Such An Illusion Gown

$80 – $95 rental ?
$465 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
357 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(225)
Small
(62)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
May 1, 2016
I wore this dress to prom, with pictures and dinner and all. Fun times.
The length was a bit too long, but it was an easy fix with shoes that bumped me up an inch, so all's well. The back didn't sit perfectly well unless I tugged it down - which wasn't any issue for the most part. The lace detailing at the top occasionally would bunch up (probably because it's for someone taller), but a simple tug here and there for pictures wasn't terrible. The bust part fitted perfectly. Since most of the evening was dancing, presentation wasn't the main issue - though it was fun to twirl around in. Lift arms upwards with caution.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 24, 2016
This dress is gorgeous!! Got lots of compliments on it:)
I wore this dress to my Prom and it was perfect!! I'm 5'5" and the dress was just a tiny bit long, but I still wore flats and it was fine. The gold in the lace is a lot more green the. It looks on the model, but it's still gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 24, 2016
Color, texture & length as expected
My 3rd RTR dress worked out but I will say it's my least favorite so far only because the ribbon at the waistline had no give at all. I was never uncomfortable to the point where I wished I could take the dress off but the ribbon occasionally reminded me to make sure I kept things sucked in even wearing Spanx. I ordered a 4R but I had to wear the 6P backup due to the ribbon over-cinching my waistline (I plan on eating & drinking all day you know!). I would still recommend this dress, I got multiple compliments, and the green sheen of the lace was beautiful when it caught light. I felt beautiful and didn't have to worry about the lower belly being accentuated as it drapes nicely. The length of 4R and 6P both fit me well and my heels were only 2.5" at most. If you have similar measurements (34C-28-36) and height, it's worth trying out but I would still recommend my 2 previous rentals over this. I previously rented "Shoshanna Fielding Flowers Dress | Size 4" and "Nicole Miller Lady in Waiting Gown | Size 4R".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 24, 2016
Amazing dress! Worked great for a formal charity ball.
The fit for me was great! But the length gave me a little trouble. The petite was MUCH too short so I was overnighted the regular length, which was slightly too long. But overall, it was comfortable and classy! I can't say enough for RTR customer service, the acted fast and got me a dress that fit after the first dresses to arrive were too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 20, 2016
Perfect for the gala I attended.
Great fit. True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 17, 2016
Really hate giving this one back... Flattering, beautiful, and comfortable and doesn't need Spanx!
Decorative, sparkly top is low cut and accentuates cleavage but is still well-covered (perfect for formal work functions). Long, flowy bottom hides stomach, hips, and thighs. Incredibly flattering - I felt like a princess!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
April 10, 2016
Light and Airy, great for Spring
This was my first RTR order. It was for a fund raising gala, black tie preferred. The style and fit notes were spot on so I while I ordered a 10L, the back up of 12L was perfect with just a slight bit more breathing room to make it a comfortable fit for the night. (The 10L was little tight in the waist). I'm 5'8" and wore 3" black heels which was perfect - it just dusted the ground but wasn't a tripping hazard. If you have a cold April evening like last night, I recommend getting a shawl to go with it. I was able to zip it up myself so it was easier than other dresses. Classic dress with a green accent to make it special. Great for warmer events. Photographs well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2016
This Dress was spectacular!
It fit like a glove, and made me feel very confident! I got many compliments! Looks good when accented with red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 29, 2016
Super comfortable and FUN!
This dress was perfect! I wore it to the Marine Corps Ball at the Naval Academy and it was perfect for the event. Very comfortable to dance in, flowy, and received tons of compliments. I have broad shoulders, so I wore a size 8 and it fit great. I paired the dress with emerald earrings suggested by RTR and it was a perfect match to the green in the lace top. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 28, 2016
Beautiful dress but be careful with the size
The dress itself is beautiful. However, the fit is a little odd. I tried on the 6R first and it fit just right but it was a little too long with my 3.5 in heels. I decided to try the 8R (my backup) thinking it might be more comfortable for a long event. However, the 8R was even tighter and the dress was shorter. I ended up wearing the 8R by mistake (it's hard to get ready and look at a 5 month old at the same time :D). Turned out that was the right decision because the dress was still comfortable and the length was perfect. I would have been annoyed at the 6R length had I worn that one. So overall, great experience but sizing is not consistent.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2016
Beautiful dress
Great fit. Didn't need super high heels since it was a petite size - so, good length. This dress was floaty without being frilly. Classic style. Didn't feel overly exposed because of the netting and beading.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
March 23, 2016
Beautiful dress
Another great rental. Beautiful design and elegant. Great fit. Good coverage but yet sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
March 22, 2016
Pretty and work-appropriate black tie dress
It was a little tight in the rib cage area - the waist is higher than natural waist, the waist sits on your lower rib cage. I wore a strapless bra without an issue. The top has a pretty flowered green iridescent and black detail. You cannot see the green in photos, it is also subtle appearing in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2016
Extravaganza ball
Beautiful light dress, it is rather simple and dark in color but i enjoyed it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 7, 2016
Absolutely amazing! Will definitely rent again
This dress fit me like a glove. I have no complaints. I will, without a doubt, rent from RTR again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
March 6, 2016
Lovely, unique dress
I wore this dress to my JROTC's Military Ball, which requires all girls to wear a floor-length dress of some sort. While this dress wasn't my first choice (I was originally looking at many more on this site, but my size was unavailable at the time), it was still absolutely gorgeous and I received many, many compliments. I ordered a 4P and as far as how it fit around me, it was perfect. The problem was, even in 5-6 inch heels, it was still a bit long (I'm 4'11"). Regardless, I didn't find that to be too much of a problem and the dress held up very well. I'd recommend it to go with any type of event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 6, 2016
Elegant dress! Perfect length
The waist on this dress runs small. I went a size up than normal after reading the reviews, and I'm glad i did. I wore my regular bra underneath bc I didn't want to go strapless and it still looked great. The lace detail at the top looks green/gold (more green).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2016
Didn't wear
This was my original choice but I ended up wearing my back up dress. This is very pretty, but it just seemed too simple for me. It's a great choice, very pretty, just the other dress I wore had a little more sex appeal. I think this dress would be good if you were pregnant and trying to find a none maternity formal dress.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 0
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
February 29, 2016
I absolutely love this dress! I was getting compliments on it all night. I felt so elegant in it!
My biggest concern prior to receiving it was that the sleeves would be too tight. I was pleasantly surprised, it fit perfectly. The only issue I had was with the top. The top of the dress is solid black covered with a pretty sheer layer over it. The black part kept sliding down. I wore a black strapless bra which kept it from being noticeable. I guess if you're a little more blessed then I am you won't have that problem!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 24
February 18, 2016
I wore this dress for my senior recital photo shoot. It was beautiful, comfortable and fit well.
The lace has a bit of a greenish hue here and there. Beautiful dress. I wore it with 3 inch heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 18, 2016
a unique dress for a one time event
this dress was absolutely perfect!! I loved the lace detail on the top and the skirt fabric was wonderful, it flowed so nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 18, 2016
Beautiful dress
This was the only size available. I wish there was an 8R but I was able to deal with it being a little bit big by adding a leather belt I was wearing 3 inch heels but it was still a little long for my 5'3" frame. Other than that I got many compliments on it. The lace was gorgeous and definitely photographs well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2016
Elegant for formal event
Pros; 5'9 and the long length was perfect with 2.5 inch heel Overall a comfortable fit Flattering for a variety of body types -true to size Cons I could have gone without the greenish sparkle on the lace but not a deal braker I rented the necklace they advertise with it but it was a bit too heavy for me
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
February 14, 2016
Great dress.
Am glad I got the long so heels worked. 5'10 with some curves, 135 lbs and the 4l was exactly right! Compliments!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2016
This dress was beautiful and comfortable - the total package!
I am 5'6" and while I could get away with flats, the hem dragged the ground a bit.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
February 12, 2016
This was my backup
I didn't wear this dress. The tshirt cut was too covered up and casual feeling. also I didnt love the waistline- not really flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
February 8, 2016
Perfect dress!
Fit was perfect even though I was 4 months pregnant. The zipper does get a little stuck in the back but you just need someone to help. No issues unzipping. Loved this dress and received tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 3, 2016
Pretty dress. Slight green tone to lace.
I liked this dress quite a bit but didn't love the green shimmer to the lace on the bodice. I normally wear a 14 but both the 14 & 16 fit and looked nice, so I opted for the extra room. The length was fine with flats but would not have worked with a heel. I am quite buxom & the cleavage that shows through the lace is significant.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
January 25, 2016
Overall an O.k. dress.
The original dress I ordered could not be shipped. This dress was selected for me by the RTR staff. Not something I would have originally picked but I made due for the event. A little tight around the rib cage and a tad bit long as well. I wore 4 inch heels and it was still rather long. I would have preferred the dress in a 6 S
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
January 25, 2016
It was a stunning dress and for my first time with Rent the Runway - SO HAPPY!
While there were no size charts, the representative who helped me the day I got the first 2 dresses immediately found the right size/height and overnighted to the hotel where we attended the event, the staff and service at RTR were AMAZING!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 19, 2016
Great dress. Runs a little small. I am usually a 0 and sized up to the 2 for waist & length.
I actually had to buy a new pair of shoes down in DC for the wedding - I'm 5'7" and it didn't hit the floor with heels on.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
January 1, 2016
Great services
Very nice drees. A little bit long. I should wear 8 instead of 10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2015
A lovely, classy dress for a debutante ball.
The dress was true to size. The necklace that it was styled with was too brassy gold in person, and didn't match the dress so I didn't wear it. I'm 5'6" and the regular was perfect with flats on me. I would definitely go for a long if you are 5'6" or taller and plan to wear heels. The chiffon and underskirt were a little rumpled from shipping, but a light steam took care of the wrinkles.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 12, 2015
Perfect Fit, Absolutely Elegant, Beyond Comfortable, Felt like a Queen
I rented this dress for a company black tie Christmas party. The fit was perfect, I felt like the dress was made just for me. I felt so elegant wearing this dress and will rent it again if I have the occasion. I rented the jewelry the jewelry too and it made the whole outfit. I got so many compliments wearing this dress, because it was such a classic look. The entire rental experience was fabulous. Looking forward to my next event so that I can rent a dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2015
Not for Tall, even the Long
This dress is very classy, very sweet and very comfortable. Unfortunately the 2 long size just hits the ground in bare feet. I'm 5'9". The 4 L was a bit better. If I were a 6 or 8 the length would have been perfect!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 9, 2015
The event was wonderful but didn't wear the dress.
Two dresses for one event not sure which one I was going to wear. This dress was to small for my bust. If you have a large bust then the size is not going to fit your form, cause of the empire waste it pull up and you are unable to wear it look you should at your waste.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142lbs
December 7, 2015
Conservative and fabulous
Only one con to this dress... It took two people to zip it up because the zipper is pulling away from the dress. There was plenty of fabric so that wasn't the issue. The dress made me feel amazing, I was able to sit and breath and dance the night away. So many compliments and I never had to worry about the dress staying in place throughout the night. I am 5'1" and I wore about a 3 inch heel and it was the absolute perfect length. This was actually a back up dress because my original dress wasn't able to ship and I'm so glad I actually had that issue because this one was absolutely perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 3, 2015
Beautiful dress
This was sent as a replacement option and although I didn't end up wearing it, I really liked it. It was just too short to wear with heels. I ordered a petite because I'm pretty short (and have short legs), but should have gone with the R. I would order this one again for a future event now that I know how the length runs!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2015
I wore this to a black tie, industry event so wanted something pretty but not too flashy, revealing.
The fit is true to size and there is no give in the waist or sleeves so if you are worried about it being tight, go the size up. I loved the flowy skirt and received many compliments on how elegant I looked. It was the perfect dress for an industry event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
December 3, 2015
pretty gold/green detailing on top
Long story short, I was unable to wear this dress, but it is very pretty in person. It does run small, so size up! But I mainly wanted to comment on the length of the dress - I rented a petite length and a regular length, and the petite was SO short on me! I'm only 5'3" and the petite length showed my entire foot. The regular length was better, but still just barely grazed the floor when I was barefoot, so in heels it would've looked even shorter.
See more reviews:
2 / 9
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×