Blue Nile Falls Gown

$61 to buy
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Try lace for your next formal event wearing this gorgeous blue gown by David Meister. Bring out the beautiful royal blue hues with Oscar de la Renta's Globetrotter Earrings and finish off your look with Jules Smith’s Tribal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Royal blue lace (80% cotton, 20% nylon). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
132 reviews
Fit
Large20
True to Size104
Small4
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
June 15, 2014
Felt so pretty in it
It was perfect, rouched at waist, no need to wear bra. Spanx were a must, it is form fitting. Felt so comfortable in it, dances the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
June 9, 2014
They were so helpful and the dress was easily delivered and I LOVE MY DRESS
Everything was beautiful and I absolutely love my dress, and would definitely go to here again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful color and fabric
Being 5'10 I wish this were a few inches longer, with heels on it didn't reach the floor. Other then that, loved it. Comfortable, beautiful color, stretchy fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 178lbs
June 2, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress! We went to a grown up's "prom" and it was the perfect dress.
Beautiful yet so easygoing. I didn't feel "stuffy" or uncomfortable at all. Very nice fitting dress. Fit me just perfect! My normal size is 14, but since I've gained a little weight recently the 16L was perfect. I'm going to rent it again sometime in a size 12! Everyone told me it was beautiful! Really pretty blue! Once I put it on I didn't ever want to take it off because I felt like a million bucks! I usually don't wear a tall but I'm 5'9" and the 16 and the 16L fit fine. I could have chosen either but the long one fit perfect and hung nicely. I love Rent the Runway and I've rented from them at least 4 times. I always get top notch service and beautiful designer dresses from them. Returning the dress is also painless/ just stick it in the pre paid pre addressed UPS bag which RTR provides. Loved this dress and I love RTR!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2014
A knockout!
This dress is gorgeous and sexy. I got the 8, which is my regular size, and it fit absolutely perfectly, like a glove. It shows off all the right curves (booty especially) and the one shoulder is so elegant. The lace and the bright blue color are incredible too. i actually did not end up wearing this (I ordered it for prom) but I will definitely rent it again to wear to something else!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Too short!
I ordered a long, and the dress was still too short. Kind of blah overall too.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
May 22, 2014
Great experience was easy and reliable.
Size runs a little large.
AngelaSeptember 17, 2014
You look stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 20, 2014
Tons of compliments
I waited until last minute to buy my dress and this was the only one available. Dress fit okay. I would have preferred a 4 but could get away with wearing a 6. I wore a strapless bra and used a tiny bit of fashion tape to keep my bra from showing where it draped under my arm. I'm pretty short (5'1) and wore 3 inch heels and it was just a tad long, but nothing that anyone would notice. The dress felt pretty plain so I added a statement necklace to dress it up. It shows your curves so I think it would look better on someone more stick thin. Not really my style dress but I received tons of compliments from everyone so I guess it worked out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
May 13, 2014
Lots of compliments!!
True to size, loved the blue and patterns on this dress. I felt very comfortable in it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 12, 2014
Dress is pretty.
This was a stylist pick for me to replace another dress which was unable to be shipped to me. I normally wear a 12 and tried a 12R. I'm fairly large in the chest and this was a bit big on me. The rest of the dress shows any lumps and bumps you have, so spanx are a must! I definitely would have needed a long in this dress had I worn it. With the right length and undergarments I could have made this work if needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 9, 2014
LOVE this dress!
Love, love, love this dress! Wish I could have gotten the longer size, but the regular was ok (the hem didn't quite hit the floor, so my heels just peeked out a little - I'd recommend the long if you're tall and it's available though). Very comfortable, and definitely a compliment magnet. The gathering at the hip and two layers of fabric work well to camouflage unwanted curves, but just be aware that it is still formfitting down to the mid-thigh. Also, I'm a 34DD and had no problems at all with the top of the dress. I rented the necklace pictured with the dress also, and the two are stunning together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!!!!!!! Would rent again!
I wore this dress for a black tie formal wedding. The color is stunning! The fit was true to size. Received tons of compliments. Would highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
Got tons of compliments
I am 5'8" 135 lbs. The 4L was a better fit but was way too short to wear the dress with heels (no matter how small the heel). I wore the 6L instead bc it was actually long enough. The bottom of the dress is swishy which I thought was strange at first but then I ended up loving it as I wore it. Very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2014
Beautiful color, got many compliments on it!
I was deciding between a 4 and a 2 and the fit of the 2 was perfect except for the length (my heels were 4 or so inches high and the dress was too short when I wore the 2) so I ended up going with the 4. I had some gaping at the top that was fixed with some double sided tape. If I had been wearing lower heels I probably would've picked the 2, though!! The only other thing to be aware of is that the fabric snags on things VERY easily. My corsage bracelet kept getting stuck and I had to carefully maneuver it off without pulling the fabric. Other than those two things it was a gorgeous dress. The color is a vivid blue and the dress itself is very forgiving (hooray for not feeling constricted!) I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
April 30, 2014
So many of my sorority sisters complimented me on this dress and even wanted to borrow it!
If you are tall and have a nice tan this dress will look amazing on you. I wore a 2 long and I'm 5'8". I only wore 2 inch heels and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2014
Beautiful dress and was so comfortable! Color was vibrant and got lots of compliments.
I'm 5'6 and got the long. I usually wear a 6 but was afraid that would be too tight because it's fitted. The 8 was perfect and I could maybe have done the 6. Very comfortable dress!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
PERFECT!!!!!!
This was my first time renting and I couldn't have for a better experience. I was a bit apprehensive as I'm 5"2" and was concerned with the length. The dress fit perfectly. It's a beautiful colbolt blue. Got compliments all night long. I would recommend wearing some sort of support garment. I wore a Spanks slip that fit from my ribcage down. It helped smooth out everything. My only suggestion would be to try a size smaller. I felt like the dress stretched a bit as the evening went on. The dress was very comfortable and the ruching was very flattering. Over all perfect!!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 17, 2014
Good dress, not great
Overall I enjoyed wearing this dress. It comfortable, the fabric was just lovely and color really brought out my eyes. In the end it wasn't as flattering as I would have hoped though. It was tight around my waist so that my belly obviously stuck out. What I really disliked the most though (and didn't really notice until I see pictures later) was the side with the strap was so low and tight it created a bulge of fat that popped over it.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2014
Felt beautiful and comfortable
Fit was very comfortable and forgiving...could eat and sit and not feel hindered in anyway. I did have to be careful with the long length not catching my high heels as the fabric would easily snag.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2014
Beautiful, Fun Gown
I wore this to a masquerade Gala and it was almost perfect. Fit was great, color is fantastic, fabric feels rich, but it was a bit short. I'm 5'5 so most dresses are perfect with a 3" heel or higher, not this one. Besides the small shoe debacle, everything else was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Comfortable and Beautiful!
This dress is even prettier in person. The color is more of a cobalt blue and really pops. The material is so comfortable. I ordered a 2 and a 4 , both fit but went with the 4 for a little extra room. Great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2014
The dress fit like a glove and was made of high quality fabric.
This dress was true to size and I have almost no hips but I do have a larger chest (34D), and I was able to wear this without a bra. It was tight enough on the top to hold the girls up and not show any nips, and it also hugged the rest of my curves (I'm 120lbs). It was the perfect length, I wore it with 4 1/2" inch heels and the dress barely touched the ground. That being said, if you are taller than 5' 7" or plan on wearing heels higher than 5", this wouldn't be a good pick. I wore it to my friend's army ball and it was perfect; modest and elegant while still extremely flattering.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
A very comfortable and flattering dress. The color is better than the picture.
I was a little heavier than I like but the 8R fit my 5'4" 135 lbs beautifully. Very comfortable, very flattering and forgiving. The color is lighter than the pictures on line. I'd call it Royal Blue. I'd wear this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 29, 2014
awkward fit
i chose this dress because of all the positive reviews and how it was great for girls with curves. The top runs large -it was loose on the sides but not fitted in proportion to the hips/waist Great dress - just not for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 23, 2014
Beautiful dress! A ton of compliments!
Dress fit like a glove; however, it is a little short for my taste. I wore 16L and could only wear 2 inch heels. (I am 5'5.5" exactly and my husband is 6"3", so i live in 4 inch heels.) Other than that, this dress is made for me and all curvy women!! My measurements are 44" bust, 39" waist and 49" hips. According to these measurements I am closer to a size 18 on a chart; however, the 16 fit perfectly. It is a wonderful dress for those girls, who do not fit in standard sizes, but are not quite plus size either. This was my first time renting from RTR, and I absolutely loved it!! Can't wait for my next event so that I can Rent The Runway again!! Dresses arrived ready to wear in a lovely garment bag (which you get to keep! yay!), and all I have to do is mail them back tomorrow in the pre-postage UPS envelope bag provided. Amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2014
Perfect for my law school formal.
Gorgeous dress, gorgeous color. The fit wasn't quite right for me (it was a little big around the waist and bust), but I think it still looked great. I'm only 5'1" and I was wearing 5" heels the night I wore this dress which made the length almost perfect if just a tad too long still. I got tons of compliments all night! I paired the dress with a curly side pony, black chandelier earrings, and black open-toed heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2014
Beautiful color!
I got complements on the color and the rouching on the side is flattering. Low maintenance--staying up and pretty all night dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
It's a lovely dress...
The fit was true-to size. I had planned to wear this dress for a charity gala I was photographing, but decided to go with the back-up Nicole Miller Lady in Waiting gown instead. The color of this dress is fabulous! The lace is a bit heavy but soft so it falls very nicely and drapes quite well at the hemline. I wore the 8L because I was wearing 3 3/4" heels with a 1/2" platform, and as recommended, the length worked out well. The bodice fit snuggly, but not tightly, so it's a comfortable wear. If you are a busty lady and need more support than the tape-bras offer, you can probably wear this with a convertible bra if you can adjust the shoulder straps around the perimeter of the bra's torso strap so that you don't have to fear having the straps peeking under the neckline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2014
Felt beautiful!
This dress just hugs in all the right places! I felt comfortable, beautiful and sexy! What more could you ask for in a formal gown. I wore capri length shapers underneath to smooth everything out but the lace nicely camouflages any seams those might leave. The color is gorgeous. I am 5'10" and wore around 2-3" heels and had just about the right length (maybe just a bit too much) with the 10L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 7, 2014
Pretty color, nice style, lots of compliments
I wore this dress for a black-tie optional charity gala. I got the 2R and the 4R just in case. I normally wear a 2 but am about 4 months pregnant so ordered the additional size as well. The 2 still fit and worked out great (but in other dresses I tried on, I needed a 4 so this particular dress might run a little large). Overall, it fit well, the style was nice, very pretty color. The only "complaint" is that it was actually a little shorter than I would've liked. I'm pretty short at 5'4" so wouldn't have thought to order the long option because that's usually way too long. But with 3-inch heels, this was just a tad too short for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 6, 2014
Beautiful Blue!!
I rented this as a backup, but my first dress worked GREAT. My friend ended up wearing this one. She looked amazing in it, felt comfortable dancing all night, and received tons of compliments. If you have blue eyes, it will definitely make them pop! I'm shorter than her, so I rented the 8R. She's a little taller and probably could have used the long. Other than that, great option!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
March 5, 2014
Rent the runway made it very easy to find the perfect dress.
Fit nice, color was beautiful, and the fabric is extremely comfortable! Loved the dress, I wish I could have kept it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2014
Beautiful on!! Great color!
The dress was beautiful on. I wore flats and the long length did cover my shoes but it didn't drag on the floor. It fit well everywhere except the top of the strapless side. It fit a little loose there and I'm a D cup. It didn't take away from the dress tho....I just had to keep making sure that my bra wasn't showing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 22, 2014
Beautiful color and style
I rented this as my first choice, but the 2R was damaged from the previous renter so I had the 4R and it was too big...the 2R would have been the perfect fit so I didn't get to wear it. I will definitely try again when the 2R is available in this dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2014
Wore it for prom and I was the most stylish person there!
Simple yet elegant. Careful, the lace may snag. It fit wonderfully and complimented my figure. True to size but I ordered a size smaller as a backup size and wore that one because of its better length. I'm a decent height (5'6'') and lean but with a bust. The color really stood out in the crowd and I had an amazing time at my prom with this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2014
This dress fit like a glove! Very flattering fit, good quality fabric, and perfect length.
I have a curvy/athletic build, and this dress fit like a dream. There is a slight flare at the bottom, which works well if you have wide-set hips like I do. There is plenty of room to move, and I didn't feel constrained or restricted at all. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this dress!
JuliaJuly 18, 2014
What is the lining like? Did you have to wear a bra with this dress?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 10, 2014
This dress was amazing!
I wore this for a black tie event my nonprofit was running so I needed something elegant that I could work in also. This dress was perfect. Beautiful, fit me great everywhere & I was so comfortable in it! The color is also stunning! I am very fair skinned and the deep blue color added so much. Rent it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2014
I enjoyed wearing it very much
It is perfect fit dress.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2014
Very well fitting dress. Forgiving in the stomach and very sleek! Comfortable and elegant.
The lace at the bottom occasionally got caught up in my heels, which is the only issue I had with the dress all night. I have a large bust and this dress covered me perfectly and comfortably, while the one shoulder and gorgeous color gave it that very elegant look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2014
Beautiful color, beautiful snug fit.
I ordered this dress as a backup and did not wear it. I tried it on, though, and it's a beautiful dress. It does run small, so size down. My stomach and hips are not perfectly flat, and curves really show in this dress, even with Spanx. I recommend this most for hour glass figures, so if you have rockin curves and a tight stomach, this would be amazing.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×