Sexy Back Gown

$70 rental
$465 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this open back gown by Diane von Furstenberg. A sexy style to strut your stuff at the black tie event. Go with the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Earring and AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Plum crepe (80% Triacetate, 20% Polyester). Sleeveless. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. T-strap back. Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
53 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size38
Small2
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2013
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding and received many compliments!
The low cut back was dramatic but still wedding appropriate. It would have been impossible to wear a bra with this dress, but I didn't need it with the draping. It's a very fluid fabric, so I wore Yummie Tummie girl shorts for a smooth look. Even with 4 inch heels, it was still a bit long in the back, but the slit made it easy to walk in.
natashaApril 5, 2013
hello do you know what season this is from?
RTR CustomerApril 5, 2013
Hi Nataha! This is from this past fall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
Classy with a twist!
Great dress. The color is a little brighter in person so could be appropriate for many times throughout the year. Wore for a formal fundraiser in October. Snug. Sexy. I wore the NuBra backless strapless bra with it. I also rented a gold collar necklace from RTR and it went together wonderfully. Can't go wrong!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 21, 2012
Loved it.
The front is flowy and elegant and the back makes a perfect surprise sexy statement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2012
Beautiful dress!
This dress looked great and it was super comfortable to wear. Definitely works well for small busts! I think the 4R was a little large on me so the 2R would have been perfect. Even though it was a bit loose I did not feel like I was on the verge of a wardrobe malfunction. This dress was a little bit longer than other R length dresses that i have rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
November 13, 2012
Stunning! Not only did I feel that way but so many people told me I looked Stunning! Perfect Dress!
This was my first time using RTR and I was super nervous! I looked at a ton of dresses and read so many reviews. I loved being able to see the dresses on "real" people. I wore this dress to a Black Tie Charity Event. It was absolutely perfect! The front of the dress is very pretty but the back of the dress is the stunner! I got the 4R and 2R. The 4R fit pretty good but the 2R was absolutely perfect! I wore 3 1/4 inch heels and the reg. length worked great. The draping on the front gives just a little bit of hiding in the tummy area however no spanx because you would be able to see the lines. A Nubra worked absolutely perfect since there is no back with this dress. The color is even more stunning in person than the picture shows. I also use the Stylist Mystery Bling and was sent the Anton Heunis Pink Lotus Earrings. These went perfectly with the dress and I never would have picked them out myself. Just the right amount of bling. I can't say enough good things about this dress and can't wait to use RTR for my next event.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2012
The back is absolutely beautiful! I received so many compliments!
I wore a 4L and I am 5'7". I wore about 4" heels and it was the perfect length. People kept on complimenting on how beautiful this dress was, and I didn't want to return it! Great designer, I love DVF.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2012
Most compliments of any dress ever
This dress was amazing. Both the 2 and 4 fit, but the material is a little stretchy/clingy, so I was worried about undergarments showing in the 2. The fit is amazing, but I will warn that it will show any figure "flaw," so it's not for you if you have a "tummy" issue or the like. I got so many compliments. I think the best part is the back - most people see the front and think it's pretty, and then the back is the big surprise and wow factor. A NuBra woks great with this dress, and there is amble room in the top. Amazing dress I would highly recommend. I'm mad that I don't have a picture to post, but I'm hoping to find one that someone took.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Stunning!
I loved this dress! The cut made me look sleek and gave me curves that I do not have. The color was great for my pale skin but sadly I was not able to wear it. The event I was going to was a bit on the conservative side and the back of this dress while not risque at all, would have been for this event. I will rent this dress again if another formal event comes up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 23, 2012
WOW!!! Stunning, comfortable, gorgeous color, & glamorous...PERFECTION!!!
I originally rented the Badgley Mischka Putting on the Glitz gown, but it felt uncomfortable to wear (tight around my ribs) and I knew I didn't want to deal with being in an uncomfortable dress. It was Friday and I was panicked bc I was attending a black tie wedding in Santa Barbara Saturday afternoon. Thank goodness for Whitney at RTR...she was super helpful with ordering replacement dresses and jewelry for me to be overnight shipped by 12noon to my hotel on a Saturday. I wanted to order the DVF Sexy Back Dress in a 4R and 6R, however, they weren't available in those lengths, so I ordered the dresses in 4L and 6L along with some hem tape and wore my Yves Saint Laurent Tribute patent-leather Mary Jane pumps which are 6 inch heels with a platform (I am 5'6"). I typically wear either a 4 or 6, but since this dress is so beautifully draped, the 4 fit perfectly, aside from needing a 1 inch hem with the hem tape. If you are 5'6" or under, I definitely recommend getting the regular length, vs. the long (even if you're 5'7" and plan on wearing heels under 5 inches). I paired the dress with the Dannijo Finley Golden earrings, a gold clutch, a gold Dior cuff bracelet, and my YSL pumps, and LOVED it! I received endless compliments all night on the dress, color, fit, etc... (particularly the back of the dress). There were some flowers growing on the wall of the villa at the wedding, so my friend picked a few off and put them in my bun...what a fabulous accent the flowers were to the color of the dress. The best part is that this dress is beyond comfortable!!!! I highly recommend this dress for a wedding or formal...I'm still getting compliments from my pictures. Plus it looks expensive...I can't believe it retails for under $500. LOVE DVF and LOVE the RTR service...I will definitely be renting again ;-).
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2012
Classy and backless!
I rented this for a black tie gala at the Lincoln Center. It is a beautiful magenta colour that looks wine coloured in dim lighting. The fabric drapes elegantly and the bottom has a gather and slit. I loved the way this dress fell across the shoulders and was fitted at the waist without being tight. Really, this is a stunning and super wearable dress. The back is the big stunner, so wear your hair up.
ShannonJanuary 24, 2013
Hi- sizing question! I'm close to your measurements- 5'10" and 148 lbs. I noticed you chose to wear the 2L. Would you recommend me getting the 2L and 4L, or 4L and 6L? (Did your 2L run small, esp. in the hips?) Thanks!!
kaleighJanuary 24, 2013
hi!! i think that you'll want to do the 4L mainly for length. it was definitely fitted in the hips, and i was smaller at the time, probably closer to 138lbs. I rented the 2L and the 4L, and could have gone with the 4L, so if I were you, I'd do the 4 and the 6. You will love it!!!!
ShannonJanuary 28, 2013
Thank you so much!! I appreciate your quick reply!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2012
Excellent dress - so comfortable!
I have been gaining a lot of weight lately, but the dress fit me so comfortably at a size 2R. I got many compliments on throughout the night. Only issue is that the dress is very long on me - I had to pull up the dress while I was walking around even though I was wearing 4 inch heels. Not really recommended for petite girls, but if you're 5'5 +, this shouldn't be a problem. I mean, maxi dresses do make us petite girls look taller, but sigh...usually they're too long on us. I love the open back design; for that, I wore a nu-bra, which was perfect for this dress. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118lbs
October 16, 2012
Absolutely stunning
This dress was gorgeous. I could not have been happier. I received so many compliments on the color and the style. This is my first formal DVF gown I've worn and was extremely impressed. If you have any midsection areas you want to hide, the dress offers just a bit of "loose-ness" while still fitting perfectly everywhere else. So happy I rented this one. **I wore this dress with the Kendra Scott Danielle Turquoise earrings** HIghly recommend combining the two together. Great color combo.
CatherineOctober 16, 2012
What height heels did you wear with this?
JessicaOctober 28, 2012
3.5 inches
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 15, 2012
Overall, pleased. I was lucky to be first to wear it!
I ordered the 8R and 10R. I should have ordered the Long length as I originally planned but the stylist told me to go with the Regular length. The 8R fit but was too short; therefore I put the 10R on and while it was bit larger overall; I determined that was o.k. because the 10 gave me a little more length. I had to wear much shorter heels than I normally do to compensate for the shorter length. Otherwise I was lucky enough to be the first person to receive the 8 or 10 because the tags were still on both! Therefore both were in great condition. I did receive compliments all night long on the dress so that's a "win" in my book. Only thing to be a bit aware of; obviously your back is completely exposed...so because I had to go with the size up, mine gapped a bit so I had to use double sided tape on the sides of the small of my back and had to remember to stand up straight all night to ensure I had no fat rolls. LOL! I would recommend this dress to everyone. It was comfortable and pretty!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×