Carmen Marc Valvo

Metallic Elderflower Dress

$186 to buy
$800 retail
Stylist Notes

Win best dressed in beaded brocade! This gold showstopper by Carmen Marc Valvo will shine through a sea of black dresses at the wedding reception. Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold Jacquard (60% Acetate, 28% Polyester, 12% Metallic Yarn). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full pleated skirt and beaded detail at waist. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(31)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2016
wore it for new years dance social. loved it and got lots of compliments.
we do ballroom dancing. dress was great overall. the inner lining was a little tighter so good as long as you are not a rockette high kicker you could move and dance wonderfully!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
February 26, 2016
Beautiful wedding at a vineyard, and the dress was perfect - I received compliments all night long!
Fitted on the top, with PLENTY of room from the hips down. Very elegant and a nice alternative to black...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
April 9, 2014
Perfect dress for a black tie welcome wedding!
I felt like this dress was true to size. It's really pretty in person and also light and easy to move in so I was comfortable all night. Three things bothered me: 1) the skirt had a lot of fabric so when I sat, I just felt like there was a lot going on, 2) the neckline was super high and a little irritating at times, and 3) It has those snaps for your bra but my regular bra straps STILL poked out. Overall it was the perfect pick for a black tie welcome wedding in Charleston.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 30, 2014
RTR Girls at the Wedding
Rented this for a summer wedding in the Hamptons. I rented the 8 and 10 but could easily have worn the 6. It is a beautiful dress -- well made, lightweight pockets (!), and beautiful fabric. One woman at the wedding told me she had seen the fabric at a design center and asked if I had the dress made for me. Other reviews said you need a racer-back bra because the shoulders are slightly inset; however, the dress has lingerie straps so no worries there. Paired with gold shoes and gold jewelry but you could easily wear silver as the fabric is a silver and gold brocade. Dress looked just as fresh at the end of the evening as the beginning. I would definitely rent again. Photo is of two of us RTR-savvy women who know the best way to dress for any occassion is RTR! [I am the older blonde; the younger brunette was much cuter and a better advertisement for RTR!]
StashaSeptember 15, 2014
You look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2014
Nice dress, very comfortable
Reserved this dress as my back-up for a fancy afternoon wedding. The color is so much nicer in person than it appears in pictures but I did not like the beading at the front of the waist. Fabric is nice and light. Also, this was longer than I was looking for. Didn't end up wearing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 22, 2014
Great dress for hospital foundation gala.
I am 5'2" and 125 lbs. the 2 fit great but was a little longer than I wanted. I felt a tiny bit like the mother of the bride. I'm 45 but felt like this dress made me look a little older. My friends and husband disagreed and thought I looked great. Had a fun night and would definitely rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
LOVED this dress!
I rented this dress for a Charity Christmas Ball. The dress was beautiful and I got compliments all night on it! It fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2015
Reaction to this dress was INSANE. I've never received as many compliments as I did with this dress
I typically wear a 2-4, but this size 0 fit perfectly. I'm 5'2" and it hit bottom of knee. I thought dress was nice, nothing spectacular. I wore to my husband's work awards ceremony, a huge event with 500+ attendees. I swear, half of them came over to tell me how fabulous the dress was.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 27, 2015
Stunning dress - tons of compliments!
Beautiful dress. I felt beautiful and received compliments from complete strangers. Love the pockets - always fun. Fit great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2015
Great dress!
The dress fit beautifully. Either silver or gold accessories can be used. I got a ton of compliments. The whole process was easy-peasy! I will definitely do this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 13, 2014
A lovely dress, but it didn't hold a candle to my other option.
I rented this dress to wear at our "rehearsal brunch" at One If By Land, Two If By Sea in the West Village. I knew I wanted something with a bit of Old Hollywood glamour, and this was a beautiful option which fit nicely (if a bit large). I wasn't crazy about the big rhinestones on the "belt" area. There wasn't anything wrong with the dress, however, once I put on the Lela Rose "Such a Charmer" dress there was no comparison.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
June 18, 2014
Wore this to my engagement party and everyone loved it! Way more gold than pictures show though
Fits well for large chest - more gold than expected but loved it. Was a little below knee for 5'6 me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
July 6, 2015
Did not wear
Didnt wear - pretty dress but not for me. the fabric looks heavy but its not at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2015
Beautiful with pockets!
I loved this dress. It was very comfortable and flattering. Being short, it was longer than I would like, but otherwise, it was perfect for a Spring gala event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2015
Wasn't a good fit for me
The dress was very nice but didn't fit or look good on me therefore I was glad I had another option of something to wear for a wedding.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 60
July 28, 2016
This dress was used for my first niece's wedding. It was perfect for the event.
This dress was so comfortable! A bonus - limited jewelry was needed.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2017
I wore this dress to my daughter's wedding!
I ordered this dress in size 6 with backup 8. The 6 was loose so I was able to get a 4 at the last minute and it fit great! This dress is very comfortable, glamorous and even has pockets which I loved for my lipstick! The service is wonderful at RTR! I would definitely recommend them and this dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×