Up in the Air Dress

$71 to buy
$335 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll flirt your way through the party in this adorable ERIN Erin Fetherston white and yellow color blocking dress. Look fab for the summer fun days but going with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ivory Genesha Bangle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust, fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White and yellow crepe(100% polyester; lining:100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(63)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 20, 2012
I was told that this yellow dress looked great with my skin tone! I couldn't agree more!
The skirt looks great, especially if you have big hips. Very tight top and difficulty zipping it up. Overall, loved the way the skirt flowed!
JaimeMay 18, 2013
Do you have any other clothing that you have rented from this site? I am similar in size to you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2012
Fit issues.
My first fit issue with a dress I've rented from RTR. I do have a somewhat larger than normal ribcage, but a size 6 in a dress that runs "small" usually fits me. Well, this one didn't. Couldn't zip around my ribcage. Not totally surprised, based on some other reviews. Also, the white on the top wasn't as pure white as I had hoped. Skirt is super cute and bright, and if the top had fit it would have been nice for the wedding. Oh well, not going to get them all right!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2012
unable to wear
This dress is absolutely beautiful, but is definitely designed for a petite, narrow girl. I am a swimmer with very wide shoulders, and the one shoulder style of this dress did not fit my frame. The length and proportion were perfect even though I am tall (5'10), but I could not get the front to fit correctly across my shoulders. Disappointed I didn't get to wear this one...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 10, 2012
This was my first rental. I was so nervous about the size and the fit. It was perfect. I got so many compliments. So often birthdays fall short of expectation. This dress helped me have a night to remember.
I wore this for a low-key night out for my birthday. I paired it with the earrings it's shown with (Kenneth Lane). It was perfect. I feel like my shape isn't always easy to flatter, but this worked in all the right places. It was cut well and fit just right. No discomfort at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
August 10, 2012
Fun dress to dance in!
This dress was great for the wedding that I attended the first weekend in August. I got compliments on it and so many girls wanted to know how rent the runway worked. I had the dress sent to my hotel and it was waiting in me when I got there. The dress fit very well but the zipper was very hard to zip over the white section. I did think that the higher waist and thick section on top made me look a little wider than i would have liked but the dress was still pretty on. I will certainly use rent the runway again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 13, 2012
Sassy, Sexy, Fun!
I ordered this dress for a summer, outdoor wedding in the countryside. I got a ton of compliments, and a handful of jealous stares. It's perfect for dancing, and there is nothing to fuss with. It's true to size, but if you have a larger torso/rib cage for your size, I'd recommend going one size up. I wore a zero, and was perfectly comfortable all night! I only gave this a 4 instead of a 5 because of the smell. I can't pinpoint the smell, but it was probably mothballs or odd dry cleaning practices. I'd recommend giving it a shot of Febreeze and giving it some time out of the garment bag before wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
I loved how the dress flowed when I walked and danced. It was the perfect dress for a summer wedding.
I wore this to a day time wedding in Cape Cod. I loved it so much. My mom and friends all loved it. My boyfriend was not a huge fan, but I loved it so much I didn't care. It's very and princess like. It is not a sexy dress, but I felt very pretty in it all night. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
I was impressed by Rent the Runway because of their efficiency and professionalism. The dress came clean and ready to wear and the return policy is very easy and fair. The jewelry I rented was great, too!
Wore this for my wedding rehearsal and loved it. The skirt blew in the breeze and the one shoulder strap is flattering. Lots of compliments and little to pay!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
the fit was worry-free and it had such fun colors!
Really enjoyed this fun two-tone dress! The top is tight (in a good way) and flattering, and then the bottom is flowy / loose / easy to move in. It was nice not to have to worry about making sure the straps stay up or nothing falls out etc etc. If you like wearing white but don't want to upstage a bride this would be a nice option. You can dance all night in this dress (see pic). Might wash out paler people, but overall I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Cute! Cute! Cute!
I LOVED this dress! It fit great and I loved the color! I rented this for my 30th Birthday Party, only to be surprised with a themed party I was unable to wear it to. I will definitely be renting it again when I have an opportunity to actually wear it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
August 21, 2012
The way dress made this moment perfect!
I rented this dress for a ball at a country club. This dress is beautiful on and I recieved so many compliments throughout the night. My favorite part of this dress was how flowy the skirt was... it was great for dancing and so comfortable. The only reason why I ranked this dress a 4 star was because I really needed the size 2, but the 2 that I recieved; the white ruching on the top was unstitched and looked messy when I tried it on (looked like it had broke). I had to wear the 4 which was a little big, but looked much better. Other than that small problem I absoutley loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 26, 2012
Not for me
Not impressed with the fit. Cute dress but something just wasn't right. Ended up sending it back. I think the waist is a little high for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2012
Bright & unique!
I wore this to an August wedding and got so many compliments. I love RTR because no one ever has the same dress! I agree with other reviewers; it is tight in the ribcage and the side zipper is a little tough to pull up just over the part of the seam where the yellow fabric meets the white, yet was a little big in the chest area on the side opposite the zipper. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 139lbs
August 28, 2012
Perfect for summer wedding
I wore this for a summer wedding on the beach. It was perfect and stunning and I got so many compliments. It was a little tight at the waist, but not enough to bother me. I paired it with a turquoise pashmina for when the sun went down and the colors just popped. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 4, 2012
Cute, but not flattering
I was looking forward to this dress for a Chicago wedding, but ended up wearing my backup dress as this poufed out a lot at the hips where the yellow fabric starts making me look very large in that area. Also VERY hard to zip this where the yellow and white meet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 10, 2012
No complaints with the customer service so far.
I loved the flowy-ness of this dress. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and our first date as husband and wife and it was gorgeous. The only complaint for me is that the bust was a little small and I prefer to wear dresses that have a larger arm hole; that is why I wore the size four instead of the size 2 that I normally wear. If you typically wear a size 2 and have a smaller bust, you will be fine. (I am a 34C...) Lastly, I didn't wear a bra, and there was no issue with the top being see-through. And the chiffon adds the elegance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 10, 2012
Love this dress, Love this service!
I rented this dress for a wedding at the Aldrich Mansion in Rhode Island this past weekend, so much fun to wear, comfortable,and great to dance in - received many, many compliments. Only caution: the zipper is tough to raise from the yellow part of the dress to the white. Will never buy another dress for a formal event again only to have it hang in my closet forever, returning the items was virtually effortless - RTR is my new religion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Whenever I'm wearing something from RTR, I feel beautiful and confident!
I loved the colors and how flowy and light the dress is. I wore this for dinner out in West Palm Beach. Great fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Prompt arrival, easy return!
I rented this dress for my wedding shower. Not only was I showered with presents, but I was also showered with compliments on my dress. I am a 34B and the chest fit perfectly so I wasn't tugging at the side all day. This dress was comfortable and I also liked how when I sat down I didn't feel like I was flashing all of my guests. Overall, a lovely dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2012
First dress I've rented and was so happy with my choice
Perfect dress for a summer wedding! Loved the dress, only complaint was that a piece of boning kept poking me
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Perfect Summer Fling Dress
I wore this dress to my good friend's bridal shower. The cut is fantastic! True to size, although if you are larger up top, I suggest going a size up, because the fabric doesn't allow for much give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
So beautiful and flowy.
The ruching on the top is so nice and the fabric is of good quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Odd fit and 80's style material= not a dress for me!
I wanted to love this dress...but the fit of the dress was crazy! I have a small ribcage and I couldnt zip the 4 or the 6 up because it was so tight. I think you need to be completely flat chested with a tiny ribcage for this dress to work. I also didnt love the material of this dress. The yellow looked a little 80s prom to me. Sent both sizes back unworn!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
elegant and fun
i wore this to a semi formal engagement party and it was absolutely perfect! it was comfortable and breezy in the 100+ degree weather. would definitely rent again. had a little trouble with the zipper where the white material reaches the yellow, but we made it work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 173lbs
September 24, 2012
First experience with RTR and I loved it!
I typically wear a size 10 but unfortunately they didnt have it so after reading some reviews I decided to try the 12. The dress was a little big in the top but it was doable without much pulling up of the top while dancing. The rouching up top was a little worn in and the hook in eye was extremely loose but it is still a beautiful dress. My only real complaint would be that the bottom is a bit sheer, I tried tan undergarments and even that showed through. I agree with another viewer that the boning pokes a bit but it is not something that turned me off from the dress. Overall I felt absolutely beautiful, when dancing it flowed, and I definitely stood out from the other girls at the wedding. I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2012
Got so many compliments from all ages! It's an elegant, classy, stylish dress, loved it!
I read the other reviews saying the bust was really tight, but I thought it was really comfortable; not tight at all, more flattering than anything. The length was perfect, loved the flowiness of it. The fabric was high quality. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
I loved this dress!! Would love to rent again or even purchase!
The fit was great and it was super comfortable. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and ended up with the 4 that fit perfectly so it does run very small. My only issue is that the size 4 dress had a small snag as well as a light blue stain on the top/front white part of the dress. The blue was faint but still, on white, it is hard to miss and therefore I was "messing" with it throughout the night, trying to hide it. :/ All in all, great fit, great color and I will definitely get it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2012
I wore this dress to my senior homecoming! I got a lot of compliments, and it was fun to dance in!
The dress fit perfectly! The only issue may be the length. I have very long legs, but I can see someone with a shorter stature feeling that the dress is too long. Other than that, it was a very flowy, comfortable dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 28, 2012
I loved this dress; I got so many compliments.
The dress fit great, although it was a bit snug in the chest area (I'm a 36B). I wanted to order the 4 and the 6, but only the 4 was available, and i went for it. I'm glad it worked out. I loved the colors, the fabric, and the flow. I wore it with blue earrings and a blue ring (no necklace). I found a perfect pair of heels from my closet (a white pair, with blue and yellow stripes). I wore it to a wedding and got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 5, 2012
The dress is beautiful but wasn't the right style/fit for me.
runs a bit small. i have a 34D chest and it wasn't the best cut for me - better on a slim figure. beautiful dress though! perfect for a wedding or luncheon or tea party.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 5, 2012
First RTR experience, and it was awesome! Tons of compliments!
This was an excellent choice for the end of summer wedding I was attending. My boyfriend helped pick it out with me and I wore it with high grey peep toe heels and bright earrings, and I got so many compliments throughout the night. The only slight complaints were that it was a little long (and I'm 5'6) and that the top was definitely tight -- I'm busty and I had to go braless and it was still tight. I loved the color and flowy-ness of the skirt! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 7, 2012
I got lots of complements!
The dress fits very tightly on the top and the fabric doesn't stretch at all. I loved the dress though and it was perfect for the occasion. The dress runs pretty small so be aware when ordering your size and back-up size.
SarahJanuary 14, 2013
You look great! Do you know where your friends dress is from?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
October 10, 2012
too small!
Don't rent this dress if your chest is bigger than an A cup! The dress was very cute but unfortunately way too small on the chest, the fabric is not stretchy at all. Definitely need to size up for this one.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Very pretty, but not pleased with the rental, at all.
The only reason I feel this dress deserves 2 stars is because I still think its pretty and I did receive compliments on it, however the structure of the dress and the two different sizes were completely different. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I tried the 2 on first, everything with the dress itself seemed fine, but I could not get the zipper past the midsection. So, I tried the 4. Immediately I noticed that the 4 had wiring lined in the top part, which the 2 did not. Again, the zipper was difficult to get up, even though it fit just fine, in addition to the difficult zipper, the metal clamp to connect the dress was broken and missing half a hook. Once the dress was on, the broken clamp stuck out an extra 1/2", since I couldnt clamp it. I used a bobby pin to flatten it out. Then I started noticing the wiring in the top, it was uneven, one corner stuck out onto the skirt, giving the white part a point in one corner (thank god the wiring bent, I just tucked it under), while the other side looked fine, but the wiring stuck out and kept poking me. Then I started looking at the skirt. I noticed 4 grease stains, small, but right in the middle of the skirt, it was pleated so you couldnt really, its a rental, I can deal with that, but then I noticed the huge seam of the skirt stretching from the front center, down to the bottom. The pleats disguised this, but once you sat down, you cold see it. I also found this dress on a 'petite' thread, and I disagree about it looking that good on someone petite. If it wasnt for my 5inch heels, this dress would have looked awful for my small frame. It actually kept me from taking my heels off all night, which in most cases, I would have done. I'm honestly just confused on why the size 2 and 4 were so different from each other structurally. All the problems with the size 4, didnt exist in the size 2. It was almost as if a seamstress completely rebuilt the dress that I rented for the sake of still being able to rent it out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
I paired this dress with a vintage FAO Schwartz purse for my graduation from The New School.
For some reason, I decided in my mind that the white part of this dress would be cotton. When it arrived, it was the same as the crepe on the bottom. This made the top pull a bit more than I would have liked...consider a size up, or taping the girls. However, I did get a ton of compliments, especially with the asymmetrical hem being the hot look for summer. Turquoise accents really make it pop.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2012
I wore this dress to my brother's wedding and everyone LOVED it! Even the photographer wanted a pic
The dress was true to size and fit perfectly. I loved the "mullet" style. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2012
Couldn't wear it- was literally the smallest size 0 I've ever seen
Runs very very small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2012
White was not so white
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding and was not able to wear it because the top was more of an off-white and didn't look right. Also, the material for the dress is thin (making it very lightweight and ideal for summer occasions) and there were lots of tiny pulls on the fabric. Although it didn't look unclean, it just looked worn.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2012
Top tighter than expected
The top portion is very tight. I normally have no problem fitting into the top portion of dresses, as I have a very small bust. I could barely zip this dress up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2013
Perfect for a Beach Wedding
I wore this dress to a beach wedding in Mexico. It fit perfectly, although the zipper was a little hard to zip. Strangely, my backup size (6) felt smaller than the size 4 I ended up wearing. The skirt is a little shorter in front than I anticipated, but not unwearably so. Looks great with nude and gold accessories.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×