Elizabeth and James

Flare Up The Volume Mini

$92 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Make him fall in love on that first date by wearing this flirty Elizabeth and James flare sleeve mini. An easy fit and great color for a night of romance! Shown here with the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and Elizabeth Cole’s Crystal Navette Bloom Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted – dress loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – loosely fitted in skirt for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe de chine(100% silk). Three quarter bell sleeves. Crew neckline with front button slit. Shift body. Lined. 33 ½” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(33)
Small
(0)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34A
August 26, 2015
Really great dress, would rent it again. One I was sad to send back!
EASY, comfortable and flattering fit.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
January 24, 2017
Comfortable & classy!
This dress was perfect for my event- It was extremely comfortable. The fabric was nice & very appropriate for a winter party. It's an elegant dress but also casual enough that I didn't feel overdressed at all. Loved it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 31, 2012
This was my first time renting and was a little apprehensive. I WILL definitely rent again.
I loved this dress. I wore it with the tassel earrings shown in the picture, and got many compliments. I own 2 Elizabeth and James dresses, both in size small, so I ordered both small and medium. The size small was slightly large but still looked great. I would definitely rent this dress again. The size medium was perfect but the small was very wrinkled and had to take it to be pressed.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
Statement Dress!
This dress was my second choice for my 30-year high school reunion. I really liked the way it fit -- not too clingy, but not too loose -- and the sleeves are a show-stopper! The dress is a bit theatrical, and would be perfect with drop-dead heels and over-the-top earrings and bracelet, but for my event it was a bit too fancy. I went with my second choice, but would rent this one again for a different event.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
I was thankful I didn't have to think too hard about what I was going to wear.
Fit well and was comfortable.
kimberlyNovember 19, 2012
Hi Cindy, I am 5'8 and 125 lbs. close to your size- dd you think this dress was SUPER short? It looks okay in RTR pictures but saw it on Neimam Marcus website and it looked like she was wearing a top with no bottoms:( what was your take? I am planning on wearing opaque hose but fear it is going to be super short on me. Appreciate your feedback. Kimberly
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2012
I wore this dress at the Miss New Jersey USA pageant for opening number!
The fit runs big so I am glad I got a small, I could have worn an x-small. I got so many compliments on the dress and it was easy to dance in for the opening number!
SandraOctober 8, 2013
Hi Hailey. This dress looks fantastic and fun on you. I am thinking about it for a large charity western-themed gala. Do you think it is a dress that one could wear fancy cowboy boots? It seems to have a country/western flair. Would you agree? We are the same size (exactly!), and you think an xs would have been better? Thanks so much for your response!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2012
It's unlike anything else I own
It's a great LBD with a twist! I will definitely be renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 2, 2012
Could ahve worked buty was too big. Better for a taller person!
Loved the quality, it was very soft and comfortable and loved the bell sleeve. To big everywhere and the length was definately not for a petite person. It went down to my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 24, 2012
Wore this to my husband's office christmas party!
The dress was very flattering and unique. The material was very light but because of the sleeves I was able to throw on boots and transform it into a very wintery look. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2013
Being a little sexy, and funky while having fun at the party!
I ordered both a medium and large in this dress, as I was concerned with the length, but I ended up wearing the medium. I put that this dress runs large because it is a loose cut, so some people may be able to wear a smaller size than usual. The length is short enough to be sassy, but long enough to cover what needs to be covered when you move around. The fabric is lightweight and swingy, so it's great for even a more casual party, like the one I went to, but it can easily be dressed up if need be. My only issue with this dress was the facing on the inside of the keyhole--it tends to flap around and stick out of the neckline. However, since RTR sends fashion tape with your order, I used a little of that to make it stay. I would totally suggest getting this dress--I would buy it if I could afford to own it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2013
A fun, "little black dress".
This dress was very flattering, just watch the sleeves if you're trying to eat! ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2013
Loved this!
I loved this dress! I wore it for New Year's Eve and it was perfect! It wasn't that showy, but it fit great and was very flattering. It was a great party dress because I wasn't worried about it being tight or falling off. I would definately wear this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Breathtaking unusual dress.
This is a major twist on the little black dress. I wore this dress to celebrity tribute event. If you have curves, don't want to show them all, but still want to look sexy this is the dress for you. Beware that it is very short...so short that it makes it difficult to wear spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 28, 2013
This dress is a show stopper!
It's not the typical 'fitted', body contouring design...but it's really stunning. I got compliments all night long. Very well made and couldn't possibly be more comfortable unless it were actual pajamas! I coupled it with about 20 bangles on one arm and it was gorgeous. I wore this with wood wedge slingback platforms...so cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 10, 2013
Elegant and Beautiful
i will be wearing this dress to a wine and jazz event. I love the sleeves on the dress. They make the dress diffrent than your typical black dress. The dress does run a little big and it is a little longer than it looks on the model in the picture. I was a little worried it would be to short for the event but it is right above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2013
Loved this dress.
Flattering, 60's inspired dress - I was channeling Megan Draper!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 23, 2013
Great dress, perfect for my body type & super comfy
This dress was perfect for my body type right now (I'm heavier than I usually am) and this dress is very slimming. It runs big, so I wore the Medium - and I loved it!! I felt comfortable and stylish at a red carpet event with my husband. :) The only thing I would mention is to definitely get the garment tape - the inside flap in the front "flies up" without it.... but tape helped
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2013
The Perfect Black Dress
I have rented this dress two times already. If I could find it, I would buy it! I received so many compliments both times: once at a Rehearsal dinner and a work cocktail party. It is fun and appropriate at the same time. I will probably rent again!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2013
It was just plain fun to get a cute dress in a box.
Dress was great. Only complaint was that the lining in the keyhole neck wasn't stitched properly, still didn't lie flat even after I ironed it. Added a red fabric rose from the Melrose flea market and a pair of Christian Louboutin black patent leather pumps, and felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 13, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
I normally wear a 6, and the small fit great! The only issue was the flap at the top kept coming out. They should've sewn it into the dress. Other than that, I loved the dress, and I plan to rent it again for an upcoming party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2013
Sexy without Revealing
Took this non-traditional LBD with me on a business trip to New Orleans. It was PERFECT for a night of salsa. The dress looked better than my amateur salsa moves. ; ) It concealed my belly yet allowed me to look and feel sexy. Great dress. I'd buy this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2013
Excellent service, easy to wear dress.
The dress is very well made and comfortable. As mentioned by other reviewers, the keyhole at the front gaps a bit, but the garment tape does the trick. Very simple and fun dress. RTR is fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2013
This is a fun dress!
Very comfortable to wear, but remember not to bend over, it is short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2013
Loved the way this dress fit and the flowy sleeves were so fun!
Fit true to size and it wasn't form fitting, which I loved!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2014
This dress was so much fun to wear!
I loved wearing this dress. The fabric is silky smooth against your skin and so comfortable. It is flattering without accentuating any problem areas. You can comfortably wear a normal bra and underwear without worrying about slip ups. As others have mentioned, the fabric in the keyhole likes to flip up, but it really was not a problem. I ordered a medium and a small for backup because others mentioned it runs big. I found the small was more flattering. This dress is especially fun for dancing. The fluttery sleeves add that extra flair. Definitely recommend this dress. You will be comfortable and have fun wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2014
Loved this! Very gothic, yet chic look! Great dress for a themed party, night out, or even work!
This dress runs very very big! Wish i would have sized down. Ended up adding a belt!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 24, 2014
Not having to stress over my dress.
This dress fit true to size for me. I can't say enough positive words about my experience with RTR. It was an awesome first experience renting from them and I DEFINATELY will rent from them again. The experience couldn't have been more stress free and easy. 5 stars all the way for RTR.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148lbs
April 7, 2014
I love this dress!!!!!! I strongly recommend rent it. My Boyfriend loved it!! He was blown away !!
This dress can be worn to ANY event. It's CLASSY, FUNKY, SEXY, RETRO & FUN..... You can dress it up or down but either way you'll stand out in a crowd. The dress is very well made the material is silky but NOT thin, very flattering on and hangs just right. The sleeves are BEAUTIFUL they give the dress that FUNKY/ RETRO feel which I love...... The pic does NO justice for this dress much better looking when you receive it!!! Now for sizing I ordered sm & med. I my opinion the dress is true to size in the bust area. I tried on the small first and it fit every where but the bust area, it was just little snug for me. It was snug in the cup area. Now some ladies would've decided to wear it but I chose not to. I'm a 34D, I tried on the med and fell madly in love. It was perfect!!!! As other renters have said you might need to iron down the inside of the keyhole part of the dress but other then that GREAT DRESS I WILL BE RENT IT AGAIN!!! Got tons of compliments!!!! Thank you RTR for a STRESS FREE fun night!!!!
TrixieApril 8, 2014
Sorry rent should be renting...... =)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2014
My husband loved this .
It runs a size down . I'm usually a small. The front cleavage part of the dress needs to be tacked as it did not stay flat. The dress feels like a million dollars on. Would differently rent this again with some double sided tape to feel more comfortable.m Wore it with a sharp pair of michael kor boots.. LOVE THE SLEEVES
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2014
Gorgeous. Classy. Comfortable.
Super elegant. Beautiful fabric. Very comfortable. Can't go wrong with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
May 15, 2014
The sleeves make this dress!
Loved this dress! It was the perfect look for a holiday party in an urban loft. The dress fit well, was super comfortable, and a fun and flirty look for the evening. Paired with fabulous shoes. Got tons of compliments from guys and gals. Would definitely rent this one again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
June 3, 2014
The help with my exchange.
Very flattering . Fits great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
February 19, 2016
This dress was great. It was comfortable, wasn't to short. I will rent again
I read others comments and ordered a small and it fit perfectly. very comfortable. The inside is satin and feels wonderful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 5, 2014
This dress is so fun !
Fit wonderfully and was a very flattering shape. Disappointed I didn't get a picture. Only downside was the material on the inside of the keyhole kept sticking out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2014
The only problem with this dress is that I don't own it!
This was my backup dress and I ended up wearing & loving it. Of all my RtR rentals (and there have been quite a few) this is the one I most wish I had as a permanent part of my closet. It can go almost anywhere and is wildly comfortable, despite being very flattering and super stylish. I didn't have a problem with the lining around the keyhole that some other reviewers called out, so maybe that's been fixed. Don't let the length scare you off -- it gives good coverage, I never felt exposed. Any bra, no spanx, go with or without hose. The fabric is beautifully smooth and weighted, making it a delight to wear and giving it a gorgeous drape. Go for it -- you won't be disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2014
Haute and hip for mommy to be!
Again, another successful customer experience. I asked a stylist to send me "bump friendly" dresses for an evening wedding. I fell in love with the unique bell sleeves and otherwise simplicity of this dress. I didn't have much of an issue with the key hole flipping out after I starched and lightly ironed it. Only (small) issue I had, was serving myself food from the buffet- I had to be super cautious my sleeves weren't getting in all the grub! The medium fit great over my then, 6 months preggo, 158 lb frame. I paired with Loren Hope statement earrings and a big ring.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 4, 2014
Perfect dress for the party
Many compliments all night! So comfortable & easy & so cute!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2014
Channeled Meghan Draper for my Mad (Wo)Men Bridal Shower
Comfortable, stylish, fit the 60s theme without being 'costumey'. Tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 22, 2014
Loved my first experience with RTR!
Wore this dress to a wedding rehearsal dinner. I was nervous because the medium wasn't available (I rarely wear a small in anything), but because of the flowy style the small worked just fine. I'm 5'5 & it didn't seem too short for a formal dinner. Very comfortable dress & got several compliments. Loved the sleeves! Would definitely rent again & almost wish it was mine to keep, because I feel like this dress could be worn for many different occasions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2014
I absolutely loved the keyhole in the front of this dress!
I was expecting it to be a little looser in the mid-section, but all in all it was a great fit and the sleeves were perfect! The only thing was that the fabric at the bottom of the keyhole kept popping out, but nothing some fabric tape couldn't fix!! Love this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×