Magnetic Attraction Dress

$118 to buy
$698 retail
Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
398 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(282)
Small
(45)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
I got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends fraternity's formal, and since it was on a yacht the long sleeves were perfect! I usually tend to wear a 2 or 4, since you get a second size free I ordered both but ended up wearing the size 2. This dress was super comfortable and I got complimented all night long! This was my first RTR and I cannot wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2013
This was my second choice dress. Tried it on and loved it, but it was not appropriate.
I like the fit of the size zero, but it was a little short to sit down in. This is a dress for standing only events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2013
I did not end up wearing this dress. It was beautiful but a little too short on me.
The bottom of the dress was a little worn and there was a small rip in the sleeve.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 23, 2013
Loved it!
Absolutely loved this dress, fit perfectly, and was complemented all night long. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2013
Jumping for Joy!
I rented this dress for my company holiday party which is a formal but fun event. I wanted to look festive and sexy, but still professional. This dress was perfect. And as you can see, it was even photo booth jumping tested and approved. The fit and length made it sexy and fun, but the high neckline and long sleeves made it classy and professional so I wasn't uncomfortable sipping a martini with my boss. I'd definitely recommend it for a holiday or winter formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2013
Didn't like it. Not good fit for my shape. Too big for me.
Didn't like it. Too big for me. I felt like I was wearing a potato sack. Not good for a curvy girl. I am size 2 with 32DD's...Better for someone with a straight, tall figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 5, 2013
Beautiful but I made a sizing error!
I'd go true to size if I rent this dress again. I sized up based on my experience with a few of the designers other dresses and I was WRONG. Absolutely beautiful though. It would be amazing for a holiday party with the sparkle effect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 30, 2013
Got compliments on this dress all night! So pretty!
I wore this dress for a Sweet 16. It was fun and very comfy, though I wish I had ordered one size down (I wore a 2) as it was a little loose at the waist... nothing a cute belt couldn't fix! Overall, great dress! Can't wait to RTR again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2013
So fun!
Rented it for a NYE party. I'm tall and this ran pretty short on me. I normally wear a 6 but went with the 8 because I didn't want it to be quite so form-fitting. So maybe consider going a size up.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 17, 2013
:)
Loved this dress. I was worried it was going to be too short but it fit perfectly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2013
Lovely dress, a little uncomfortable...
The dress has just enough oomph to really make you stand out. I love sequined/beaded dresses and was trying to find a dress similar to Badgley Mischka's Sequin Bell Sleeve Sheath (my absolute favorite RTR dress!) and stumbled across this one. It showed just enough skin with the high collar, but was still a pain to sit in - even on my short frame! We went to a hockey game in Vegas and I dressed up with the intention of going straight to dinner after the game... sitting in the stands though, I was constantly adjusting myself! (Maybe not the best choice for a sports game... I'll keep that in mind!) Overall, it was a lovely dress but didn't have nearly as much power as the BM one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2013
ff
ff
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2013
This dress is a head-turner!
This dress fit me like a glove. Absolutely true to size. What made it great was that it was fitted, but still forgiving. I was nervous about the length being too short, because I'm tall -with a long torso- and have that issue often, but it was the perfect length. Also, the neckline is cut a bit wide, so I would recommend a strapless bra. It wasn't the most comfortable dress I've ever worn, due to the stiffness of the sleeves, but nothing truly unexpected. Overall, it was easy to wear and I received several compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2013
very modern alternative to sequins
I got the size 6 and 8. The six was just a bit snug and the fabric was very stiff and there were many pulls with threads sticking out like it had been worn or cleaned too much. The size 8 was in much better condition so I wore that even though I had to turn the sleeves under because they were too long. Received numerous compliments and loved the size 8 that was in almost brand new condition. The size six was too worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
This dress was perfect for the winter gala I went to.
Runs pretty true to size, but I wore the 6 to get some extra length from the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
October 15, 2013
Perfect dress for an evening wedding!
This dress was perfect for an evening wedding. It was extremely comfortable. I did wear one size up because the 0 was a little too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2013
Perfect dress for a fall/winter event!
After having a baby just four months ago, it has been hard to dress my post-baby-full-bust figure. This dress did the trick. It was perfect for a cool outside fall event, and it covered my large bust without hanging too long on me everywhere else (a constant problem being 5'1" and wearing a 4 right now). I also have a bit of a post-partum belly still and it didn't cling *too* tightly around the middle (though it's not loose either). It was a great length for a long sleeve dress as well (shortish which makes up for the very-covered top). Loved it! Got a lot of compliments throughout the night as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2013
Amazing dress! The size was perfect and was so comfortable all night.
Amazing dress! The size was perfect and was so comfortable all night. I received compliments throughout the evening from family and strangers alike! If I could buy this dress today, it would be in my closet forever!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2013
Just so so
It was too long on me- didn't offer as much shape as I hoped
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 30, 2013
Very comfortable and gorgeous......I got tons of compliments. Great length and classy and sexy.
I rented this for my bachelorette party....it looked great and was comfortable to wear. It looked sexy without being over the top or slutty. I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 12, 2013
A non-boring little black dress
I wanted to wear DVF to the Glamour Women of the Year Awards (because this year she gave She's the First a wonderful grant) so I rented this -- it kept me warm with the long sleeves, had a touch of sparkle with the beading, and was comfortable to wear all day at work with a blazer over it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 15, 2013
Loved it. Perfect for a woman 'of a certain age' as long as you have nice legs.
This was actually not the dress I had planned to wear, but the one I got because of the 'get another for $' deal. It was hands down my favorite! I'm too old to wear miniscule skirts. This was comfortable AND sexy. Careful of the little metal pieces, however, so they don't catch on anything.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2013
I felt like I was one of the rich people I was attending the gala with!
Ordered the 4 and the 6. For a gala thrown by my employer. The 4 fit great, I just wanted a bit more room to move around, so I wore the 6. If I owned this dress, I would've cut out the hanger straps as they kept popping out all night (as seen in picture). Some tape or a in would've fixed it, but I got ready in a hurry. Dress was a bit worn but wasn't noticeable to anyone except me. There was a small tear in the one sleeve and some of the silver beading was missing with bare threads exposed where it once was. It really didn't affect the overall look of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2013
The party was Great Gatsby but this was stylish without being flapper-fied
It's kind of short, so the 4 was the fit i wanted in the waist and arms, but very short on the leg, so I had to go with a 6 to not show my lady garden.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
November 22, 2013
DVF
The lining does show at times when sitting and the embellishment can snag very easily on things- but very very worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
November 30, 2013
Nice but ...
The dress is very pretty in person but not a knockout. It's short but the length wasn't a problem unless I was walking. Then it would inch up. Might have been better if I wasn't wearing stockings but it was too cold to go without. There was also something weird happening on the spot where the lining and the overlay came together at the bottom so the lining would roll out and show when I sat. Maybe if I sized up it would have been better but this was my back up dress so I only ordered the 2. It was a good back up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 9, 2013
Great for Christmas party for work
The dress was very comfortable and I got many compliments at a Christmas party with mostly friends and colleagues at work. I usually wear size 4-6 and I went with the 6. There was just enough looseness in the middle section to be very comfortable but not baggy. As other reviews mentioned, the lining did peek out at the bottom but I probably noticed it more than anyone else did. Also, there were several pulled threads all over the dress that my husband had to trim, because the material could snag easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 13, 2013
Everyone loved the dress including myself...I actually want to buy and keep... :-)
N/a
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2013
Customer Service is unbeatable!!! (See story)
I reserved a Nicole Miller dress (with a back-up size) plus a Tracey Reese dress for my Christmas Party. The day before my dresses were due to ship out I get a call from RTR notifying me the Nicole Miller in the 8 was damaged and unavailable. The solution? Send RTR a list in order of preference any dresses as a replacement, in any price range, and they'd send me what they had available. I ended up with this GORGEOUS Diane von Furstenberg. Guess what? The larger Nicole Miller didn't fit (which means the smaller wouldn't have either!) So blessing in disguise! As for the dress itself. BEAUTIFUL! I wore two dresses that night and both were beautiful but this was my favorite! I was complimented more times than I could even fathom! So comfortable, the fit was impeccable! I'm never buying a dress for an event again! RTR will always be my go to!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2013
Great fit, super comfortable!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. It had just the right amount of sparkle and was easy to wear. I felt like I was wearing a cozy sweater dress. No complaints and unfortunately no great photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2013
Such a beautiful dress and EASY process!! Compliments all night!
I wore this to a company Christmas party. The dress actually came 1 day before I requested it, which was two days before the event. I normally wear size 6. I ordered a 4 and a 6, hoping to work out and fit into the 4. Needless to say, I didn't work out and did end up going with the 4 and it fit perfectly. The six was big in the neck and didn't lay right. I got compliments all night long and told several about RTR. 2 days later, I am still getting comments on the pictures I uploaded to social media sites. I would love this dress for New Years Eve, but I have two ordered already and have already been photographed in this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2013
Loved the dress!!!! Especially love the service of RTR!
Fit was great! I ordered the size up just in case because I didn't want it to be too short but the 6 fit great. Really fit in all the right places! I really loved the way it looked! Comfortable and was a hit! BF loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2013
Great holiday dress, classy and fun!
Was easy to slip on, runs true to size. I went up to 8 to leave room for chest/back to fit. Boat neck so my bra straps peaked through a little bit if my hair was to the side, but not that bad.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Amazing!!!
I felt so comfortable in this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2013
Absolutely loved it and received many compliments!
The fit was perfect and there are no cons I can think of.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 2, 2013
Amazing dress!
Went with the other dress option, but it was such a hard decision, this dress is gorgeous and looks great on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2013
amazing
great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
sexy with sparkle - loved it. no complaints.
comfortable, flattering, and was perfect attire for my winter wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 20, 2013
Perfect holiday party dress!
This dress fit perfectly and was festive for my husband's company holiday party! I received lots of compliments on the dress. I would definitely recommend this dress and will rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
January 2, 2014
Beautiful dress. I just ordered too small.
Would look great for hourglass shape, but not for the large busted. I am normally between 6 & 8, but 8 was too small. Also, I suffer from square butt syndrome and it did nothing for my shape. But dress is pretty. Just no give in material.
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×