Cynthia Rowley

Button Me Up Dress

$40 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Dance, dance, dance in this sexy Cynthia Rowley button sleeve dress. Accessorize with House of Harlow's Gold Textured Cut Out Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Long sleeves with button closure cut-outs. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

75 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 52
Large 4
Photos 10
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

I have always loved the option of being able to rent more than one dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4 and a 6 in this dress just in case and when they came in the mail neither fit. It was a gorgeous dress but the material is what made the fit not my normal size!
Kristie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2013

Classy and beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress to wear to a family dinner event during my cousin's wedding weekend. I wanted something that was simple, classic, and a bit conservative. This was definitely the dress. I ordered the 6, which could have fit a bit tighter and looked better. The only reason I stayed with my normal size was due to the arms, which fit but would have looked a bit too tight if I had gone down to the 4. If it weren't for the mismatch between the arm size and the rest of the dress's size, this dress would have received a 5.
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

My favorite RTR dress to date!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this little number. The fit is wonderful. If Spanx had a dress line this would be what it would look and feel like. The dress makes you look super thin and hugs in all the right places.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Apr 4, 2013

Very nice, thick material... great for winter parties.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2013

Great for a daytime/lunch fall or winter event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress had a great fit to it, and the button detailing was a beautiful touch. The body fit perfectly and easily, which I sometimes have trouble with in a sheath/straight style. The arms however, are fitted rather tight. If you're at all afraid of having sausage arm syndrome, consider sizing up.
nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

The ease of renting from RTR is truly indescribable - such a worry-free process!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my very first experience with RTR. I needed to find a long-sleeved dress at the beginning of spring to cover a tattoo on my arm for a work sponsored charity event. I could not find anything in the stores (all spring styles, sleeveless/strapless, etc) so I turned to RTR at the suggestion of a friend who has used the service on many occasions. I picked out this dress and chose the size due to the very helpful customer reviews and photos. It is really nice to see what it looks like on real people. I did get the free back-up size but did not end up needing it. The extra touches that were in the bag upon it's delivery were indeed a surprise and a treat. I loved the sample products and thought that the "fit kit" with Hollywood and accessory tape were such a great complimentary addition that just added to the overall positive experience I had with RTR. The dress was lovely on and I received many compliments that evening. The morning after the event, I just placed both dresses back in the pre-paid UPS envelope and dropped it off at a drop box in my office - could not have been easier! It is also very nice that you get to keep the garment bag - I'm sure that will come in handy for me. I will definitely use RTR again and recommend it to my friends!
Jil
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Compliments and comfort!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I enjoyed both how comfortable this dress was and the number of compliments I received. I was unhappy that the dress was ripped in a few places at the seams, but the backup dress was fine. As expected, RTR made it right by refunding some of the price, so the experience was great.
Kitty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

Comfortable, easy basic knit black dress with a twist.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress had plenty of room through the body (was actually a little baggy through the back), but a touch tight under my arms and through the sleeves. I was on the verge of bulging out of the arm cut outs and I had always considered myself to have thin (even scrawny!) arms. Was more of a 3/4 sleeve on me. It was a basic round neck thicker knit long sleeved black dress, but the cut outs on the sleeves made it interesting. The dress was thick enough to not show any underwear lines, etc.
Joy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Fast delivery and amazing customer service!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Overall, I loved this dress. It runs true to size and the fabric was great because it was so form fitting and I felt "held in" and confident in it. I thought I'd need to wear Spanx but the control top on my nylons ended up being enough. My only complaint about the dress is that I was constantly pulling it down. I'm not sure why but whenever I walked in it, it would hike up my legs. That said, I got sooooo many compliments on it and I would definitely rent it again. I accessorized with the DVF leopard clutch and a gold cuff bracelet, and the whole outfit was perfect! This was my first experience with RTR and I can't wait to do it again. So fun!!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Feb 25, 2013

It was very comfortable and slimming!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was true to size but ran a little small in the arms. However, it shaped my body well and made me feel good all night. I received many compliments on the dress. Very cute!
Whitney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

Unfortunately, I never actually got to wear this out, it was too small :(

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wasn't sure what size would fit so i had guessed and unfortunately it was too small for me once i had actually received it. However when i did try it on, the sleeves on this dress were pretty tight but again i'm sure it would have been perfect if i had gotten the right size.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Feb 19, 2013

Nice blank slate to add accessories

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved how the dress looked online but was left unsatisfied. Mostly, II wasn't thrilled with the fit of this dress. The arms were super tight and yet it was baggie and very loose throughout the body of the dress. It was also past my knee (5'1), which wasn't the look I was going for that night. Still, the dress was cute and fun, but more appropriate for a holiday event or to wear to work than for a night out.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Comfortable and cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Was a little long... I'm only 5'1" so I would usually wear something shorter. But very cute and classy.
Kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Didnt wear dress because it didn't fit.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit really weird. The body fit ok- it was a little loose in the stomach, but it was doable. The arms, however, were extremely tight. I do not have large arms, but the button area still felt like it was really stretched out and made my arms bulge out of the openings. Didn't wear the dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

perfect for many occasions- not sure about dress quality though

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
perfect dress for casual or dressy night out. Looked really nice and wasn't too tight. It was very comfortable. The only downfall was that it seemed like the stitching was coming loose in the sleeves. Also, the size 2 that was sent was missing a button.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Sexy dress, pretty cute for a date

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I got this dress for New Year's Eve - nice dinner and comedy show. The dress is very spandex-y and the fabric is pretty casual. The sleeve cutouts are a cute detail. I'd recommend this for a night out, but nothing more formal than that. The stitching on the sleeves was coming loose which looked a bit cheap.
Margo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 3, 2013

Great dress, easy to throw on during the winter

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is a think knit and runs small, so go up a size. Fun with tights and boots in the winter and the sleeves make it more unique!!
Liliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits perfectly, it is very elegant and made from comfortable thick fabric. It is very tight around the arms. It also has some buttons on the sleeves that I did not like much. Overall a good dress.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

short n simple

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
If you're sporting a rockin' bod - this could very well be the dress for you. The jersey material is thick and would be warm to wear I imagine. It also hugs your curves... in a non-forgiving way. The button detail on the sleeves are fantastic on this minimalist dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Great for a party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress. I usually run between a 4 and 6 but ended up with the 6. There is not a ton of stretch and in some of the photos it looks a bit more A-line then it really is. However, I loved it. It was perfect for my birthday party. Note: the material is very thick!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 20, 2012

Boxy and frumpier than I expected

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I expected this dress to be sleek and sexy, but it just didn't work for my body type (petite, not especially curvy). It just looked super boxy on me- and gaped at my back. It was too large and too boxy- i ended up returning it without wearing it. High quality material and seemed like it would be comfortable- just not the rigt dress for me.
Marla
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 12, 2012

I want to own this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit. Nice thick, quality fabric
JayCee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Sleeves very small - beware

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am 5'7" and 142 lbs. I have an hourglass figure, with large breasts and buttocks. However, my arms are average sized and toned and this dress didn't fit there at all. I even tried the size up (8 - I am usually a 6) and every time my arms were popping out of the slits in the arms like I was a sausage in a too-small casing. This was the most hideous look. If you have ultra-skinny arms, this is the dress for you. The fabric is sturdy and comfortable and it is a well crafted dress. I just had the problem with the arms making it unwearable.
TRA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Like Outer Spanx!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit wonderfully and the fabric is nice and thick so it has an effect similar to Spanx on your body. Who doesn't love that? My only issue with the dress was the length. I am petite and needed it to be a little longer or a little shorter. An awkward length for me. It is a great dress to pull off conservative, sexy.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Not for a Pear

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Did not work on my pear shaped body.
HB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Fun and Easy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Material was thick but it was really fun and easy to wear. I think it would be great in the fall with a pair of pumps. Also, good pick for rehearsal dinner or party.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Weird Fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't actually wear this dress out because it didn't fit my quite right. There was too much fabic in the stomach area for me and it bunched up, so if you have any type of curves on the bottom this may not be the dress for you.
Monika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Sophisticated and Timeless.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit of this dress was awesome! Tight and flattering. The material is comfortable and warm as well. Perfect for fall and winter.
delene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 22, 2012

Button up

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Terrific flattering dress - a little difficult to put on - but once on beautifully accents your figure. Plus it is comfortable!
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 17, 2012

Big arms, beware

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 4 and 6, expecting to wear the 6, but unfortunately the dress arrived with a button missing on the right arm of that size. So, of course, I couldn't wear that and tried on the 4. The body of the size 4 dress fit well (a little better than the 6, actually, as this looks good fitted), but the arms were SO TIGHT it was actually very uncomfortable to bend them at all. I note that because I don't have large/muscular arms. If you have large upper arms and are thinking of renting this to hide your arms and show off your legs -- find another dress! Big arms would have the skin show/push out around the buttons and looked like a tied-up ham or something. It was VERY tight on my 'average/straight' arms...and I wore this dress for 12 hours (all day before an evening event, then on the plane home). I thankfully had other clothes in my carry-on and finally had to change during a layover. I couldn't take it anymore. The length of the dress wasn't TOO short (I'm 5'10"), but I wore stockings (highly recommend). If I had bare legs, I would have been concerned that it was too short and everything was just 'hanging out'. Overall, cute dress. Wish the size 6 had fit. It was a great day-to-evening dress, but the diameter on the arm sizing needs to be looked in to. Even with that open area, the fabric didn't stretch enough to make them comfortable.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

Over the head and tight

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a work even on a weeknight in NYC. It's thicker, unforgiving material, which is fine for some body types, but it's a tight-fitting, over the head dress, which can make hair/makeup a little difficult. It's not easy to find work-appropriate dresses with a long sleeve, so this really worked. Just beware of the over the head, tight fit!
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Looks better on the model

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered this dress as my backup and I was glad it was my backup. The dress was much longer on me than it appears on the model, coming almost to my knees. The arms are pretty tight, so if your arms are muscular I wouldn't recommend this dress. Would be ideal for a conservative affair. The fabric was very thick so it would be great during the winter.
meghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Jan 4, 2012

Great party dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very sexy without showing too much skin. Super slimming and the fabric has a bit of a stretch so it was very comfortable through dinner and dancing on NYE. I would definitely rent this again. Its a great backdrop dress for a beautiful statement necklace as well. I rented the necklace (Dannijo, Gold Celia Knotted Chain Necklace) from the model's picture and it looked stunning!
Grace
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Dec 19, 2011

such a sassy look!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice thicker fabric with great stretch that hugs the body just enough. Received lots of compliments at the company holiday party. There is no zipper or buttons at neckline so you have to be careful when putting dress on. Had to do makeup and finish hair after dressed. I would keep this dress if I went to events regularly.
Jamie
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Apple
Oct 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Fit like a glove, made out of great fabric that is really slimming. I got a size 4 and 6. The 6 fit great, but the 4 was even better because it was a little more fitted. Very easy to accessorize with.Very comfortable and and has some stretch to the fabric. It is somewhat tight (spanx might be needed) , but does the figure justice.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×