Halston Heritage

Call The Kettle Black Dress

$144 to buy
$455 retail
Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(108)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2013
Everthing was exactly as I expected. I was very pleased with my first RTR experience.

This dress fit me perfectly. The fabric is rich and perfect heft,so no wrinkles. I tried to tape the front together so it was not so low cut, but it did not stay in place. I got tons of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2013
Too poofy. I didn't wear it.

It is way more poofy than on the model. The pockets made it worse. It fit just fine, the halter was very pretty. Very good material. It just didn't go with my body type. I didn't wear it.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2013
great pockets, imperfect fit

love this dress, but i needed a lot of tape to create the right fit. i was constantly adjusting the tape throughout the event, so as much as i love the dress, it just didn't fit perfectly. i am a consistent size two and the bust and shoulders were just a little off.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2013
I love this dress! Just have to be careful with the top, leaning down could get a little scandalous.

Fit perfect but being a b cup the top was pretty loose. Loved how it looked though, very flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2013
Classic Glam

I wore this dress yesterday for an evening wedding. The dress is made with quality material and preferred the full bottom of the dress to camouflage my hips a bit. The dress is low cut in the front so I didn't bother to wear a bra. However, be warned, when you sit down, it can get "spacey" in the chest area so some fashion tape may be helpful. I didn't bother with the fashion tape either because the effect was just beautiful: I paired this dress with the following: - Ben Amun Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops Earrings - Christian Louboutin Daffodile Platforms - Leopard Print Box Clutch with Skull Knuckles (a great knock off emulatin Alexander McQueen box clutch) - Revlon Lipgloss in Fire - Hair in a depp side part with soft waves to channel old Hollywood glamour

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2013
Loved the fit- very flattering!

I wore this dress to a wedding and got tons of compliments! It was a great STAPLE dress that can be worn on anyone for a fun event. Loved the fit- very flaterring but yet classy and fun at the same time,. This was my "Emergency Help dress". I received another style on Thursday before the Saturday wedding and I did not like it at all. I was able to "Chat with a specialist" and Serena H was able to get me this dress sent overnight to the hotel on Saturday morning. It is a great Safety dress that you will fall in LOVE with! Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
This dress was perfect for the event I went to.

Heavy material, sexy low cut and short but comfortable and contemporary. The pockets were helpful because I never know what to do with my hands. Made me feel more relaxed that I was able to place them in the pockets for a more relaxed feel.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 20, 2013
My dress was absolutely stunning! Everyone throughout the night told me how gorgeous I looked.

The overall fit was good. The dress pulls you in at the waist. Pro ~ The dress covers stomach area and it looks FABULOUS on. Con ~ The Dress was a little to big after I fastened it around my neck. So I tied it around my neck then buttoned it and tucked it under.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2014
wore this dress to a NYE wedding, fit great and comfortable

the best part about this dress was me not having to wear a bra!! when i sat down, it did come out a little bit, so be careful. it was a little longer than i had hoped, but it was ok. the pockets were very handy. small part of me felt like it was the black version of the famous marlyn monroe dress, but all in all, i felt pretty and got great compliments. wore with green earrings and cuff...really made it stand out! this is my 3rd rental with RTR and have always been happy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 21, 2014
Sexy Party Dress

I wore this for New Years. The dress fit great. I did pin the top so that i didn't have too much cleavage. My husband said it looked amazing on me

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
January 24, 2014
Classic chic

This was not my original choice but one that was sent after my first choice didn't fit. But I ended up really liking it. Its a really nice, classic shape and very flattering. I have two small children and am still working on getting my body back into shape so this dress did a good job of accenting the positive and hiding the negative. The front of the dress is really low though and while I tried, I couldn't make a bra work with it. It was fine without and given the cut worked ok. But for a very large chested woman, it could be difficult. The pockets and flare of the skirt were super cute. Got lots of compliments, with many stating it was very Marilyn Monroe.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
March 12, 2014
Perfect fit.

It stays secure at the top. The length is a little long (went to my knees) but I am short.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2014
Great dress. Received lots of compliments. Classic, chic.

Fits true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2014
Perfect LBD for a saucy bachelorette party!

Was fairly true to fit. The zipper was a little troublesome where the fabric changed from waist to bust and there was a bit of discomfort in the ribbing. Dress is very low cut. I pinned it for dinner so it was more appropriate. For a night on the town though, it was great! If you have it and love to flaunt it, this is the dress for you! Definitely sassy! Got a lot of hootin and hollerin over the girls! Also, the material is much nicer than it looks in the pictures. It's a really nice, thick fabric. Also the pockets were a plus! Had a great time in this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
March 24, 2014
Loved this dress, it was perfect for my event.

I only had a couple of issues with the fit, I have pretty broad shoulders and back so I ended up wearing the 12, but then it was pretty revealing in the chest area. Nothing unbearable, but it was a tad bit revealing for the event I was attending. Overall a beautiful dress though, and very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
March 25, 2014
Beautiful and elegant

Like many others have said, this dress reminds me of the Marilyn Monroe dress, but with thicker material and in black. It is beautiful and elegant. I love the pockets! I had to pin the front a little or else my bra would show, and the neck strap had to be pinned as well, but that was it. This dress is true to size. I wore it with my hair up, the Southern Plantation earrings, Gold Mesh Glam Clutch, and dusty pink 5" heels. My husband loved the way I looked.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 30, 2014
Fun Flirty LBD

I wore this dress for a BBQ rehearsal dinner and it was the perfect little black dress for summer. The halter top is very flattering for an open back and showing off shoulders and arms. The front opening is a bit more dramatic than in the pictures - I think if you are bustier up top this dress would be bait too revealing. The fabric is a bit thicker so you don't have to worry about draping or falling out. Overall, very cute and received complements all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2014
This dress is amazing!

Although the material for this dress was thicker and heavier than I expected, it still kept its shape. This dress was complimentary for a small chest and accentuated my small waist. I received many compliments in person and from my pictures. I played up the simple LBD with fuchsia pumps... great way to add a little personality. No necklace needed. The neckline is beautiful all on its own.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
April 5, 2014
Retro & classy!

I wore this to a charity formal, the waist is fitted and flattering and the skirt is very poofy. I especially love the neckline and open back!

HilaryApril 5, 2014
Love this look and am a huge fan of Halston Heritage thanks to RTR. Any tips on where to find similar shoes?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2014
I wore this for a fraternity formal, held at a very elegant plantation venue.

The fit is overall very elegant. The V in the front is in fact very deep, but I am a 34C and did not wear any bra at all. It definitely exposed a lot, but in a relatively tasteful way, particularly because it's a relatively long dress. The skirt is thick and very well-shaped, which I liked, but I could see it being a bit cumbersome. My main complaint was that the stays on the side of the bodice kept sliding up-- I think they were unstitched? Overall, beautiful dress. Got a lot of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 18, 2014
Comfortable and classy!

I wore this dress for the Artpace Happening (like an informal gala) and it was perfect. The pockets allowed me to ditch the purse and dance the night away. Yes, it's low-cut, but nothing a safety pin and two strategic pieces of tape couldn't handle. I got lots of compliments and felt gorgeous, comfortable, and confident for this important work event.

monicaApril 18, 2014
I am interested in getting this dress and our measurements are approx the same- did you wear a strapless bra or no bra?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
April 28, 2014
Wore one of my other options instead

Fit was just okay on my small frame.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
Classy look but still sexy

Fit was good

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2014
Was hesitant at first to wear a short dress to prom but I got so many compliments & felt great in it

The dress was a little longer than I thought but not by very much, it looked shorter with a good pair of heels. The v cut was really deep, I had to pin it back. I don't suggest wearing a bra with this dress, I didn't. If anything, I would get the stick-on cups. I loved how simple the dress was, it made it easier to pair up with any color accessories. The pockets were also a plus!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 18, 2014
I fit into a size 2 after losing 25 lbs!!!

Front sits very low which my boyfriend didn't like at all. So I wore a strapless bra & pinned the straps tighter on my neck to bring it up. Still showed off cleavage which I liked :-) As a short woman I felt it was a little long but that's what happens & it was ok, still fell above the knee.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2014
Comfy and loved the pockets!

I wore it for a bridesmaid dress and loved it. I received quite a few compliments about the dress and loved the fit. I could wear a strapless bra with no problem. I did pin the front as I felt a little to revealed for a wedding without it. I would definitely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2014
Great night with a great dress!!

I wore this dress for my bachellorette party. The dress is super sexy, but still classy and made for dancing the night away. Plus it has pockets which are essential for any girls night out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
Neckline is too open for me

I really wanted to wear this dress but the neckline was too open for me. I don't mind a low neckline but it was open and showed lots of side-boob. There was no way to tack it closed. I wore the back-up dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 14, 2014
Fit was great and lots of compliments!

I wore this dress for my Project Ladybug fundraiser event. Love the pockets!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 14, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering!

I rented this dress for a wedding. I felt sexy and classic!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 26, 2014
What a great go to dress for any party! Simple and elegant, I got a ton of compliments!

Fit was true to size, I read prior reviews that had problems with the neckline gaping, I didn't have these issues. Fabric was a surprise as it was not a dressy material, but the dress still looked like a million dollars!!! Can't wait to rent this again!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 29, 2014
Easy classic styling.

Playful poof to skirt. Conservative length offsets low cut.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2014
Cute but small!

After reading the reviews I sized down but should've stuck with a 12. While it zipped, it looked tight and I couldn't wear it:(

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
July 15, 2014
The pictures, reviews, and ease of ordering/returning.

This is the second time I've rented this dress - I love the way I feel in it! Fit at just the right part of my waist - the smallest area right below my rib cage. The neckline is for sure pretty sassy, but I loved it - and if you felt a little worries ab a wardrobe malfunction, I'm sure a little tape would do the trick. Pockets are an incredible touch. I got a ton of compliments on it from guys and gals.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 18, 2014
Bachelorette Party Dress

I wore this for my own bachelorette party- I know a lot of people would think wearing a black dress would be weird- but this dress was so classic. It fit perfectly! I have a large chest, and the halter was the best option for me. I could adjust the neck and I didn't even need to wear a bra because the dress material was think enough and large enough to hold me up. I would love to buy this dress so I could have it to wear at any moment!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 20, 2014
Very cute and comfy

I got this as a replacement dress for one that was damaged and unable to send out. It was very cute, and I got a lot of compliments on the dress! I received both the 0 and 2, and they seemed to fit the same aside from the torso of the 0 being shorter. I am 5'4 and the dress hit just above my knees, so it's not as short as it is on the model.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 3, 2014
Very high quality gorgeous dress

really low cut so if you're busty, you need some tape and a safety pin. Absolutely loved this dress. The skirt is so poofy and I loved the pockets

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2014
Bachelorette Party!

I ordered sizes 4 and 6 and wore the size 4 for my friend's bachelorette party in Washington, D.C. I love the length of the dress - it wasn't too long but not to short. The 4 was a little tight around my waist area - but the 6 was too big for my 5'4, 125 lb frame. I didn't wear a bra with the dress which was fine because the top part was thick enough and covered my whole chest area where even when I sat down, nothing popped out. The fabric of the dress was very thick - I was surprised by that but it wasn't uncomfortable or too hot. This dress was fun to wear and great for a night out around town. I would have to say this wasn't one of my favorite RTR dresses, but, I would still recommend it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2014
Pockets! Awesome! Love it!!!

Im usually a 6 in pants, but I decided to go for the 8 because a 6 wasn't available for the date I needed, also because I hear dresses run smaller then pants. Anyhow this dress fit like a glove! I might have been able to fit into the 6 but the 8 was just fine. My favorite thing about this dress is the pockets, so cool. I was a little scared that one of the girls was gonna pop out, because it is super low cut, but nope! It holds everything in place perfectly. I was able to wear a strapless bra and I didn't have to adjust the whole night. The puffiness of the bottom of the dress is super cute and camouflaged my lack of going to the gym and also the fact that I ate way too much. I absolutely love love this dress. I wish i had it in my closet. The only bad thing was that at the end of the night I noticed that something was sticking out of the dress and poking me in the back, it might have been doing it the whole night but it didn't bother me at all until the festivities were done. I would totally get this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 1, 2014
Perfect bachelorette dress!

Comfortable, easy to wear - fit was great on me. D cup, didn't need fashion tape for the bust which was a nice surprise!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×