Carmen Marc Valvo

Metallic Elderflower Dress

$186 to buy
$800 retail
Stylist Notes

Win best dressed in beaded brocade! This gold showstopper by Carmen Marc Valvo will shine through a sea of black dresses at the wedding reception. Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold Jacquard (60% Acetate, 28% Polyester, 12% Metallic Yarn). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full pleated skirt and beaded detail at waist. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(31)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2015
Didn't wear it.
Just too glitzy for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 14, 2015
Made for a pear shaped person
This was a very pretty dress, but didn't fit me in a flattering way. In the size 2, the top and waist fit me just fine, but the back side bubbled out in an unsexy way. This dress would look stunning on someone a bit more pear shaped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2015
Perfect dress for a Mad Men inspired event!
I wore this to a Mad Men/Cocktail attire wedding and received a ton of compliments! A few of the guests even asked if it was vintage. Very comfortable, full skirt (with pockets) allowed room for eating, drinking and dancing all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 46
November 13, 2015
I wore this dress as the maid of honor to a wedding.
Originally, I hadn't ordered this dress for my event. The dress I originally ordered wasn't returned in time to be shipped to me, so they selected this one for me instead. I had ordered a second style as a back up, but when I saw the dress I knew this was the one! The dress has a very elegant look, and fits snug if you have a larger chest (which I do). Overall, it was comfortable and light, and more beautiful in person than it looks in photos. I received compliments all night long on it. I'd definitely select this style again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2015
Comfortable, pretty, and it had pockets!
I gave this a rating of running true to size because I only had the size 8 to work with. I requested a 6 as well but there wasn't one available and based on some of the reviews I was worried it runs big. It didn't hang on me the way it does in the picture with the model, much loser with a size 8. I'm 5'10 and short waisted so usually syles with high waist like this dress don't flatter my body type but this one hung very nice for how much fabric there is at the bottom with the folds. That's a testament to the quality of the design. The gold was a little scratchy so had it been tighter it might have felt uncomfortable around the arm area. It was worn to a cocktail attire wedding and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2016
wore it for new years dance social. loved it and got lots of compliments.
we do ballroom dancing. dress was great overall. the inner lining was a little tighter so good as long as you are not a rockette high kicker you could move and dance wonderfully!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
April 9, 2014
Perfect dress for a black tie welcome wedding!
I felt like this dress was true to size. It's really pretty in person and also light and easy to move in so I was comfortable all night. Three things bothered me: 1) the skirt had a lot of fabric so when I sat, I just felt like there was a lot going on, 2) the neckline was super high and a little irritating at times, and 3) It has those snaps for your bra but my regular bra straps STILL poked out. Overall it was the perfect pick for a black tie welcome wedding in Charleston.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 30, 2014
RTR Girls at the Wedding
Rented this for a summer wedding in the Hamptons. I rented the 8 and 10 but could easily have worn the 6. It is a beautiful dress -- well made, lightweight pockets (!), and beautiful fabric. One woman at the wedding told me she had seen the fabric at a design center and asked if I had the dress made for me. Other reviews said you need a racer-back bra because the shoulders are slightly inset; however, the dress has lingerie straps so no worries there. Paired with gold shoes and gold jewelry but you could easily wear silver as the fabric is a silver and gold brocade. Dress looked just as fresh at the end of the evening as the beginning. I would definitely rent again. Photo is of two of us RTR-savvy women who know the best way to dress for any occassion is RTR! [I am the older blonde; the younger brunette was much cuter and a better advertisement for RTR!]
StashaSeptember 15, 2014
You look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2014
Nice dress, very comfortable
Reserved this dress as my back-up for a fancy afternoon wedding. The color is so much nicer in person than it appears in pictures but I did not like the beading at the front of the waist. Fabric is nice and light. Also, this was longer than I was looking for. Didn't end up wearing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
LOVED this dress!
I rented this dress for a Charity Christmas Ball. The dress was beautiful and I got compliments all night on it! It fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2015
Great dress!
The dress fit beautifully. Either silver or gold accessories can be used. I got a ton of compliments. The whole process was easy-peasy! I will definitely do this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 13, 2014
A lovely dress, but it didn't hold a candle to my other option.
I rented this dress to wear at our "rehearsal brunch" at One If By Land, Two If By Sea in the West Village. I knew I wanted something with a bit of Old Hollywood glamour, and this was a beautiful option which fit nicely (if a bit large). I wasn't crazy about the big rhinestones on the "belt" area. There wasn't anything wrong with the dress, however, once I put on the Lela Rose "Such a Charmer" dress there was no comparison.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
June 18, 2014
Wore this to my engagement party and everyone loved it! Way more gold than pictures show though
Fits well for large chest - more gold than expected but loved it. Was a little below knee for 5'6 me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
July 6, 2015
Did not wear
Didnt wear - pretty dress but not for me. the fabric looks heavy but its not at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2015
Beautiful with pockets!
I loved this dress. It was very comfortable and flattering. Being short, it was longer than I would like, but otherwise, it was perfect for a Spring gala event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2015
Wasn't a good fit for me
The dress was very nice but didn't fit or look good on me therefore I was glad I had another option of something to wear for a wedding.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 60
July 28, 2016
This dress was used for my first niece's wedding. It was perfect for the event.
This dress was so comfortable! A bonus - limited jewelry was needed.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×