ERIN erin fetherston

Hollywood Icon Gown

$145 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Marilyn who? Look like a movie star for the night in this red carpet showstopper by Erin by Erin Fetherston. This dress is absolutely perfect for your most special occasion. Pair with the Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff and Oscar de la Renta's Pave Bouquet Earring for the ultimate glam look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Nude matte jersey (100% Rayon) embroidered with sequins. Sleeveless. Cowl neckline. Full skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% Viscose). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

52 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 32
Large 18
Photos 27
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Renting this dress turned a great night into the PERFECT night!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I originally rented it as my backup, but when my first choice (Carlos Miele- Caribbean Coral Escape Gown) wasn't the look I was going for a non-profit event- check out arvf.org-I decided on this one...and I'm so glad I did! It was comfortable, flattering, and made my night awesome. I'm tall, but I wore 3 inch nude heels, and the 4R still grazed the floor at the perfect length. I wore spanx, but they weren't a necessity, and I used some fashion tape on the chest just to be safe. The color was exactly what I expected, and it was just a really beautiful dress. Strangers gave me compliments, I was told I looked like a goddess, and I felt great which was the best part! RTR made it so easy to have no worries about what I was going to wear or how I was going to look and feel! The perfect dress for a formal event.
Melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 11, 2012

Perfect Late Summer Formal Gown

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like the dress fit, but I felt my bust was too big for this dress. I had to keep lifting the front so my bra didn't show. I did wear a belt like the model because it looked cheesy without one. The dress was a little long even with some high shoes. It was OK because I just lifted it a little while walking. Overall, it was a pretty dress and I felt fancy enough for the formal event.
BCS
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 2L fit perfectly!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

Stunning dress, fits really well, great for large bust.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress, wore it for a formal event where I was presenting an award. Order 2L and 4L, The 2L was a perfect fit, except too long should have gotten 2R I am 5'6" and wore a 3 inch heel.
Kathleen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The detailing on the dress was gorgeous. It was a perfect dress to wear for the wedding and I received compliments all night
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Absolutely great dress for an unforgettable New Years Eve Wedding!!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
After a minor set back with the original dress I ordered....this dress was placed onto my order as a replacement. I was in the house party for a New Years Eve wedding and the bride very specifically asked for all of her house party to be in tan/nude colored dresses. After reading other reviews I saw that this dress runs a bit large so I went with a 0L (long for my height because I had to wear 4 inch heels). The dress was almost too long as I still had to hold it up walking sometimes and there was a lot of fabric below the waistband....BUT I received so many compliments and everyone loved it!! So in the end it was great and very glad it all worked out!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Amazing dress for an engagement shoot!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for our engagement photos and bridal shots. I ordered the 4R and 2R, both fit but I went with the 4R. I usually wear a long, but got the regular size as reviews said this ran too long. The R length was perfect with flats (I am 5'9"). But if you are planning on heels, then I recommend the long length. Looks amazing with a belt. Very happy with the way the pics turned out!!
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Hollywood glam

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well. Comfortable and flattering
Christina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

A bunch of us rented dresses for my best friends wedding and the photos are AMAZING!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding I was in. My only complaint was that it it drapes a bit low on the bust and I felt a bit revealing since I was in the wedding party. Overall it was a hit. Super comfortable and easy to wear with your own bra. I could have gone a size down.
Alanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 19, 2013

Runs small in the bust, large everywhere else.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size down like the stylist recommended and it was still too long and too large. Oddly enough though, it was too small in the bust area (not meant for C's or D's).
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Elegant and timeless!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a wonderful evening in this gown! It is a bit heavier than I expected, but it wore well. I would definitely recommend it!
Tori
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

great fit & unique, classic look

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for the Grammys and absolutely loved it! It fit great and was comfortable, and I didn't see anyone wearing the same dress or even one very similar. I did wear spanx since the elastic band cuts right above your stomach, but it could easily be worn without. I didn't use any fashion tape for the top, but some bras may need it to keep from showing with the way it drapes. I am 5'7 and wore 3-4 inch heels and the 2L was perfect. Wore emerald colored drop earrings with it. Loved the dress!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

The perfect dress.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Ladies--do yourselves a favor and rent this dress. I wore this for my engagement photos in Central Park and it is stunning. The color is a perfect light blush, and the touch of sparkle all over the dress makes it a winner. My fiance LOVED this dress. The dress drapes nicely in the chest area, and the dress altogether is pretty forgiving if that's a concern. I wore the 2L--I am 5'10" and was wearing 5 inch heels and it was still long enough!
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

This dress worked perfectly for my 9 month pregnant body!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
stretched nicely over my belly, VERY comfortable. my pre-preg size is 135lbs, 5'8' size 6. now im 170, mostly belly.
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Looking and feeling like a Hollywood Icon

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great, I got a size 2R and 4R. My only problems were, the dress was short (and I'm 5'5 and wore flats!) it didn't touch the ground. And the gems were falling off and some were missing. Up close the dress didn't look very good in my opinion, but from a distance and in pictures it looked great! I fell in love with the dress online, and got so many compliments at prom on it.
Patty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

Good backup!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as a backup in case my prom dress didn't fit and it was very nice. Although, the dress is pretty heavy and must be worn with fabric tape because the opening in the front reveals a bit too much even with a regular bra on, Not sure if I would rent it again... the dress color was also a bit too pale. Needless to say, it's a good backup for emergencies.
ADot
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

Didn't wear this, but it still looked gorgeous on.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very beautiful, movie-star style dress. I ended up choosing something different, but may rent this again for a later time. It covers up parts of the body that you may not want to show (i.e., perfect for a winter formal when I gain all of my "holiday weight").
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Pretty dress but...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've rented from RTR a few times and have always had good experiences until now. Usually the sizing info they give you is right on, this time it wasn't. I'm usually a size 2 so I ordered a size 2 and 4 as a backup. The 2 fit my body well but was very short. Barefoot the dress didn't even touch the ground, which obviously isn't what you want for a gown, so that one was out. I put on the 4 and it was huge. It was a better length but was baggy everywhere, not flattering at all. Looking back I should have ordered the 2L and I probably would have been much happier but at 5'4 I've never had to order a "long" size in my life and after reading the measurements for this dress I should have been fine with the regular size. The dress is very pretty and I would have loved to be able to wear it, but unfortunately neither of the sizes worked. Be careful if you're over 5'2 ordering this dress in a regular size.
christina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

This dress made me feel classy and glamorous. I enjoyed my night in it!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress right when I saw it on the web site. I was so excited when I got it! Got many compliments on it and love how my whole look came together! I thought it ran big, but I am petite. I wore 4" heels and it was a tad long, but not sloppy at all, nor did it get in the way of dancing the whole night. The top hung too low on me bc I have no boobs, so I added a statement necklace to make the top work. Dress was comfy and forgiving overall.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

I wore this dress to my school's Inaugural Ball. I got so many compliments! Great choice!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried that the 6R wasn't going to be long enough, but it was great! Also, the dress was extremely comfortable overall.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

The Glass Slipper of Dresses!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely perfect for my occasion and would be for so many others! Not only was it gorgeous on, it was obviously well made and above all, comfortable!! I felt completely relaxed, it was like wearing a sundress. I could see this being dressed glamorously or dressed a little bit down for a formal wedding where you don't want to upstage the bride. I added a little sash to the middle to give it some ooph, and it lends itself well to that or a belt. I received non stop compliments. Rent this dress ladies, you will love it!!!
Flyadastra
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Pretty cute dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I like this dress, but I wouldn't say it was 'Wow'. It's more simple so you definitely need to play it up with jewelry and gorgeous hair. If you are planning on wearing 2" (or higher) heels and you are taller than 5'6, please get the Long! Otherwise, very cute dress.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Pretty!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very beautiful, but it runs a bit short. I didn't end up wearing this dress because the length wasn't right.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 12, 2013

Wore this dress for my prom. I absolutely loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was so comfortable and so pretty. I loved the jewels they really added to the dress. Also it was not a typical prom dress, which I loved because then I didn't look like all the other girls. I got so many compliments on it too. It did run a little large, I normally wear a 2 but i wore the 0 (thank god Rent The Runway sends two sizes!). I'm about 5'2" and wore about 4 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length. I was so worried it would be too long but it wasn't! So good choice if you're short like me. It was also nice I could wear a normal bra and didn't have to buy any uncomfortable sticky boobs or whatever.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
May 19, 2013

Easy, comfortable and unique!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as my backup style. I wasn't thinking that I'd wear it, only that it was totally different from my usual style and fun. I ended up loving it! This dress was super comfortable, easy to wear all night and didn't require any sort of "special undergarments" - bonus! I got lots of compliments on how unique it was. Note, you really do need a TAN with this dress. I'm naturally a pretty pale girl, and when I first tired it on the color looked horrible, but after a quick spray tan it looked great! I wore the 4R and I probably could have gone down to the 2.
Jodi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

This was the back-up dress...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and fit beautifully, but it had a stain on the front. The dress was a back up and the first choice worked. The dress was ordered for my daughter for her junior prom. She is 5'-6" and about 135 lbs. The size 4 fit perfectly.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
Jun 13, 2013

Old Hollywood glamour!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great for a formal dinner dance! The dress ran large though, so definitely get two sizes when ordering. The dress was very flattering and fun.
Abigail
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Perfect bridesmaid dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Added a sparkly belt, which was a perfect touch. Was a tiny bit long with flats, but still fine. Got lots of compliments, very comfortable and flattering. Had to use some fabric tape to stick it to my chest so my bra wouldn't show, but then it was fine.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 26, 2013

A nude colored dress will always turn heads!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The draping neckline will get lower as the night goes, which is fine if you're a smaller girl! Be sure to wear really fun earrings with the dress!
Lacey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Fit and look great

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit and look great
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

This dress was beautiful! Got many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my second choice dress but fit better than my first choice. Very flattering on someone with a large bust. Fits true to size. It was a bit heavy but that's the only complaint.
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

You can't help but feel nothing but glamorous in this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear for our engagement photos and was nervous about how it would fit before receiving it in the mail. The good news is that it could not have been more perfect. A total knockout, and completely flattering to my figure. Not to mention, I felt super glamourous, even just trying it on! The only down side was that I was unable to wear it for the photos since we had to reschedule them due to weather. I will definitely be rerenting this gown again once our session gets rescheduled...that's how much I loved this dress.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Pretty dress for formal event

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very pretty, and my only real complaint is some of the sequins were falling off. However, this was not noticeable at all. It fits very well, but I recommend very high heels for petite ladies, or else the hemline will be dragging the whole night.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Very pretty, much better in person

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hard to describe how this dress is much more elegant in person, but it is. The material is soft and super comfy, a very easy dress to wear. I'm 5'5" and wore 4" heels and it worked, otherwise it would have been too long. The neck is pretty low, FYI. Very pretty dress.
Kristen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 18, 2013

This dress is so elegant!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress!! I could have gone down a size to a 10R and it probably would have fit a little better. It was very comfortable and elegant. I would definitely recommend it.
simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

I wore this dress for my junior prom and I couldn't have been happier with it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly: not too loose, but also not too tight. The color was gorgeous and it was very flattering. I was receiving compliments on it all night.
Krissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Runs large but short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Make sure to order the long...unless flats or barefoot is your thing:) Love the color. Great fabric and just enough detail while still being understated.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Lovely gown very easy to wear

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gown runs a bit long so I would suggest at least 2" heels even for taller women. Also, bust line is accommodating even for larger sizes
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

It was an easy process and worked out to rent a dress for a wedding rather Han purchase!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable. Not as pretty in person and runs large! Very large in chest and stomach area. It was easy to move in, but a little heavy!
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Incredible, classic vibe! Definitely a stand-out dress.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great. First, the fit: it was awesome because it hid my small bust and pouchy tummy. It's very drapey and slinky so it's good to cover up any unwanted bumps. The length was perfect for me... (I wore a 0L with 3 in heels, & am 5'8). Second, the dress: the entire classic vintage style screams maturity and elegance. If you want to be told you look like a Grecian goddess, this is your dress. The little sequins add just enough glitz to glam it up without going overboard. #grecian #formal
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×