Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 13, 2014
It was a New Years wedding so perfect for the occasion!
More fitted than expected but very flattering on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
I received so many compliments on how flattering this dress was! How could I really choose one over another!
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
My favorite little black dress
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 19, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
Loved this dress. Looked so beautiful. I should have got a 0.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2012
Looked nice, but the material was very flimsy
I ordered this dress to wear at a good friend's wedding. I was still in between sizes after having a baby and I was desparate for something sexy and fun to make me feel my age. The dress was a little bit big, but I managed to make it work.This dress looked really cute in the picture,but when I got it I was so disapointed with the material. It was super flimsy. This was my back up dress, and I'm glad I had it b/c the other dress I ordered fit oddly. However, I probably would recommend trying to find something thats a little sturdier. I had allover shapewear that I could wear under it, but if I didn't I would have been in big trouble. It was so shear that I'm sure you could have seen right through it otherwise. All in all a very cute dress that runs a little large and is a bit shearer than expected.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
February 1, 2011
A friend of mine warned me this dress runs small - and I concur! Definitely order one size higher than normal, if not you'll look cheap in this otherwise fun and lovely dress. Material is a little lighter than I was expecting, but the rouching hides all of your 'flaws'. Getting the shoulder to sit in the right place took a little extra effort, but once I had it arranged properly it looked fab. I give it a 3.5 - pretty and fun, but I wasn't in love as I have been before with RTR.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2011
Past rentals of Catherine Malandrino have fit me at a size 4. This 4 fit well, just more snugly than it is pictured. It is beautiful and I felt fabulous in it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 2, 2011
Really wanted to love this dress but couldn't! I usually wear 0 or 2 so rented both sizes only to find both were about 2 inches shorter than it appears on the model which had me looking more '80s than elegant.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2011
Ordered this as a backup and LOVED it! I will definitely rent it again, so I can actually have the opportunity to wear it. Very comfortable and flattering, but I did rent a size up from usual. A bit too short on the smaller size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 19, 2011
LOVED this dress! Usually I wear a 4 or 6 in dresses but after reading reviews I ordered the 6 and 8. The 6 was a little too snug so I ended up wearing the 8. Great length and very flattering, will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2011
This is a pretty dress, although all of the ruffling and ruching was not nearly as dramatic as it appears on the model. On me it looked like your average (although very nice) little black dress. For narrow body types you might wear your usual size, but for hourglass shapes I recommend sizing up. I am almost always a 4 (and sometimes a 2) in dresses, and I ended up wearing a 6 in this style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2011
Definitely go a size up
I usually wear a 2 or 4, but the 4 was much more flattering and the hem hit at the knee. The 2 fit around my body but the hem was a little bit hoochie. Glad I ordered a size up instead of a size down, just in case. Got a few compliments and felt very elegant all night. Loved the curve enhancing ruffle.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Body type: Petite
July 27, 2011
Beautiful dress, runs a little small, very tight, I recommend a larger size. Received a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2012
My husband loved the dress so much, he asked if there was an option to buy.
This was my first rental and I was nervous, but very pleasantly surprised with how well the dress fit and how positive the entire experience was. This dress was beautiful and sexy and fit like a glove... my husband asked if there was an option to buy :) I am short (5'2") and curvy, and wear b/t an 8-10. After reading the very helpful reviews I ordered a 10 and 12 in this dress, and the 12 fit perfectly. The bottom hit about 2 inches above my knee so I was able to still wear spanx. Spent under $100 and felt like a million bucks! Would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2012
Love love love this dress!
I had a black-tie event (awards dinner) and this dress was perfect. I felt like a million bucks in it. It fit like a dream and was also super comfy. Gorgeous!! The ruching is fabulous and all the details are just so great. I paired it with red heels, like the model, and hair up, to show off the one-shoulder thing. I also chose the "suprise me" styling, which was a good choice. The earrings RtR sent me were fab. I had lots of compliments that night but who cares...I felt fabulous and that's what really matters.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2012
Amazing take on the LBD
I rented this for my birthday dinner at a formal restaurant. Absolutely. Loved. It. It was so incredibly flattering, and sexy while still being classy. My boyfriend loved it, and he doesn't usually like ruffles. The off the shoulder ruffle detail thing is beautiful and lay perfectly...and it makes it a very unique LBD. I'd say this dress is pretty true to size, but might run a tiny bit small. So if you are between sizes, pick the larger size (I'm normally between a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6). I love this dress so much that I recently searched for it at a RTR sample sale...no luck though :( Anyways, definitely rent this dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
I always love wearing something I'm almost positive no one else will be!
This dress is fully forgiving. And it photographs even better than it looks in person. The neckline is classy and the ruching is perfect to hide flaws. I usually wear a 2 but it was too short. The 4 ended up being perfect though. I don't wear earrings but a statement pair would look great! I chose a large bracelet. A huge cocktail ring also would have been great. Shoes are a little tricky with this dress. Something strappy or nude works best. Platforms and shoes that have prints can make this dress feel a little bit 80's
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Great dress
I wore this to a holiday party at the four seasons. So chic and beautiful - a unique dress. Runs small and short and is slightly see thru but a beautiful dress ! Order a size up. Also I couldn't wear a bra with this but the chest was form fitting and held my boobs up! I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I can wear both and I wore the bigger size solely for the length!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 13, 2012
I wore this for my sisters rehearsal dinner and got compliments on my great dress throughout night !
The fit was true to size, but a bit slim.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 27, 2012
Beautiful dress, i got lots of complements at the wedding and very comfortable to wear.
A little tight but flexible, very sexy and no need to use collar , just some bold earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2013
Beautiful!
The dress wasn't in great condition... was uncomfortable too. Maybe I could have used a bigger size. It ran a little small. Didn't wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2013
My first rental and can't wait for the next one. What a service!
Slightly sheer and definitely short. I ended up wearing opaque black tights with it, to make it less hoochy. Definitely a fun party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2014
Looked gorgeous on the model, not so much in person!
I was expecting a bit more class from this dress when I rented it for a semi-formal outdoor evening summer party... not so much. It looks great on the model but it was pretty much see-through when I put it on. I was a smaller 2 at the time I ordered and it fit me like a glove – a very inappropriate glove. The ruching from the side to front is a bit more obvious in person and you'd really need a specific body type to pull it off I think. If you have a slip to wear under this and are more of a straight and narrow girl, you could definitely rock it, but for anyone with a bigger bust or hips, you'd need to a) size up and b) be attending an event were you can be a bit risque. That being said, it could be something really sassy for a night out in Vegas or something!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2012
LOVED this dress
This dress was beautiful! So unique and pretty. Normally wear a size 8 but only the 10 was available, but it was actually a perfect fit. Only con I can say about the dress is the material was very thin and I was pretty nervous about ripping it or catching it on something. Otherwise it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2010
I found this dress quality to be poor. It was very thin and you could see through it. I was fortunate that I rented a second dress which I wore instead. I am typically a 4 or sometimes a 6 in dresses. The 6 in this dress was ok, again the fabric seemed flimsy, but I wore the 4 in the other dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 149lbs
December 6, 2010
It was a nice dress but I thought that the size 6 I had was much smaller than expected. I can only assume that it has shrunk from frequent dry cleaning. The shoulder strap wouldn't stay off the shoulder (it kept riding up) and even though I'm much shorter than the model, the dress fit like a mini. May be it's time to retire that particular size or get a new sample.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2011
I felt like a million dollars in this dress. It hugs you in the right places and the ruching hides any undesirables. Best quote of the evening, "I don't think you're allowed to look more beautiful than the bride on her wedding day."
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 31, 2011
Although I am a fan of Catherine Malindrino I was very disapointed in this dress. I ordered it for a fall wedding. When the dress arrived although it says it is silk it felt more like a thin polyester. I put it on and it seemed more like a club dress skin tight and hitting mid thigh. I am usually a 0 or 2 and most of the reviews say true to size. Perhaps I should have went a size up to make it look more like the model on the left. If you are very curvy perhaps chat with a stylist before you rent to make sure it will fit. Had to return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
Super sexy
This was too sexy for me to wear to the particular wedding I rented it for but I loved it! Fit beautifully and snug. My only complaint would be that it fit so snug around my legs that it wouldn't have been comfortable for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 2, 2013
Once again arrived on time!
I am 5'9 and wore this with 4 inch heels. It was very short on me with the heels on!!! I also found the size 10 to be very tight in the hips. I had to go up a size to 12, and then the strap was too big and kept falling down. Gorgeous dress, but I did some creative pinning to keep it in place.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 19, 2010
I'm usually between a 0 and a 2 and i found that the 2 was just a bit of a better fit. this dress is gorgeous..i felt fantastic in it and received a ton of compliments. i may event rent again....
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2010
Gorgeous and stunning! Saw an announcer on E! wearing it and I had to try it. The picture doesn't do it justice- rent this if you want to be noticed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2010
Be ready to turn heads when you wear this dress!! I wore it to the symphony, and it turned heads and garnered complements ALL NIGHT! (from both the younger and the more mature patrons!) It does fit snugly, and I am glad I got the option for the second size up. I usually wear a zero, but the two hugged just right. Be aware, the hem doesn't stretch at all. Overall, fantastic dress, and pictures don't do it justice- definitely a dress I will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 7, 2010
A friend liked it so much, she rented it too!
I wore this dress to an evening wedding, and it was a huge hit! It was so glamorous, and fit great. I had dozens of compliments. It wears slightly different than pictured however.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 30, 2010
This picture doesn't do the dress justice. I absolutely loved this dress and would rent it again. It looked stunning and was very high quality.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2010
This dress is beyond gorgeous. I was hesitant to rent it because I was concerned that the ruffles would make my figure look larger from the side/front, but that wasn't the case. Absolutely stunning.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 16, 2010
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and got tons of compliments and several asking where I got it. I told them, but not sure if I want everyone to know about this hidden gem! The 2 fit me perfect, which is my usual size. I think it looks too big on the model in the picture and the dress hit me about 3-4 inches above my knee(I'm 5'5"). Also the dress is not lined and very sheer, but you could not see any under garments. Would love to own it or rent it again! It's beautiful and very figure flattering. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2011
Felt like a million bucks.
This was my first dress with Rent the Runway. I originally decided on the Black Halo jacket dress for my body type but due to the snowstorm that hit the east before New Years, lots of dresses became unavailable at the last minute. Even still, Camille of Rent the Runway was a doll with fulfilling my request for this dress and said it would flatter my curves. She was right. This was a sexy dress my boyfriend loved. Please note that it looks, essentially, nothing like it does on the model (maybe because she is 85 pounds soaking wet). It is very form fitting with far less ruching and the ruffles hit more to the side than the center. Like other reviewers said, the hem does not stretch and if you are wary it might be tight, size up, because it has slight stretch, but is less forgiving in the rib cage. Overall, a great choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2011
This was my first RTR experience and I must say, everything went really well from the arrival of my dress to the compliments I received all night long! This dress held its own against all the long dresses at the black tie event I attended.
Smoking hot dress! I wore it for New Years Eve to a black tie optional party in NYC and it was a hit! My boyfriend wants to go buy the dress because he loved it so much. It hugged my body like a glove and accentuated my bottom area. The material is a little thinner than I thought and doesn't stretch much so it's hard to take big strides. Also, the dress is shorter on me than the picture shown. The picture doesn't do the dress justice! Love Love Love! Rent it now!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2011
Perfect tango dress!
Great dress! First, on the fit: I am saying this runs true to size because it probably does for most people- I am just all over the place with dress sizes. I am 5'10", 135 lbs. I ordered a 6 and a 4, and preferred to squeeze my 37" hips into the 4 vs. having the 6 be a bit baggy around my 30C bust. Like other renters, I got a TON of compliments throughout the night and always felt sexy. The material is pretty thin (I wore a black strapless under it), but the dress is easy to move around in, and never feels like you're suddenly going to be flashing people. I even managed to tango in it!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×