Magnetic Attraction Dress

$118 to buy
$698 retail
Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
399 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(282)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
Really bummed that I was unabable to wear this dress.
I can fit into most dresses, sized 6-8. I'm 5'6" 140lbs with a 36B bust. The 8 was too across the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2014
.
The lining showed. Fit strange in some places. Tight in the butt loose in the chest
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
Insanely short!
I recommend sizing up. I'm 5'10 and didn't sit down all night because it was too short. The lining underneath also kept bunching up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
I just found out I was pregnant, so it was fun dressing up in a figure hugging dress one more time!
I'm usually a 4 but had to wear the 6. Loved the way it sparkled!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Great customer service
This dress was sent as a backup because the renter before me had ruined the dress I actually chose to rent. Unfortunately, this dress was VERY tight and definitely WAY too short for my 6'0" frame. However, it was very similar to the dress I had chosen, so props to customer service for trying to find me a similar replacement. It just wasn't appropriate for the wedding I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 17, 2014
Very Short Dress
I'm only 5'4'' and this dress was ridiculously short even with the larger back up size... Literally if I raised my arms, the dress would come up over my rear! What?! And I don't have a large bottom either. I had planned to wear this to a charity event and ended up having to wear a completely different dress because this one was just obscene. Overall, the look of the dress IS pretty and it hides imperfections well. But beware - I would only rent if you're much shorter than my height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 8, 2014
Got a ton of compliments, but dress ran small
Even though I personally didn't love the way this dress fit, I actually got A TON of compliments. It does look gorgeous in pictures (sadly I only got one picture this night). The issue I had was it fit slightly weird. It definitely runs small, so the 4 (I ordered a 2 and a 4) was even slightly tight in the stomach area, but really lose in the upper back and shoulder area. I rented this for a rehearsal dinner so I was sitting down most of the night anyways, but if it was an event where I had to stand and move more, it might have been more of an issue. Still, I was happy with the dress overall, just not one of my favorites.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2014
Fun dress for a night out!
This dress was a hit, I received a lot of compliments on the fit and the embellishments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
October 28, 2014
Nice dress
I wanted to wear this dress to a bachelorette party in Vegas but it was too scratchy for me. I ended up returning it. I ordered the 10 and 12. Both fit. The 12 fit a bit longer. This dress is form fitting and runs a bit small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2014
Be prepared to feel like a 10 all night!
I got so many compliments on this dress, and truly felt like a million bucks as it is very FLATTERING. I usually wear a size 4 in dresses, but had to up it to a 6 because the 4 seemed a little too tight and short. Overall, I would give this dress a 5 star but it lost a point because the slip underneath it kept coming down on the bottom. I think a lot of people have probably rented this dress, which brought down the quality level, but quite honestly it was still an amazing dress and I would for sure rent it again!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2014
Perfect casual elegant feel with comfortable fit
most comfortable dress I have ever worn.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress! I felt great wearing it.
I'm usually a 4, but the 4 felt too short and I was wearing this to the office holiday party. The 6 was perfect though. It was comfortable and I felt sexy all night, would totally rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2014
Sexy and Classy
I liked the shape and the design of this dress. It was great for a winter holiday party. If I had been one of the first people to wear it, I may have given it 5 stars. My one complaint is that it was showing it's wear - some beads were missing/cracked, the lace was torn in a couple places, and the hem was a mess that would not lay flat. I do not think others saw this level of detail, however.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2014
I didn't get this dress in time. Shipping problems
...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 29, 2014
Comfortable and pretty
This dress was very comfortable, easy to wear, and I liked that it had long sleeves as I live in MN where the weather is too cold for short sleeves at a holiday party. I usually wear a 0 or 2, but the 2 and the 4 were nearly the same, so I wore the 4 as it had just a touch more room to it. The only problem with both of these dresses is that you can tell they've been worn a lot, as the lining of the dress is way stretched out and hung down below the hem of the dress, and the lining is a brown color, so it is totally noticeable. I unfortunately didn't notice this until the night of the event (and on both dresses, not just one). But I was able to use safety pins to make a temporary quick fix. I'd rent this again, but would hope that the hem would be fixed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 31, 2014
Pretty dress, runs small
I usually wear a size 10 or 12, and could not even zip the size 12 on this. It is a lovely dress overall. It is quite short, so be prepared for that
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for a winter work event!
I was really happy I rented this dress. When I first tried it on I was a bit nervous because it was a bit short (when I lifted my arms it raised up quite a bit) and it was tight through the arms. But, I ended up wearing it with black tights (because it was so cold out!) and that helped mitigate my fears about it being short. The only other thing I'd say is to be careful of the beading of the dress. When I first pulled the dress of out the box one of the beads fell on the floor. It wasn't noticeable when I wore it, but just a heads up! Overall it was a great dress for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 11, 2015
Friends 30 bday
Dress would be cute, but if you are curvy it's EXTREMELY short! I'm about 5'6-5'7 and it would have been showing my booty standing up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2015
I did not wear it. It fit my body, but was TOO short I could not wear it.
It was too short I typically wear DVF size 4 or 6 and have not had this issue before. I could not wear it. Loved the accessories
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2015
My husband liked this dress. I wasn't crazy about it but I got it for him.
This dress was just okay. It fit small so I had to wear the bigger size. It wasn't very comfortable to move in. The zipper stuck out in the middle of my back and the lining shows on the bottom. It was an okay dress for a date night but If I could I go back I would have rented a different one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 25, 2015
It was the perfect dress - had a huge "wow" factor but still classic and understated. Love!
The fit was a bit small through my waist and had to go up a size. The hemming came undone a bit which was disappointing, but nothing a little tape couldn't fix. Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2015
Good, not great.
This dress amps up the LBD just a bit to make it extra special, but sadly the dress I received was in fairly bad shape, with torn lace and the lining not laying right. It was a lot shorter than expected, and the lining issues caused the lining to be longer than the dress. I liked the dress, but definitely did not love it. Customer service, as always, was incredibly responsive and helpful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
January 4, 2016
Not as interesting as I'd hoped
I agree with the prior reviewers that the sleeves were really tight on this dress and it's pretty short. It was an interesting twist on a plain black dress and it was fine for the party I went to, but not my favorite RTR rental.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
September 13, 2015
We went downtown in November and it was a pretty chilly night, so this dress provided some warmth
I went with the larger size because it fit my arms a little better. I thought it was sequins on the dress because that's what it looked like in photographs but they are actually cylinder beads sewn together to make that pattern. It wasn't as fun for a 21st as I would've hopped, but it did the job!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
This dress was the perfect mix of fun but classy for a military holiday party.
The dress fit pretty well, although it was a little tight in the shoulders for me and it is short (I'm only 5'2" and it was well above my knee). It was also starting to lose some beads, but it photographed really nicely, I got lots of compliments and it was comfortable to wear all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 3, 2016
I wore this to an event during my homecoming reunion. Definitely one of the best dressed there!
Normally I wear a 10 but it wasn't available. The 8 fit comfortably, the length was just too short for my long legs. I was pulling the dress down all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 29, 2013
Beautiful sparkle! Many compliments!
I got so many compliments on this dress. I love the fit and the length. It definitely runs small though. I'm an 8 and wore a 10 in this. Great rental...thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
Fun party dress!
I wore this to my law school prom and got so many compliments! I usually wear a size 4, but opted for the 6 because I thought I don't like when things are really tight. I was really happy I wore the dress, but the hem and lining do roll up a little, which is why I did not give the dress 5 stars.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 24, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous dress - perfect balance of sexy and classic with a tad bit of trendy detailing.
The fit is decently snug. I usually wear a two, but have broader shoulders and longer legs and arms. So, in an effort to not have everything hanging out, and split the back of the material, I went up a size. So many compliments on this dress! I loved it so much, I was tempted to splurge, and keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2012
Very small
Fit was too small. I usually take a 12 and as this was the largest it comes in I couldn't order a size up. The 12 was a very small 12 so I couldn't wear it. Very form fitting.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2013
Was not a great fit
, very tight in the chest. Material is very textured and not flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2013
Very short and very tight
I wish I could have worn this, I usually wear a 4 but sometimes have to bump up to a 6. The 6 barely fit and it was extremely short (and i'm only 5'2") Still its nice that I could return it and receive credit to towards another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
January 3, 2014
UNABLE TO WEAR IT! RUNS SMALL IN BUST AREA!
Runs very small in bust area. Very classy. Wished it had fit!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 11, 2014
Got so many compliments
Go a size up since the arms tend to be tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 3, 2014
Not a great fit
I am a size 10, and I rented this dress as a backup. It was really short, which I was okay with, but it was also on the smaller side. I chose to not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Bad material
So disappointed!! I really love DVF's dresses, they are very flattering and great quality. Not sure what happened here! The dress itself is really nice, but wearing it was awful. I usually wear a size 2 which was SO short on me, luckily I ordered a size 4 as a backup, but that wasn't any better. The fit was weird and the bottom of the dress kept rolling up. The slip from underneath the dress was also showing. Sad it didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 8, 2016
pretty, but
Dress is very pretty and fit nicely, but only after significant time spent stretching it out. The crochet material on the outside had shrunk to much smaller than the inner lining and so I had to wear the dress a bit and stretch out the crocheting so that they fell at the same length. Fit was great once I stretched it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 25, 2012
Felt like a glamour queen
First of all, I received so many compliments on this dress. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. The dress itself is very fine quality and I loved the beadwork. Sparkly without looking like a disco ball. Great for a night on the town or New Years. Wear it will heels, minimal jewelry. Va-va-voom!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 27, 2012
Different take on the LBD. Great for formal event with dancing. Well constructed.
Rented this for a night bar mitzvah. Actual real pieces of metal are sewn to lace fabric. Did not expect heavy type metal pieces, but it was comfortable. Looks great with low lights and on a dance floor. Would be a little strange for a daytime event. For me, the dress was true to size. It hit me mid-thigh. Wore it with shimmerfy silver hose and black sandals. Would also make a nice work-related holiday party dress - not too exposed. Neckline is wide, so requires strapless bra or no bra. for the small chested.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2012
Classy and sexy!
Loved this dress! It was perfect for our company's holiday party. I'm 5'5'' and it came to about mid-thigh, so it's not too short. The dress was very comfortable and easy to move around and dance in. I think it runs true to size, but I suggest getting a size down as a backup size.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×