Cynthia Rowley

Button Me Up Dress

$40 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Dance, dance, dance in this sexy Cynthia Rowley button sleeve dress. Accessorize with lots of bling like the House of Harlow's Gold Textured Cut Out Cuff and the Dannijo Gold Celia Necklace .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Long sleeves with button closure cut-outs. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

72 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 48
Large 4
Photos 10
ljpj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Just a great dress, easy to wear and I felt great...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was just amazing. I wore it to a work event, it looked great, fit well and was easy to move in. I would rent it again; it is perfect for the northeast where we need something just a little warmer for these winter events!
Bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Felt beautiful and comfortable all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my friend's 22nd birthday celebration and felt beautiful all night! The material is a tad thick yet stretchy which proved to be very, very comfortable. I received many compliments and would highly recommend this dress.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Last minute replacement

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't get my Kate Spade and the dress they sent instead wasn't my style, so this was a rush replacement. Actually love the style, but the fabric was very thick for such a mild evening. Having said that, I felt great in the dress and received many compliments. This was my first RTR experience...it was a bit stressful, but customer service was wonderful.
Heidi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 25, 2012

Loved the simplicity of this dress with the small detail of the buttoned sleeves!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was super comfy but the material is rather thick. I rented it for a wedding rehearsal dinner in California and was expecting the weather to be a little cooler than it was. Because of the thickness, it was rather toasty but still loved it! Being 5' 4", I wished it was a little bit shorter on be. I feel my arms are rather small, but the sleeves were a little tight. Just something to consider.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

I was lucky to wear this dress to a lunch with Brooke Brown, RTR's Director of Product Management!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love the playful buttons on the arms. I received many compliments during my classes. It was a very flattering dress length.
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Very confortable dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric is super thick, like a weatsuit so it is perfect for winter parties.
cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

This dress is perfect for a party and can also be worn for a more casual occasion.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit was pretty true to size, however, the sleeves were very tight. Although my arms are average the fit was almost uncomfortable. The fabric is thick and hugs the body nicely without showing any bumps and bulges. The length was perfect- not too short and not too long on my 5'3" frame.
meaghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

Classically beautiful without looking like you are trying!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect for almost any occasion. I especially loved the detail on the sleeves. Makes for a great party dress if you are looking to dance the night away!
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

My favorite RTR dress to date!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this little number. The fit is wonderful. If Spanx had a dress line this would be what it would look and feel like. The dress makes you look super thin and hugs in all the right places.
Kristie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2013

Classy and beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress to wear to a family dinner event during my cousin's wedding weekend. I wanted something that was simple, classic, and a bit conservative. This was definitely the dress. I ordered the 6, which could have fit a bit tighter and looked better. The only reason I stayed with my normal size was due to the arms, which fit but would have looked a bit too tight if I had gone down to the 4. If it weren't for the mismatch between the arm size and the rest of the dress's size, this dress would have received a 5.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

I have always loved the option of being able to rent more than one dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4 and a 6 in this dress just in case and when they came in the mail neither fit. It was a gorgeous dress but the material is what made the fit not my normal size!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 9, 2013

Translated on Camera amazingly, the small detailed buttons are so cute and chic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my RTR On Campus video and my model was OBSESSED! The material is thick enough to wear with tights and boots for a cool winter day and thin enough to wear during early summer. The fit was perfect and we easily dressed it up or down for casual to semi-formal dress!
Eliza
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Looked Great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My arms were being squeezed the whole night, but everything else fit perfectly!
Bel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I got had some defaults at the seams that my mom was able to fix. RTR gave the option to get another dress (which I couldn't because of time), but I did get a $25 coupon for my next order. Now, the dress is so beautiful. Fitting to body and warm. Very warm so I don't recommend for warm weather. I wore it to a wedding and now I wish I owned it.
tf68114
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Great dress! Fits like a glove. Felt gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 2 fit perfectly... a little bit of stretch, but not a lot. Felt absolutely beautiful!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

unfortunately, this dress was way too small for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am a slightly curvy girl, but still considered to be quite thin. I ordered the dress in a size 6 as most reviews said it was true to size, and I religiously wear a size 6. The arms were tight and the rest of the dress although very covered up, left nothing to the imagination with how tight it was. I did not wear it out.
Orthowife
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Classic dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the size 2 was a little tight in the arms and I had a back-up dress. This can be worn for almost any occasion. Love the arm detail but probably needed a 4.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 25, 2013

Loved it! Fit like a glove and so comfy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The arms were a little tight but the dress still fit great! The fabric is really soft and thick which was great for my winter formal. I got so many compliments.
J
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Great fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very slimming, received numerous compliments, very warm for a winter event.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Comfortable and pretty.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my fiance's holiday party. The dress fit well, I'm glad I got a size up. I usually wear a 0 or a 2, but the 4 fit me the best. The arms are a little tight. It also feels like a wetsuit almost, so it was perfect for the winter (-6 at the event!), but I would be too hot to wear this in spring. Besides that, it was a classy, nice dress. I wish that the necklace they show with it was available to rent!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Feb 6, 2014

I wore this for my birthday dinner and loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I agree with everyone that the sleeves are ridiculously tight! I'm semi-okay with my arms, and I felt like they were being squeezed to death in this dress-- not comfortable or cute! I don't think it looked that bad, but I thought about it more than I'd have liked to. Otherwise, though, the dress is super flattering - perfect length and the material is really nice. So, I'd say if you're very self-conscious about your arms - do NOT get this dress. Otherwise, go for it!
alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2014

Versatile, flattering, warm and cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my birthday...didn't really need a dress but it was included in my RTR pro membership so I decided why not?! I wore it on a date with my husband. It can be dressed up or down and is extremely versatile. I decided to pair it with tights and boots for a more casual look but you could easily wear it to a winter holiday party or wedding. I thought it was warm and comfortable -great for a New England winter evening. I was sad to part with it because I could see it becoming a go-to dress in the wintertime. Thanks RTR for a great first experience and bday to remember!
Kelsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Fun dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The sleeves are very tight - but the dress is super stretchy and fit well in the waist, rear.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Apr 14, 2014

The dress was fun. Loved the sleeves!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material was very thick...not clingy... just heavy. Otherwise it was a great LBD.
Nanette
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 64
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

routine

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
the sleeves were extremely tight and I have thin arms
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Blah

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was blah... Don't think it photographed well & the sleeves were super tight compared to the size. I am a yoga instructor so I have some tone to my arms & I was uncomfortable all night long.
Carolyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Beautiful material and gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in a size 2 originally. Unfortunately it did not fit for the event and the next size up was not available for my event. However, I will be ordering this dress again, maybe in the fall but in a bigger size.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 8, 2014

Hot dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Felt so sexy
Carla
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
May 22, 2014

Wore it for a Xmas party and got rave reviews!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: stretchy and not too form fitting in my not so nice areas. Cons: I work out a lot and tend to have bigger arms. The sleeves were a little tight but not unmanageable.
rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

sooo comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress itself was the most comfortable i have rented from rtr. the size 0 fit well in the body, but the arms were way too tight, the buttons were overstretched. I ended up wearing the size 2 and had a great night!!!
ily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Simple and sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Did not have available in size 4, otherwise it would have fit perfectly
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Body of the dress is very flattering.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The body of the dress fits fantastic. I am typically a 4/6 and the 6 wasn't available so I ordered the 4. The 4 fit great and was very flattering on my torso, however be aware that the arms fit very tight. Unusually tight in the arms and the buttons made it very unattractive, like my arms were trying to break free from the buttons. I normally love all dresses Cynthia R, but this one just didn't work for me. Also pretty heavy material, would be better in the fall.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Great dress for a night out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner. I loved the weight of the fabric because it was thick enough to not show any imperfections and it also kept me warm (it was a yucky cold and rainy night). The arms are quite tiny, so I did hesitate to wear it because I felt a bit like a stuff sausage in my arms, but my husband talked me into wearing it and I am glad I did overall, though I did spend a good bit of my evening adjusting the arms so that my arms weren't squishing out! It worked for me, but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Just a classic dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Clean lines no frills
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Not for petite women

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I took a big risk ordering this dress knowing that no one with my body type left a review. Unfortunately, it fit the way I feared it would… but I had to try! For the short, flat, petite women out there… expect the dress to be long and saggy in stomach and back. It's interesting because while every area seemed large, the sleeves were SO tight, so tight that they hurt my arms. My skin was sticking out of the holes. It's a very nice, thick material. It's pretty plain so you can dress it up with jewelry however you want.
Candace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Oct 30, 2014

Awful! Unless you're a stick figure, don't bother trying to squeeze into this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The material is like a wet suit. It's thick and hardly has any stretch to it. The sleeves are so ridiculously small that a childs arm most likely couldn't even fit. It's cute on the model, but I have no clue how she managed to get into the dress. If you really want to try this dress out, go for at least two sizes up!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Simple and Sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a bit of a challenge to get into. It's like putting on a cat suit, and I'll admit I needed help pulling it off. It ran true to size and fit great. The fabric has just enough stretch to be comfy all night long but was right enough to hold everything in the right place. It does tend to sneak up throughout the night and I found myself pulling it down repeatedly to maintain some modesty. It is a very thick fabric, I would recommend for a fall evening or winter event, definitely nothing in the summer. I paired it with a plain black pump and, a black and gold statement necklace. It looked fantastic and is one I would rent again!
Kitty
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Great LBD, but beware of tight sleeves! I received lots of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this to wear to my company holiday party. This dress was simple and has just the right amount of sexy. It is a thicker material so it is perfect for wearing during the fall or winter months. The dress was fitted but not body-hugging tight. I love the button detailing on the sleeves, but like most of the other reviews mentioned - they were too darn tight! My arms are not big but I felt like the buttons were going to bust. The dress looks best with a statement necklace or a long chain necklace.
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Really cool material that was stiff enough to smooth things out.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
As a pear shape, it was a little tight in the hips so I opted for the bigger size. Also because there's so zipper it can be hard to get on. Make sure to do the pillowcase trick if you do your makeup before putting on the dress.
Dre`
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

GREAT dress, will rent again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a business event that was in between business attire and cocktail. It was perfect! Loved the material and it fit snug in all the right places. The sleeves are a little constricting but overall it's such a great fit tha it didn't bother me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×