Shelby Dress

$45 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Red hot! This dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston is a sultry choice to catch his fancy on date night. Go for a monochromatic look with jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Ruby Red Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte with scalloped black lace panels (65% Rayon, 31% Nylon, 4% Spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with lace detail. Exposed back zipper. Unlined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
263 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(149)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2016
Sexy red dress!

Fit great! I wore a push up bra to help out the girls because it may have been a little loose up top. I was able to dance and I had a great time in the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2016
Very flattering for curvy girls

This dress is excellent if you want to show off your curves. The lace is strategically placed to flatter your figure. The dress isn't exactly what I would describe as "like new" condition. The hem is undone in a few spots and the hook & eye closure has been replaced (but not at the same time, they are different colors). Disappointed in the state of the dress but impressed with the design.

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 3, 2016
Love it! Love it !

Love this dress. I look amazing in it . Thanks to the reviews I decided to get a size smaller that I would normally wear. It fits amazing!

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
February 16, 2016
I wore this dress to a late October wedding. I felt beautiful and comfortable. Great for fall&winter

I tried this dress on in a size 4 and 2. At first I was concerned because the dress is a pencil dress and fits close to your hips. Typically I have a hard time finding dresses in this style because I have a very tiny top and curvy butt. The 4 was way to big in the top and fit fine over my hips. I went for the size 2 because the fabric was stretchy and hugged me in all the right places. I felt sexy and still appropriate for a wedding. The lace detail in the middle makes your waist look so tiny! I wish I had a better picture. If you have a cocktail or wedding event in the fall or winter you will be sure to stand out in this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2016
Very nice silhouette

This dress is beautiful. I got compliments all night and I felt beautiful in it. Very easy to move in.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
April 26, 2016
I enjoyed wearing this nice dress to an outdoor wedding on Long Island!

I ordered both a 4 and 6 for this dress, as I wasn't sure how it would fit. I liked the material, very comfortable. However both dresses were stretched out in the bust area. ( or maybe I am too small?) The 6 was actually smaller then the 4. I wore the 6 and used some fabric tape to hold the top part in a little more. The service and packaging was very easy. I was happy to order from RTR and plan on ordering again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2015
Really liked the lace!

I really liked the lace detail on this dress. My husband loved the dress but it wasn't a favorite of mine. You can see in the photo that it showed off a little more "pooch" in the tummy. I was hoping to cover that up. Other than that it was true to size and a good fit. It was also made really well and I was able to walk without it rising.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 15, 2015
Loved the dress!

I typically wear a 4, 6 on occasion. I ended up wearing the size 6 because the 4 was a tad too tight at my waist. Overall the dress was comfortable, I loved the material and I got several compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
March 19, 2015
LOVED this dress!! Got SO many compliments!

Got this dress for a charity event. Great dress! Felt amazing in it! Slimming and comfortable! First RTR experience and it went great...will definitely use it again! I feel like it ran true to size maybe even a little big as I would have thought the 4 would have been the best fit, but the 2 was perfect!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 36DD
June 24, 2015
Great customer service! Perfect bachelorette dress!

The dress fit true to size. I rented the dress for my bachelorette! There was a surprise "fifty shades of grey" theme so the dress ended up being a perfect choice! The fabric was extremely forgiving and comfortable. I did not need to fuss with the dress; it did not ride up etc. The return process was much easier than expected! I was very pleased with my first rental experience and look forward to renting again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
August 2, 2015
Party dress

This dress was perfect for a rooftop party. Compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2015
Perfect dress for the perfect night!

It hugged a little in the mid section but not unbearable. Had to run through the rain, but the dress dried quickly, wish I could say the same about my hair. Was easy to dance in and received compliments all night. My first time renting from RTR, and will definitely be using this site again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
October 5, 2015
Great dress. Flattering & fun!

This dress is great. Not too low cut in the front and I loved the length. Very flattering. I'm tall so the length is really important as a lot of dresses can run too short even if they fit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2015
Perfect for a holiday party! All night comfort!

Only con was that my chest didn't fill out the top enough which was surprising since I wore a size smaller than I normally wear. Other than that, all pros! I was comfortable all night in this dress and it looked stunning. I chose this dress because of the length and that it covered my back and chest as well. I would recommend this dress to anyone my size. I wore panty hose and a regular bra under the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2015
It fit perfectly!! Lots of compliments

I wore this dress for my cousins Christmas party she throws every year. It fit like a glove, it wasn't too tight and I could dance my butt off in it. I'm so glad I chose this dress. I highly recommend it for any holiday occasion!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
March 30, 2016
This dress was perfect for a night out in New York. My husband loved it on me!

The dress was true to size. It was fitted but not too tight. The lace details provided a flattering silhouette - I don't have very many natural curves, but the cut emphasized what I do have. I would definitely rent it again for another occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
Simple yet elegant

I wore this to a party.it was a great fit. I love the lines and structure of the dress as well the material. Cons- the waist is snug but wear spanx and it should be ok.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 6, 2015
Perfect for a Christmas party !

Very comfortable dress. Would recommend wearing spanx under it since it's very fitting.

Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
December 31, 2015
Looked sexy in the red dress!

This was my first dress I rent and I have to say I was blown away The fit was perfect and the dress gave me some hips (that I don't have). Everyone was telling me how good I look and I am a woman who doesn't dress up for me having attention get great. I really recommend the dress, and when is a red dress, you will have the attention all the time!

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2016
The ease of the process.

First time renting, and it couldn't have gone any better! I rented to wear on New Years Eve. I rented the size 8 and 10 just in case, and the 8 fit perfectly. I got so many compliments. So excited for my next rental to come next week!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 21, 2016
Adorable, but unforgiving seam at waistline

I rented this for New Year's Eve, but was unable to wear it due to the tightness at the waistline seam. This made it uncomfortable and caused the zipper to bunch up in a very unflattering manner. I currently have a 35" waist and tried the size 8. One size up probably would have been fine, but the 8 was actually my backup size, and I wasn't able to have it delivered until the day of the event. Kuddos to the RTR customer service though, who helped me process my does not fit return immediately, disappointed it didn't fit, but I will probably attempt this one again in the future.

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 6, 2016
Very flattering dress!

I loved that it fit well, but was still comfy! Easy to dance in. The shape was very flattering for my hourglass shape. The color wasn't as great in person, but the high quality of the dress made up for it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2016
Dependable and classy service

Got a little tight in the bust but I was also 6mo post partum and nursing. I got tons of compliments and even though I was a little insecure about my baby weight, I felt amazing in the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2016
sexy, great fit

fit perfectly, true to size

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 45
October 22, 2016
It was a great evening out with my girlfriends!

It fit well however I had exposed arm pit fat I could conceal with the sleeve.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2016
I liked, didn't love, this.

It fit well. I just wasn't wowed by the style. Chalk it to personal preference, nothing against the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2017
The dress was absolutely perfect.

The material this dress was made from is simply gorgeous. I got tons of compliments. I didn't want to return the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2017
Black lace gives you curves!

Super slimming dress, whittled the waist line. However felt too proper for Vegas. The square neck is not the most ideal for a full bust. Gaped a little bit in the back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2017
Great dress, minor issue with quality

This dress fit so well - it hugged in all the right places and didn't ride up at all. The lace appliques give the illusion of the perfect hourglass figure, which i loved. The dress i wore did have issues with quality: there were two holes, one on either side of the dress just beneath the lace applique along the seams. I decided to wear the dress anyway and you could barely tell they were there after I pinned them shut. All in all, loved the fit and the look; would absolutely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
May 4, 2017
This dress was absolutely perfect for a Queen of Hearts themed holiday party thrown by my work.

It fit well, but you can see the pantyhose line (which may just be the pantyhose and not the dress) overall it fit well and complemented my form perfectly. I felt gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2017
Feeling sexy on my birthday

I really liked this dress! I wore it as my free birthday rental for dinner with my boyfriend. He also liked it a lot. I would definitely recommend this dress to rent if you want a wow factor. It was a little looser in the belly than I liked but it made my booty look pretty awesome. ;)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2017
Nice stretchy dress for a night out

Wore this to dinner and comedy show. Good length, the stretch in the fabric is great! Body hugging in all the right places. Could be worn with or without bra. It has the illusion to make your waist look tiny! Love the lace details. The only thing I didn't like was how it bunches up in the back when you sit down but other than that great night on the town dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
October 15, 2017
Best dressed

This dress was incredible. Fit was perfect and really made me feel beautiful.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
January 8, 2018
-

I rented this dress for a holiday party. It was a little more snug than I would have liked and if I had put on a normal bra, my cleavage would have been flowing over.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 7, 2014
Lady in Red

FIT : I wish it fit a bit tighter all around but the top half was definitely designed for the top heavy. Unless you got a super bra; I wouldn't recommend this. PRO : I really like the design of the dress; color and the lace detail.

ElizabethJanuary 7, 2014
I really like this dress but your review concerns me. I am exactly your measurements. How big was the top? Was the waist big as well? Do you think wearing a slightly padded bra would help? Do you have a picture? Sorry for all the questions, but any advice would be appreciated.
MiaJanuary 7, 2014
Hey Elizabeth, I had to wear the VS miraculous bra (the one that instantly adds 2 cup size) but I still felt like the top was a bit loose. Nothing too bad though. The waist part has this tailored fitted feel (not stretchy in this area) but tighter than the rest of the dress. I'm not sure how to insert the pictures. You can e-mail me at sqs5038@gmail.com for photos. I hope this helped!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 23, 2014
Too big on top

I actually ordered this as my back up dress in case my first choice didn't fit. It's a really pretty dress, but unfortunately the top seems to run bigger than the bottom. The bottom of the dress fit very nicely and hugs your curves but the top part of the dress was much to big. I think if I had a larger chest it would have been ok but if you are a small 34B like myself you might want to consider sizing down as a backup. Otherwise a very nice dress!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
March 11, 2014
Great dress, a little bigger around bust area.

Awesome dress, great for weddings

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 3, 2014
Great dress that I needed last minute

I loved this dress - it fit basically true to size but since it's stretchy and should be form fitting I wish I had gotten a 2 as my backup size. I'm pretty short and it was just above my knee. I wore it to a valentines day party that I found out 2 days before and had no time to go shopping. The lace on the side is so flattering and really accentuated my waist. Love RTR it's my new go to for all the events that come up with short notice!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 2, 2014
Very comfortable and easy to wear

This dress was beautiful and I received lots of compliments on it. It was super comfortable, especially for dancing all night. It fit well, however, I did find that it runs a bit large in the bodice. I normally wear a size 2, or 4. I went with the 2 for this dress and while it fit overall, I think a 0 would have been better. There is a little stretch in this dress so I would size down if you're not sure!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 25, 2014
Nah

Looked very cute on if you had a high torso. The zippers on back we're too long and sat awkwardly in the concept but was way too short on me the fit was very comfy Ended up returning dress & wearing one my own

See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×