David Meister

Metallic Twisted Gown

$54 to buy
$600 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this insanely chic metallic David Meister gown to the event of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black and gold metallic knit(88% nylon;12% gold yarn). V neckline with twisted bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

99 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 73
Large 12
Photos 43
RTR Customer
Jun 20, 2014

When I got the dress and tired it on

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit very nicely and it was a bit long but I didn't mind picking up when needed.
Kacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 7, 2014

Flattering on curves, but runs short.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am short (5'4") and after reading reviews ordered the long. It fit perfectly with 2 inch heels. Like other reviews say, the lining definitely stops at an oddly short spot, but the overlay falls perfectly. I have a large chest, so I loved that I could wear a regular bra and felt confident dancing all night. I got a lot of compliments on this dress and felt that it was perfect for a formal wedding.
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

Meh.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this as a backup after I found out another dress I meant to rent was ruined by the previous customer (the customer service during this process was great, by the way. A rep contacted me immediately and was very helpful, so 5 stars for that part). I was a little iffy about this dress, but saw the great reviews and decided to give it a shot. When I got it, though, both the design and color were underwhelming. As other reviewers have said, it definitely has a green tint to it. Personally I was not a fan. It was also large and was not very flattering. I would recommend this dress for somebody with a fuller chest, and even then going down a size (or 2).
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Body type: Petite
Feb 23, 2014

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No cons at all. The length and fit were perfect. The dress was beautiful and the most comfortable I've ever worn to a Mardi Gras ball.
Rachel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

Beautiful but short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a beautiful color and I thought the cut was very flattering. I would have loved to wear it, but it was way too short. I am 5' 7" and I rented the 0L. I only would have been able to wear it with flat sandals. I would definitely recommend this dress for someone who is shorter than me or who plans to wear flats!
Janine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 31, 2014

Unfortunately, I did not get to wear it :(

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so sad that I had to return this dress! It was way too short to the point of being unwearable. Both sizes I got, 4R and 6R, were almost up to my ankles.
Linda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 30, 2014

Very elegant dress, loved the style.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty dress. It looks more chocolate colored in the photo but the dress is black with gold threading. Waist hit higher than I expected but still worked. More lightweight fabric than I expected yet it wasn't inexpensive looking at all. I ordered an 8 Long and it was just right with heels, and I'm 5'7''. If you're over 5'8'' and wearing high heels, the long may still not be long enough. Very happy with the dress overall.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Beautiful gown that fit perfectly!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was *perfect* for my office's black tie holiday party! It fit like a glove, which seemed lucky as I ended up going up a size. The dress was super flattering and comfortable! The regular length was shorter than I expected, but I still wore 3-inch heels without a problem.
P
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2013

Loved it!! A very glamorous old Hollywood look with a shimmery overlay.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Extremely comfortable with strategic formfitting draping.
Sw
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

NIce but not my style

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear this dress ended up because the color really didn't look good against my skin. The fit is beautiful, the fabric is nice but the color is just OK. The front wasn't flattering on me but I could see how it could be if you were larger chested and could create a sexier neckline. The 4P did fit perfectly though
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Lovely dress but far too short - should have ordered the long

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the understated glam of this dress. It was good quality material, however, it was too short for me. I'm only 5'6. The long wasn't available, and that is what I really needed.
Sheila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Pretty dress ordered as backup dress (I wore the other dress)..

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Nice dress...nice color and styling...but I couldn't have worn this dress due to the length. I am 5'10" and even barefoot...the dress was 3 inches off the floor.
S
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Did not wear the dress, definitely a little to mature looking.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Order a size down
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

I've rented better

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While I was hopeful about this dress, the fabric was itchy and the draping was off. The left side of the draping at the bust differed from the draping on the right side. The draping at the waist was also not so flattering. While I thought it would be it actually ended up making me look a little poochy. It may look great on someone who is very straight but i have hips and so it didn't look as flattering on me.
Priscilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 18, 2013

My mom looked great!!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I described the Renting program to my Mom and she was stoked to rent something for an upcoming wedding. She is 5'7" & 120 lbs.She looked great! The dress fit her like a glove!
ali
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Dress was gorgeous! Fits perfect and was elegant.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing it, but it was beautiful. The dress was so elegant that it made me feel a little older than I needed it to make me feel for the occasion. It would be perfect for a black tie cocktail party or some other event. Gorgeous style and fit was just my size. Ordered the 10 and that is what size I normally wear. I'm 5'6" and busty and it was perfect.
R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

I wore this to an art opening paired with vintage paste jewels, and it was perfect.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'9" and ordered the long. Even with the long length I was glad I wore flats (bejeweled sandals). Any more of a heel and I think it would have looked too short. The waist is high and the stomach/hip area is forgiving, which is nice. Felt like a goddess!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 17, 2013

Very flattering, although short!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought the dress was very pretty and fit well. It was short though. I ordered the regular and I should have ordered the long. I am 5'5ish...so I feel like I am pretty average and don't have to order long dresses...but if you are hesitant...go with the LONG! Otherwise, loved the dress.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Jun 5, 2013

Gorgeous choice for a formal event!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a charity ball and felt comfortable and elegant. It photoraphs well and is very flattering! I am 5'7 and needed the long size.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

I tried this for a formal event

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have read the comments before ordering this dress - it was much shorter than I was expecting. I am 5'7'', and I usually don't need to order a long. This dress did not quite reach the floor, meaning I couldn't have worn heels, and the lining came to about my ankles. I would have ordered a long if I'd known. I wound up wearing the back-up dress I ordered instead.
Jordan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Really pretty but too short and very rough fabric

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was way too short for me and I don't consider myself very tall
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Looks cheap

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, and didn't end of wearing it. The material looked very cheap and the worst part was it ran super short. I am tall, but the dress barely made it to my ankle (and I rented a tall!). Resulted in a not so fun last minute shopping trip....
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

So flattering post baby!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was disappointed when I first received it because I thought the material looked really cheap - definitely not $600 worth as is the actual retail price of the dress. However, the dress was so, so flattering that it almost entirely made up for it. I just had two kids back to back and am really self conscience about my baby weight in the middle, this relieved me from spending a lot of money on what I hope is a temporary size, the agony of going store to store looking for a tummy hiding dress, and the time involved. I looked very different from everyone and that made me feel pretty good, too. I wore with shiny gold shoes and black earrings, although shiny gold earring would go also. I ordered both the 8R and 8L because I heard it ran short with heels. I am 5'2" and I was able to wear 4 inch heels with the regular dress, BUT the dress hung about 1/2 inch above the floor.
rose
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

this dress was super comfortable and very flattering! I absolutely loved it :)

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it runs true to size, it hides well, I did not need to wear spanx. it worked well with a 3 inch heel and I am 5'6
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Cheap material and way too short!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 4R because the size guide said that the regular length should be fine for someone my height but the dress was bizarrely short! Fell right below my ankles and certainly would have looked awkward with any type of heel. Though the fit was otherwise nice, the material of the dress feels rather cheap. I wouldn't recommend it for a truly formal affair.
jMud
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

WAY TOO SHORT!!!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful gown but, way too short. I am 5'3" and it didn't even hit the floor when I tried it on barefoot. I could not wear it as I refuse to wear flats to a black tie event. I put that it runs small because honestly....I don't know who could wear this dress due to the length unless they are under 4' tall.
JRS
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Frumpy...

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I returned this dress because it was too short and made me look frumpy. I am 5'5 and the regular hit me above the ankle. The top looked very frumpy... I wouldn't recommend this dress for the athletic figure without a waist.
KellyMcB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

In the restroom, lots of other women said I looked hot.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 4 as a backup, but that's what I wore. This dress is pretty flattering for all body types. I'm fairly flat chested, but the dress looked fine. A full-chested woman would look good in it too. I have a big butt for my body, but the 4 wasn't tight at all. It looks better if you go smaller.
miche
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Even in a long... it was too short

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'8", and even barefoot in a 8L this dress was too short. It fit well every where else, and is a pretty black with a gold and sheer black overlay.
Tammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

The fit was perfect!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was very comfortable! I usually wear a 6, but tried on the 4 just in case and it fit just a little better. So I wore the 4L. This was the perfect Holiday party dress!
eh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Rented this as a back up and so glad my other dress worked out.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was really weird in the chest. And it made me look larger than I am. Not flattering.
Alexis
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 23, 2012

Great dress for a high end, black tie wedding.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit perfectly as it was custom made to my body and was comfortable all night. I was never tripping over the length, with my heels its was just fine.
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Pretty - Good for a winter or fall event

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up wearing my other dress option but this was a nice dress. It would have been fine for a black tie wedding - but the other dress felt a little more unique.
JN
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Great dress - runs short.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress. Black and gold metallic fabric...not the olive color that it looks on the website. A little ill-fitting on the top because of the way it is draped, but nothing that some fashion tape couldn't fix. I am short (5'2) and the 6R barely hit the floor with 3 inch heels on. I would go with the long size if you are taller than 5'3 and planning on wearing heels. I would also order a smaller size as your back-up (in the long, though). I had plenty of room in the 6. The dress does not cling at all and is well made. A little scratchy but modern and elegant.
TK
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Not again

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my primary choice and thank goodness I got a backup. At 5'1" this made me look short and frumpy and awful. The material was also very scratchy on my arms.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 28, 2012

Color different from photo (it's black with a black & gold overlay) under arms itchy, VERY short

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received this, tried it on, and returned it. I am disappointed with the length; it doesn't touch the ground (definitely can't wear heels with it). I am now hoping to get a new dress in time for my wedding tomorrow
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

Great evening gown for a shorter person.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a stunning dress in real life that I wore to a black tie gala, however, I couldn't wear my sky high heels with it because it runs on the short side, even though I ordered a Long and wore a 12 instead of a 10 to get some extra length. Still was very comfortable and beautiful.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

First ever RTR experience!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a 0 so as expected it ran a TINY bit big on me, but not big enough that I couldnt wear it. I was worried it would be WAY too long, but the 2R was short enough that I didn't feel like I was tripping even in 3.5 inch heals
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I liked this dress a lot, got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'6 and 120# and the two fit well, could have used a smaller size. If you usually wear a zero the 2 will be too big for you. I also thought the dress was ways too short for someone my height. The length is not for anyone 5'6 and over.
Talia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

It was such a comfortable and forgiving dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night for a black tie wedding I went to - I was happy to be in something so nice that allowed me to wear a regular bra, but was still so formal. I am pretty short and did also run a long dress, and it was perfect with my heels- the regular would have been too short for sure.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×