Rent the Runway

ERIN erin fetherston

Mad Mod Mini Shift

$74 to buy
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look adorably chic in this mod shift by ERIN Erin Fetherston for your dinner party. A stylish choice to host a fab night with your friends and family. Go with accessories like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - most fitted at hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - most fitted at hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multi color block cotton(100% cotton; lining: 100% silk). Square neckline. A-line body. Front pockets. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

57 reviews

Fit
Small 29
True to Size 22
Large 6
Photos 17
Myers
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 23, 2012

Fun dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! The colors are vibrant, the back is adorable, and the pockets are a nice surprise. I could wear this dress to so many events.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 24, 2012

The process was so easy, I love how it shipped right to my hotel room!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a spring wedding on Cape Cod! Chic, classy and fun... the back is adorable and I received a ton of compliments all night.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

I got so many compliments on the color of the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a big party in the city, and felt super cute but still comfortable. Great for curvier girls!
Zoe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Many other students loved my dress and asked where I got it, definitely got more compliments on this game day dress than any before. Great statement dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for game day at Oklahoma State University. I am only 5 feet tall and the dress hit me right above the knee. I was a little worried about being hot in this dress but the fabric was very breathable which was great for a game in 90 degrees! I definitely recommend this dress!!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Sep 29, 2012

Casual but appropriate dress for a rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little snug in the hips (and I'm not THAT curvy); this would have been fine, except for with the pockets, it made for some awkward puckering. I loved the back bow detail.
Jai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Bridal Shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is super cute and has an adorable bow in the back. however if you are curvy be aware that it isnt made to hug curves. Its very narrow
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 19, 2012

Fun, Comfortable Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding, and it was a great success! I had to size up, as the dress was a little tight through the hips. It was very comfortable, and I danced the night away with no issues!
Tai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Nov 25, 2012

Fit great! Cute length... Had a Megan from Mad Men feel

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
No complaints
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Very Mod

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress to wear to a casual summer party. It was a backup dress for me, and I ended up not wearing it because it was tight and the pockets made me look like I have big hips.
Ellen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Love the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

My favorite dress ever!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Love, love, love this dress! I work for the nonprofit Step Up Women's Network and ordered this for our Inspiration Awards luncheon since our color is orange. The back with the bow is so cute - so plan on wearing your hair up if you have long hair. The pockets make it perfect. I recommend sizing up - it's a narrower fit than it looked in the photos. I paired it with JCrew's Seville Canvas/Satin Wedge in the stripe black/natural color and loved the combo. Plan on doing mod hair/makeup too!
Gianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 29, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was great. I feel like since this is a shift, it would look great on any body type. I did feel that the sizing was a little off, since I'm normally an 8, but I do have curvy hips, and since they didn't have an 8, I had to rent a 10 and 12, and ended up going with the 12. Great rental overall!!!
Viv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Very cute dress that is chic and simple. Tight in the hips though!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Little did I know that the bride's side of the family and friends are huge Auburn University fans/students/graduates. It was a total coincidence that I looked like I was wearing their school colors and it was completely unplanned. Anyways, the dress is well constructed, but the material is sturdy with no stretch. This dress is more appropriate for girls with slim figures. I usually wear between sizes 2 and 4 depending on the style or designer and I wore a 4 in this. I have hips and because the material has no give, it was snug around the hips and tended to ride up. My hips aren't even that curvy, so I was surprised that the size 4 was cutting it close. The dress is also short, so if you're sitting down, you're going to need a napkin to cover your legs. Other than that, the colors, pockets and bow detail on the back are cute. The pockets turned out to be a detriment since they showed through because of my hips. I found myself having to pull the skirt down whenever I stood up since it'd ride up. I do not recommend this dress if you have (some) hips.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 25, 2013

The dress did not fit properly.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress did not fit. I am usually a size 6, but even the 8 was small. It was tight on my hips and super loose on my waist and chest (looser than it should have been). I have worn dresses in this style before, so I do not know what went wrong with this one. One of the main problem is the pockets - they fell right now my hips, so it only made me look wider. I do not recommend this dress unless you are very thin.
Sylvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Cheap looking

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It's a dress that I did not like the feel or even the look of the material. Looks great on model though!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
May 3, 2013

Someone telling me I looked like I belonged on the set of Mad Men.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I am not all that curvy so it fit perfectly on me. I can see a curvier gal having a problem with this dress because it's tight and not stretchy in the hip area. The fabric and details are amazing - love the back bow! Plus pockets are a nice perk :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
May 12, 2013

Didn't end up wearing it - didn't fit right.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not great for pear-shapes - too big on top and too small on the bottom.
SexayEsq.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Marsha, Marsha, Marsha! :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress, wore it with a black headband and platforms to really get the 70's theme. Really cute, boxy as other have said, so if you have hips you may have to deal with a little riding up (the reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars), but i didn't mind it. It's a mini, so don't get this if you don't like short dresses...I love 'em so it was right up my alley.
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Cute mod dress, but a bit baggy..

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
When I saw the dress online, I fell in love with it, but in person I wasn't too impressed. The pockets kinda jutted out and made my hips look wider, and there was a lot of extra room in the mid-section (I have a pretty small waist). Besides those minor issues, I still ended up wearing it and received a bunch of compliments. It was also comfortable and made me stand out from the crowd. Love the orange color, and the bow in the back is also super cute! By the way - the "white" section is actually more like a cream color. The photo on the model is a bit misleading.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Cute dress but odd fit at the hips

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very cute and comfortable! The only problem was it fit me really weird at the hips. I usually wear a size 8--the size 8 did fit me and would have looked great, however there were pockets in a really weird location on the dress. The size 8 was fitted over my hips which made the pockets stick out really awkwardly so I decided to go with the size 10. It still looked good, it was just a little big through my waist and I would have liked it to be more fitted.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Conservative classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress in a 4 to my sisters graduation and in the 2 to my best friends bridal shower. It's great for a warm weather conservative event. Not sexy, but sometimes I just like to look cute. As you can see it will crease some from sitting but I kept it on all night comfortably. It also was brand new when I got it (I removed the Erin tag!) that made me a happy renter.
NYC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this on a baby shower...it was nice & cute.
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Cute dress, but thought it looked "used".

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was cute and fit well, but the colors looked washed out. Didn't wear it.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 6, 2014

Adorable, fun, day to night dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to work with a black blazer, then ditched the blazer for a weekday evening event. Material is rough cotton, so it's not very fancy,
Hilda Nathalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Apr 6, 2014

Cute dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is cute with a bow in the back. however if you are curvy might want to consider another dress isn't a friend of curves. Its very narrow
Gisell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Nice Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It is a nice dress even thou the overall fit is a bit large. The pockets are not really useful since it makes the dress stretch too much around the hips. I had a lot of room around the waistline. I really liked the colors, the bow on the back is cute but it unbuttons easily and in my case, I was sitting most of the time so it was a little uncomfortable to lean back.
Amen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

lovely dress wish I could have worn it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a hippy size 4 and the size 4 or 6 did not fit.
Anna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Nothing..

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Didn't end up wearing either size of the dress. It fit so awkwardly, too small in the thighs and too big every where else. This happened to me and I think I have pretty small and fit thighs. Was not happy at all. Glad I got a pair of earrings to wear with it that I could actually wear otherwise it would have been a total and complete waste of money.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Incredible customer service

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress fits a little tight at the hips but is super cute.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 23, 2014

I didn't end up wearing the dress, but I have to say it is SUPER cute!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing beach are I am 6 feet tall and this dress is definitely mini, barely covered below my booty. But loved the colors , fabric and style. As long as you size up the pockets will work but it was a bit tight around my hips so pockets bulged a bit.
Hyerim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Cute but small

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs small for a true size 6! Very narrow around the hips, so hourglass/pear-shaped ladies stay away.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Cute dress for a wedding, but best for standing

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was cute, but it had a few drawbacks. The pockets were a little too bulgy on the sides, and the front wrinkled very easily after sitting down. I was expecting the dress to be sheer and smooth, but it had texture and the material was a bit thicker. The bow on the back kept unbuttoning if I bent over or sat down. The dress is really short when you sit down. This dress is best for standing only. Sitting makes it wrinkle and the bow to unbutton, walking makes the pockets bulge. If you only need to stand, then this is a great dress for a wedding! Despite the drawbacks, people really liked the style and I got several compliments.
Suzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Runs smaller than most dresses

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very cute but runs small. I couldn't wear either size that I ordered even though I can often wear a 4. The 6 was too small. It's also fairly short. That's not necessarily bad but I wasn't expecting it to fit the way it did. It's more form fitting then I thought it would be. The colors and fabric are great but I couldn't wear the dress due to the size. I did not attempt to have RTR send me something else because of the timing. This is the only disappointing RTR experience I have had but I can't really blame RTR.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

SO TIGHT- not very flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ordered an 8 (am normally between a 6 and 8) and it was SO tight- especially in the middle. Also quite short. It really was cute but sadly, I couldn't make it work.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 15, 2014

Great 60 inspired feel

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved this dress but wow was it short. I'm pretty comfortable in a mini but beware this dress is great but your bum might make an appearance
emegan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

Back detail was awesome!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was the PERFECT dress for my boyfriend's 30th bday bash! I rented out a local pub, and this dress went perfectly with our decor. The back detail was so cute with the cream colored bow. Very comfortable, and had pockets too! :) I thought the dress fit a little tighter in the bust. I had to go up a size so that I could breathe. Overall, a really fun daytime dress!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Runs small and doesn't look good on all body types.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is a tricot like fabric, so it looks quite a bit more casual than I expected. As others have mentioned, pockets are awkward, but it runs small, so you end up with a puffy looking belly and creases at the hips...at least I did. I have a rather big butt and thighs, and not much waist, so it made me look like a top-heavy sausage. On a thin/straight build, it would look very mod and flattering.
D
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2014

Cute dress, but I couldn't wear it. Usually a size 6, but it was tight and insanely short!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to wear this to a 60s themed wedding, but there was no way I could leave my room dressed in this. I'm use to short dresses, but this was to an extreme. If you are petite, its cute!
Mad Dog
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

I loved the 60s style and coloring of the dress and would have worn it if it fit my hips.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you have bigger hips, size up! It was way too snug.
Melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

To small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too small and I couldn't wear it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×