Call The Kettle Black Dress

$144 to buy
$455 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
167 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
June 4, 2014
I danced all night long!
I wish I would have asked for the size 2. The dress seemed way long (the model photo was misleading), though the length balanced out the lower cut of the neckline. Overall, I would not have gotten this dress for the event I went to had I known the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2014
Simple Black Dress, but this one isn't for everyone
This dress was my backup. I ordered the 6 & 8 based off of the size reviews others shared, and what I normally wear. However, I could not fit into or wear either size comfortably. The size 6 was too small in the waist. However, the quality of the material, buttons, steaming and "puffiness" of the size 6 was much better than the size 8. Not sure why, but the size 8 was VERY puffy (almost like a tutu) and I could not get it to flatten even a little. And even though it fit in the waist and chest, it was not comfortable in the waist, and the puffiness of the size 8 made my waist look MUCH larger than I am. I am a regular renter, and usually read through the reviews thoroughly before ordering. I've always received quality high-end dresses, in perfect condition, and perfect time. But this order arrived late at night, was not a quality material on the dress, and did not even come with the garment bag, and trademark handy dress kit it usually comes with (fashion tape, FAQ, etc). What is going on RTR? I usually can count on you guys for any occasion. But there are many other cheaper options with better quality out there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
June 2, 2014
Great Dress! Very classy. Paired with some Sarah Jessica Parker shoes.
Runs big. Had to pin the dress at the neck for a snug fit. And fashion tape a must
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2014
Loved it...but...
I loved the fabric and style of this dress! However, the top is much better suited for someone with a large bust. I chose a different RTR dress, as I didn't love the way this one fit in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2014
Great night with a great dress!!
I wore this dress for my bachellorette party. The dress is super sexy, but still classy and made for dancing the night away. Plus it has pockets which are essential for any girls night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
May 20, 2014
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress!
I ended up not wearing it and chosing the other dress I had ordered because I really didn't want to wear a black dress to a wedding. But I refused to just send it back without wearing it so just went out for drinks one night in it. I felt like a movie star! I couldn't wear a bra and the front was more low cut than it looks on the model but it still covered everything. I had to have someone zip me into it and once zipped in, nothing was going anywhere! Such great quality fabric and design. I would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 19, 2014
I loved my rent the runway experience!
The dress was stunning. Some people said it was too long but I'm 5'7 and thought that the length was perfect. It fell at about mid thigh. I got compliments all night and it was an extremely flattering fit. Definitely had a Marilyn Monroe vibe. I would recommend getting a size smaller than you usually wear because it runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2014
Comfy and loved the pockets!
I wore it for a bridesmaid dress and loved it. I received quite a few compliments about the dress and loved the fit. I could wear a strapless bra with no problem. I did pin the front as I felt a little to revealed for a wedding without it. I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
I fit into a size 2 after losing 25 lbs!!!
Front sits very low which my boyfriend didn't like at all. So I wore a strapless bra & pinned the straps tighter on my neck to bring it up. Still showed off cleavage which I liked :-) As a short woman I felt it was a little long but that's what happens & it was ok, still fell above the knee.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
May 17, 2014
Loved this dress!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It also happened to be my birthday that night so I wanted a dress that would make me feel a little special. This is a great black dress with a nice, heavy fabric. I received compliments all night long and didn't want to take it off! It was just a little large in the bust, although I'm small chested. I think the 2 would have been a better fit but I wasn't able to order it as a backup. Would definitely wear again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2014
Was hesitant at first to wear a short dress to prom but I got so many compliments & felt great in it
The dress was a little longer than I thought but not by very much, it looked shorter with a good pair of heels. The v cut was really deep, I had to pin it back. I don't suggest wearing a bra with this dress, I didn't. If anything, I would get the stick-on cups. I loved how simple the dress was, it made it easier to pair up with any color accessories. The pockets were also a plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
May 10, 2014
Great Dress! Very Sexy!
I didn't end up wearing the dress. I didn't feel comfortable with the amount of cleavage showing for the type of event I was attending. However, I would rent this in the future for the right event!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92lbs
May 8, 2014
Saturday night wedding ..great dress
Ran a little big but very comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 6, 2014
Wore this to a Kentucky Derby party and it was beautiful. Lots of complements.
This is a gorgeous dress. Very high quality. Only problem was it runs VERY small in the waist. It was difficult to get into, and a little uncomfortable. Definitely order up at least one size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
Felt like a million bucks!
The low cut definitely took me out of my comfort zone, but it looked very elegant and classy! I received a lot of compliments on the dress. Definitely one of my favorite rentals!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2014
Much to large
The dress itself is beautiful, but it was extremely large. I couldn't even wear it to the event. I am typically a size 4, and I was drowning in my dress. Size down at least two sizes
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
Classy look but still sexy
Fit was good
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
April 28, 2014
Wore one of my other options instead
Fit was just okay on my small frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
April 18, 2014
Comfortable and classy!
I wore this dress for the Artpace Happening (like an informal gala) and it was perfect. The pockets allowed me to ditch the purse and dance the night away. Yes, it's low-cut, but nothing a safety pin and two strategic pieces of tape couldn't handle. I got lots of compliments and felt gorgeous, comfortable, and confident for this important work event.
monicaJune 4, 2014
I am interested in getting this dress and our measurements are approx the same- did you wear a strapless bra or no bra?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 15, 2014
Very sexy w/o being too showy
This seems very low cut but can be moved around to be less showy. The pockets are amazing and made it so much fun to wear.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2014
I wore this for a fraternity formal, held at a very elegant plantation venue.
The fit is overall very elegant. The V in the front is in fact very deep, but I am a 34C and did not wear any bra at all. It definitely exposed a lot, but in a relatively tasteful way, particularly because it's a relatively long dress. The skirt is thick and very well-shaped, which I liked, but I could see it being a bit cumbersome. My main complaint was that the stays on the side of the bodice kept sliding up-- I think they were unstitched? Overall, beautiful dress. Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
April 5, 2014
Retro & classy!
I wore this to a charity formal, the waist is fitted and flattering and the skirt is very poofy. I especially love the neckline and open back!
HilarySeptember 6, 2014
Love this look and am a huge fan of Halston Heritage thanks to RTR. Any tips on where to find similar shoes?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2014
This dress is amazing!
Although the material for this dress was thicker and heavier than I expected, it still kept its shape. This dress was complimentary for a small chest and accentuated my small waist. I received many compliments in person and from my pictures. I played up the simple LBD with fuchsia pumps... great way to add a little personality. No necklace needed. The neckline is beautiful all on its own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
Very classy
I rented this as my back up dress for a wedding. If I didn't like the Nicole Miller I rented to much, then I would have 100% warn this dress. It's classic and very comfortable. The plunging neckline makes the dress very sexy. It doesn't look too over the top because the bottom of the dress is very poofy. Con: you have to wear double sided tape
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 30, 2014
Fun Flirty LBD
I wore this dress for a BBQ rehearsal dinner and it was the perfect little black dress for summer. The halter top is very flattering for an open back and showing off shoulders and arms. The front opening is a bit more dramatic than in the pictures - I think if you are bustier up top this dress would be bait too revealing. The fabric is a bit thicker so you don't have to worry about draping or falling out. Overall, very cute and received complements all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
March 25, 2014
Beautiful and elegant
Like many others have said, this dress reminds me of the Marilyn Monroe dress, but with thicker material and in black. It is beautiful and elegant. I love the pockets! I had to pin the front a little or else my bra would show, and the neck strap had to be pinned as well, but that was it. This dress is true to size. I wore it with my hair up, the Southern Plantation earrings, Gold Mesh Glam Clutch, and dusty pink 5" heels. My husband loved the way I looked.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
March 24, 2014
Loved this dress, it was perfect for my event.
I only had a couple of issues with the fit, I have pretty broad shoulders and back so I ended up wearing the 12, but then it was pretty revealing in the chest area. Nothing unbearable, but it was a tad bit revealing for the event I was attending. Overall a beautiful dress though, and very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2014
Perfect LBD for a saucy bachelorette party!
Was fairly true to fit. The zipper was a little troublesome where the fabric changed from waist to bust and there was a bit of discomfort in the ribbing. Dress is very low cut. I pinned it for dinner so it was more appropriate. For a night on the town though, it was great! If you have it and love to flaunt it, this is the dress for you! Definitely sassy! Got a lot of hootin and hollerin over the girls! Also, the material is much nicer than it looks in the pictures. It's a really nice, thick fabric. Also the pockets were a plus! Had a great time in this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2014
Great dress. Received lots of compliments. Classic, chic.
Fits true to size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
March 12, 2014
Perfect fit.
It stays secure at the top. The length is a little long (went to my knees) but I am short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 3, 2014
I have never worn such a low plunging neckline before, but it really looked great!
I originally bought this dress for a movie premiere, but when it arrived a day early I wore it to my best friend's birthday party instead. Good thing - it would not have been appropriate for the movie premiere I was going to! But it was perfect for the birthday party! The only bad part was that the bottom half was so poofy - I like the bottom of my dresses to be loose so that it doesn't hug my thighs, but this was too poofy. It still looked great though and the plunging neckline really showed off my chest! I did put a safety pin in the dress behind my neck though, to pull it up and hug my chest tighter, otherwise it would have been a little loose in that area.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2014
This is not made for petite women. I was swallowed by the 2 and usually wear a four.
I don't recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2014
Subtlety sexy! I felt like a princess!!
I was amazed how easy the whole process was! The dress was delivered at the exact day and so nicely packaged. The dress was beautiful and the pockets were a nice surprise. The dress is simple but sexy due to the plunging V-neck. The dress is made of a high end heavy fabric. The waist ran a bit small, but everything else fell perfectly in place. I look forward to my next rental, what a great site for the girl that can't be seen in the same dress twice!
RebeccaSeptember 4, 2014
Was this taken at The Boulders in Carefree? You look great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 29, 2014
Love it, love it, love it
I cannot wait to rent this dress again. It is super comfy and flattering on a petite frame. I had to pin the halter to keep the top from gaping, but I am really small chested; probably wouldn't be a problem for someone with more boobs than a 12 year old boy. I actually liked the fuller skirt because it added a little fun to the dress. I don't think a bra is possible with this one (I didn't wear one) because the back goes pretty low, but a sticky bra would work. The fabric is nice and thick and lovely.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
January 24, 2014
Classic chic
This was not my original choice but one that was sent after my first choice didn't fit. But I ended up really liking it. Its a really nice, classic shape and very flattering. I have two small children and am still working on getting my body back into shape so this dress did a good job of accenting the positive and hiding the negative. The front of the dress is really low though and while I tried, I couldn't make a bra work with it. It was fine without and given the cut worked ok. But for a very large chested woman, it could be difficult. The pockets and flare of the skirt were super cute. Got lots of compliments, with many stating it was very Marilyn Monroe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 21, 2014
Sexy Party Dress
I wore this for New Years. The dress fit great. I did pin the top so that i didn't have too much cleavage. My husband said it looked amazing on me
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2014
my boyfriend said it was his favorite dress i've ever worn
i normally wear a size 6 but this dress runs small so i could wear the 4. i got this dress for NYE after trying to rent several others that were unavailable. i was actually happily surprised at how pretty and classy it looked. it was sexy while being classy at the same time. the only bad thing was that the boning was coming out of both sides of the dress and it poked me. the 6 was missing the boning completely. other than that, another wonderful experience with RTR!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2014
wore this dress to a NYE wedding, fit great and comfortable
the best part about this dress was me not having to wear a bra!! when i sat down, it did come out a little bit, so be careful. it was a little longer than i had hoped, but it was ok. the pockets were very handy. small part of me felt like it was the black version of the famous marlyn monroe dress, but all in all, i felt pretty and got great compliments. wore with green earrings and cuff...really made it stand out! this is my 3rd rental with RTR and have always been happy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 24, 2013
Classic beauty
This dress fit perfectly. The zipper was a little stiff but it fit perfect. I also loved having the pockets. The halter style is my all-time favorite. I ordered it for a wedding reception and it was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2013
Worth every penny!
I wore this for an outdoor wedding and loved how it looked! The pockets are very convenient and I would highly recommend to my friends! I did not wear a bra but felt covered up.
See more reviews:
3 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×