Rent the Runway

ERIN erin fetherston

Viceroy Butterfly Dress

$75 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Taking that much needed vacation to the beach? Go with this eye catching Erin by Erin Fetherston butterfly print dress. An easy fit and stylish choice for those days of fun in the sun. Go with a clutch like the Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Forest Tonda Pony Clutch to head out to dinner and drinks with your girlfriends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multi printed silk chiffon(100% silk; lining:100% silk). Surplice neckline with wrap body. Split bell sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

45 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 32
Large 8
Photos 20
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 23, 2012

It was perfect for a party with the girls!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a girls night out party and it was perfect! It was classy, but fun and flirty at the same time. The colors are vibrant. It runs true to size which helps taking the guessing out of it. This is the perfect dress if you aren't sure what to wear to a party and dont want to be overdressed or underdressed. I would def. rent it again.
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
May 31, 2012

Remembering a friend through fashion. It was an amazing tribute.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Not my favorite RTR rental but I loved the pattern and it was perfect for the occasion. My best friend past away in '08 and donated all of her organs. The sign of organ donation is a butterfly and since then that has been a theme in my life. I had to pin the sleeves so they wouldn't fall off my shoulder as well as the bust so I wouldn't have a wardrobe malfunction! But being almost 5'9 the length was perfect! I would recommend ordering a size down for the back up size. Very cute dress though & received tons of compliments!
sga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 15, 2012

Beautiful color, awkward sleeves

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was a bit long, and I wasn't crazy about the sleeves. But the color, material, and print was gorgeous. I received a ton of compliments.
Jennice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Jun 18, 2012

I don't typically wear dresses this short but once I had it on it felt great. So far I have rented 2 dresses and loved all the compliments in each of them. LOVE RTR!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall the dress runs true to size, is extremely comfortable and perfect for summer events. I rented this for a graduation celebration and received so many compliments. At first I hesitated wearing it without leggings since it is a bit short but after it was on, it looked so much better without them. I also had to clip the front with adhesive tape since it was very revealing but other than that it was fun, flirty and I felt great dancing in it.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 25, 2012

I received many compliments on this dress, but the best one came from my friend, the most stunning bride I've ever seen. Perfect colorful & comfortable dress for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's summer wedding and it was perfect. Easy to wear, very comfortable, a fun summer color & feeling to the dress. The sleeves are gorgeous. I liked it much better tied in the back rather than the front.
Ida
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

I got stopped as I was walking down the street by a random guy who told me that my dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fun and flirty. I was worried that it was going to look a little bit baggy but it wasn't too loose at all and it turned out to be a perfect fit. If you want something conservative and yet sexy I would definitely recommend it!
Cat
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 7, 2012

Best Dressed Guest!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental with RTR and I'm officially converted. The bride and groom had a competition for best dressed and I won!! Very flattering dress and I received compliments all night. I verge on being pretty small-chested so I used the fashion tape to keep the drapey top from making me the next Janet Jackson, but other than that, really comfortable and fun to be in. I border between being 'petite' but having a curvier shape, for what it's worth, so I was nervous when my backup size 2 wasn't available. But boy am I glad it wasn't because this fit just right! If you are in doubt, definitely stay the smaller of your two sizes.
morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Rehersal Dinner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I would normally NEVER wear anything like this, but the bride is very trendy, so I did it for her. I loved it. The color is beautiful, deeper than what the picture shows. I will wear this dress again in a heartbeat!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

cute floral dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! I wore it to a high end event celebrating great chefs. Very unique and feminine style. I received many compliments and even had my photo taken for a local magazine (sorry I don't have a copy to attach). Anyway, this is a great dress if you want to stand out from the crowd whie keeping it classy.
PK
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Awesome Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful. I got the backup size just in case. Normally I am a size 6 but I got a back up 8 just to be on the safe side. The 8 fit perfectly. Everyone loved the dress! It was easy to pack up and return and thanks for the complimentary hanging bag. I am definitely a true fan of Rent the Runway!
jennings
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

bachelorette party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
loved this dress! adorable and flattering!
patty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great Dress, Great Fit. But be warned - it is louder than it looks. That pink is HOT pink.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 4, 2012

Thank lord for fashion tape

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really liked the dress, but I would tell busty ladies to proceed with caution. It ran a little small and I could not have worn it without fashion tape.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

This was a "just for fun" rental and I had so much fun wearing it! Definitely an eye-turner with the bright pink. I heard "fabulous" all night :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress paired with nude heels and got so many compliments while I was wearing it! After reading some of the reviews and checking out the pictures that others have posted, I decided to size down to a 0 (normally a 2) because this dress is flowy. Although it was a bit more snug, I liked the way the dress looked/felt better. A fun dress to wear, definitely would recommend. A friend also said it looked like a kimono :)
Carmen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Okay Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The colors of the dress are beautiful, but I just couldn't get past the sleeves. The cutouts were a little too much for me.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Cute, fun but that's about it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and although it was cute and fun it was still missing something for me. I didn't find it very flattering for me but the colors are bright and fun. The sleeves gorgeous and make it unique. Easy to wear, comfortable and fun for a spring or summer event.
Mary Catherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

seeing my friend walk down the aisle looking amazing, and feeling special and sexy myself!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i usually don't feel like dresses fit me weird, but this dress was loose in the bust and a little tight in the hip/butt area. i ended up using some double-sided dress tape on the top area to keep everything from coming out on the dance floor! the sleeves are also more like "wings," as there is fabric that continues from each sleeve through the back area (not shown in the dress in the picture.) i was overall very happy with it, and got tons of compliments!
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

RTR didn't have suitable in my size

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Planned to wear to afternoon, hotel on the beach wedding. RTR emailed the day before it was supposed to arrive telling me it was unavailable and giving a 7:00 pm Eastern deadline to respond with another selection or a stylist would chose for me. I can't check personal email until I get home at 4:00pm Pacific time. I called the second I read the email. Customer service was very accommodating and sent me two sizes of my choice. They had already sent the stylist's choice - a similar style, but ivory, and coincidentally similar to the bride's dress. I'm sure if she knew it was for a wedding, she wouldn't have chosen a " white" dress. Horribly disappointed to not wear this dress, but I appreciate that RTR didn't want to send me a dress with snags and wear.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

The sleeves were awesome. I wasn't sure what to expect but the were great and I loved wearing them.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was definitely longer than it is on the model. I am 5'5 and it was only a few inches above the knee. It fit great all over and I loved the color and the sleeves. The only complaint I would have is that there was stitching that held together the v neck. I don't have huge boobs so I would have preferred if that wasn't there so it was a bit deeper v. Other than that though I loved it. I got so many compliments on it.
PK
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Sep 19, 2012

Easy to return, great communication, not one glitch. Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments, it was a great dress for a summer wedding! The length of the dress is very reasonable and it was very comfortable.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

I rented this dress for my bridal shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, the person who rented it prior to me ruined it and it was unavailable, but the customer service was outstanding and were able to send me the same dress in a different color as well as a back up option just in case. They were amazing!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great fit. The tie around the waist gave the dress some shape. It's very comfortable and chic. It's a little funny to put on because of the open sleeves, but once you figure it out it's fine. The top was a little loose on me because I don't have the biggest chest, but I didn't feel like it was too exposing. The color is great - especially if you're tan. It's a fun, flirty dress that's great for a date night.
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Sep 21, 2012

Too much fabric

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I never wore this dress. It just had too much fabric for me which was unflattering and overwhelming.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

I wore this to a public speaking event and it really helped me stand out and make an impact!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am petite and for that reason I feel this style was maybe a little overwhelming on my frame but it is adjustable in that you can cinch the waist with the self tie. I wore this when I was speaking at an event and the dress was such a hit! I was getting compliments left and right. It's beautiful, very different, and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous, stand-out dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful pattern and fabric. I loved the sleeves and the neckline. I have large hips, and the skirt was very fitted on me, I wish I would have ordered an 8. I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event but would love to rent it again in a size up!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Endless compliments :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was fabulous. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner party in San Diego in April and it could not have been more perfect. Everyone absolutely loved it! The color is bright and beautiful. It fit great and was very comfortable. I would absolutely recommend this dress to anyone.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Very flattering, and true to size. Wanted to keep this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing bad to say about this dress. Was easy to rent and return. Tremendous amount of compliments.
joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 113
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

The color was beautiful, though the material was cheaper than expected.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was far too short! I don't see how anyone could wear this for any formal, cocktail occasion.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

This was my first order with RTR and I couldn't have been happier

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments. The print and color are bright and beautiful. The best part was that the dress was comfortable, no spanx or gut sucking required. I felt confident wearing the dress and would rent it again! :)
Brynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Fun date night dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Waist fitted a bit higher than natural waist. Arms a bit strange, tight at wrists and I had to work to keep my shoulders covered all night. Overall fun dress, but I wouldn't wear it again.
CoCo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Cute, cute dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was far more casual than I was needing for my wedding, so I wore my backup, which was MORE dressy than I thought. I wore this to an opening at the Des Moines Art Center, where I work, and it was perfect!! It does run a little large as I typically wear a size 2 dress. I could have worn the 2, but the 0 was perfect!
Brooke
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

It was so fun and flirty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Don't forget to wear the belt too!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Age: 28
Nov 21, 2012

Not cute

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was not an attractive dress. The sleeves were too aggressive for my taste.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

Cute dress, interesting shape

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing the dress because the sleeve were REALLY big and "billowy". BUT the dress is really cute and is a great color. Just not for me..
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

I enjoyed having something new and special to wear to an event that I knew no one else would have

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked the dress especially the color however it is a bit less formal looking in person.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Really pretty and the color is true to the photo.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Color and pattern are very pretty & whimsical...didn't love it because I felt the wings made me look wider & didn't love it with my hourglass shape. Would probably be great on someone with a straighter frame.
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

Love RTR!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Length of dress was good not too short or long. I found the dress was not super flattering for me since it is a loose fitting dress. The sleeves are split which I didn't see at first, it was a little odd at first for me but overall was not an issue.
Celine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

n/a

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
nice dress but i am a petite person. the sleeves were too long. The size I order was a 2. I don't have large breast to fill the top.
layla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Showstopper print

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a really cute and comfy dress. It is short though. I think it was too short for my height, but I wore it with opaque tights.
jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 2, 2013

Boho Chic, Comfy & Elegant!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect day to evening dress. It worked for my bridesmaid's luncheon perfectly - soft and feminine. I loved it so much I didn't want to take it off, so I added a scarf to bear the cold and wore it out to dinner and karaoke. A really fun dress. It was a little worn and was missing the belt, but I loved it anyway.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×