Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size49
Small22
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 7, 2014
Was a great dress
Loved this dress but the top was a little big and needed double stick tape so it didn't pucker out. Dress was shorter than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
Too Short, Too showing - not good for tall girls
I rented this for a wedding & unfortunately had to return it- because it was un-wearable. It was sooo short on me i wasn't able to move w/o showing off private parts. There was no room to pull it down because the dress was so low cut. This is definitely a risky dress & i would not recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 6, 2014
This dress started my love affair with DVF
This was my first RTR dress and what a stunner! This dress has such a flattering fit! Only negative thing I can say is that I have a medium sized chest and I was busting out of the top a little. I would not recommend this dress to very busty ladies. However, if you want to look busty this one is for you! The material feels very luxurious and the detail (which unfortunately you can't see in the photo) is beautiful. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2014
Cute dress
I rented this for a wedding but when I got it--it was way too short to wear to a wedding (regardless of the season). If you have a butt--it will make it even shorter! This would be a really cute dress for a different type of party (birthday party, bachelorette party...) just not a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2014
REALLY SHORT.
I'm 5'7" and am not afraid to wear dresses on the shorter side. The fit was perfect. However, this dress arrived and was so short it made me blush. I didn't end up wearing it. Renter beware! You don't want to be flashing anyone at your formal functions!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
November 23, 2013
This is prettier in person...
This is such a pretty and fun dress, I really wanted it to fit, but again I just could not get the zipper around my bustline. However, it has a good amount of room up top, so I think if I had been able to order the size larger I would not have filled it out. If you are narrower in the waist this will look great - it will hide all manner of sins in the hips!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2013
Great little black dress!
I wasn't sure about this dress, so when I ordered a different dress for a bachelorette party I threw this one in too, at the reduced price. I was happy I did! It was a great little party dress! It was a bit shorter on me than I would normally wear, but for the occasion it worked out alright. The texture doesn't photograph as well, but in person it is an intricate dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip, it was perfect!
PROS: I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip. I wanted something that was comfortable and cute. This dress was both! The top line is super cute and the length was wedding appropriate!!! CONS: Fit too big. I am usually between a 6 and a 4. The 4 would have fit much better and I think I would have loved the dress rather then thinking it was just ok. By the end of the night it stretched out a little and kept falling down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but unfortunately arrived damaged so I was unable to wear it.
This dress is absolutely beautiful and fit well for a petite figure, but unfortunately arrived damaged for my event.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 6, 2013
Great Dress. Everyone loved it.
I wore it for my Birthday Party and the dress was a hit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Adorable
I rented this as a backup dress. I am a size 4 but they only had a size 6 available the weekend I needed it so unfortunately the dress was too big around my bust and ribcage! If I could have gotten it in a size 4 I definitely would have worn it instead of my original dress. This dress is so cute I was obsessed with it. Definitely would recommend
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Pretty dress but ended up not wearing it...
I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up receiving a 2 and 6. The 2 was too small and the 6 was too big. I ended up not wearing the dress since I didn't get the right sizes. I wrote to RTR and they immediately credited my account! Great customer service and will continue to use RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 9, 2013
A little stressful waiting for a dress that I had never tried on, but a great experience. SO happy.
Would have preferred the size 8, but it wasn't available. Fit well and was young and flirty without being trashy. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2013
Cute dress, fun skirt, bust fit weird.
Runs small in the waist and large in the bust--not the cups but the top seam of the dress was too loose, like maybe it had been stretched out. Also the side zipper puckered right below the waist, which was unflattering. But if it had fit better, it was a cute dress with a fun, swishy skirt. It wasn't nearly as short on me as on others, I'm 5'3" and it hit at the top of my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2013
Hard to go wrong with a black dress
The style of the dress was nice and I enjoyed wearing it however there was a tear in the body of the dress and it clearly had been worn one too many times.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
July 31, 2013
Super cute, wish I could have worn it!
While this dress is super cute and looked great on a lot of the girls who rented it on the RTR site, unfortunately when I got it, it was just too short. I am 5'7" with long legs and a long torso and sad to say it was just not long enough to cover my butt and my chest at the same time, if I wanted to be able to sit down at all. Unfortunate because it is a really adorable dress, makes me wish I was a few inches shorter because I think this dress would look great on any body type just not any height...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 26, 2013
Too short
Too short for me to wear to the wedding. Top was stretched out
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2013
Perfect "Little Black Dress"!
I rented this for my sister's Bachelorette Party in New York with the theme "Little Black Dress". It was great! The bust is definitely low cut but a gorgeous neck line. The body fit fine on the smaller sizes I originally tried, but only was too small in the bust. Even if it fits you well up top, I recommend fashion tape. Super cute and flattering over all... I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2013
Beautiful dress perfect for pear shapped women!
I wore this dress for my junior prom and I loved it! I ordered a size 2 and 6. The size six fit better but there was a rip next to the zipper and it ended up not zipping up or down which made it quite the hassel to get out of. But I was able to squeeze into the size 2. The bust runs a bit large but other then that it's pretty true to it's size. It looked great and I got compliments all night! I would recommend this dress and RTR who anyone who hasn't tried it before!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2013
So many compliments!
I ended up taking a risk and ordering a 6 when I normally wear a size 8 (RTR didn't have an 8 the day I wanted to rent one). Though the 6 was a little tight, it worked well because the top of the dress is naturally loose (and I have a small bust). I had to use double sided tape to keep it up all night, but I would wear the dress again in a second. It's the perfect little black party dress. One thing to be aware of is that the dress doesn't photograph all that well because the camera has a hard time picking up the texture/design of the dress. In person though the dress is stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2013
I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress! Like a princess.
The dress itself is beautiful - the shape, the texture, everything. It was incredibly flattering. It made my waist look tiny. The main problem (which was my fault, not the dress's) is that I'm fairly full-chested and the dress was very low cut. I taped it and it stayed up for photos, for the most part, but as soon as it tried to dance it fell down and my boobs were falling out all night. Other than that, I have nothing to complain about. I felt incredible all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013
Not Wedding Appropriate
I did not end up wearing this dress. The fit is very small. I fit in to a 10 from all other styles fine and this I could not zip all the way. It is also VERY SHORT. Would be great for a party, but not enough coverage on top or bottom for a wedding! It is a pretty dress though and would work for other events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2013
I was so glad I decided to go dressy to a hotel's 25th anniversary party!
This dress fit perfectly except for in the top. Runs very small in the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2013
I couldn't stop twirling
The dress fit very well and was still in great condition. I wore a pair of fun and crazy heels to make the dress less formal and more appropriate for my event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
if you want something fun, this is perfect.
I originally ordered a size 6 & 8 and both ended up being too tight. Luckily, RTR has great customer service and I was sent a size 10 the next day. The 10 was still hard to zip up, but doable. I wouldn't recommend this dress if you have a larger bust. I'm a 34 B and I felt like I was about to fall out of the top most of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2013
This dress looks amazing on!
The fit of this dress is perfect, and very flattering. The only con is the top of the dress is really thin fabric, so you have to use fashion tape to keep it in place. Other than that, this dress was a big hit!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
April 19, 2013
This was for the opening night of Motown the Musical on Broadway.
I felt beautiful in this dress and would recommend RTR to everyone and use them for every event. I placed my order at midnight and it was delivered by 4pm the next day. I did pay for same day delivery. Enjoy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Great dress, lots of compliments!
I wore it for a wedding that I was in this past weekend. It's a darling dress. Runs a little big...normally DVF runs small, so I ordered a 6, with an 8 as a backup and it was pretty lose up top. The bust area wouldn't stay up without Hollywood tape, but all in all a fun dress to wear to a wedding. The organza material was a little worn out and wouldn't stay down along the waistline. You can see it in the picture.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 26, 2013
I loved this dress; it was fun, flirty, and I got a lot of compliments on it!
I had to make sure my boobs were still in the dress because of the balconette style top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
I loved this dress and would rent it again.
The fit is awesome and true to size. I am 5 ft 7 and 130 lb. The size 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2013
Great Dress!
I was definitely skeptical about renting a dress, but it worked out perfectly. I found a Diane Von Ferstenberg size chart online and measured myself just to make sure I was getting the right size. My measurements were for a size 8 and it fit perfectly. Based on the stylist tips on RTR I got a size 6 as a backup size, but it was too small, I couldn't even zip it up. The only thing is that it does run a teeny bit large in the bust, and the dress sits pretty low on your chest, so it when I first put it on it felt like it was going to fall off. I fixed this by wearing a strapless bra and using fashion tape to tape the dress on securely. It stayed on with no problems and I got tons of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2013
Fab dress!! Received compliments all night long, definitely made the event very memorable.
The dress was delivered in a timely fashion and Although I ordered the alternate size bigger because several reviews said it ran small it wasn't necessary. The fit was true to size and no garment tape was needed. I was able to wear a nice VS strapless bra and had no slipping or wardrobe mishaps. As I mentioned earlier I received compliments all night long but the kicker was when someone stopped me on the dance floor and said I had to tell you your dress is stunning and people have been admiring it all throughout the night. I was truly happy overall with my RTR experience and I will definitely utilize their site again. I highly recommend their services.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
I LOVED THIS DRESS! Material is so soft and pretty, amazing detail too. Best time dancing in it!
The bust area is of course a little loose, but with the double sided tape it looks great. I could even fit a strapless bra underneath, so that made it even better! I'm a 34c, so not too big, but I didn't see too many problems with it. The pros most definitely outweigh the cons. The top of the dress sits pretty low on the chest, but not enough to make you look inappropriate. It bares the chest just enough to make you feel really confident and sexy! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS DRESS!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2013
Great Dress!
This was a perfect dress! It fit perfectly and was flirty and fun! I didn't end up wearing this dress since I rented two for one event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Rent This Dress With Caution
The dress itself was lovely, but it simply did not fit. I have a 34D chest so I was cautious with reading others' reviews before deciding to go with this particular strapless. I normally wear a 4 but rented a 6 and 8, assuming I would need a little more fabric up top. After a new strapless bra and countless pieces of fashion tap, the 6 still exposed waaaayyy too much boob! As in, if it was literally 1/8th of an inch lower, it would have been a disaster. The 8 was WAY too big on my back/ribs so I had to stick with the 6. Also, tugging the top up all night shifted the hem line up too high and thus added a solid 10lbs on to my waistline. If you have a large chest, I'd definitely recommend a different style- not worth feeling self conscious on a special occasion!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
Loved the dress, looked great, and got tons of compliments.
Top of the dress does not stay without fabric tape. This became very bad at the end of the night, especially if you are doing lots of dancing. Size fit like a glove. Also does not photograph very well, but the texture of the dress in person is fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 27, 2012
RTR overnighted me this replacement dress when my original was delayed
Pretty tight right below the bust area, but I like a snug fit. I was pleasantly surprised with this dress when I had to choose it last minute after the dress I ordered was delayed. It is fun and young, perfect for going out for my birthday! Makes for a good twirl :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 18, 2012
Adorable but short!
This was a beautiful dress. When I ordered it I ordered a size 10 and the backup sign of a 12. The 10 was out of stock and RTR was very nice enough to send me another dress in its place. The problem with this dress was that the 12 was too big in the chest area and overall way too short. I am 5'10. If I had worn this, I would have been worried about it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
December 16, 2012
Ended up not wearing the dress but it was adorable!
Adorable dress, but rented two dresses and ended up not wearing this one. Was a bit more party dress (low cut/short hem) than I expected so I went with a more conservative dress for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
December 12, 2012
Wore this to a formal
Fit a little small on the top, but it was amazing and so flattering I LOVED it, I would buy it if I could afford it!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×