Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$35 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

200 reviews

Fit
Small 64
True to Size 134
Large 0
Photos 112
Heidi M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

10 year reunion! GREAT BACK!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fantastic dress. Couldn't fit much more in it. Fits like a glove. A real head turner. Wore it to my high school reunion and everyone thought it was stunning.
Elayne
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 9, 2011

loved how the garment bag is for me to keep :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! this dress was the first time using the website, and I'm in LOVE! it fit perfectly, very form fitting, i was a little worried on how the back would look since it was so open, but when you try the dress on its really nice and not so bad!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Jan 2, 2012

Wearing a fun designer dress I wouldn't normally have bought

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and got so many compliments! It is definitely a tighter fitting dress, but the material is very stretchy and has a lot of give. The cut outs on the side hit right at the smallest part of your waist, so it's very flattering. I typically wear size 2 in dresses and the 2 I ordered fit a lot tighter on me than the model you see in the picture. I would also suggest wearing spanx with this dress. Overall, great dress and great fit!
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

This dress was so fun and sexy, but also easy to wear!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve this year and absolutely loved it! I received so many compliments on how sexy, but yet not overly sexy, it was. I had ordered a size 2 and 4 as the extra, however the size 4 was unavailable. The 2 was a bit snug, but I had no problem wearing it as the material is pretty stretchy. But also because of the material, the dress would ride up a little on my legs when walking around. The back actually hid my bra strap, so I did not have to worry about wearing a backless bra or no bra at all.
Dyah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Feb 3, 2012

This was my first RTR experience and I loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress hugs you in all the right places. I love how it looks so sophisticated and simple from the front, and yet so undeniably sexy from the back. I had so many compliments from it! However, it does run a little small, so I ordered the size 0 and 2. The size 2 fits me better as I have more curve even though I'm petite. So if you're thinking of renting it please know your size or order it in two sizes to see which one fits you better to be safe. Overall, this dress is worth it!
LD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Tight, but not too tight

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this for my rehearsal dinner. I was afraid it would be too sexy, but was happy with how the dress looked. Definitely runs small so opt for the larger size option!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Modern Little Black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress. It was a nice, thick material. I got a little warm in the Florida climate, but would be perfect to stay warm during the cooler month and still look nice. This dress ran a tad small compared to most of the rentals on this site, but it still fit.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Not great on short torsos

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a party but ended up wearing my back-up because this one wasn't too flattering. Everything fit fine except the cut-out in the back hit and squeezed in all the wrong places. I'd recommend this dress for someone with a long torso and toned back.
Carleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Beautiful dress; many compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great for an hourglass figure, but SERIOUSLY runs a FULL SIZE SMALL. I really wish I had known to order one size larger than what is usually my big-back-up-size. As in, I usually order a 4 and a 6 - I have NEVER worn an 8. However, the 6 fit like a 4, and I wish I had the 8!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Classy and sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress looked great. I wore it to a charity event, and it was classy and sexy. The reason for 4 stars is because the dress was tight on the arms and kind of uncomfortable. Otherwise, happy!
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Great dress. Will totally order again

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Definitely wear spanx
AB
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

LOVE this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my Bachelorette party. It was perfect! Definitely a tight dress, but that is what I was going for :) Classy from the font, with a sexy back. Loved it! I would say this dress fits pretty true to size. I didn't wear a bra with it (because of the back) which was not a problem because you are pretty covered up on the front. Anytime I need a sexy LBD, I am renting this!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Gorgeous dress, runs a bit small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm a 4 most of the time, but would have worn a 6 had it been available -- the 4 was really tight and made me look like I have a flabby back. I ended up wearing another dress. Size up for your backup!
Lorena
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 3, 2014

Super sexy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! I wanted to keep it! Highly recommendable!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
May 14, 2014

It was okay...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
They didn't have a 6, so I rented a 4 and an 8. It's too bad, because I think the 6 would have been perfect. Neither the 4 or the 8 looked quite right. Returned without wearing either.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 14, 2014

Not for big chested girls..

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought I was going to be in love with this dress but when I put the dress on the size six was to tight in the chest area as I am a 34ddd. Then I tried the size 8 and it fit better but wearing a normal bra did not work at all and the strapless I had could not hide the back strap. Not to mention there was buckling on the side of the dress that I could not get to lay down for anything. Needless to say I was freaking out, so I called costumer service and Jeremy was so helpful! He sent me out two new dresses in different styles to arrive at the hotel I was staying at! Best costumer service I have ever received. He was amazing!
Lillian
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Dress was beautiful however because I have a larger bust it didn't quite fit properly. I would definitely recommend it as a dress for a night out on the town or a cocktail party.
CW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
May 29, 2014

It was nice but didn't really fit the occasion I was going for

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress fit fine -- the material is very stretchy -- but I choose not to wear it. I think I could've gone down a size or up. I ordered it for a beach vacation because I thought it would be cold and I wanted a dress with sleeves but still showed a lot of skin. It was my fault for ordering it when not really appropriate. I didn't take any pictures of me in it but I remember trying it on and thinking it was just ok. Again I wasn't really in the mood to wear it so maybe I would've been more pleased if it was something I choose for a specific occasion. I probably wouldn't order it again but that's just me!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Didn't work with my body type

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress in concept, but it just didn't work for my body type. I'm short, and athletic, but I have curves. The cutouts ended up hitting me at a super awkward part of my torso, and the same across the bust made my chest look flat and awkward. I was comfortable with the length, but I could see it being a little short for someone with longer legs than I.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Not for me.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you've got the body, this dress is very classy with a hint of sexy. The cut outs hit my back awkwardly and so I didn't end up wearing this. Nice dress, just not for me.
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Classy and Spicy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was a stunner and made me feel "on" for my sister's bachelorette party. It does run small, so I definitely suggest sizing up. Though this dress has been around for a few seasons, the cut out with the focus on the back is still on-trend for 2014. The fabric was thick and pulled me in, no spanx needed. The length was good -- not too short to be cheesy or tacky. Wore this out dancing and had a lot of fun -- was able to move freely, though it did get hot with the arm length and thicker fabric
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Sexy, sexy, sexy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this to a really fancy restaurant and definitely turned heads. The dress fit perfectly and I was able to wear a regular bra...just had to try a couple on first. Amazing!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a size zero in everything I wear. Things tend to fit me well. Unfortunately, this dress was not one of them. I ordered a size 0 and a size 2. Both were entirely too small. I've gotten really fit over the last year and I was hoping to show a little skin at my 10 year high school reunion. This dress was so tight that the bit of skin looked downright trashy. I was very disappointed. I've rented from this site many times before, this is the first time a dress didn't work out for me. Fortunately, the team at RTR made the return easy and I wore a dress I already owned.
Martine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Was the standout of the party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tight fit. Will need to wear a strapless bra if you don't want to go braless.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

A M A Z I N G!!!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is sexy and comfortable. I wore it for my birthday would wear it again in a heartbeat. A true show stopping dress that gives you just the right amount of sexy.
Rutva
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 29, 2014

Sexy and sophisticated.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I felt amazing in this dress and it sucked me in all the right places.
Marlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

Arrived the next day

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small the right fit me tight
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 20, 2014

Perfect date dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Runs small but a perfect date look
CR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

So fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress-- the back was a little more open than I would usually go for, but it's fairly conservative from the front, so it's a good balance.
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Perfect for a party or date. Can be dressed up or dressed down a bit for simply a nicer dinner.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly! I received so many compliments on it and I felt so sexy with the open back. You need the nubra in order to wear any sort of bra with this. The fabric is thick enough that you don't feel like your stomach or butt are overexposed, even though it's a clingy dress. And the long sleeves and thicker fabric made it perfect for an event in November. I would imagine you would be very warm wearing it at the height of the summer. I will definitely order this dress again!
Kirsten
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Great going out dress for my birthday weekend!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got a ton of compliments on this dress! It is made very well and hugs in all the right places. I was nervous about not being able to wear a bra with the dress because I'm usually not comfortable with that, but the dress was tight enough and wasn't a problem at all. I would definitely rent this again!
Maeve
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Wore this for my 21st birthday! I felt totally fabulous. Sleeves were perfect for fall in upstate NY

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. Sleeves added some extra fabric so I didn't freeze when I was out at night but didn't look overly modest or matronly in the slightest! Wore a silver necklace and black booties.
Liana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

LBD with a twist!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and loved the comfort and fit. The dress provided enough coverage and warmth on a chilly October evening, but the cut out made it different and fun. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Dec 11, 2014

Great dress with an even better back!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I usually wear an 8, and this fit me perfectly. The material is a little thicker, nice for cold nights, but has stretch to it. Like a lot of other girls said, it hugs you in all the right places. I wore a regular bra, with the straps tucked so they weren't visible. Just remember that you should bring a sweater or something if it's cold. I didn't and I was freezing when I stepped outside (because of the open back). This dress wasn't my first choice, but it worked out great. Awesome dress, definitely worth the rental.
krista
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

This dress is AMAZING!!! that being said, i did not end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
i rented this for a concert and i ended up not wearing it because it was too restricting to move. for a formal dinner or other event it would be kick a**, i have a tattoo on my ribs and it showed it perfectly. But i wasnt about to compromise being able to dance about at the concert just for that ;)
brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Ordered size to small

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Cute dress but runs small! Didn't end up wearing it
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

I wanted to love this dress, but the fit was off.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I love the design of this dress, but the fit is tough. It is cut very straight through the hips and is a little difficult to dance/move around in. The boatneck was wide on me and kept falling off my shoulders, but the sleeves were tight in the arms. On the plus side, the material is thick and comfortable. it was perfect for a winter event. I just wish it had fit me better because I did not feel confident in it!
Emilie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Id wear it again

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute dress, sophisticated in the front and sexy in the back. I received lots of compliments on it, I'd normally get a size 0 and 2, but reading the reviews I went for a 2 and 4. I wore the 2. My only complaint, it's a little tighter in the arms and looser on your shoulder area.
Cara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

The dress was very comfortable for dancing and a great LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was fitting and a great way to show off your curves. The cut out in the back is fabulous and very sexy.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Cute, but I definitely had to readjust constantly throughout the night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A little tight throughout, but it was cute! I love the cut-out, although i felt like I was adjusting it all night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×