Halston Heritage

Call The Kettle Black Dress

$30 rental
$455 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

138 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 93
Large 37
Photos 65
NIAMA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 18, 2013

Too poofy. I didn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is way more poofy than on the model. The pockets made it worse. It fit just fine, the halter was very pretty. Very good material. It just didn't go with my body type. I didn't wear it.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 27, 2013

Very pretty, but very low cut.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my second choice for a wedding I was attending. The reviews were correct in that it was very low cut. It was a beautiful dress, but not appropriate for the event I was going to so I didn't wear it.
Emma
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 29, 2013

This dress is probably better suited for a 5'10 model. At the height of 5'2, it looked like a tent.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ended up not wearing this dress and being really dissapointed as I got it for my birthday night out... which also turned out to be my engagement night. I am petite and only 5'2 and skirt of the dress went down past my knees. It looked like i was wearing an apron. The halter was also too long. It just did not fit well. Better suited for a tall, full busted girl. Even if I went down a size, it would not fit bc the rib cage area was true to size.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Lovely neckline, but not flattering for a petite girl.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this in a size 4, which was still too big even though i usually wear a 6. This dress had a lovely neckline that accentuated shoulders, but it didn't flatter me as I hoped it would. I am a petite 5'1" and the bottom just flared out too much and looked cupcake-y. Also, the top was just a tad too big as well. I could see it look really classy vintage Hollywood on the right person.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 11, 2013

Pretty dress, just not for me

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful. The material was thick so its not really for a summer occasion. I loved the top of the dress but was not thrlled with the bottom. It poofed out too much and made my hips look larger than they are. The material was thick so I think that made it worse. I am normally between a 2 and 4 but the 2 was better. Pretty dress, just didnt look great on me.
Whitney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

Classic dress. Pockets! High quality material. Very comfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little large. I pinned the top, as I was attending a catholic wedding
Kylie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Fun to accessorize - I paired with black and yellow sandals!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great Party Dress, but it definitely runs big - especially up top if you're not particularly well in doubt. This isn't a showstopper, but it's comfortable, versatile when you don't know what others will be wearing and easy to accessorize!
Heather
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Very comfortable, not as short on shorter people!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Soft and comfortable material. Easy to dance in, wearing a halter top bra worked best for me and was completely hidden by the strap.
Madeleine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Overall made me feel confident.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Fits great, really flattering, but just a little big...I'm normally a true 2 but wish I'd gone with a 0 for this. Overall a great, classy look with just a slight amount of edge!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

great pockets, imperfect fit

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
love this dress, but i needed a lot of tape to create the right fit. i was constantly adjusting the tape throughout the event, so as much as i love the dress, it just didn't fit perfectly. i am a consistent size two and the bust and shoulders were just a little off.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

I love this dress! Just have to be careful with the top, leaning down could get a little scandalous.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect but being a b cup the top was pretty loose. Loved how it looked though, very flattering!
Alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

The dress was so simple yet had enough design to make it more than "just a black dress".

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great and was super comfortable. Needed to use tape on the chest area, though. Got tons of compliments.
ostrvl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

This dress was perfect for the event I went to.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Heavy material, sexy low cut and short but comfortable and contemporary. The pockets were helpful because I never know what to do with my hands. Made me feel more relaxed that I was able to place them in the pockets for a more relaxed feel.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Way too Big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my honeymoon but even the two (I am normally a 4), was way too big. The material is nice and very thick but the fit was just too baggy.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Worth every penny!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for an outdoor wedding and loved how it looked! The pockets are very convenient and I would highly recommend to my friends! I did not wear a bra but felt covered up.
Jamey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Classic beauty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit perfectly. The zipper was a little stiff but it fit perfect. I also loved having the pockets. The halter style is my all-time favorite. I ordered it for a wedding reception and it was beautiful.
Meaghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 12, 2014

my boyfriend said it was his favorite dress i've ever worn

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
i normally wear a size 6 but this dress runs small so i could wear the 4. i got this dress for NYE after trying to rent several others that were unavailable. i was actually happily surprised at how pretty and classy it looked. it was sexy while being classy at the same time. the only bad thing was that the boning was coming out of both sides of the dress and it poked me. the 6 was missing the boning completely. other than that, another wonderful experience with RTR!
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 21, 2014

Sexy Party Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for New Years. The dress fit great. I did pin the top so that i didn't have too much cleavage. My husband said it looked amazing on me
Maria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Classic chic

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was not my original choice but one that was sent after my first choice didn't fit. But I ended up really liking it. Its a really nice, classic shape and very flattering. I have two small children and am still working on getting my body back into shape so this dress did a good job of accenting the positive and hiding the negative. The front of the dress is really low though and while I tried, I couldn't make a bra work with it. It was fine without and given the cut worked ok. But for a very large chested woman, it could be difficult. The pockets and flare of the skirt were super cute. Got lots of compliments, with many stating it was very Marilyn Monroe.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Love it, love it, love it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I cannot wait to rent this dress again. It is super comfy and flattering on a petite frame. I had to pin the halter to keep the top from gaping, but I am really small chested; probably wouldn't be a problem for someone with more boobs than a 12 year old boy. I actually liked the fuller skirt because it added a little fun to the dress. I don't think a bra is possible with this one (I didn't wear one) because the back goes pretty low, but a sticky bra would work. The fabric is nice and thick and lovely.
Christi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

This is not made for petite women. I was swallowed by the 2 and usually wear a four.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I don't recommend it.
Regina
Age: 28
Mar 12, 2014

Perfect fit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It stays secure at the top. The length is a little long (went to my knees) but I am short.
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Great dress. Received lots of compliments. Classic, chic.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Beautiful and elegant

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like many others have said, this dress reminds me of the Marilyn Monroe dress, but with thicker material and in black. It is beautiful and elegant. I love the pockets! I had to pin the front a little or else my bra would show, and the neck strap had to be pinned as well, but that was it. This dress is true to size. I wore it with my hair up, the Southern Plantation earrings, Gold Mesh Glam Clutch, and dusty pink 5" heels. My husband loved the way I looked.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Very classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my back up dress for a wedding. If I didn't like the Nicole Miller I rented to much, then I would have 100% warn this dress. It's classic and very comfortable. The plunging neckline makes the dress very sexy. It doesn't look too over the top because the bottom of the dress is very poofy. Con: you have to wear double sided tape
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Apr 1, 2014

This dress is amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Although the material for this dress was thicker and heavier than I expected, it still kept its shape. This dress was complimentary for a small chest and accentuated my small waist. I received many compliments in person and from my pictures. I played up the simple LBD with fuchsia pumps... great way to add a little personality. No necklace needed. The neckline is beautiful all on its own.
KT
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 12, 2014

I wore this for a fraternity formal, held at a very elegant plantation venue.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is overall very elegant. The V in the front is in fact very deep, but I am a 34C and did not wear any bra at all. It definitely exposed a lot, but in a relatively tasteful way, particularly because it's a relatively long dress. The skirt is thick and very well-shaped, which I liked, but I could see it being a bit cumbersome. My main complaint was that the stays on the side of the bodice kept sliding up-- I think they were unstitched? Overall, beautiful dress. Got a lot of compliments!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Very sexy w/o being too showy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This seems very low cut but can be moved around to be less showy. The pockets are amazing and made it so much fun to wear.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Wore one of my other options instead

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was just okay on my small frame.
ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Classy look but still sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Much to large

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress itself is beautiful, but it was extremely large. I couldn't even wear it to the event. I am typically a size 4, and I was drowning in my dress. Size down at least two sizes
Rita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
May 6, 2014

Wore this to a Kentucky Derby party and it was beautiful. Lots of complements.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a gorgeous dress. Very high quality. Only problem was it runs VERY small in the waist. It was difficult to get into, and a little uncomfortable. Definitely order up at least one size.
Heather
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
May 8, 2014

Saturday night wedding ..great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Ran a little big but very comfortable
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
May 10, 2014

Great Dress! Very Sexy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing the dress. I didn't feel comfortable with the amount of cleavage showing for the type of event I was attending. However, I would rent this in the future for the right event!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
May 17, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It also happened to be my birthday that night so I wanted a dress that would make me feel a little special. This is a great black dress with a nice, heavy fabric. I received compliments all night long and didn't want to take it off! It was just a little large in the bust, although I'm small chested. I think the 2 would have been a better fit but I wasn't able to order it as a backup. Would definitely wear again!
Vycki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2014

Comfy and loved the pockets!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it for a bridesmaid dress and loved it. I received quite a few compliments about the dress and loved the fit. I could wear a strapless bra with no problem. I did pin the front as I felt a little to revealed for a wedding without it. I would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
May 19, 2014

I loved my rent the runway experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was stunning. Some people said it was too long but I'm 5'7 and thought that the length was perfect. It fell at about mid thigh. I got compliments all night and it was an extremely flattering fit. Definitely had a Marilyn Monroe vibe. I would recommend getting a size smaller than you usually wear because it runs large.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
May 20, 2014

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing it and chosing the other dress I had ordered because I really didn't want to wear a black dress to a wedding. But I refused to just send it back without wearing it so just went out for drinks one night in it. I felt like a movie star! I couldn't wear a bra and the front was more low cut than it looks on the model but it still covered everything. I had to have someone zip me into it and once zipped in, nothing was going anywhere! Such great quality fabric and design. I would definitely rent this again.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 28, 2014

Loved it...but...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the fabric and style of this dress! However, the top is much better suited for someone with a large bust. I chose a different RTR dress, as I didn't love the way this one fit in the chest.
Krista
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Great Dress! Very classy. Paired with some Sarah Jessica Parker shoes.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs big. Had to pin the dress at the neck for a snug fit. And fashion tape a must
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×