Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(140)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2013
Loved wearing this dress to my bachelorette party!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, which was held in November. It was perfect to wear out on a chilly Fall night- the cut outs helped make the look even more special, without being over the top. I would say it ran pretty true to size, I opted to wear the size 4 because the size 2 didn't fit in my chest (I'm a C). The length was perfect, hitting just above my knee. I liked the form fitting aspect of the dress because it gave me a really sleek look. Got a ton of compliments, and would recommend anyone looking for a LBD with a twist!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2013
NYE
I wore this to an NYE party and it was perfect! Dressy enough for NYE with an appropriate amount of sex appeal for the winter time.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 5, 2013
loved the dress!
it was a perfect fit for my body. I am small but have a bigger top (32 D). It is usually difficult for me to find dresses that fit from top to bottom. this one was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 11, 2013
Awesome dress, but not for a family wedding
I ordered this dress as a backup dress for my cousin's wedding. They only had a 0, so I got that and hoped it would fit. I am usually either a 2 or 0. When the dress came, the 0 fit, but my bra did show. it says you should wear a strapless bra, but it's probably best with none at all. I loved this dress, and brought it with me to the hotel as an option to wear, but as my sister pointed out, it's probably better for a wedding that doesn't include my grandmother.... I'll definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2013
Stunning fitted dress. Makes a statement.
The fit is snug, which I like but I could not even fit a bra underneath the top. I ended up going braless, which could be an issue for some bigger chested girls. If you have a larger chest the cut on the side is higher up and dangerously close to the bottom of my chest which was compressed and looking for any way out of a tight situation anyways. Thankfully there were no mishaps but I was not moving around that much. If I was dancing and raising my arms up, I am pretty sure I would have given the crowd a free peek at the bottom of my breasts. Still love the dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2013
HOT!
This dress is the perfect combination of sexy and classy. The open back, curve-hugging fit, and shorter skirt make it hot enough to go out on the town in, and the higher neckline and three-quarter length sleeves make you still feel like a lady. It's SO easy to pair with accessories and shoes and is super flattering. The material is thick and warm, so you can even wear it out on colder nights. Plus, you won't need to find a bra that works with the open back, because the material will hold and cover on its own. :) I ordered a 0 and 2, normally wearing a 0. I wore the 2, because the dress runs pretty tight and if it isn't the right fit, the opening in the back will make it look like you have back fat! Ha. Amazing dress, I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2013
Too Small
I was way off in the rental. I have a 34D chest and I'm 5ft 10. The dress was so tight across the bust and too short for a corporate function in Las Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 15, 2013
great accessories help make the dress.
I received size 0 and 2. They both fit exactly like the same size 0. It was snug and sexy. I'm a skinny girl but chub still managed to sneak out through the sides.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2013
Love it!!!
Usually wear a 2 but i'm glad i read the reviews and ordered the 4. I wore this to my company's holiday party and it was a showstopper. Don't wear this if you don't want all eyes on you. Super sexy. The only con is that it is a very thick material and with the long sleeves i was hot all evening....especially on the dancefloor.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
March 18, 2013
Love this dress, classy and sexy.
I normally wear a 2,4 but I think a 4 would have been to big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
December 22, 2013
I really should have kept this
I didn't really know what to expect with this dress, but it was PERFECT. I love a classic silhouette with a surprising detail (in this case, an open back). I think my dress got more attention on my birthday than I did. I'll definitely be renting this one again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2013
HOT, hot HOT! Get ready to turn every head in the room.
This dress was much more structured and stunning than I thought it would be. The fabric is very high-quality and heavy, with just a bit of give. It definitely sucks you in in all the right places. Super comfortable. The only thing I will say is that the part of your back it shows is tough to tone, so I was a smidge self-conscious about that. Super sexy though and I'd rent it 900 more times.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
The additional items they send
Very pretty dress. Nice fit. Simple and sexy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
January 12, 2014
classy with just a hint of sexy
This dress was super comfortable. I'm glad I didn't size up like most of the reviews said to. I have a very small upperbody and the 2 fit well. The bottom half of the dress fit almost exactly the same in the 2 and 4, so if you have a bigger bust you should size up - otherwise it's very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2014
Perfect dress for New Years Eve!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve at a hotel all inclusive event. It was super comfortable and looked fabulous! My boyfriend absolutely loved it ;) The cutouts are perfect - sexy but classy enough that it's not too provocative. I wish I could buy this and wear all the time!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2014
Head turning
Runs true to size. Great for packing as it does not wrinkle. Made for the woman who can stand straight. Walking tall helps keep the back looking great. I'm 53 and felt very comfortable in this dress size 10. 132 ils, 37" chest and 40 inch hips. Very nice. The only hang up is that I did not understand that an 8 day rental means that the dress is due back on the 8th day. Good to know for next time. My mistake. I thought the day it arrived was not day one as it arrived late in the day. 6:00pm
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
February 18, 2014
Couldn't wear it
This dress helped me discover that I have latent back fat. Honest to goodness, if you bend to the side and you see a fold, this dress will give you back fat. For a backless dress--where the focus is on the back--this is clearly a huge issue. RTR came through for me and send another dress overnight. Fantastic customer service. Will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2014
Wow! I wish I could buy this dress!!!
Unbelievable dress - so comfortable yet hugs you perfectly in the right places. Classy yet sexy. I wore this dress for a charity event and received compliments all night long. Given how cold it is in Chicago, I wore tights under the dress and even though it's form fitting, I had no problem putting tights on underneath nor was I uncomfortable. About the fit - I'm normally a 0 but I ordered the 0 and the 2 based on the size chart. I have a small waist and big hips (so an hourglass) and the 2 fit perfectly. The 0 still fit but was just tighter and slightly shorter. Amazing dress!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
March 1, 2014
Excellent service
Fit was on the snug size but I would not saw it ran small. Material was thick and warm for a Feb wedding but the dress itself was not heavy overall. Was able to wear a regular bra which was a plus. I am in the shorter side (5') and tucked the bottom of the dress up to create a shorter hemline. Otherwise the skirt would be too long and cut off my legs. Back and side cut outs were nice and I received a few compliments. I wouldn't necessarily say it's a "head turner" of a dress but it is a nice twist on a basic black number. Shipping was actually a day early prior to a huge snowstorm in NJ which was nice. Dress had an add smell (I'm assuming cleaning products?) but once I got it out of the garment bag it aired out fine. Excellent experience with RTR and I will definitely be using their services again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 2, 2014
Modern Little Black dress
Loved this dress. It was a nice, thick material. I got a little warm in the Florida climate, but would be perfect to stay warm during the cooler month and still look nice. This dress ran a tad small compared to most of the rentals on this site, but it still fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2014
Not great on short torsos
I rented this dress for a party but ended up wearing my back-up because this one wasn't too flattering. Everything fit fine except the cut-out in the back hit and squeezed in all the wrong places. I'd recommend this dress for someone with a long torso and toned back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
Classy and sexy
I thought this dress looked great. I wore it to a charity event, and it was classy and sexy. The reason for 4 stars is because the dress was tight on the arms and kind of uncomfortable. Otherwise, happy!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 12, 2014
Simple but a knockout!
Loved this dress. Was appropriate enough for my sorority formal in December (in Georgia!). Love the bit of sexiness that was added with the back cut out. Had people asking where I got it from all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 12, 2014
I was a showstopper in this sexy yet sophisticated dress!
This dress was perfect for a a New Years eve party with my friends! The fabric hugged my body perfectly, giving a sexy yet sophisticated look. The cutout in the back was a great way to show some skin, but not be too revealing. The length was also perfect...right above the knee and it didn't ride up. I got endless compliments that evening. I would rent this dress again...and you know what? I think I will!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2014
First Valentine's Day with someone very special. Got many compliments on this sexy dress. Must rent!
After reading the reviews i was a little nervous about the size of this dress. I am usually a 0 but from reading what other girls posted 2 seemed like a better fit. Fortunately only size 0 was left and it fit absolutely perfect. The dress has a little stretch, so it will hug your body just in the right places. Go with your ACTUAL dress size on this one ladies. You will not be disappointed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 3, 2014
Makes you feel sexy without showing too much. This was my first RTR dress :)
Great fit everywhere. I'm a small C cup, didn't have to wear a bra at all still felt supported. Perfect length for a wedding, not too short on my frame even with my bubble butt! Lots of compliments. Front is pretty plain and conservative. Back is super sexy!
ChristinaAugust 15, 2014
Hourglass? Bubble butt?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2014
Perfect bachelorette party dress
This dress is fitted in all the right places. The material was breathable so I never felt too overheated while dancing. The length was perfect and it actually did ride up at all while walking. The cut outs on the side and back made this the perfect dress to wear alongside the bride-to-be while she celebrated her last night out on the town!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2014
LOVE this dress
I rented this dress for my Bachelorette party. It was perfect! Definitely a tight dress, but that is what I was going for :) Classy from the font, with a sexy back. Loved it! I would say this dress fits pretty true to size. I didn't wear a bra with it (because of the back) which was not a problem because you are pretty covered up on the front. Anytime I need a sexy LBD, I am renting this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2014
Gorgeous dress, runs a bit small
I'm a 4 most of the time, but would have worn a 6 had it been available -- the 4 was really tight and made me look like I have a flabby back. I ended up wearing another dress. Size up for your backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2014
Need "support"
I was not IN LOVE with this dress, but I still felt sexy rocking it. My main concern was the bra situation. I need support but this dress did not allow for any clever hiding of a bra or even pads. I tried to add pads but they just fell down, making me kooky droopy :-(. Overall, if your boobs stay up on their own and you have a trim midsection then this is a dress for you! Normal ladies, take caution!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 28, 2014
I love this dress!!!
I wore this dress to a college graduation and felt incredible in it. The material is thick, the length is flattering, and the cut outs in the back are unique and trendy. One of my most favorite rentals yet!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 3, 2014
Super sexy!
Loved this dress! I wanted to keep it! Highly recommendable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 4, 2014
Wore this to a strip club in Vegas and I felt sexier than the strippers. Great little dress.
Fits a bit tight in the shoulders. Hard to wear a bra with but I got it done. Great fit bottom wise.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2014
My boyfriend kept asking me if I could buy it instead of rent it. :D
Fit like a glove! Got a lot of compliments. Only downside is having to buy those adhesive bras because I'm very busty and a normal bra would have shown. Loved it!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 14, 2014
It was okay...
They didn't have a 6, so I rented a 4 and an 8. It's too bad, because I think the 6 would have been perfect. Neither the 4 or the 8 looked quite right. Returned without wearing either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2014
Not for big chested girls..
I thought I was going to be in love with this dress but when I put the dress on the size six was to tight in the chest area as I am a 34ddd. Then I tried the size 8 and it fit better but wearing a normal bra did not work at all and the strapless I had could not hide the back strap. Not to mention there was buckling on the side of the dress that I could not get to lay down for anything. Needless to say I was freaking out, so I called costumer service and Jeremy was so helpful! He sent me out two new dresses in different styles to arrive at the hotel I was staying at! Best costumer service I have ever received. He was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 19, 2014
The cut-out is an unexpected sexy touch!
It's a sexy and classy dress -- I really liked it! I'm busty so I couldn't fit into the size 6. The arms for a bit tight which other reviewers have mentioned. It was a good rental, but would probably not rent again because of the tight sleeves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous LBD!
Dress was beautiful however because I have a larger bust it didn't quite fit properly. I would definitely recommend it as a dress for a night out on the town or a cocktail party.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 27, 2014
Overall I loved the dress!
I got an 8 and a 10 for back up. The the 8 too tight in my breast area so i tried the 10 which was fine on my breast but was way too big on my waist leaving the back piece flapping a lot. I went with the eight because a little tightness when your wearing pasties is never a bad thing also the 8 was a little flappy in the back as well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
May 29, 2014
It was nice but didn't really fit the occasion I was going for
This dress fit fine -- the material is very stretchy -- but I choose not to wear it. I think I could've gone down a size or up. I ordered it for a beach vacation because I thought it would be cold and I wanted a dress with sleeves but still showed a lot of skin. It was my fault for ordering it when not really appropriate. I didn't take any pictures of me in it but I remember trying it on and thinking it was just ok. Again I wasn't really in the mood to wear it so maybe I would've been more pleased if it was something I choose for a specific occasion. I probably wouldn't order it again but that's just me!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×