David Meister

Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
272 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(232)
Small
(31)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2012
PERFECT
Unfortunately, no photos yet, but I rented two gowns and this one was actually my second choice for $25 gown. The fit was perfect, including the length. It was unique at the event, which is what I wanted. It was also comfortable. I received quite a few compliments on it and felt terrific. I mostly wear size 8, but depending on the manufacturer, it's sometimes a 10. I also recently lost 16 lbs so I feel like I am in between sizes.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 8, 2012
Nice Dress
I ordered the 2R and 4R and they both fit nicely, they were just too short. I am 5'5 and I couldn't wear heels with it. It was okay, because my date was short and I wasn't planning on it anyway, but I wish I would've gotten the 2L and 4L instead. Overall very nice dress! I got a lot of compliments that night with it
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2012
I made my debut as the new Museum Director in a unique dress that was both flattering and glamorous.
Loved this dress. Very flattering. Perfect for a formal Museum event. I recieved so many compliments on this wonderful dress. Shipping was easy too. I originaly ordered 4 different dresses and ended up wearing this one but when I returned the dresses I forgot to include the plastic that included the order information on the dress. Rent the Runway called and their customer service person was friendly and helpful. The only downside on this dress was it was a tad too short -- I should have ordered the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
July 20, 2012
The complements I received while wearing this gown were incredible!
This dress was absolutely true to size and fit my body type incredibly. My only advice would be to not wear shoes that have any kind of rhinestones on them because mine had some on the buckles and they kept getting caught on the lining of the dress. Also, the dress is VERY LONG, I'm 5'7" and I had to wear 4" heels to not trip over it. I loved it though, I had so much trouble sending it back because I wanted to keep it and wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
August 3, 2012
RTR didn't have the backup size in this, so sent TWO extra dresses. Jocelyn, you're the best!
Loved it. Had a caramel colored lining that was very thick and rich. Had a little bit of stretch so would work with different figures. Used spanx and regular strapless. Wore sequined sweater over it on deck. Skirt is full enough that it works well for dancing. Had two inch heels and it grazed the floor just a bit. Fabulous. Hubby loved it too.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2012
Loved the dress!
I got so many compliments in this dress! I usually wear a 4 but the 4 was too tight...glad I also got the 6. I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Tight in chest
I wear a 34D bra and couldn't zip the 4 over my chest even without a strapless bra, but the 6 was huge in the waist/in general and looked like a bag on me. I immediately returned the dresses for the "neither fits" refund and was very happy with that aspect of the RTR service even if I was disappointed the dress didn't work out. The black overlay is beautiful in person.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
Great dress for black tie
Beautiful dress! Very unique dress. This was my second choice, had a hard time picking between the 2 dresses. Can't wait to rent this dress for my next black tie affair : )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2012
Beautiful fabric, strange fit
I love the length and style of this dress, however, I felt that it fit loosely in the waist and snug in the bust. I tried wearing a strapless bra and I looked "smushed" so I ended up wearing a regular pushup and adjusted the straps. I wear size 8 normally, but I had hoped to we're the size 6 I ordered for a more waist synching effect. The zippers on both dresses were VERY difficult to use, and I ended up wearing the 8 even though it was too big because I couldnt unzip the 6. All in all, the dress is beautiful, flowy, and the fabric is comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Much prettier in person
Ordered the 8 and 10. The 8 fit like a glove. The length was perfect with 4" heels. Would recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
September 5, 2012
Great to have a comfortable dress to feel good about myself in!
This was a fantastic dress. I needed to cover a few areas: waist and butt, and this worked very well. Flattering and got lots of complements. I am on the short side, so it did drag even with a few inch heels, but I was still able to dance. Not the best photo, but it was the only full length one I took.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2012
The easiest way to get a drop dead gorgeous dress without the hassle
It fit like a glove, I felt Amazing!
JessicaJanuary 11, 2013
Jennifer - how high of a shoe did your wear? I'm also 5'2!
RTR CustomerJanuary 14, 2013
Hi Jessica! You should be fine with a 4-5 inch heel!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
So easy!
I read the reviews first and yes, the zipper was a bit tricky but that was the ONLY thing I had an issue with. I'm 5'5" and wore 3" heels and it hit just above the floor. It's true to size and has a bit of stretch to it. It is so flattering and I received so many compliments on it. Would definately recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
May 12, 2012
Gorgeous!
This dress was very pretty! It fit me well and looked even better in person. Their is an elaborate design that you can't really see online on the dress. This was the first time I got a dress using this site and I am very impressed. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 19, 2012
Nice formal gown
Not a crazy showstopper in my opinion, but a great dress for a black tie event where I didn't want to be in the loudest dress in the room. Fit very well and was comfortable!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 20, 2012
Celebrity Look! Most Beautiful Dress I've ever seen!
The dress was amazingly beautiful, highly recommended, you won't be disappointed to rent it. The dress was perfect, the harders part was to send it back, had a lot of compliments "makes you feel like cinderella" in a way, the night was focus on me more than the event, jajajaja!. I love this dress and I would rent it again. My personal rating 110%. If you don't pick this dress, you will miss one heck of the dress, this dress is a MOST, I am telling you, is a MOST. Out of all the dresses in RENTTHERUNWAY, I would pick this one 10 times over. Is nice and long and it wasn't difficult to deal with, simple but elegant and lovely. This dress was used for a Gala Night! and stunning, stunning, stunning in a way I felt overdressed compared to people, but it was worth it, it felt like you become the light of the ball. Thanks RENTTHERUNWAY!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
The dress was exactly what I wanted, and more!
The zipper can be hard to pull up sometimes, despite it fitting perfectly, but if you get someone else to do it, it works fine! Otherwise, this dress was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Good for hourglass, not for short torso.
I'm tall and thin--but have no hips, so this dress did nothing to flatter my waist. Someone who has pronounced curves could really rock this dress well though! If you're like me and not so curvy, it isn't very flattering. The material is solid--better than anything you could get off the rack.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
GORGEOUS
This dress fit absolutely perfectly. It hugs in all the right places. I have not felt this amazing in a dress since my wedding day. There is no way you can wear this and not feel incredible. I got so many compliments on it. I hate that I have no picture to post; pictures don't do the dress justice anyway. I cannot wait until my next formal so I can wear it again.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 2, 2012
I was a hit. The dress didn't clash with my full sleeve. I was elegant.
It was a perfect fit!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 4, 2012
great dress
I wore this to a black tie event. It was really comfortable, hid problem areas nicely and was a big hit by everyone at the event. I highly recommend this dress. I'm 5'9" and I got the long which I'm very glad I did.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 8, 2012
My boyfriend said I looked incredible :)
The dress was a perfect fit and I loved it. It was a little long so I had to hold it up while I walked, but it was comfortable and I felt beautiful all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 10, 2012
Dress definitely has the "ooh la la" factor.
This dress fits close to the body through the abdomen, which made it unflattering on me. The side ruching looks very cool, but the extra fabric around the waist creates bulk. The dress may look better over Spanx or something that smooths out a tummy. It's beautiful fabric and a great combination of colors - this has clearly been a winner for a lot of ladies, just not for me.
RTR CustomerJanuary 29, 2013
Did you wear heels? How was the length?
AmyJanuary 29, 2013
Definitely a dress that you can wear heels with. I wore a moderate heel (2") because my husband happens to be shorter than I am, and the dress was a bit long. It probably would have worked better with a higher heel, but I didn't want to tower over him!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress, and flattering for straighter body shapes
Beautiful dress, and flattering for straighter body shapes. I wore to a black tie event and it was just the right level of formal. I have a smaller chest, but the top was tight - I would suggest a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2012
Loved how classy the dress looked!
I wore this dress to prom when i was asked as a sophomore. I loved how well fitted this dress was, even though it was a little short, but that just made it easier to walk in, especially since I held it up whenever I walked anyways. I'm usually a size 2, but the size 4 fit just the same except it was longer for some reason. I love the dress overall and I even had a woman come up and tell me she loved how classy I looked compared to other girls dresses! I loved this dress and had a wonderful time in it! Dancing in it was super easy, too! I never had to keep pulling my dress up or anything!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 19, 2012
LOVED IT!!
I rented this dress for a black tie gala that I was working. It was very comfortable and allowed me to move around quite easily and I felt great in it! I am 5'6" and wore 4-5" heels and the long length was perfect.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2012
No such luck :( But really a stunning dress!
I got this dress for a wedding i had out of town. It arrived on time and fit pretty well throughout my waist and butt area ( which i was VERY concerned about considering I was blessed with awesome italian hips..) but I couldn't get it zipped up with a bra on, so tried without the bra and still no luck. By the time someone was able to help me with the zipper, it wouldn't go up past all the bunching of fabric thats on the side, so just a little annoying. My point, if you have a large chest, this probably isn't the dress for you. I ended up returning it within 24 hrs, called and left a voicemail and still had not received my credit well into the week. I emailed them and within a few hours I had a credit for the dress! I definitely will try again for another wedding i have, maybe something with a little different material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
November 4, 2012
Love Love Love this dress!
this dress is amazing! received lots of compliments! It is a bit long for a regular length but with heels was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 8, 2012
Loved it
I loved that this dress was not just solid black and has some color to it without being flashy. Very comfortable to wear. My heels were about 3 inches and the length was good, it did not drag or get in the way. It also hangs down further on the one side that has more detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 16, 2012
Hugged all my curves in the right places.
Concealed the midriff area beautifully. Was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended and the length was perfect for my height in the regular size. & got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 19, 2012
As soon as I entered the building and removed my jacket, all eyes were on me!
Style & Material: The one-shoulder, slim fitting silhouette is classic and is flattering on almost any figure. There is a nude slip underneath the main pattern which is actually a burn-out material with a faint shimmer. I also loved the gathered hip. Fit: Hugging every curve with ease. It was so comfortable, I did every line dance from the Cupid Shuffle, to the Waltz, to the Gangnam Style! Accessorize!:I rented the earrings the model is wearing and received tons of compliments. But you could go with Gold or Silver with this dress. My shoes were deep gold with a matching clutch. Cons: If you have a little bit of a pouch in your tummy, It'll show in some angles so a simple body shaper may be beneficial.
ChristinaDecember 26, 2012
This was a very helpful review. We are about the same size, although I'm an inch taller. I will take your advice about the body shaper. Hope you have a wonderful New Years!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2012
Gorgeous dress, but didn't fit:(
Unfortunately, the dress was just too tight, and since I didn't order an extra size (I won't make THAT mistake again!) I couldn't wear it for the wedding I'd rented it for. But that's ok, because I have two more dresses coming for my boyfriend's graduation!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress. it was my back up.
The part that covers your chest is wider than i imagined so it covered my chest completely. this made me look matronly and i did not like it,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Although I did not chose to wear this dress to my event, it was fun to try it on. Fits a body well.
I ordered this as my back up dress for a black tie wedding. The size 6R fit, however I'm 5'0 and it was still long on me with 4 inch heels. I was going to try the 4R that was my second size, but unfortunately there was a small tear in the material near the zipper so I did not wear this dress. However it fit my body nicely and I would have been happy to wear it had it been a tad bit shorter.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2012
Loved this dress, compliments gallore!
Went one size smaller for my second choice and was glad I did. The 4 fit perfectly. Loved wearing it to the company Christmas party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 4, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS!!
Very flattering! The dress felt snug where it should and draped nicely over the hips. So many compliments! Quite long length.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2012
I felt amazing in the dress. Being able to try on 2 dresses was great.
It fit amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 8, 2012
PERFECTION!
I could not have asked for more from this dress! It was perfect in every way! With that said, it was a bit shorter than expected, so I did have to opt for wearing a fancy flat shoe instead of heals, but I did not mind as the dress was worth it! I ordered an 8 and a 10 (normally an 8), and the 8 fit like a glove. My RTR experience went incredibly smooth and I will use them again with every dress needing opportunity (which is pretty often)! This dress is a MUST...comfortable, sexy enough, and flawlessly created.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
December 18, 2012
The delivery came right on time for the event.
The gown fit true to size. I normally wear a size 14 or 16 and the 14 fit fine. I ordered a 14r, I am 5'5" and I wore 2 inch heels and the dress still dragged on the floor, the 14l would have been entirely too long. Another issue I had with the dress was that the zipper was very difficult. I had to go to the event and have my brother help pull the zipper up. I was unable to pull it up myself and even with the help of 3 other women it wouldn't budge. I don't think there is a snag on the inside, I just think its a bum zipper. Other than that, I loved the dress, the material was really nice but easy to snag so be careful.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Amazingly comfortable and classy
This dress was my back up and I did not end up wearing it. However, the dress quality and feel on was amazing. I rated it true to size but felt it was a little snug thru the bust. I could not zip it up comfortably (even pulling both sides together) It was a very, very, comfortable and a classy dress. Would recommend.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×