Jenn's Jaguar Dress

$47 to buy
$535 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this insane hot little black dress by D&G by Dolce and Gabbana, with a bold bracelet for a great going out look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk satin. Square neckline. Black satin inset. Adjustable straps. Exposed back zipper. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size106
Small42
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
I Love It!
I usually wear a 6, but can fit a 4. This dress is a stretch satin, so the 4 hugged me (REALLY! LOL). I would do a size 6 next time.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
LOVE IT !
only thing i had a problem with was the zipper, it kept running down. amazing dress wish i could own it ! def renting it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 18, 2012
Perfect for a Rat Pack themed charity event!
I wore this to a charity event and it was really pretty. I was concerned about renting because I'm petite (5'1", and about 97lbs) and usually have to have size 0's altered. I know D&G runs small so I took a chance and rented it. I got the 36 and the 38 and ended up wearing the 36, which fit great. It has an underwire bra built in, but that didn't hit me in the right place and wasn't enough support (it also flattened me out a little). Fortunately, my strapless bra fit still fit in the dress and it did the trick. The built in underwire actually seemed to help keep my strapless bra in place. I didn't have to keep tugging at it all night like I usually do. The dress was very comfortable. I didn't wear spanx with it, because of the theme of the event, I wore hose with a black back seam and that kept everything smooth and without panty lines. To go with the theme, I also wore leopard platform pumps, red lipstick and did my hair a la' Veronica Lake. Unfortunately, by the time we got around to taking pictures we had all had a few too many martinis, so I don't have any ;) Very fun to wear and super comfy! Perfect if you are petite and having a hard time finding smaller dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
November 16, 2012
Sexy & Fab!
Great dress!
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2012
The dress was amazing and looked amazing on. Classy and sexy all-in-one!
It has a built in bra, so one less undergarment to worry about. However the bra is an underwire and if you're not careful it can come out and poke/dig in to your sides. My trick for this is to put a bandage for blisters were the wires end under the arms to protect from potential poking. On the upside the material has some stretch thus it will hug your curves.
TamikaJune 19, 2013
Hi, we are about the same size but I am a 36C. I wa slooking at the size chart and it says a size 12 is a 48...do they run big, since you got a 44?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
New Years Eve in Dolce Gabbana :)
Gorgeous, classic, great length. I will definetly rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 30, 2012
I rented this for New Year's Eve. Amazing fit and incredibly well-made. Total show-stopper.
As soon as I slipped into this dress, I realized why designer dresses cost what they do. Everything about the fit was perfect. The bust has a wire bra built-in so your 'ladies' are well-supported and lifted. The fit is perfectly snug, but with enough 'give' to let you move comfortably. I will absolutely rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
...
This was a beautiful dress and it did fit my torso, but did not accommodate my natural 32FF/G bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Beautiful Party Dress with one little downside!
The dress was gorgeous and perfect for my birthday party. The only downside was that the zipper did not have a hook on the top which meant that when sitting the zipper would slide down a bit. Minor annoyance on an otherwise gorgeous dress.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
Loved it! Made all the guys at the reunion turn their heads!
I definitely had the curves for this dress, when I put it on, it was like it was made for me. It hit a little longer than the picture, but I'm much shorter than the model (5'1), but it didn't matter. My husband loved this dress on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
Curve-hugging stunner
This dress is simple and elegant with a clean silhouette and perfectly constructed shape. My boyfriend couldn't take his hands off the satin....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2012
sucked me in!
very very very tight dress....i loved it but wished i got a size up. It sucks you in like a body glove and the material is GREAT. If you are short like me i wouldn't rent this it was below my knees which made it kind of hard to dance. Also, wouldn't recommend anyone with boobs renting this there is no way they would fit into the built in bra. I dressed it up with a gemstone belt to give it a little something more. Wish i owned this dress!
gloriaSeptember 12, 2013
love love love the belt!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Amazing dress!!!
Gorgeous dress! I rented it for a wedding and I thought it fit unbelievably well. It is made for an hourglass figure and the material is nice, thick and doesn’t wrinkle easily so it was able to endure the long ride to the wedding. I ended up taking it in on the bottom (about 2 inches which brought it right above the knee) and it looked perfect! I ordered size 36 and 38. Both fit, but the 36 made me feel like it looked a bit tight where it cut off on my back so I opted for the 38 which fit quite well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2012
Very nice dress
I love this dress. I felt like a million dollars in it -- and everyone told me I looked it :)) The only problem I had was that the zipper started comming apart when I came to the wedding.
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
VAVAVOOM
I love the fit the material was thick, this dress compliments my figure..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2012
Wow!
Loved this dress! Fit perfectly, super comfy and had just the right amount of stretch. Received so many compliments, you won't go unnoticed in this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 21, 2012
Knockout dress
I wore this to a Spring evening wedding and the fit was amazing. The only downside is the built in bra that I found to be a bit snug for my 34D breast but I wore a strapless bra that contained them. Otherwise, it was a hit and I received several compliments.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Wore it to the BET Awards
I really liked the dress and it looked gorgeous but the zipper always falls down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Nice!
sexy, but small on top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Hot dress looks great!
Wore it to a bachelorette and then for a sexy engagement-shoot outfit! It's great.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Love this LBD
This dress fit almost perfectly for a big date. I have a small waist and tiny bust so those are the two areas that I am concerned about. The adjustable straps are the best part of the dress. Usually I would have to pull up straps all night, not this time. Also the bust was tight enough that there was no gaping while still being very flattering. It was a little big in the waist, but that is a normal problem for me. My one complaint was that it ran long and went just below my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 13, 2012
Knowing that no where else in Iowa, did anyone else have this dress!
I rented this for my cousin's wedding. I was a little intimidated when picking a size because I'm usually a 0 or 2 and and the sizes it recommended were 38 and 40. I actually had to go with the 40 because I couldn't even zip the other one up. It had some type of built in slip/ bralette so I had to wear a non padded strapless in order to fit my chest into the dress. It was tight around my hips as well. It was probably a little tighter than what should be worn to a wedding, but I felt so sexy in it. It is definatly a bit naughty so be prepared to turn heads.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 10, 2012
Almost Fantastic
This was my backup dress and I'm glad I got 2 sizes in the first dress. Although this dress is sleek and feels great, the built-in bra is impossible. I went a size up and my 36Ds were still spilling over the side. The bra part of the dress is not ideal, I wish they had left the cups out. If your breasts are small or medium, this will probably be a great dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 5, 2012
Great quality
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas but ended up not wearing it. I liked the length (It nearly covered my knees) but my bust was just not big enough to support the top while fitting my hips. I really wish I weren't so oddly shaped because I definitely wanted to wear it :( The material was high quality and I loved the feel of it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 25, 2012
Va va voom
This dress was amazing to wear, I felt very very sexy and got a lot of compliments. I have a larger chest but am a size 32 around. The 40 looked fine on me but I did have a few wrinkles in the torso section of the dress because it wasn't as skin tight there. I would say if you are under 5'5" this dress might be a little too long for you, it hit my lower knees.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
July 23, 2012
Sexy dress
I rented this dress for a wedding. Everyone kept telling me how hot and gorgeous I looked. The dress fit like a glove. If you have an hour glass or pear shape this dress really shows your Assets. Can't wait for my next rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
July 13, 2012
Vavavoom!
Loved this dress! It accentuated my curves and my husband really loved it. I felt super sexy for my Birthday celebration!
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
July 12, 2012
I felt amazing..
Ok...I just got this dress in the mail today. I rented it for a very important photo shoot..I am a size 10 (46)normally, however this dress was nt available in tht size. I got the 8(44) w/ no back up size..my shape is like most african american women..big hips(44 1/2) small waist(32) small bust(36B)...my concern was my hips and thighs my bust is small so i knew tht wouldnt be a problem...I had my fingers crossed..slipped it on today..and hoooooooooney! Let me teeeellll u.....perfect! im wearing this 8...there is a gr8 amount of stretch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 30, 2012
Smokin'!
This dress is absolutely amazing, I was getting compliments all night. I would love, love, love to own it. I'd say the biggest fit factor in this dress is the bust--both the 10 and the 12 would've fit fine and had some give in the waist and hips, but I don't quite have the chest to fill out the 12, so I went with the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 22, 2012
During my birthday dinner, one of my friends stopped in the middle of a sentence and said "You are just so beautiful tonight!"
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday and it was so fabulous. The dress is very well constructed and the fabric is sleek with a good amount of stretch. I had been worried about the fit since I have a larger bust, and in particular was worried how I'd do with the built in underwire bra, but somehow the dress just worked. Practically like magic! I honestly felt like a million bucks in this dress and would love to find an excuse to rent it again!
ElyseAugust 12, 2012
would you wear this dress in the summer time to a wedding?
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Elyse! You can absolutely wear this dress to a summer wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2012
feeling sexy
I am in love with this dress!! only one complaint, the top does run a little small as there is built in bra with under wire and has a tendency to smush your boobs a little bit. My spanks and the dress material disagreed a little bit as well and I had to pull down the dress while dancing, it just kept riding up. I am a little larger on bottom (thankfully the material is stretchy) than I am on top and the dress was very slimming at the high waist point and gave me this killer hour glass figure. But I got literally TONS of compliments all night long and I felt so incredibly sexy! I would love to buy this dress so I could wear it over and over!
KristiOctober 8, 2012
Hi Becca, I am 5'1" also, and considering this dress. Did you use hem tape on this dress or was the length ok for you? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2012
My very-stylish friend told me that this was the best dress she's ever seen me wear! :)
As with many reviewers, I only wish I could find this dress in stores somewhere so I could buy it! I have an athletic/straight-ish body shape and this gave me all the curves I could ask for, along with many compliments. I was at a day-to-night wedding, so I wore a little cardigan over it at the church and took that off later for dancing! I got a size 40 and 42 and I probably could have made the 40 work in a pinch, but the 42 was just right. My only complaint is that the construction in the bust is kind of baffling: there is a separate piece of fabric on the inside of the bust to create a layered look, but it isn't sewn into one place on the bottom edge. This made it kind of hard to keep it in place in relation to the outer piece (it kept sliding up and down), so I was adjusting the inner piece often throughout the night. I don't know if that makes sense, but it was weird. Also, I wouldn't wear this if you're going to an event where you'll be sitting a lot because the fabric wrinkles quite a bit. By the way, I'm 36/28/38.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2012
Great dress, small bust
Loved this dress. Used it for a photo shoot. It ran rather small in the bust so definitely size up if you are a C or more. I ended up wearing my back up size 8 instead of the 6 for this reason. Also with the right undergarments it looks stellar, but without it is rather unforgiving. So plan accordingly. I really enjoyed this dress though and it was a good first experience with RTR. I will definitely use the site again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 15, 2012
Not good for busty women
I loved this dress - perfect fit until it hit the bustling. I'm a 38C or 36D, and while I was able to zip the dress at the bust line it pushed my breasts waaaay up and came close to a wardrobe malfunction. It's a beautiful dress that I loved, but couldn't wear because of the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 29, 2012
Hot, Hot, Hot...!
This dress was amazing. I actually tried to buy it, but couldn't find it retailed anywhere. It fit like a glove and showed all of my best curves. I am 5'9, 127 lbs, 32e/26/36. I wore the size 38 and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2012
Wanted to Keep this dress !!
This dress was so beautiful. I recently had a baby and wasn't completely down to size yet. I was feeling anxious and wasn't sure if i wanted to go to the party. I rented this dress, and it fit perfectly. The fabric is form fitting and made me look slender, I loved this dress! I received so many compliments and it made me feel great about myself again. At the time of the party i was 5 ' 5" and weighed aprox 145 pounds. I rented size 40 and 42 to be on the safe size. The bra top was not quite big enough for C - D cup but i was able to wear a black strapless bra and it looked perfect. I would definitely rent this dress again!~ loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 13, 2012
wish my size was available
I ordered a 44 and a 48 in this dress as the 46 was not available and had my fingers crossed. I am a true size 10 with a full bust 36D. The 44 was too tight and the 48 too large but I think the style of the dress is retro, glam and sexy! I will try and order again in the correct size, I think it will be great!
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2012
I was able to wear this dress without spanx and helped reinforce that all the hard work I've been doing on the treadmill is paying off. I've never felt sexier!
I wore this for NYE and the reason I rented it was because all of the reviewers said how amazing it made them feel. So true!!! I have never felt as sexy as I did in that dress. It fit like a glove. I was worried that the length might hit me in the wrong spot (as dresses tend to do when you are short) but it was perfect. Hit right below the knee. It is very formfitting, so if you are thinking of renting this and wearing spanx under it you may want to think again. You will be able to see whatever you have on underneath. Just a warning. It was my first rental and I can't wait until my next one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 113
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2012
I felt amazing wearing a dress so luxuriously constructed! This satin, sleek number made me feel like my best.
My best friend saw this dress hanging next to the others I packed and said, "Hmmm, I wonder if this can fit ME...maybe I can wear it." Once she saw it on me she said, "Who makes that dress?!? I have to buy it!" I felt like the belle of the ball as we danced the night away on New Year's Eve. Many thanks to Rent The Runway! Fit Note: I have a small frame and large natural breasts. It can be very difficult to find dresses that fit. With the right strapless bra, the dress was fitting enough that it acted as a corset. Yet, it had enough stretch to fit my friend who is almost a foot taller than me and has a slightly wider frame.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 15, 2011
Fabulous!!
I was so worried this dress wasn't going to fit for my office holiday party and was elated to discover that it was extremely stretchy and comfortable and hugged in all the right places. Such a flattering, gorgeous dress! The bra insert was hilariously small for my large chest, but with a little shoving and fluffing and adjusting, it looked just right anyway. :) Anyone blessed with curves of their own (or looking to create some!) would absolutely love this dress!
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×