Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $40 rental?
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
785 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
Loved it, got lots of compliments and the fabric was amazing!
Really pretty, I got lots of compliments and it was very comfortable to wear and dance in all night.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
I received many compliments on this dress and it was a lot of fun to accessorize!
The material of the dress is heavy and flattering. I thought the fit ran a little large, I probably could have fit into the 2 but because of the material the larger size still looked good. It's a great pick if you are going for a classic look or want to accessorize!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 3, 2012
What a fabulous "little black dress". Not only did it "Wow", it was comfortable to wear!
Fit was true to size, comfortable because of the stretch in the material and I didn't have to worry about too much exposure. This is a perfect little black dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
December 5, 2012
flattering and comfortable - perfect LBD!
When I go to weddings, I want to be comfortable..because I like to dance! This dress was perfect for a winter wedding. I wore black tights and a super high heel. It is a bit short if you are tall, so you may need to wear tights. I also dressed it up with a bib necklace and some sassy earrings. I love the waist line and the zipper detail! I got compliments all night and I think I also complimented my husband in his tux! I highly recommend this one - if I owned it. I am sure I would wear it all the time. Just change out the jewelry, bag and shoes - and you have a whole new outfit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 5, 2012
Classic and comfortable for an outdoor wedding!
I am 5'5" 118 lbs with an athletic build and this dress could have been a tad smaller but overall it was perfect! Halston heritage does an amazing job with their dresses when it comes to the fit, material, and comfort. I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding and paired it with an oversized turquoise necklace and I receive SO many compliments! Now... I want to purchase this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 5, 2012
This dress was great just simple flirty flare dress
It was a little bit big on me but RTR didn't have my usual size (a size 2). It was so comfortable the material is stretchy without looking cheap and the length was modest on me. I paired it with a vintage copper Renoir belt to cinch my waist a bit more but you can't really go wrong with a nice black dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 6, 2012
Perfect perfect perfect
Oh, how much do I love this dress? Let me count the ways.... 1. Perfectly appropriate: I wore this to my children's school fundraiser, so wanted something tasteful and appropriate - i.e. no backless dresses showing off the tattoos from my teens and 20s. :) This fit the bill nicely and really worked beautifully with the necklace suggested by RTR as the big accessory. 2. Fun skirt: the skirt portion of the dress flared out beautifully while dancing, which is, I am sure we can all agree, pretty awesome. Especially if you've got in insane heels that make your legs look awesome. 3. Vintagey look without making it look like I rented something at a costume store: that pretty much sums it up, but this was very Hepburn meets modern. 4. Ridiculously comfortable: Did not have to wear one bit of spanx, suck-em-in underthings, or similar. Just regular underclothing. The fabric is thick and slightly stretchy, which made everything look smooth where it typically would not and was really very comfortable to dance in. Sigh. Wish I could buy this, it would be such a LBD closet staple. Love you, my friend...and miss you.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 6, 2012
breakfast at tiffanys!
i rented this dress for my cousin's wedding. i ordered a 0 and a 2, and basically they were the exact same size. i could not tell a difference. the dress was really cute, perfect length. it is very slim through the waist, so you have to watch what you eat to prevent food babies! but it flares out at the hips very nicely and lots of flounce-iness. i paired it with a blue chunky necklace for a pop of color, and piled my hair on my head like in the model picture. i call it my breakfast at tiffany's look! :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 9, 2012
classic.
the perfect lbd. Just a classic and loved it. Received many compliments the entire evening. Fitted up top but not bottom. I'm 5'3 and came down just above knees. Not too short. I felt like Audrey Hepburn for a few hours.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
December 10, 2012
The perfect LBD
I rented this for a holiday party that was during the day. I loved this dress, so flattering! I want to own this dress! Did I say how flattering the dress is...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Perfect, Simple, Flattering Dress
This dress is a great material with a style that is very figure flattering. The style is simple but can easily be dressed up with some blingy bangles and/or a statement necklace. The best part of the dress is that it is so comfortable you won't want to change!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
Such an easy and elegant dress!
I don't often rent LBDs, but found myself in a bind and figured that I couldn't go too far wrong with this dress. I was right...you really can't go very far wrong with this one. It's an easy fit, and the heavy-ish material is very flattering and supportive. The seaming details and exposed zipper are a nice touch. I styled it with opaque stockings, tall boots, and the Adiba Kaur "A La Carte" necklace, and it was a perfect look for a fall party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Classy, Unique Little Black Dress
The dress fit well, and was a bit different in style from the sheath little black dress everyone typically thinks about. It was not glitzy, really classy looking dress. My only complaint with the dress was the arm cut outs, it was an odd cut, and did not flatter my arms. Lots of nice comments from people on the dress. I enjoyed wearing it and it fit the event quite well, but it's not a dress I would end up hanging in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
Perfect Dress for Corporate Holiday Party!
Let me start of by saying I LOVE HH dresses! This is the 2nd HH dress that I've rented and I'm officially a fan. I wore this to my company Holiday Party and it was perfect for the occasion. I rented it in a size 8 and I found it to be true to size. My only complaint, the dress was a little long. I'm 5"7 and with 4inch heels it still went all the way to my knee. Sizing down may have done the trick, to reduce the length. Overall, great dress and super comfy material:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
Not age appropriate
I thought this was going to be more of an Audrey Hepburn moment. Bu there is some ribbing that gives the dress a very young feeling and its quote short. Its more appropriate for a 21 year old not a 31 year old (me)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
What a fun dress!
LBD with a fun shape - great to accessorize. Go with one size up for your backup size. I am normally an 8 - I wore the 8 in this dress, but it was a little snug. Nothing spanx couldn't fix.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2012
Enh.
The dress was plain. The material is thick, think scuba. But in general, nothing too special.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 6, 2012
Super cute!
Perfect for a 6 o'clock wedding...You will love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
The perfect LBD!!
I rented this dress for a fancy holiday fete with friends - this dress is everything you want: fits great, feels great, lets your beauty shine - I will rent this dress again!! And, the understated elegance is perfect for accessorizing!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2012
Excellent service! Very reliable and even got a free tote!
After reading reviews, I was able to get an idea of how the dress would fit. I was relieved that it fit as expected since I was a bit nervous as a first time user. Now, no doubt in my mind that this service is flawless and worth every penny!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 26, 2012
loved it .. felt very flirty but classic at the same time
really beautiful material, soft and comfortable. loved the exposed zipper in the back. great for a winter wedding
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
December 26, 2012
Fabulous little black dress! I wish I could have kept it
This dress was fabulous! It fit perfectly, felt great and everyone complimented it. A few girls even asked to borrow it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 29, 2012
Love it! Received so many complements and felt really adorable !
Fits very nicely, cute fit and flare style is VERY flattering. Will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Flattering and fun dress
I loved the flare of the skirt on this dress. It made dancing a lot of fun. The dress was very form fitting throughout the top which balances the skirt out perfectly. Also loved that you could wear any bra with it so the dress was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Great dress, fit me perfectly!
I sadly wore this dress for my great grandmothers funeral, but it was perfect because the neckline wasn't extremely low but wasnt a turtle neck. The neckline was a little lower on me than the nodel but it still looked amazing. The only thing i noticed was the sleeves cut me at a really weird spot and really hurt when i had my hands at my side for a little bit. The fabric was stretchy and really comfortable. Overall I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2013
Cute Dress
I didn’t actually wear this dress. I ordered it as a back up. The dress was not what I expected. It was a little too sporty for the holiday party that I was planning on wearing it to. In my opinion, the stretch material contributed to its sporty feel and overall look. It was also a little bit longer than I expected it to be. I was going for a more glam look for the evening. I ended up wearing a sequin romper, which was more appropriate for the occasion. I found this dress to be very cute, and would be flattering on a body that is in very good shape. It hugs the body in all the right places.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2013
This was my first RTR experience and definitely won't be my last!
I ordered this dress for New Years Eve and it fit like a glove! The fabric was slightly stretchy, so it was great and forgiving for having dinner and drinks throughout the evening. This dress can be dressed up or down very easily. I loved it and dreaded sending it back!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2013
Great party dress for tall women.
Loved this dress in theory, it is very close fitting which is okay but it was too long on me and didn't look nearly as cute as it does on this girl. I think its tougher to pull off if you have curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
Great dress, wish I could keep it!
Perfect fit! The material was heavy and has just enough give in it to hide any flaws! A little longer than I thought, but I'm only 5'2"...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
January 10, 2013
Classic and great for us shorter gals.
Nice fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2013
good bet
I ordered this as a backup dress in case the other didn't work. Very glad I did. The material and style very flattering on most figure shapes, just as it appears in review photos. I could have gone to size two for a sexier fit. Size down so the zipper lays flat! Great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2013
This dress was super flattering and comfortable! I got tons of compliments and felt great all night!
Fits true to size, cinches at natural waist and flairs out
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2013
Perfect LBD
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I was so in love with my other RTR dress, but I will definitely rent this again for another event. It's the perfect LBD in terms of fit, comfort, and style. It ran true to size, but would size up for your second size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2013
Gorgeous and sophisticated.
Fit beautifully.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2013
Fun LBD!
I LOVED this dress! It was a really cute little black dress that fit true to size and was very slimming. Unfortunately, I'm 5'11" and the flouncy skirt was a little too short on me. I would have worn the dress to a wedding, but I was afraid of showing off a little too much while dancing! I would highly recommend this dress, though, especially to a shorter girl who wouldn't run into the same problems with length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2013
A simple dress with a ton of compliments! Fit perfectly.
Fit perfectly on my athletic body type, flattering for all because if he tighter fit around the waist and the forgiving fabric that flows out from the hip.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
January 20, 2013
Easy purchase, dressed arrived on time and in perfect condition.
Loved this dress! It was perfect for the occasion, dressed up or dressed down. Fits perfect!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
Dancing with my girlfriends and loving how the dress moved!
I wore this dress to my good friends engagement party. I love how the dress fit. It flatters curves and was a little stretchy so I could dance all night! I felt very comfortable and pretty. Overall, my favorite rental thus far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 1, 2013
expedient RTR service + awesome dress = Great night!
I rented this dress for a local Opera with my mother and boyfriend and it was perfect for the occasion: classy with a hint of sexy. It is short, which I was fine with, but not too short to cause an issue (I'm 5'8 3/4"). Thick and flowy material. Very stretchy. I was able to wear the 6 but as other reviewers said, it bunched up weirdly in the back. Most importantly, I am long-waisted so the accents to the waist of the size 6 dress just did not lay right on my torso. Depending on your body type slimming garments may be needed. It is very slim-fitting in the torso. Loved the flare of the skirt at the waist. Overall great quality dress. Perfect for more conservative occasions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2013
The dress was beautiful. Great/comfortable material and the skirt gave it a fun flare.
Form fitting across the chest and through the hips with a flared skirt. I wore the size 4 which was really comfortable but it was borderline too tight across the chest/under the arms. Overall, LOVED the dress and can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×