered a 0 and a 2 beacuase the 4 wasn't available. Didn't fit! I'd say it runs small because I can usually fit into a 2. The dress was beautiful though. Pretty color, looks fab with gold.
Suuny
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this halston number for a wedding and it was a real hit. The color is a beautiful red (with blue undertones). The material is really luxurious and the dress itself is very comfy. I took a star off for 3 reasons 1) I rented a 0 and while it fit really well around the hips, the arm holes were a little too big for me and I had to wield a lil fashion tape 2) The material is awesome but leaves little to the imagination especially in the back (no panty line underwear is a must)and 3) the slit in the front is huge so I had to pin it up to avoid any unfortunate flashing situations. Even so, it's a gorgeous dress and really stands out in a crowd
Kat
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress, while beautiful, did not fit well. It was too big overall, and sort of just hung on me, rather than hugging my curves. However I'm afraid a size smaller would have been too small for me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×