Ernestina Lace Dress

$84 to buy
$465 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate lace party dress? This lace inset shift by Diane von Furstenberg is the perfect mix of sweet and sexy. Dress it up with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings and House of Harlow 1960’s Sundial Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Burgundy shift (100% polyester). Long sleeves with lace detail. Boat neckline. Shift body with removable belt. Hidden side zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
107 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2014
This dress looks better in person. The silk is so soft.
I didn't wear this dress because even with spanx on the bottom was a bit tight. It pulled right at my thighs and stomach. I still will order this again if I loose a little on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 18, 2014
I sent this dress back.
Dress ran very small especially thru the hips. Missing belt which is pictured. Too bad. I really liked this dress online. RTR made sure I wasn't stuck with a dress that didn't work. Love this service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 19, 2014
A vision in plum!
This dress runs a bit small on curvier body types. It comes with the belt to highlight your waist. I felt that it was too form-fitting for me (ladies, get your spans ready) but it's a beautiful color that's complimentary to all skin tones. The black lace detailing was totally intact and not frayed, and is a neat contrast against the purple of the dress. I'd suggest black almond-toe heels with minimal jewelry- go for stud earrings and a dark colored cuff but pass on a necklace- the detailing is enough!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2014
Everyone complimented me on this dress at the wedding!
This dress was gorgeous in person except the material was a little more clingy than I had anticipated. And the cut was straight so if you have curves like me you may want to size up unless you like things tight. Overall I was very happy with it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
This DVF was a hit for my best friend's rehearsal dinner!
The material was thinner than I expected (spanx were necessary.) But overall, I loved the fit and got several compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2014
Loved it - very classy.
Mine came with the same-colored belt (other reviews claimed it didn't come in theirs). Fit great, wasn't clingy as I feared. If anything ran slightly big so it was definitely comfortable. Could dance all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 28, 2014
It was a beautiful dress
Although the dress was a bit long on me, the overall fit was perfect! It was simple and elegant. A perfect piece for a wedding!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2014
Unique dress- lots of compliments
I wore this dress to a wedding in September and it was perfect. It's a relatively warmer dress because of the sleeves so it was nice for the evening because I didn't have to wear a coat or wrap. I ended up wearing some spanx and black pantyhose and I'm glad I did because the bottom of the dress was very fitted on me... But I do have big hips and a booty. The top fit me well- I am small on top. I liked the length- not too short for this tall girl. I wore it with the belt. I feel like without it the dress might looks baggy and strange. The only thing that was disappointing about this dress was the material. The lace was nice but the fabric looked a little cheap for my taste. I guess because its a DVF I anticipated something nicer. But all around I would recommend this style. I got lots of compliments and nobody else had a dress like it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 6, 2014
Not a great fit.
No stretch, and does not come with belt. I am a little hippy and it made me lose my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2014
Didn't Fit
I ordered a size 8 and a 10 in this dress. The fit was so off, the 8 was way too small in the chest and the 10 was still too small in the chest but was way too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2014
I wore this to a very stylish club in NYC- had tons of compliments!
True to fit, the lace bottom makes the skirt quite short because it's sheer...unexpectedly sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2014
Wearing this color dress in Napa Valley was perfect!
This dress was perfect for a night out in wine country. It was a formal 1920's theme so it worked nicely with adding some 20's inspired accessories. I had gained some weight so it was a bit snug. Overall, great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
Not good
Didn't care for the material. My arms were too big and it was clingy. Not good for athletic body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2014
The perfect dress for an October wedding in the South
I loved this dress! The model photo is an accurate representation of the fit, though it was obviously longer on me, which was fine. I loved the lace detail and the color. I wore it to attend a wedding in Georgia in October, so I wanted something that would fit the occasion and the season without being too hot or summery at the same time. I added a black sash to the middle instead of the oxblood-colored one, but I would definitely recommend this dress.
juliaDecember 10, 2014
This dress looks beautiful on you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2014
It was a gourmet pizza wedding…and I could totally eat all the pizza I wanted in this dress!
Very comfortable, easy to dance in, felt great! Everyone loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
September 25, 2014
Lacey!
Very comfortable, I belted because I'm bigger on bottom than on top so top was a little loose since I needed the bigger size for the bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
September 27, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress although it was quite cute
I didn't wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2014
Understated sexy!
I wore this for my birthday after party & received a ton of compliments! I love that lace dresses are in, but didn't want to be like everyone else in all lace. This one had just enough. I especially loved the asymmetrical hem with lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal / rehearsal dinner !
I loved the dress ! The color was perfect for fall and the lace was just the right amount of sexy. It fit true to size. I used a black velvet piece of ribbon as a belt to keep things simple. My only problem was the length - rather long for us shorter girls ! On the model it was mid thigh... on me it was mid calf. But, I loved it nonetheless!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2014
strange fit/did not wear
This dress was snug at the armholes and I don't have big arms. It was also tight across the chest and loose from waist down. It just did not lay right at all for a hourglass figure. If you are apple-y with skinny arms and legs, this is the dress for you! I chose this with the back up in an 8 (would have been huge!), but the 2nd dress was damaged so they sent me a 4 & 6 of a Trina Turk from my Heart section. I told them to choose and they picked well! They also sent me a beautiful crystal bracelet & earrings! Thanks, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2014
Unique dress in a great color for a holiday party.
I'd have preferred a black belt, but I really can't complain about this dress. It's eye-catching and comfortable at the same time.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2014
IT WAS MY HIGHSCHOOL 10 YEARS REUNION AND THE COLOR MAROON IS MY HIGHSCOOL COLOR. IT WAS ELEGANT
THE FIT WASA GREAT EXCEPT FOR THE ARMS, THAT WAS MY ONLY CON. THE FABRIC OF THE SILK AND HOW COMFORTABLE YET BREATHABLE IT WAS MADE THE DRESS AMAZING! LENGTH OF THE DRESS WAS PERFECT ON MY 6FOOT TALL FRAME AND I FELT LIKE A LADY IN IT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 7, 2014
Classic, beautiful dress - great for fall wedding
Great fit! I got this dress at the last minute so I was frantically searching for a belt/sash but it worked out well. Beautiful and comfortable to dance, drink and eat in!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 7, 2014
Unique, beautiful and tasteful dress for a work event...and the fabric has give!
I wore this dress for a semi-formal company anniversary party. I ordered the 2 and the 4...there is not too much difference, but I would definitely say that the 4 was true to size. The uneven scalloped lace detail on the bottom is especially nice--you can see a little leg, but not too much. The only minor complaint I have is that because it lacks structure and is thin fabric (the sash totally defines the shape) it rode up a bit around the chest, and got a little wrinkly on the skirt, as seen in the photo. BUT the fabric is stretchy, so that was a nice surprise considering the fact that I always eat all available food when it's free.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 28, 2014
Beautiful Color & Design!
I rented this dress for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a beautiful color and stood out at the dinner. The lace design on the hem, chest and sleeves was very elegant and revealing but not inappropriate. The length was also very nice and comfortable for someone on the petite end, which I am usually worried about the hem limiting my walking but had no issues.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2014
I really enjoyed the dress. It was a beautiful shade of plum.
The fit was good. I was a little disappointed when there was no sash in the box with the dress. I went back and read reviews and saw other people felt the same. If I had realised it was more of a shift dress, I would have picked something else. I have a great figure, but my large chest and skinny body create a tent effect with a shift dress. Otherwise, the colour was beautiful, the lace detail was beautiful. I definitely stood out with other dresses at the wedding I attended. Overall my experience with RTR has been positive enough I will return for future events. Though I will more thoroughly look at reviews from now on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 8, 2014
Small in some areas, huge in others
This was my first pick dress and was really excited to receive it. I was incredibly disappointed when it came. I am a 32D and was expecting to wear the 2 because of my cup size, but it was so tight in the chest that the whole dress rode up and gave a weird look around the shoulders. The sleeves are really long AND the dress is long. I tried blousing it out a bit, but it didn't help. Compared to other reviews, both dresses did come with the sash which I was worried about, but I didn't end up wearing the dress. Thankfully my back up was beautiful!!! I would only recommend this dress for people with a B cup and smaller unless you want to order way up and have it be really long.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2014
Stylish and appropriate
I loved this dress for the fall wedding I attended. The lace inserts made it sexy, but the sleeves and hem length made it feel seasonally appropriate and demure enough for the church. The lace insert at the top is low enough that it will definitely expose a bit of your bra. I wore a nude bra with no embellishment, and it was fine.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2015
Rented this great DVF dress for a November wedding at a yacht club on Long Island.
Could not have been happier with my first RTR experience.. Both the 0 and 2 fit, but the 2 was a little too long for my petite height. Was perfect for the season and received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2015
Wore this dress to a formal dance and got so many compliments!
This dress fits amazingly and looks so beautiful! In person the color isn't as quite that burgundy reddish tint its really like a dark plum , but beautiful none the less.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2015
Beautiful lace work on the sleeves.
Forgiving fit because of the sash.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2014
Beautiful Dress, But Not Fitted
I loved the style of this dress! The lace detail gives it a very unique look. However, I was a little disappointed with the fit. The dress seems more like a shift, and even with the belt, it's difficult to achieve a perfect fit. If you're looking a dress that has room and is more forgiving, then this is the dress for you. If you want something more snug, I would opt for something else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 16, 2015
Gorgeous lace details!
I rented this to wear to a fall wedding and was not disappointed by the quality of the fabric and color. I ended up not wearing it because it was unseasonably hot the day of her wedding. The only thing I would note is that the dress is much longer than shown on the model. It looked a bit matronly on my because it was knee length and long sleeve. Probably looks stunning on someone a bit taller!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 28, 2014
Unflattering Fit
This dress was a strange fit - it was tighter across my hips and too baggy through the chest. It also did not come with the belt as pictured. I think this would work best for a narrow body type. The purple is a very pretty color and the condition of the dress, especially the lace which I was a little concerned about renting, was very good.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 18, 2015
Perfect for a cocktail attire work Holiday Party.
Very loose throughout the middle of the dress- I used a velvet piece of fabric from Michaels and just tied it in a bow in the back. It fit great, just wrinkles slightly easier because of the fabric. The lace details completely made the dress. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2015
Great material and beautiful fit.
The dress fits slim with a slight amount of give around the edges. This is good if you want to show your shape without wearing something so skin tight that every bump will show. The length is modest and yet still very sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2015
Sorry this silly pic is the best full length picture I have of the dress. Overall, loved it!
I have a small top and larger hips, and it was pretty snug around the hips, though not uncomfortably or noticeably so (as far as I know). I might have gotten a larger size for the hips. It's either silk, or some type of silk-material, so it will cling to your body and show off lumps, etc., so if you're concerned about that, you might want to consider spanx of some sort. All of that said, I loved wearing it and got so many compliments! It was perfect for a relatively informal fall wedding. Most importantly, it was comfortable to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 26, 2015
Unique dress with lace cutouts.
Very elegant and comfortable dress. Slightly snug in the hips for curvier girls. I received a lot of compliments on this dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
August 14, 2015
I LOVED this dress! I wore it for Christmas Eve and got so many compliments. Would love to own it!
Runs a little small in the waist, but fits great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2015
Long & lean!
I felt beautiful in this dress as a petite and curvy woman this dress made me feel long and lean! It was just at the knee for me and the lace cutouts contrasting with the burgundy color was perfect done. The belt that came with it was essential to create shape within the dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×