Button Me Up Dress

$76 to buy
$360 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Dance, dance, dance in this sexy Cynthia Rowley button sleeve dress. Accessorize with House of Harlow's Gold Textured Cut Out Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Long sleeves with button closure cut-outs. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size56
Small19
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
My favorite RTR dress to date!
I love this little number. The fit is wonderful. If Spanx had a dress line this would be what it would look and feel like. The dress makes you look super thin and hugs in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
April 4, 2013
Very nice, thick material... great for winter parties.
Runs small!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2013
Great for a daytime/lunch fall or winter event
This dress had a great fit to it, and the button detailing was a beautiful touch. The body fit perfectly and easily, which I sometimes have trouble with in a sheath/straight style. The arms however, are fitted rather tight. If you're at all afraid of having sausage arm syndrome, consider sizing up.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 21, 2013
The ease of renting from RTR is truly indescribable - such a worry-free process!
This was my very first experience with RTR. I needed to find a long-sleeved dress at the beginning of spring to cover a tattoo on my arm for a work sponsored charity event. I could not find anything in the stores (all spring styles, sleeveless/strapless, etc) so I turned to RTR at the suggestion of a friend who has used the service on many occasions. I picked out this dress and chose the size due to the very helpful customer reviews and photos. It is really nice to see what it looks like on real people. I did get the free back-up size but did not end up needing it. The extra touches that were in the bag upon it's delivery were indeed a surprise and a treat. I loved the sample products and thought that the "fit kit" with Hollywood and accessory tape were such a great complimentary addition that just added to the overall positive experience I had with RTR. The dress was lovely on and I received many compliments that evening. The morning after the event, I just placed both dresses back in the pre-paid UPS envelope and dropped it off at a drop box in my office - could not have been easier! It is also very nice that you get to keep the garment bag - I'm sure that will come in handy for me. I will definitely use RTR again and recommend it to my friends!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2013
Compliments and comfort!
I enjoyed both how comfortable this dress was and the number of compliments I received. I was unhappy that the dress was ripped in a few places at the seams, but the backup dress was fine. As expected, RTR made it right by refunding some of the price, so the experience was great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2013
Classically beautiful without looking like you are trying!
This dress is perfect for almost any occasion. I especially loved the detail on the sleeves. Makes for a great party dress if you are looking to dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 2, 2013
Comfortable, easy basic knit black dress with a twist.
The dress had plenty of room through the body (was actually a little baggy through the back), but a touch tight under my arms and through the sleeves. I was on the verge of bulging out of the arm cut outs and I had always considered myself to have thin (even scrawny!) arms. Was more of a 3/4 sleeve on me. It was a basic round neck thicker knit long sleeved black dress, but the cut outs on the sleeves made it interesting. The dress was thick enough to not show any underwear lines, etc.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 26, 2013
Fast delivery and amazing customer service!
Overall, I loved this dress. It runs true to size and the fabric was great because it was so form fitting and I felt "held in" and confident in it. I thought I'd need to wear Spanx but the control top on my nylons ended up being enough. My only complaint about the dress is that I was constantly pulling it down. I'm not sure why but whenever I walked in it, it would hike up my legs. That said, I got sooooo many compliments on it and I would definitely rent it again. I accessorized with the DVF leopard clutch and a gold cuff bracelet, and the whole outfit was perfect! This was my first experience with RTR and I can't wait to do it again. So fun!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2013
It was very comfortable and slimming!!
This dress was true to size but ran a little small in the arms. However, it shaped my body well and made me feel good all night. I received many compliments on the dress. Very cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2013
This dress is perfect for a party and can also be worn for a more casual occasion.
The fit was pretty true to size, however, the sleeves were very tight. Although my arms are average the fit was almost uncomfortable. The fabric is thick and hugs the body nicely without showing any bumps and bulges. The length was perfect- not too short and not too long on my 5'3" frame.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 22, 2013
Unfortunately, I never actually got to wear this out, it was too small :(
I wasn't sure what size would fit so i had guessed and unfortunately it was too small for me once i had actually received it. However when i did try it on, the sleeves on this dress were pretty tight but again i'm sure it would have been perfect if i had gotten the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 19, 2013
Nice blank slate to add accessories
I loved how the dress looked online but was left unsatisfied. Mostly, II wasn't thrilled with the fit of this dress. The arms were super tight and yet it was baggie and very loose throughout the body of the dress. It was also past my knee (5'1), which wasn't the look I was going for that night. Still, the dress was cute and fun, but more appropriate for a holiday event or to wear to work than for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2013
Comfortable and cute!
Was a little long... I'm only 5'1" so I would usually wear something shorter. But very cute and classy.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 28, 2013
Didnt wear dress because it didn't fit.
This dress fit really weird. The body fit ok- it was a little loose in the stomach, but it was doable. The arms, however, were extremely tight. I do not have large arms, but the button area still felt like it was really stretched out and made my arms bulge out of the openings. Didn't wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
perfect for many occasions- not sure about dress quality though
perfect dress for casual or dressy night out. Looked really nice and wasn't too tight. It was very comfortable. The only downfall was that it seemed like the stitching was coming loose in the sleeves. Also, the size 2 that was sent was missing a button.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2013
Sexy dress, pretty cute for a date
I got this dress for New Year's Eve - nice dinner and comedy show. The dress is very spandex-y and the fabric is pretty casual. The sleeve cutouts are a cute detail. I'd recommend this for a night out, but nothing more formal than that. The stitching on the sleeves was coming loose which looked a bit cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 3, 2013
Great dress, easy to throw on during the winter
The dress is a think knit and runs small, so go up a size. Fun with tights and boots in the winter and the sleeves make it more unique!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2012
Very confortable dress!!
The fabric is super thick, like a weatsuit so it is perfect for winter parties.
eftalyaJanuary 5, 2013
Love they way you styled the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2012
Lots of compliments
It fits perfectly, it is very elegant and made from comfortable thick fabric. It is very tight around the arms. It also has some buttons on the sleeves that I did not like much. Overall a good dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 29, 2012
short n simple
If you're sporting a rockin' bod - this could very well be the dress for you. The jersey material is thick and would be warm to wear I imagine. It also hugs your curves... in a non-forgiving way. The button detail on the sleeves are fantastic on this minimalist dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 27, 2012
Great for a party.
This is a great dress. I usually run between a 4 and 6 but ended up with the 6. There is not a ton of stretch and in some of the photos it looks a bit more A-line then it really is. However, I loved it. It was perfect for my birthday party. Note: the material is very thick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 20, 2012
Boxy and frumpier than I expected
I expected this dress to be sleek and sexy, but it just didn't work for my body type (petite, not especially curvy). It just looked super boxy on me- and gaped at my back. It was too large and too boxy- i ended up returning it without wearing it. High quality material and seemed like it would be comfortable- just not the rigt dress for me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2012
I want to own this dress
Perfect fit. Nice thick, quality fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 12, 2012
Sleeves very small - beware
I am 5'7" and 142 lbs. I have an hourglass figure, with large breasts and buttocks. However, my arms are average sized and toned and this dress didn't fit there at all. I even tried the size up (8 - I am usually a 6) and every time my arms were popping out of the slits in the arms like I was a sausage in a too-small casing. This was the most hideous look. If you have ultra-skinny arms, this is the dress for you. The fabric is sturdy and comfortable and it is a well crafted dress. I just had the problem with the arms making it unwearable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2012
I was lucky to wear this dress to a lunch with Brooke Brown, RTR's Director of Product Management!
I love the playful buttons on the arms. I received many compliments during my classes. It was a very flattering dress length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2012
Like Outer Spanx!
The dress fit wonderfully and the fabric is nice and thick so it has an effect similar to Spanx on your body. Who doesn't love that? My only issue with the dress was the length. I am petite and needed it to be a little longer or a little shorter. An awkward length for me. It is a great dress to pull off conservative, sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 28, 2012
Not for a Pear
Did not work on my pear shaped body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Fun and Easy!
Material was thick but it was really fun and easy to wear. I think it would be great in the fall with a pair of pumps. Also, good pick for rehearsal dinner or party.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
Loved the simplicity of this dress with the small detail of the buttoned sleeves!
The dress was super comfy but the material is rather thick. I rented it for a wedding rehearsal dinner in California and was expecting the weather to be a little cooler than it was. Because of the thickness, it was rather toasty but still loved it! Being 5' 4", I wished it was a little bit shorter on be. I feel my arms are rather small, but the sleeves were a little tight. Just something to consider.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Last minute replacement
I didn't get my Kate Spade and the dress they sent instead wasn't my style, so this was a rush replacement. Actually love the style, but the fabric was very thick for such a mild evening. Having said that, I felt great in the dress and received many compliments. This was my first RTR experience...it was a bit stressful, but customer service was wonderful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Weird Fit
I didn't actually wear this dress out because it didn't fit my quite right. There was too much fabic in the stomach area for me and it bunched up, so if you have any type of curves on the bottom this may not be the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
September 19, 2012
Sophisticated and Timeless.
The fit of this dress was awesome! Tight and flattering. The material is comfortable and warm as well. Perfect for fall and winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 22, 2012
Button up
Terrific flattering dress - a little difficult to put on - but once on beautifully accents your figure. Plus it is comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2012
Big arms, beware
I ordered the 4 and 6, expecting to wear the 6, but unfortunately the dress arrived with a button missing on the right arm of that size. So, of course, I couldn't wear that and tried on the 4. The body of the size 4 dress fit well (a little better than the 6, actually, as this looks good fitted), but the arms were SO TIGHT it was actually very uncomfortable to bend them at all. I note that because I don't have large/muscular arms. If you have large upper arms and are thinking of renting this to hide your arms and show off your legs -- find another dress! Big arms would have the skin show/push out around the buttons and looked like a tied-up ham or something. It was VERY tight on my 'average/straight' arms...and I wore this dress for 12 hours (all day before an evening event, then on the plane home). I thankfully had other clothes in my carry-on and finally had to change during a layover. I couldn't take it anymore. The length of the dress wasn't TOO short (I'm 5'10"), but I wore stockings (highly recommend). If I had bare legs, I would have been concerned that it was too short and everything was just 'hanging out'. Overall, cute dress. Wish the size 6 had fit. It was a great day-to-evening dress, but the diameter on the arm sizing needs to be looked in to. Even with that open area, the fabric didn't stretch enough to make them comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 14, 2012
Felt beautiful and comfortable all night!
I wore this dress for my friend's 22nd birthday celebration and felt beautiful all night! The material is a tad thick yet stretchy which proved to be very, very comfortable. I received many compliments and would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 13, 2012
Over the head and tight
I wore this for a work even on a weeknight in NYC. It's thicker, unforgiving material, which is fine for some body types, but it's a tight-fitting, over the head dress, which can make hair/makeup a little difficult. It's not easy to find work-appropriate dresses with a long sleeve, so this really worked. Just beware of the over the head, tight fit!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 5, 2012
Looks better on the model
I ordered this dress as my backup and I was glad it was my backup. The dress was much longer on me than it appears on the model, coming almost to my knees. The arms are pretty tight, so if your arms are muscular I wouldn't recommend this dress. Would be ideal for a conservative affair. The fabric was very thick so it would be great during the winter.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
January 4, 2012
Great party dress
This dress is very sexy without showing too much skin. Super slimming and the fabric has a bit of a stretch so it was very comfortable through dinner and dancing on NYE. I would definitely rent this again. Its a great backdrop dress for a beautiful statement necklace as well. I rented the necklace (Dannijo, Gold Celia Knotted Chain Necklace) from the model's picture and it looked stunning!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 19, 2011
such a sassy look!
Nice thicker fabric with great stretch that hugs the body just enough. Received lots of compliments at the company holiday party. There is no zipper or buttons at neckline so you have to be careful when putting dress on. Had to do makeup and finish hair after dressed. I would keep this dress if I went to events regularly.
AlexandraDecember 20, 2011
Hi Grace, I'm a bit taller than you are but have the same bust size and have hips.. did you find the dress pulled in any area? I'm debating what size to order.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Just a great dress, easy to wear and I felt great...
This dress was just amazing. I wore it to a work event, it looked great, fit well and was easy to move in. I would rent it again; it is perfect for the northeast where we need something just a little warmer for these winter events!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×