Such An Illusion Gown

$100 – $120 rental ?
$465 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
289 reviews
Fit
Large7
True to Size196
Small55
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 11, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!
Beautiful dress that fits great. Very comfortable. I wore it with a strapless bra, but if I was a little bustier I could have gone without. Length was perfect. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2015
It fit perfectly! I got a ton of compliments.
It was perfect for my winter graduation!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 31, 2015
Romantic and fun!
I am 5'5" and rented the 2R. It was a bit short with 3" heels. I loved the romantic tulle skirt and the detail on the chest. The waist band has no give to size up if you're unsure. I would definitely recommend this dress, it was beautiful and make me feel elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2015
I cannot say enough good things about this dress!
I wore this dress to an extremely formal gala and I felt so comfortable and fancy in it! The bodice is VERY snug so I had to go no-bra and I had a hard time with the zipper. But other than that, it's beautiful! I got compliments from pretty much everyone I met that night as well as from friends in all my photos!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2015
Great dress, good fit!
I ordered the 4 and the 6, but the size 4 fit slightly better. Not much give in the waist so I'd recommend ordering up one size!
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
June 12, 2015
Never ending compliments all night!
Everything was perfect. Fit just right. Was obviously long. But with a high wedge it was just perfect!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 20, 2015
I wore this dress for my senior prom, and I got a ton of compliments on it!
The fit was a little tight; the sleeves were restricting and the zipper was very sticky. I almost gave up on trying to wear it for the night. I loved the multiple layers of the skirt, as they were really fun to play with. I loved the waist, as it was fairly flattering, and I love the overall look of the dress. It was just a bit restricting at times. In person, the gold detail on the lace top looks A LOT more green.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
May 19, 2015
PERFECT Dress!!!
I wore this dress to prom, and it was absolutely beautiful!! I got so many compliments. The lace top has a kind of copper/green thread that catches the light, and the skirt is gorgeous and flowy. The sleeves were a little tight, but it wasn't too bad. It was a last minute order--the first dress I ordered didn't fit. But RTR's customer service was so wonderful throughout the process! I wore a 0 (I'm usually a 2) but it fit well, besides being a little tight around the waist. The length wasn't a problem -- I didn't need to wear heels. Overall, the dress was amazing! I was so sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 17, 2015
This was my first rental and I absolutely loved this experience!!!
I received so many compliments on how beautiful I looked, and how pretty the lace detail was. I read on previous reviews that the color on the lace is a bit iridescent and I found that to be true but not a deal breaker. It wasn't over the top, just enough of a difference from the rest of the black fabric. Other than that it looks exactly like the photo and fits extremely well. I am recovering from giving birth and didn't want to wear anything revealing or unflattering, this dress fit me in all the right places and left room for flow in all other places. I've lost most of my baby weight but struggling on a the last few pounds so I felt comfortable in this dress.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 16
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2015
The dress was amazing for my prom
It fit perfectly
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 15, 2015
Beautiful and elegant! Lots of compliments and so comfortable!
I ordered both 4R and 6R. I normally wear a 4 but it was too right on the ribcage and wore the 6R. Perfect length ! I'm 5'5 and was able to wear 2" heels. It truly is an elegant dress and perfect for a ball!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2015
Beautiful, elegant, classy!!
This was one of the 4 back up dresses I received because both of the sizes of my original dress were unable to ship. It fit perfectly and was incredibly comfortable for the whole night! I didn't wear heels with it but if I did it would have been too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a work masquerade holiday party!
The perfect choice for a black tie masquerade holiday party - I was able to feel dressed up but still modest for a work event. The dress overall was super comfortable, but the zipper is tricky like others mentioned, specifically where the top/bottom meet. Nothing impossible, but don't stress while zipping! I was nervous the dress would be far too long like so many other floor length gowns I've rented, but I ended up wearing 1.5 inch heels and those worked just great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 16, 2015
Great for my occasion! Light and easy to dance in!
Ran smaller than I expected. I had a little trouble with the zipper going over the change in fabric but got it to work eventually
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2015
Great dress
The zipper sticks, but this dress received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
Best Friends Wedding! 4 Months pregnant!! :)
No cons AMAZING DRESS!!!!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2015
Beautiful and super comfortable!
I am 5'0" and wore 5 1/2 heels with the dress an the length was perfect. I was nervous about renting a long gown since I am so short but Valerie, the stylist, sent me a lot of options. I got tons of compliments on the dress and was able to dance all night comfortably in the dress. Another rent the runway success!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
March 31, 2015
Perfect dress!
Loved this dress! It fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable. The lace has a bit of a green/gold shimmer so I wore it with earrings that matched those colors. Definitely a fun but classy dress for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2015
Firefighters' Ball !!
Both my friend and I did rent the runway dresses for our event. It was perfect. I got the long size and wore my dress with heels. The dress was elegant, and fit like a glove. No issues with the zipper! :) One note: I found the dress on the site when I was specifically looking for green dresses. As you can tell in the photo, the dress is actually black. I was still very happy with the whole experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 23, 2015
The dress is beautiful. I got many compliments on it.
I usually wear a size 0 in dresses but in this dress the size 0 did not fit. The 2 fit perfect. If I was any bigger in the chest I don't think it would have fit. The only con is that the zipper was really hard to zip up. It sticks where the material gets thicker and took my husband to zip it up while I held the material of the dress together. Once we got it zipped up the dress was gorgeous. The lace actually has a little bit of green accents which was really pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
March 15, 2015
Beware of the iridescent design on the top!
The dress looks beautiful on the site- but beware, it has an iridescent top that looks like lime green spray paint on top of the beautiful lace. I almost didn't wear it I thought it was so tacky. I wore it anyway assuming the lighting would be low, and it ended up being comfortable and pretty- but the "sparkles" takes the dress from adult to 5year old Disney.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 3, 2015
Beautiful Dress
Gorgeous dress with great detailing. I think this cut is flattering on almost everyone, except maybe someone with a very heavy chest. Extremely comfortable and well-made. Looks very high end, especially for this rental price point.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 2, 2015
Great dress for a charity event.
The dress is very pretty and I loved the subtle details on the top of the dress. It was a little long even with 2 inch heals and I caught my heal on the hem a couple of times. The 10L fit well everywhere but I'm a 34DD and it was a bit tight across the chest. I got the 12L as my backup size and it fit better on top but was a bit loose around the midsection so I ended up wearing the 10L as it wasn't uncomfortably tight and was a little more flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
The dress was exactly what I wanted and more!
The dress was over the top gorgeous. It fit my body type perfectly. The only con was the bust area was a little snug. Other than that I absolutely loved the dress. The length was long enough with my heels on. I definitely would recommend this dress for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
February 23, 2015
Great dress worn for a black tie fundraiser!
Gorgeous dress but definitely go a size up! Also I am 5'7" and should've worn a 10L, but unfortunately it wasn't available for the time frame I needed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2015
Good dress for black tie wedding
I usually wear a 2 or 4, but this dress runs small so the 6 ended up fitting the best. I went with the Long since most of the reviews advised to do so. I'm about 5'8" and am very happy I was advised to go with the long. It was the perfect length with 3-4 inch heels. Overall I liked the dress, but I wouldn't rent it again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2015
I wore this dress to the wedding of a family friend in August and it was perfect!
The dress fit beautifully. The length of the dress was perfect as well. I am 5'6" and I wore 3" heels under the dress. I would definitely rent something from this designer again. The only qualm I had (and this is a very small detail) was with the sequins as it looked green under some lights.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 16, 2015
I wore this dress to junior prom and it was beautiful! I got so many compliments. Beautiful dress.
Slightly tight. If you're worried order your size and then a size up too.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 14, 2015
My dress got to me early, which I was thrilled about! It was gorgeous and I got so many compliments!
It fit just about perfectly. It was slightly tight on top but I didn't mind. It just doesn't give too much. Over all, it was perfect for the occasion and I got so many compliments on how it flattered my figure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2015
I loved this dress; however, it does run a tick small in the waste.
The only disappointing part about this dress is the length. I am only 5'4 and I ordered the regular, based off of the recommendations. It was WAY too short. I had to wear flat sandals with it and it barely covered my toes. It was extremely disappointing, because you don't really want to wear flat sandals to a formal event...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 5, 2015
This was such a classy dress - perfect for a military ball!
I am between a 6-8 in dresses (my waist is a 6, my hips/butt is a ...10) The only problem I had was I felt the netting was a little too loose for the rest of the dress. And I have a decent bust size 32DDD, so I was a little surprised. It was really light and lovely though!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 28, 2015
Wore gown to black tie event. Loved the dress!
I'm 5'9, between size 4 & 6, ended up wearing the 6L because the chest and waist area didn't stretch and was more comfortable for a long night, but both fit nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 28, 2015
blacktie event so dress fit in perfectly
very elegant dress! it is very tight at the waist. there's no give there, so while the rest of the dress fit me well, would've liked to try the 6R too.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 26, 2015
L-O-V-E!!
Absolutely loved this dress! So comfortable, and great flow. I wore it to a high school cotillion with 4 inch heels (regular length) and it was perfect. Got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 26, 2015
Unforgettable dress!
Oh how I loved this dress. Since I am 5'2" I can have a hard time finding a dress that is the perfect length with a moderate heel, this dress was the one! I wore about a 3 inch heel and the hem of the dress skimmed the floor in all the right places. There is no wiggle room in the waist of this dress, so to assure maximum comfort I went with the 2R. The detail of the upper portion of the dress is absolutely stunning however, the material can be a bit tight when you raise your arms over your head. And lastly, the zipper can be a challenge!!!! All in all this dress was a total winner and I felt amazing in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 25, 2015
I was able to have fun with friends and feel comfortable in what I was wearing.
The fit was perfect for me; there was a little bit of loose fabric in the mid-section, but it made it easier to move around. I did have a little trouble with the zipper, but I was able to get in and out of the dress. I loved the color and design of the dress and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for something modest, gorgeous, and comfortable at the same time. Also, I received so many complements on this dress! Thank you Rent the Runway for making spending time with friends ever more memorable. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 25, 2015
Perfect!
This dress was everything I expected it to be after reading the others' reviews. Light, comfortable and elegant. I received numerous complements. It was a tad longer than I needed but with 4" heels worked perfectly. The zipper did give me some trouble, however if you pull the material together below the zipper itself and pull downward while someone else tugs up it should work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 18, 2015
Pretty, but not life-changing.
I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event, but it was very pretty. The long still ran a bit short on me (I'm just under 5'8"). Would have had to go with flats.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 18, 2015
The dress was comforatable and gave me freedome to have fun.
I didn't know that there was a green tint on the top lace so it was a surprise when I got the dress. But I learned to love it and it gave it nice color and shine. The dress was comforatble and fit great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
January 17, 2015
Too tight
Too tight!! Couldn't zip up-not even close.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×