Mermaid Lagoon Dress

$53 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Get ready to dazzle the party in this head turning sparkler by ERIN Erin Fetherston. The perfect birthday girl dress! Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Deep Blue Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a nude standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolor sequin (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (92% Nylon, 8% Spandex). 34” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
118 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(72)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 28, 2014
Cute but boxy.
This dress was really boxy on, and didn't do much for my figure. Also, up close the mesh in the back looks sort of like the skin-tone mesh on a figure skating costume.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2015
Great dress for the Justin Timberlake Concert!
Wore this to a JT concert in December. It was short as a dress, I wore leggings under it. The back was a mesh type of material, but since it was in December, I wore a jacket over it. Otherwise the dress would have required a NuBra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 23, 2013
My first rental from RTR and it was well worth it! It was for a birthday celebration
the 6 fit better than the 4. It was bright and fun! It was a comfortable dress for a long night. Everyone loved it and couldn't stop asking where I got it
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 29, 2013
Loved the iridescent colors of the sequins!
I wore this dress to an athletic banquet and it was perfect for the occasion! I was in between an 8 and a 10, but went with the 8 because the 10 was baggy. *This dress doesn't always appear silver!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 30H
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2014
Much different than shown on the model
This dress was not at all what I was expecting based on the picture on the model. The sequins are definitely not silver, as depicted in the model; they are gold and an iridescent blue. I tried to capture in my photo just how holographic the sparkle is. I felt like a walking disco ball. The dress was very tight across the hips and waist but strangely loose in the top. The mesh panel in the back billows out, and even though other reviews suggest you could wear a nude bra underneath, I absolutely would not. I felt like my bra straps showed right through. I ended up returning this dress without wearing it, and RTR's wonderful customer service gave me a rental credit since they couldn't ship a new dress out in time for my event. Disappointed with the dress but oh so satisfied with the great customer service!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2014
Loved the dress and the sequins.
I wore this with a nude bra and it was fine. The sequins were beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2014
Fun dress!
Wore a regular nude bra although the back was "sheer". If you have wider hips, it will fit around them without much room. This was a fun dress and I loved wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 3, 2012
The best compliment I received was that this dress was like a chic take on Disney's Ariel. How sweet
I wore this dress to my sorority recruitment Rho Gamma (recruitment guide) initiation. Surrounded by other sorority women that I had not met yet (since we're all from different chapters on campus), I was super nervous that I wasn't going to look the part. Loved this dress - was a little heavy and a bit warm for August but it looked so cute that I didnt mind! Great with nude pumps and a basic envelope clutch, no jewelry required since it's so sparkly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2012
I LOVED this dress! I wore it for my bachelorette party and it was the perfect fun dress for me!
I thought that the dress was great, I was a little nervous about the sequins making the dress stiff, but that was not the case at all. I actually thought that the dress ran a little big in comparison to other designer dresses, but it was spot on for me, and fit great! I had a great time and it was comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2012
pretty, but i sent it back
I sent this one back, unfortunately. It's very pretty online but in person it looks very blue. i felt like a mermaid/disco ball. Also the middle part is elastic so it wasn't too tight but it looked too tight... kinda exaggerated the "love handles" so if that's a problem area for you, this may not be the best dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 4, 2012
So glad I rented a back-up!
I was very surprised when this dress arrived at my house- it looks quite different in the model pics than in real life. Look at the actual member's pics before you rent. The sequins reflect a lot of blue and turquoise- they are actually pretty holographic. You can't tell this by RTR's pics. I didn't like it. Rented it for my birthday and was bummed when I tried it on. My bf gave me a sideways look when I showed it to him, so I knew it wasn't just me! This was the only RTR rental I've ever had that I didn't even want to try on. I did anyway, and it just didn't do it for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
Felt like a mermaid, in a good way!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. The theme was glitter and this dress was too perfect! The website picture photographs more silver, but it is really much more aqua. This was not my expectation but I loved it anyways!
elyciaNovember 14, 2012
hahaha!!!! I love the blowup doll in the background! and you look gorgeous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Fun, classy party dress!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was PERFECT! The cut is timeless and classic while the sequins add a really fun, unexpected touch! And the sheer back - wow - really sexy without being too revealing! You cannot wear a normal bra with this - I wore a Nu Bra and it was perfect. This dress is comfortable and definitely made me feel beautiful all night! Runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 22, 2012
Great Dress!
Looks more like the pictures that renters have posted and less like the picture of the model!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
February 22, 2013
This dress was fun and sassy! Great for breaking it down on the dance floor! Such a fun dress!
Love the sheer back and different color sequins. This dress really made me feel special, unique, and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 2, 2013
I wanted to wow my students as a judge for the University talent show. Mission accomplished!
The dress looks silver in the picture, but has blues and golds in person. Very mermaid-esque colors. I wore it as judge at my University talent show and it caught the lights perfectly. I looked like a mirror ball. I'm an administrator at the school, so I wanted to look stunning, but not inappropriate. The length was perfect and the dress wowed everyone! The size 0 fit me too, but strangely the length was too long. Maybe because the dress is supposed to blouse a little? The size 2 felt more comfortable and I liked the length better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2013
Great dress for a Grils Night Out!
Loved this dress. I got so many compliments the entire night. The dress is longer than it shows on the model. I am 5'7" and with with 3 inch heels it still hit me just about the knees.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2013
Bachelorette Stunner!
Holy cow! I wore this dress for my bachelorette and felt like a million bucks!! As soon as you take it out of the bag, it feels luxurious. The color is absolutely amazing - a true white-ish silver with a slight teal/aqua hue in certain lights. The interior of the dress was silky and smooth. Not itchy at all. And the fit was amazing! I have a petite build and generally have trouble finding dresses to fit in the bust and waist, but this one fit like a glove. It was the perfect length. I looked like a star but I wasn't flashing people all night. If I could buy this dress, I definitely would. I loved every moment in it. I was a complete head-turner and the compliments poured in all night. I DEFINITELY recommend this dress. You can't go wrong. Also, quick kudos to the team at RTR. The first dress I ordered for my bachelorette party didn't fit at all. They found this dress for me (even though the calendar said it was reserved) and overnighted it to me at no extra cost. It arrived the morning of the party and I never even had to worry. If you're on the fence about renting for a big event - don't worry at all. I can't say enough good things about RTR and their amazing service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2013
It was an AMAZING dress.
The model picture doesn't come close to giving it justice. It's longer in life and the sparkles are amazing. It's glorious.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Sparkly but too long for me!
I rented this for NYE and ended up going with my backup dress. This dress is SO sparkly and lovely. However, I felt the skirt was too long for me and emphasized my hips (though looking at the picture of when I tried it on, I think I like it more now than I did then). It looked much better when I taped it up just an inch or so - but I was hosting the party and did not want to run the risk of my hem falling as I was running around. I got the 4 and the 6 and did not really notice any size difference except the length, so I would have worn the 4. I also didn't love the built-in belt, which cut my short torso even more than usual. This would be great for taller girls. I did love that I could wear a regular bra with it, and the color of the sparkles was unique (and very mermaid-like). If they made it in petite sizes I'd definitely have worn it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
January 28, 2014
Shimmery Party Dress
If you want a sequin party dress, this one is a great choice. I've rented several sequin dresses from Rent The Runway (my friends claim I have an addiction...I don't see it as a problem :) ) and this one was the most beautiful. The sequins change color depending on the light; I was called "rainbow fish" several times :) I am 5'2 and the dress hit just above my knees. The fit was comfortable, not too tight and not too baggy. The back is a sheer nude color so you'll need a nude bra with it. Great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2014
Awesome dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding on New Year's Eve and it was PERFECT!!! Since it is all sequins, I was surprised by how comfortable it was and you can wear a regular bra, which is nice. I ordered size 4 and 6 and although both fit, I wore the size 6 to give myself a little bit more room for dancing and to make sure the dress didn't bunch up across my hips. I wore nude patent leather pumps which matched the "belt" detail and mesh back really well. I got a ton of compliments and I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!!! PS- The dress does have a turquoise shimmer to it but it's still very pretty!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2014
Beautiful dress, perfect fit
Had a lot of people- friends and strangers- come up to me throughout the night to gush about my dress. It fit very well and easy. No issues with the material. The sequins lay well , the length was perfect, and it was overall a very low-maintenance and well-fitting dress that got a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2014
Didn't end up wearing, but very pretty!
I wish I had an opportunity to wear this, it was really cute. I wended up wearing my other option to the wedding...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
I wore this for a NYE event and the sparkles were perfect!
Sometimes sequin dresses can be uncomfortable, but this was easy to wear all night long. I'm short, so the length was a bit longer than I'd hoped, but made dancing easier. I got a ton of compliments all night long and wish this is one I could own!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2014
Beautiful and unique dress
I rented this as my backup dress for a bachelorette party. I ended up not wearing this dress simply because I liked my first choice better. While trying on and wearing around the house, the dress was very comfortable. I liked the length, especially once I put heels on, because I could move around, stand up/sit down, and not worry that I was showing too much. It is longer than a typical "going out" dress so if you like showing off your legs, this is probably not the dress for you. The color is absolutely beautiful and the highlight of the dress. A lot more greens and golds than the model picture shows. The only point of concern I had with this dress are the sequins on the hemline. For the 20 or 30 mins that I wore the dress, they scratched and irritated my thighs. If I would have worn this dress I probably just would have dealt with it because I would be afraid that they would rip or snag tights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2014
Pretty Dress, just didn't beat the other dress I ordered.
Longer than expected. The back is sheer but you can definitely plan to wear a regular nude bra.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 30, 2014
Wore this for a Vegas Bachelorette Party! It was stunning and certainly got a lot of attention!!
Fits great. I run between a 10 and 12 but this 10 fit nicely. I wore a NuBra with the dress since it was backless. Not itchy or scratchy at all unlike some sequin dresses! Keep in mind, this dress is much more blue than it seems in the pictures. My friends at the Bachelorette Party I wore this to called me "Rainbow Fish" all night, because that's what the sequins sort of resembled ;) Overall, LOVED this rental!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2014
Fun, comfortable dress for a night on the town!
The color of the sequins in real life has a bluish tint vs. looking silver as in the pictures. I knew this by reading reviews so I was prepared, and had awesome light blue shoes to go with it. If you want to stand out but feel covered, this is great. It's not too short, but the back is sheer to add an extra sexy touch. I'm 5'4, 120 lbs and wore the size 4. I could of gotten away with the six if I wanted a little extra room. The quality of the sequins was high, and everyone commented on how soft it felt when they ran their hands down the dress (girls friends checking it out, not random men..haha).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 26, 2014
It was my bachelorette and I had strangers coming up to me saying they loved my dress! Great feeling
I could have worn the 8 but it was a little lose on the top. Wore the six and it snug at first but hit all the right spots
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
July 21, 2014
Wore this freakum dress to the Beyonce & Jay-Z "On the Run" Concert in NOLA :)
Being a taller and bustier woman I was concerned about the fit based on the picture of the model. However I found there was enough room in the bust and the length was great as well. A really classy number, and I was definitely one of the best dressed there. Other women kept pointing it out and giving me compliments all night. Pairs well with metallic accessories and nude undergarments. Didn't want to send it back :(
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 29, 2014
Beautiful!
This dress was super comfortable and looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2014
Great Dress with stretchy material
Because of the stretchy material I could warned the size 2. I'm a 32B and the top part was a little loose nothing huge but I preferred to be more tight. The dress is long not short at all, the length for me was just above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 17, 2014
Picture on model is deceiving - dress comes to knees.
Overall, the dress is everything I thought it would be - classy, sparkly and comfortable. However, the image of the length on the model is deceiving and I am glad that I listened to other reviews and brought pins with me to hem the dress a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but my friends did!
This dress was not flattering on me. I am curvy and the way the top and bottom are divided didn't look good on me. Luckily, the dresses were put to good use at my bachelorette party in Vegas! My two friends each wore a dress. The dress I am wearing in the photo was not from RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
September 7, 2014
I received so many complements throughout the night! Everyone was asking where I got it!
The dress fit really great and hugged my curves really nicely. It was really easy to move around in. The sequins were so fun and I got so many complements on the dress. The only 2 cons I have we're the dress doesn't breathe really well so I got really hot while dancing and if your sitting for a while the sequins can kind of get uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2014
Stunning!
This dress is fabulous! Was exactly what I was looking for. It was so unique no one had a dress on even close to this. I was also impressed with RTR stylists and customer service. They worked so fast to remedy a concern I had. The dress is so comfortable to wear. I'm in between sizes. I always just have to try on both a 2 and a 4 to see what's best. I will usually wear a 2 but with all the squats and weights I do sometimes my bum needs a a tad more room. And the color is amazing! I love how the light reflects different colors, silver, gold, green, teal... Made accessorizing it so easy! My friends loved it and my hubby was in awe! It was definitely a head turner at the event. I felt like a rock star. I look forward to my next rental! Just overall,a wonderful experience.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2014
I wore this for Halloween and dressed up as a mermaid.
It is more blue than silver. The colors are amazing in person. The fit was kind of odd, I probably wouldn't get it again. It was loose up top and tight through my hips to the point where some pictures made me look a little preggo (also with the reflection of sequins there was a bit of a shadow effect). I also wanted it to be tighter on my waist and bust than it was. Don't recommend for people with booty's or hips.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2014
What a fun dress!
Love the bing in this dress! Wore it to a formal wedding and it was perfect. I got compliments on it all night. I was abel to dance in it too. It's very comfortable, even as it hugs the body.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 12, 2014
Super sparkly - Looked great for the holiday party!
The dress was great. I was worried that it was going to be too short for the work holiday party but it was just above the knee. I'm not short either (5'7). The sheer back wasn't sheer at all - which is great because I wore a neutral colored regular bra and you couldn't tell. The zipper was a little broken though - it looked like the dress has been worn a lot (understandable) but at the party no one can really notice.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×