Cut It Out Dress

$35 rental
$295 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(140)
Small
(70)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 7, 2014
The dress is nice, but didn't work for me.
I rented the 6 and the 8 and neither one fit. The material is thick and great quality but it was much too tight on my broad shoulders. If you are an athletic swimmer/crossfit type build, may not be the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2014
Perfect dress for New Years Eve!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve at a hotel all inclusive event. It was super comfortable and looked fabulous! My boyfriend absolutely loved it ;) The cutouts are perfect - sexy but classy enough that it's not too provocative. I wish I could buy this and wear all the time!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
January 12, 2014
classy with just a hint of sexy
This dress was super comfortable. I'm glad I didn't size up like most of the reviews said to. I have a very small upperbody and the 2 fit well. The bottom half of the dress fit almost exactly the same in the 2 and 4, so if you have a bigger bust you should size up - otherwise it's very true to size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
The additional items they send
Very pretty dress. Nice fit. Simple and sexy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2014
Sexy cut outs
Super fun dress. Had to remember to pull my shoulders back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2013
HOT, hot HOT! Get ready to turn every head in the room.
This dress was much more structured and stunning than I thought it would be. The fabric is very high-quality and heavy, with just a bit of give. It definitely sucks you in in all the right places. Super comfortable. The only thing I will say is that the part of your back it shows is tough to tone, so I was a smidge self-conscious about that. Super sexy though and I'd rent it 900 more times.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
December 22, 2013
I really should have kept this
I didn't really know what to expect with this dress, but it was PERFECT. I love a classic silhouette with a surprising detail (in this case, an open back). I think my dress got more attention on my birthday than I did. I'll definitely be renting this one again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2013
Love it!!!
Usually wear a 2 but i'm glad i read the reviews and ordered the 4. I wore this to my company's holiday party and it was a showstopper. Don't wear this if you don't want all eyes on you. Super sexy. The only con is that it is a very thick material and with the long sleeves i was hot all evening....especially on the dancefloor.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 15, 2013
great accessories help make the dress.
I received size 0 and 2. They both fit exactly like the same size 0. It was snug and sexy. I'm a skinny girl but chub still managed to sneak out through the sides.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2013
Perfect dress :)
I expected the fabric to be more stretchy but I loved how it fit. Im usually a 0 but the 2 was more comfortable for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2013
Too Small
I was way off in the rental. I have a 34D chest and I'm 5ft 10. The dress was so tight across the bust and too short for a corporate function in Las Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2013
HOT!
This dress is the perfect combination of sexy and classy. The open back, curve-hugging fit, and shorter skirt make it hot enough to go out on the town in, and the higher neckline and three-quarter length sleeves make you still feel like a lady. It's SO easy to pair with accessories and shoes and is super flattering. The material is thick and warm, so you can even wear it out on colder nights. Plus, you won't need to find a bra that works with the open back, because the material will hold and cover on its own. :) I ordered a 0 and 2, normally wearing a 0. I wore the 2, because the dress runs pretty tight and if it isn't the right fit, the opening in the back will make it look like you have back fat! Ha. Amazing dress, I highly recommend it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
November 18, 2013
Super comfortable, great for a small waist
Would wear it again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2013
Stunning fitted dress. Makes a statement.
The fit is snug, which I like but I could not even fit a bra underneath the top. I ended up going braless, which could be an issue for some bigger chested girls. If you have a larger chest the cut on the side is higher up and dangerously close to the bottom of my chest which was compressed and looking for any way out of a tight situation anyways. Thankfully there were no mishaps but I was not moving around that much. If I was dancing and raising my arms up, I am pretty sure I would have given the crowd a free peek at the bottom of my breasts. Still love the dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 11, 2013
Awesome dress, but not for a family wedding
I ordered this dress as a backup dress for my cousin's wedding. They only had a 0, so I got that and hoped it would fit. I am usually either a 2 or 0. When the dress came, the 0 fit, but my bra did show. it says you should wear a strapless bra, but it's probably best with none at all. I loved this dress, and brought it with me to the hotel as an option to wear, but as my sister pointed out, it's probably better for a wedding that doesn't include my grandmother.... I'll definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 5, 2013
loved the dress!
it was a perfect fit for my body. I am small but have a bigger top (32 D). It is usually difficult for me to find dresses that fit from top to bottom. this one was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 5, 2013
amazing silhouette
Loved this dress! The material is thicker than I expected, but holds and contours nicely. Unlike some reviewers, my strapless bra showed below the strap of the dress, so I opted for a backless bra. very comfortable to wear, lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2013
NYE
I wore this to an NYE party and it was perfect! Dressy enough for NYE with an appropriate amount of sex appeal for the winter time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2013
Lots of attention and trouble in the best way :)
This is my second time renting this dress and it was absolutely perfect for a bachelorette party in downtown Nashville. I got compliments and questions about it all night...not to mention free drinks from the guys. This dress is definitely true to size, snug but not suffocating. I chose to wear a strapless backless bra and it worked wonderfully. Fitting but still able to move and dance, and socialize for 6+ hours comfortably. I would buy this dress if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2013
Loved wearing this dress to my bachelorette party!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, which was held in November. It was perfect to wear out on a chilly Fall night- the cut outs helped make the look even more special, without being over the top. I would say it ran pretty true to size, I opted to wear the size 4 because the size 2 didn't fit in my chest (I'm a C). The length was perfect, hitting just above my knee. I liked the form fitting aspect of the dress because it gave me a really sleek look. Got a ton of compliments, and would recommend anyone looking for a LBD with a twist!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2013
My boyfriend is used to seeing me in fab dresses.....and still couldn't stop staring
Everyone needs to rent this dress!!!!! It fit like a glove and made my curves pop! I wore a 4 because the 2 was a little tight in the bust.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
didn't wear it
This was a back up dress I had ordered and tried on. I typically wear between a 4-6 depending on the dress. The top portion of the dress was a bit snug. Had the type of sleeves and top you really have to pull up onto your shoulders. The fabric was great. Good stretch and a thick enough fabric to smooth out any lines. But for me, (5'4") the bottom of the skirt was wayyy longer that I expected. I think it might even have been over my knees. So I had trouble figuring out where to allow the skirt to sit on my hips / where the opening should sit on my back. In the end I didn't wear it. Just wasn't what I expected from the photo. If i had ordered the six, maybe the sleeves/shoulders would have fit better, but the bottom would have been insanely big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2013
This dress is definitely one that will get a second look! I love how it is tastefully sexy.
This dress is extremely fitted. Generally a size zero is big on me, but this is the first dress that truly fit me. My boyfriend was very appreciative. I am generally very modest and prefer to wear less body hugging clothes, so I rented this dress for him. He loved it and wanted me to wear it again. He was disappointed when he realized it was only rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2013
This isn't your mama's LBD ...
If you're a fan of LBD's, take note: This dress is PERFECT!!! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and felt incredible AND comfortable in it - which can be a hard balance to strike with evening wear. It's extremely classy and elegant from the front, yet super, super sexy from behind. I normally wear a size 6 - so I ordered that AND the 8. I ended up wearing the 8, so when you order your (free) second size, go one step up - just in case. The length is perfect, fabric is AMAZING (hugs you in ALL the right places), and is a real crowd pleaser :) I got tons of compliments all night long and felt like a million bucks! Thanks RTR for making my first experience so memorable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
Looked great with my date!
The cut out was really flattering, would probably give nice curves to everyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 7, 2013
AMAZING customer service
The dress is beautiful! Thick material perfect for a night out in the fall/winter. The back is very open, so I was unable to wear a bra. The sides ride up a little bit while walking and there's a little bit of bunching on the side where the zipper is. My husband and friends loved the dress - thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 4, 2013
Sexy, classy, LBD
Perfectly form fitting, revealing enough skin, but with such a conservative top, this dress is perfectly sexy,classy, and flattering. I wore this dress for a Valentine's Day dinner with my boyfriend, and 8 months later he still mentions it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2013
Super flattering dress, sucks you in in all the right places!
LOVED this dress, even tried to purchase it from RTR so I didn't have to return it! I'm usually a 6 but only the size 4 was available, so I gave it a shot. The dress is definitely tight, like a bandage dress, so if you're between sizes - size down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2013
STUNNING
I rented this dress for a party and it is a SHOWSTOPPER!!!!! I felt like a top model in the dress. I have rented many dresses from RTR but this is by far my favorite. I was afraid that the cutouts were going to be too much but they show just the right amount of skin!!! Excellent choice for a party.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2013
I loved it, it was the perfect dress for this formal/business occasion.
The fit was slightly small Im glad I got an 8, because I believe the 6 would have been to small. I usually wear between an 8 and a 6. Great Length. I am 5'7 and it came a little above my knees. I loved it!! Very Cute and Trendy!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2013
The dresses showed up on a hanger, in a garment bag and came with free samples. I loved the samples.
The size 2 fit perfect everywhere except for the arms.If the dress had been sleeveless there wouldn't have been any issue, but I have muscular arms and the size 2s sleeves were tight. The 4 was noticeably looser all over but did not look bad. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the way the sleeves fit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
So wonderful, flattering, and beautiful!!!!
This is the perfect dress, you will love it. You can wear a normal bra but I had to pin the strap in the back. I didn't end up wearing it because my event got cancelled, but I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Great party dress!
I usually wear a 2. But after reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 (this was my second $25 dress, so I only got one size). The material is very thick. I'm glad I had the 4. I probably could have worn a smaller size, but because the material is stretchy, the 4 fit great. It's better to have the bigger size. If you squeeze into this dress, you run the risk of having some skin bulging out of the cut-outs!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 17, 2013
Got lots of looks from men and glares from their ladies! THIS DRESS IS SEXY! Wore it in NYC.
I usually wear a size 8 very comfortably....never skin tight so maybe it's time for me to move down to a size 6...but this was my FIRST size 6 and it fit like a glove as you can see!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2013
Sadly didn't fit -- too small :(
Tried to rent this dress for my college reunion, but sadly it was too small. I am typically a size 4/6 and both sizes were too small :( Wish it had worked b/c it is such a cute style. Def. order up a size!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress
I wore this dress for my sisters 40th birthday party. It was perfect for the occasion. This dress fit perfectly and I felt amazing in it. The fabric was unexpectedly thick so I didn't need to wear a bra which made the dress even more comfortable. I received so many compliments about how I looked in the dress and how cute it was. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2013
Lots of compliments on the dress but my bra was popping out the whole time
The material is thick and holds its shape well.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
June 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a bachelorette! Felt super sexy without showing too much skin!!
What I really loved about this dress is how easy it is to wear! There was no adjusting or tugging all night - it just fits! I think everyone needs to rent this dress at least once!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
YES!
Comfy. Cute. and fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
May 29, 2013
Classy, with a bit of intrigue
Since RTR had a Memorial Day promo, I got this dress for a Friday night date: dinner and "Sleep No More" in NYC. I loved that the dress is quite classy, with a bit of intrigue. The cutouts are just right -- I could wear a regular black bra with it (would have been even better with tape). I am on the curvier side of XS/0 and went up a size, but then couldn't go braless. This dress will not look good if it looks too tight! It was really fun to wear with a mask, but it does ride up a bit running up and down stairs. A dress to make a night just a little more fun.
LeahNovember 6, 2013
Sleep No More is so much fun!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×