Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Disco Print Butterfly Dress

$50 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Opt for a bold seasonal statement with Halston Heritage's Disco Print Butterfly Dress. One accessory is plenty for this stunning style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size - comfortable room for bust and may be worn with any standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut is loosely fitted on waist
HIPS: Fitted - straight cut skirt is loosely fitted on hips though may be more fitted on full hips - consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size - comfortable room for bust and may be worn with any standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut is loosely fitted on waist
HIPS: Fitted - straight cut skirt is loosely fitted on hips though may be more fitted on full hips - consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor disco light printed silk crepe de chine. Crew neckline. Open slit sleeve with organza detail. Hidden back zip. Mini length. Model's height is 5'8.5".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

51 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 31
Large 0
Photos 18
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 30, 2011

Rent the Runway was available even during odd times of the night. People commented on how my dress was their favorite that they had seen all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm about 2 inches shorter than the model, and the dress was a perfect fit! I'm usually a 4 but had a 2 and the length, though it was short, was not an issue at all. I got so many compliments and would rent it again in a heartbeat. I absolutely loved it!
Piper
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I LOVED this dress! I rented it with the "make him regret it" nicole miller dress. (I wore a zero in that dress and a four in this one!!) I normally wear a two but thank goodness I ordered the four too bc the two was too tight across the chest and sholders. I loved that it was short bc everything on me usually so long! I have to say though I can't imagine anyone taller than 5'5" being able to pull this off...your cheeks would show! I felt amazing in this dress. Would love to rent it again!
Sandra H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 22, 2011

HOT-HOT-HOT!!! Rented it twice now!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!! And so did my husband. I rented this dress for a getaway weekend in Las Vegas. And boy, is this dress Vegas material!! An attention grabber from both men and women. It is VERY short,with fabulous sleeves. I'm a 32B (chest) with a very curvy rear end, and long legs. I do not have the flattest tummy after 3 kids. I could have worn either the size 2 or the 4, but went with the size 2 because it was smaller on the chest. It also hugged the hips really well, which I think it is key with this dress. Also, the size 4 was a bit frayed. The sleeves were no problem, even during a formal 6-course dinner. Warning!! You can't lift your arms with this dress and need to know how to sit down properly to not give a peep show. However, I was able to dance in it with no problem in the dance clubs. I wore my hair back as the model, but with more "showy" accessories (silver) and silver platform 4.5 inch heels, for a more "over the top" look, which is OK for Vegas. If the short length is an issue, you could wear it with black stockings/tights. Can't wait to rent it again.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 28, 2011

New Year's Eve Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is absolutely beautiful, BUT BEWARE: it is extremely short! Granted I am 5'10, however this was right underneath my butt!! I wore a pair of opaque black tights with this and it looked great.
sophie71
Height: 5' 3"
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Very pretty in person and I thought that since I am short, it would be fine length wise. Sadly, it was way to short to wear - would be perfect with opaque black tights. I recommend this to someone with small hips, no bum.
Lizzy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: Small
it is not recommended for someone taller than 5'7" i would say. This was not a dress on me- it was a shirt
uptown-downtown
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Aug 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Having read the reviews, I knew it was short, and wore this as a tunic over black shorts. I cannot imagine anyone my height wearing it with nothing underneath. Warning the fabric does not breathe well, so wear it in a cool place.
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The dress was very pretty. Great length for short girls. It was just too small, definitely need to order a size up!
CC
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
What a fun dress. Wore it to my future daughter in laws bachelorette party in Atlantic City NJ. It was perfect. Wore black opaque stockings and wedge shoes. I also rented the blue and gold earrings to wear with it. Loved the whole concept of it that I also rented a dress for the rehearsal dinner. A classic can't wait to wear that one. I normally wear a size 2 or 4. The 2 was a little snug but luckily l choose another size and the 4 worked out perfectly.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 13, 2011

This dress was the perfect addition to my 21st bday!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A little bit short, but great sleeves!
lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

My first RTR rental made me a customer for life!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! The sleeves are so much fun and very sexy. The dress is VERY short, so not for the faint of heart. However with black tights and heels, it was the perfect dress for my event. I received lots of compliments on this dress, by both men and women and I highly recommend it for a variety of different occasions. The black chiffon lining inside the sleeves was a nice detail. The dress was very chic and I will definitely rent it again.
WMR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2011

Great birthday dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my birthday and it was perfect for the occasion. I usually wear a size 4, but luckily got a 6 as my backup because the 4 was really tight on my bust. loved it.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 18, 2012

Great New Year's Eve Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was such an amazing dress for New Year's Eve! I ordered sizes 2 and 4, and wore the 4 because the 2 was SHORT, even for me! Beware tall women! I was able to wear it with black tights and high black platform pumps. I highly recommend this dress!! It was very comfy to dance in because of the roomy body, yet the length kept it sexy and young. Can't wait to rent again, thanks RTR!
cat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Jan 25, 2012

Super Short and Little Worn

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is beautiful however it was a little worn wish I gotten one in better condition. I got the 2 and 4. The 2 fit but was super short! Ended up with wearing the 4 due to length. Great for apple shape person good to hide stomach. Not the best for athletic or pear shape due to it does not show any curves or shape you are in.
db
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

won't work if you are tall

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented two sizes and was unable to wear either as the dress was tight in the bust and super short. One of the reviews that I read noted that it was short, but would be okay with tights. I was fine with this plan, but when I got the dresses they were both above my behind ( I am 5'7 1/2) and would have worked as a top/tunic at best,
Somer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Loved

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely runs about a size small. I had read that on other reviews so I was happy I ordered a size up. Suuuuper short, BUT I got so many compliments it was crazy. I wore a pair of little booty shorts underneath just in case, and a giant wedge worked perfect. Super fun and flirty, sleeves didn't get in the way. My husband loved it and wants me to rent it again!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Got a ton of compliments. highly recommend.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect Party dress! Dress is very short, I wore it in the winter so I was able to wear tights with it.
LadyMargaret
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

We receive compliments all night on our outfit...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I pick this dress because of the fabric and style. I enter into contest and spend lots of money on dresses that I never wear again. In the contest you are judge on appearance and we receive the highest points. This is a sexy little dress and I would recommend it any time. Oh I had to wear shorts under it. And YES we won the contest!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

birthday

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
loved this dress! the sleeves are great but it is VERY very short. im 5 9 and wore spandex black shorts underneath and flats and had no problem. it's definitely a different unique dress. even though it was short I made it work and loved it!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

AMazing, wore this dress for my bacherollette party and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a great fight, lose in the right areas, and was easy to dance in.
Corie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2012

Fun Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It is short, I wore leggings underneath & it was a perfect tunic length.
NDS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Sexy party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my own fabulous birthday party. It was great, comfortable, and true to size. It is very short so there was no bending over to pick up a dropped napkin but otherwise, fun!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Nov 21, 2012

I didn't end up wearing this dress but it was really cute!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was pretty short (I have long legs and a short torso). I wanted something that I could dance in without getting hot/sweaty, and this just didn't feel like that type of dress. It is a lovely dress however if you don't plan on moving around a lot, would be absolutely wonderful for a cocktail party!
anitra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

Was really short but it was so much fun. I used it as my second dress for my 40th party at home.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Size up for length it was very short have to be 100 percent confident to wear it out. It was totally fun!!!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Fun Party Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very short dress, but really cute. Also, the sleeves are very open and flowy. You'll have to make an effort to keep them over your arms all night.
shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Rented for decade theme party went 60s had a ball!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Little on the short side but so fun.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Not what I expected.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Too short of a dress. Even with stockings. Very disappointed, returned without wearing.
Danica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Super Sassy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my sorority's senior semi-formal. It was such a fun dress for a very fun night! It was a little short, but I just wore black spandex so I wouldn't have to worry too much about anything! I would definitely recommend this dress. This dress is perfectly unique and sassy! Love it!
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Adorable dress, SHORT and runs small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a friend's 70's party. I am a curvy build so perhaps my breasts and rear end took up some extra fabric, but it was incredibly short. When I read the reviews, I thought people were not used to wearing short party dresses. But it is SHORT, like just right below my rear end. I wore hot yoga shorts underneath to make sure I didn't flash anyone. That being said, every man loved the dress and every woman gave me dirty looks. I don't think its super practical if you are dancing or sitting. Standing and looking cute is about all you can do in this dress.
Lane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 13, 2013

Too short for me

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was too short for me even with tights under. I have large hips and my a** was showing in the back. Cute sleeves but just too short if you have junk in the trunk.
danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

way too short!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Was so sad that I didn't get to wear this dress. It was way too short and not in a good way!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Rented for a Disco Theme birthday bash!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my back up dress, I did not wear it due to the fact that was extremely short. Very cute dress but not for me.
Blondie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

The dress was cute. Definitely size up if you'd like to get a bit more length....it is short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was unable to wear the dress for my event. When the dress came it was a bit worn on the bottom of the sleeves and the stitching had come undone. RtR staff was amazing. I called them and they tried to resend me the same dress out however it was out of stock for my weekend. RtR gave me some suggestions to try or I could pick any dress of my choice. I did pick another dress. It arrived less than 24 hours later and fit perfectly. Customer service was awesome!! RtR even checked up on my second dress choice to make sure it worked.
S
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 5, 2013

Love the dress -- so fun!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a 70's theme party and it was a big hit!! The sleeves are great and make dancing super fun. Based on reviews i ordered the 0 and the 2. Glad to have the 2 because it just-fit around the hips. It's very short.
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 18, 2013

loved this dress so much! so original!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a Disco dance at my high school and loved it!! the dress is very short so i wore spandex underneath because i was dancing. I got so many compliments on this dress!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

my senior promnight! danced the whole time!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, but im very short so for taller people it may be a bit short. comfortable & breathable material! it's a very unique dress!
tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Fun but very short

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really fun for formal 70s party. Wore with pink tights/leggings.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

This dress was one of a kind and unique. I felt the quality of the dress as soon as I put it on.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR and I told all of my clients about it, so I got a lot of compliments from the pictures. It photographs very well. I got a lot of looks at the party, I got what I was looking for in a sexy but stylish, colorful but not too crazy dress. (It was a magazine launch/ amongst hairdressers). Perfect. I'm 5'2" I didn't feel it was too short a taller girl might.
Grayson
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

This dress looked so good on! I loved it and felt great in it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm 5'2 and wore a size 2, and it was still a bit short, so I had to wear tights. Overall it fit perfectly everywhere else.
Pat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 15, 2015

Wore this to compete in a dance contest. We won!!! and the dress definitely contributed!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Short and fitted, but not too tight so it didn't ride up. The sleeves are awesome. If you're going to dance in it, you'll definitely need boy shorts or spanks! I would buy this dress in a heartbeat!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×