Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Ernestina Lace Dress

$75 rental
$465 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate lace party dress? This lace inset shift by Diane von Furstenberg is the perfect mix of sweet and sexy. Dress it up with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings and House of Harlow 1960’s Sundial Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Burgundy shift (100% polyester). Long sleeves with lace detail. Boat neckline. Shift body with removable belt. Hidden side zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

101 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 65
Large 16
Photos 42
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Great dress for my work holiday party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was comfortable and great
rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

great dress for a winter wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
lovely dress, appropriate length for a wedding (i'm 5'4). Wore with black tights since it was freezing out. Would have been more flattering if it came with the belt to emphasize waist.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Great Dress for a Fall/Winter Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The overall fit was great, but the dress ended up being a little too long for my liking. It fell more to my knee than above it, but I'm guessing it's because I'm a little on the short side height-wise!
stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Beautiful dress, Didn't come with the belt as pictured, never wore it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I fell in love with the deep color and details of this dress - it was more plum than red, but it was still beautiful. I was prepared with a black skinny belt as many before me said it didn't come with belt as advertised, and sure enough, it did not. I took a risk ordering this because I am a size 14 dress but everyone had said it was so "HUGE" and necessary to order a size down, that I went for it. Maybe if I had a straighter figure it would've worked out, but it was way too tight across my chest (with or without a bra) and my butt! I ended up buying a new dress the day of the wedding. They should note that it doesn't come with the tie around the waist or even change the photo…this is the second time I've rented a dress from here that didn't come with the picture belt/tie, and had no mention in the description.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to celebrate my birthday, and all of my friends loved it. Several even told me I should buy it. :D I wore it with tan, flat boots and turquoise & silver jewelry. The shape is a really simple sheath, but the lace inserts take it to the next level. Great for slender or athletic body types, if you're hippy or have a little junk in the trunk, you might want to go up a size to make sure that the dress falls over your hips without clinging.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Not the best dress for my body type

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The cutouts and lace are unique and really beautiful. I wore it with the belt and black pumps. It was just okay on me, probably because I don't have a well-defined waist. I went up a size because the material is not forgiving at all, very thin. I couldn't wear a shaper under this either due to the position of the cutouts. I guess I could have, but it would have looked too matronly and would have detracted from the lace detail on the top.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The lace details are so pretty! I was very happy it arrived with the belt, it made it look much better!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Perfect winter dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a fancy date night out with my fiancé and I loved everything about it - it is both stylish, sophisticated and flattering. It is perfect for dressing up in the winter months when having sleeves can definitely be a plus. I wish I could have kept this dress:-)
AM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Feb 24, 2014

Not good

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Didn't care for the material. My arms were too big and it was clingy. Not good for athletic body
Wiley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Understated sexy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my birthday after party & received a ton of compliments! I love that lace dresses are in, but didn't want to be like everyone else in all lace. This one had just enough. I especially loved the asymmetrical hem with lace.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Looks way better on the model.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding. When I got it in the mail it was brand new with the tags still on it, but there was no belt on either size I got. I called rent the runway about it, and they would have immediately sent me one, however I'm not sure it would have helped. It looked like a hanging, way to big bag, sheet, whatever bad you could think of, but the sleeves and shoulders were tight. I'm 6 feet tall, and it was really long on me too. It just wasn't my cup of tea at all. However, rent the runway is amazing and overnighted me another dress in a different style I liked and that one worked out awesome.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

I did not end up wearing the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was an odd fit. Tight through the legs, baggy in the top.
Marylin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

Wish I was taller,..

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress look short on the model but when I tried it on, it was past my knee. I love to show off my legs so this wasn't a keeper for me.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

The Rtr staff really went out of their way to make sure I was happy with my dress...it was great !

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you aren't tall the dress is much longer than in the photo
Susan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

This dress looks better in person. The silk is so soft.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't wear this dress because even with spanx on the bottom was a bit tight. It pulled right at my thighs and stomach. I still will order this again if I loose a little on the hips.
Tina
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

The dress is classy & sexy!!! I love it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits perfectly!!!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

I sent this dress back.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Dress ran very small especially thru the hips. Missing belt which is pictured. Too bad. I really liked this dress online. RTR made sure I wasn't stuck with a dress that didn't work. Love this service!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

A vision in plum!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress runs a bit small on curvier body types. It comes with the belt to highlight your waist. I felt that it was too form-fitting for me (ladies, get your spans ready) but it's a beautiful color that's complimentary to all skin tones. The black lace detailing was totally intact and not frayed, and is a neat contrast against the purple of the dress. I'd suggest black almond-toe heels with minimal jewelry- go for stud earrings and a dark colored cuff but pass on a necklace- the detailing is enough!
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Everyone complimented me on this dress at the wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous in person except the material was a little more clingy than I had anticipated. And the cut was straight so if you have curves like me you may want to size up unless you like things tight. Overall I was very happy with it.
jess
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Loved it - very classy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Mine came with the same-colored belt (other reviews claimed it didn't come in theirs). Fit great, wasn't clingy as I feared. If anything ran slightly big so it was definitely comfortable. Could dance all night!
Lyndsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

It was a beautiful dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Although the dress was a bit long on me, the overall fit was perfect! It was simple and elegant. A perfect piece for a wedding!
Ash
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 6, 2014

Not a great fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
No stretch, and does not come with belt. I am a little hippy and it made me lose my waist.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 20, 2014

Didn't Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 8 and a 10 in this dress. The fit was so off, the 8 was way too small in the chest and the 10 was still too small in the chest but was way too long.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

I wore this to a very stylish club in NYC- had tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to fit, the lace bottom makes the skirt quite short because it's sheer...unexpectedly sexy!
Buck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Wearing this color dress in Napa Valley was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was perfect for a night out in wine country. It was a formal 1920's theme so it worked nicely with adding some 20's inspired accessories. I had gained some weight so it was a bit snug. Overall, great dress.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

It was a gourmet pizza wedding…and I could totally eat all the pizza I wanted in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable, easy to dance in, felt great! Everyone loved it!
leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 27, 2014

I didn't end up wearing this dress although it was quite cute

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear it
dayna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lace is beautiful. In person the color is great. The deep color does not show as well in photos. Still a great dress.. I decided against the sash and it fit very well. Falls nicely on your body. Great earrings/ shoes are all you need.
rita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Quality of the fabric is not what I expected

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
On the picture the dress looks beautiful, but in real it is not the best quality in my opinion. But luckily I ordered 2 other dresses! Dress runs true to the size, does not stretch at all and has slightly tight in the upper sleeves. But what I did not like is the material, because it is very easy to get wrinkles. So I did wear my back up dress instead and loved it.
Carol1na
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

strange fit/did not wear

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was snug at the armholes and I don't have big arms. It was also tight across the chest and loose from waist down. It just did not lay right at all for a hourglass figure. If you are apple-y with skinny arms and legs, this is the dress for you! I chose this with the back up in an 8 (would have been huge!), but the 2nd dress was damaged so they sent me a 4 & 6 of a Trina Turk from my Heart section. I told them to choose and they picked well! They also sent me a beautiful crystal bracelet & earrings! Thanks, RTR!
Adrianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Unique dress in a great color for a holiday party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'd have preferred a black belt, but I really can't complain about this dress. It's eye-catching and comfortable at the same time.
samm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Unflattering Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a strange fit - it was tighter across my hips and too baggy through the chest. It also did not come with the belt as pictured. I think this would work best for a narrow body type. The purple is a very pretty color and the condition of the dress, especially the lace which I was a little concerned about renting, was very good.
aminat
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

IT WAS MY HIGHSCHOOL 10 YEARS REUNION AND THE COLOR MAROON IS MY HIGHSCOOL COLOR. IT WAS ELEGANT

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
THE FIT WASA GREAT EXCEPT FOR THE ARMS, THAT WAS MY ONLY CON. THE FABRIC OF THE SILK AND HOW COMFORTABLE YET BREATHABLE IT WAS MADE THE DRESS AMAZING! LENGTH OF THE DRESS WAS PERFECT ON MY 6FOOT TALL FRAME AND I FELT LIKE A LADY IN IT!
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Classic, beautiful dress - great for fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit! I got this dress at the last minute so I was frantically searching for a belt/sash but it worked out well. Beautiful and comfortable to dance, drink and eat in!
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2014

Gorgeous lace!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits true to size. It is gorgeous and figure flattering. I normally wear a 4-8 depending on the designer and the 8 fit comfortably (not too right but not baggy). I didn't send up wearing this dress because it was damaged but I'd love to re-rent it.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Cute cocktail dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. But I tried it on and it was very cute. I'm a 4 in DVF but for a shift dress that isn't a wrap I would always recommend going a size up. I would definitely rent this again!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Beautiful Color & Design!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a beautiful color and stood out at the dinner. The lace design on the hem, chest and sleeves was very elegant and revealing but not inappropriate. The length was also very nice and comfortable for someone on the petite end, which I am usually worried about the hem limiting my walking but had no issues.
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 2, 2014

Not able to wear

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Sleeves were very tight and the length may be a bit on the short side for some. Beautiful material wish it was a better fit
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

I really enjoyed the dress. It was a beautiful shade of plum.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was good. I was a little disappointed when there was no sash in the box with the dress. I went back and read reviews and saw other people felt the same. If I had realised it was more of a shift dress, I would have picked something else. I have a great figure, but my large chest and skinny body create a tent effect with a shift dress. Otherwise, the colour was beautiful, the lace detail was beautiful. I definitely stood out with other dresses at the wedding I attended. Overall my experience with RTR has been positive enough I will return for future events. Though I will more thoroughly look at reviews from now on.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Small in some areas, huge in others

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first pick dress and was really excited to receive it. I was incredibly disappointed when it came. I am a 32D and was expecting to wear the 2 because of my cup size, but it was so tight in the chest that the whole dress rode up and gave a weird look around the shoulders. The sleeves are really long AND the dress is long. I tried blousing it out a bit, but it didn't help. Compared to other reviews, both dresses did come with the sash which I was worried about, but I didn't end up wearing the dress. Thankfully my back up was beautiful!!! I would only recommend this dress for people with a B cup and smaller unless you want to order way up and have it be really long.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×