Blue Sea Mist Dress

$40 rental
$245 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ocean-inspired in this ombre flutter dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston.

Also available in orange.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable fit throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted – fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable fit throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted – fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue ombre silk chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Gathered waist with detachable belt. Back keyhole with button closure. No zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
202 reviews
Fit
Large30
True to Size138
Small19
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 3, 2014
Too long
This dress had beautiful, flowy material and I wanted to like it, but it really was too long for me, and it also had a lot of bunchy fabric so I was swallowed up by it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
July 31, 2014
Fun, swingy skirt was great for dancing!
This was a fun dress to dance in but unfortunately not my favorite rental. I think it would be perfect for someone with a small waist, and would hide wider hips, but unfortunately I'm built with the opposite proportions. I also thought the dress was a little small in the arm holes, and def made for someone with a smaller bust. The color was really pretty and skirt was fun though!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 29, 2014
Loved the flowy silk fabric!
This was my first RTR experience. Everything went smoothly, I just had to iron the skirt of the dress because it showed up a little wrinkly. I thought the cut and fabric were very flattering, and I loved twirling around on the dance floor in a flowy skirt. Like other reviewers said, it's a little snug in the bust, but other than that, the fit was great. I will be using RTR again in the future :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 22, 2014
Everyone loved it!
I actually wore the size 10 to work the day of my event because I was going to go straight to the party and ended up changing into the 8 because my bra showed at my armpit. The 8 was a perfect fit. I had some static cling issues, but once I took care of that this was one of the most comfortable dresses I've rented. You can wear a regular bra, the color is pretty. You can dress it up with accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 21, 2014
Comfortable dress, gorgeous color
Strapless bra needed - the cut of the sleeve is not quite wide enough to easily cover your straps. AND this is very lightweight fabric, so the bra shouldn't have any detailing or lace on the cups, as it'll make your chest look bumpy and rough.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
July 16, 2014
Simple, but better for summer.
I wore this to my fall graduation ceremony. Even in Florida the evening was a bit too cool to wear this dress on its own. I ended up wearing black tights underneath with black patent leather t-strap heels. the black was a nice contrast to the blue in the dress. I really do like this dress, but if I were to wear it again I would rent it in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2014
Gorgeous, understated yet standout!
I rented the 6 and 8, and wore the 8. The fit was perfect. Nice length right above the knee, a little wrap belt that came separately. The fading blue girl was really awesome, I got a lot of compliments. I didn't give it 5 stars because of how sensitive the fabric was to drinks. It was a hot day, so condensation from my glass would drip down and leave dark wet drips on the fabric. It was also so lightweight that any breeze swept it up to my waist. Kinda embarrassing, but once we went inside I didn't have to worry about it. LOVED it despite these two points though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 14, 2014
The dress was really comfortable and looked great with the accessories I chose!
Fit was true to size in my opinion, which left me with the size 6 as I had read that they run large. I found it to be tight around my chest/shoulders but realized that I am a big chested woman and these are the downfalls. The BIGGEST concern with the dress was that in certain lighting, it was totally SEE THROUGH! thank go the lighting was dim in the reception. Great dress still!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
July 8, 2014
So easy!
This dress is a dream. Lightweight, beautiful beautiful beautiful color. Perfect for a summer wedding. After reading the other reviews, I would suggest not going for this dress if you have a larger chest. I do not have a large chest and could already see the issue of it being tight. Prepare some fashion tape to keep bra straps in place. The cut is beautiful but definitely need to keep the straps out of sight. I didn't think it was too see through but I wore nude undergarments just in case.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 6, 2014
Perfect Summer Wedding Dress
Rented this dress for an outdoor wedding. I Needed to look more on the conservative/professional side and this was perfect. The fabric is beautiful in person and so lightweight. Included belt which helped give me some shape since the dress is forgiving. Dress has some static cling issues when I pulled it out of the bag but a quick tumble in the dryer fixed it right up! No trouble the rest of the night! Had no issues with fit or length, (what I normally worry about) I wore a strapless bra since the shoulder cut in a little and I didn't want straps sneaking out! I sized down (for my backup) based off other renters comments but still wore my usual size. Wonderful dress, would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 4, 2014
Post-Wedding Brunch dress
This was great for our post-wedding brunch. You can dress it up or down dependng on the occaision. Worked really well with my bust, which is not always the case with such a high neckline!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 1, 2014
pretty AND comfortable
I wanted a dress for my cousin's wedding that would look beautiful, while also letting me run around with my nieces. I ordered a size 2 for my backup, but when I put the 4 on first, it fit great, so I wore it to the ceremony...where my younger niece fell asleep and drooled on me, leaving a wet spot on the chest! Fortunately, the size 2 also fit (just a little snug in the bust), so I wore that to the reception. I got lots of compliments, and the dress was so fun and pretty -- perfect for dancing. I highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 30, 2014
Dress was a gorgeous color and fit very well.
Wore the dress for an outside wedding shower and it was perfect for the occasion. Material was light so great for the outdoor event and the color was exactly what it looks like in the photos. People said it wrinkled easily and not sure I agree as the bottom of the dress looked "wrinkled" because of the way it hung but it worked and I didn't see that as a negative. I had a piece of jewelry that matched the coloring so that really finished off the look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 26, 2014
This dress is light and flirty!
This dress was rented for a brunch at Antoine's, the oldest restaurant in the French Quarter in New Orleans. I was attending Festigals, and also it was my birthday!! I walked several city blocks to and from the party, in 100% humidity and oppressive heat. This dress was perfect! It floated along, didn't rise up or make me sweat. I usually wear a 10 but the back where the keyhole button closure was wanted to bunch up. I put on the 8 and it was perfection. One teeny complaint is the lining wanted to peep out around the hem just a bit. Otherwise, I was super happy with this dress! It is simple, yet elegant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2014
Maid of Honor Perfection!
I chose this elegant dress for my best friends wedding. The color color scheme was just right for the beach wedding and it was truly stunning. Compliments poured in throughout the night on how good the dress looked, and I also rented the jewelry to go with the dress. I ordered a size 8 and 10 and the 10 fit me perfect it hides all your midsection and adds a nice flare at the bottom. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2014
Beautiful colors & material. Would work wonderfully for many different occasions!
I was able to wear the size 4 but really didn't love the fit of either size 2 or size 4. Both technically fit me, but the top of both bunched up and didn't lay right. If I were to buy this dress, I would definitely need to get it tailored. Having said that, it worked just fine for a one-time wear. I wore it to an afternoon wedding ceremony in a park following by an evening reception on a boat with dinner and dancing. It's very versatile and worked really well for both settings. I bought a big necklace to go with it which I think was a good call. The top definitely needed something. I really want to rent the necklace on the model but it was no longer available per the chat session I had with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 24, 2014
Not the right cut for me -- My own fault!
I should have known I wouldn't like this cut, but I was so in love with the ombre gray that I went for it anyway...And it failed. This cut simply doesn't work on me. Also, I was disappointed with the white slip showing through at the bottom of each dress. If you look closely at the customer photos, you'll notice this little white slip at the bottom of most of their photos. In the model photos, you don't see it -- Clearly and issue with a shrinking top layer!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Perfect dress for a beach wedding
Dress was beautiful and perfect for an outdoor wedding near the beach. While several other reviews noted that it runs large, I found that it was pretty true to size, so I size I got was a bit snug (but still worked). Got many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
June 23, 2014
The dress I got engaged in!! :)
This is my second dress I've worn from RTR, and I think I'm hooked! The dress was beautiful and ran pretty true to size... I tend to where either 6's or 8's, and the 6 in this was great. I did where a slip with it, just in case, and like others have noted, you definitely need to where the belt with is as the waist is elastic and cinched in. I felt wonderful wearing this to a nice restaurant for dinner, and what would be the dress I was wearing when my boyfriend dropped to one knee!! Perfect night all around! Thank you RTR! :D
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2014
Cute, Airy Skirt, Beautiful Color
I loved this dress! The arm holes cut a little low on me so every bra I tried showed. It was really comfortable, skirt was light and fun, would be great for a wedding and dancing. The blue is quite pretty in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 21, 2014
Gorgeous dress! Beautiful color & fabric. Felt awesome on.
No cons just a really pretty dress for a summer wedding or other nice event that isn't too formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 20, 2014
Perfect material and look for graduation day!
The light airy material was so comfortable to wear under my graduation gown, keeping me from overheating like many of my friends/classmates. It was just about knee length (a bonus for lots of family pictures). My only complaint is that the material is too sheer - nude undergarments were slightly visible in bright sunlight - so I had to purchase a slip the day before my event to feel 100% comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 17, 2014
Wedding!
This dress was very pretty, but was way too small in the bust area. I am a 36D and my boobs were smooshed! :-(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 16, 2014
Very comfortable
This was the backup dress I didn't end up using. If you like a less fitted fit, this could be a dress for you! I like things that are more fitted instead. Also just be aware that the top part is a little see-through at the shoulder to the bust, and you might have to iron/steam the belt - mine came a little wrinkled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
June 15, 2014
Pretty and Perfect
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and LOVED it! I felt very pretty, and the ombré effect adds just the right touch. The bottom is flowy - gorgeous the way it lays, just be careful walking up the stairs in front of someone. I am tall and am always worried about length, which is why I ordered a size up as a backup. The 8 (my regular size) fell a few inches above my knees and I felt comfortable all night. The dress was very true to size, and I didn't feel it was too tight or too loose in the chest area. AMAZING first RTR rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
June 14, 2014
Very easy to wear, no fuss. Lightweight and flattering.
#pretty
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2014
For my daughter to wear at graduation
I rented this dress for my daughter and it was the perfect choice. She hates wearing dresses, so Rent The Runway was the ONLY choice! She picked it out herself, and we found some lovely accessories and shoes to complete the look. She looked so beautiful, and the dress was perfect for the occasion - "fancy" enough without looking too "grown up" on her, the perfect length, perfect for a warm summer morning....I can't say enough about this dress and, of course, our appreciation for RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2014
Comfortable fit and beautiful color
The dress was very comfortable to wear throughout the day. The elastic waist and belt make this an easy fit for many body types. The color was great for my complexion (blonde, fair skin). I wore a gold and crystal statement necklace and gold sandals for an outdoor wedding event. I was juggling my kids (toddler and an infant) at the event. The top layer of fabric ended up pretty wrinkly as a result of them sitting on my lap and crawling on me. It was noticeable in photos and didn't really flatten out as I stood and walked around. Lovely dress. I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 9, 2014
Casual and Pretty
I wore this for a rustic, daytime wedding. Lightweight so a slip was needed but very pretty with a unique color. Very comfortable and flattering. I wore beige high heels to dress it up a little, but flats would work well too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Great color and style
I wore this dress to a graduation. I loved the ombre color and the style - conservative yet stylish. I wore the size 6 which fit very comfortably minus the bust area. I think this dress was meant to be worn by someone with a smaller chest. Other than that, I received lots of compliments and thought it was perfect for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2014
I wore this dress for a wedding and lots of people were saying how much they loved it!
I tried on the 2 first and it fit so well, I didn't bother to try on the 4! It's a super comfortable dress and it flows very nicely. Great for dancing! The color is also really nice and it's quite flattering! It is a little bit sheer, though, at the top. Still, I wish I could buy it. It's that good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2014
First rental success!
This dress fit as expected. The color was great and it was perfect for an outdoor wedding in a rural area. Easy to dance/move around and overall a low maintenance yet beautiful dress. This was my first rental and I was impressed with how seamlessly everything went.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 6, 2014
Prefect dress for night out
I rented this for dinner on my anniversary. The color was beautiful and the dress fit perfectly. I loved that I could wear a real bra and that the dress was loose enough on bottom to feel comfortable through a large and decadent meal. I would absolutely rent this again in a second.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 5, 2014
Overall it was nice
I liked the dress, though I wish it fit. I was unable to wear it to my event. The top, though described as roomy and good for all chest sizes, was surprisingly tight.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
I wrote this dress for my graduation. It was ~90 degrees outside and it worked well under the robes!
The 2 (that had been the recommended size for me) was tight around my armpits and around my chest so I wore the size 4. It fit great and I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I liked that I was able to dress it up or down, mainly depending on the weather. It was wrinkled when it came out of the box but I hung it in my bathroom for 2 days and the wrinkles came right out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 30, 2014
Perfect dress for an outdoor Texas wedding that was on the casual side.
The dress fit very well and the cut was flattering. The color was really beautiful although not the best for my skin tone (my fault, not the dresses!) I was allowed to enjoy the heavy delicious food at the wedding without feeling constricted. I received a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 27, 2014
I felt unstoppable in this dress. I got lots of compliments on it.
Fit is true to size. Very light and airy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2014
Easy and pretty
I rented this for a bridal shower, and it was perfect for a Sunday afternoon event. I'm a bridesmaid and the dress was flowy enough that I could sit on the ground with the flower girls to help with present-opening while still being a lady. Both the 0 and the 2 fit me almost identically, but I found the 2 to be a little more comfortable in the elastic at the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 24, 2014
The RTR site was easy to use and customer service was exceptional !
When the dresses arrived I noticed it didn't come with the tied belt that is shown in the pic . I called the customer service number and they overnighted me the belts which made a huge difference ! I even received an email reassuring me when they arrived to my house ! The dress is light and love the flare to it ! I wish it had a zipper on the side because it was a little difficult to get on over the head, but it worked ! I received a lot of compliments and I would definitely order from RTR again !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2014
Nice Dress!
I didn't end up wearing this one because we couldn't make it back to our hotel (where I had the package sent to) before the rehearsal dinner. I wore it later that night just hanging out with friends and it was still great! I loved the breezy fabric although it was a little sheer (my strapless bra was visible through the white part but it just looked like the dress had a sweetheart neckline underneath) This might have been because I wore a size 4 and it was a little big for me but this was my backup dress and I didn't want it to not fit. All said and done it was still a great dress, love RTR!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×