Such An Illusion Gown

$60 – $95 rental
$465 retail
Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
398 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(242)
Small
(67)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2016
Loved this dress! I received compliments all night about it.
The zipper was a bit of a pain, but once that was up, it fit perfectly! I'm 5'5 and the dress sometimes felt a bit long, but with heels, it was fine! I loved the way it moved with me, and the top is really beautiful. It was a hit, and I was so sad to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
November 14, 2016
I wore it to my husband's holiday party.
I was newly pregnant and I wanted something formal but also something that would hide my baby bump. This was perfect because it was form fitting on top and then flowed out so no one even knew I was pregnant. I'm tall and the long was perfect even with heals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
November 17, 2016
Great dress for a work holiday party at a museum
This was the first dress I rented with RTR and it got me hooked! The reviews were right, the sleeves and the middle section were a little tight and prevented a lot of mobility but I didn't care at all. This dress made me feel sexy and sophisticated. The bottom of the dress has a sheer overlay that gives it an extra flare when walking. It wasn't too long; I wore plain black flats and didn't have an issue with it touching the floor. Strapless bra was all I needed!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 28
November 17, 2016
Beautiful dress, I was really comfortable the whole night.
I am about 5'8 and wore about 2" heels. The Long was perfect for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
November 27, 2016
Elegant, classy, flattering
I loved this dress - it fit really well and was very flattering. I needed a dress on the conservative end for my event. I can usually fit easily into a 4 or a 6, but this dress was almost slightly too big as a 4, so I'd suggest sizing down. I wore 3 inch heels and the bottom of the dress nicely skimmed the floor. Also, as a pear shape, I was very happy with the flow of this dress. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 2, 2016
Main dress but wore back up instead.
I needed a 6L but it wasn't available so I thought I'd take a chance with the regular length. Dress fit well otherwise.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 5, 2016
Beautiful dress perfect for a night out.
The dress fit true to size. I am 38DD and the cleavage was a little more than I am comfortable with.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
December 7, 2016
Perfect dress!
Got so many compliments, perfect for black tie wedding. Comfortable and beautiful dress!
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 12, 2016
Beautiful and elegant dress for a holiday party.
I usually wear a 4 or 4P, however, after reading the reviews about the waist band, opted to have the 6P as my second choice. Thank goodness! The band is extremely tight. I fit into the 4R, but was much more comfortable in the 6P. I am 5'1" and the length of the 6P was perfect. The 4R was extremely long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2016
A formal fall wedding.
A flattering, flowy dress. I ordered a long as recommended for my height, but even with heels I was stepping on the bottom of the dress a lot.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
December 19, 2016
Rented for a wedding.
I LOVE THIS DRESS! Unfortunately, I had to return it as it would not fit and a larger size was not available. The dress is gorgeous, but the fit around my bust was too tight to zip completely. Very unfortunate because the dress is soooo pretty. Length was good for my 5'3" and 4 in heels.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2016
Fabulous dress, beautiful, elegant, and classy!
Wore this dress for a black tie charity gala, and I felt glamorous and elegant, it was perfect for the occasion
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 26, 2016
This dress was so comfortable and fancy, I felt gorgeous and got a ton of compliments.
Really true to size but the flowing skirt really left enough room for my hips (which is great for my pear shape). I have slightly chubby arms and the sleeves were snug but not uncomfortable The bodice is structured enough to feel secure and supportive but there's still enough give for you to be mobile and to dance. I'm on the shorter side but this dress was a good length with 3 in heels.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
January 16, 2017
Little details
I loved this dress for a black tie gala. The lace at the top has flecks of gold and green shimmer that stood out and gave it a little bit of pop. The dress runs small. I am normally a 2 (sometimes a 4). But after reading the reviews I ordered a 4. The original dress came and I was unable to zip it up, so RTR shipped me the next size up overnight. The 6 fit perfect. It was so comfortable. I highly recommended!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 25, 2017
Lots of compliments!
The dress was very comfortable and flowy! I did wear a strapless bra so the straps did not take away from the beautiful top this dress has. Love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 29, 2017
I absolutely LOVED the dress and got compliments on it all night.
Wore it for a ball, I blended in quite well with all the actually rich people. Great choice all around.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
February 13, 2017
This dress was perfect for a black tie benefit!
The dress was fairly true to size. I wore the size 2R, I'm 5'6" and with 3 inch heels it was still a bit long. The dress has a princess feel because of the full skirt and double layering. The top is beautiful and I am still receiving compliments on the pictures. You will need to wear a strapless bra. It was such an easy and comfortable dress to wear. Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 21, 2017
Stunning dress!
I wore this dress to a military ball. I'm 5'4 and was wearing 3.25 inch heels but this dress was still a little too long. I wanted to wear spiky heels but the dress was so long that it kept getting caught on the heels, so I opted for black booties instead which had a thicker heel. This dress was so unique and beautiful. The band around the middle was slightly tighter than I'd like, but was still comfortable. The dress flowed so nicely and covered up all areas that I wanted to cover up. Overall, I gave it 4 stars mainly because of the length issue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 4, 2017
Classy but fun. Perfect for Gala for work event.
Zipper required 2 people! Lace detail has a hint of green and gold if you want to play it up. Skirt very forgiving and comfortable. I am 5'6, and it was perfect for my 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 12, 2017
Nice for a formal wedding
It was a little tight in the bust for 34D. But the next size up would have been too baggy all over.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2017
AMAZING prom dress!!!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress. I received so many compliments at prom. It was definitely unique and super easy to move around in!! It runs just a little small, so I would recommend going a size up with your 2nd free size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
March 13, 2017
Witnessing two people who truly love one another.
The dress was stunning; however, at 5'4", 115lbs, and 32C, a size zero would have fit best.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 13, 2017
Did not wear this dress
This is a lovely dress, very elegant, very well made, however, it is cut very small. I am 5'5", 140 lbs., a true size 10. I ordered this one in a size 12 as a backup. It was so tight that I could not have gotten through the night. Fortunately, this was the back-up and my first choice fit beautifully.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2017
Perfect winter formal dress!
I wore this to a formal winter wedding and received several compliments. The length was just right, but the waist run tight and you should size up or plan on not overeating. I also recommend wearing a strapless bra since you can see the straps at the shoulder through the mesh. If you have a larger bust like I do, you will likely have a bit of cleavage showing through the glittery top section.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
March 19, 2017
Tight waistline
This dress was my second option and was not worn due to the fit. I read the previous reviews and can agree that the waistline is tight and doesn't have any elasticity to the band. I did think the dress was really pretty in person.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 1, 2017
I received so many compliments on this gorgeous gown!
This dress was actually my original pick but turned out to be my backup as only the 10R was available. The dress fit comfortably and while the 8R may have been perfect - the 10R was comfortable. I'm around 5' 6" and the regular length was perfect with a 2-3" heel. I'd highly recommend this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 3, 2017
Comfortable and flowy
This dress was really easy to wear. It was flowy and fun. I ordered the 10r and the 8l. I wore the 8l but it was a little bit too long, so i just wore higher heels. I didnt have any trouble with the zippers, as so many people in the reviews said they did. The sleeves were a little bit tight, but not too bad. Due to the lace in the top part, I wore a strapless bra. The part where the lace stops and the opaque, non-see-through lace begins was lower than I anticipated, but the 10l was even lower. Altogether it was a fun night at prom. I got a lot of compliments and I felt really good wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2017
Pretty dress, had to go up a size
I liked the dress but I had to size up solely due to the waist band - I do sometimes have a little trouble with my waist because I'm more straight and narrow than curvy at the waist but the size up almost didn't fit either! Just something to be aware of if you sometimes have issues at the waist in dresses. Overall though, I liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2017
Queenly with a fun swishy skirt
This was my backup dress so I didn't actually wear it to the event. I did try it on and I felt like a queen. It's conservative but playful and feminine. I definitely would've felt confident wearing this option if my first choice had not been absolutely breathtaking. (Theia - Black Cover of Darkness Gown)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
April 12, 2017
Perfect for a black tie fundraiser dinner! Stylish, comfortable, and flattering.
I rented the 0R and it fit perfectly. The zipper is a little hard to get up, but just go easy on it and have someone help you. Once zipped, the fit of the waistline and bust area was perfect. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress was slightly long, but not to the point of stepping/tripping on it. The subtle gold/green shimmer on the lace chest area is a beautiful detail - I received compliments all night long. It was very comfortable, no itching and poking seams. It can easily be worn with a normal strapless bra, which was very convenient. The dress stayed in placed and was comfortable through the whole night, even after lots of dancing. Overall this dress was perfect for the occasion and made me feel so beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 13, 2017
Wonderful "sister of the groom," wedding party & guest dress!
Beautiful, classic black gown that has just enough embellishment to make it "pop!" This fit a little loose in the bodice, but is well-fitted in the waist; wish I had sized down instead of up for my backup. Did not find the sleeves to be restrictive at all. Lovely gown, got tons of complements!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
October 20, 2013
This dress is gorgeous! I loved the flowing skirt and the bit of sparkle on the top.
The skirt is so lose and flowing, but the top pulls it all in. I normally wear a size 2, but could not zip this one up around my rib cage. I am small bobbed, but the zipper would not let me even get that far. Overnighted the next size up, and it worked perfectly.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 22, 2013
i wore this dress to a black-tie wedding and just loved it!
the cap sleeves were a little tight so I went with the 8L instead of my usual 6. I got so many compliments and would suggest it for anyone looking to "WOW".
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2013
Getting compliments on the dress all night.
The fit is a little tight on top if you have a larger bust, but other than that it is true to size. It is a little hard to zip up when the zipper going over the hem at the waist line.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 28, 2013
It was ok. Not as glamorous as it looks on the model. Not great quality material.
I wear a 6 typically and ordered such according to the size chart. Everything fit except the zipper at the waist, where the fabric is detailed by a ribbon, buckled out and could not zip up. I thought I just needed to go to an 8, but the zipper did the same thing on the 8, even though the dress was not tight on me (in the 6 and the 8). I was eventually able to get it zipped up and it was a little big on top, so it didn't give the boat-neck look like the model has. Oh well, I still got tons of complements but I think my hair and jewelry helped the slouchy neckline effect. I'll do this RTR again, but not this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2013
Beautiful AND comfortable
I rented this dress for a black tie gala for work. It was extremely comfortable, very appropriate for my slightly more conservative profession and I received a ton of compliments! Overall a perfect dress for the event. A few things to note: (1) The lace is definitely more green than it looks on the model. It was still pretty, but it is much more of a contrast than I thought it would be. (2) The dress is pretty long. I am 5'2'' and wore 4 inch heels and the dress still rested slightly on the floor and I had to pick it up a little bit when walking outside. It would have been difficult to dance in the dress. I recommend very high heels if you are under 5'4''.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 4, 2013
I DIDNT WANT TO SEND IT BACK!
I loved this dress! I dont normally go for long dresses but I tried this on in the SOHO showroom and fell in love. I think the only way for this dress to work is if the top is very fitted. Thankfully it was on me! I wear a 2 or a 4 normally. The 2 fit perfectly. I also went for the longer size- though I probably should have went with the regular. Even with heels it was a bit too long. I got TONS of compliments on this dress. I really didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 4, 2013
Very pretty dress but fit is a little tricky depending on your body shape.
The dress itself is very pretty. The bodice is very delicate and the lace is beautiful. I thought the skirt would be much fuller, but it's actually a very light chiffon material. The fit can be hard to pull off depending on your body shape. I am pretty short-waisted so the bodice fell too low on my chest, making the top look awkward, with too much material on top. Also, the dress is made for people with narrow waists - i'm pretty straight up and down, so i had to size up, which made the bodice too large. The dress is pretty but I ended up wearing my back-up dress b/c of the fit of the bodice.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
November 4, 2013
Perfectly classy
This was my first RTR experience and I couldn't be happier. This dress was so beautiful! I normally wear a size 2 but RTR was sold out so I took a chance with a 4R and a 2L and I'm so happy I got both! The 2 was waaaay too tight. Please be aware that the metallic detail in the dress is less gold than shown on the model, it's more of an abalone green/blue. I also deducted one star because if the zipper. There is no way I could have zipped this myself. It gets stuck where the ribbon waistline is. Also, I am 5"6' and wore 3" heels and the regular length was still a bit long on me. That all being said, I'd totally rent this dress again. I felt so classy and beautiful wearing it.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
Gorgeous but zipper was tricky!
The dress on, was phenomenal, fit perfect for a girl with a curvy figure, made me look small everywhere I wanted it to! 2 cons: even the Regular length was a bit long (I am about 5'2 and in 4" heels, I still had to hold it up most of the night), the zipper was a nightmare!!! on the hanger, totally fine. On me, took 2 helpers, a short panic attack and every tactic in between to get the zipper past the waist portion. It was not fun. Just grateful I had a miracle coming my way that night !
RTR CustomerNovember 15, 2013
Same problem with this dress also wonder if a tiny bit of soap rubbed on the teeth might help that ribbon at the waist problem? My daughter is going to the marine corp ball tomorrow night and it will be just her and her Marine date, hope they can get it worried.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×