David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$30 – $40 rental?
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
246 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(152)
Small
(71)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2012
I loved this dress and so did everyone else!
The fit is very true to size. Very comfortable and easy to move around in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
The perfect dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding, and received multiple compliments. This dress is just so ladylike and classic! The fabric has a bit of stretch to it. The sheerness of the sleeves is incredibly flattering. It was a comfortable, beautiful fit. Definitely true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
Timeless Dress
I could not imagine a more perfect dress. It is the culmination of classic style, timeless color, and a becoming fit. The lace and bit of sparkle make it very elegant and unique. Women of all ages complimented on what a classy, gorgeous dress it was.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Beautiful!
Wore this dress for a September wedding. The 3/4 sleeves gave me just enough for the chillier evening and the navy with gold touches set me apart from the other black/dark colors. The dress was very comfortable. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Comfortable, not too dressy.
I ordered this dress as a backup to wear to an evening wedding. It is a nice dress, but I did not find it flattering on me. I wore the other very elegant dress that I received from RTR,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Classic dress for an afternoon wedding.
This was my backup dress for a wedding, but I ended up wearing this one bc it fit perfectly. Although the dress is a less dressy than I expected/hoped, it hugged every curve. Once I added a necklace and heels, it dressed it up for the occasion. Please note that this dress snags easily and there were a few snags on it already - but they weren't noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Another gorgeous dress and beautiful color!
Loved the cut and fit of this dress. Perfect for when the temperature gets a little cooler. Metallic stretch fabric hugs the body. Ruching on one side helps drape some fabric around tummy area. Dress fell by my knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 11, 2012
Wow! Stunning, elegant, and beautiful.
This dress was amazing. This was my 1st RTR experience now I'm addicted. I had so many compliments throughout the night and was told I was the best dressed from the girl who I thought was best dressed. Everyone was asking where I got the dress from and I felt amazing all night. The length was great for a wedding and the dress is so much prettier in person the details are amzing! Loved it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 15, 2012
Wanted a classy lace dress for a fall rustic wedding. Dress was exactly what I was looking for!
When the dress came, it looked teeny tiny on the hanger! But as other girls said, the dress stretched and ended up fitting perfectly. I wore nude pumps, simple jewelry and my spanx underneath to give it a seamless look. Got many compliments on this gorgeous dress!!! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 16, 2012
Watched my Mom knock 'em dead as Mother of the Groom!
I didn't actually wear the dress to the wedding. My MOM did!!! I received only the size 10 which was my backup size. Thank goodness, because the dress runs small in my opinion. It was very pretty and sparkly with a bit of silver or gold thread running through the lace. It hit just below my knee. I loved the neckline, so flattering for my broad shoulders! However, i have recently lost about 25 lbs, and this dress shows every single bump and flaw. Even with spanx, which didn't really fit either, i just felt very self conscious about my loose skin and not perfectly toned body. Not the results I was hoping for. :-( My mom tried the dress on, and she looked FABULOUS!! Definitely an unforgettable look for the mother of the groom. She knocked the place dead! (btw, Mom is an inch shorter and 10 lb lighter than i am. Smaller on top, and bigger on bottom.) i would recommend this dress for the more conservative types. It is classy, but not really fun and vivacious! If you are at all insecure about your body, this isn't the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
Such a comfortable dress! Very flattering!
Great fit... but be prepared to show your curves!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
LOVED IT!! STUNNING DRESS & IT FIT AMAZING
Beautiful lace detail that hugged my body just right! I do suggest Spanx ~ the dress does not have a very thick/heavy lining therefore it shows any problem areas you may have. I think this dress is perfect for any evening occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 25, 2012
Great dress for a night out!
The dress is really comfortable, easy to wear and felt great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 25, 2012
Loved it, fit perfectly, and dressy enough for a formal affair. I'm 58 and it looked great.
Felt like a model, was very comfortable to wear and VERY flattering. Have a little belly but did not wear spanx and was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 28, 2012
Stunning Dress, beautiful color, extremely elegant and sophisticated
The dress is beautiful and clingy to every curve, so I wore the 12 instead of the intended size 10. The lace hemline came right below the knee and is a beautiful detail on the dress. I enjoyed the feel and look of this flattering dress and would rent it again.
MarthaNovember 6, 2012
Love to rent
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 8, 2012
Cute, comfortable, flattering and sexy!
This dress was a great choice for the occasion. It could be dressed up more with jewelry, but I wanted a simpler look. Paired it with black pumps for a great night out!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
It is beautiful dress.
It is fit nicely .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
Elegant
This was my back-up dress but I opted for this one over the first order. It looks much better on than in the photo. Wore it to a Sunday wedding and felt very class and elegant. It was also a nice break from the traditional black.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 14, 2012
Tons of compliments on the details; no one else had a dress like it!
I got tons of compliments on this dress at the early September wedding I wore it to. It was a little heavy and warm so I feel like it would be best for a fall/winter occasion.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
unique and elegant
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. I got alot of compliments. The color is very bold, more so than it looks in the picture. The fabric is also nice, but easy to get caught on jewelry so be careful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2012
I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress before!
I wore this dress for an evening wedding the weekend before Thanksgiving; and it was absolutely perfect. It was form fitting but not uncomfortable,had just a little big of sparkle and the long sleeves kept me warm enough that I didn't need a coat. The neckline is wide. I thought about wearing a strapless bra, but I have bigger boobs and didn't want to deal with it, so I just pushed the straps of my normal bra off my shoulders and it was fine. The sleeves camouflaged the black straps and even when I was looking for them I couldn't see them. Heads up: there is a zipper underneath the left arm. I struggled to get in to the dress for about 5 minutes before realizing it was there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Knowing that I don't have to go shopping for a dress!
Out of all the dresses I've rented from the RTR, this has been my least favorite. It looked nice on and I received compliments all night but it was not my best choice. The dress is definitely true to size but if you have broader shoulders and muscular arms, it's a little tight but not to the point of being uncomfortable- just a little snug. Overall a gorgeous dress as usual.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Makes you feel like a princess!
Perfect for tea with the Queen, this dress is the epitome of class. Would be a great fit for a formal wedding (or an event where you are hanging with the guy's parents), or an outside soiree in the winter, you will feel both classic and sexy in this dress. Two thumbs way up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
Worn for my birthday dinner, this dress let me be the "It" girl for the evening.
Worn for my birthday dinner in Vegas, the wide neck and length of this dress made me feel like Joan from Mad Men. The zipper was tricky and had to be coaxed up, but the lace was beautiful. Perfect for an evening of indulgence.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 5, 2012
this last minute rental was not only a lifesaver but also a great choice for a late fall wedding!
the color and fabric detail were much prettier in real life than in the photos and the look was elegant without being too sexy or standout. i felt comfortable due to the stretchy fabric and felt like i held my own at a celeb-studded LA wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Look great without spending a lot
The dress is wonderful but form fitting so I would suggest going-up a size. I usually wear 8-10 but they sent the dress in a 12...fit great with room to move.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2012
Even better in person
Excellent length and fit, looks very high-quality; wore to a conservative holiday party, but not conservative in a stuffy way. Got so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Elegant, sophisticated dress
This dress looks tiny on the hanger, but has some stretch and looks great on. I thought the sleeves were a bit tight, and I had slender arms so I've never had an issue with sleeves before. Beautiful color and fit, and I got tons of compliments. I usually wear a 6, but wore an 8 in this dress. Maybe it's the all the Christmas cookies? ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 17, 2012
Very flattering and very comfortable as well. Hugs in all the right places. Its a beautiful dress.
You can get by without a strapless bra-- just choose your bra carefully and pin your bra strap to the stop of each sleeve. Threads in dress are gold, not silver-- so accessorize accordingly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
I loved this dress & got so many complements on it!
It fit perfectly! I wore it with the necklace shown on the model and gold glitter pumps! One thing I didn't realize till my sleeve got a little caught on it was that there is a side zipper, I shimmied into it without using the zipper, which would have made it easier to get on. Overall i loved my first Rent the Runway experience! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
I wore this dress to a very nice dinner, and it was perfect. Very classy and polished.
It is very form fitting and snug, especially in the sleeves. I normally am in between a size 4 and 6, and this size 4 fit perfectly. It's very flattering, and my boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 2, 2013
Felt and looked fabulous!
This dress was soft, comfortable, had a good shape and was true to size. I did wear a Flexees waist cincher, and think proper undergarments are must for this dress for anyone who isn't a model. Had a great time dancing, and didn't want the night to end because I'd have to take the dress off! Color is a true navy like online dress shown, but with flash photography it showed up a brighter blue in one of my shared photo. It is navy though. Paired with champagne gold pearl necklace, bracelet and earrings, and champagne gold sparkly evening flats.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 9, 2013
Perfect dress for formal events!
I wore this dress to my husband's political inauguration. It was elegant and conservative enough and truly perfect in every way. I was afraid the dress would be too short as I am 5 '8 but it was fine...touched the top of my knee. This dress is very flattering and has gathered fabric across the stomach for a slimming effect. I'm 42 and have two small children and absolutely needed something forgiving and comfortable....this dress was both of these. My only complaint is the side zipper got stuck on some of the lace a couple of times throughout the event.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 10, 2013
Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments! Perfect for the formal work holiday party!
I agree with other reviewers on the arms being so small! I went up to the size 14 as my arms couldn't fit into the size 12. Overall just gorgeous, curve hugging, yet flattering with the side ruching. I paired it with the necklace shown on the model..and really fit the bill.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2013
It fit great, looked great, tons of compliments!
I wore this dress to my company's Christmas Party. I wore it with nude heels and some simple gold jewelry. I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'9", it came just above my knees so appropriate for a work event. It was fitted but not too tight. If you have a little extra to love in the mid section, it will show, may want to consider gettings spanks. l
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
February 1, 2013
GORGEOUS and so COMFORTABLE!
This dress fit like a glove. I LOVE IT!!! I wore it to a mardi gras ball with gold heels and some rented bangles from RTR. I got compliments all night! It as a gold shimmery thread running through the fabric that adds a hint of glamour. Such a classy and sexy look all in one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
Good for a holiday party
Cute dress but may be better for a holiday party. Just wasn't the style I wanted for a wedding and didn't quite look the same as on the model. It was my back-up dress, so it worked out ok.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect dress for a cocktail attire event - comfortable too!
I usually wear a 4, but the 4 was tight, so I was grateful to have the 6 as a backup. Beautiful color - received lots of compliments. Very comfortable and the gold threading is a nice touch. Would have looked much better with a pushup strapless bra and Spanx (I didn't wear either). I also rented the earrings shown on the model. They were a perfect match, but VERY heavy. Worked out great and the return process was so easy. Glad I decided to rent.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
I went to a theater opening, tons of complements on my dress.
This is a snug fit. I usually wear a 4 and got a 6 for backup. I didn't realize there was a hidden side zipper (duh) at first and found the 4 almost impossible to get into, so wore the 6. Then, the next evening, had another event to go to and wore the 4. As with any lace dress, you have to be careful about snagging the material on your jewelry, which I was. I found Spanx were a must. Once you're in it, very comfortable. Like the length very much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 11, 2013
Unique color combination
The dress fit pretty true to size and the ruching along the side was great for accenting my waist. I would say to be careful with the zipper snagging on the sleeve. I ran into that issue a few times.
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×