Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
September 14, 2012
Fun party dress.
True to size; except the shoulder strap slipped a bit. Cute and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Pretty but flimsy
This dress looks very pretty, but the material is thin, so be sure to wear something under it. Very flattering tho and gets lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
September 20, 2012
gorgeous dress
perfect fit! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 22, 2012
Nice dress!
This dress is very pretty. I loved how nice it looked on me. I ended up not wearring it because my bf loved my back up dress better on me for the wedding we were attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 23, 2012
Basic, comfortable and wedding appropriate.
It fit very well. The ruffled strap can be adjusted up or down which is a nice function. I would rent again when in a pinch. It was slightly longer than I'd prefer but overall a solid choice for formal wear.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 24, 2012
I just adore this dress. If only I could make it my go to LBD!
The construction of this dress gave my 5'0'' petite frame the curves I've always wanted! The hem hit me just above the knee, which I loved and the one shoulder design made this a fun and unique LBD. I couldn't have asked for a better dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect Bachelorette Dress!
Had the best night on the town in this dress! It is so fun and is an awesome twist on the LBD! LOVE!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
Loved the light, comfortable material!
I really liked how the dress would conform to my size, showing off the good and hiding the bad. Wore it to a formal date party with my boyfriend. Everyone was amazed when they saw me. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2012
Didn't end up wearing this
It's a little too risque for a wedding, particularly one in a church and probably for a lot of more formal black tie events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Very pretty dress - a little sheer, though.
This dress was very sexy. It was shorter than I expected and I was wearing it to a wedding so I was a little nervous at first but...it turned out to be a hit! I did have to strategically place my purse in front of my dress since it was very sheer but by evening, all was good and I felt great in this beautiful dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 13, 2012
I wore this for my sisters rehearsal dinner and got compliments on my great dress throughout night !
The fit was true to size, but a bit slim.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2012
The dress fit perfectly and is so stylish.
I've rented this dress twice now for weddings and have gotten tons of compliments. The fit is fantastic and while it's black, the ruffle makes the dress visually interesting. The material is thin enough that I've felt more comfortable wearing spanx underneath, but you could go either way.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
This dress was more upscale than many of the ones that the wedding guests wore.
I felt that I had the 2nd best dress in the room. The bride was #1 of course. I should have used the adhesive that was included because the rufffles rolled in the wrong direction all night, but I still felt sexy and beautiful. My dress was sent to the hotel due to time constraints and it worked out perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
I did love the dress but it came with a hole in it!
The hole was stitched up poorly and never should have been sent to me. It's great dress but I think a little cheaply made. I got compliments though.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2012
Looked nice, but the material was very flimsy
I ordered this dress to wear at a good friend's wedding. I was still in between sizes after having a baby and I was desparate for something sexy and fun to make me feel my age. The dress was a little bit big, but I managed to make it work.This dress looked really cute in the picture,but when I got it I was so disapointed with the material. It was super flimsy. This was my back up dress, and I'm glad I had it b/c the other dress I ordered fit oddly. However, I probably would recommend trying to find something thats a little sturdier. I had allover shapewear that I could wear under it, but if I didn't I would have been in big trouble. It was so shear that I'm sure you could have seen right through it otherwise. All in all a very cute dress that runs a little large and is a bit shearer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
So sexy!
I really loved this dress... but it was damaged / worn from previous use, so I wore something else. But wow, it was lovely. I really like this designer... and bonus, I could wear a regular bra by tucking the strapless side strap under my arm :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2012
See through
The fit was fine but I couldn't wear the dress because you could see right through it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
One word: Fabulous!
I pulled this dress on in a size 6. It fit every curve, but the strategic ruching meant I didn't have to wear Spanx to cover any problem areas. This dress has light stretch for just enough cling and the one shoulder with ruffle detailing set me apart from all the other women dressed in black for this holiday cocktail party. I must have looked great because my boyfriend couldn't stop staring all night and I even got a compliment: "gorgeous body!" from another woman there! Trust me, it wasn't my body--this dress is a definite win. Note that this dress is rather thin material so be strategic with undergarments. Up close you could see my black thong. :-/ Also, the zipper poked out once the dress was zipped. I think it's because i have a shorter torso than the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
December 19, 2012
Smokin is Right
I wore this to an event for New Years Eve in Miami and also at formal recruitment for my sorority. The fabric is thin, but the ruching is constructed expertly and it flatters. Due to the ruching and the thin fabric though, the bottom portion of the dress is a bit tighter than you might expect - it stretches obviously, but if you are self conscious about your bottom half you might steer clear of this dress. I loved it though! Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
February 4, 2012
Great dress
This was a very elegant black dress. I rented for a formal black tie event and felt great in it. The dress is pure silk and very thin. You may consider spanx or something similar to wear underneath for support if needed and to function as a slip. It was slightly see through at the skirt. Great dress overall!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 30, 2012
I had more compliments on this dress than anything in my closet!
Fantastic dress!!!!!! I wore this to my film premiere and it was perfect. It fits like a glove and is truly a comfortable dress! Don't hesitate- rent it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 27, 2012
Beautiful dress, i got lots of complements at the wedding and very comfortable to wear.
A little tight but flexible, very sexy and no need to use collar , just some bold earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a little sheer in the back.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I went with the back up dress instead, but this dress was still really gorgeous! THe only issue is that the dress is thin and a tad sheer in the back. I recommend wearing panty hose with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 22, 2013
Beautiful dress but wrong material!
I rented this dress for a wedding and was unable to wear it because the material was not flattering at all! It is very thin, so it made me appear bigger than I was since it sat on the body very poorly. It was difficult to wear a strapless bra or any undies with it because it showed throught so much and it was not the kind of dress you could go pantyless in! I was very disappointed and sent the dress back right away and got credit to rent a different one!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2013
I'm 5'1 and 105lbs. I wore a size 2 and loved the way it fit.
I wore this for a black time ball and got a bunch of complements. The dress fit awesome and the way it kind of bunched over the stomach hid anything I was not very proud of.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 19, 2010
I'm usually between a 0 and a 2 and i found that the 2 was just a bit of a better fit. this dress is gorgeous..i felt fantastic in it and received a ton of compliments. i may event rent again....
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2010
Gorgeous and stunning! Saw an announcer on E! wearing it and I had to try it. The picture doesn't do it justice- rent this if you want to be noticed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2010
Be ready to turn heads when you wear this dress!! I wore it to the symphony, and it turned heads and garnered complements ALL NIGHT! (from both the younger and the more mature patrons!) It does fit snugly, and I am glad I got the option for the second size up. I usually wear a zero, but the two hugged just right. Be aware, the hem doesn't stretch at all. Overall, fantastic dress, and pictures don't do it justice- definitely a dress I will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 7, 2010
A friend liked it so much, she rented it too!
I wore this dress to an evening wedding, and it was a huge hit! It was so glamorous, and fit great. I had dozens of compliments. It wears slightly different than pictured however.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 30, 2010
This picture doesn't do the dress justice. I absolutely loved this dress and would rent it again. It looked stunning and was very high quality.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2010
This dress is beyond gorgeous. I was hesitant to rent it because I was concerned that the ruffles would make my figure look larger from the side/front, but that wasn't the case. Absolutely stunning.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 16, 2010
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and got tons of compliments and several asking where I got it. I told them, but not sure if I want everyone to know about this hidden gem! The 2 fit me perfect, which is my usual size. I think it looks too big on the model in the picture and the dress hit me about 3-4 inches above my knee(I'm 5'5"). Also the dress is not lined and very sheer, but you could not see any under garments. Would love to own it or rent it again! It's beautiful and very figure flattering. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2011
Felt like a million bucks.
This was my first dress with Rent the Runway. I originally decided on the Black Halo jacket dress for my body type but due to the snowstorm that hit the east before New Years, lots of dresses became unavailable at the last minute. Even still, Camille of Rent the Runway was a doll with fulfilling my request for this dress and said it would flatter my curves. She was right. This was a sexy dress my boyfriend loved. Please note that it looks, essentially, nothing like it does on the model (maybe because she is 85 pounds soaking wet). It is very form fitting with far less ruching and the ruffles hit more to the side than the center. Like other reviewers said, the hem does not stretch and if you are wary it might be tight, size up, because it has slight stretch, but is less forgiving in the rib cage. Overall, a great choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2011
This was my first RTR experience and I must say, everything went really well from the arrival of my dress to the compliments I received all night long! This dress held its own against all the long dresses at the black tie event I attended.
Smoking hot dress! I wore it for New Years Eve to a black tie optional party in NYC and it was a hit! My boyfriend wants to go buy the dress because he loved it so much. It hugged my body like a glove and accentuated my bottom area. The material is a little thinner than I thought and doesn't stretch much so it's hard to take big strides. Also, the dress is shorter on me than the picture shown. The picture doesn't do the dress justice! Love Love Love! Rent it now!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2011
Perfect tango dress!
Great dress! First, on the fit: I am saying this runs true to size because it probably does for most people- I am just all over the place with dress sizes. I am 5'10", 135 lbs. I ordered a 6 and a 4, and preferred to squeeze my 37" hips into the 4 vs. having the 6 be a bit baggy around my 30C bust. Like other renters, I got a TON of compliments throughout the night and always felt sexy. The material is pretty thin (I wore a black strapless under it), but the dress is easy to move around in, and never feels like you're suddenly going to be flashing people. I even managed to tango in it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
February 1, 2011
A friend of mine warned me this dress runs small - and I concur! Definitely order one size higher than normal, if not you'll look cheap in this otherwise fun and lovely dress. Material is a little lighter than I was expecting, but the rouching hides all of your 'flaws'. Getting the shoulder to sit in the right place took a little extra effort, but once I had it arranged properly it looked fab. I give it a 3.5 - pretty and fun, but I wasn't in love as I have been before with RTR.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2011
Past rentals of Catherine Malandrino have fit me at a size 4. This 4 fit well, just more snugly than it is pictured. It is beautiful and I felt fabulous in it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2011
This dress looks so much better on than it does on the model... it's super gorgeous, form-fitting and very very sexy. Definitely would rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
April 4, 2011
Wow this dress is HOT. I rented it as my second dress, and my girlfriend ended up wearing it. She is tall and slender, and it fit her like a glove...everyone complimented her on what great shape she was in (which she is) and the dress really accentuated that. Was nice to be able to rent two dresses and have both of them be worn. And no, this model does the dress NO JUSTICE. It is was more figure flattering. Thin, comfy material, would recommend renting
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 2, 2011
Really wanted to love this dress but couldn't! I usually wear 0 or 2 so rented both sizes only to find both were about 2 inches shorter than it appears on the model which had me looking more '80s than elegant.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×