Magnetic Attraction Dress

$118 to buy
$698 retail
Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
398 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(282)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Classy LBD
I was supposed to wear this for a NYE party but the dresses were delayed until after NY. It was cute but ended up being too big. I don't know that I would rent it again for a NYE event as it was a bit too conservative for a NYE party. The boatneck ended up looking weird on me but that could have been because it was too big. Otherwise it was a classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2013
Fun dress, great for a party!
Really fun dress, but definitely go a size up if you have hips or curves because a smaller size may make the dress too short or tight. Overall liked it a lot, but wasn't in love with it - but I got lots of compliments on it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2013
Great customer service and trendy dress!
Dress runs true to size and although body hugging, the length provides balance to make this an extremely classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2013
stand out in a sea of LBDs
This beautiful long sleeve spin on the LBD was perfect for a winter wedding. Everyone loved the silver beading, I was complimented all night long! The fabric was very comfortable and the fit was perfect to hug my curves. This is a stand-out dress no matter where you wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2013
New Year's Sparkle
I saw this dress online months before NYE and knew I would want to wear this! I typically wear either a 2 or 4 in most RTR dresses but this one I ended up wearing a 2. It was slightly shorter than the 4 but it fit me really well. I was dancing and enjoying the night, got so many compliments on it I would definitely wear this designer again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
February 4, 2013
Fun, classy, unique dress!
Although this dress was pretty, I had to do a few things to make it work since it definitely ran large on me and I needed to temporarily hem it up and fold up the sleeves. Overall, it's a little glitzy without being over the top and looks classy and fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 4, 2013
Classy dress!!!
I usually wear a size 10, but the 8 fit great! This was my second option. I didnt get a chance to wear it because the 1st option was perfect! This dress is fun and flirty, this dress shows your curves without being to sexy! From the pictures the dress looks black with silver, but it has a lining of fabric that is a tan/brown color that is very noticeable in person. I will order this again for another event. FYI-You would need to wear a strapless bra with this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2013
The customer service was great!
This dress fix extremely well and true to size. I have wide hips and it fit really well, it was a little snug but I am an exact 10 for the most part so it was perfect. I LOVED the sequins and the long sleeves, it was exactly what I was looking for and I would buy it if I could afford it. It was so easy to return also, I 100% recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 9, 2013
Didn't wear, but a good dress.
I ordered this dress along with another from the site. I did like the dress: the sheer sleeves added a nice touch. The only problem was that for my body size my arms are a bit too muscular, and the lace did not give at all and was too tight. For people with normal sized arms it is an awesome dress though! I would highly recommend this dress. The length was perfect; I'm 5'3" and it hit me exactly at mid thigh.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
February 10, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress. Wore it to my office holiday party, with black tights which helped!
Fit okay, but maybe the 6 would have been too big!!?? Really stunning dress. I received compliments all night long. Would recommend renting your usual size and a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
Nice dress.
Fit well. Love having long sleeves because it was freezing out!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2013
Rent the Runway got my dress to me right in time and even delivered to the hotel!
Super comfortable, long enough for my long legs!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
February 13, 2013
Stunning.
I thought the dress ran true to size. I'm 5'10 about 175 lbs with broad shoulders. I received tons of compliments. I definitely needed tights, it was very short on me. I absolutely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
February 17, 2013
I looked and felt glamorous without any fuss! Such an easy process.
I wore this for a wedding this weekend. The dress was great. I ordered both a 4 and 6...ended up wearing the 4. I liked the 6's fit in the arms because I have an athletic build and the lace was not stretchy but the hips and waist were too big. The 4 worked great....so comfortable to dance in! The length was just right also. Just below mid thigh and I am 5' 2". Paired with black heels the look was perfect. I got many compliments also. The silver beading allowed for simple hair and minimal jewelry which is always a plus. Definitely a must rent!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 189lbs
February 19, 2013
Felt like Cinderella and a nice change from my mommy gear of tennis & yoga pants!
Pros: I am tall with athletic legs, loved the fit but definitely tugged it down when I sat to not flash everyone! Comfortable and easy to wear. My hubby kept telling me how sexy I was all night! It was a definite show stopper for people I had not seen in 14 years ;-) Cons: Ran a bit small, I am a true Size 10 so I am glad that I got the 10,8 to be sure. I have quite large chest so I felt they were smashed a bit but workable. Would wear again in a heartbeat!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2013
Great dress for my 30th birthday party!
This dress was beautiful and in great condition - got TONS of compliments. Form fitting and sparkly enough to make it fun and sexy, but also a comfortable length where it's appropriate -- not to mention there is some stretch in the fabric that provides a little "give." The wider neckline is a nice touch as well. I'm a pretty standard size 2 and this dress fit nicely. Not super tight, but definitely not baggy. It's a solid RTR option!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 24, 2013
Pretty, comfy, and I received compliments all night!
This dress is so cute! The way the dress hangs on the midsection/stomach area is quite forgiving and flattering! It runs a little large though (I usually wear a 6 and probably could have worn a 4 except I ordered an 8 as my extra size), but overall I think that was better to have it a bit looser for dancing. The fabric isn't terribly breathable, which makes the dress pretty warm to wear. This was my first time to use RTR and I will be using it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
Lots of compliments!
Cute dress! I got lots of compliments but will say that it is VERY short. I am 5'4 and had to keep pulling it down all night because I didn't want to expose anything. I wore with thick black tights.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 26, 2013
Beautiful, classy, attention grabbing dress- you'll feel like a million dollars in it!
This dress is phenomenal!! I ordered a 6 and an 8- I am 146 lbs, 5'6" and hourglass shaped. I am typically a comfortable size 8, but sometimes take a 6 and read the dress had some stretch to it. I wanted a fairly fitted look. When I got the dress it was just beautiful out of the bag, it doesn't photograph as well, but in person it is jet black and the beading just shines. The 8 fit, but was big in the neck, shoulder area and waist. At first I thought the 6 was too short and tight in the legs- I have larger thighs- but a friend convinced me to try a pair of black Spanx tights with it and I was much happier. I went with the 6. I did have to pull it down each time I got up from the dinner table and I think I would not have been comfortable to dance in it but I am not much of a dancer so it was great. I got so much positive attention- people that I didn't know were coming up to me and complimenting the dress- telling me it was just gorgeous. It has a very classy feel and the long sleeves balanced the shorter length. Very on trend with the lace and the beading, very modern feeling. I would highly recommend this dress and would rent it again- just be prepared to be the center of attention!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 1, 2013
Sexy, Classy, Show Stopper!
This dress is absoultely gorgeous! It looks even more beautiful in person because you are able to see the gold beading much better. It is not soft, but definitely comfortable to wear (I danced in it all night!). The length was perfect--Short, but not too short. This gave it a sexy, yet classy feel. My only qualm was that I wish that I could have sized down. The 8 was a little big--the 6 would have been perfect. It was forgiving and extremely flattering. I really can't say enough about this dress. I would say though that I was a little warm at times, especially while dancing. I would not suggest wearing this dress in spring or summer--the material is a little heavier. Show stopper nonetheless..I couldn't believe the amount of compliments I got! Thanks RTR :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2013
Celebrating Annie (middle) being one year cancer free in style! All while wearing our RTR dresses!
This dress was so easy to wear! It wasn't clingy and didn't require any uncomfortable undergarments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Received lots of compliments!
This dress fit perfectly. I wore it with black tights and black satin Tory Burch pumps with gold and rhinestone heels. It was a great choice for an early February fundraiser dinner.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
March 10, 2013
So glamorous!
The dress was a bit shorter than anything I've worn in the past 10 years but I really felt sexy without feeling like I was trying too hard. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and the only difference I noticed between the two was that the 6 was a tad bit longer. However, the lace around the hem and around the neckline was bunched up much worse on the 6 than it was on the 4, so I decided to go with the 4. Some of the beads were broken but not to the extent that anyone noticed. I wore this for a dinner date with my husband and the waitress said I looked exquisite! I would definitely rent it again if there weren't so many other dresses to choose from!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 11, 2013
OK, didn't love it
Here are the issues I had with the dress: The dress looks different in person, a little more sheer on the arms than expected. I also didn't love the beading, it isn't accurately captured in photos (probably because of the reflections). The neckline is a wide boatneck but didn't lie flat, almost like there was extra material. Finally, the bottom hem in the back didn't lie flat and was shorter than the front but I was afraid to ruin it by ironing the dress. I wouldn't have bought this in the store if I had tried it on and seen the fit, however it was fun for one night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Perfect NYE Dress
I LOVE this dress. So fun, perfect for a NYE party. My friend actually flew in last minute and was without a dress so she wore the two. It's really comfortable and not too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
This dress is absolutely stunning in person. Really flattering fit and high-quality fabric.
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party in Miami. I normally wear a 0 but it was very snug so I went with the 2. The dress was a huge hit...so many people told me how classy but sexy it looked. I love the cut of it: just tight and short enough, and the boatneck gave it great lines. I think it would look really nice to wear hair up or half back. I wore the dress with black patent pumps and diamond studs. No need for much jewelry as the dress speaks for itself.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2013
Stunning
Wore this to a Fraternity formal and got the most compliments than any other woman at the affair on this dress. Comfortable and flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2013
Rented this for what I thought was a birthday weekend in NYC and ended up getting engaged!
This dress fit well and looked great. Received many compliments. I especially liked the lining in the body of the dress. I found the sleeves to be a little tight in certain areas but I think that's due to my bust size. Would definitely recommend this dress to others.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 20, 2013
Very comfortable. Easy to dance in. Fun and Flirty
The dress was very comfortable. It was slightly big around the mid section. I have a smaller mid section and a rounder rear. But overall it was an awesome dress got lots of compliments. Easy to dance in, but got hot while dancing the whole night. I will definently get another RTR dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 21, 2013
Loved this dress!
Loved the combination of long sleeves and the short hemline. The dress is pretty short, so you either need to be comfortable with your legs or wear hose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2013
Absolute stunner!
I loved every minute of wearing this dress and felt like a celebrity in it! I saw other reviews that it ran a bit large so I ordered a 2 and a 0 and wore the 0. I want to rent it over and over again!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 25, 2013
I felt like a movie star!
I rented two dresses and chose this dress. It was really flattering on my stomach, an area I am self conscious about. I felt amazing in this dress and my husband loved it! Some of the accents near the elbow made it hard to set my elbow down on the arm rest, but I just had to adjust the sleeve. This was a great looking dress and I loved how it accentuated my chest without actually having to be low cut. I highly recommend this dress. It is sexy without being too much. I wore a regular bra with this dress and no one could see my straps since my hair was down. The 10 did fit but was just too short. It was a fun dress that stood up to a night of dancing. I recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2013
couldn't be happier
I wore this dress to a black tie in Chicago and got so many compliments on it. I agree with other reviewers that the lining can be a bit of an issue and it is short, especially when sitting, but it is unique and so fun. I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2013
I got so many complements on this dress!!! It was so comfy and perfect for the NYE party
Fit was comfortable. It was snug and the hem was about mid thigh
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 4, 2013
Got a lot of compliments. Would rent again if I were one to wear the same dress twice!
Much better fit if worn with nylons - otherwise it tends to pull unevenly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 8, 2013
I LOVE this dress! This is the best dress I have ever rented from RTR!
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday and I am so glad that I did. This dress is comfortable and very classy! It fits true to size and is so much fun to wear. I am very happy with this rental.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2013
New Years Eve party dress
This fit true to size and I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2013
lots of compliments- I wore this for my engagement party- definitely a stand out!
Fabric has elasticity to it-- be careful with photos as the sleeves will look see-through lace and the rest of the dress appears darker. Runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2013
Not the best for curvy women
I wore this dress 7 weeks after having a baby. The reviews I'd read said the dress was stretchy, and that is true to a point, but it's not that stretchy. What I think made the dress unflattering, is that the under-layer is nude. So, any bumps and curves (like a stomach) that are hugged are highlighted by the nude, especially in photos. Had the under layer-been black, everything would have been hidden. I'd only recommend this dress for someone of a smaller size and with a flatter stomach.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2013
Loved the bling! Perfect for the bachelorette party I wore it for.
This is a gorgeous dress! Many, many compliments all night long. It fits very true to size and was super comfortable. I'm short, so the dress was much longer on me than the model - but not too long. The "sparkles" are actually long silver beads sewn in groups (I wasn't sure what these would look like based on the pictures). The dress I got was in pretty good shape - some of the beads (mostly around the end of the sleeves) were cracked, but it wasn't noticeable. For being a lace dress, I was surprised at how well it held up - no snags, tears or pulls. Would definitely rent it again! The beads gave just the right amount of sparkle for a fun night out!
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×