David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$40 – $55 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
251 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(72)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 14, 2013
That I was not able to wear this dress
I rented both a size 12 & a 14 and the size 14 was extremely uncomfortable and tight. I was unable to wear the dress for the special occasion that I had rented it for; instead I wore a dress that I had recently purchased. The dress was rather disappointing in its appearance; it did not appear to be made of a high quality material. The entire process was a waste of time. RTR has changed the return mailing process and I had to go to the nearest post office which is 7 miles away in order to return the items. The previous process was so much better
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 20, 2013
Someone at the very big wedding I attended told me my dress was the most beautiful dress there!
The dress hugs the body like a second skin. Spanks and a strapless bra were best. Gold jewelry goes best because there are metallic gold threads through the dress which are difficult to see in a picture, but they sparkle in person. Be very careful about a bracelet. I only wore a gold bangle because there is no clasp to catch on the lace. I LOVED wearing this dress and hated taking it off at the end of the night. It was very comfortable and a beautiful color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
June 25, 2013
I wanted to find a blue dress to match my shoes that I had to wear to a wedding.
Out of the 3 dresses I selected this was perfect!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2013
Pretty and classic
The fit is overall true to size, but the arms were a bit tight. Also, there is a hidden side zipper in this dress for those wanting to use it. The look was bit more matronly than I had originally hoped, but it was a nice modest dress for the southern wedding I was attending. The gold threading in the lace is very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 1, 2013
Comfortable & Elegant!
Wore this dress to a wedding and felt great the whole night. Lots of compliments! The color is beautiful (matched really nicely with OPI Eurso Euro on my nails) with little gold specks throughout. Ordered a 2 and a 4, went with the 4 because the arms were a little tight on the 2 - had some space in the waist but it was nice to be comfortable. Went well with nude/gold accessories and a high bun. This dress is fitted to your silhouette but doesn't really hold you in, which I thought was a good thing. The dress came below my knee and was more conservative than it seemed on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2013
Sparkly sophistication
I wore this dress to a formal "work" dinner, I felt great in the dress however the fabric was a little rough on my sensitive skin...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2013
I loved this dress! Made me feel like a movie star!
This dress is form fitting but slims in the correct areas. I loved the delicate sleeve and lace trim at the bottom. The complements were non-stop. It was a great choice for an evening wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 20, 2013
Many compliments!
I got many compliments on this dress. I wore it to an evening wedding. It fit well and was comfortable. I wore a strapless slip because straps would've showed. I was worried the gold accents would be too disco but it turned out fine. The bracelet was a perfect accessory. My only caution would be that the overlay is lacy and can catch on jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2013
Beautiful, well made dress. Perfect for a fall/winter wedding!
Gorgeous dress - it does have gold threading running through the lace which I didn't realize when I ordered, but it is a very classy & form-fitting dress. It does emphasize the midsection a bit, so be aware of that.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 13, 2013
Beautiful-Stunning dress. Very comfortable to wear Felt like a million bucks!
Had to be careful with other people's jewelry so as not to snag the lace
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2013
Sexy and classy.
Great fit, super comfortable. I got a lot of compliments. Will wear it again.
JessicaOctober 25, 2013
You look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2013
This is classy
The lace outer layer came close to mid-calf, but the under-layer hit at the knee, so it had a nice 40's-style length, which was slimming, but wasn't dowdy since the under layer hit at the knee. I wore a size 14 and I'm 5' 3". Very flattering, but it does run small.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
Great dress, classy
This dress was perfect for a weekday wedding and would work for any formal affair. I had ordered two sizes, 4 and 6. My husband preferred me in the size 4 because it hugged my curves and made the dress look a little sexy. The size 6 would've worked as well if a I wanted a bit of a looser fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 8, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to a work dinner reception.
I loved this dress! I was classy yet sexy. I got a ton of compliments. Definitely need to wear spanx underneath. The dress shows off every curve.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2013
WAS OK
was a bit too long for me. Ended up wearing it though and it fit like a glove. The lace is a bit too worn in places.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2013
RTR is a breeze now for the dress itself...
Fit was spot on. Color was spectacular. Beautiful gold threading underneath. Lace with a bit of "give" to the fit. Now the downside- dress arrived and was cleaned (orange dry cleaning tags stapled to the dress hangers) but I noticed the side zipper wasn't zipped all the way up. I thought it was perhaps an oversight. Until I tried to unzip to try on and had to fight the zipper just to get the zipper down. I was very cautious as I was afraid I would break the dress. Finally, the zipper gave way. Got the dress on. Got the zipper halfway up and it wouldn't budge- ughhh!!! I couldn't have been more frustrated. With my husband's help, before calling mercy and throwing the dress out the window, finally got the zipper up and wore the dress to my event. What do you know, getting the dress off had the exact same problem as when getting it on. Renter beware. I had read previous reviews and when others mentioned the sticky zipper, they weren't kidding. I got a lot of compliments. It's a lovely, jeweled tone which is perfect for this time of year. Just be prepared to do combat with the zipper!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2013
The dress was absolutely perfect for the wedding I attended.
The dress had some stretch to it so it had a nice close fit. I thought the sleeves were a little tight around my arms. Also remember that this dress requires a strapless bra! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 31, 2013
Classy and Cute
This dress was really cute but my biggest complaint was that it was really long. I wore it to a fundraiser so it was good for that event but I don't think I'd rent it again. It is comfortable and fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 12, 2013
Comfortable, flattering, and definitely not too short!
Although I have found that some of the RTR dresses run small, this one was true to size. I didn't realize there is also a zipper hidden on the side that helps when putting it on. The dress was super comfortable and stretchy. One thing to be careful of is that the dress is easily snagged since the top layer is lacey. Also, the length was a little bit long for me - hit just below the knee. Would have preferred if it was juse above the knee instead. Overall though - it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2013
Didn't get to wear dress
Fit small for size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 16, 2013
Perfect Dress for a Cocktail Party
This dress was my third rental from RTR and as usual they do not disappoint! This dress is a gorgeous navy with stunning gold detail. I also went with the necklace displayed on the model and It really made the dress complete. I received tons of compliments on both the dress and the jewelry. I was thankful for the advice in the comments of the dress running on the small side. My previous rentals have all been size 4 so I rented a size 6 with a backup size 8. Although the size 6 fit, the 8 gave a little more breathing room. This dress definitely hugs the curves . Another bit of advice...Make sure you have a strapless bra. This dress is more of a "Boat Neck" so a regular bra won't work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 18, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous dress. Many compliments.
I'm usually a 0 , however the size 2 fitted more comfortably on the chest area. A bit snug at the hips, but overall a tremendous success!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 18, 2013
Timeless, classy and comfortable!
This was for a winter wedding and it was SO amazing! Still comfortable to dance in, looked great, fit well and really made my night special!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
LOVED this dress - it was perfect for my company holiday party, and the color was beautiful!
A little snug, especially around my arms/shoulders and a little longer than i expected it to be on the model - hit around my knees. Definitely wear a strapless bra and gold accessories with this to compliment the neckline and gold woven throughout the dress. I got so many compliments I would highly recommend this to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2013
Classy and sexy. Perfect for the event I attended!
Wore this dress to an event at a conservative social club--it was perfect! The blue color and gold details were beautiful. Fit was true to size. Flattering and sexy without being too revealing. Only issue was some holes under the arm. Not noticeable unless I raised my arms, but might be time to retire the size 4.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2013
This dress was gorgeous! Got tons of compliments, very figure flattering.
Fit was great, sleeves were a bit tight but not uncomfortable at all. Dress is gorgeous, lots of detail that you don't realize until you wear it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2013
really cute dress
First time with RTR, fun experience. Glad I ordered up on the 2nd dress, definitely runs small! I have pretty thin arms and they were snug, even in the larger size. Word of caution though-the underlining in the skirt is only tacked down in one place (I checked in the other size as well) so it tends to move around a lot. I only found that out while walking into the ballroom and my husband commented that he liked the nude colored liner, how the lace stood out. Ack!! the liner is blue, and had ridden up to about hip level! Glad I was wearing Spanx or I would have flashed the room. Other than that, great dress, lots of compliments. Like the fine gold thread, nice accent. Be careful with jewelry though as it snags easily.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 73
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2013
Wasn't able to wear.
Too tight. Did not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 19, 2014
Stylish and elegant
Pro - it came with 2 dresses. the 8 fit perfectly. Con - the 8 had huge holes in the lace. The 6 was fine, but I was tugging at the hem all night. I still got a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2014
Made for a woman!
This was perfection.. but Meister always is! It was the perfect length, hit me at the knee and I am 5'4". The little bit of gold thread thru out was the perfect subtle bling I needed.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2014
Brilliant dress for any event!
I got so many compliments during the reception for this dress and it was incredibly comfortable to wear. The best part was that I could dance the night away as the material was slightly ruched around the midsection so it naturally fell on my curves and didn't constrict me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 4, 2014
I felt like Kate Middleton!
I wore this classy dress to dinner with my husband on Christmas Eve. I wore a strapless bra with it - it has a lovely bateau neck. It does have smidgen of stretch. The 12 fit, but the 14 was more flattering on my curvy (wide-hipped) figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2014
classy, runs very small
This was a nice dress. Not fabulous, but very classy and pretty. I usually get a "wow" from my husband when I use RTR, and this time he just said "it's very nice" in a not so convincing voice! I wore it to a dinner party for my husband's work, and it was just right for that occasion. It does run very small, especially in the arms. I usually wear a 2 or even a 0, but I needed a 4 in this dress, and though my arms are fairly thin, the sleeves were a bit tight. It wasn't a problem though, and overall it was comfortable. I actually think it photographs better than it looked in person. I do recommend it for a more classic, conservative look, and the color is very pretty. Size up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2014
Amazing dress!! Perfect for my birthday celebration.
True to size and length perfect for > 55 age group.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 18, 2014
SLEEVES ARE SUPER TIGHT!!!!
I read reviews before renting this dress and most of them said that the sleeves fit very tight! WELL THEY WERENT LYING!!! The dress runs small. the sleeves run even smaller! I normally wear a small/xsmall between a 2-4 in size. I ordered a 2. It was very fitted and I could have gotten away with it if the sleeves were so tight. I was afraid to order a size up because i'm small busted and usually have problems with the dresses fitting in the bust. LOVED the dress otherwise. just be sure to rent up a size or TWO.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 22, 2014
A pretty simple dress with enough lace detail to still make it a head turner
This dress fit a lot more snugly than I was expecting. Even with the larger size, I still had a hard time fitting into it. There really isn't a lot of give, and the cut is for a woman who is, ahem, much less curvy than I am. Still, the dress was beautiful and was a wonderful accent to my date night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2014
It was a great night with lots and lots of compliments
Definitely a spanx dress. I went with the larger size because of the length in the arms as well as the hemline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
February 23, 2014
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. It wasn't too flashy, but made me feel awesome.
It's very fitted, but the length is great. The lining is a couple inches shorter than the overlay, but it's long enough that it doesn't matter. The color is a beautiful dark navy with gold detailing that doesn't always come through well in pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Amazing dress for an amazing night!
I wore this dress to my company's gala and fell in love with it from the moment I saw it on RTR! It was a great dress because the event was black tie optional, but I still felt formal. I'm usually a size 6, but ordered both the 6 and the 8. The 6 was wonderful, except it was a little snug in the hip area. If I was at a non-work event I definitely would've worn the 6, but because I wanted to keep it classy, I chose the 8. Definitely fits true to size everywhere else. I found the arms to be snug, but not uncomfortable. The only con was that I couldn't walk in wide strides, but I was still able to dance throughout the night. I did not go with the recommended necklace from RTR, but chose simple gold earrings, nude shoes, and a gold clutch. I received lots of compliments on the dress and would definitely rent again for my next event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
March 15, 2014
Comfy pretty and photographs well.
Definitely ran small.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×