Magnetic Attraction Dress

$118 to buy
$698 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
398 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(282)
Small
(45)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 30, 2015
Perfect Fall or Winter dress. Black is always flattering and elegant.
Flattering fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2015
Really liked how it combined lace & sparkles! Perfect for a holiday party.
The fit was pretty true to size. It worked perfect for the occasion. Only issue I had with it was it seemed to snag my tights and grab my hair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
June 8, 2015
This dress was remarkable. Compliments all night. Sparkle and Shine, Classy and Sassy.
This dress was perfect for an evening wedding reception marked for Cocktail Dress Attire. I have long legs and a shorter torso, the hemline hit at a great spot just above the knee and was not too short when seated. I have slim arms and the sleeves fit just right on me. This could be an issue on someone who is a little heavier on the top as there is not much give there. The fact that the dress has beads and not just cheap sequins, really brings it up a notch. I paired it with the Ella Carter Ainsley Earrings, and I got a little accessory bag with some mints and hand lotion which I thought was a great touch- those went straight into my handbag! Next time RTR should throw in some business cards to hand out, I lost count of how many times I told other guests my source. I cannot wait to find another occasion to rent this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 1, 2015
Fun but classy winter dress
I rented this dress for a cocktail reception during my company's annual meeting on a cold January night. The longsleeves were a bonus. I have an athletic build and didn't find the sleeves to be at all tight. Since I'm not very tall, I didn't find the dress to be at all short like some of the other reviewers. If this is a concern, I would recommend wearing black tights with the dress. I noticed very little difference between the 0 and the 2, so I wore the 0. Yes, some of the metallic pieces do fall off, but it wasn't noticeable in my case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 8, 2015
Incredible fit, flattering, beautiful style. Perfect for a special night out!
A little on the short side (I didn't mind, not one bit!). Super flattering fit, the sleeves were slim but not too tight as can be the problem with other dresses of this style. Beautiful material, sparkly without being ostentation or overly bright. A beautiful dress for a special night out! Wore to a bachelorette party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 5, 2015
the sparkles made the dress an eye catcher
I loved this dress so much. it was one of the best rental had from RTR. It fit perfectly and the sparkles made the dress so chic. I had all girls asking me where I got the dress and I told them to check RTR.com. Everyone complimented my dress and how beautiful looked on me. My boyfriend loved too...thanks RTR for making my night amazing.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
April 29, 2015
Just flashy enough to not outshine the bride at a bachelorette party!
Fit great! Lacy sleeves were comfortably stretchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2015
Perfect dress for a winter wedding
This dress was SO comfortable. I was shocked when I received it. It's soft and stretchy, but it has a double layer so it doesn't hug the wrong places. I thought the sequins would be itchy, but they didn't bother me at all. I wore this to a wedding in November in the midwest, and I was super warm, which I loved. This dress is flattering on what I would believe to be all shapes based on the fabric and how it fits. I wasn't a huge fan of the neckline because I already have broad shoulders, but it was a great choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 25, 2015
It was the perfect dress - had a huge "wow" factor but still classic and understated. Love!
The fit was a bit small through my waist and had to go up a size. The hemming came undone a bit which was disappointing, but nothing a little tape couldn't fix. Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 19, 2015
Cute but the details are a bit off
I liked the dress, it is pretty but you can see in the picture that the lining of the dress kind of hangs out of the bottom and you have to tuck it in. Also you can see in this pic that if you wear it in winter with tights there is really no forgiveness- this is the worst pic of me in the dress but I selected it so you can see the tights may show / not be flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
April 13, 2015
I felt like a rockstar in this dress!
This is dress is a fun twist on a little black dress. It is so unique and SUPER fun. I received quite a few compliments and I felt super comfortable and sassy the entire night! I ordered and 10 & a 12. Ended up wearing the 12 because I have pretty muscular thighs so they needed some extra room. Unfortunately the 12's upper body was pretty loose while the 10 fit perfectly. I did some temporary stitches to the 12 to make the chest area not so loose so overall it all worked out! By the way it is bead-work not sequins on the dress. It is hard to tell in pictures. I was cautious all night especially when sitting down to not destroy the beading. The two dresses I received already had some wear and tear to it but I still had to be careful. **the second pic is my roomie & I...she rented her dress on renttherunway too and loved it! **
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
April 8, 2015
I loved this dress! I wore it for dinner on my birthday and felt great in it!
The length is not too short for someone 5'1". I felt comfortable throughout the night and received numerous compliments. I would have loved to keep the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2015
It is a nice statement dress for a date night or cocktail party.
The dress fit well but was a little loose at the waste. It was short but I was looking for a short dress. It is very comfortable flattering. I think it looks more fancy in real life.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 3, 2015
Being able to dance in the dress and not be too warm even though the dress is long sleeved.
There was a hole in the dress but it was right under my arm so not noticeable, I was really happy with the dress. It was a little short but I expected this from reading other reviews on it. None of the sparkles fell off and I got a lot of compliments:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
March 24, 2015
My sweet cousin's wedding in LA!
This dress was so pretty and comfy, fitted but not too tight. Wore with black pointy Jimmy Choo pumps and simple jewelry. Definitely been worn before but still in great condition. Got lots of compliments. Obviously longer on me than the model, I'm not tall, but it was a perfect length. Received it a day early too! Will use RTR again for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2015
Great black dress with a bit of sparkle
Very well made. I wore this to a company event, and liked the balance of a short dress with long sleeves to be a bit more covered. I would recommend order the size you would normally order for a skirt or pants. It's tight on the bottom, so I ended up wearing the 6, when I'd normally wear a 2/4 in dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
March 19, 2015
This dress was amaaaazing!!!!
I wore this for a charity event. Fits great, very comfortable to dance in, sexy yet sophisticated. Love, love, love!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 16, 2015
Fun and flattering
I love pretty much anything DVF does, and this dress was no exception. It was VERY short - so keep that in mind if you're renting for something more formal. It was very comfortable though and gave you lots of space in the mid-section. Not too tight, but the shortness made it sexy still.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
March 2, 2015
Perfect LBD with a twist
I ordered the 8 and the 10. I normally wear an 8 or medium in pants/dresses and a medium in tops. While the 8 fit, I went with the 10 for comfort and a little more room to be able to get down on the dance floor. I got compliments all night on this dress and a few girls even told me not to send it back. It was really comfortable and the perfect mid thigh length. (I'm 5'5 and wore 5 inch heels). I would totally rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 28, 2015
I felt good wearing it.
Short dress but loved the long sleeves for a winter event. A couple sequins were missing but not noticeable. I also rented earrings and a purse.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 28, 2015
I never tried it on but it was beautiful
Lovely dress
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2015
My husband liked this dress. I wasn't crazy about it but I got it for him.
This dress was just okay. It fit small so I had to wear the bigger size. It wasn't very comfortable to move in. The zipper stuck out in the middle of my back and the lining shows on the bottom. It was an okay dress for a date night but If I could I go back I would have rented a different one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2015
The most comfortable dress I have EVER worn!
This dress was the most comfortable dress I have ever worn. I could've slept in it! At first the sleeves felt tight but the fabric was flexible enough that shortly after putting the dress on it was perfectly comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 17, 2015
Cute dress!
This was a great dress; however it had some serious wear. I had to snip several threads that were hanging from it. I also had to pin the lining up. For some reason it hung below the hem of the dress; which again, I think was from wear, etc. Other than that, it was a great dress. I liked that it was towards the shorter side. The long sleeves helped balance it out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2015
I did not wear it. It fit my body, but was TOO short I could not wear it.
It was too short I typically wear DVF size 4 or 6 and have not had this issue before. I could not wear it. Loved the accessories
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2015
I wore this for my High School Hoopcoming dance. It was beautiful! I received tons of compliments
I wear a size 2 and ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 fit perfectly. It was a short dress but completely appropriate and I felt great in it. The material was much more comfortable than I expected. I was able to dance and have fun in this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 11, 2015
Friends 30 bday
Dress would be cute, but if you are curvy it's EXTREMELY short! I'm about 5'6-5'7 and it would have been showing my booty standing up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 8, 2015
On top of the world! Went to Broadway and Empire State Building in this little number!
A little shorter than expected when sitting, but who is sitting when out on the town? :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 6, 2015
--
Originally rented as my back up, but when I opened the box I fell in love. The dress is absolutely stunning. Pictures do not do it justice! It's a classic piece with so many interesting and eye-catching details. Would love to own this one! It runs true to size - the two fit like a glove. It's very form-fitting so plan accordingly. Unfortunately, the dress arrived very damaged so I wasn't able to wear it. So disappointing! Hopefully other ladies will have better luck with this incredible piece.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2015
Great dress!
Dress fit great and true to size. There were a few pulls in the lace and the bottom of the dress curled a bit but nothing that anyone other than me would notice. I got a ton of compliments on the dress. Would definitely rent this one again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 31, 2015
Great dress!! Highly recommend.
Great fit. True to size. I was worried that the sleeve length would be too long, but the petite fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for a winter work event!
I was really happy I rented this dress. When I first tried it on I was a bit nervous because it was a bit short (when I lifted my arms it raised up quite a bit) and it was tight through the arms. But, I ended up wearing it with black tights (because it was so cold out!) and that helped mitigate my fears about it being short. The only other thing I'd say is to be careful of the beading of the dress. When I first pulled the dress of out the box one of the beads fell on the floor. It wasn't noticeable when I wore it, but just a heads up! Overall it was a great dress for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 17, 2015
Perfect Christmas Eve dress
Really loved this DVF. Easy, comfortable fit, although it did feel a little short (I am 5'10") but with black tights it was no problem. One minor complaint in that, as you can see in photo, the liner kept showing at the bottom. I ended up pinning it up so you couldn't see it, but overall would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
January 14, 2015
Sexy and sophisticated
The dress fits true to size I am normally a size 8-10 and wore the 8 for a tighter fit. Excellent dress for a holiday party, everyone gave me great compliments. Not too short when paired with tights.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2015
Pretty and conservative dress
It's a pretty dress that runs slightly big, I wore it to a work holiday party, I ordered both the 2 and the 4 and went with a 2. The sparkly bits will snag and some have already fallen off (when I received it). it's not really noticeable. If you are wearing a sweater though, it will snag on everything.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 12, 2015
The size 10 was a little snug, but overall fit just fine.
I'm really glad I ordered a backup size because the size up had a small tear in the sleeve. I'm usually a 10, but ordered the 12 JIC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2015
Every time I moved my dress caught the light and the compliments kept flowing.
I love this dress, I rented it for a holiday party for an upscale salon in my area. Needless to say most ladies in the beauty industry are always on point so I had to be as well. This was the best choice I made, it had enough beading to be glitzy without being overly done and feeling like a disco ball. I will say the dress is short, I mean SHORT! I am small myself and it was a mini on me so tall girls be warned, tights are almost a must with this. I will def keep this dress in the back of my mind as a go to if I can't find something else that caught my eye.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2015
Fun and festive dress!
I loved this dress for a NYE party. The size 8 was fitted and pretty short in my opinion, so I wore tights. The sleeves add something extra nice to the dress and I really enjoyed wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 7, 2015
Perfect New Years dress
Fit true to size, very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
January 4, 2015
Great Dress
First of all, let me say how amazing RTR customer service is. I ordered this dress is two sizes but my backup size was not available so they sent me another dress in addition to this overnight delivery. I didn't end up wearing this dress but I loved it. The sizing was right, it was very comfortable, and beautiful. I'm 4'11" and the length was perfect. However, the other reviews were right about the lining showing and, as much as I loved it, I couldn't bring myself to wear it with some of the sparkles missing right in the middle of the dress. I will definitely try to rent this one again.
See more reviews:
2 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×