Marine Draped Dress

$30 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage at your next party in this perfectly draped dress from Cut 25! Head out to the club with your girlfriends looking fab. Go with a showstopping necklace like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Necklace and Kenneth Jay Lane's Opal Destiny Ring.

Also available in orange and green.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to partially exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - dress is very loose fitting at mid-section
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed portion of back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet can not be worn with a strapless bra due to partially exposed back
WAIST: Not fitted - dress is very loose fitting at mid-section
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed portion of back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Marine matte jersey(100% rayon). One shoulder neckline. Draped bodice. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(65)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
September 1, 2012
Loved it!
Great color, it does run big, I normally wear a 10 to 12 and after reading the reviews went with the 10 and 8. Ended up wearing the 8, got nice complements and at the end of the night, even had one person in the restroom say (as I was putting on lip gloss and blotting my face) "it's the end of the night and you still look great" was floored!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 4, 2012
love the dress
great dress, ran large!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
September 7, 2012
I got so many compliments with this dress and my boyfriend loved it
This dress is flattering for all shapes. I did have to use one of those stick on bras but that was it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 15, 2012
I felt like a movie star dressed as a Greek Goddess
This dress was a perfect choice for a night out on the town in Chicago for my best friend's bachelorette party. The dress fit pretty much true to size (maybe a bit big) and was comfortable and light-weight. Be sure to purchase a low-back bra extender or else your strapless will stick out (or a backless bra or go without). I got tons of compliments and felt great in this awesome dress. I loved the color and loved the draping. I wish I owned this awesome dress! I paired with some awesome turquoise Kendra Scott earrings I own, a sparkly blue bangle from Peep-toe Shoes (borrowed from my Aussie BFF), a pink pashmina, and nude stilettos and it looked great. Enjoy this dress. You will get tons of compliments!
DianaSeptember 30, 2012
Hi...I'm thinking of renting the Cut 25 blue Marine Draped Dress you rented. I am also 5' 8' and I'm concerned about the lenght. I'm going to wear it to a wedding so I want to make sure it isn't too short. All the pictues and heights have me a little concerned ..I'm hoping it hits about 2-3 inches above the knee..how was it on you...I can't tell from the picture.
MichelleSeptember 30, 2012
Hi Diana. I ordered the dress in both a 4 and 6 and ultimately ended up wearing the four because the six looked a bit frumpy and baggy but was longer. It is probably slightly shorter than 2-3 inches above the knee but in my opinion it still looked classy enough to wear to a wedding because it is not super tight. I considered ordering it again for my year-end awards banquet for work which is also quite conservative and for a wedding the other weekend. I got a million compliments on the dress and it was SOOoooo comfortable. This is seriously my favorite dress I have rented from RTR. Wish I owned it. Just make sure to get one of those bra extenders so your bra doesn't show and you will be set.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
September 16, 2012
Nice color
I got it a little big so it was falling off by my boob area, but my boyfriend didn't mind keeping an eye out. Overall, it was great and I can't wait to rent another dress from here again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2012
So chic!
Not my favorite! I feel like this look only works for certain body types and it didn't for mine! I would wear this to something where I was looking for fashion over complimentary to my figure.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2012
Dress was a hit!
I loved this dress! I have a severe pear shaped body so I was a little nervous about ordering something without being able to try it on first. This dress worked out so perfectly though! The 10 fit well. A little short and a little snug around my hips, but the 12 was too big because I'm not busty at all. Since I wore this for a night out in Atlantic City, I went with the 10. I received so many compliments on the dress, and best of all I felt comfortable in it because it wasn't clingy or restricting. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 15, 2012
Super cute, but tough for dancing
I got so many compliments on this dress - it looked great on! However, it doesn't have any support at all - it is very, very lose, which allows for the beautiful drape, but I am a D-cup and just needed a little something in there so I could dance! Something to consider if you have a larger bust.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2012
Having an amazing time and feeling beautiful!
This dress is a lot of fun! Overall, it definitely runs large, but the difference in sizes seems small. I wore the 2 but definitely could have worn the 0. It was the perfect length and was fun to dance the night away in! The back does dip a bit low so I wore a NuBra and it worked perfectly! A great, easy to dress up or down, go-to dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 19, 2012
Felt like a Greek Goddess
Wore this to a charity gala over the summer. Very short. I rented the 2 and the 4. The 2 fit well, but was obscenely short so had to wear the 4. Still felt amazing and got lots of compliments all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 25, 2012
SUPER comfortable. Great color. Great dress.
This dress fit great...I wore the smaller size. It was SUPER comfortable. Based on other reviews I got the Braza applique's but ended up not needing any bra support at all - I wore it without anything. It was a little on the short side for my comfort level...I felt like I needed to keep pulling it down. It hung about 5" above the top of my knee...standing up it was fine but it really rode up when I sat down and was just a little short for my comfort level but not inappropriate for the event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
November 4, 2012
Got a lot of compliments about the dress!
Runs large, go a size smaller... Great to wear with gold, silver or cobalt accessories. The color is great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
Great color - forgiving fit
The dress definitely runs large - I rented both the 2 and the 4 given other reviews that the dress runs large, and ended up wearing the 2. The 4 fit, but the side of the top was a little bit droopier and I didn't want to be concerned about a wardrobe malfunction if double-stick tape failed. The dress is most likely made for ladies that do not have a protruding posterior - the draping in the back connected to the bottom of the back of the dress can lead to a little bit of a "tent" feel...and I definitely felt like the dress would become briefly "too short" in the back if I raised my arms or while dancing. Overall - a forgiving style, great color and a fun dress...perhaps not to permanently own, but definitely to rent :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
LOVED this dress, so pretty & comfortable!
I ordered a 4 and a 6 having read other reviews, and I wore the 4, this dress definitely runs big but I loved it and it was flattering! Would definitely recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 16, 2012
This dress is a stunning, vibrant blue!!
This dress runs a little large (as corroborated by other reviews). It has a stunning color and flattering fit. My only complaints were that it rode up a little when I was walking, and it made my boobs look huge with the bra I was wearing. That said, I didn't have any problems with it falling down, and was overall very satisfied. Also, very pleased with the RTR system - thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Classy in Vegas
Rented this for a dinner in Vegas - the dress runs a bit large, but I thought it was great overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2012
pretty color-not for my body
This dress is a pretty blue hue, but the soft, yet heavy, blue jersey material hung much too drape-like for me. I am pretty narrow throughout my mid section, lacking larger hips or a booty, so the dress itself just swallowed me up. If you are thinking of renting, I would considered getting a size, or even two sizes smaller than you usually would.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
December 10, 2012
Love the look!
I recieved this dress stress free! LOVE Rent the Runway! I ordered this in a 4 and 2, both ended up being to big on me, so I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
this is an amazing dress - the color and cut are really beautifully done. But...
I had to use quite a bit of double-sided fashion tape to wear this dress. The draping is really nice and it makes the dress, but at the same time it makes for a lot of extra fabric, and this fabric is surprisingly heavy. There was generally one part of the hem that was always going to be longer than the rest of the hem because the fabric is heavy enough that it is getting stretched out with wear. I still loved it, though! I would def order this dress again, or try another Cut 25 dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 20, 2012
Everyone kept telling me that I looked stunning!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I got the 10 and the 12 to make sure I found the right fit. The 12 was WAY too big, though the length was good. The 10 fit perfectly, but it was a bit on the short side. Nothing inappropriate, though. I also have pretty long legs so that could be why. I got this dress because I just had a baby less than a year ago and I'm not exactly at my pre-pregnancy size quite yet, but this style was very forgiving. It hid my little belly and really showed off my arms quite well. I love the color, too! Overall, it was the perfect dress for the occasion and I got so many compliments on it. I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 24, 2012
In love!!!!
I loved the dress!!! Really nice on me and beautiful with my skin color.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2013
The rental process was easy, and the dress was comfortable and sexy! Lots of compliments!
Overall, this dress is so comfortable, and the draping is very flattering and forgiving. It definitely runs large. I am usually a 6, but I ended up wearing the 4. Another key issue was that I had to use quite a bit of fashion tape to keep the dress in place so that my bra didn't show. But all of that being said, the color is exquisite, and I felt very sexy. Got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 18, 2012
Fabulous Dress
I wore this for a National Sales meeting and received so many compliments...its fun yet classy. The color is amazing too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2012
The most comfortable dress I've ever worn.
This dress was great, but def ran big. I normally wear a 4, but went with the 2. Probably could have done the 0. Great color with blonde hair! Looks fabulous in pictures!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 9, 2012
Beautiful draping
This dress was very comfortable and the dramatic draping was beautiful. The color made it a real knock out. It's definitely a bit loose fitting though - potentially good for someone looking to hide problem areas in the midsection or butt. I wore the size 2 even though I usually wear a 4. It required a bit of fashion tape in order to wear a strapless bra with it. I wore it with the Lee Angel Solange gold earrings, which worked wonderfully!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
February 21, 2012
Love it!
Great color and flattering fit! Received lots of compliments.It does run large, so order a size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
February 24, 2012
Lots of compliments
Definitely stood out with the beautiful color. Dress fit was very comfortable, though it definitely runs large. Was able to wear a convertable bra, though the back does cut lower than you would think. Looked great on, and I got lots of compliments, but in some pictures the draping in the front was not very figure flatter as this really wasnt a fitted dress. Took a little adjusting too because the draping made the one hem seem longer, but once I got it set I had no problems with it shifting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
March 6, 2012
Awesome Dress!
I loved this dress and decided to rent it for a ladies night out. I was hoping that it would fit as some of the reviews noted that it generally ran large in size. The fit is great overall, but the draping of the dress can be weird if not worn correctly. Also, it's best to wear a low back strapless or no bra if you can. I didn't have either and tried to use Hollywood tape to keep the dress up above my strapless bra, but it didn't work very well. Found myself pulling the dress up on the sides/back during the night which can be annoying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
March 6, 2012
Awesome Dress!
I loved this dress and decided to rent it for a ladies night out. I was hoping that it would fit as some of the reviews noted that it generally ran large in size. The fit is great overall, but the draping of the dress can be weird if not worn correctly. Also, it's best to wear a low back strapless or no bra if you can. I didn't have either and tried to use Hollywood tape to keep the dress up above my strapless bra, but it didn't work very well. Found myself pulling the dress up on the sides/back during the night which can be annoying.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 18, 2012
Vegas Party Dress
Great color, comfortable fit, perfect dress for dancing the night away without being uncomfortable with a tight fitting clingy dress. Fashionable look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
March 25, 2012
Got lots of compliments on this "smoking hot" dress!
This dress is beautiful and comfortable. Stunning color! I received so many compliments on this dress..."smoking hot"! This dress definitely runs large as other reviewers said, so I am glad I ordered a size down from my normal size. I still needed some double stick tape on the sleeveless side. If you rent this, you should also look into a backless, strapless bra as it dips very low down in the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2012
Beautiful Dress,Great Company!
I rented this dress for my anniversary and I was pleasantly surprised. It looked brand new, and was great quality. Unfortunately/fortunately I lost some weight and the dresses I ordered were too big. The customer service I experienced when coordinating my returns was just amazing. I'll definitely be renting again. Love this company!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 8, 2012
Real Review for Real Bodies
This dress is super short in the back for curvy ladies. Although quite sexy in a bold color, it is not easy to wear. Extremely low back making it hard to wear a normal strapless bra and dress can ride up in the rear. It's perfect if your looking to hide any love handles. Attention getter at it's best, but come with sheer confidence and a great set of legs!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 9, 2012
Pretty color
Not the most flattering dress I have rented. this dress is better for smaller busted ladies. I had to wear a bra and tape the dress. But it still worked and I got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2012
my first time using RTR and arrived on time! It felt great knowing that I did not have to spend a fortune buying a dress that I would only wear once! (Damn these social networks make it impossible to do so!)
Rented this out for my birthday. The draping can get a little confusing and make the hem look lopsided if not adjusted correctly. I am normally a size 4-6 but I feel like I couldve worn a size 2. Love the colors and was extremely comfortable in the dress.This dress would be ideal for someone trying to hide their midsection and/or does not like to wear dresses that are too form fitting.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 30, 2012
Gorgeous dress
My sister wore this dress for her rehearsal dinner. It was beautiful and has an excellent fit. The color is spectacular! Great dress
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2012
It was fast, easy, and completely pain free! RTR made this experience even more exciting. I will definitely order again!
I wore this to a formal on a sailboat. I belted the dress to give it a little more shape, and it looked great! I loved how the dress draped low in the back, it added the perfect touch of sexyness. I think it would be very hard to wear this with a regular bra, so you would need to invest in the sticky bra option. I am normally a 0, ordered the size 2 because of the previous reviews. The jersey material was very flattering, lightweight and easy to wear! The blue cobalt color is very true to the pictures and looks great with gold accessories. Looks best with hair up, to show off the draping and pretty back. I normally hate bubble hems, but this one was pretty inconspicuous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2012
Rehearsal dinner with all my college girl friends!
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved it. Great if you like a one-shoulder cut and fab color.
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
June 12, 2012
This dress makes you feel like a million bucks!
I usually wear a size 10 or 12 (I have decent sized hips, and I'm a 36D so room in the top is a big deal). I ended up wearing the size 12, although I could have worn either. Like someone else mentioned it is impossible to wear a normal, or even low back (like the Victoria Secret type) with this dress. Especially if you're well endowed up top! I ended up having to purchase a stick on bra from VS, and I had a little extra support from some duct tape! I got SO many compliments on this dress, and the color in person in even more stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
June 18, 2012
Loved it! Got 3 compliments from 3 different strangers with one telling my fiance how lucky he is!
Loved the dress and got tons of compliments on it. I wore it to my engagement party with gold accent jewelry and gold peep toe pumps. I was super happy with my choice! It does run big so order a size smaller.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×