Carmen Marc Valvo

Love Is In The Air Sheath

$40 rental
$565 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this simple yet memorable Carmen Marc Valvo style that will make you look and feel like a queen for the dinner party! Accessorize with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver lace (60% rayon 30% metallic 10% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Fitted body. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

66 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 41
Large 6
Photos 42
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Great holiday dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
No stretch in material, would recommend sizing up for back up. Also runs narrow in the hips!
Stacy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Perfect dress for a courthouse wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this to wear to my courthouse wedding after getting married in Mexico. The dress is stunning and I received tons of compliments, even from random strangers when we were out for brunch. It is a bit more silver than it looks on the model. The lace was impeccable. The fit is true to size, but it has a little bit of extra room in the belly area.
irene
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

It was a beautiful dress for my happiest day ever...very simple n sophisticated

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everybody complimented the dress, i Just love it so much , I am definitely renting a dress from here again!
Kali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Love how easy RTR is

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is thick enough that it is very flattering. It was about knee length, it's best for a more conservative event, I wore it to a corporate holiday party.
Erica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

Perfect Dress for our cityhall wedding!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This Dress was elegant and looked wonderful in person as well in pictures. The dress is SILVER not white as shown on the model, but the details on the lace was breathtaking and the dress is fitted. M first experience and I will definitely rent again. Dress was clean, looked brand new. Thank you RTR I had the perfect dress!
Robyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
May 8, 2013

Comfy fit, flattering shape

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was more grey than I expected, but worked just fine for our Black and White party. I went with the same bag the model shows - that was also awesome! The dress was easy and comfortable to wear.
Maria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Perfect dress for the occasion

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my son's Mother Son Dance. It was beautiful and flattering. I am a size 8, and have an hourglass figure, and this was exactly right. Make sure you have a good strapless bra to wear underneath since the straps on a regular bra showed.
JackRules
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

The dress is conservative but sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had tons of compliments on the dress. It really fit perfect. I loved the color which I thought was more silver than grey. It might pull on your neck if you don't watch when you sit in the dress but it didn't take long to adjust and sit down carefully. I wore it to my step sons wedding. I didn't wear a strapless bra I just crossed my straps in the back and that fixed any issue of my straps showing.
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 18, 2013

Loved the dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner at my home. Beautiful and easy process!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfecet
Carla
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This sheath is silver in color. Very elegant - classy. Perfect for my wedding!
AMY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Nice dress, tight fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. It was nice, had a silvery almost blue sheen, lace, nice cut...now I will admit I have gained some weight over the fall/winter months, but I could barely get this dress over my thighs, which have never been an issue (it's the midsection if anything), I mean so tight, I had to be very careful how I walked, sat, no bending over, etc. Maybe it's just me, not sure...
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Elegant!! Just enough Sparkle!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was great & comfortable to wear. Very true to size. A little more formal than I thought from the RTR pictures as it does have a silver shine to it. I dressed it down with a cardigan. Would be great for a summer cocktail party or wedding.
Caity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect for my bridal shower!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments! Like many other reviewers state, there is no give/stretch in this dress. The 4 fit me but was super tight and walking around or sitting to open gifts would have been difficult in it, so I wore the 6 which was a little loose in some areas, but not too bad. The dress is much more silver than in the photo on the model, it is even a little metallic, but very pretty. Once again, a great RTR experience!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132 lbs
May 27, 2014

Shiny graduation dress, but be careful of the arms!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress for my college graduation to go under a purple cap and gown. I thought it would be more of a muted color, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a bright silver dress! It fit well and had clasps to secure my bra straps, but be careful wearing a regular bra-- by pulling the straps into the dress, they'll dig into your arms/ shoulders. I ordered the 2 and the 4, and the 2 fit pretty well (there seemed to be a little extra fabric around my lower back, though).
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
May 31, 2014

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Not much "give" in the fabric, but still the fit was great. More sparkly in person than I thought it would be!
Samantha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

This was for a black tie event for the university I went to.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a good fit. I wore the size I usually wear. The material has no give though, so bending down was hard. Definitely made for a woman with smaller boobs and more hips. Overall it was a great dress though. It is silver and even sparkly. Got a lot of compliments about it. Great for the price and occasion.
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Delivery and return were as simple as I could have asked for, no need to worry!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I rented it for a Semi-formal Military Retirement Dinner. It was just formal enough without being a long dress. It was a little tight on my thighs when I sat down and the dress has no give, but ore than that it fit great. My husband loved the dress and I will definitely rent again!
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful dress, very comfortable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress for the money, loved it. Felt dressed for the wedding. Had a strapless bra. Fit perfectly.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Jun 23, 2014

Had a statement dress for the affair. Received compliments all night.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 12 and 14. I'm in between sizes and definitely had to go with the 14. It was still somewhat tight in my hips but that is nothing new for me. I loved the lace detail and sparkle. It really was stunning. I was nervous about pairing with a blingy necklace but it actually pulled across great!
Jackie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

It was a private Maroon 5 concert and we got to walk the runway!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only negative is the fabric doesn't give much so it is a little hard to sit and bend down
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Elegant Rehearsal Dinner Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4 and a 6 after reading some of the reviews. I was afraid this dress ran big. The 4 didn't even zip past my bust, but the 6 fit great. I'm glad I didn't order an 8, because I think it would have been too big. At the end of the night, I was kind of glad to finally take it off because it was sort of tight around the bust area, but it didn't become uncomfortable until after 5+ hours of wearing it. The top layer is a bit "shimmery", but it's not over the top. Very elegant dress.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Beautiful, elegant dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding and was nervous after reading other reviews of brides or Mother of the Brides wearing the dress since it was a light color. It's definitely a silver/grey color and absolutely stunning for a wedding. It was very form-fitting around the bust and was kind of hard to sit/dance in, but I felt so beautiful in it that I didn't care!
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Perfect Classy Bridal Shower Dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely stunning, I got nothing but compliments all day! I wore it to my bridal shower. The dress was a bit tight on me, so I will warn anyone that may be thinking about renting -- make sure you get a size up, there is absolutely NO wiggle room. That being said, even though the dress was a bit snug, it looked so beautiful on me I HAD to wear it. The lace detail was beyond gorgeous and it has a little silver shimmer to it as well.
Farah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2014

Wore this dress to my boyfriend's work event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well over all, the arm cut out were the biggest issue. I felt like my arms were restricted, and the fabric irritated the underneath of my arms pretty bad by the end of the night. Also this dress was pretty difficult to sit down in! Standing up for the beginning of the night wasn't an issue, but the sit down dinner was very uncomfortable. Might have been better if I wore a bigger size though. Overall, I received lots of compliments on the dress and its fit, and it was completely appropriate for the type of event. Since there isn't much stretch of give in this dress, I suggest wearing a size up.
amber
Age: 33
Aug 25, 2014

Received tons of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a gala and it was perfect. I was worried about the fit but the fit was perfect. It was forgiving all over which hid my post baby body. Loved this dress.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Perfect dress for a London wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress for a wedding in London. Ended up wearing it and LOVED it. Because it was my backup, I only had it in one size. The size 8 would have fit better, but the 10 was fine. It is very straight so if you have big hips, I would not recommend. For someone like me with a straight, athletic figure, it was great. Wore it with a navy hat and navy Manolo d'Orsay pumps with a rhinestone detail. Could have worn silver shoes but I wanted to tie the hat and shoes together into the outfit. Note that you need to wear a racer-back bra or a strapless one as the sleeves are cut in. It gives a nice line to the dress, you just need an undergarment adjustment. Wedding was an all-day/all-night affair (starting at noon and ending after midnight) and I was perfectly comfortable the entire time. Great to dance in as well. Will definitely rent again -- a RTR winner!
Mallory
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

It was super convenient to not have to go buy a $200 dress that I'll wear one time!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little long, but besides that it was perfect
Gale
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Very classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully. There is no stretch or give so keep that in mind. I thought I would be a 6 but it was quite large. A bit scratchy under the arms. This was my first RTR dress and I will Definitely be using it again! A great experience.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

Perfect fit, beautiful fabric!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a great dress for my rehearsal dinner! It hit right at my knees but fit great at my hips and bust to make it a little sexy. The fabric is a heavy grey/silver lace and I only wore a small silver necklace and small pearl earrings- didn't need much else. I also wore patent nude heels. Lastly, I wore a strapless bra because the shoulder area doesn't cover regular bra straps (even racer back), and I threw on some spanx to make the shape a little smoother. Overall a great rental!
Brandi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

I needed a dress for a bridal shower, and I couldn't find one in stores. This dress was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered a 2 and a 4 because some of the reviews said it runs small. I feel that the dress ran true to size, and the 2 was correct for me. Because I'm short, The length was below my knees while standing, but above my knees while sitting. The color was gorgeous, and the material was comfortable. You can see in my third picture that the mid section has a pooch to it. I noticed it when I tried the dress on, but there was nothing that could be done about it. It wasn't very noticeable. I think this dress would work better for women who have had babies or are pregnant and need a little more room for their lower stomach area. That would also help bring the length to where it should be. I think if I would have tried on a 0 it would have been too small but the length would have worked and the extra material in the midsection would have been less noticeable. All in all, a perfect dress for the occasion! Very well priced too!
Inez
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

beautiful dress..loved the embroiderey n color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
dress runs a lil big if you have a small waist..i had to take in the waist with saftey pins but then it fit nicely. A lil snug if you have fuller breast but the size 6 was way too big. All n all once I tweaked it a bit..I loved how it looked on!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Beautiful dress, would purchase.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting. Great dress.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Dec 15, 2014

Polishes nicely

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Say what you will about RTR, their customer service is the gold standard. I had originally rented a Christmas sweater for this weekend, but apparently it came back damaged, and so they offered to send me anything I wanted, no extra charge. I also had a work conference this weekend so they helped me find this. This is a really nice dress, although with shifts it's always a toss-up if it will fit the wearer's particular figure. For me this was a little loose in the waist and snug in the hips and shoulders. It's a bit tight sitting down and the top kind of rides up into your neck if you're not careful. But aside from those, it looks good. I'm listing many complaints but I felt like a million bucks.
Laura
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Jan 4, 2015

Too little

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
Incredibly form fitting. I wear a 14 normally and this was way too tight. It's a shame because lace and color (silver not white) were perfect for a winter wedding.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Perfect rehearsal dinner dress, the metallic lace is stunning!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is far more beautiful in person, and it was perfect for my rehearsal dinner before our New Year's Eve wedding. It has very little give and the fit can be interesting. I ordered the 4 and the 6 for that reason based on other reviews. I wore the 4 and it worked but it fit very narrow through the hips. The six was significantly larger than the 4.
Marysa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 20, 2015

Worn to a baptism- it was perfect .

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only thing I didn't like about this dress was that I was tight under my arms and caused some irritation; dress was otherwise beautiful and in great condition!
Adriana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Great for a business Black Tie Optional affair!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6 but I ended up wearing the 4. The fit was great! I'm not very busty (34C) the dress was tight across my chest, I couldn't wear a bra but it wasn't needed anyway. The dress looks white on the model but it's really thicker lace that has metallic silver thread. It was great for a dressy professional event but with fun jewelry it would be appropriate for less formal events too. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 5, 2015

Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person, but unfortunately it didn't fit me at all. I rented this for my rehearsal dinner, so I was pretty upset that it didn't fit. I am a perfect size 12 in all my clothes, but being designer clothes, I know that they tend to run small, so I rented a 12 and a 14. The 14 wouldn't even zip in the back, nor was it even close to zipping. I gave it four stars because it was really pretty in person and if it had fit me, I know it would've looked really nice on me. Oh well!
Tawnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Very sophisticated!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, but to be honest I felt a little "mother of the bride" in it, which is why I gave it 4 stars - I didn't necessarily feel beautiful in it. It's a sophisticated dress and is much shinier in person than appears in photos. The lace is very heavy, heavily lined, so definitely a formal type feeling. I wear a 36DD-DDD so the girls were definitely cramped, but I find that to be pretty normal with most dresses and especially sheaths. It didn't feel too tight (aside for the chest) when standing, but I'm sure I was quite comical trying to get into my car because there was no bending - definitely no stretch to the material! I ordered a 10 as my backup, but it looked frumpy standing, though did give me more room for bending. Pretty dress, but did not wow me.
RTR Customer
Mar 12, 2015

It looked super fancy but was extremely affordable.

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Wedding
I usually fluctuate between a 12 and a 14. As of right now I can comfortably fit into a size 14. This dress definitely ran a size small, it fit like a 12. I'm very petite so this dress didn't fit me as well as a petite size dress would. It was a little long and the waist fell lower than I'd like. The dress didn't have much give either. Overall, I got so many compliments on how great it looked. I would definitely (and already have) recommended it to many people. I'm pretty happy with the dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×