Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $40 rental ?
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

611 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 524
Large 35
Photos 258
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Perfect Audrey!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for an Audrey Hepburn costume during Halloween, and it was PERFECT! Super comfortable, great thick material, and just the right length (I'm 5'8").
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jun 3, 2014

Fun and flirty. This is the perfect LBD.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a back up for a charity gala. It was a safe choice, and although it's not super formal, it was still perfectly fit for the evening. It has the versatility to fit for a formal gala, or a girls night out.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Great fit lots of compliments! The seams make it soooo flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love love love that I could wear a regular bra
Bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Classic, pretty and flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit like a glove! The material is thick and stretchy, so it fits nicely but doesn't show off any flaws. I have a small waist and wide hips and felt this fit was very flattering, even from front on (I usually do the side pose to slim the hips some!) Honestly, I think this dress would flatter any figure. It's gorgeous!
RebeccaK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

comfortable fun dress !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie benefit affair and it was perfect! The dress fit me perfectly. I was nervous the 2 wouldn't be long enough but it did come right above the knee and was perfect with heels. The dress does need a statement necklace however because it is a little plain. The skirt was a fun style for dancing! I hated to give this dress back because its so versatile it could be worn for any occasion. I will be renting it again!
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a church fundraiser. I wanted a LBD that was dressy but not too much, classic but a little edgy and different and this dress was perfect! It fit true to size, fitted but the material has some stretch so there's a little give around trouble spots(my waist) yet form flattering. The flared skirt was fun and looked great dancing. I got lots of compliments throughout the night.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Cute, comfy dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear an 8, but the 10 seemed to fit best for me on this one. IT was such a comfortable dress, the length was just right for a wedding. I glammed it up with the Evening Primrose necklace. Lots of compliments!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

I wore the dress to a small wedding at my brother in-law's house.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt comfortable and confident in the dress- it was easy to wear and flattered my body type (hugged my waist while hiding my stomach). I received many compliments on the dress!
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Classy and feminine

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly. I felt beautiful and comfortable all night! I fit in both the 4 and the 6 but the 6 was conifer as the arm holes were a tiny bit snug.
Gwen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

This is such a comfortable dress. Great stretchy fabric and just the right length.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The little flare of the skirt was age appropriate without making me look like I was trying too hard! The best LBD I have worn in a while.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Great fitting dress - comfortable & flirty.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a night out in Vegas. It's a classic dress but I dresses it up with a necklace & edgy heels. The fit is dynamite - comfortable but flirty. A great LBD! I am 5'9" and 138 lbs. size 8 fit the bill!
stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

This is a really flattering little black dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a really great simple black dress and very flattering. I am usually a 4, but wore the 2 because i felt like it fit me a little better. i would not say it runs big, it just depend on how fitting you want it to be. I wore it with a sexy red shoe and it was a hit!
Kat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Wore this to an evening wedding in Newport Beach. Perfect dress for the event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lots of stretch in this dress and super comfortable for dancing. Easy to dress up or down.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

This is the perfect LBD,

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was hesitant to rent this gorgeous dress because I was looking for something more colorful but I'm so glad I did! This was a statement even in black. I received so many compliments. A very classy and fashionable dress! Be sure to rent this with a statement necklace (like the Kate Spade Mayan Alabaster necklace)!
Lianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Perfect Little Black

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great for a day to night wedding. Great length, not too short but still sexy. Looks great with a chunky necklace and nude (or colored) shoes. Really comfortable but the material is a little thick so beware if you're going to be outside in the heat all day.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Nice twist on the LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit very well and true to size. I normally shy away from a flare out dress bc I find them to be too "cute" and full, but this one was perfect.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable and true to size. I still have some baby weight to lose and it fit perfectly where it needed to and flared where it needed to. LOVED this dress! Received many compliments and was so comfortable! This was my first RTR and I loved it.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

I felt wonderful in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was so comfortable and flattering. Loved the exposed zipper. I liked that I Could wear any bra with it due to thicker material. Length was perfect as well! Overall awesome dress and I will definitely be renting again soon!
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Great night with a great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was really comfortable but very structured and form fitting. Great dress
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect. Nice material. Fit was great. I was worried about how much it would flare out but it was the perfect amount. Would definitely rent this dress again.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit snugly in the ribcage area, and the skirt had a nice flare to it. The dress definitely needs to be paired with a nice necklace, but it was perfect for the occasion. It is a great dress for those of us who have an athletic butt and legs, but have a smaller waist.
Melynda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Fun and flirty

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented for Vegas based on phone stylist recommendation. I told her I like to show a little skin but not over the top and tend to be understated. She suggested this immediately and described as "fun and flirty" . Very right on! Love dancing in it. It had some great twirl and was a perfect length to not worry about bending over or anything. Pair with a statement necklace and some interesting shoes.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was perfect for the occasion. The material is very thick and sturdy.
Candice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So I loved this dress with the exception of one thing... The middle was a little more form fitting than I would have liked. The material is a beautiful stretchy thick material, however because of that the middle left no room for covering any stomach issues. I have a little bit of a belly pooch so I was wearing spanx but still would have liked to have a little more camo there but that's just me. I am typically a 4 which I probably could have gotten away with but was a little tight in the armpits and I have a full bust so u wanted a little room. The 6 fit better for my taste- just a little loose on the back where the zipper was but I didn't want it super tight. The dress is kind of like a peplum where the tip is right and the bottom flairs out. I did love the flair and when I was dancing it moved beautifully. All in all it was a beautifully constructed dress with the exception of that one thing but that's not an issue with the dress it's just how my body is. Wore with red wedges and pearl necklace to give it some oomph! I did get so many compliments and the photographer kept taking pictures of me! Great night with a great dress! :)
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Sister's Bat Mitzvah

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Professional dress that was comfortable and looked great
Luci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

The look on my husband's face when I walked out in this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was very happy with this dress. I had a baby 8 months ago. The fit of this dress highlighted the areas I'm comfortable showing off (upper body & waistline) and camouflaged the areas (lower abs & hips) that I prefer not to accentuate at the moment. Additionally, I appreciated that this dress did not wrinkle easily and was very comfortable. I would rent this piece again.
Jorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

Great bachelorette party dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was pretty good.If you have any tummy at all, it will show. Wear spanx. Thick material. Felt pretty good in it :) Wore it with cowboy boots and it was definitely a fun dress to wear for my friends Nashville bachelorette party!
Sabrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 17, 2014

Flattering waistline

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress to accentuate your waist. BUT, fabric felt cheap and smelled questionable. Wasn't the quality I expected.
Teah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 10 year high school reunion. PERFECT! I wanted something simple without looking too overdressed. I rented the 10 & the 12. The 10 was a TINY bit snug across the chest, so I ended up wearing the 12. It didn't show off my waist as well as the 10, but I liked that it gave me a little extra length as well (I'm 6 feet!) The weight of the fabric kept the full skirt down so I never had to worry about flashing anything. I paired it with the RJ Graziano Turq Isle Necklace & some matching turquoise flats. This is a WONDERFUL dress that would look great on any body type. Tall girls don't be afraid! I'm always very conscious of the length of the dresses I rent on RTR & this one is fantastic!
Mphillips
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Great for and fun skirt

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a work dinner and it was great! The fabric is thick and stretchy and quite comfortable. It does have a drop waist so it's quite fitted down to the hope. Shape wear is required for the best fit and look. It does have a very high neckline which is hard for bigger chested woman but I was still able to make it work :)
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Versatile dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 4 or a 6, and the 4 fit in this dress. It's a tank stye but you can wear a regular bra, and it has a flippy skirt. You can't really tell from the pictures but the seams stick out on the dress, but I thought it was a good style. This has a nice, substantial fabric, and you could easily dress it up or down depending on your accessories. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be renting again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me amazingly. The fabric felt expensive and was in great condition. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments.
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Classy & Comfy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this for a birthday weekend trip to Boston. I wore it to walk around the city for sightseeing and then dinner and drinks out at night. First of all, the material is great. It was thick and stretchy, super comfy. I loved the way the dress is cut - super flattering. I even opted to not wear my Spanx under because the cut flared out at just the right spot that I didn't feel uncomfortable. I wore a regular bra and the straps didn't show - a big plus. I added some color with the Kate Spade Chip necklace.
maureen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

My dress was perfect for and outdoor wedding at an Estate! I loved the flared skirt. Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 6 fit perfect. I ordered the 8 as well just in case. The dress was very flattering and I felt great in it. I will be ordering from Rent the Runway again in the near future!
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

Amazing fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a fun and flirty dress. It was a little short and be careful if you spin on the dance floor as it can twirl rather high. I received so many compliments on it. I paired it with the turquoise necklace and peep toe platforms.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a nice, simple dress. The material is a good quality and has some stretch to it. I am a usually a size 6, but ordered the 8 backup as suggested. The 6 could have worked, but I just had surgery the week before and I felt I wanted a bit more room since stitches were still in (sorry, TMI!) I received a lot of compliments. I wore my own necklace and rented a cuff bracelet. I paired it with gold heels.
KTD
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Tons of compliments! And comfortable too!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit wonderfully. Form fitting, it showed off my curves but was still flattering. Yes, you could see I have a bit of a tummy, but it wasn't super apparent. The material is thick and stretches. A little warm for a summer day. The skirt flowed our towards the bottom and added that special flair while dancing. i didn't need to adjust it at all throughout the day. I felt fantastic in it and would definitely wear it again if I could! Dressed it up with a statement necklace and some nude and black flats.
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

So easy and fun to rent! I had a blast looking through all of the dress choices! Very convenient!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I wore it to a friends wedding. I paired the dress with nude heels, a nude belt, and gold jewelry. Fit pretty true to size. I rented the 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 2 because it was a little more comfortable. So fun to dance in this dress! Felt classy and beautiful!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Fun and flirty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved everything about this dress. Other reviewers commented that the dress was heavy but I didn't find it to be a bad heavy - just a better fabric heavy vs. something flimsy. The thing I loved the most about this dress was the way it fell over all. The skirt was flirty and I felt the dress camouflaged traces of belly well so don't be afraid of this dress if you have some pouchiness going on. Maybe size up for your back up. Skin tight anything accentuates the good and the bad. At the end of the day, I felt very confident in this dress. For the cons, I can't say I can name something I liked the least but I did notice that the hem and seams are inverted/exposed meaning the stitching you would normally see INSIDE the seams were on the outside. And the hem was an exposed stitch as well. It didn't look bad by any means, it was just different. It's a safe rental but certainly not a boring one. Spin around and you'll agree.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Age: 38
Sep 16, 2014

Easy, fun, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered a size larger based on previous rentals. There was no need to as the dress was a little too big, but was able to make it work. True to size.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×