Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$40 rental
$565 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 96
Large 27
Photos 82
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

I mistakenly ordered this dress for the wrong weekend. The RTR team changed the date and the items!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful. The colors, fit, and style. The dress did run a little big. I am usually a 2 or a 4, but I could've used a 0 around my waist. I got the privilege of taking the tags off the dress so wear did not have a factor in running large. I am 5' 2" and the dress hit me right below the knees, but I used Temporary Hem Tape and it worked perfectly. I accessorized with the Kate Spade Clean Break Statement Necklace and it took the dress to another level. The colors complemented each other beautifully. I wore this dress to a December wedding with a burgundy pashmina and everyone loved it - I received so many compliments. The dress is the perfect combination of classic and fashionable and in 20 years I will not look back and say "what was I wearing?" I would recommend this dress to anyone and especially to those women who want to remain classy and timeless.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Gorgeous Holiday Party Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This is a gorgeous dress, but it was too large from the waist down. I ended up having to return it because the size 6 wasn't available. I was so sad because it really was stunning.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Gorgeous fabric and very flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size, however it was a little longer on me than what I normally like - it hit right at the bottom of my knee cap. Not much stretch, so if you're needing to be very mobile, this may not be the best dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

This dress is cut so well and very flattering.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is luxurious and the style is sophisticated. I looked oh, so very thin and was comfortable all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Beautiful Dress for a Christmas or Engagment Party

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my friends formal engagement party in San Francisco. It was very appropriate and holiday festive. I typically wear a 10 or 12, but only a 14 was available. The dress was a little big but I still wore it- the extra room made it very comfortable. I wore it with black point kate spade pumps, a teal satin BCBG envelope clutch, and a large silver spiked statement necklace from banana republic. It is incredibly chic. I would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Perfect party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for an office holiday party. Received so many compliments on it! The brocade pattern and jewel green color are stunning, but the dress does run a little on the smaller side (especially around the neckline). It was especially snug through my hips and thigh area. This dress would be absolutley perfect for someone with a larger bust and slim bottom area.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Perfect for dinner with Dad

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a wine dinner at a local restaurant with my dad, and it was perfect! This fit is true to size, and the peplums weren't too obtrusive. I wore it with nude heels, a black cardigan (it was cold), and a black clutch. I got plenty of compliments, and people couldn't believe I'd rented it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

Perfect for the holidays!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a friends Christmas wedding, which was perfect! The color was gorgeous, and goes well with nice gold, chunky jewelry. I'm 5'4", so the skirt length was a little long for me, it hit under my knees. If it was a bit shorter, that would have been great, but no biggie. The torso fit great, and created a nice waistline. Definitely unique and different!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 24, 2012

Great color!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for a party/formal affair due to its bold color and fun print. It helps add shape to your figure with the peplum design. It doesn't stretch at all so consider getting a size larger tomake sure it fits well. Perfect for all skin tones!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

It's the perfect dress for the holidays, esp. a holiday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Color, fabric, cut = amazing. Stunning in a very classy, work-appropriate way. Narrow waist and peplum flatter, even big bootie gals :) Con, runs a little small, especially in the hip region. Very fitted, so I dont know if that's the dress or my delusions, but I'm very petite on top (size 0/2) and usually a 2/4 on bottom, but 4 was definitely the way to go... still a big snug though. Had to let some gents help me instead of scrambling for things that fell to the floor. No bother... I looked amazing! Everybody was willing to support this fashion-must!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

I love this dress! My fiancé asked who makes it he wanted to buy it for me!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was nervous because the reviews seem to suggest that the dress was very narrow in the hips so I got a size up as well. The smaller size fit exactly. One thing, it tapers down from the hip so going to the ladies room may require careful work, as the dress does not stretch at all. So my suggestion is to order two sizes and scooch up the skirt to see if it works out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Great holiday party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Dress is a gorgeous fabric and pattern. Th length is elegant and flattering. The dress was big around my waist, I usually wear a 4 and wore a 4 in this dress. Also recommend getting the temporary hem for shorter women.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

It was perfect! I loved it and receive many compliments. It fit like a glove and it looked amazing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was true to size. It fit perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2013

Great style and color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Dress was pretty but seemed to run large. I am a 34ddd but this dress ran large through the top. Very sophisticated dress. Loved the fabric.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 26, 2013

Fit was strange and fabric was unattractive in person

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Rented this for an interview and ended up wearing the backup dress. The fabric is much more brocade in person and it was meant for night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Beautiful but tight

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I would size up on this dress. The dress has no give at all, it was even hard to sit down let alone walk around. Beautiful color, nice cut, and photographed nicely.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 30, 2013

Very simple and beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
4 wasn't available on short notice so I rented the 6 - loose fit on top but tight in the leg area. Still was a beautiful dress! The color is gorgeous and the style is very flattering.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Beautiful dress, loved the fabric and color but it didn't fit quite right.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The size 6 fit perfectly in the hips and butt area as well as the chest (I could wear a bra with it), however, it was HUGE in the true waist/stomach area. I opted to wear the size 4 which was tight under the arms and chest (unable to wear a bra) and around the hips and butt. It was perfect in the midsection though. There is no stretch in this dress but the back slit does help allow movement. I really feel like I was in between sizes. I didn't have time to pick another dress because I needed this for a Holiday photoshoot. I would not rent again because of the fit issues, but it is a gorgeous dress and color.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 20, 2013

the color was perfect

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
for me it was a little long since im short but nothing some double tape fix the fit was perfect it made me feel sexy and classy at the same time
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

Fit like a glove and was perfectly appropriate for the Xmas party I wore it to.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
In a perfect world it would have been one inch shorter.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 18, 2013

I wore this to a friends wedding and I got so many compliments on it, esp the color- its gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 fit me very well but it was a little tight in the bust. The 6 was too large so I went with the 4.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 19, 2013

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tight in the hips, but I knew that it probably would be since I usually wear a 2 in dress that are not fitted on the hips, but this dress would have been too loose in the top if I had gone with the four. Just throw on some spanxx.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 24, 2013

Beautiful dress, but sadly not for me!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
When the dress arrived the fabric has alot more sheen than expected. Unfortunately this style of peplum did not work for my body type and was later returned.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

It is a unique, stunning dress, and it was fun to wear.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There is no wiggle room; the fabric does not give, so you might need to wear spanx, and you will definitely need to be comfortable in a form fitting dress. But it is really beautiful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

So elegant!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was beautiful and elegant. I don't think that it's the type of dress that's going to immediately stand out at an event -- which makes it a great wedding guest dress. It polished and classic and a great bet for a wedding.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

Love the print! Photos online don't do it justice

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a seize smaller on top than on bottom so at times dresses are a hard fit for me. Overall the dress was true to size but a bit big on the top for me which happens a lot. This dress has no stretch whatsoever, so it was a bit hard to sit down. I had a minor freak out when it ripped a few inches up the back slit but I was able to get a sewing kit at my hotel and it was a quick fix. Everyone who asked about my dress was so surprised that I had rented it without ever trying it on. Next time I would definitely make an appointment at the NYC showroom to try on beforehand because I live in the city.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2013

Wore this for a convention and it was perfect-just formal enough but still fashionable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress-was a bit tight around the hips though, heavy material in cae you are in a hot place/outside.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 26, 2013

ended up not wearing it but it is a beaut!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am currently a 10 but ordered the 12 since the dress didn't seem to have any give. Ordered this as my back up dress and unfortunately, it was too loose and didn't have a back up size. It is really gorgeous however and the material and color is spectacular. I also loved that it hit right below my knee.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 28, 2013

Sophisticated and fun!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. I felt very sophisticated and chic, yet still fun. I would say I am somewhere between a 12 and a 14, and went with the 14 for a more comfortable fit but the dress runs pretty true to size if not a little on the small side. The fabric is a really great bright floral print that is more far spectacular in person than in the picture. I would highly recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 21, 2013

This was my back up dress. Good fit and very pretty dress but it is best for evening only.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very pretty dress and the colors are rich but in my opionion it is certainly best suited for a nightime event. I had it for a graduation event that was during the day and it was "too much" for a daytime Spring event. The texture, quality and colors are very nice. My daughters thought it was a bit too long but I am only 5'4".
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
May 23, 2013

This was perfect. I received nothing but compliments all night long.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was hard to sit in and I'm not hippy but fit in the bust area perfectly and I have large a large bust.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 17, 2013

Stunning!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely stunning dress. Unfortunately, both sizes I rented were too large and I didn't have any time before the event to rent a smaller size. So pretty, classic and stunning - I just wish I rented the correct size!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2013

Perfect cocktail dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is well-tailored and the fabric looks even better in person than in the photos. A forewarning that the fabric has no stretch whatsoever, but I could still dance comfortably. For larger busted gals, this dress actually works well. The notes on the dress are confusing because it notes that it is only for an A-C cup, but is good for larger busts. I gave it a shot and it was not tight. One of the positive parts of this dress is that you can wear it in either a modern or classic way via shoes/jewelry. My fiance really loved it as did the other wedding guests. After all of the compliments, I am highly tempted to buy it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Cute dress but ran big.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The color and pattern of this dress was gorgeous but the bottom ran big and made me look bottom heavy so I returned it and did not wear it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Didn't make it out of the hotel room...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I heard the warnings that this was a bit tight in the hips, and so it was. I looked great standing up, but figured I'd not be able to sit all night. The alternate size 6 was too big all over. I LOVED the color, but my husband did not like it. Maybe I'll try this again when I lose 10 pounds and am attending a party my husband is not going to!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Gorgeous fabric and color and flattering silhouette

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a gorgeous dress and I felt great in it. Only note is to curvier girls: I am smaller in the waist and larger in the butt, so it fit very snug in my butt and was loose in my waist.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Bummed

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I was so excited for this dress - but the waist was wayy too loose. The cut is kind of boxy the whole way down so I don't think it's appropriate for people who have natural curves.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

I received a TON of complements on this dress! Loved it for a late February with black tights.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well and the cut at the shoulders is really flattering. FYI: make sure to bring along a good steamer. There was a center crease that I couldn't get out with an iron.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs

Tight around the middle, but extremely loose up top.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Work
The dress felt very awkward. The bottom was tight but in a good way, the top had so much room it looked awkward and I couldn't wear it. And I am not small on top so it was odd. The peplum is flattering, but since it isn't in the front I felt like it made me look large.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×