Diane von Furstenberg

Sexy Back Gown

$80 rental
$465 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this open back gown by Diane von Furstenberg. A sexy style to strut your stuff at the black tie event. Go with the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Earring and AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Plum crepe (80% Triacetate, 20% Polyester). Sleeveless. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. T-strap back. Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 38
Large 11
Photos 43
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Absolutely stunning

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous. I could not have been happier. I received so many compliments on the color and the style. This is my first formal DVF gown I've worn and was extremely impressed. If you have any midsection areas you want to hide, the dress offers just a bit of "loose-ness" while still fitting perfectly everywhere else. So happy I rented this one. **I wore this dress with the Kendra Scott Danielle Turquoise earrings** HIghly recommend combining the two together. Great color combo.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Stunning!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The cut made me look sleek and gave me curves that I do not have. The color was great for my pale skin but sadly I was not able to wear it. The event I was going to was a bit on the conservative side and the back of this dress while not risque at all, would have been for this event. I will rent this dress again if another formal event comes up.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Most compliments of any dress ever

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. Both the 2 and 4 fit, but the material is a little stretchy/clingy, so I was worried about undergarments showing in the 2. The fit is amazing, but I will warn that it will show any figure "flaw," so it's not for you if you have a "tummy" issue or the like. I got so many compliments. I think the best part is the back - most people see the front and think it's pretty, and then the back is the big surprise and wow factor. A NuBra woks great with this dress, and there is amble room in the top. Amazing dress I would highly recommend. I'm mad that I don't have a picture to post, but I'm hoping to find one that someone took.
Marika
Age: 29
Nov 21, 2012

Loved it.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The front is flowy and elegant and the back makes a perfect surprise sexy statement.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2012

Classy with a twist!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. The color is a little brighter in person so could be appropriate for many times throughout the year. Wore for a formal fundraiser in October. Snug. Sexy. I wore the NuBra backless strapless bra with it. I also rented a gold collar necklace from RTR and it went together wonderfully. Can't go wrong!
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Great color, Great back, Would rent again!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose to wear the bigger size because I needed the length with the shoes I was wearing. The fit was flattering, and it worked well with a NuBra. The color is fantastic. The dress was forgiving to problem areas, but I did not feel like I was wearing something without shape.
AC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

the color and the back

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit a little loose in the back but great looking in every aspect
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

The color is a great alternative to black!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would strongly recommend this dress. First, the back is beautiful and the real highlight of the dress. I thought i would need to use fashion tape to keep the edges down, but there weren't any gaps. Also, when ordering online, it may be difficult to choose the correct size, but because this dress isn't meant to be worn skin tight, it is more forgiving, and it is more likely to fit you. I normally don't wear a zero (as my mom was quick to point out to me), but the dress runs slightly large. I knew I was going to be standing all night so I wore 1-2 inch heels. The dress dragged a little bit on the ground, but it is not overly long. If you get the regular length, you don't have to kill yourself wearing those 6 inch heels that always seem like a good idea at the beginning of the night that you just end up taking off! I hope you enjoy the dress as much as I did!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

I loved this dress but unfortunately was unable to wear it!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous and very flattering from the front. I am 5'4" and have a short torso. The back strap was a bit too long and buckled in the back. I usually wear a size 10, but the size 8 fit perfectly. I also have a full size D bust and it fit perfectly. The back of this dress is very revealing. At 160lbs, I was a little self conscious of wearing this dress because my back is not toned enough.
Stacie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Wore this to my husbands black-tie work event-can't believe all the compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'7 and typically a size 4; ordered both the 4R and 2R- the 2R fit perfectly with 1-inch heels. I wore a NuBra and used the side tape and everything stayed in place all night long.
Kristin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Great, great, great!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Picked this dress for a friend's formal wedding. The color was vibrant and the fit was great. I ordered a 0L and a 2L; ended up wearing the 0L. I might have been able to get away with a 0R though. I'm 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels, and the slight train on the dress got in my way on occassion, mostly while dancing. This was the first time I've used Rent The Runway and I will definitely be renting again soon. Overall, great experience and great dress.
jacki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

A classy, sexy dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress has a very flattering drape around the mid-section and hips, so if you want it to be skin-tight or form fitting you should size down. I preferred that the cut was figure flattering and elegant but not super tight. I'm 5'7 and I'm glad I got the long size in this garment - it was skimming the floor in 4 inch heels, so it was perfect. The color is a little brighter in person than pictured in the photo (more purple than plum), but I thought it was beautiful and the back on this garment is an absolutely show-stopper. I will definitely rent this again!
layla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

Gorgeous and elegant dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color of this dress is stunning. Completely elegant look , but sexy at the same time!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×