Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Love Is In The Air Sheath

$40 rental
$565 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this simple yet memorable Carmen Marc Valvo style that will make you look and feel like a queen for the dinner party! Accessorize with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver lace (60% rayon 30% metallic 10% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Fitted body. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

72 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 43
Large 8
Photos 44
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 11, 2013

Awful fit for busty women!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am a size 12 and ordered both the 12 and 14 - neither of them fit. Even if the 14 had zipped up, the top of the dress was very snug while the stomach area was baggy. I have ordered other dresses on RTR and a size 12 always fits perfectly. There is no stretch to the dress and it feels much more matronly than the pictures. I was not a fan.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Perfect fit and was so beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First time I rented a dress and couldn't have been more pleased. Dress was in perfect condition and looked great. Fit was perfect. Received many compliments. Would do it again in a minute and can not wait for the next occassion.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

I wore this for my courthouse wedding and it was beautiful!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect. I could have worn the 10, but I'm a little curvy through my hips so I went with the 12. I loved the length (right about at the knee). The dress is more silver than white, but that's because of the lace overlay. The dress showed up on time and it was easy to return. I'll look forward to using the service again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

dressy date night <3

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress out to dinner and I wore a 4. It fit well but the mid section was too big. I had to wear a belt with it. the 2 would have been too small, the 6 would have really been too big. I have a pretty slim figure so I was disappointed it didn't fit snug but it still was cute. I wore a big sparkly necklace with it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 17, 2013

Very flatering great for all occasions

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit great and true to size. I wear a size 4 and got a 4 and 6 just in case, wore the 4 and had room to spare. Wore it with the necklace shown and handbag and it all went together perfectly
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Didn't wear it out because it didn't fit right, but I loved the dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wouldn't suggest this dress to someone who is curvy. If you wear your normal size it's way too big, and size smaller gives you this weird bubble in the front.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Elegant!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was very nice, but I would have preferred a larger size if one was available. The skirt has no slit and no give, so it was sometimes difficult to move around in. When I was looking at the pictures online, I thought it was white - nope, it's definitely silver! However, it was a very elegant dress, and I received a lot of complements. The length was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 23, 2013

Beautiful but No Give

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding but was unable to wear it. It was very tight when I tried to sit down and had absolutely no give or stretch. The pictures also do not depict the color well - it is gray with a silver lace overlay, so prettier than in most of the pictures. It is beautiful and well made...I wish it fit better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

I looked fabulous

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it did run small but it did not cling to your body. loved it
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

I loved this dress. The fit was perfect. very comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked that this dress didn't need a lot of jewelry. Also, I think that this neckline is very flattering. I love the shoulder line.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 27, 2013

Back up dress, ended up not wearing. Very gray.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing this--it was just a back up dress. I expected the dress to be lighter but it was really heavy, gray/silver. Not a bad dress, just different from what I expected.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Feb 18, 2014

Weird arm holes, but otherwise nice

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Note, this dress is more silver than it looks in the photos. I wore this to my wedding brunch with a cardigan over top. The top really cuts in, so it is somewhat difficult to wear a regular bra. Otherwise it was nice and fit what I was looking for.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 4, 2014

Beautiful silvery color and lacey texture

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event because the dress was too tight for my hips. This was a backup dress that was a bit tight for a formal work event so I was overnighted this one as a substitute. The layer underneath the dress has absolutely no give to it and It wasn't fitting my hips so I was not able to wear it. Beautiful dress though. Pictures don't do it justice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 6, 2014

I wore this dress to a morning after brunch at a pretty fancy place. It was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6, but a size 4 fit...although a little snug, especially around the thighs for me. I only got the size 4 so I didn't really have a choice. It was also a little loose around the waist...an odd fit. If you have bigger boobs and thighs, I would be careful picking this dress. The fabric also irritated my armpits a little. I only noticed that I was a little red when I was ready to take it off.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

I LOVED this dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is simply beautiful and elegant. I would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
May 4, 2014

Gorgeous dress; perfect fit. Dress was showstopper at the fundraising gala. Compliments all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect. Dress has delicate lace, so be careful not snagging it. The sharp RTR hanger kept getting stuck in lace when transporting/removing dress from bag.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
May 6, 2014

Very thick and shiny.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Seemed like a dress aimed at the older crowd. It was thick and shiny/silvery. Too "old" for my taste.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
May 12, 2014

Great simple look!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little big in the waist. Nice look for the daytime affair.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Dress was perfect for a formal wedding. Received lots of compliments. Great RTR experience!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size, does require a strapless bra or one that crosses in back. Paired it with Ben-Amun Dressed in White earrings and a pearl bracelet to complete the formal look.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

I wore this to my rehearsal dinner, and it was nearly perfect.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fit - I am a true pear shape. The 2 fit perfectly in the hips/thighs, but the stomach/waist/chest area was way too loose. Unfortunately, I didn't order the 0, and the 0 may have not fit over my thighs and butt! Also, being on the shorter side, I would have preferred the length be a little shorter - it hit an inch or so past my knees. It was pretty and elegant, but the fit made it look a bit sloppy. And like other reviews, it's definitely more silver than white.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

My friend's rehearsal dinner was fantastic even though I could not wear the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was beautiful, but it did not fit me. I got a size 10. It was too tight on my thighs and the fabric didn't provide any give. I was unable to wear the dress to a rehearsal dinner. I ordered a size 12 for back up but only size 10 arrived.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Brother's wedding

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did not wear this dress. Love the dress, very pretty fabric. Unfortunately, it was just a little more form fitting than I am comfortable with.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

just wasn't right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
material was too heavy for summer size 2 wouldn't zip at the bust yet size 4 was saggy all over
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Too small through the hips.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The overall dress is more silver than the picture gives it credit for. This dress was WAY to small through the hips and I was unable to wear it. If you have larger hips at all and are not straight and narrow this dress will not work for you.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

A little tight

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tight on the bottom, my own fault for thinking a pear could wear a dress like this.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Great dress for a formal daytime affair or work party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little tight around the bust area -- I was able to fit into the 8 (my usual size) but the 10 was far more comfortable and flattering so I ended up wearing that size instead. The dress is very flattering however, and I got tons of compliments! I wore it to a baptism.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Beautiful dress, would purchase.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting. Great dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Jan 4, 2015

Too little

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
Incredibly form fitting. I wear a 14 normally and this was way too tight. It's a shame because lace and color (silver not white) were perfect for a winter wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 5, 2015

Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person, but unfortunately it didn't fit me at all. I rented this for my rehearsal dinner, so I was pretty upset that it didn't fit. I am a perfect size 12 in all my clothes, but being designer clothes, I know that they tend to run small, so I rented a 12 and a 14. The 14 wouldn't even zip in the back, nor was it even close to zipping. I gave it four stars because it was really pretty in person and if it had fit me, I know it would've looked really nice on me. Oh well!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

A quick trip to Macy's for foundation wear saved the day!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, the 12 wasn't available when I ordered, so I only got one size, the 10. I could zip it, but I wouldn't have been able to wear it for the night. I needed the 12. But I really wanted to wear it, so off to the mall I went, bought some spanx and I was fine. I bought a couple inches! The dress was beautiful!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 7, 2015

This dress was perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was the Maid of Honor at my sister's wedding this past weekend, and this dress was perfect! I thought I had ordered both the 4 and 6, but only the 6 arrived. It was a little too large in the abdomen area, but I made it work. I am somewhere in between a 4 and 6, but the 4 would have been perfect. However, having the 6 made movement much easier--sitting, dancing, etc. My sister wanted dresses more on the conservative side, so this was perfect. It hit right above my knee and covered everything you wanted it to. I'd highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
May 10, 2015

Pretty, but not best for pears

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is super pretty. I would have loved to wear it, but the dress is not meant for drastic pears like me. My waist is disproportionately smaller than my hips. So the dress fit everywhere except my waist. It was huge there. At least 4-5in too big. The lace is beautiful and so is the color. Too bad it didn't fit me well :(
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×