David Meister

Charcoal Cocktail Sequin Dress

$70 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sequins meet sophistication. Rent this David Meister cocktail dress for all your holiday parties and you'll be the talk of the gathering. Add a pop of color by renting the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings and a blinged out cuff like the Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Charcoal knit with sequins(65% polyester;35% rayon). Surplice neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

56 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 51
Large 0
Photos 13
Kristine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 5, 2012

Tight on Shoulder area!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress and so wanted to wear it the New Year's Eve wedding I rented it for (thank god I rented a back up style that workout perfectly), it looked great and fit like a size 6 should with one exception- the shoulder area. If I had my arms down the dress looked great, if I tried to pick up my arms (as I would do if I was dancing for a NYE wedding) the dress felt like it could rip and it was just too constricting in the upper arm shoulder area. The dress itself is really nice on and totally sliming with the design. I just couldn't see myself being comfortable for such a party night so I didn't wear it after all.
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Jan 18, 2012

Fabulous

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i rented this dress for a fancy wedding and received many compliments some from perfect strangers. The dress came with everything you need and fit perfectly. I can't wait to rent another dress.
jodie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 18, 2012

It's such a perfect idea to rent these dresses...Then I don't have to try to buy one for different occasions and they are modern. It's the bomb that you get 2 sizes to try and I think it's extremely helpful to read the comments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress. Would consider buying it. A little low cut so I wore a cami under it. Loved that it's long sleeved!!! Does not have a ton of stretch under the arms so may not be great for big dancing!
Roxana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2012

Prettier on the hanger

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought I loved this dress in the picture and on the hanger it was stunning. When I put it on.... not so much. I am not busty so the top left me a bit deflated and it was just a tad short for a formal affair. I ended up wearing my backup dress (Nicole Miller black lace) that fit like a glove.
Jera at CreateSticksAndStones.com
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 21, 2012

Amazing! Perfection! Gorgeous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the first time I've used the service and definitely not my last!!! My entire experience from start to finish was incredible! It is such an easy process! The selection is amazing! I loved my dress so much. I am going to look into buying it. I've already referred many friends. Even my husband was impressed with the process and product and he's difficult to please. Thank you for this service! I am so happy my friend introduced me to you!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

love it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
rented it for wedding, perfect fit, perfect for the occation.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

Dazzling!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was the perfect amount of sparkle for a fancy date night.
Alise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 6, 2012

Choose Wisely

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, it was really cute and fun! Be warned it is far more "sparkly" in person than what shows on the photos. I picked this dress for a wedding and I had to go out and get a black cover to tone it down a bit. Really great dress for a night out with the girls or new years, I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding.
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Super shiny

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wasn't prepared for how shiny this dress was -- it's not subtle at all, I felt like a disco ball.
beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

This was my first experience with RTR and I'm hooked already. What a seamless, positive experience!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove. I have never received so many complements, most from strangers! I usually wear a two but ordered a four in case. The two was perfect.
Lynn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Oct 17, 2012

Great Way To Add Some Sparkle

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress as a backup, to the Trina Trunk Tulip dress and thought it was flattering and fit true to size. In the end wore the other dress, because it was more festive, but would wear this on another occasion where ya needed more subdued sequence.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2012

Was my back-up dress and I ALMOST wore it, but loved my first choice dress too.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great and was super comfortable. The only downside was that it showed a little too much cleavage for the occasion (a slightly conservative wedding). This was my back-up dress so I never really intended to wear it but it was a tough choice. If I had a black camisole to wear underneath, I would definitely wear it in the future.
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

AWESOME DRESS!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was perfect, in every way. It was a lot more sparkly in person- and that is what I hoped for. I did not think it was over-the-top sparkly. It was a perfect dress for my occasion- I wore it for my brother's wedding. I am not sure I have ever receieved so many compliments about a dress before. So many people told me I should purchase it! Other reveiws said it showed a lot of cleavage- I did not have that problem. The fit was very true to size. This was my first experience with RTR and I will most definitely be back. It was absolutely perfect.
AC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 8, 2012

Classy, elegant and eye catching

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a political fundraiser and loved everything about it! It was true to size and very comfortable. The fabric feels just like cotton, and the sequins really make the gray pop. The V cut a little deep which was just fine with me, but be sure to have the right bra. Also the sleeves were a little tight but not bothersome. I received many compliments and was a great event to dinner/cocktails dress. Highly recommend!
WindyCity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

Good from afar, but far from good.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a lovely dress, but I did not wear it. The pictures do not truly reflect how sparkly this dress is. It would be fine for an evening cocktail party, but a little to much for an early evening wedding. I was disappointed in the fabric. With the European mills producing such beautiful fabrics that are also wearable, I see no reason to be uncomfortable. This dress is cut form fitting, and looks great when standing. It would be great if we were mannequins, but we ladies move. This dress is not for you if you want to raise your arms. There is absolutely no give to the fabric. So old school technology.
Livonb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Didn't like feel of fabric...didn't feel like a cocktail quality dress...felt frumpy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Not a bad dress just not for me...I also didn't like the extra hanging fabric in front...felt heavy. Ended up not wearing it.
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Beautiful dress! Loved the sparkle and the design. Perfect for the symphony!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I tried the size 2 and 4. The 2 was snug in the shoulders, but the 4 was just right. It helped to wear a slightly padded bra.
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Feeling fantastic in the dress AND knowing I'd be comfortable all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and easy to wear. Hides many figure flaws! Much sparklier than it appears in the photo.
Melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

First RTR experience was top notch.On time delivery,great product,easy return.Highly recommend!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the dress! Great fit, comfortable jersey fabric, got multiple complements. Unlike a lot of cocktail dresses, I didn't feel like I had to constantly adjust ior tug at it all night. The only minor downside is that the long sleeves do make it a little warm. Wish I could have kept it forever!
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

A little big in the top, but still looked good on.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very pretty for a cocktail party.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

This beats a LBD any day!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is so beautiful and fun to wear. It looks great on and the fabric is soft and comfortable. I felt happy and festive wearing it. It is a bit hard to zip up, my husband had to zip me into it, but once I was in the dress I was very comfortable--I wore it with spanx and a light-weight black cami underneath because it is rather low cut. Overall I would recommend this dress for any shape or size. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 and in this dress, the 6 was perfect. This is a beautiful, comfortable dress!
Bobbi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 13, 2013

Very sexy party look!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fitted dress that really shows off your curves.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

Wasn't pleased.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress, while it fit well in the waist and bust, I could not move my arms in it at all, once zipped. I was not able to wear this dress. The material was nice, but it looked a bit worn around the cuffs.
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

2 random women came up to me when I was out to let me know how amazing and beautiful the dress was!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I thought this dress was a wrap dress, but it isn't. It just looks like one. Luckily, the size fit perfectly. The material is very soft and it is very sparkly. I loved it. I actually want to buy this dress, it is amazing!!!
Connie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Love The Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! I wore it for an evening wedding and it was just the right dress. It must have been the right dress for the occassion, because someone else there had the same dress!Length and fit we're both great. Lots of people have mentioned it's very sparkly and it is in person. Got a lot of compliments.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Stunning, FANTASTIC & Comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received so many compliments of this dress! It was stunning and comfortable. The material is jersey with a lining - so it was easy to wear, and the front faux wrap made it easy to hide any insecurities. The long sleeves were perfect for a March St. Patty's themed winter wedding in New England - was happy with it.... I would definitely re-rent! The V-neck is on the plunging side - as I'm petitie and small chested, it wasn't a big deal for me plus the necklace was a rental too (green for the Irish) and it fell appropriately with the neckline. Felt like a million dollars!!
Annalisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 12, 2013

Stylish, yet so easy to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding reception, but think it could easily work for other formal occasions. Up close, the outer material looks and feels like a soft cotton tee, covered in a pattern or little silver sequins. Inside, nice and satiny smooth. Because the sequins are small, you don't outshine the bride or look gaudy - it glimmers beautifully! My soul mate couldn't keep his eyes off of me, and I was complimented by others on the look - but I didn't have to suffer for it (dress wise, anyway). Hooray! A few tips: if you have a modest bosom, a padded pushup bra is a must. With a size 2 top, and pear shaped 4/6 hips, I found the 4 just made it (very close to true). If you are unsure, size for your hips. This dress hangs beautifully, but take note- when taking photos in the dress, face forward or left side (where the neat dangle part is), otherwise it will artificially emphasize the appearance of your belly due to the way it drapes (see my two photos for a comparison). Don't let that one down side discourage you from getting this dress though - when you are in it, you'll love it and so will others!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Wish I could have worn it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous! The arms were a little tight and it required a "dressing buddy" in order to get it zipped. Because I was at a hotel by myself, I wasn't able to wear this dress.
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 10, 2013

I'm writing this review unfortunately almost a year after I wore it. Had a great time, compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable, I wore my usual size, I felt very snazzy in it and danced the night away very easily in it. It was form fitting but not restrictive and bra friendly.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

This dress is a head-turner. Great style for an hourglass figure!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fitted but not tight. Tried the 4, could've worn the 6 possibly.
Melanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

This was my back up dress. Very pretty gray but the fabric is SUPER pill-y.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
In a dark room you wouldn't notice the pills but it's very noticeable in better lighting. Don't wear this dress if it's outside in the daytime because the fabric is noticeably worn. That said, it was a very pretty dress. It was my back up dress and I didn't wear it. There was room in the hips, I probably would wear a 4 in this dress.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

Stunning, comfortable & easy to wear

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a fall charity event and was thrilled with it! The cotton makes it comfortable & easy to wear, and the sequin detail adds sparkle. The sleeves run tight, so be sure to order your true size. Overall thrilled with the dress, as well as the order & return process.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 14, 2013

Fits well. Enjoyed wearing this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
easy to wear. Can be dressed up or down.
Madeleine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

I loved this dress...it was perfect for a holiday party. Got tons of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I expected to wear the size 2 as usual, but actually went with the 4 cause the sleeves on the 2 were so tight, and the butt was snug too. It was in perfect condition and really looked great.
Mindy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Great sparkly dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit exactly as sized, if a little large. It was comfortable and easy to move around in. The dress I got did show quite a bit of wear, with pilling on the arms and bodice. Working with RTR was very easy and straightforward even when my luggage was lost on the way home and return was delayed.
Tamiko
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 13, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress. I attended a small wedding dinner and this was perfect, just enough sparkle to make the night shine. The fit was true to size, I used a little double stick tape since its a faux wrap (as not to flash other guests) but it fit wonderfully.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

gorgeous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So pretty in person, form fitting and complementary. Keeps you warm during a winter event!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

I rented this for my husband's corporate holiday party. It was a HUGE HIT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is comfortable, flattering and classy. The quality was evident in the fit and construction. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend it.
Kc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit. Very comfortable
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Great cocktail party and everyone loved the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great. Received lots of complements. I normally wear a size 4 and I ordered the 4 and 2 because of some of the reviews that said it runs large. I did not find this - the size 4 fit perfectly. It is a very comfortable dress and I loved the long sleeves for the cooler weather. The dress is a jersey material and drapes very flatteringly - not too clingy but still close-fitting. My husband told me I should buy it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×