Rent the Runway

Catherine Malandrino

Cranberry Cocktail Dress

$75 rental
$525 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino . An asymmetric, off-the-shoulder neckline flaunts your shoulders. To add some extra shine, pair this dress with Elizabeth Cole's Triple Black Diamond Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cranberry jersey. Asymmetric neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Front and back ruching. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

44 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 33
Large 8
Photos 10
deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very sexy beautiful dress.. I didn't wear this dress. I pulled out an old Norma Kamali tight simple dress from the 80s and wore it to my friend's party instead.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous dress. Classy for a night out, but very flattering. Highly recommend.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Unique, beautiful

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I chose this dress, because it was rather unique and had a beautiful fall color. The only thing I didn't like about it was the partial arm covering. It was a little stretched out and didn't lay quite right.
vivian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

Perfect dinner party dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Understated and pretty. It's curve enhancing and if you like one shoulder dresses you will love this. If you find the asymmetrical, cut on the bias a little awkward you might not feel as comfortable.
Tia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

Not Happy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress itself is beautiful, but I was disappointed in Rent the Runway on this one. First of all, I followed the advice to get a one size up back-up size, but I should have gone one size down. I ended up with a loose fitting dress to wear to the wedding. Secondly, it was damaged... the cloth was detached from the elastic on the sleeve. I am surprised that they even sent this out for someone to use.
Miagirl23
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 22, 2011

Very pretty on

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits very nice. The material is a little thin but not too thin that you'll need a slip or anything. I'm 5,3 and the dress was to just above my knees, just a little shorter on one side than the other. Rec'd tons of compliments from my friends and my hubby thought I looked "WOW" :D
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

Chic and fun

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. It is not very formal, but perfect for a chic party. You can dress this up or down with accessories. The fabric is thin and very stretchy.
ngd
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 1, 2012

Such a fun alternative to wearing yet another LBD, a great way to try a something new!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color is beautiful and photographs well.The ruching and asymmetrical, off the shoulder neckline are very flattering. It was a great alternative to the LBD!! Perfect for a party!
Darlene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2012

Who could afford these dresses for the number of occasions I have? RTR makes it easy to look fabulous and not break the bank.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was very happy with my selection. The material, fit and color were just beautiful. I was a little concerned about the fit of the sleeves but that was easily rectified. Received numerous compliments. I am hooked on RTR!!
Vy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 22, 2012

Great color, horrible fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Even with the stretchy material, this dress did not fit right for a curvy girl. The ruching ended up pulling the hem up about 3 inches. XS was too small for my chest and rear but S was so baggy around the waist and sleeve.
Victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 1, 2012

Great Dress/Runs Large

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Just got this dress and I was so excited to try it on. I rented a small and a medium for my backup (suggestion was to go up a size). I should have actually gone down a size for my backup. The ruching on this dress makes it a tad loose. The dress fit great across my shoulders and my arms but, I wish it would have been tighter around my waist. If you have a narrow waist and you are thin like me, I would suggest going with an extra small. The color is beautiful and the material isn't too thin. We'll see if this dress is a hit.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 22, 2012

Sexy and Flattering

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Really liked this dress. It is very forgiving and fit nicely to my hour glass figure. Dress has lot of give, which is perfect for my hips. The dress ruching allows to hide any tummy issues lol. I like the off shoulder it did not feel akward at all. I really like that it has sleeves it was cold that day and it was nice to have sleeves. I actually wish that more of the rent a run way dresses had this length sleeves it gets chilly sometimes and sleeve dresses always require I bring something to cover my shoulders when it gets a little cold from a breeze or ac. I loved how the dress fit me.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

My fiance loved this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Wore this out to dinner with my fiance to celebrate our engagement. Hugs your curves in the right places and the bare shoulder detail is a great touch for just the right amount of sexy :)
Virginia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Thank God for the extra size! I normally would have ordered a small but the option for another size dress was perfect because both fit but differently. I initially tried on the XS and thought it fit my body perfect but was a bit snug and short. Since I was attending a more formal event I didn't want the dress to be too short or too tight so I tried on the small and it fit perfect! It still fit nicely with some breathing room. I received many compliments and I felt confident and comfortable in the dress.
Kel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

As the youngest "spouse" I wanted to look young and sexy but appropriate for my bf's work function. I turned both men's and women's heads in this dress for all the right reasons.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my boyfriend's work holiday party. I needed something conservative but still sexy. This was perfect and I got at least 3 compliments from women I'd never even met, plus my boyfriend loved it. I have a slender build and the XS fit perfectly
MJC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Great fit

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super sexy, compliments all night... I have a nice sized behind so the dress hugged me tight and made me look super curvy.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Nice dress, not in love...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my husband's company Christmas party. I was only disappointed with the biased cut sleeve, it was obviously overly-worn and a bit stretched. With that in regard, I did received several compliments on the dress and it fit the feel of the evening well.
A-DRE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

bday bash

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved loved loved!!!! Perfect fit. I wore this for my brothers 30th bdays dinner/party and everyone loved it. The material is form fitting and the color is absolutely stunning in person. I wore this with silver heels which gave me the extra pop!!! wish i owned it :)
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Gorgeous dress for a fun night out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a friend's birthday party. I had just met my now boyfriend and wanted to wear something special but not too revealing. Needless to say, it was a big hit as we've been dating ever since ;)
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

GORGEOUS!!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is so rich and warm. The material is stretchy enough for comfort but the ruching allows the dress to keep its shape. I got so many compliments at the wedding. The hemline is slightly asymmmetrical. I wore the large because the medium was unavailable but I likely could have gone down a size. I have a bit of a belly after an indulgent summer so the extra room in the tummy area was welcome. The left sleeve was a bit loose but I just used double sided tape to keep it exactly where I wanted it and had no trouble throughout the night, dancing included!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Oct 9, 2012

Love this dress and felt very sexy.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It does run true to size, but it's tight! Definitely wear it with Spanx.
Christina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Beautiful color

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, I ended up not wearing it to the wedding and exchanging it for another RTR dress. It was just a bit too sexy for a wedding. Definitely a body con fit...be thoughtful of what undergarments you plan to wear. But, the rouching accentuates curves like no other. I will definitely be ordering this dress for spicier affair :)
Gia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Not like her other styles....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately for me, this dress accented me in all the wrong places. Was VERY VERY form fitting and didn't show off as well as I had hoped. Also, because it was so clingy it was hard to find something to wear in terms of lingerie that wouldn't show through.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 5, 2012

Great fit and beautiful color!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a perfect fit. The sleeve was a little issue since it kept sliding down but not a big deal.
Sonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Great color, very flattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The beautiful color and asymmetrical shoulder were what initially caught my eye on this dress. The cut and ruching made this dress very flattering on all areas of the body. The dress was a little on the large side, and had I worn the XS (it was unavailable), it would have been perfect. A tip from another reviewer: use garment tape to secure the sleeve at the shoulder.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was my back-up dress so I didn't wear it, but it was a great fit. I will say the arm where it is off your shoulder is a little awkward at first until you position it right, but it is a beautiful dress!
Christa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Not the best

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The sleeve on this was so incredibly awkward. It not only hurt (because it was too tight) but it just looked funny. Also, my dress came in smelling like B.O. and with pit stains. Kind of disappointing.
Jonelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 9, 2013

Understated Elegance

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
What drew me to this dress was the unique cut and beautiful shade of wine. I wanted to find a style that wasn't too modest, but at the same time not over the top; I felt very classy and the perfect amount of sexy in this dress. The fit was very comfortable, I was able to dance all night in it. I decided to tie a thin black sash around my waist for a bit more definition (not out of necessity, just my personal style). I didn't have any issues with the sleeves as others have mentioned, but there were a few snags in the midriff upon arrival (not too noticeable while wearing the garment). I received plenty of compliments and even turned a few heads. I would recommend this dress to anyone, regardless of body type; I feel it would bring out or accentuate a woman's curves in all the right places :)
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

beautiful color and unique cut

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress, but the arm holes were just too tight and made it uncomfortable. I lift weights, but am not "bulky" by any means. This would fit women with thin arms much more comfortably than those with muscular arms. I selected my back up dress instead.
Yanell
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 21, 2013

I got compliments left and right for this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a large, but the left sleeve fit very loosely, so I went with the medium which fit perfectly. Definitely a gorgeous dress with a very sexy neckline and a beautiful color.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Another amazing experience and dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little concerned renting this dress b/c other renters stated that the sleeve fit weird. If you look at any of the pictures, you can see that the only way the sleeve isn't "weird" is when it is worn off the shoulder. I am glad that I used my own judgement with this one b/c all I kept thinking was; how hard can it be to get into a dress? It was a little awkward at first. But once it was on and the sleeve was positioned properly, it was perfect, form-fitting and a good twist on an otherwise ordinary cocktail dress! Thanks again RTR!!
LT
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Gorgeous cocktail dress and very comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read the reviews about the sleeve but as long as it sits off the shoulder it was fine. It seemed to fit true to size and was made well. I received many compliments on the dress!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Beautiful winter/holiday dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress for the holidays! Not much of a difference between S and M both fit me well.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress a lot. However, it was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing the original dress I picked out. Definitely would recommend Spanx with this!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2013

Never Got to wear it!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Although I rented the dress and was later informed that it was not available for that date I still gave it 3 stars for the great customer service. Rent The Runway gave me a call in time to ship out a new dress and the best part about it is that they allowed me to choose any dress from the site that was available. Thanks RTR
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

Super Sexy valentines rental

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
the asymetric shoulder takes a little fiddling to get right. but it was a super sexy fitted rental for valentines with my guy
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

The dress was elegant and form fitting

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very comfortable and flattering. I am 5'10" with an hourglass figure. The color was a bit redder and less burgundy than shown online, but I didn't mind.
Donna-Lee
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

I wish I owned this dress in every color. Super flattering fit, sexy & comfortable. Rent it already!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a gorgeous berry color. With a yummy, silky fabric with the perfect amount of stretch and hold. I wore this for my bachlorette party and was not disappointed. I have rented a few dresses from rent the runway before, but this dress was by far my FAVORITE. I still get compliments on this dress. This is super sexy, and comfortable while holding in, closely fitting, pushing up and draping in all the right spots. I also loved that this one was long sleeved because the night of my bachlorette party there was a hurricane. YES! We still managed to head out on the town, but I was warm as well. If you want to feel like a sexy siren while being comfortable and able to move, then this is the dress for you.
erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

THis dress was unique, comfortable and attractive!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
IT was very comfortable. Since the sizes were SML it is hard to say if it ran true to size. I normally wear a 6 -8 in dresses and if i recall the M was good for me.
Gina
Age: 43
Apr 1, 2014

The dress was exactly as shown on site. Easy to get & return.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Not as fitted as I expected. Dressed moved around a lot. Fussed with sleeve & angle at top of dress. BUT, I received many compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×