Ernestina Lace Dress

$75 rental
$465 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate lace party dress? This lace inset shift by Diane von Furstenberg is the perfect mix of sweet and sexy. Dress it up with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings and House of Harlow 1960’s Sundial Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Burgundy shift (100% polyester). Long sleeves with lace detail. Boat neckline. Shift body with removable belt. Hidden side zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
107 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2014
I wore this to a very stylish club in NYC- had tons of compliments!
True to fit, the lace bottom makes the skirt quite short because it's sheer...unexpectedly sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2014
Didn't Fit
I ordered a size 8 and a 10 in this dress. The fit was so off, the 8 was way too small in the chest and the 10 was still too small in the chest but was way too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 6, 2014
Not a great fit.
No stretch, and does not come with belt. I am a little hippy and it made me lose my waist.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2014
Unique dress- lots of compliments
I wore this dress to a wedding in September and it was perfect. It's a relatively warmer dress because of the sleeves so it was nice for the evening because I didn't have to wear a coat or wrap. I ended up wearing some spanx and black pantyhose and I'm glad I did because the bottom of the dress was very fitted on me... But I do have big hips and a booty. The top fit me well- I am small on top. I liked the length- not too short for this tall girl. I wore it with the belt. I feel like without it the dress might looks baggy and strange. The only thing that was disappointing about this dress was the material. The lace was nice but the fabric looked a little cheap for my taste. I guess because its a DVF I anticipated something nicer. But all around I would recommend this style. I got lots of compliments and nobody else had a dress like it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 28, 2014
It was a beautiful dress
Although the dress was a bit long on me, the overall fit was perfect! It was simple and elegant. A perfect piece for a wedding!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2014
Loved it - very classy.
Mine came with the same-colored belt (other reviews claimed it didn't come in theirs). Fit great, wasn't clingy as I feared. If anything ran slightly big so it was definitely comfortable. Could dance all night!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
This DVF was a hit for my best friend's rehearsal dinner!
The material was thinner than I expected (spanx were necessary.) But overall, I loved the fit and got several compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2014
Everyone complimented me on this dress at the wedding!
This dress was gorgeous in person except the material was a little more clingy than I had anticipated. And the cut was straight so if you have curves like me you may want to size up unless you like things tight. Overall I was very happy with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 19, 2014
A vision in plum!
This dress runs a bit small on curvier body types. It comes with the belt to highlight your waist. I felt that it was too form-fitting for me (ladies, get your spans ready) but it's a beautiful color that's complimentary to all skin tones. The black lace detailing was totally intact and not frayed, and is a neat contrast against the purple of the dress. I'd suggest black almond-toe heels with minimal jewelry- go for stud earrings and a dark colored cuff but pass on a necklace- the detailing is enough!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 18, 2014
I sent this dress back.
Dress ran very small especially thru the hips. Missing belt which is pictured. Too bad. I really liked this dress online. RTR made sure I wasn't stuck with a dress that didn't work. Love this service!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2014
The dress is classy & sexy!!! I love it!
Fits perfectly!!!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2014
This dress looks better in person. The silk is so soft.
I didn't wear this dress because even with spanx on the bottom was a bit tight. It pulled right at my thighs and stomach. I still will order this again if I loose a little on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2014
The Rtr staff really went out of their way to make sure I was happy with my dress...it was great !
If you aren't tall the dress is much longer than in the photo
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2014
Wish I was taller,..
This dress look short on the model but when I tried it on, it was past my knee. I love to show off my legs so this wasn't a keeper for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 22, 2014
Elegant dress
This was my backup dress so I never got a chance to wear it. If I order it again to wear for real I'll probably order the size 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
I did not end up wearing the dress.
It was an odd fit. Tight through the legs, baggy in the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 17, 2014
Looks way better on the model.
I rented this for a wedding. When I got it in the mail it was brand new with the tags still on it, but there was no belt on either size I got. I called rent the runway about it, and they would have immediately sent me one, however I'm not sure it would have helped. It looked like a hanging, way to big bag, sheet, whatever bad you could think of, but the sleeves and shoulders were tight. I'm 6 feet tall, and it was really long on me too. It just wasn't my cup of tea at all. However, rent the runway is amazing and overnighted me another dress in a different style I liked and that one worked out awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2014
Understated sexy!
I wore this for my birthday after party & received a ton of compliments! I love that lace dresses are in, but didn't want to be like everyone else in all lace. This one had just enough. I especially loved the asymmetrical hem with lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
Not good
Didn't care for the material. My arms were too big and it was clingy. Not good for athletic body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2014
Perfect winter dress!
I wore this dress for a fancy date night out with my fiancé and I loved everything about it - it is both stylish, sophisticated and flattering. It is perfect for dressing up in the winter months when having sleeves can definitely be a plus. I wish I could have kept this dress:-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2014
Fun dress for a girls night out
Dress was very elegant and easy to wear. The lace was beautiful. The fit was a little awkward but I got use to it. The sash is a definite must since the dress itself does not have much shape. All in all a lovely dress for dinner date
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2014
beautiful dress!
The lace details are so pretty! I was very happy it arrived with the belt, it made it look much better!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2014
Not the best dress for my body type
The cutouts and lace are unique and really beautiful. I wore it with the belt and black pumps. It was just okay on me, probably because I don't have a well-defined waist. I went up a size because the material is not forgiving at all, very thin. I couldn't wear a shaper under this either due to the position of the cutouts. I guess I could have, but it would have looked too matronly and would have detracted from the lace detail on the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2014
So many compliments!
Wore this to celebrate my birthday, and all of my friends loved it. Several even told me I should buy it. :D I wore it with tan, flat boots and turquoise & silver jewelry. The shape is a really simple sheath, but the lace inserts take it to the next level. Great for slender or athletic body types, if you're hippy or have a little junk in the trunk, you might want to go up a size to make sure that the dress falls over your hips without clinging.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2014
LOVE this dress!! Fits true to DVF size.
No cons to this dress. Falls perfectly, extremely comfortable. I danced the night away and didn't feel constricted at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2014
DIfferent spin on a winter dress
The details were lost in the dark color; photographed much darker than what's shown online.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2014
Beautiful and Comfortable Dress
I loved this dress. Not only is it beautiful, but it's very comfortable to wear. This picture was taken at the end of the night, so you can see that it does't wrinkle badly - and I sat for at least 1/3 of the 4 hr event. My friends father even told me I was the most beautiful girl at the party!! ;-) I ordered a sz 4 and 6. The 4 fit pretty well, but I chose to wear the 6 because I was a bit more comfortable in it. I'd put on a few extra lbs over the holidays and didn't have any spanx that were short enought not to show through the lace. The material is beautiful but is very thin and it shows lumps and bumps pretty well. The 6 flowed a little more around my lower half so I could wear it without the spanx. Regular black bra works best (least noticeable through the lace) and there are strap holders around the neckline to prevent your straps from showing. Great feature!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2014
Beautiful Dress, But Not Fitted
I loved the style of this dress! The lace detail gives it a very unique look. However, I was a little disappointed with the fit. The dress seems more like a shift, and even with the belt, it's difficult to achieve a perfect fit. If you're looking a dress that has room and is more forgiving, then this is the dress for you. If you want something more snug, I would opt for something else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 8, 2014
Beautiful dress, Didn't come with the belt as pictured, never wore it.
I fell in love with the deep color and details of this dress - it was more plum than red, but it was still beautiful. I was prepared with a black skinny belt as many before me said it didn't come with belt as advertised, and sure enough, it did not. I took a risk ordering this because I am a size 14 dress but everyone had said it was so "HUGE" and necessary to order a size down, that I went for it. Maybe if I had a straighter figure it would've worked out, but it was way too tight across my chest (with or without a bra) and my butt! I ended up buying a new dress the day of the wedding. They should note that it doesn't come with the tie around the waist or even change the photo…this is the second time I've rented a dress from here that didn't come with the picture belt/tie, and had no mention in the description.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2013
Great Dress for a Fall/Winter Wedding
The overall fit was great, but the dress ended up being a little too long for my liking. It fell more to my knee than above it, but I'm guessing it's because I'm a little on the short side height-wise!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
Great dress! Perfect for a winter wedding!
The fit is true to size, it's very snug and hugs your curves. I was disappointed the sash was not included, thankfully my sis-in-law had a white house black market belt to complete the outfit. I received compliments from friends, family and random girls in the bathroom! The dress really is beautiful and great for special events in the winter time. I found myself pulling the dress down a lot and straightening out the top. My chest size was almost too big for the dress so I had some bunching issues. Overall, I would rent this dress again. I would go up a size, for proper chest fit, and find a sash!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2013
great dress for a winter wedding
lovely dress, appropriate length for a wedding (i'm 5'4). Wore with black tights since it was freezing out. Would have been more flattering if it came with the belt to emphasize waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
December 17, 2013
Most beautiful and elegant dress I have ever worn
I have never seen anyone wear anything like this, and it stood out incredibly at a formal work holiday party at the Italian Consulate in NYC. The lace is so elegant that the little bit of skin just appears classy. Very fancy and INCREDIBLE!!! My mother is an embroidery and lace designer and she fell in love with this dress too! I wore a black belt for a little more definition, it wasn't too tight that I couldn't wear some stockings (because it was 20 degrees). The material is silky with some stretch so it hugged very nicely. It has a thin lining as well. do yourself a favor and rent this!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2013
Great dress for my work holiday party!
Dress was comfortable and great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2013
Did not come with pictured sash - could not wear.
The dress didn't come with the pictured waistband sash and ended up being unwearable because the dress' general smockiness, combined with it's length (I'm shorter) made me look like an Italian widow. It could work with a belt but I ordered this for a destination wedding and didn't have anything available. The lace detailing was very beautiful, but I think this is best for taller women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2013
Perfect dress for a winter wedding.
This dress is beautiful. Rich color, lovely texture, great cut. I thought it fit true to size, as long as you wear the belt to pull in the waist. The only con is that the lace is delicate; my dress arrived with a small rip (though it was barely noticeable).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2013
Great for a fall wedding
I got so many compliments with this chic and sexy dress! I rented this for a formal Thanksgiving wedding. I am anywhere between a 4 and an 8 and wore the 8. I have a bit of a tummy and some hips so the 6 was too tight. The 8 was form-fitting, but I wore it with Spanx and it looked very flattering with the belt cinched at the waist. I wore a black strapless bra because a regular bra would have shown through the lace. The color was gorgeous and different from the basic black I usually choose. Very chic and sexy, but appropriate for a church wedding. I would definitely recommend this dress for a semi-formal or formal event, but size up if you are curvy. (I did not have an issue with the arms being too tight like some of the other reviewers mentioned.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2013
Beautiful, elegant, compliments all night!
This was my first experience with RTR and I am officially hooked. I am NEVER buying an expensive dress/ gown again! The dress came as promised, beautiful condition. I had planned on wearing the size 8, but fortunately I also had the extra size 10. The 10 fit perfectly. It is a silk sheath, no zipper, so I had to wiggle to get it over my chest, but once it was on it looked like it was made for me. Incredibly elegant. The lace gives the dress something really special. In a sea of black and gray ensembles, the beautiful color really made a splash. I got compliments the entire night! The length was perfect. I am a new RTR devotee!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 25, 2013
Beautiful dress! Wore it to a work related party.
The dress has no zipper so I had hard time pulling it over my head by myself! I received so many compliments for the dress that night! Very happy with the dress and RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 161lbs
November 22, 2013
Didn't wear back-up dress
I received this dress in place of the back-up dress I ordered because someone returned that dress in unwearable condition (don't do that!). This is a beautiful dress, but didn't fit me in the bottom as it's really a shift and I'm pear-shaped. Gorgeous color though.
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×