Such An Illusion Gown

$80 rental
$465 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
323 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size208
Small59
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 12, 2015
Perfect Fit, Absolutely Elegant, Beyond Comfortable, Felt like a Queen
I rented this dress for a company black tie Christmas party. The fit was perfect, I felt like the dress was made just for me. I felt so elegant wearing this dress and will rent it again if I have the occasion. I rented the jewelry the jewelry too and it made the whole outfit. I got so many compliments wearing this dress, because it was such a classic look. The entire rental experience was fabulous. Looking forward to my next event so that I can rent a dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 11, 2015
Not for Tall, even the Long
This dress is very classy, very sweet and very comfortable. Unfortunately the 2 long size just hits the ground in bare feet. I'm 5'9". The 4 L was a bit better. If I were a 6 or 8 the length would have been perfect!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 9, 2015
The event was wonderful but didn't wear the dress.
Two dresses for one event not sure which one I was going to wear. This dress was to small for my bust. If you have a large bust then the size is not going to fit your form, cause of the empire waste it pull up and you are unable to wear it look you should at your waste.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142lbs
December 7, 2015
Conservative and fabulous
Only one con to this dress... It took two people to zip it up because the zipper is pulling away from the dress. There was plenty of fabric so that wasn't the issue. The dress made me feel amazing, I was able to sit and breath and dance the night away. So many compliments and I never had to worry about the dress staying in place throughout the night. I am 5'1" and I wore about a 3 inch heel and it was the absolute perfect length. This was actually a back up dress because my original dress wasn't able to ship and I'm so glad I actually had that issue because this one was absolutely perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 3, 2015
Beautiful dress
This was sent as a replacement option and although I didn't end up wearing it, I really liked it. It was just too short to wear with heels. I ordered a petite because I'm pretty short (and have short legs), but should have gone with the R. I would order this one again for a future event now that I know how the length runs!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2015
I wore this to a black tie, industry event so wanted something pretty but not too flashy, revealing.
The fit is true to size and there is no give in the waist or sleeves so if you are worried about it being tight, go the size up. I loved the flowy skirt and received many compliments on how elegant I looked. It was the perfect dress for an industry event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
December 3, 2015
pretty gold/green detailing on top
Long story short, I was unable to wear this dress, but it is very pretty in person. It does run small, so size up! But I mainly wanted to comment on the length of the dress - I rented a petite length and a regular length, and the petite was SO short on me! I'm only 5'3" and the petite length showed my entire foot. The regular length was better, but still just barely grazed the floor when I was barefoot, so in heels it would've looked even shorter.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
November 27, 2015
You will get compliments - comfortable too!
The 10R was bigger on the bottom, and thin in the waist. I am a 36D and it was a little tight in the chest, so had to wear a very thin strapless bra, and maybe that was part of why the waist felt tighter. I am athletic build, and generally don't have any issues with the high waist being tighter, so just good to know for other renters.. Color is great, sheen is beautiful, and the top does well to set a little splash with an otherwise lovely neutral gown that goes well with any event. I received so many compliments. Would rent again!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
November 22, 2015
Nice material, fitted in just the right places
Really a fun dress to wear. The fitted bodice was comfortable yet flattering, and the skirt portion was amazing. Very fun to dance in and comfortable to wear all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 188lbs
November 21, 2015
A little matronly
This was my backup dress and I ended up not wearing it. I did like the dress and how easy it was to wear. I did have to wear a bra and that's saying a lot since I have some larger ladies. I also didn't have to wear spanks in it which I loved. The reason I rated it so low is based on my occasion (Gala). In an a more informal affair the dress would be perfect and very comfortable.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
November 19, 2015
Beautiful long black dress!
Many compliments all night! I wanted something that was floor length. Because I wore very low heels, I could have gone with the regular length, but it skimmed the floor nicely, not so much that I tripped. It was a bit snug in the middle where the band is (if you have a small waist you won't have that problem --I could stand to lose a couple pounds in the mid section). The bottom of the dress flowed well. The second size ended up being unavailable at the last minute so they sent another dress with spaghetti straps (which I did not try because it was a little chilly and I wanted my shoulders to at least appear to be covered). The cap sleeves do make it a little hard to completely raise your arms all the way...but on the dancefloor I don't think anyone noticed! That would be the only reason why it gets 4 stars. If you have larger breasts, they might really stick out because the black part that covers them under the mesh could have come up about 1/2" higher; then it would have sat perfectly. I am a 34B and with more curves, they would have shown! Easy rental process with bag and shipping label provided for easy returns.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2015
Very comfortable!
My daughter rented this dress for me. It is a very comfortable dress! I had originally got my regular size of 14R and then my backup was the 16R. I ended up wearing the backup. The waistband made the 14R a little too snug. The 16R was perfect and zipped right up. It was just the right length for me to wear my black low wedges too! It did have a small hole on the bottom of the skirt on the right side. It looks like maybe someone's heel got caught, but wasn't noticeable to others. Also, I loved the bags that the dresses came in. It allowed me to put my shoes and everything in the slots and then zip it up with the handles out. The event was out of town so it was easy to carry! All in all I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
November 17, 2015
Perfect for a formal evening!
The dress was gorgeous!! The dress does run small and the zipper a bit difficult as other reviewers had mentioned but so well worth it. I'd recommend you size up, especially if you have a larger chest! I normally wear an 8 but went with the 10 for comfort. The detail on the lace does shine more green than gold fyi, but it is still amazing and classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2015
This dress fit PERFECT!!!
I loved this dress! It felt comfortable, but snug enough to hold me in. I got many compliments. I'm short, and the dress was long.. I had to buy 3 inch heels that had a 1/2 platform as well. After that, everything was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 15, 2015
Easy to wear beautiful dress
I went to the larger to have more room in the bust because I am a 38ddd.. The wedding was on the beach and this dress looked so pretty on the beach because of the flowy bottom.. I got a ton. Of compliments and felt beautiful! I would definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 13, 2015
I loved wearing this dress to a military ball! I felt so elegant.
This dress fits fabulously. It runs true to size and the flow-y nature of the gown is so loose and comfortable to wear all night. It does not fit as tight as the model picture shows. The sheer overlay at the top was gorgeous and I had a wonderful time dancing and moving around in the dress. I received many compliments, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2015
Wasn't my first pick but the other dress I received was too big. RTR sent this and works great!
Worked wonderful for the usmc ball I went to. Felt great all night. It was a super comfortable and well made dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 4, 2015
Lots of compliments!
Top was a little big, but it fit perfectly everywhere else!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
October 29, 2015
loved this dress!
I usually wear a size 2, but ended up wearing the 4 because the waist band was a little tight. I'm 5'8" and went for the long which was really fortunate because with heals on the dress was a a tad bit short. The dress was absolutely perfect for my event, and I received so many compliments. I definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
October 29, 2015
Gorgeous and unexpected!
Loved this dress. It was actually a replacement dress and came as a terrific surprise. Comfortable to wear all night. The long length was nice and long. Good fit for any shape!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 27, 2015
Black tie wedding
This is a beautiful dress but just did not work for me. I have a small bust and the top would not stay up at all. I might have been able to get by using fashion tape but I didn't want to deal with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2015
great dress... lots of compliments and very flattering :)
Fit like a glove... runs true to size, long - so plan for heels!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2015
So comfortable!
So much more comfortable than an actual strapless dress, and so pretty. Perfect for a New Year's Eve wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2015
Beautiful, super comfy dress for a formal fall wedding!
This dress was a back-up choice after my original choice couldn't be sent due to damage, but I think I like this one even better! It is very comfortable to move in and not too tight around the waist. I normally wear an 8 but the dress ran a bit small and the 10 fit much better. I ordered the long size after reading some reviews from tall girls-I am 5'8" and it was a teensy bit on the long side with 3 inch heels. The dress is a tiny bit tight on the arms, but it didn't interfere with my dancing! And yes, the sparkly lace on top does have a green tint to it but I found it to be pretty subtle. Overall, a great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 196lbs
October 11, 2015
Perfectly lovely and comfortable. Great for a black tie event!
A little short and small (I usually wear 14). Grateful for the backup size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2015
Beautiful fall day and a perfect night for a wedding. A tad chilly, but beautiful nonetheless.
The dress fit perfectly, I loved it. The details on this dress were impeccable, a good choice for a fall, evening wedding. I wore a 2.5 inch heel and the length was on point, no tripping. It fit comfortably around my rib cage and in the arm holes. The zipper was a little tough, but nothing to worry about.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 6, 2015
This dress was extremely comfortable and I felt great all night!
I wore 2.5/3 in heels, but probably could have gone with the long and would have been comfortable in 4 in heels. The dress hugs at just the right place in the waist. The lace has a beautiful green shimmer that doesn't show in the RTR photo. The sleeves are a little tight, but I was able to raise my arms and dance comfortably the entire evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
September 29, 2015
perfect fit
It was a little long, 4 regular was available. Wished I had a 4 petit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2015
Nice dress but...
This was a lovely dress and I received tons of compliments. I am only giving this three stars due to the fit and I am unhappy with the condition I received my dress. The fit, I am 5"2 and this dress just grazed the floor with 4 inch heels. It was EXTREMELY tight in the chest area. I had to wear a very thin strapless bra and the top of the dress was uncomfortably tight throughout the top. I contacted RTR due to my garment bag smelling fish-like and the smell had transferred to the dress. The smell got worse the longer I was outside in the sun. I was very self conscious. I wore this dress for a wedding I was in and there was no time for another round of dry cleaning or time for a new dress. The buttons on the back were difficult and I needed two people to help me in and out of the dress. Overall I would not rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 14, 2015
Beautiful dress, but I didn't actually use it. It was my extra.
I didn't actually wear this dress. It was my extra, but it was so comfortable and light, I wish I had another event to wear it to!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
September 14, 2015
Great dress!
The dress was a great fit. I was nervous because the size larger was not available so the 4L was my only option. It ended up fitting perfectly. It was comfortable and my husband did not have a hard time with the zipper as I was expecting from others reviews. I was glad I went with the Long as the regular would have been too short to wear with any heel.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 10, 2015
Beautiful dress!
I am 5'1", typically 00P, and with ~3" heels the dress was still 3" too long, I folded the dress on the mid section hem line and it worked perfectly! Fit great in the chest, but women who are larger chested may find this too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 31, 2015
Great dress!
The ribbon around the middle does make the dress a little snug.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
August 19, 2015
Great dress. Comfortable but classy.
Dress was comfortable. It fit true to size. Got many compliments. Wore to a black tie wedding.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 11, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!
Beautiful dress that fits great. Very comfortable. I wore it with a strapless bra, but if I was a little bustier I could have gone without. Length was perfect. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2015
It fit perfectly! I got a ton of compliments.
It was perfect for my winter graduation!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 31, 2015
Romantic and fun!
I am 5'5" and rented the 2R. It was a bit short with 3" heels. I loved the romantic tulle skirt and the detail on the chest. The waist band has no give to size up if you're unsure. I would definitely recommend this dress, it was beautiful and make me feel elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2015
I cannot say enough good things about this dress!
I wore this dress to an extremely formal gala and I felt so comfortable and fancy in it! The bodice is VERY snug so I had to go no-bra and I had a hard time with the zipper. But other than that, it's beautiful! I got compliments from pretty much everyone I met that night as well as from friends in all my photos!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2015
Great dress, good fit!
I ordered the 4 and the 6, but the size 4 fit slightly better. Not much give in the waist so I'd recommend ordering up one size!
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
June 12, 2015
Never ending compliments all night!
Everything was perfect. Fit just right. Was obviously long. But with a high wedge it was just perfect!
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×