Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
218 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(141)
Small
(70)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 9, 2011
loved how the garment bag is for me to keep :)

Loved this dress! this dress was the first time using the website, and I'm in LOVE! it fit perfectly, very form fitting, i was a little worried on how the back would look since it was so open, but when you try the dress on its really nice and not so bad!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
This dress was so fun and sexy, but also easy to wear!

I rented this dress for New Year's Eve this year and absolutely loved it! I received so many compliments on how sexy, but yet not overly sexy, it was. I had ordered a size 2 and 4 as the extra, however the size 4 was unavailable. The 2 was a bit snug, but I had no problem wearing it as the material is pretty stretchy. But also because of the material, the dress would ride up a little on my legs when walking around. The back actually hid my bra strap, so I did not have to worry about wearing a backless bra or no bra at all.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 6, 2012
RTR was great they delivered the dress same day when I had nothing to wear - life saver!

I rented this dress for a night out with friends and I LOVED it. It was longer on me than I thought it would be but I was actually really happy with it. It's a great balance of classy and sexy, without being over the top revealing. The material was great, I didn't even need to wear spanx.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 10, 2012
Love. This. Dress.

I wore this dress to a friend's birthday party and it was ah-mazing. This dress fit perfectly. I'm tall and thin - not so blessed in the chest department. At first, I was concerned because my chest looked smaller than usual - when I tried it on without a bra - but it turns out that I was able to wear a bra under the dress with no problem.....and it looked perfect! I shed a small tear when I had to mail it back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
March 13, 2012
Everyone loving my dress!

This dress fit really well. I wore it for my 27th Birthday in Miami. I had to keep scrunching the sleeves because they came down a lot while I was dancing but that was the only thing that I have a complaint about. This is a classy LBD. I hope the review is helpful.

cynthiaMarch 13, 2012
Can you wear a bra with this dress?
RTRMarch 13, 2012
Hi Cynthia, you can not wear a standard bra with this dress due to the cut outs. However, you can wear a NuBra or sticky flower petals!
TMarch 13, 2012
I did wear a regular bra with this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2012
Business in the front, party in the back.

What a great dress! I received so many compliments on this dress. It was comfy, sexy & fun to wear.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
July 16, 2012
Great dress

This dress is very tight, but in a good way. Surprisingly flattering on my hourglass shape. You can wear a bra with it (strapless; straps would show with the wide neckline) but it was fitted enough that I didn't need to. Wish I could own it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 20, 2012
So Sexy!

I loved this dress, my husband did not. I will admit, he's not the most "fashionable" person, but this was meant for his 10 year reunion, and I had another backup dress he liked better, so this one was left at home. I thought at first I wouldn't be able to get it on, but the dress fit amazingly. I think the two triangles up front would need to be dealt with in photos (stand to the side to show more skin or something so it wouldn't look like just a small cutout.) This dress is amazingly thought out how it wraps around in the back, and it was really well fitting. You wouldn't need spanx it's so tight, but it feels good on! Highly recommend for you ladies out there who are really comfortable in your own skin, because this dress is skin tight!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 5, 2012
Thanks RTR for excellent customer service! Great party dress while staying classy :)

I rented this dress to wear out in Vegas. The length was great - Not too short or long, hit just above the knee. The material was a stretchy, high quality and hugged my body in all the right places. What I liked was that I could still wear a regular bra with it. The strap of the dress lined up with the strap of my bra. While walking though I had to pull my dress down a few times because it kept coming up. Other than that, I loved the fit and I will rent this dress again. Sorry about my pictures!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 11, 2012
Felt great in this one!

I picked this out to wear to go see a ballet, and it was amazing! I felt so sexy, yet appropriate. I'm not big in the chest, so I could've gotten away without a bra, but I felt the overall line of the dress looked better when I wore a NuBra. I was very comfortable, and felt it was a great dress for going out in March. I wouldn't rent this dress for warmer weather, and I definitely wouldn't rent it to go dancing in (ease of movement wouldn't quite be there). But for my event, I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2012
Very sexy, just not for me!

I rented this for my bachelorette party, but I'm very big-chested so it looked a little funny on me. I would have loved to wear it, but I think it would look better on someone with a smaller chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2012
So many compliments

It was a bit snug, but overall the dress was perfect. The dress was for my "law school prom." I felt super sexy but still classy and elegant all night -- a total win/win in my book!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Great little black dress

I thought this was the perfect little black dress, the fit was perfect and I didn't need an extra size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 12, 2012
Loved this dress!

I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments. The neckline is definitely a little off the shoulder, so you will need to wear a strapless bra. The back covered the back of my bra with no problems. The material is stretchy, so the dress was comfortable to wear all night.

LaurenSeptember 12, 2012
Hi Megan,
LaurenSeptember 12, 2012
Oops, as I was saying, the dress looks great on you - did you wear a strapless bra as you mentioned? I am concerned that even a strapless bra would be too thick in the back. Thank you!
MeganSeptember 12, 2012
Hi Lauren, Yes I work a strapless bra with no problem! It's thicker in the back than it looks in this photo. I just used fashion tape to secure the dress to the back of my bra and didn't think twice about it. The dress is great, you'll love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great New Years Eve Dress!

The dress was a little hard to get on because of the style but the fit was great. It was the perfect mix of elegant and edgy and I got many compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 12, 2012
Classy yet fun!

Fit like a glove! The length was perfect & made the dress super classy! I paired it with an edgy spiked necklace & red lip! Received so many compliments. Great for girls with a curvy bottom half & tiny top half.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2012
Great dress, just too tight for my liking

The dress was a very thick and heavy material, and clung to my body more than I would have liked. I had planned on wearing it to a college formal, but I was worried about getting overheated while dancing, and opted for my backup dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 18, 2012
It fit really well.

Beautiful fabric and cut. I was self-conscious at first with the slits (didn't want the back fat to show) but as the night went on, I felt really comfortable and sexy in it. It's really unique. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
October 22, 2012
A gorgeous dress that made me feel sexy yet sophisticated!

The dress fits true to size, the material isn't cheap and it really accentuated my body, of which lacks in the curvy hips department a bit. It's very form fitting, so be aware ladies! I absolutely adored this dress and didn't want to send it back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
October 22, 2012
Perfect for 30th birthday!!

This dress fit perfectly! Business in the front, party in the back!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 27, 2012
A LBD for my 21st!

I would suggest going true to size- if not maybe a size up just in case because the cut outs on the sides are right where you might feel uncomfortable. You don't want to look like you're squeezed into this dress. Overall, I really loved it and received complements!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2012
Sexy stunner!

This was my first time using RTR so I was a little nervous. Then because of the hurricane, the original dress that I selected was not available. My RTR stylist quickly made another selection for me so that I would still receive the dress in time. Honestly, I probably would have not selected this dress for myself but I'm so glad that my stylist did! It fit perfectly and I loved that it somewhat understated (from the front) and very sexy in the back! I got so many compliments on my dress and I felt like a million bucks. I am petite with curves and I loved how it hugged my body without being too tight. I would definitely rent this again! I had to wear a "nubra" type bra with this dress, a regular or strapless bra did not work.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2012
Didn't get to wear it bc of sandy but will def rent it in the coming weeks!

Didn't get to wear it bc of sandy but will def rent it in the coming weeks!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress made me feel like a Hot Diva

Loved how it stretched, beware of the skin that will show on either side of the dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 20, 2012
Loved it! Perfect!

I ordered a 0 and a 2 based on the other reviews I read and the 2 fit perfectly. The material is thick and holds everything in place nicely. I wore this for my work Holiday Party and received a tons of compliments. I was able to wear a bra and spanx without anything "peeking" out. Great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 28, 2012
Fantastic fit!

I wore this cut-out dress to a formal cocktail gala in winter and it was the perfect combination of edge and class. It fit like a glove and I received many compliments on the unique shape and design. Such a fun look and experience! I wish I owned the dress :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
November 30, 2012
Everyone who came up to say hello to me commented on how much they loved me in this dress.

Fit was awesome, great material. Length was to my knees because I'm 5'3" but I loved it because the cutouts were very sexy. Whenever I stood up I had to really pull it down because the fabric is kind of think and it would get bunched up around my waist if I sat down.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2012
Classy with a bit of adventure!

I wore this dress for my one year wedding anniversary, and my husband LOVED the dress! I was a little worried that the cut out back would be too big for me ( I have a really slender back) but the dress was perfect! I ordered the 0 & 2 and could have worn either, but I went with the 2 so the dress would be slightly longer. Also the material was thick enough that I didn't need a bra and everything stayed in place.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 19, 2012
I wore this dress for a banquet/my retirement party, and it was classy but sexy!

I had originally ordered the 6 because the other reviews said the shoulders were tight, but I found the the 4 fit perfectly! If you're tall like me, the skirt hits just below mid-thigh. This is a great dress for a colder night, the fabric is a little bit thicker and still stretchy so that it conforms to your body. I loved the open back. The only con would be that it was a little tight under the armpits, but overall great fit, great look!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2012
Super fun LDB!

Ordered the dress in sizes 2 & 4. Size 2 ended up fitting better. Was a little hesitant to wear with the cutouts/open back but glad my friend encouraged me to wear it! Confidence definitely required to rock this number!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 12, 2013
I rented this dress for a music industry christmas party. But, I never got to wear it.

I rented this dress for a music industry christmas party. Unfortunately, I never got to wear this dress. I rented the size 2 but, the 0 came instead. I'm 5'2'' 114 lbs 32C/ 34B. I was able to get the size 0 on but, it didn't look right. It was just too small - with the cutouts, this isn't the type of dress you want to squeeze into! I was sad that the wrong size was sent, it would've been very hot. RTR representative gave me full credit (with shipping) and a promo to rent another dress at 50% off. Better luck next time :-/

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
Great Wedding Rental!

It was a perfect dress for a winter wedding! The dress was a nice, thick material and very flattering. It fit snug, but I was still able to dance and move around easily. I wore spanx and sicky bra with it, but could have gone without.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
AMAZING! Classic but edgy.

I usually wear a 2 or 4. This dress has a thick, stretchy material and I ended up wearing the 4. Would totally rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2013
Such a fun dress

I loved this dress. It was super tight in the sleeves, but fit well! It was the perfect length for me as well, not too short which can be an issue. The material was really thick but was stretchier than expected.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 11, 2013
Amazing dress!!

This dress is amazing. I wore this to my medical school formal, and I could not have been happier with the experience. I ordered both a 2 and a 4; both fit well, but the 4 allowed a little more arm movement, so I went with the larger size. The material is thick, so I didn't need to wear a bra. I would definitely rent this dress again!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2013
I loved this dress! It was stretchy but form fitting. Definitely recommend sticky boobs!

no cons really. I enjoyed the experience! :D

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Gorgeous. Flattering. Sexy

This dress was amazing. Wish I could buy it. The cut, material, and fit is so flattering and sexy! Perfect for weddings, anniversaries, dates, parties. or anything really.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for a night out with some friends and was SUPER happy with this choice!

Love this dress! Super flattering and got a ton of compliments. The fabric is thick/tight enough that I decided not to wear a bra. Could not have been more comfortable -- wish I could keep it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2013
Perfect alternative LBD. Supportive and Stretchy!

Even though I pit "true to size" I feel like this dress (with the thick yet stretchy material) calls for going up a size. Sometimes I wear a size 4 and sometimes I wear a size 6. This dress in a 6 fit perfectly without being too tight or too baggy. I was able to move and I did not have to wear a bra.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
Simple, Classy, and Sexy!

Great dress!! Fit true to size, ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 only because the dress does not have much room to stretch. The sexy subtle cut out made it totally appropriate for my fiances law school cocktail party!! Got compliments all night!!

See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×