Sparkle and Shine Dress

$32 to buy
$510 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The ultimate birthday girl dress! Rent this sequin sensation by Diane von Furstenberg for your big celebration.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Product Details

Black chiffon with sequins. Strapless neckline. Pleated bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 28'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2011

I loved the feel of this dress. I wore it to a black tie event and thought it would be too casual but the sequins, ruching and blingy accessories made this dress perfect for the occasion. I thought the dress was gorgeous. It fit well and sparkled in all the right areas.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34H
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 12, 2011

I fell in love with this dress on the site, and though it was lovely in person, it just didn't work on my (very) full bust, despite the size and fit recommendations. The chiffon draping hung oddly at my chest and changed the entire shape of the dress. Luckily, my backup dress fit me perfectly.

LorianneOctober 12, 2011
I meant to give the dress three stars. OOPS! - Lola
LorianneOctober 12, 2011
I'm also 5'2" Wtf!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 9, 2011
Think twice.

When i first ordered this dress i was really excited, it looked great online. But when i recieved it in the mail the following week i wasnt that excited. The over lay looked cheap and streched out. But with fashion tape every thing was fine. All my friends thought i looked great and i had a great night! Consider it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 11, 2011
great dress

I wore this dress to homecoming and it was amazing ! it was comfortable, and other than being a little snug on my hips it fit great.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 1, 2011
I think just about everyone asked about the dress and thought it was beautiful. I felt like a million bucks without having to spend it!

This was the first time I'd tried RTR. I rented this dress for a banquet event and was a little leery about size and whether it would get there to my house on time. I was more than impressed! The dress arrived on the exact day it was supposed to and was in great condition. I'd actually ordered it in two sizes afraid that it might run small or fit wrong, but it fit true to the size I usually wear and was even more beautiful in-person. It was actually comfortable, too! I would definitely recommend this dress and renting from RTR in the future.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2012
Cute and Fun Dress for Parties

I wore this on NYE and it was perfect - sexy and fun without showing too much skin. I wore it with black tights as it was a colder night and it is fairly short (I'm 5'9"). It defines the waist nicely and the draping was flattering. I'm glad RTR included tape because the top would flop over a bit to reveal the clear rubber-like material that helped keep it up. Overall, very cute and would recommend this dress to a friend!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 17, 2012
Lovely!

I rented this dress in a size 0 (I'm 5'3" 100 lbs) and it fit perfectly! It's really fun and was perfect for my party on new years eve. If I were to have one complaint, though, it would be that the front piece of the dress that wraps around the hips was a little looser than the rest of the dress, presumably from wear. However, it was still really flattering and I would recommend it to petite girls!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 2, 2012
Beautiful dress

I absolutely loved this dress. I am a pretty curvy girl with a small waist so I found that I had plenty of room in the waist area but it was really tight around my butt so size up with your second size if you're curvy would be my best suggestion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2012
Eh

The dress is mediocre. I'm 5'6 with an athletic build and slightly on the skinnier side. The dress isn't the form-fitting dress that I was looking for. The sizes I also received were the appropriate but were a bit stretched.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Great party dress

It was a flattering dress. No stretch and true to size to order a back-up in a larger size just in case! The dress was a hit and it had just enough sparkle to make it stand out.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 21, 2012
LBD

True to size and flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 28, 2012
so much fun!

I wore this to an NYC charity gala, and it was perfect! Just enough sparkle to stand out from the other LBDs, and the length was very flattering for my short stature.

LauraAugust 28, 2012
Katie, did you order another size in this dress and chose to go with the size 2? I'm trying to figure out if I should order down or up on my extra dress and we seem to be about the same size. Thanks in advance!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
So many compliments!

This dress is beautiful - the picture does not do it justice. It runs true to size but has absolutely no stretch so be careful. If you're bigger on the bottom and smaller on the top, like me, your true size should work it's just a little snug in the derriere but not immobilizing. I wore this to a friends wedding last October w/ black tights. It was so chic and fun, I got a ton of compliments.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2012
The dress fit perfectly.

The experience was easy and will continue to use for all formal events, etc.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 17, 2012
Thanks RTR for your fabulous customer service!

Unfortunately, the hotel I had this beautiful dress shipped to ended up misplacing it. While the dress wasn't found until after my event was over, RTR's fabulous customer service gave me credit for it even though they weren't at fault.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
Fun, Classy, Gorgeous!

I rented this dress for my school's homecoming dance.. it stayed comfortable all night, no itchiness or falling down. It was the perfect length, not slutty short but not awkwardly long. It wasn't tight but it is form-fitting in some areas, like one side of the butt. Pictures do not do this dress justice! I tried including some full length pictures so you could see the sparkle, but it just didn't capture on film. I also included a picture of me sitting down so you could see how badly it rides up.. it gets pretty short! It was comfortable to dance in and I even bowled in it afterwards with no riding up or feeling uncomfortable! Overall I loved the experience and revieved many compliments and I will definately be renting again!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2012
I did not wear the dress.

I didn't end up wearing this dress for New Years Eve last year. It was lovely, but just didn't look good on my body. There was no give or stretch in the fabric at all, and for a pear-shaped woman like me, it just didn't work.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2012
HOT!!

This dress looks really cute and almost sweet on the model on the website but don't let it deceive you!! It is a HOT dress!! I don't think I eve looked so good. The dress is pretty short and hugs your body to make you look great!! It's a really great dress and I would rent it again for something else I want to look drop dead gorgeous in.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 9, 2013
Your customer service is exceptional! I was skeptical about this concept but now I love it!

I had no problems at all with this dress. It fits me perfectly! Someone said I was Mrs. Cosmopolitan. LOL! That was a great compliment.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
.

.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
January 1, 2013
I loved the material & sequins- it looked great

Comfortable material, dress stayed in place!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2013
22nd Birthday!

This dress is so pretty and comfortable! It made me feel super confident and special. I will definitely be renting this dress again

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
June 24, 2013
Pretty, simple dress!

I wore this dress for a less conservative holiday work party. My company is huge and strapless/sparkly dresses are fine to wear without feeling inappropriate. However, this dress was underwhelming to me. Usually, if I do RTR I like to rent dresses that stand out and are out of my price range to buy normally e.g. Herve Leger. However this dress, was dare I say, a bit boring? Other than that, it was in great condition. Fit well, and overall looked nice. I suggest wearing if you don't to "stand out". Oh and be careful, this dress seems to be popular as another guest was wearing it as well. It looked good on her too!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
July 20, 2013
Dress arrived on time, like always

I wore this to a winter wedding with black tights. Wasn't my favorite RTR dress - it didn't give me much shape and sort of fell flat. Might have been better to add a metallic belt of some kind. Feel like it's better for more petite girls.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 19, 2013
Beautiful dress, not for my body type

I think this dress is so beautiful, however, I have no curves, and it made me look like a box. I have a larger chest, and it managed to make it look smaller. THe material was great, though, and I can see this looking really good on someone curvy.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2013
Classy and Fun

I wore this dress for a professional photo shoot. I ordered a sizes 2 and 0; the size 2 fit the best. It worked out very well for the photos. It was exactly what I was looking for; something fun yet dressy. Photo by the amazing Bradford Rogne. :) rognephoto.com

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 11, 2014
This dress was very cute and fit very well. I loved the sequin detail.

I am very petite but the 0 fit me perfectly and looked great on!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 29, 2011

Very elegant dress and very easy to wear!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 26, 2014
Perfect for holiday party

This dress was perfect for my company's holiday party. It stayed up pretty well while dancing and I liked that I could hike it up to make it shorter. the sparkles really showed up well in person. I would rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2011

I am a size 4 fit great! Very sexy! Perfect length for my height!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
June 21, 2011

This dress is one of my favorites! It is very comfortable and easy to wear - hides the tummy. The sparkles add just enough fun to it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2011

I absolutely LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I ordered a size 4 and 6, and the 4 fit perfectly.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 2, 2015
So many compliments! Loved this dress!

Beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2011
Classy black dress w/ sparkle

This dress was pretty and paired well with a black blazer for a cover up. The bottom half is pretty fitted and doesn't allow for a whole lot of movement compared to an A line fit. I do think it looks prettier in real life, does not photograph as well. I am 110 lbs and 5 foot 4 inches and the 2 fit very well, the zero was too small.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 132lbs
October 3, 2011

typically wear a size 6 and the 6 was a big snug, so i would order backup a size up (5'2" 130#). the sequins material over the front covers and front bulges you may not want seen, so flattering in that sense. and though i am short, the dress was on the shorter side for me. overall great dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
The gathering was pretty, but ended up making me look chunky around the middle.

It was pretty, and I didn't hate it, but because I have a short torso, I felt like I looked too busty/hippy in it.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 5, 2013
Was told I was the most stunning girl in the room

the dress was great for the formal affair. I loved how it made my boobs looked, but the bottom was a bit worn out on my dress looking loose and not fit to my body like it did on the picture.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 21, 2013
Pretty LBD

Great fit for petite women. Beautiful dress with just enough sparkle to make it stand out without being overdone. The dress did look very worn out though. It was obvious the people who had worn the dress in the past had been tugging downward on the skirt a little...the fabric on the bottom looked pulled and the bottom of the dress was distorted in shape.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34H
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 15, 2013
Awkward fit

This was a really pretty dress, but the fit was completely awkward on me. The ruching didn't hang in flattering way, it sort of bunched and puffed, sagging in places. It looked nothing on me like it did on the model, but for what it's worth I've got a difficult body to properly fit - I wear a G/H cup bra and I'm petite at 5'3."

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
May 21, 2014
cute dress - great for a festive evening wedding

fit great - a little big in the under arm area - but not noticeable

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×