Metallic Twisted Gown

$54 to buy
$600 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this insanely chic metallic David Meister gown to the event of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black and gold metallic knit(88% nylon;12% gold yarn). V neckline with twisted bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
101 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 6, 2012
The fit was perfect!
This dress was very comfortable! I usually wear a 6, but tried on the 4 just in case and it fit just a little better. So I wore the 4L. This was the perfect Holiday party dress!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 11, 2012
In the restroom, lots of other women said I looked hot.
I ordered the 4 as a backup, but that's what I wore. This dress is pretty flattering for all body types. I'm fairly flat chested, but the dress looked fine. A full-chested woman would look good in it too. I have a big butt for my body, but the 4 wasn't tight at all. It looks better if you go smaller.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2012
Comfortable and perfect for the occasion
Loved the look of the dress and got lots of compliments on it. Overall it was comfortable and as a full chested gal, the straps were very supportive, which is always a positive. That said, the draping made me look like my chest was even bigger and since it's a little higher cut than in the picture, I thought it made me look a little dowdy. As others have mentioned, it runs on the short side so if you're any taller than 5'3" and planning to wear heels, I would order a L instead of a R.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 26, 2012
Cheap fabric and cartoonishly short. If this was the only dress I had, I would have been sunk.
As you can see from the photo, the underlay stopped half way down my calf. I'm 5' 9", but still (the long wasn't available), it was extremely short. The overlay was very cheap-feeling and didn't look at all like it did in the photos. I wish I'd gotten a close-up. In the photos it looked textured and bronze, in person it was a scratchy sparkle layer. Also, the bust made a uni-boob.
RTR CustomerDecember 27, 2012
Hi Gavel! So sorry to hear that the dress wasn't in pristine condition and you weren't satisfied with your rental. That is definitely not our intention so please make sure to contact a stylist so we can make sure to right this experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 27, 2012
Frumpy...
I returned this dress because it was too short and made me look frumpy. I am 5'5 and the regular hit me above the ankle. The top looked very frumpy... I wouldn't recommend this dress for the athletic figure without a waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2013
WAY TOO SHORT!!!!
Beautiful gown but, way too short. I am 5'3" and it didn't even hit the floor when I tried it on barefoot. I could not wear it as I refuse to wear flats to a black tie event. I put that it runs small because honestly....I don't know who could wear this dress due to the length unless they are under 4' tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 22, 2013
Cheap material and way too short!!
I ordered a size 4R because the size guide said that the regular length should be fine for someone my height but the dress was bizarrely short! Fell right below my ankles and certainly would have looked awkward with any type of heel. Though the fit was otherwise nice, the material of the dress feels rather cheap. I wouldn't recommend it for a truly formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2013
Beautiful and a little different than most gowns at the ball!
I wore this dress for an inaugural ball and could not have been happier! The fabric has some stretch so it was quite comfortable. I ordered a size up for my back up but wore my normal size. I was able to wear a regular bra which is always a plus with a bigger bust! I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect, it just skimmed the floor, however, if you are tall this dress would be much too short.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
February 7, 2013
Great silhouette!
I wore this dress to a law school formal and it was perfect for the event. I got tricked by all the reviews saying this dress was too short and I wanted to ensure that it would still be floor length even with heals, so I ordered the long rather than the regular. However the long was a little too long for me, I had to hold it up anytime I was walking. Other than that, I was really happy with the silhouette and the style of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 25, 2013
this dress was super comfortable and very flattering! I absolutely loved it :)
it runs true to size, it hides well, I did not need to wear spanx. it worked well with a 3 inch heel and I am 5'6
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2013
Great shine, glam dress perfect for a wedding or fancy night out
Dress is very comfortable (which isn't common with sequin dresses) and has great coverage for still wearing a bra with straps. Lightweight shimmery material looks better and photographs better than it looks on the website.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
March 3, 2013
So flattering post baby!
I was disappointed when I first received it because I thought the material looked really cheap - definitely not $600 worth as is the actual retail price of the dress. However, the dress was so, so flattering that it almost entirely made up for it. I just had two kids back to back and am really self conscience about my baby weight in the middle, this relieved me from spending a lot of money on what I hope is a temporary size, the agony of going store to store looking for a tummy hiding dress, and the time involved. I looked very different from everyone and that made me feel pretty good, too. I wore with shiny gold shoes and black earrings, although shiny gold earring would go also. I ordered both the 8R and 8L because I heard it ran short with heels. I am 5'2" and I was able to wear 4 inch heels with the regular dress, BUT the dress hung about 1/2 inch above the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Looks cheap
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, and didn't end of wearing it. The material looked very cheap and the worst part was it ran super short. I am tall, but the dress barely made it to my ankle (and I rented a tall!). Resulted in a not so fun last minute shopping trip....
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 2, 2013
Really pretty but too short and very rough fabric
Was way too short for me and I don't consider myself very tall
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2013
On the verge of too short
I loved this dress, I got the 6L as a back up size and it fit great, but it was too short! And the 8L was really a little too short too, but I wore 1inch heels and got away with it. This dress is super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 22, 2013
Lovely and comfortable, too
I chose this dress for my very first RTR, and it was a good choice. I have a large chest (36DD) and needed something I could wear with a regular bra. This gown looked great; the gathered front is flattering and the gold-flecked material is a nice change of pace from a straight black dress. I ordered the 8R with a 10R as a backup, and wound up wearing the 10R because I couldn't get the 8R to zip up in the back. I was grateful for the small package of fashion tape that RTR sent, because I needed it to secure the dress to my bra in the front and to the straps in the back to keep them from peeping out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2013
I tried this for a formal event
I should have read the comments before ordering this dress - it was much shorter than I was expecting. I am 5'7'', and I usually don't need to order a long. This dress did not quite reach the floor, meaning I couldn't have worn heels, and the lining came to about my ankles. I would have ordered a long if I'd known. I wound up wearing the back-up dress I ordered instead.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 23, 2013
Bad angle on photo, but loved the dress!!!
I have large breasts and this one still fit me perfectly. The length was spot on and I liked how it wasn't skin tight on my stomach area, but still very classy and beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2013
Very flattering, although short!
I thought the dress was very pretty and fit well. It was short though. I ordered the regular and I should have ordered the long. I am 5'5ish...so I feel like I am pretty average and don't have to order long dresses...but if you are hesitant...go with the LONG! Otherwise, loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2013
I wore this to an art opening paired with vintage paste jewels, and it was perfect.
I am 5'9" and ordered the long. Even with the long length I was glad I wore flats (bejeweled sandals). Any more of a heel and I think it would have looked too short. The waist is high and the stomach/hip area is forgiving, which is nice. Felt like a goddess!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 15, 2013
Dress was gorgeous! Fits perfect and was elegant.
I ended up not wearing it, but it was beautiful. The dress was so elegant that it made me feel a little older than I needed it to make me feel for the occasion. It would be perfect for a black tie cocktail party or some other event. Gorgeous style and fit was just my size. Ordered the 10 and that is what size I normally wear. I'm 5'6" and busty and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
October 18, 2013
My mom looked great!!
I described the Renting program to my Mom and she was stoked to rent something for an upcoming wedding. She is 5'7" & 120 lbs.She looked great! The dress fit her like a glove!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 27, 2013
Did not wear the dress, definitely a little to mature looking.
Order a size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2013
Pretty dress ordered as backup dress (I wore the other dress)..
Nice dress...nice color and styling...but I couldn't have worn this dress due to the length. I am 5'10" and even barefoot...the dress was 3 inches off the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2013
NIce but not my style
I didn't wear this dress ended up because the color really didn't look good against my skin. The fit is beautiful, the fabric is nice but the color is just OK. The front wasn't flattering on me but I could see how it could be if you were larger chested and could create a sexier neckline. The 4P did fit perfectly though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2013
Dress falls nicely, looks way better on than in the picture.
Main downside is that it has these painful little spear-points (part of the sparkle?) that dig into your underarm and back... These drove me nuts until I had a few drinks and kind of forgot about them. Also wasn't a huge fan of the draping at the chest - made it a bit more of a "mom" dress than at 20-something dress. Ultimately I did wear this and got a bunch of compliments, but it wasn't the best dress out there. What I did love about this dress was the length - I'm 5'2" and finding a long dress that doesn't drag on the floor and trip me is a bit tough. No problem here - wore the "2 regular" and was was able to wear medium-to-low heels without any problems.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 26, 2011
There is a lot more fabric in person than it looks on the website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 30, 2014
Very elegant dress, loved the style.
Very pretty dress. It looks more chocolate colored in the photo but the dress is black with gold threading. Waist hit higher than I expected but still worked. More lightweight fabric than I expected yet it wasn't inexpensive looking at all. I ordered an 8 Long and it was just right with heels, and I'm 5'7''. If you're over 5'8'' and wearing high heels, the long may still not be long enough. Very happy with the dress overall.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2014
Unfortunately, I did not get to wear it :(
I was so sad that I had to return this dress! It was way too short to the point of being unwearable. Both sizes I got, 4R and 6R, were almost up to my ankles.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
February 11, 2014
Beautiful but short!
This dress is a beautiful color and I thought the cut was very flattering. I would have loved to wear it, but it was way too short. I am 5' 7" and I rented the 0L. I only would have been able to wear it with flat sandals. I would definitely recommend this dress for someone who is shorter than me or who plans to wear flats!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Body type: Petite
February 23, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable
No cons at all. The length and fit were perfect. The dress was beautiful and the most comfortable I've ever worn to a Mardi Gras ball.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 6, 2014
Meh.
I got this as a backup after I found out another dress I meant to rent was ruined by the previous customer (the customer service during this process was great, by the way. A rep contacted me immediately and was very helpful, so 5 stars for that part). I was a little iffy about this dress, but saw the great reviews and decided to give it a shot. When I got it, though, both the design and color were underwhelming. As other reviewers have said, it definitely has a green tint to it. Personally I was not a fan. It was also large and was not very flattering. I would recommend this dress for somebody with a fuller chest, and even then going down a size (or 2).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
May 31, 2014
Great idea but not for me
This was one of the dresses that I ordered with customer service after my first options were too small. This was too big. I have a muffin top and DD's and I thought this would fit my frame which it did but way too big. My usual dress size is a 10. B/c I ordered a 10 in the first few dresses with no luck in fit I went with a 12 in this one to be safe. It was not flattering on me at all. I had too much space on the chest area and just made me look like I had 2 giant blobs but not the attractive kind. I really wanted this dress to work but it didn't. This dress would work more for small frames up top. It also brought attention to the areas I wanted to hide. What I did like about this is that I would not have needed 5 inch heels to wear it since I was shoeless when I took the picture and the dress was just touching the floor with my 5'2 frame. This dress unfortunately, wasn't for me.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2014
Perfect fit!
This was my first rental and it worked out perfectly. The dress fit like it was tailored and I received compliments all night. I gave it four stars because of the dress material. While it looked pretty, it was a little scratchy around the neckline and arms. Otherwise, everything was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2014
Compliments all night!
The dress was awesome since it allows for a regular bra! I wore the 8L and had a 10R (ran out of L) as a back up size. I usually have to size up for extra room in the bust but the 8L was fit perfect (minus needing someone to help zip it that final inch!). The 10R fit too loosely in the chest (twisted fabric detail) and was not as flattering. The regular length hit at a funny part at my foot and didn't feel right - shorter heels would have probably solved that. The long length was a bit long - I wore 4.5 in heels with the 8L.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2015
Wore a different dress.
Ended up not wearing this dress. I am a size 6 and 5'5". The size six fit pretty well but only came to my ankles. it was VERY short. I couldn't even wear it with flats. If you are normal height like me, you will need the long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2015
Just the right amount of sparkle for a formal wedding
The dress is beautiful and elegant, with just the right amount of sparkle for a formal wedding. The fit was true to size and the dress was super comfortable all night long. The draping of the dress is beautiful and would be flattering on any figure. I'm 5'6" 140 lbs and wore a size 8L. As the other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs short. The photo is taken after I kicked off my heels. Even in flip flops, you could see a good bit of my feet.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 5, 2015
Very happy with this dress
This was a very pretty dress and comfortable for an all evening event! With heels it was just a tad too short but was not a big deal for me because I am very short although for anyone even a little taller the length would become a problem if you plan on wearing heels. The dress is flattering with a very subtle shimmer to it and not too over the top. I felt very pretty in it and received many compliments on the dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 26, 2016
Not for me
This dress was a backup dress that I didn't end up wearing. It really didn't fit me right at all- very baggy, did nothing for my figure, and overall just not my style. Oh well! I'm sure it's beautiful on others. As always, RTR was great to deal with :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2012
The intricacy of the metallic and the draping toward the top were both very nice
I rented this dress as my backup style for prom, but my first selection fit so there was no need to wear it. I wish I could have worn this to a fancy dinner before sending it back though bc I would have loved to have worn it! It fit perfectly, was very flattering, and is a gorgeous dress with great detailing!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×