Shelby Dress

$45 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Red hot! This dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston is a sultry choice to catch his fancy on date night. Go for a monochromatic look with jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Ruby Red Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte with scalloped black lace panels (65% Rayon, 31% Nylon, 4% Spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with lace detail. Exposed back zipper. Unlined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
254 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(144)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Backup dress
Very pretty dress. Was sent as a backup dress and it is definitely a very flattering style. Did not end up wearing it since I did prefer the other dress I had. As others had noted, the chest area is a little big / baggy, and I am not that small up top. It wasn't too noticeable, and I would consider renting this as a main dress if the occasion strikes!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 21, 2014
The dress was perfect for a semi-formal NYE bash!
The dress was flattering, as I the my midsection. The black on the sides made me feel slimmer, if that makes sense! It was a great dress, and you will really enjoy wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
May 25, 2014
Loved to wear this! Sexy & elegant. This style is flattering & comfortable. RTR is so amazing!
Usually wear a 4 but decided to size up since I'm a nursing mom & a 36DD. The size 6 was a nice fit with enough room for a full bust. The length hit right above my knees.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 17, 2014
Very flattering! Sexy yet classy.
I rented this dress for a creative black tie event. I was a bit afraid that it might be too sexy, but it wasn't revealing and it ended up looking classy and very flattering. The cut of the lace definitely gives a great slimming effect, and it was the perfect length. I would recommend this dress to others!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 28, 2014
Beautiful dress. I got compliments all night
I was nervous when the dress came because I only rented the one size. It fit like a glove. I'm a curvy girl but the dress was very flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 28, 2014
Wonderful dress, sexy but classy and perfect for a romantic date
This dress fit true to size. The lace details were very pretty and the dress was classy but very sexy. There is plenty of room in the bust and the rest of the dress hugs tight. It did ride up a little when walking, but it wasn't a big deal. I was complimented quite a bit. Would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2014
wore a different dress to a friends engagement party, this was my backup
Did not end up wearing this one. Fabric quality was poor, felt "cheap". Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 21, 2014
Excellent customer service
The dress was a little big on me (I'm usually a 4) but still looked beautiful on me. It really is a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
March 11, 2014
Great dress, a little bigger around bust area.
Awesome dress, great for weddings
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 19, 2014
Made me look amazing. Really accentuates hourglass
No give whatsoever.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2014
Rented for a wedding
The dress was pretty, well made, and fit well. I had an issue with a stain on the front, but RTR was quick to send me a replacement. Overall, it was true to size, although I had to switch around different bras to find one that kept from peeping out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 31, 2014
Not for a wedding
I rented it in two sizes. The 10 fit perfect. I returned it and got a replacement within 24 hours (great service) because it was too risque for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 3, 2014
Great dress that I needed last minute
I loved this dress - it fit basically true to size but since it's stretchy and should be form fitting I wish I had gotten a 2 as my backup size. I'm pretty short and it was just above my knee. I wore it to a valentines day party that I found out 2 days before and had no time to go shopping. The lace on the side is so flattering and really accentuated my waist. Love RTR it's my new go to for all the events that come up with short notice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 4, 2014
Perfect for a Chinese New Year Party!
Fit like a glove and was glamorous enough for a fancy Chinese New Year Party, but didn't look out of place at a the afterparty in a karaoke bar. Comfy too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2014
Made me feel sophisticated and a little sexy! Love the red and black lace combo!
Wore it to the opening of a new restaurant and then out to dinner after. I loved the red with the black lace panels. The sleeves popped up a bit, but I have that problem often because I have smaller shoulders, so I knew to just use some fashion tape. And i didn't mind. I also love that the dress looks sophisticated with just a hint of sexy, I didn't feel inappropriate wearing it to the opening. It is very comfortable and easy to sit and stand in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 2, 2014
Very comfortable and easy to wear
This dress was beautiful and I received lots of compliments on it. It was super comfortable, especially for dancing all night. It fit well, however, I did find that it runs a bit large in the bodice. I normally wear a size 2, or 4. I went with the 2 for this dress and while it fit overall, I think a 0 would have been better. There is a little stretch in this dress so I would size down if you're not sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
September 5, 2014
Overall flattering dress
Overall, I loved this dress! I got quite a few compliments. The way the lace cuts inward at the waist makes you look thinner, which is always a plus. However, this dress is cut for someone tall with no curves. I normally wear size 6, but this dress was very tight in the waist and bunched up in the back, so I opted for the 8 since I was going to a dinner party and wanted to be able to eat. I wasn't completely happy with the 8 though because it was large up top and the upper back was very loose. Double-sided tape helped, but I am a 34D and couldn't imagine someone with a smaller bust wearing this. I
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2014
Sexy red dress with lovely lace detailing!
I wore this for my 30th birthday dinner with my husband, and he couldn't keep his eyes off of me. I felt so beautiful! I highly recommend this dress. The lace detail accentuated my curves in a flattering way. The fit of the dress was true to size and the material was a medium thickness. I wore it on a balmy August evening, but the dress wasn't too hot. It would go great with black hose or tights for a sexy winter look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2014
Received a lot of compliments on the dress.
Dress worked out really well. Fit true to size. The only downside was that the top part was a little big. I used some fashion tape to make sure my bra didn't show and it worked out perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
June 30, 2014
Little Red Dress with so much elegance!
I have to give the credit to my husband for this one. He picked it out.. So I was apprehensive first about the fit since I'm sort of in between 2 & 4 but reading comments from other beautiful ladies I decided to go with Size 4 (worn) and backup size 6. I have an hourglass built and this dress fit like a glove. I felt like a million bucks and my husband was very very generous with his compliments and so were the guests at the wedding. The fabric is very comfortable.. It's a great dress!! The lace detail is very feminine and delicate..
StashaSeptember 12, 2014
You look great! Tell your hubby good choice. :D
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 14, 2014
Perfect for a poker birthday party!
Very sexy dress! Loved the color and the black lace, super slimming. It runs SMALL. I wore the 4, but definitely would have been happy with a larger size. My husband thought it was perfect, I was a little self conscious. The size is the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 15, 2014
A gorgeous red with lace detail that accentuates your curves!
I loved this dress; I wore it to a business gala! It was just long enough and formal enough but is curve hugging and sexy at the same time. I have a very petite frame, narrow shoulders, and small bust but my body is still curvy and I have wider hips; this makes it hard to find perfect fits. That being said, the shoulders were a little wide for me, and the bust was big. I managed with a push-up bra but because of the ill-fitting shoulders, the neck-line scooped a little too low. It also bunched up a little around the hips for me. Nevertheless, loved the way it made me look, loved the service I got, and I am eager to RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 25, 2014
Nah
Looked very cute on if you had a high torso. The zippers on back we're too long and sat awkwardly in the concept but was way too short on me the fit was very comfy Ended up returning dress & wearing one my own
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
Fun and age appropriate for a younger person, yet still ok for family wedding.
I chose this dress for my cousins wedding. I am younger than most of the people there (I'm 25) and I have a bit of a...louder personality so I didn't want a boring dress that didn't suit me, but I also did not want to look like I stepped out of the club to attend the wedding. This dress was perfect. The neckline was high enough to cover the majority of my cleavage and it made it to my mid thigh. I ordered this in a size 6 and an 8. I am much bigger on the bottom half so I picked this dress because it was stretchy. Both and 6 and the 8 were fine, the 8 was little loose on my waist and shoulders. It would have been fine if the hips had also been as loose but since they were still tight it didn't look right. I went with the 6 which was very tight, fit much more like a bodycon dress, which is good for my shape anyway. I loved it, and got many compliments. I am also very tall with a longer torso and was pleased the dress was long enough and the waist was not too high. Measurements: Bust 36, Waist 28, Hips 41 First time using rent the runway and I will be sure to again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
March 18, 2014
Overall, really happy with the dress!
Loved the fit, detailing and dress came in perfect condition! Ordered a size up for my back up size just in case but dress ended up fitting true to size. Definitely recommend this dress to anyone considering it!
LainaOctober 14, 2014
If you're 5 foot 7 inches and a size 6, you're not in any way "petite" so your review is not reliable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2014
Unforgettable #flirty30 party
It fit me very well. The material was comfortable and wasn't thick.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2014
Unique sexy but still classy dress
The dress is pretty but probably my least favorite I've rented. Good length for someone who doesn't want super short, comfortable with a good amount of stretch. Figure flattering but also you need to wear spanx if you need to hide any figure flaws. Overall a great dress just not stunning like some of the others I've rented,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 3, 2014
Gorgeous dress!! Perfect shape, so flattering!
This has got to be one of the greatest rentals I've had. So flattering to a petite shape and accentuated my waist nicely. Great neckline and fun red color. I wore this to my Christmas party back in December and would buy this dress if I could. Compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2014
Fun and comfortable
Does run larger in the top - I went with my larger size so that the hips were a bit less tight, but that made the top a touch baggy. Material is heavy enough that even though it's tight it doesn't feel too exposing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 4, 2014
Great date night night dress! Sexy yet still conservative.
This dress was very comfortable. For me it fit great in the body and was a little big on the top. The right bra made it work perfectly. I'd wear it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
I rented this dress for New Years 2013! A last minute decision that ended up being perfect!
Good stretch overall, minus the natural waist, which I liked because it accented my curves. A little loose in the shoulders, I have very narrow shoulders, but the right bra made a difference. Must wear with heels as the length is a few inches above the knees. Perfect for dancing and drinking. My favorite part was the bright color and the neckline, definitely made me feel special and bold.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 16, 2014
Beautiful form fitting dress
I tried both the 4 and 6- really didn't notice a difference. The reviews say "loose in the bust"- but I didn't think so, it's just the upper torso isn't tight, which is nice, but the rest of the dress is very firm fitting with a little bit of stretch. Fun dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2014
Amazing, unique dress!
I wore this to my sorority's formal and got so many compliments! It hit at about mid-thigh so I didn't have to worry about pulling it down all night and the black lace is super slimming. I got the size 4 and 6--both of them fit, but I ended up going with the 6 because the 4 gapped at the back of the neck and because the 6 afforded me a little more room to dance. :) The saddest part of the night was when I had to take it off!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 21, 2014
Sexy, great rich-red dress, which made for a great Cupid costume
I rented this dress in both a 4 and a 6, but ended up wearing the 6 to have a lil more give in the waist (I have the world's slightest hourglass waistline) since the length and fit in the bust seemed the same. The lace pattern is really flattering, and the dress is overall pretty date-worthy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2014
Ordered it Wednesday for Friday and received it on time. Perfect!
Just the right amount of stretch. Loved it & got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2014
Plenty of compliments on this dress at a company holiday party.
First time renting and loved the dress! It fit really great and was perfect for my body type. The red wasn't as vibrant as the model's photo but still a festive dress at a holiday party. I threw in some matching earrings to complete the look and the gold zipper in the back is a nice detail.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2014
perfect Christmas party dress
Dress is fitted with a little stretch, I am long waisted so it wasn't super comfortable - it was really flattering though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2014
Great fit, sturdy fabric, slimming lines
Wore this to a company Christmas party. Very appropriate and still looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 18, 2014
The dress is sexy, but still classy.
The dress fits great everywhere but the bust area. If I owned the dress, I would have had to take it in here (I would guess most size 0 ladies would have this same problem unless you have been *ahem* enhanced). The angles of the lace detail are really flattering on straight figures (in that it gives you the look of more curve), and I imagine it is equally flattering for larger sizes in how it cinches in the waistline to the eye.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2014
Pretty dress, but very form fitting.
I did not end up wearing this dress to my husband's holiday party as it was a bit tighter than I had wanted and I felt more comfortable in my other rental. It's a very pretty and sexy dress, but you either need to love every curve of your body (because you can see them all in this dress) or have a great pair of Spanx on hand. I'd recommend getting a size larger for the back-up size. The length was appropriate on me even though I am taller.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×