Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2015
Still the most memorable dress I've worn to fit my body type
The dress fit true to size but also had a bit of stretch to it so it fit perfectly. Length was also ideal - fit longer than on the model because I'm 5'4'' - short enough to photo well but not too short that I couldn't dance. The one shoulder part of the dress stayed put. If I remember correctly there was a small piece of sticky material that kept it in place. Highly recommend for a wedding or formal occasion!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
October 22, 2015
I wore this to my college graduation, I was best dressed.
No Cons, I looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 13, 2014
It was a New Years wedding so perfect for the occasion!
More fitted than expected but very flattering on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 18, 2014
Fits like a glove but so comfortable
Wore this to a fall wedding and loved it. The dress is amazing for highlighting ones curves but the fabric and neckline keep it still feeling elegant and sophisticated. Despite having very broad shoulders, I didn't have any trouble with the shoulder strap even when dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 1, 2014
Form fitting and hugs all the right places! perfect dress for any occasion
loved the fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 8, 2014
A review in retrospect
Eep, I wore this dress two years ago. Not sure if it's still cycling through RTR, but it was fantastic (from what I remember). I wanted to buy it, it was so great. Sadly, that is all I remember about the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Very flattering.
Thin material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2014
Wore it for my best friend's bachelorette party. The perfect LBD! Wish I owned it.
None! May even rent again sometime.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2014
Looked gorgeous on the model, not so much in person!
I was expecting a bit more class from this dress when I rented it for a semi-formal outdoor evening summer party... not so much. It looks great on the model but it was pretty much see-through when I put it on. I was a smaller 2 at the time I ordered and it fit me like a glove – a very inappropriate glove. The ruching from the side to front is a bit more obvious in person and you'd really need a specific body type to pull it off I think. If you have a slip to wear under this and are more of a straight and narrow girl, you could definitely rock it, but for anyone with a bigger bust or hips, you'd need to a) size up and b) be attending an event were you can be a bit risque. That being said, it could be something really sassy for a night out in Vegas or something!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2013
Dramatic, flattering, gorgeous dress
Dress is really dramatic and a nice take on a LBD. Super flattering and hits in all of the right places (thanks to the ruching on the side). I would definitely rent this again for any formal occasion and any season. It looks great with black tights in the winter (how I wore it).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2013
My first rental and can't wait for the next one. What a service!
Slightly sheer and definitely short. I ended up wearing opaque black tights with it, to make it less hoochy. Definitely a fun party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
November 11, 2013
Incredibly flattering and comfortable
Received compliments all night (sometimes multiple times from the same person)! The side/elastic shoulder worked particularly well for a petite person, and the ruching/rufflling really flatters curves - and gives the impression of more.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2013
Pretty Black Dress
This is a great spin on a LBD. I wore it to a wedding and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 4, but had to go a size up to be more comfortable in the bust area. If you are large busted I would suggest sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2013
Such a comfortable, flattering, classic dress! I didn't want to ever take it off!
The 8 fit well but was a little bit short on me w/ 4 inch heels. The 10 was slightly longer and more comfortable for dancing! I would highly recommend this dress. I got so many compliments all night! Seriously, this is my favorite dress I've ever worn. RENT IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Perfect fit
I normally have a difficult time finding a dress to fit like a glove but this one certainly did the job! Its beautiful and elegant, the fabric offers a slight stretch and good quality fabric. It is a little sheer but not obvious. It's the perfect dress for an elegant night.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 29, 2013
One of the most beautiful dresses I ever wore.
Not too short. Covered everything I needed it to for a formal party. I was caught under dressed for it last year but not this year!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 11, 2013
One of the stylists recommended this dress to me, it was fabulous!
The dress fit perfectly, I would never have chosen from the picture, but it is so much more exciting in person. You really need to see it for yourself. The only complaint i have is the trim around the bottom feels constrictive, but it looks so cute on you don't really care.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 28, 2013
Great winter wedding dress
I wore this dress for a winter wedding in Kentucky. The shoulder detailing really diversified it as a standout little black dress. I matched it with a gold clutch and bangle. Fit was really comfy and shoulder has elastic band in it so it stays up
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2013
Beautiful!
The dress wasn't in great condition... was uncomfortable too. Maybe I could have used a bigger size. It ran a little small. Didn't wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2013
More than an LBD
I picked this because of the one shoulder and the design across the bustline; it became more than the basic black dress. The material was a little thin, and it did not have as much wow factor as I thought, but overall, it worked. I think I would have liked it in color better, but for an LBD, it was a great choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved the dress! Comfy, too!
It was a very easy dress to manage and it worked so well all through the night! Would wear again for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 2, 2013
Once again arrived on time!
I am 5'9 and wore this with 4 inch heels. It was very short on me with the heels on!!! I also found the size 10 to be very tight in the hips. I had to go up a size to 12, and then the strap was too big and kept falling down. Gorgeous dress, but I did some creative pinning to keep it in place.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Fit perfectly and was very flattering while being comfortable.
Great dress, very classy. Only downside was that the shoulder strap tended to move around and I had to adjust it every so often.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2013
I'm 5'1 and 105lbs. I wore a size 2 and loved the way it fit.
I wore this for a black time ball and got a bunch of complements. The dress fit awesome and the way it kind of bunched over the stomach hid anything I was not very proud of.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2013
Beautiful twist on a classic LBD
The dress was lightweight, form-fitting but not overly tight, and I loved the way the twist of the single strap. Beautiful dress that I would consider renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 31, 2013
I felt very elegant in this dress and was asked numerous times where I purchased the dress.
Unfortunately the size 4 I had originally requested was damaged. I still had the size 6 sent. It was a bit loose up top but the length was ok. The size 4 would have been a bit shorter, however I have very long legs and the dress still looked good. It is a very lightweight material and because of the rouging, it would flatter any body type. I would rent this dress again, it was so beautiful, elegant, sexy all in one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 22, 2013
Beautiful dress but wrong material!
I rented this dress for a wedding and was unable to wear it because the material was not flattering at all! It is very thin, so it made me appear bigger than I was since it sat on the body very poorly. It was difficult to wear a strapless bra or any undies with it because it showed throught so much and it was not the kind of dress you could go pantyless in! I was very disappointed and sent the dress back right away and got credit to rent a different one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a little sheer in the back.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I went with the back up dress instead, but this dress was still really gorgeous! THe only issue is that the dress is thin and a tad sheer in the back. I recommend wearing panty hose with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 27, 2012
Beautiful dress, i got lots of complements at the wedding and very comfortable to wear.
A little tight but flexible, very sexy and no need to use collar , just some bold earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
December 19, 2012
Smokin is Right
I wore this to an event for New Years Eve in Miami and also at formal recruitment for my sorority. The fabric is thin, but the ruching is constructed expertly and it flatters. Due to the ruching and the thin fabric though, the bottom portion of the dress is a bit tighter than you might expect - it stretches obviously, but if you are self conscious about your bottom half you might steer clear of this dress. I loved it though! Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
One word: Fabulous!
I pulled this dress on in a size 6. It fit every curve, but the strategic ruching meant I didn't have to wear Spanx to cover any problem areas. This dress has light stretch for just enough cling and the one shoulder with ruffle detailing set me apart from all the other women dressed in black for this holiday cocktail party. I must have looked great because my boyfriend couldn't stop staring all night and I even got a compliment: "gorgeous body!" from another woman there! Trust me, it wasn't my body--this dress is a definite win. Note that this dress is rather thin material so be strategic with undergarments. Up close you could see my black thong. :-/ Also, the zipper poked out once the dress was zipped. I think it's because i have a shorter torso than the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2012
See through
The fit was fine but I couldn't wear the dress because you could see right through it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
So sexy!
I really loved this dress... but it was damaged / worn from previous use, so I wore something else. But wow, it was lovely. I really like this designer... and bonus, I could wear a regular bra by tucking the strapless side strap under my arm :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2012
Looked nice, but the material was very flimsy
I ordered this dress to wear at a good friend's wedding. I was still in between sizes after having a baby and I was desparate for something sexy and fun to make me feel my age. The dress was a little bit big, but I managed to make it work.This dress looked really cute in the picture,but when I got it I was so disapointed with the material. It was super flimsy. This was my back up dress, and I'm glad I had it b/c the other dress I ordered fit oddly. However, I probably would recommend trying to find something thats a little sturdier. I had allover shapewear that I could wear under it, but if I didn't I would have been in big trouble. It was so shear that I'm sure you could have seen right through it otherwise. All in all a very cute dress that runs a little large and is a bit shearer than expected.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
Felt stylish, comfortable, and received many compliments!
I ordered the 4 and 6 and decided to wear the 6 for a bit more length, since I wore this to an engagement party for my sister in law.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
I did love the dress but it came with a hole in it!
The hole was stitched up poorly and never should have been sent to me. It's great dress but I think a little cheaply made. I got compliments though.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 25, 2012
Great dress!
I worn it to my rehearsal dinner and received lots of compliments. Fit perfectly.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
This dress was more upscale than many of the ones that the wedding guests wore.
I felt that I had the 2nd best dress in the room. The bride was #1 of course. I should have used the adhesive that was included because the rufffles rolled in the wrong direction all night, but I still felt sexy and beautiful. My dress was sent to the hotel due to time constraints and it worked out perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2012
The dress fit perfectly and is so stylish.
I've rented this dress twice now for weddings and have gotten tons of compliments. The fit is fantastic and while it's black, the ruffle makes the dress visually interesting. The material is thin enough that I've felt more comfortable wearing spanx underneath, but you could go either way.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 13, 2012
I wore this for my sisters rehearsal dinner and got compliments on my great dress throughout night !
The fit was true to size, but a bit slim.
See more reviews:
1 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×