Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$35 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

200 reviews

Fit
Small 64
True to Size 134
Large 0
Photos 112
linda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Got lots of looks from men and glares from their ladies! THIS DRESS IS SEXY! Wore it in NYC.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I usually wear a size 8 very comfortably....never skin tight so maybe it's time for me to move down to a size 6...but this was my FIRST size 6 and it fit like a glove as you can see!
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

So wonderful, flattering, and beautiful!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the perfect dress, you will love it. You can wear a normal bra but I had to pin the strap in the back. I didn't end up wearing it because my event got cancelled, but I would definitely rent again!
Aja
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

I loved it, it was the perfect dress for this formal/business occasion.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was slightly small Im glad I got an 8, because I believe the 6 would have been to small. I usually wear between an 8 and a 6. Great Length. I am 5'7 and it came a little above my knees. I loved it!! Very Cute and Trendy!
Jess
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Super flattering dress, sucks you in in all the right places!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress, even tried to purchase it from RTR so I didn't have to return it! I'm usually a 6 but only the size 4 was available, so I gave it a shot. The dress is definitely tight, like a bandage dress, so if you're between sizes - size down!
Jac E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

AMAZING customer service

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress is beautiful! Thick material perfect for a night out in the fall/winter. The back is very open, so I was unable to wear a bra. The sides ride up a little bit while walking and there's a little bit of bunching on the side where the zipper is. My husband and friends loved the dress - thank you!
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2013

This isn't your mama's LBD ...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you're a fan of LBD's, take note: This dress is PERFECT!!! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and felt incredible AND comfortable in it - which can be a hard balance to strike with evening wear. It's extremely classy and elegant from the front, yet super, super sexy from behind. I normally wear a size 6 - so I ordered that AND the 8. I ended up wearing the 8, so when you order your (free) second size, go one step up - just in case. The length is perfect, fabric is AMAZING (hugs you in ALL the right places), and is a real crowd pleaser :) I got tons of compliments all night long and felt like a million bucks! Thanks RTR for making my first experience so memorable!
SBI
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Loved wearing this dress to my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, which was held in November. It was perfect to wear out on a chilly Fall night- the cut outs helped make the look even more special, without being over the top. I would say it ran pretty true to size, I opted to wear the size 4 because the size 2 didn't fit in my chest (I'm a C). The length was perfect, hitting just above my knee. I liked the form fitting aspect of the dress because it gave me a really sleek look. Got a ton of compliments, and would recommend anyone looking for a LBD with a twist!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Lots of attention and trouble in the best way :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is my second time renting this dress and it was absolutely perfect for a bachelorette party in downtown Nashville. I got compliments and questions about it all night...not to mention free drinks from the guys. This dress is definitely true to size, snug but not suffocating. I chose to wear a strapless backless bra and it worked wonderfully. Fitting but still able to move and dance, and socialize for 6+ hours comfortably. I would buy this dress if I could!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Perfect dress :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I expected the fabric to be more stretchy but I loved how it fit. Im usually a 0 but the 2 was more comfortable for me!
julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Love it!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Usually wear a 2 but i'm glad i read the reviews and ordered the 4. I wore this to my company's holiday party and it was a showstopper. Don't wear this if you don't want all eyes on you. Super sexy. The only con is that it is a very thick material and with the long sleeves i was hot all evening....especially on the dancefloor.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Dec 22, 2013

I really should have kept this

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't really know what to expect with this dress, but it was PERFECT. I love a classic silhouette with a surprising detail (in this case, an open back). I think my dress got more attention on my birthday than I did. I'll definitely be renting this one again. :)
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

HOT, hot HOT! Get ready to turn every head in the room.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was much more structured and stunning than I thought it would be. The fabric is very high-quality and heavy, with just a bit of give. It definitely sucks you in in all the right places. Super comfortable. The only thing I will say is that the part of your back it shows is tough to tone, so I was a smidge self-conscious about that. Super sexy though and I'd rent it 900 more times.
anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Sexy cut outs

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super fun dress. Had to remember to pull my shoulders back!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 10, 2014

The additional items they send

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very pretty dress. Nice fit. Simple and sexy!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 14, 2014

Perfect dress for New Years Eve!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years Eve at a hotel all inclusive event. It was super comfortable and looked fabulous! My boyfriend absolutely loved it ;) The cutouts are perfect - sexy but classy enough that it's not too provocative. I wish I could buy this and wear all the time!!!!
katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I was really upset when I had to return it! It fit like a glove in a good way and was very complimenting! I would definitely order this dress again!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

Excellent service

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was on the snug size but I would not saw it ran small. Material was thick and warm for a Feb wedding but the dress itself was not heavy overall. Was able to wear a regular bra which was a plus. I am in the shorter side (5') and tucked the bottom of the dress up to create a shorter hemline. Otherwise the skirt would be too long and cut off my legs. Back and side cut outs were nice and I received a few compliments. I wouldn't necessarily say it's a "head turner" of a dress but it is a nice twist on a basic black number. Shipping was actually a day early prior to a huge snowstorm in NJ which was nice. Dress had an add smell (I'm assuming cleaning products?) but once I got it out of the garment bag it aired out fine. Excellent experience with RTR and I will definitely be using their services again.
jillian
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Simple but a knockout!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Was appropriate enough for my sorority formal in December (in Georgia!). Love the bit of sexiness that was added with the back cut out. Had people asking where I got it from all night!
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

I was a showstopper in this sexy yet sophisticated dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for a a New Years eve party with my friends! The fabric hugged my body perfectly, giving a sexy yet sophisticated look. The cutout in the back was a great way to show some skin, but not be too revealing. The length was also perfect...right above the knee and it didn't ride up. I got endless compliments that evening. I would rent this dress again...and you know what? I think I will!
Monika
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

First Valentine's Day with someone very special. Got many compliments on this sexy dress. Must rent!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
After reading the reviews i was a little nervous about the size of this dress. I am usually a 0 but from reading what other girls posted 2 seemed like a better fit. Fortunately only size 0 was left and it fit absolutely perfect. The dress has a little stretch, so it will hug your body just in the right places. Go with your ACTUAL dress size on this one ladies. You will not be disappointed.
Samm
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Makes you feel sexy without showing too much. This was my first RTR dress :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit everywhere. I'm a small C cup, didn't have to wear a bra at all still felt supported. Perfect length for a wedding, not too short on my frame even with my bubble butt! Lots of compliments. Front is pretty plain and conservative. Back is super sexy!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Perfect bachelorette party dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fitted in all the right places. The material was breathable so I never felt too overheated while dancing. The length was perfect and it actually did ride up at all while walking. The cut outs on the side and back made this the perfect dress to wear alongside the bride-to-be while she celebrated her last night out on the town!
GBear
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Need "support"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was not IN LOVE with this dress, but I still felt sexy rocking it. My main concern was the bra situation. I need support but this dress did not allow for any clever hiding of a bra or even pads. I tried to add pads but they just fell down, making me kooky droopy :-(. Overall, if your boobs stay up on their own and you have a trim midsection then this is a dress for you! Normal ladies, take caution!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

I love this dress!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a college graduation and felt incredible in it. The material is thick, the length is flattering, and the cut outs in the back are unique and trendy. One of my most favorite rentals yet!
Trudy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
May 4, 2014

Wore this to a strip club in Vegas and I felt sexier than the strippers. Great little dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fits a bit tight in the shoulders. Hard to wear a bra with but I got it done. Great fit bottom wise.
Alithia
Age: 25
May 12, 2014

My boyfriend kept asking me if I could buy it instead of rent it. :D

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove! Got a lot of compliments. Only downside is having to buy those adhesive bras because I'm very busty and a normal bra would have shown. Loved it!!!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 19, 2014

Classy & sexy, loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great for a bachelorette party in Nola! I found it ran true to size for me. I was worried the 0 wouldn't fit because of other reviews that said it runs small. The 2 wasn't available for the the date that I needed the dress, but the 0 worked out perfect! The dress is sexy & classy, it was easy to dance in and comfortable all night! I wish I could've kept this dress ;(. I didn't wear a bra because the dress fit perfect and the material was thick enough. This is my third time using RTR and I love the convenience of it. Love the dress & RTR!
PMinty44
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 19, 2014

The cut-out is an unexpected sexy touch!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
It's a sexy and classy dress -- I really liked it! I'm busty so I couldn't fit into the size 6. The arms for a bit tight which other reviewers have mentioned. It was a good rental, but would probably not rent again because of the tight sleeves.
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 27, 2014

Overall I loved the dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got an 8 and a 10 for back up. The the 8 too tight in my breast area so i tried the 10 which was fine on my breast but was way too big on my waist leaving the back piece flapping a lot. I went with the eight because a little tightness when your wearing pasties is never a bad thing also the 8 was a little flappy in the back as well.
Adri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Loved it! :-)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I received a lot of compliments. I loved the opening on the sides, it is what makes the dress special and not just a plain black dress. I order size 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the size 0. The sleeves run small and was the same fit for both sizes. I would definitely recommend.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Fun Party Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a work holiday party. It was just the right amount of skin. I love the long sleeves. I paired it with a bold necklace that made it super fun and stylish.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Great for winter party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented the 0 & 2 for a winter 50th bday party. It was so fun to wear bc it was simple and elegant from the front and wow when I walked away. Got lots of compliments. It does run a bit small. Loved wearing this beautiful dress!
Grace
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Great dress but a little racy for a very formal event

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is thicker than I thought it would be but that may be because I'm used to American Apparel, H&M, Theory and BR dresses! It fit very well and I did not have to adjust it at all. I think for the 125-150 person wedding in DC I wore it to, it might've been a little bit too tight and revealing. It's a great party dress though and it was perfect for the bottle service club we went to after the wedding reception.
Traci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

I felt sexy and beautiful in this dress. Great for an evening in NYC

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wear a size 2 or 4. The 4 was the only size available so I took it. After wearing it for a few hours, it seemed to stretch a bit making the skirt ride up into the "cut out" on the back. I was also dancing ALOT so that may have done it too. All in all- sexy fun and flirty sums it up.
Dionne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Did NOT want to return!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved, loved, loved this dress! The fabric was great - and it hugged all of the right curves. I rented this for a bachelorette party!
LovingRTR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Felt AMAZING on my 30th birthday!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress certainly runs a bit small. I am usually between a 2 and 4 but read the reviews and ordered a 4 and 6. The 4 fit but was snug in the arms and hips, I was thankful for the backup! The dress did ride up when walking (which caused the opening in the back to ride up also) . I would absolutely rent this dress again!!!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Just ok

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a pretty dress and looked nice on and was completely appropriate for the wedding I attended. The length was perfect and the dress, even with the cutouts and open back, was very much appropriate. That said, I wasn't totally excited about the dress after putting it on. It fit ok- maybe even a little on the small side, but I'm certain the 10 would have been too big. Mostly, I did not like how the top of the front looked and found myself adjusting the dress all night so the seams lined up. I think the dress would be better suited for someone with a long waist- a feature I do not have. There is no support at the top and you cannot wear a bra with the dress because of the open back. I tried a nu-bra and felt the dress just looked better going without. I have larger chest and really needed the support. I won't be renting this dress again.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Little black head turner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. Received compliments all night and felt super confident. Dress was true to size and I did not wear a bra. Highly recommend.
Clara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

The fit and fun, flirty style!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect! It was a little tough to get on, but once it was on, it fit like a glove. The dress hit right at the knee, which I think is the perfect length, given the back. I would definitely recommend this dress as a non-traditional LBD! Wish I could buy it!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Stunning twist in a LBD! Dare to bare & be sexy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Little loose in the waist but otherwise fit very well. My only complaint was length - although I am only 5'2 - & he lining of the dress hung lower than the thicker material but I fixed it with double sided tape. The back and side cutouts were amazing and very, very sexy. Showed off my tattoo perfectly! Loved the dress and would definitely recommend. Since the front is so basic you have a TON of ways to style this!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×