Blue Sea Mist Dress

$37 to buy
$245 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ocean-inspired in this ombre flutter dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston.

Also available in orange.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable fit throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted – fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue ombre silk chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Gathered waist with detachable belt. Back keyhole with button closure. No zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
209 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(141)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2013
I got so many compliments from everyone!
The size is definitely true to size and so comfortable. I loved the fit and the colors!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 13, 2013
SHEER! But an absolutely gorgeous dress!
This dress is even more stunning in person. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and then out for drinks afterward, and I was comfortable the entire time. I wore a strapless bra, but I could have definitely gotten away with wearing a regular one. The colors are so vibrant and the movement of the dress is perfect! The only con I can mention, is how incredibly sheer the dress was. I am amazed that many reviewers didn't even mention it! Like, even with nude undies, you could definitely see what was going on. I ended up borrowing a nude slip last minute from a friend, which saved the day. I would not have been able to wear it otherwise!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 14, 2013
Conservative And Yet Very Chic
I wore this dress my my end of the year thespian awards ceremony. As someone who was presenting awards I was required to dress professionally but I wanted to stick out at the same time. This dress is nothing less than a show stopper, I received compliments all night! The fabric falls gracefully to show off natural curves. I would not suggest this dress for shorter girls if they are looking for something above the knee. But overall a fantastic dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 14, 2013
Perfect for engagement photos
This is a beautiful dress that is perfect for spring/summer. I wore it for our engagement photos in Central Park. The fit is flow-y without being over the top and the ombré coloring looked great in all of the photos. We even made it into the NY times announcements!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2013
What a girly dress!
I felt beautiful wearing this dress, loved the color and style!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 23, 2013
Comfortable, pretty and versatile dress!
I rented this dress twice for my 15-year old daughter. She does not like dresses at all but loved this dress and said it is the only dress she'll ever wear so we ended up buying it. The sizing is very forgiving. She usually wears a 2 but the 4, which she wore the first time, was fine too. She even tried on the 6 at one point and it was passable. As others have noted, it is a very versatile dress both in terms of how you can dress it up or down but also across ages. I am 50 and could easily imagine wearing the same dress. The dress is modest and conservative without being dowdy and you can make it more edgy with your styling. Undergarment choice was easy. It's a winner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2013
The dress is very flattering and a beautiful color.
This dress is great- although it has straps, be prepared to wear a strapless bra due to avoid showing your straps!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 8, 2013
Beautiful color, comfortable fit
First RTR experience and it was great! They even sent a cute pair or shades with the dresses. Pros: Light fabric was nice for hot weather, comfortable fit, beautiful fabric Cons: wrinkles very easily, a little see thru so i recommend nude under garments, and definitely wear a racer back bra style. Also, the top was a little restrictive, so if you have a larger chest, get your second one a size up, just in case.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2013
Loved the ombre!
I wear a size 6 normally and had to wear the size 4. The size 6 came with a missing button, a little bummed but thankfully the 4 fit just fine. I reached out to customer service and they promptly responded to my request of the missing button. Dress is light and comfortable to wear at an outdoor wedding but also easily wrinkles.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS!
This dress was not only comfortable, but perfect for a hot summer wedding. I received numerous compliments at the wedding and highly recommend this dress. Its loose, but fitting and complimented my body type nicely. I paired this dress with nude pumps and a multi-layered pearl necklace (which I also rented).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
July 21, 2013
Beautiful back-up for my back-up dress!
Originally I did not order this Erin Fetherston dress, but the Tibi dress I ordered (as a back-up) for a weekend event didn't get back to RTR on time, so stylist Talia emailed me to ask what I would like for another back-up dress. I am glad I went with this beautiful blue dress! It was light and flowing and easy to pop off and on with just a button closure on a keyhole opening in the back. The elasticized waist was comfy and would be very forgiving for days when you might feel a little "fluffier" than normal. It was a nice modest length on me, particularly since I decided to wear it to church. There is a white underskirt under the sheer layer, but I did put on a nude slip because I was going to church and didn't know how it would look in the bright sunlight. I highly recommend this dress, and I will rent it again as a FIRST choice for a future event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
July 30, 2013
It was okay, not great.
The fit was odd. I am not busty (AT ALL) and it was tight in both the size 2 and 4.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
August 6, 2013
Beautiful color.
It was a flattering fit, although a bit tight in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 7, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering dress for a bridal shower lunch
Great fit and color. The only con is that the arm holes come down a bit low so I had to try several bras before I found one that didn't show.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 26, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!!
I absolutely loved this dress. I rented it for a rehersal dinner and got soo many complements. It fit perfectly. It had a little flow to it which was nice. Would totally rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 30, 2013
great dress, very comfortable
I wore this dress to Saratoga Race track for a saturday afternoon of racing in the Lux suites. It was very comfortable for a day in and out of the hot sun. actually rented the same dress in the orange for 2 weeks later when we were back at the track again! loved it, and would def rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 16, 2013
n
Had to size up because of the bust fit.... found it to be snug in that area. Because of this the rest of the dress was a little "big" on me. However I seemed to be the only one who noticed!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
September 16, 2013
Tons of compliments!
I am three months pregnant and needed a dress that would fit my little bump, ever growing larger chest, and still look fashionable. This was the perfect dress. It was very flattering and I received a ton of compliments. Make sure you wear a good bra as you can definitely look frumpy if you don’t. Overall it was very comfortable and flirty.
ColleenMarch 3, 2014
How well do you think this dress would work for a bigger bump? I'm thinking about renting it for an event when I will be six months pregnant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous color
This dress was beautiful, light, and flirty. The length was great on me, and I felt that this dress was perfect for an outdoor wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 2, 2013
Perfect, beautiful dress for a humid wedding. BBQ eating totally possible and comfortable.
I'm an eater so it was critical that I have a dress that made me feel pretty but also allowed me to eat a lot of BBQ at a Texas wedding. This dress fit every requirement. Size 10 looked good on me and if I really wanted to binge that would have been the dress to go. But the 8 was perfect. Belt is critical or else you don't look very polished. Got a lot of compliments with this dress. Perfect in humid weather.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 7, 2013
great graduation dress
This dress was perfect for the event. It did wrinkle really easily as you can see in the photos but over all I really liked it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 4, 2013
Cute and comfortable
I picked this dress for our engagement party. It was perfect for a casual party where I wanted to look nice; not super dressy but very pretty. The blue ombre is lovely, and the material is very comfortable. The dress was a little thinner than I had imagined, so--if I had planned properly--I would have worn a camisole or a light tank underneath the dress since the outline of my bra showed a bit. Definitely cute though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2013
When the gay bartender gives you a compliment, you know you look good!
I took my husband to a jazz concert in Chicago for his birthday. This dress was perfect for the occasion...so beautiful! He thought I looked amazing and so did I. You can dress it up or down with a variety of accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2014
Fun, Flirty Number!
I wore this dress to an outdoor fundraiser event and felt confident in this choice. I like the blue ombré and it can easily be paired with a chunky necklace. It was windy the day I wore it, so I occasionally had to hold the bottom down to prevent any peekaboo into private areas.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2014
wore this to a wedding. love the color and simple neckline. easy to dress up or down.
the top was a little tight on me, but i liked the flowiness of the bottom. i am short so it looked different on me than in the picture on the website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2014
Perfect for a graduation party!
Worn in early May so a perfect dress for spring!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
February 26, 2014
This dress photographs beautifully!
It fit true to size and was very comfortable and conservative. It was fun to dance in, as it has room to twirl in! I looked at previous women's photos and wore the sash backwards as well. You will get plenty of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2014
Comfortable and pretty!
It fits really well, and is comfortable and flowy. Low maintenance and pretty. Perfect for dancing all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2014
Beautiful dress with unique color!
This dress is beautiful! I loved the blue ombre, and it wears so easily! I got so many compliments all night and it's a great spring/summer event dress. The dress is pretty sheer, even with an additional liner sewn into the skirt. I wore an additional slip to hide panty lines, so I recommend wearing another base. I wore a size 6, as it fits true to size. The 6 appeared to have been worn many times prior (because it is such a great dress!), but it also had been cleaned many times as well. The white wasn't as white as the picture suggests, but the dress still had a great ombre effect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
Gorgeous color and dress, especially for the rental price!
My mom rented this to wear to my bridal shower and it looked great on her! The color is a gorgeous light blue to teal, and is forgiving in the tummy area, which my mom needed. Gorgeous dress, especially for the rental price!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2014
Perfect dress for a friend's Rehearsal Dinner.
This dress is beautiful! The ombre coloring was even prettier in person. I was nervous the 6 wouldn't fit since this was my second option dress rental and I wasn't getting a back-up size, but it fit perfectly! I loved everything about this dress, wish I owned it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 20, 2014
I wore the dress for a cocktail party on a weekend cruise for my company
Very floaty material is super comfortable, I did have to kind of roll the slip into the elastic because it was longer than the overlay but it stayed in place once I tied the belt over it. It was a bit tight in the chest (definitely size up for bustier girls) but it wasn't uncomfortable. Got sooo many compliments on it :) Definitely a great experience as a first time renter, definitely keeping RTR in mind for future events and have sent pretty much half of my coworkers the link to the website!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2014
Nice Dress!
I didn't end up wearing this one because we couldn't make it back to our hotel (where I had the package sent to) before the rehearsal dinner. I wore it later that night just hanging out with friends and it was still great! I loved the breezy fabric although it was a little sheer (my strapless bra was visible through the white part but it just looked like the dress had a sweetheart neckline underneath) This might have been because I wore a size 4 and it was a little big for me but this was my backup dress and I didn't want it to not fit. All said and done it was still a great dress, love RTR!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 24, 2014
The RTR site was easy to use and customer service was exceptional !
When the dresses arrived I noticed it didn't come with the tied belt that is shown in the pic . I called the customer service number and they overnighted me the belts which made a huge difference ! I even received an email reassuring me when they arrived to my house ! The dress is light and love the flare to it ! I wish it had a zipper on the side because it was a little difficult to get on over the head, but it worked ! I received a lot of compliments and I would definitely order from RTR again !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2014
Easy and pretty
I rented this for a bridal shower, and it was perfect for a Sunday afternoon event. I'm a bridesmaid and the dress was flowy enough that I could sit on the ground with the flower girls to help with present-opening while still being a lady. Both the 0 and the 2 fit me almost identically, but I found the 2 to be a little more comfortable in the elastic at the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 27, 2014
I felt unstoppable in this dress. I got lots of compliments on it.
Fit is true to size. Very light and airy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 30, 2014
Perfect dress for an outdoor Texas wedding that was on the casual side.
The dress fit very well and the cut was flattering. The color was really beautiful although not the best for my skin tone (my fault, not the dresses!) I was allowed to enjoy the heavy delicious food at the wedding without feeling constricted. I received a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
I wrote this dress for my graduation. It was ~90 degrees outside and it worked well under the robes!
The 2 (that had been the recommended size for me) was tight around my armpits and around my chest so I wore the size 4. It fit great and I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I liked that I was able to dress it up or down, mainly depending on the weather. It was wrinkled when it came out of the box but I hung it in my bathroom for 2 days and the wrinkles came right out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 6, 2014
Prefect dress for night out
I rented this for dinner on my anniversary. The color was beautiful and the dress fit perfectly. I loved that I could wear a real bra and that the dress was loose enough on bottom to feel comfortable through a large and decadent meal. I would absolutely rent this again in a second.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2014
First rental success!
This dress fit as expected. The color was great and it was perfect for an outdoor wedding in a rural area. Easy to dance/move around and overall a low maintenance yet beautiful dress. This was my first rental and I was impressed with how seamlessly everything went.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×