Carmen Marc Valvo

Precious Sapphire Gown

$63 rental
$895 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sapphire gown by Carmen Marc Valvo will make you the belle of the ball. Pair with some classic accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Show Stopper Earrings and Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and you will be ready for the night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 4'11''-5'1''), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'5'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'10''). This gown runs slightly short.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress is very fitted at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 4'11''-5'1''), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'5'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'10''). This gown runs slightly short.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress is very fitted at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Sapphire silk satin(100%silk). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

54 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 43
Large 5
Photos 34
Kira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
My friends and I thought this dress looked a bit like a costume. I thought there were many other flattering dresses.
glk
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful, beautiful dress! The color is stunning. Waist was a little loose but I had to get a 6 to accommodate my bust.
Katie
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This is definitely vanity sizing! Both the 6 and 8 were too big, particularly in the bust (which could be a good thing for some of you!) It is very light weight. Did not flatter at the waist, it's a rather straight cut. I really did not like this dress, but that's not to say it's bad it just was bad on me.
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 23, 2011

Perfect!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was exactly what I wanted and needed in a dress! Fit great and got lots of compliments. I highly recommend renting this dress
Jean
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 29, 2011

Very Elegant

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric and color are more subtle than I expected based on the photos provided on the website. Wonderful feel, flow, and movement. Perfect for a formal event.
Constance
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

Pretty Dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras ball; it fit well. My favorite part of the dress is the bottom because it flows so prettily. It was comfortable, and the length was perfect for me. I'm 5'5 1/2" and wore 3 inch heels.
Linda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 22, 2012

Fabulous Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress because I own pieces by this designer. I am 5'3", 128 lbs, size 4 was too small, and size 6 was a little large and not flattering,as my natural waistline is high.
Heather
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 26, 2012

Most gorgeous color blue!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress and the Major Moment dress. Both were stunning, elegant, well constructed and went to the floor even with 3.5 in heals. This dress was the most beautiful color blue, but I felt that while this dress did a good job hiding my figure flaws, the other dress excentuated the positive. In other words, if you are sensitive about your belly, hips and thighs, then you will be very happy with this dress because it camouflages those areas perfectly!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 24, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous. It was my backup and I ended up wearing my main choice. This fit perfectly. The color and style were gorgeous! I want to rent it sometime soon because I didn't get a chance to wear it!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The picture doesn't do this dress justice, the material is just beautiful. The dress runs a little small in the top but has plenty of fabric on the bottom half so it is forgiving in the fit in that area.
Gwen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

True Blue

Size worn: 12P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
What a magnificent gown. I loved it and I felt elegant as I glided across the floor. The color is beautiful as well.
Celia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Loved this dress. The fit was right on & I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. The fit was right on & I received so many compliments! I am only 5'3" & the length of the dress was perfect with heels, I also have a small bust size & did not feel like I was swimming in the dress up top.
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Dress is absolutely stunning. I got great compliments all night!!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 34B and around 5'8-all torso. The size 4 fit perfectly, but was too short. the size 6R, was the perfect length but a little loose. Next time I'd order the 4L.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Great dress, but not cut for the well endowed.

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved the look of this dress. I'm really short and curvy and this dress was very flattering, except in the chest (I am a 32DD, so anything smaller should fit perfectly). I ordered the 2p and the 4p and the 2p fit perfectly everywhere except the chest (my measurements are 32, 26, 32 for what its worth). I was able to wear either flats or heels in this dress, so for anyone who is short and looking for a dress that they don't have to wear 5" heels in, this is a great choice. The 4p was just too large overall and was very saggy-looking, I could have worn it, but it would have required a lot of fashion tape. I ended up wearing the other dress I ordered. The fabric color is a bit lighter than in the picture, but it was a truly stunning dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×