ERIN erin fetherston

Mermaid Lagoon Dress

$30 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to dazzle the party in this head turning sparkler by ERIN Erin Fetherston. The perfect birthday girl dress! Shown here with the kate spade accessories new york's Delicate Dot Cuff and Kenneth Jay Lane's Deep Blue Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a nude standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a nude standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor sequin (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (92% Nylon, 8% Spandex). 34” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

96 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 63
Large 21
Photos 71
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 30, 2012

The colors are stunning!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so amazing! The colors within the sequins are so bold and really make you stand out in a crowd. The dress is such an easy fit that is is almost a no brainer. If you are looking for a sequined dress, this is the winner!
Madelaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

The best compliment I received was that this dress was like a chic take on Disney's Ariel. How sweet

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my sorority recruitment Rho Gamma (recruitment guide) initiation. Surrounded by other sorority women that I had not met yet (since we're all from different chapters on campus), I was super nervous that I wasn't going to look the part. Loved this dress - was a little heavy and a bit warm for August but it looked so cute that I didnt mind! Great with nude pumps and a basic envelope clutch, no jewelry required since it's so sparkly!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

RTR made getting the perfect dress for a wedding absolutely flawless!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great and I was happy that the dress had 2 sizes in stock so I could ensure it would fit. This dress it a different color than I thought when I rented it. It's quite amazing and actually looks different in various kinds lighting. The image I uploaded looks very rainbow and "mermaid-y" as the description says, but in the light of my bedroom, it was more gold and icy blue. Overall, BIG success, so happy with the dress!
angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2012

I wore this dress to a Rent the Runway Fashion show.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress fit well and was very flattering. I wore a size 2 but I normally am a size 4. It was a bit on the longer side for me but it worked for a fashion show. Super fun dress, I suggest trying it out!
Natalie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 109 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Wonderful quality!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The fit was great, it ran true to size. The only issue I had was that it was way to long. I'm 5'5" and the dress went to my knees. I didn't realize this when i ordered it. I fixed it with a couple safety pins but it annoyed me. Also, the color isn't just silver...The dress actually reflects the light depending on where you are. It reflects blue/rainbow tones. Its a wonderful dress and I'm so happy I picked it out!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2012

Felt like a mermaid, in a good way!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. The theme was glitter and this dress was too perfect! The website picture photographs more silver, but it is really much more aqua. This was not my expectation but I loved it anyways!
skye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 22, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Looks more like the pictures that renters have posted and less like the picture of the model!
Netti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

I felt like Blaire Waldorf! So much fun! Perfect for New Year's Eve.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was a bit longer than I expected. Sometimes I have trouble with my lower half fitting into a size 10. I have serious hips. The dress was extremely flattering, and fit well. I was comfortable the whole evening. Literally every person I greeted throughout the evening complimented my dress. I couldn't be happier.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2013

fun sparkly NYE dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this for New years but when it came the fit was odd. The dress fit but the slip underneath did not line up with the sparkly outer sheath correctly - it hung about 2 inches lower than the sparkly part. Kept having to adjust it so that the slip laid correctly but ended up returning it and going with another dress. I am a tall curvy girl so this dress was very fitted on me which I liked but I think this dress would also be great for a more petite frame if you are looking for a looser fit.
Telisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs slightly large and is a little longer than it looks on the model. I'm 5'7" and didn't expect it to be quite as long as it was. I was thankful to have the option of two sizes and went with the smaller. Very pretty dress that is silver at times and also teal-ish in other lighting.
Elizabeth Anne
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

This dress was fun and sassy! Great for breaking it down on the dance floor! Such a fun dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the sheer back and different color sequins. This dress really made me feel special, unique, and beautiful!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

I wanted to wow my students as a judge for the University talent show. Mission accomplished!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress looks silver in the picture, but has blues and golds in person. Very mermaid-esque colors. I wore it as judge at my University talent show and it caught the lights perfectly. I looked like a mirror ball. I'm an administrator at the school, so I wanted to look stunning, but not inappropriate. The length was perfect and the dress wowed everyone! The size 0 fit me too, but strangely the length was too long. Maybe because the dress is supposed to blouse a little? The size 2 felt more comfortable and I liked the length better.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

Loved how it sparkled!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'4" and the dress was passed my knees and at first I didn't care for it, but once I walked around in the dress, I ended up loving it. I rented it for my bachelorette party and it was perfect!! And even better, the following Tuesday Catherine McPhee was wearing the same dress on an episode of Smash!!
Wren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 29, 2013

Loved the iridescent colors of the sequins!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an athletic banquet and it was perfect for the occasion! I was in between an 8 and a 10, but went with the 8 because the 10 was baggy. *This dress doesn't always appear silver!
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Gorgeous dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sequin design was beautiful. It really did look like what one might imagine mermaid scales would look. I ordered it as a backup dress so I didn't get to wear it, but it was fun trying it on. It is the perfect dress for an informal, fun night on the town. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Jill
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Rent this dress now!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I had a blast in this dress for my bachelorette party. I was apprehensive that it wasn't "party" enough when I first tried it on, but turns out, I just needed to put on the smaller size (and who is gonna complain about that?!). It was below zero the night of my bachelorette party but I was pleasantly surprised by how well this dress paired with black tights and pumps. Super comfortable and flattering. Other reviews says that this dress "looks blue" in certain light. It doesn't look blue, it is blue. The sequins are a mixture of nude/blush and light mermaid blue. I felt amazing in this dress. It was hard to send it back :)
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Didn't end up wearing, but very pretty!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I had an opportunity to wear this, it was really cute. I wended up wearing my other option to the wedding...
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super comfortable and looked amazing!
kates777
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 2, 2014

n/a

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress unfortunately I did not wear it. I rented a 2 and a 4. I normally wear a 4. They were both very tight in the hips and loose on the top. The dress is also a lot longer then I expected. I'm 5'4 and the size 2 went to my knees. I did not end up wearing either size because I felt it was too tight on my hips and made me uncomfortable.
Catherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2014

Loved the dress and the sequins.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this with a nude bra and it was fine. The sequins were beautiful.
Sharon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Fun, comfortable dress for a night on the town!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color of the sequins in real life has a bluish tint vs. looking silver as in the pictures. I knew this by reading reviews so I was prepared, and had awesome light blue shoes to go with it. If you want to stand out but feel covered, this is great. It's not too short, but the back is sheer to add an extra sexy touch. I'm 5'4, 120 lbs and wore the size 4. I could of gotten away with the six if I wanted a little extra room. The quality of the sequins was high, and everyone commented on how soft it felt when they ran their hands down the dress (girls friends checking it out, not random men..haha).
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Huge dress - not for petites

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Being somewhat petite, I was prepared for this to be a little roomy on me, but it was way larger than expected. I read tons of reviews before ordering, focusing on reviews from girls who said they were my size...can't believe anyone called this dress "true to size." I normally wear a 0, so I ordered a 0 and a 2. I was absolutely swimming in the 0 -- it went down to my knees, and fit like a bag. Not a good dress for petites..if you can, order two sizes down.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Felt like a star

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my engagement party and I absolutely loved it. Everyone loved the sparkle and shine and it allowed me to dance all night!
Claudine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2014

Great Dress with stretchy material

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Because of the stretchy material I could warned the size 2. I'm a 32B and the top part was a little loose nothing huge but I preferred to be more tight. The dress is long not short at all, the length for me was just above the knee.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Picture on model is deceiving - dress comes to knees.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall, the dress is everything I thought it would be - classy, sparkly and comfortable. However, the image of the length on the model is deceiving and I am glad that I listened to other reviews and brought pins with me to hem the dress a bit.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Great dress, too long, wasn't what I was looking for.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, runs a bit large and very long. Rented for my bachelorette party and I wanted something a little different. Overall fit was good though,
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 28, 2014

Cute but boxy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was really boxy on, and didn't do much for my figure. Also, up close the mesh in the back looks sort of like the skin-tone mesh on a figure skating costume.
thelovelyina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 29, 2014

Britney in Vegas!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wayyyy longer than pic! Almost knee length
Nicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Oct 6, 2014

Gorgeous dress that ended up being too big!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear for a girls' night out in Las Vegas. Unfortunately, the 4 was too big. I would definitely recommend this dress though - it is very sparkly and pretty. I would especially recommend for someone who wants to be a little more modest at a bachelorette party or other similar event, since the dress is fun but not revealing.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

A Little Vegas Sparkle

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress to celebrate my birthday in Las Vegas. The dress is a beautiful ivory and Aqua blue sparkle. It wasn't all that flattering on my body shape, but it's a pretty dress. I wore the size 2 since it was a better fit on me. The 4 didn't cinch my waist where the elastic band is and it was at least 2 inches longer than the smaller size. I wouldn't rent it again, but it worked great in Vegas!
Rachel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 20, 2014

I wore this for Halloween and dressed up as a mermaid.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is more blue than silver. The colors are amazing in person. The fit was kind of odd, I probably wouldn't get it again. It was loose up top and tight through my hips to the point where some pictures made me look a little preggo (also with the reflection of sequins there was a bit of a shadow effect). I also wanted it to be tighter on my waist and bust than it was. Don't recommend for people with booty's or hips.
Dal
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

What a fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the bing in this dress! Wore it to a formal wedding and it was perfect. I got compliments on it all night. I was abel to dance in it too. It's very comfortable, even as it hugs the body.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Not the same dress as on the model.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for my company Christmas party, but didn't wear it. I am 5'8 and it was too long on me, not the short party dress I was hoping for. The fit in the middle really accentuated my stomach and was not flattering. The dress is definitely more blue/green than silver, which was really pretty, but be warned this is not a silver dress. Super bummed it didn't work, I was excited about wearing it.
Larkin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Cute but cheap

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is cute but not the best quality. It was showier in person than it looks in pictures. I didn't end up wearing it as I didn't feel it was appropriate for a traditional church wedding.
SAM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 3, 2015

I wore this dress to a bachelorette in Vegas - it was the perfect sparkly dress for this occassion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress definitely fits true to size - it was a little big in the top, but I have a big butt and it fit perfectly on the bottom.
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Great dress! Highly recommended!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Skirt fit more like a pencil skirt than expected basedon pic, but very pleased! Dress was slightly more flashy than the picture and definitely get the mermaid type scales captured in a beautiful way.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Wore this dress for my bachelorette party in Las Vegas.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was really loose around my waist line, made me look pregnant. Also the sequins underneath the dress kept itching at my skin the whole night.
L.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Fantastic dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So much fun. Loose fit so very comfortable. The sequins are actually a greenish-blue-silver color but very pretty and unique. A real show-stopper.
Nicole
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Love the sparkles!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! I loved the shimmer/sparkles. It's not just silver - it has green hints to it too, so it was really pretty. The mesh back wasn't too see through, so you could wear a normal bra with the dress. The sequins are also a nice quality and not itchy to wear like other sequin dresses I've worn. I would definitely recommend if you want to stand out for the evening!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 11, 2015

beautiful tropical fish

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, I don't have a photo that does this dress justice. I wore it for my friend's bachelorette party, and it was a lot of fun to dance in. I liked that the shape was simple but that it was covered in sequins. The sheer back part is a little bit stretchy, which made it comfortable. I'd definitely recommend!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×