David Meister

Charcoal Cocktail Sequin Dress

$98 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Sequins meet sophistication. Rent this David Meister cocktail dress for all your holiday parties and you'll be the talk of the gathering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Charcoal knit with sequins(65% polyester;35% rayon). Surplice neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2013
I'm writing this review unfortunately almost a year after I wore it. Had a great time, compliments!
This dress was very comfortable, I wore my usual size, I felt very snazzy in it and danced the night away very easily in it. It was form fitting but not restrictive and bra friendly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 3, 2013
This was my back up dress. Very pretty gray but the fabric is SUPER pill-y.
In a dark room you wouldn't notice the pills but it's very noticeable in better lighting. Don't wear this dress if it's outside in the daytime because the fabric is noticeably worn. That said, it was a very pretty dress. It was my back up dress and I didn't wear it. There was room in the hips, I probably would wear a 4 in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2013
Fits well. Enjoyed wearing this dress.
easy to wear. Can be dressed up or down.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
I loved this dress...it was perfect for a holiday party. Got tons of compliments.
I expected to wear the size 2 as usual, but actually went with the 4 cause the sleeves on the 2 were so tight, and the butt was snug too. It was in perfect condition and really looked great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 188lbs
November 3, 2011
This dress is fantastic. I wore it for a family event and it was stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
This dress is a head-turner. Great style for an hourglass figure!
Fitted but not tight. Tried the 4, could've worn the 6 possibly.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2014
Great sparkly dress
The dress fit exactly as sized, if a little large. It was comfortable and easy to move around in. The dress I got did show quite a bit of wear, with pilling on the arms and bodice. Working with RTR was very easy and straightforward even when my luggage was lost on the way home and return was delayed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2014
Great dress!
I really liked this dress. I attended a small wedding dinner and this was perfect, just enough sparkle to make the night shine. The fit was true to size, I used a little double stick tape since its a faux wrap (as not to flash other guests) but it fit wonderfully.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
March 23, 2014
gorgeous!
So pretty in person, form fitting and complementary. Keeps you warm during a winter event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2014
I rented this for my husband's corporate holiday party. It was a HUGE HIT!
This dress is comfortable, flattering and classy. The quality was evident in the fit and construction. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2014
Lots of compliments
Perfect fit. Very comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 12, 2014
Great cocktail party and everyone loved the dress!
The dress was great. Received lots of complements. I normally wear a size 4 and I ordered the 4 and 2 because of some of the reviews that said it runs large. I did not find this - the size 4 fit perfectly. It is a very comfortable dress and I loved the long sleeves for the cooler weather. The dress is a jersey material and drapes very flatteringly - not too clingy but still close-fitting. My husband told me I should buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 1, 2015
Comfortable dress, nice for a cocktail/evening wedding
My normal size is a 4, but I went down to the size 2 because it was a bit loose. With this style dress it looks better snug. I am a 34B but there was room for more in the chest - nothing that made too much of a difference given the color and the gathering of the fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2012
This dress has seen better days ...
1st time doing RTR - was fun but I was disappointed in this dress. Here is why: #1 - Dress seemed past its prime. Many sequins are missing, threads are sticking our from seams along the inner arms. Also, the material is pilled like it has been laundered many times over. Also, THE LINING HANGS OUT. Seems the dress fabric has shrunk and the lining sticks out 1/4 inch from the hem - not pretty. #2 - Usually wear size 4 but dress in this size was considerable too small. As others have said, it does not stretch so if you have broad shoulders this dress will be hard to wear and you will not be able to raise your arms. It was too tight across my shoulders but a bit too roomy through the hips. I ended up wearing the size 6 - glad I ordered larger for the extra dress. Also, on me dress was pretty short, but wearable. #3 - Overall, it is pretty and I did wear it, although I was glad the lighting was dim so the flaws didn't show. Dress has a lot of sparkle and I can see it being flattering for many body types.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 30, 2015
The day was great. Lots of compliments on the dress.
The dress was very comfortable. Perfect for an outdoor wedding in Spring with the long sleeves. Will order from Rent the Runway again. A++++
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
This dress is perfection! The fit was wonderful and very forgiving. It's a bit more sparkly than the photo indicates, but it is very sophisticated. The fabric drapes perfectly to hide any flaws. This is one dress I was tempted to keep!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 14, 2011
Great looking dress
Fits true to size, though VERY low cut. I'm small yet big busted so will need a camisole or people will see more than just cleavage! Comfy as the material is stretchy. Only negative is the ruching on the side which gives you a bit of a tummy bump. Its not bad enough that I won't wear it, and I probably notice it more than the next person, but...
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Super shiny
I wasn't prepared for how shiny this dress was -- it's not subtle at all, I felt like a disco ball.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 22, 2012
This was my first experience with RTR and I'm hooked already. What a seamless, positive experience!
The dress fit like a glove. I have never received so many complements, most from strangers! I usually wear a two but ordered a four in case. The two was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2013
Stunning, comfortable & easy to wear
Wore this dress to a fall charity event and was thrilled with it! The cotton makes it comfortable & easy to wear, and the sequin detail adds sparkle. The sleeves run tight, so be sure to order your true size. Overall thrilled with the dress, as well as the order & return process.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×