Cranberry Cocktail Dress

$75 rental
$525 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino . An asymmetric, off-the-shoulder neckline flaunts your shoulders. To add some extra shine, pair this dress with Elizabeth Cole's Triple Black Diamond Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cranberry jersey. Asymmetric neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Front and back ruching. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
44 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(33)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 44
April 1, 2014
The dress was exactly as shown on site. Easy to get & return.
Not as fitted as I expected. Dressed moved around a lot. Fussed with sleeve & angle at top of dress. BUT, I received many compliments.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 12, 2014
THis dress was unique, comfortable and attractive!
IT was very comfortable. Since the sizes were SML it is hard to say if it ran true to size. I normally wear a 6 -8 in dresses and if i recall the M was good for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2013
I wish I owned this dress in every color. Super flattering fit, sexy & comfortable. Rent it already!
This is a gorgeous berry color. With a yummy, silky fabric with the perfect amount of stretch and hold. I wore this for my bachlorette party and was not disappointed. I have rented a few dresses from rent the runway before, but this dress was by far my FAVORITE. I still get compliments on this dress. This is super sexy, and comfortable while holding in, closely fitting, pushing up and draping in all the right spots. I also loved that this one was long sleeved because the night of my bachlorette party there was a hurricane. YES! We still managed to head out on the town, but I was warm as well. If you want to feel like a sexy siren while being comfortable and able to move, then this is the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 24, 2013
The dress was elegant and form fitting
The dress was very comfortable and flattering. I am 5'10" with an hourglass figure. The color was a bit redder and less burgundy than shown online, but I didn't mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 11, 2013
Super Sexy valentines rental
the asymetric shoulder takes a little fiddling to get right. but it was a super sexy fitted rental for valentines with my guy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2013
Never Got to wear it!
Although I rented the dress and was later informed that it was not available for that date I still gave it 3 stars for the great customer service. Rent The Runway gave me a call in time to ship out a new dress and the best part about it is that they allowed me to choose any dress from the site that was available. Thanks RTR
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I liked this dress a lot. However, it was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing the original dress I picked out. Definitely would recommend Spanx with this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
April 14, 2013
Beautiful winter/holiday dress.
Great dress for the holidays! Not much of a difference between S and M both fit me well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2013
Gorgeous cocktail dress and very comfortable!
I read the reviews about the sleeve but as long as it sits off the shoulder it was fine. It seemed to fit true to size and was made well. I received many compliments on the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 5, 2013
Another amazing experience and dress!!
I was a little concerned renting this dress b/c other renters stated that the sleeve fit weird. If you look at any of the pictures, you can see that the only way the sleeve isn't "weird" is when it is worn off the shoulder. I am glad that I used my own judgement with this one b/c all I kept thinking was; how hard can it be to get into a dress? It was a little awkward at first. But once it was on and the sleeve was positioned properly, it was perfect, form-fitting and a good twist on an otherwise ordinary cocktail dress! Thanks again RTR!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2013
I got compliments left and right for this dress!
I usually wear a large, but the left sleeve fit very loosely, so I went with the medium which fit perfectly. Definitely a gorgeous dress with a very sexy neckline and a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2013
beautiful color and unique cut
I really liked this dress, but the arm holes were just too tight and made it uncomfortable. I lift weights, but am not "bulky" by any means. This would fit women with thin arms much more comfortably than those with muscular arms. I selected my back up dress instead.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2013
Understated Elegance
What drew me to this dress was the unique cut and beautiful shade of wine. I wanted to find a style that wasn't too modest, but at the same time not over the top; I felt very classy and the perfect amount of sexy in this dress. The fit was very comfortable, I was able to dance all night in it. I decided to tie a thin black sash around my waist for a bit more definition (not out of necessity, just my personal style). I didn't have any issues with the sleeves as others have mentioned, but there were a few snags in the midriff upon arrival (not too noticeable while wearing the garment). I received plenty of compliments and even turned a few heads. I would recommend this dress to anyone, regardless of body type; I feel it would bring out or accentuate a woman's curves in all the right places :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2012
Not the best
The sleeve on this was so incredibly awkward. It not only hurt (because it was too tight) but it just looked funny. Also, my dress came in smelling like B.O. and with pit stains. Kind of disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress was my back-up dress so I didn't wear it, but it was a great fit. I will say the arm where it is off your shoulder is a little awkward at first until you position it right, but it is a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2012
Great color, very flattering
The beautiful color and asymmetrical shoulder were what initially caught my eye on this dress. The cut and ruching made this dress very flattering on all areas of the body. The dress was a little on the large side, and had I worn the XS (it was unavailable), it would have been perfect. A tip from another reviewer: use garment tape to secure the sleeve at the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2012
Great fit and beautiful color!
The dress was a perfect fit. The sleeve was a little issue since it kept sliding down but not a big deal.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2012
Not like her other styles....
Unfortunately for me, this dress accented me in all the wrong places. Was VERY VERY form fitting and didn't show off as well as I had hoped. Also, because it was so clingy it was hard to find something to wear in terms of lingerie that wouldn't show through.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 18, 2012
Beautiful color
Beautiful dress, I ended up not wearing it to the wedding and exchanging it for another RTR dress. It was just a bit too sexy for a wedding. Definitely a body con fit...be thoughtful of what undergarments you plan to wear. But, the rouching accentuates curves like no other. I will definitely be ordering this dress for spicier affair :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 9, 2012
Love this dress and felt very sexy.
It does run true to size, but it's tight! Definitely wear it with Spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
GORGEOUS!!!!
The color is so rich and warm. The material is stretchy enough for comfort but the ruching allows the dress to keep its shape. I got so many compliments at the wedding. The hemline is slightly asymmmetrical. I wore the large because the medium was unavailable but I likely could have gone down a size. I have a bit of a belly after an indulgent summer so the extra room in the tummy area was welcome. The left sleeve was a bit loose but I just used double sided tape to keep it exactly where I wanted it and had no trouble throughout the night, dancing included!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
Gorgeous dress for a fun night out!
I wore this to a friend's birthday party. I had just met my now boyfriend and wanted to wear something special but not too revealing. Needless to say, it was a big hit as we've been dating ever since ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2012
bday bash
Loved loved loved!!!! Perfect fit. I wore this for my brothers 30th bdays dinner/party and everyone loved it. The material is form fitting and the color is absolutely stunning in person. I wore this with silver heels which gave me the extra pop!!! wish i owned it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
August 20, 2012
Nice dress, not in love...
I rented this dress for my husband's company Christmas party. I was only disappointed with the biased cut sleeve, it was obviously overly-worn and a bit stretched. With that in regard, I did received several compliments on the dress and it fit the feel of the evening well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Great fit
Super sexy, compliments all night... I have a nice sized behind so the dress hugged me tight and made me look super curvy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2012
As the youngest "spouse" I wanted to look young and sexy but appropriate for my bf's work function. I turned both men's and women's heads in this dress for all the right reasons.
I wore this to my boyfriend's work holiday party. I needed something conservative but still sexy. This was perfect and I got at least 3 compliments from women I'd never even met, plus my boyfriend loved it. I have a slender build and the XS fit perfectly
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress!
Thank God for the extra size! I normally would have ordered a small but the option for another size dress was perfect because both fit but differently. I initially tried on the XS and thought it fit my body perfect but was a bit snug and short. Since I was attending a more formal event I didn't want the dress to be too short or too tight so I tried on the small and it fit perfect! It still fit nicely with some breathing room. I received many compliments and I felt confident and comfortable in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2012
My fiance loved this dress!
Wore this out to dinner with my fiance to celebrate our engagement. Hugs your curves in the right places and the bare shoulder detail is a great touch for just the right amount of sexy :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
March 22, 2012
Sexy and Flattering
Really liked this dress. It is very forgiving and fit nicely to my hour glass figure. Dress has lot of give, which is perfect for my hips. The dress ruching allows to hide any tummy issues lol. I like the off shoulder it did not feel akward at all. I really like that it has sleeves it was cold that day and it was nice to have sleeves. I actually wish that more of the rent a run way dresses had this length sleeves it gets chilly sometimes and sleeve dresses always require I bring something to cover my shoulders when it gets a little cold from a breeze or ac. I loved how the dress fit me.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
March 1, 2012
Great Dress/Runs Large
Just got this dress and I was so excited to try it on. I rented a small and a medium for my backup (suggestion was to go up a size). I should have actually gone down a size for my backup. The ruching on this dress makes it a tad loose. The dress fit great across my shoulders and my arms but, I wish it would have been tighter around my waist. If you have a narrow waist and you are thin like me, I would suggest going with an extra small. The color is beautiful and the material isn't too thin. We'll see if this dress is a hit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2012
Great color, horrible fit
Even with the stretchy material, this dress did not fit right for a curvy girl. The ruching ended up pulling the hem up about 3 inches. XS was too small for my chest and rear but S was so baggy around the waist and sleeve.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2012
Who could afford these dresses for the number of occasions I have? RTR makes it easy to look fabulous and not break the bank.
I was very happy with my selection. The material, fit and color were just beautiful. I was a little concerned about the fit of the sleeves but that was easily rectified. Received numerous compliments. I am hooked on RTR!!
ChristaFebruary 13, 2012
How did you fix the sleeves? Having the same problem here..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
Such a fun alternative to wearing yet another LBD, a great way to try a something new!
The color is beautiful and photographs well.The ruching and asymmetrical, off the shoulder neckline are very flattering. It was a great alternative to the LBD!! Perfect for a party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
December 29, 2011
Chic and fun
Loved this dress. It is not very formal, but perfect for a chic party. You can dress this up or down with accessories. The fabric is thin and very stretchy.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2011
Very pretty on
This dress fits very nice. The material is a little thin but not too thin that you'll need a slip or anything. I'm 5,3 and the dress was to just above my knees, just a little shorter on one side than the other. Rec'd tons of compliments from my friends and my hubby thought I looked "WOW" :D
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2011
Not Happy
The dress itself is beautiful, but I was disappointed in Rent the Runway on this one. First of all, I followed the advice to get a one size up back-up size, but I should have gone one size down. I ended up with a loose fitting dress to wear to the wedding. Secondly, it was damaged... the cloth was detached from the elastic on the sleeve. I am surprised that they even sent this out for someone to use.
VyJanuary 22, 2012
They sent this same dress to me in December 2011. The sleeve was still torn.
MelissaJanuary 31, 2012
has rtr fixed this because i want this one for this weekend?
RTRJanuary 31, 2012
Hi Melissa! We have repaired this unit! Please let us know if you have any additional questions!
PRISCILLADecember 12, 2012
I am concerned in seeing how long this dress has been around. Has it been replaced or just constantly darned? I am supposed to be renting this for Dec 31, 2012. Wondering about the shape of the dress...?
RTR CustomerDecember 13, 2012
Hi Priscilla! We have repaired or retired any damaged units of this dress. We never want to send anything to our customers that is in less than pristine condition!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2011
Perfect dinner party dress
Understated and pretty. It's curve enhancing and if you like one shoulder dresses you will love this. If you find the asymmetrical, cut on the bias a little awkward you might not feel as comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2011
Unique, beautiful
I chose this dress, because it was rather unique and had a beautiful fall color. The only thing I didn't like about it was the partial arm covering. It was a little stretched out and didn't lay quite right.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2011
Gorgeous dress. Classy for a night out, but very flattering. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 26, 2011
Very sexy beautiful dress.. I didn't wear this dress. I pulled out an old Norma Kamali tight simple dress from the 80s and wore it to my friend's party instead.
See more reviews:
1 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×