Carmen Marc Valvo

Love Is In The Air Sheath

$101 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this simple yet memorable Carmen Marc Valvo style that will make you look and feel like a queen for the dinner party! Accessorize with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver lace (60% rayon 30% metallic 10% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Fitted body. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(48)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
February 28, 2013
I wore this for my courthouse wedding and it was beautiful!

The fit was perfect. I could have worn the 10, but I'm a little curvy through my hips so I went with the 12. I loved the length (right about at the knee). The dress is more silver than white, but that's because of the lace overlay. The dress showed up on time and it was easy to return. I'll look forward to using the service again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
May 8, 2013
Comfy fit, flattering shape

It was more grey than I expected, but worked just fine for our Black and White party. I went with the same bag the model shows - that was also awesome! The dress was easy and comfortable to wear.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect dress for the occasion

I wore this dress to my son's Mother Son Dance. It was beautiful and flattering. I am a size 8, and have an hourglass figure, and this was exactly right. Make sure you have a good strapless bra to wear underneath since the straps on a regular bra showed.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 16, 2013
The dress is conservative but sexy

I had tons of compliments on the dress. It really fit perfect. I loved the color which I thought was more silver than grey. It might pull on your neck if you don't watch when you sit in the dress but it didn't take long to adjust and sit down carefully. I wore it to my step sons wedding. I didn't wear a strapless bra I just crossed my straps in the back and that fixed any issue of my straps showing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 17, 2013
Very flatering great for all occasions

fit great and true to size. I wear a size 4 and got a 4 and 6 just in case, wore the 4 and had room to spare. Wore it with the necklace shown and handbag and it all went together perfectly

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 23, 2013
Beautiful but No Give

I rented this dress for a summer wedding but was unable to wear it. It was very tight when I tried to sit down and had absolutely no give or stretch. The pictures also do not depict the color well - it is gray with a silver lace overlay, so prettier than in most of the pictures. It is beautiful and well made...I wish it fit better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 18, 2013
Loved the dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner at my home. Beautiful and easy process!

Perfecet

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2013
Back up dress, ended up not wearing. Very gray.

I ended up not wearing this--it was just a back up dress. I expected the dress to be lighter but it was really heavy, gray/silver. Not a bad dress, just different from what I expected.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2014
Weird arm holes, but otherwise nice

Note, this dress is more silver than it looks in the photos. I wore this to my wedding brunch with a cardigan over top. The top really cuts in, so it is somewhat difficult to wear a regular bra. Otherwise it was nice and fit what I was looking for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2014
Beautiful silvery color and lacey texture

I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event because the dress was too tight for my hips. This was a backup dress that was a bit tight for a formal work event so I was overnighted this one as a substitute. The layer underneath the dress has absolutely no give to it and It wasn't fitting my hips so I was not able to wear it. Beautiful dress though. Pictures don't do it justice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2014
I wore this dress to a morning after brunch at a pretty fancy place. It was perfect!

I usually wear a 6, but a size 4 fit...although a little snug, especially around the thighs for me. I only got the size 4 so I didn't really have a choice. It was also a little loose around the waist...an odd fit. If you have bigger boobs and thighs, I would be careful picking this dress. The fabric also irritated my armpits a little. I only noticed that I was a little red when I was ready to take it off.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 15, 2014
Elegant!! Just enough Sparkle!

The fit was great & comfortable to wear. Very true to size. A little more formal than I thought from the RTR pictures as it does have a silver shine to it. I dressed it down with a cardigan. Would be great for a summer cocktail party or wedding.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 4, 2014
Gorgeous dress; perfect fit. Dress was showstopper at the fundraising gala. Compliments all night.

Fit was perfect. Dress has delicate lace, so be careful not snagging it. The sharp RTR hanger kept getting stuck in lace when transporting/removing dress from bag.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 12, 2014
Great simple look!

A little big in the waist. Nice look for the daytime affair.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 27, 2014
Shiny graduation dress, but be careful of the arms!

I ordered this dress for my college graduation to go under a purple cap and gown. I thought it would be more of a muted color, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a bright silver dress! It fit well and had clasps to secure my bra straps, but be careful wearing a regular bra-- by pulling the straps into the dress, they'll dig into your arms/ shoulders. I ordered the 2 and the 4, and the 2 fit pretty well (there seemed to be a little extra fabric around my lower back, though).

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2014
This was for a black tie event for the university I went to.

It was a good fit. I wore the size I usually wear. The material has no give though, so bending down was hard. Definitely made for a woman with smaller boobs and more hips. Overall it was a great dress though. It is silver and even sparkly. Got a lot of compliments about it. Great for the price and occasion.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
June 9, 2014
Delivery and return were as simple as I could have asked for, no need to worry!

I loved this dress! I rented it for a Semi-formal Military Retirement Dinner. It was just formal enough without being a long dress. It was a little tight on my thighs when I sat down and the dress has no give, but ore than that it fit great. My husband loved the dress and I will definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 17, 2014
Dress was perfect for a formal wedding. Received lots of compliments. Great RTR experience!

Fit was true to size, does require a strapless bra or one that crosses in back. Paired it with Ben-Amun Dressed in White earrings and a pearl bracelet to complete the formal look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2014
Brother's wedding

I did not wear this dress. Love the dress, very pretty fabric. Unfortunately, it was just a little more form fitting than I am comfortable with.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
August 12, 2014
Perfect Classy Bridal Shower Dress

This dress was absolutely stunning, I got nothing but compliments all day! I wore it to my bridal shower. The dress was a bit tight on me, so I will warn anyone that may be thinking about renting -- make sure you get a size up, there is absolutely NO wiggle room. That being said, even though the dress was a bit snug, it looked so beautiful on me I HAD to wear it. The lace detail was beyond gorgeous and it has a little silver shimmer to it as well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 36
August 25, 2014
Received tons of compliments on this dress!

Wore this to a gala and it was perfect. I was worried about the fit but the fit was perfect. It was forgiving all over which hid my post baby body. Loved this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 2, 2014
Perfect dress for a London wedding

This was my backup dress for a wedding in London. Ended up wearing it and LOVED it. Because it was my backup, I only had it in one size. The size 8 would have fit better, but the 10 was fine. It is very straight so if you have big hips, I would not recommend. For someone like me with a straight, athletic figure, it was great. Wore it with a navy hat and navy Manolo d'Orsay pumps with a rhinestone detail. Could have worn silver shoes but I wanted to tie the hat and shoes together into the outfit. Note that you need to wear a racer-back bra or a strapless one as the sleeves are cut in. It gives a nice line to the dress, you just need an undergarment adjustment. Wedding was an all-day/all-night affair (starting at noon and ending after midnight) and I was perfectly comfortable the entire time. Great to dance in as well. Will definitely rent again -- a RTR winner!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 18, 2014
Perfect fit, beautiful fabric!

This was a great dress for my rehearsal dinner! It hit right at my knees but fit great at my hips and bust to make it a little sexy. The fabric is a heavy grey/silver lace and I only wore a small silver necklace and small pearl earrings- didn't need much else. I also wore patent nude heels. Lastly, I wore a strapless bra because the shoulder area doesn't cover regular bra straps (even racer back), and I threw on some spanx to make the shape a little smoother. Overall a great rental!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 5, 2014
I needed a dress for a bridal shower, and I couldn't find one in stores. This dress was perfect!

I ordered a 2 and a 4 because some of the reviews said it runs small. I feel that the dress ran true to size, and the 2 was correct for me. Because I'm short, The length was below my knees while standing, but above my knees while sitting. The color was gorgeous, and the material was comfortable. You can see in my third picture that the mid section has a pooch to it. I noticed it when I tried the dress on, but there was nothing that could be done about it. It wasn't very noticeable. I think this dress would work better for women who have had babies or are pregnant and need a little more room for their lower stomach area. That would also help bring the length to where it should be. I think if I would have tried on a 0 it would have been too small but the length would have worked and the extra material in the midsection would have been less noticeable. All in all, a perfect dress for the occasion! Very well priced too!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Polishes nicely

Say what you will about RTR, their customer service is the gold standard. I had originally rented a Christmas sweater for this weekend, but apparently it came back damaged, and so they offered to send me anything I wanted, no extra charge. I also had a work conference this weekend so they helped me find this. This is a really nice dress, although with shifts it's always a toss-up if it will fit the wearer's particular figure. For me this was a little loose in the waist and snug in the hips and shoulders. It's a bit tight sitting down and the top kind of rides up into your neck if you're not careful. But aside from those, it looks good. I'm listing many complaints but I felt like a million bucks.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2015
Worn to a baptism- it was perfect .

Only thing I didn't like about this dress was that I was tight under my arms and caused some irritation; dress was otherwise beautiful and in great condition!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2015
Very sophisticated!

Beautiful dress, but to be honest I felt a little "mother of the bride" in it, which is why I gave it 4 stars - I didn't necessarily feel beautiful in it. It's a sophisticated dress and is much shinier in person than appears in photos. The lace is very heavy, heavily lined, so definitely a formal type feeling. I wear a 36DD-DDD so the girls were definitely cramped, but I find that to be pretty normal with most dresses and especially sheaths. It didn't feel too tight (aside for the chest) when standing, but I'm sure I was quite comical trying to get into my car because there was no bending - definitely no stretch to the material! I ordered a 10 as my backup, but it looked frumpy standing, though did give me more room for bending. Pretty dress, but did not wow me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2015
A quick trip to Macy's for foundation wear saved the day!

Unfortunately, the 12 wasn't available when I ordered, so I only got one size, the 10. I could zip it, but I wouldn't have been able to wear it for the night. I needed the 12. But I really wanted to wear it, so off to the mall I went, bought some spanx and I was fine. I bought a couple inches! The dress was beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2015
I felt beautiful and elegant in this dress.

It was true to size and form fitting.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 1, 2015
I wore dress for 25th anniversary party . I loved it and the fit was great. I got tons of compliment

The fit was great for me. I did have to keep bra straps pushed in.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Weight: 150lbs
September 22, 2015
A lovely dress for an outdoor wedding! Beautiful lace and sparkle and good fit for a large bust.

Completing this review for my mother, who I wore the dress. She says, "Loved, loved wearing this elegant lace, slightly-shimmery sheath dress to my niece's tres-chic Newport, R.I. seaside wedding. Because of this exquisite piece, I felt completely confident I was representing our family's Fashion Designer sensibilities - as local media photographers were shooting the event. I highly recommend this dress - if you want to subtly dazzle everyone with shimmering sophistication!"

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2015
Perfect for the occasion. I'm thinking about wearing it again for a Christmas office party.

No issues at all!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect dress for a courthouse wedding!

I rented this to wear to my courthouse wedding after getting married in Mexico. The dress is stunning and I received tons of compliments, even from random strangers when we were out for brunch. It is a bit more silver than it looks on the model. The lace was impeccable. The fit is true to size, but it has a little bit of extra room in the belly area.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
February 16, 2013
Perfect Dress for our cityhall wedding!!!

This Dress was elegant and looked wonderful in person as well in pictures. The dress is SILVER not white as shown on the model, but the details on the lace was breathtaking and the dress is fitted. M first experience and I will definitely rent again. Dress was clean, looked brand new. Thank you RTR I had the perfect dress!

KristyFebruary 16, 2013
Congratulations! You look gorgeous and sooo happy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 29, 2013
Gorgeous!

This sheath is silver in color. Very elegant - classy. Perfect for my wedding!

LibbyNovember 29, 2013
Love the necklace, did you rent it?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for my bridal shower!!

I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments! Like many other reviewers state, there is no give/stretch in this dress. The 4 fit me but was super tight and walking around or sitting to open gifts would have been difficult in it, so I wore the 6 which was a little loose in some areas, but not too bad. The dress is much more silver than in the photo on the model, it is even a little metallic, but very pretty. Once again, a great RTR experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2014
Awesome dress!

Not much "give" in the fabric, but still the fit was great. More sparkly in person than I thought it would be!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, very comfortable.

Beautiful dress for the money, loved it. Felt dressed for the wedding. Had a strapless bra. Fit perfectly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 30, 2014
Elegant Rehearsal Dinner Dress

I ordered a 4 and a 6 after reading some of the reviews. I was afraid this dress ran big. The 4 didn't even zip past my bust, but the 6 fit great. I'm glad I didn't order an 8, because I think it would have been too big. At the end of the night, I was kind of glad to finally take it off because it was sort of tight around the bust area, but it didn't become uncomfortable until after 5+ hours of wearing it. The top layer is a bit "shimmery", but it's not over the top. Very elegant dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 29, 2015
Wonderful lakeside wedding

Fit was great, comfortable dress, got lots of compliments

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×