Love Is In The Air Sheath

$101 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this simple yet memorable Carmen Marc Valvo style that will make you look and feel like a queen for the dinner party! Accessorize with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver lace (60% rayon 30% metallic 10% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Fitted body. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(48)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 18, 2014
Perfect fit, beautiful fabric!
This was a great dress for my rehearsal dinner! It hit right at my knees but fit great at my hips and bust to make it a little sexy. The fabric is a heavy grey/silver lace and I only wore a small silver necklace and small pearl earrings- didn't need much else. I also wore patent nude heels. Lastly, I wore a strapless bra because the shoulder area doesn't cover regular bra straps (even racer back), and I threw on some spanx to make the shape a little smoother. Overall a great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 4, 2014
A little tight
Tight on the bottom, my own fault for thinking a pear could wear a dress like this.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 5, 2014
I needed a dress for a bridal shower, and I couldn't find one in stores. This dress was perfect!
I ordered a 2 and a 4 because some of the reviews said it runs small. I feel that the dress ran true to size, and the 2 was correct for me. Because I'm short, The length was below my knees while standing, but above my knees while sitting. The color was gorgeous, and the material was comfortable. You can see in my third picture that the mid section has a pooch to it. I noticed it when I tried the dress on, but there was nothing that could be done about it. It wasn't very noticeable. I think this dress would work better for women who have had babies or are pregnant and need a little more room for their lower stomach area. That would also help bring the length to where it should be. I think if I would have tried on a 0 it would have been too small but the length would have worked and the extra material in the midsection would have been less noticeable. All in all, a perfect dress for the occasion! Very well priced too!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 11, 2014
Great dress for a formal daytime affair or work party!
The dress was a little tight around the bust area -- I was able to fit into the 8 (my usual size) but the 10 was far more comfortable and flattering so I ended up wearing that size instead. The dress is very flattering however, and I got tons of compliments! I wore it to a baptism.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 14, 2014
beautiful dress..loved the embroiderey n color!
dress runs a lil big if you have a small waist..i had to take in the waist with saftey pins but then it fit nicely. A lil snug if you have fuller breast but the size 6 was way too big. All n all once I tweaked it a bit..I loved how it looked on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Beautiful dress, would purchase.
Form fitting. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Polishes nicely
Say what you will about RTR, their customer service is the gold standard. I had originally rented a Christmas sweater for this weekend, but apparently it came back damaged, and so they offered to send me anything I wanted, no extra charge. I also had a work conference this weekend so they helped me find this. This is a really nice dress, although with shifts it's always a toss-up if it will fit the wearer's particular figure. For me this was a little loose in the waist and snug in the hips and shoulders. It's a bit tight sitting down and the top kind of rides up into your neck if you're not careful. But aside from those, it looks good. I'm listing many complaints but I felt like a million bucks.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress, the metallic lace is stunning!
This dress is far more beautiful in person, and it was perfect for my rehearsal dinner before our New Year's Eve wedding. It has very little give and the fit can be interesting. I ordered the 4 and the 6 for that reason based on other reviews. I wore the 4 and it worked but it fit very narrow through the hips. The six was significantly larger than the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2015
Worn to a baptism- it was perfect .
Only thing I didn't like about this dress was that I was tight under my arms and caused some irritation; dress was otherwise beautiful and in great condition!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 23, 2015
Great for a business Black Tie Optional affair!
I usually wear a 6 but I ended up wearing the 4. The fit was great! I'm not very busty (34C) the dress was tight across my chest, I couldn't wear a bra but it wasn't needed anyway. The dress looks white on the model but it's really thicker lace that has metallic silver thread. It was great for a dressy professional event but with fun jewelry it would be appropriate for less formal events too. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2015
Rehearsal Dinner
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person, but unfortunately it didn't fit me at all. I rented this for my rehearsal dinner, so I was pretty upset that it didn't fit. I am a perfect size 12 in all my clothes, but being designer clothes, I know that they tend to run small, so I rented a 12 and a 14. The 14 wouldn't even zip in the back, nor was it even close to zipping. I gave it four stars because it was really pretty in person and if it had fit me, I know it would've looked really nice on me. Oh well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2015
Very sophisticated!
Beautiful dress, but to be honest I felt a little "mother of the bride" in it, which is why I gave it 4 stars - I didn't necessarily feel beautiful in it. It's a sophisticated dress and is much shinier in person than appears in photos. The lace is very heavy, heavily lined, so definitely a formal type feeling. I wear a 36DD-DDD so the girls were definitely cramped, but I find that to be pretty normal with most dresses and especially sheaths. It didn't feel too tight (aside for the chest) when standing, but I'm sure I was quite comical trying to get into my car because there was no bending - definitely no stretch to the material! I ordered a 10 as my backup, but it looked frumpy standing, though did give me more room for bending. Pretty dress, but did not wow me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
March 12, 2015
It looked super fancy but was extremely affordable.
I usually fluctuate between a 12 and a 14. As of right now I can comfortably fit into a size 14. This dress definitely ran a size small, it fit like a 12. I'm very petite so this dress didn't fit me as well as a petite size dress would. It was a little long and the waist fell lower than I'd like. The dress didn't have much give either. Overall, I got so many compliments on how great it looked. I would definitely (and already have) recommended it to many people. I'm pretty happy with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2015
A quick trip to Macy's for foundation wear saved the day!
Unfortunately, the 12 wasn't available when I ordered, so I only got one size, the 10. I could zip it, but I wouldn't have been able to wear it for the night. I needed the 12. But I really wanted to wear it, so off to the mall I went, bought some spanx and I was fine. I bought a couple inches! The dress was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 10, 2015
Pretty, but not best for pears
The dress is super pretty. I would have loved to wear it, but the dress is not meant for drastic pears like me. My waist is disproportionately smaller than my hips. So the dress fit everywhere except my waist. It was huge there. At least 4-5in too big. The lace is beautiful and so is the color. Too bad it didn't fit me well :(
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2015
I felt beautiful and elegant in this dress.
It was true to size and form fitting.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 1, 2015
Perfect for my bridal shower!
The dress was exactly what I wanted for my shower. The sparkle was a nice something extra without being too glitzy. I received a lot of compliments and it was very comfortable. The just above the knee length was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 27, 2015
Beautiful dress - nice lace overlay with shimmer/sparkle thread.
I wore this to work and I receive lots of complements. It is classy and sophisticated but a little large. I am 5'8, 125 lbs and the 4 was a little too big in the hips and waist. Overall, I really like this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 1, 2015
I wore dress for 25th anniversary party . I loved it and the fit was great. I got tons of compliment
The fit was great for me. I did have to keep bra straps pushed in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Weight: 150lbs
September 22, 2015
A lovely dress for an outdoor wedding! Beautiful lace and sparkle and good fit for a large bust.
Completing this review for my mother, who I wore the dress. She says, "Loved, loved wearing this elegant lace, slightly-shimmery sheath dress to my niece's tres-chic Newport, R.I. seaside wedding. Because of this exquisite piece, I felt completely confident I was representing our family's Fashion Designer sensibilities - as local media photographers were shooting the event. I highly recommend this dress - if you want to subtly dazzle everyone with shimmering sophistication!"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 24, 2015
Great for bridal shower - more silver/grey than white
This wasn't my favorite RTR dress, but it worked great for my second bridal shower. It was a little big in the mid-section, but I was sitting most of the time, so that turned out to be a good thing. Overall a nice dress and no regrets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2015
Perfect for the occasion. I'm thinking about wearing it again for a Christmas office party.
No issues at all!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 15, 2016
Nice Dress, tight hem
Loved the dress hated the hem. The hem at the bottom of the dress was snug to the point of difficulty walking up stairs and dancing. Standing still and regular walking were no issues. The venue had lots of stairs so to my dismay it was a pain. It truly fit great everywhere else so if you slimmer in your bottom half I'm sure you'll be fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect dress for a courthouse wedding!
I rented this to wear to my courthouse wedding after getting married in Mexico. The dress is stunning and I received tons of compliments, even from random strangers when we were out for brunch. It is a bit more silver than it looks on the model. The lace was impeccable. The fit is true to size, but it has a little bit of extra room in the belly area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
February 16, 2013
Perfect Dress for our cityhall wedding!!!
This Dress was elegant and looked wonderful in person as well in pictures. The dress is SILVER not white as shown on the model, but the details on the lace was breathtaking and the dress is fitted. M first experience and I will definitely rent again. Dress was clean, looked brand new. Thank you RTR I had the perfect dress!
KristyJune 12, 2013
Congratulations! You look gorgeous and sooo happy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 29, 2013
Gorgeous!
This sheath is silver in color. Very elegant - classy. Perfect for my wedding!
LibbyMay 22, 2014
Love the necklace, did you rent it?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for my bridal shower!!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments! Like many other reviewers state, there is no give/stretch in this dress. The 4 fit me but was super tight and walking around or sitting to open gifts would have been difficult in it, so I wore the 6 which was a little loose in some areas, but not too bad. The dress is much more silver than in the photo on the model, it is even a little metallic, but very pretty. Once again, a great RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2014
Awesome dress!
Not much "give" in the fabric, but still the fit was great. More sparkly in person than I thought it would be!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, very comfortable.
Beautiful dress for the money, loved it. Felt dressed for the wedding. Had a strapless bra. Fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 30, 2014
Elegant Rehearsal Dinner Dress
I ordered a 4 and a 6 after reading some of the reviews. I was afraid this dress ran big. The 4 didn't even zip past my bust, but the 6 fit great. I'm glad I didn't order an 8, because I think it would have been too big. At the end of the night, I was kind of glad to finally take it off because it was sort of tight around the bust area, but it didn't become uncomfortable until after 5+ hours of wearing it. The top layer is a bit "shimmery", but it's not over the top. Very elegant dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 29, 2015
Wonderful lakeside wedding
Fit was great, comfortable dress, got lots of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2015
This dress was perfect for a wedding!
I was the Maid of Honor at my sister's wedding this past weekend, and this dress was perfect! I thought I had ordered both the 4 and 6, but only the 6 arrived. It was a little too large in the abdomen area, but I made it work. I am somewhere in between a 4 and 6, but the 4 would have been perfect. However, having the 6 made movement much easier--sitting, dancing, etc. My sister wanted dresses more on the conservative side, so this was perfect. It hit right above my knee and covered everything you wanted it to. I'd highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 23, 2015
Classy
The dress is classy and beautiful. I am tall and lean and it was a perfect fit when I was standing. However, The cut is narrow and therefore a little tight from the waist down when seated. I would rent the stress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2015
Big difference in these two sizes
I rented the 12 and the 14. My usual size, 12, was too snug in all the wrong places, and I couldn't even sit down while wearing the dress. The 14, however, was too big! There's a big size difference between these two sizes. The 14 was more tent-like and was not form fitting like the 12. It was still a bit hard to sit in (and getting in the car was a challenge!). The color was very pretty, though. The fit just wasn't great. I would not rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2013
Awful fit for busty women!
I am a size 12 and ordered both the 12 and 14 - neither of them fit. Even if the 14 had zipped up, the top of the dress was very snug while the stomach area was baggy. I have ordered other dresses on RTR and a size 12 always fits perfectly. There is no stretch to the dress and it feels much more matronly than the pictures. I was not a fan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 30, 2013
I looked fabulous
it did run small but it did not cling to your body. loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2013
I loved this dress. The fit was perfect. very comfortable
I liked that this dress didn't need a lot of jewelry. Also, I think that this neckline is very flattering. I love the shoulder line.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
March 27, 2014
I LOVED this dress!!
The dress is simply beautiful and elegant. I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
May 6, 2014
Very thick and shiny.
Seemed like a dress aimed at the older crowd. It was thick and shiny/silvery. Too "old" for my taste.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 3, 2014
Too small through the hips.
The overall dress is more silver than the picture gives it credit for. This dress was WAY to small through the hips and I was unable to wear it. If you have larger hips at all and are not straight and narrow this dress will not work for you.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×