Carmen Marc Valvo

Lady Lace Sequin Gown

$135 to buy

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stun the crowd in this Carmen Marc Valvo gown. You'll exude classic red carpet elegance at your next black tie event- get ready to strike a pose! For the ultra starlight look go with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black lace over nude silk with patterned beading(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Cowl neckline. Cowl back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
Beautiful, but short!!
I rented this for a black tie gala for work. The dress is beautiful, runs a little on the larger size, but is horribly short! I got the 4R. I'm just shy of 5'4" and the dress barely touched the floor while barefoot. It would have been impossible to wear heels, I didn't even feel comfortable wearing flats with it. I would recommend the dress, but unless you are shorter than 5'4" with shoes/heels on, I'd get the long.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress but not long enough.
I ordered both the 6 and the 8. The 6 was a perfect fit, and while technically long enough the tan lining was a few inches longer than the black lace overlay so it was just unwearable. I ended up wearing the 8 because I had no other choice but unfortunately it was little short and with only 2 inch heals was a good 2 inches of the ground, luckily I was sitting for a good portion of the night. Beautiful dress, but even with the long not meant for tall people.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress fit perfectly and was comfortable.
The fit was true to size and very comfortable. I had to tape the lining which showed below the lace hem. The length was fine with 3" heels.. I had the dress sent directly to the hotel and took along every pair of heels I own.. just in case! The dress arrived on time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
Felt like a celebrity!!
The dress arrived on time. I also ordered the 8L, which I would have worn except the tan slip was almost 10 inches longer than the black slip. This didn't look good at all so I decided to go with the 6L. The 6 fit fine, but the 8 was just a little more comfortable. Overall, I was VERY happy with the look and felt wonderful in the (6L) dress. I didn't wear a bra with this dress, just Flower Petals and it looked great. I wore a 3" heel and the dress was shorter than I would have liked but still worked well. If you are over 5'7", I would definitely recommend the long. Even if I'd worn flats I would have wanted the Long.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful, elegant, classy
I had a baby 3 weeks ago and was in the groom's party of a formal wedding, so I needed something beautiful that would fit my postpartum body. This dress was absolutely perfect. I am only 5'3 and this dress is cut fairly short compared to other RTR gowns, so it was great for me in the regular length, no risk of tripping as I walked down the aisle. I wore a nursing bra with a bra extender so that the back strap wouldn't show and it was fine, the material is also totally fine for going braless. A great choice if you're looking for something sexy and sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 8, 2013
Elegant with gorgeous detail
This dress was perfect for a black-tie ball. The detail doesn't come out well in the pictures - it really is beautiful with all of the beading! It felt almost "heavy" to put on, and so luxurious. A great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 27, 2013
The dress fit perfect! I ordered a 12 and a 10....but the 12 was perfect.
This was a really pretty gown! It was perfect for a corporate formal function!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
March 13, 2013
The dress was great! There wasn't much difference between a 2 and a 4
I used this dress for a 20's themed, dressed it up with white gloves and a head piece
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
March 7, 2013
Didn't wear this gown -- the length was too short.
This dress is VERY short (hits above the ankle). Thank goodness I had a back-up, because this was for the Presidential Inaugural Ball! I am 5'5, still needed a long in this style (regular length usually fits me just right). If you are over 5 feet tall, order a long. Pretty gown otherwise.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
This was a fabulous dress. I felt like a million dollars! Beautiful neckline.
I wore 5 inch heels and the dress was exactly the right length. I rented a set of crystal bangle bracelts and wore a small diamond and pearl necklace with it. If I had to do it over again I would have rented a more sparkly necklace like the one on the model.. The dress can definitely handle it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2013
Short!
I read the reviews of many dresses, looking for reviews from other tall women to make sure the dress I chose would be long enough, but when this dress arrived, it didn't even skim the tops of my feet! I was so disappointed because the dress was beautiful and it fit well everywhere else. The beading is truly gorgeous and the dress was in great shape, just short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 10, 2013
So elegant!
This dress was really lovely. The back was stunning, and the fit was perfect for me. The length worked well with 3 inch heels, though I wouldn't go any higher for my height. The only issue I had was with the nude color underskirt, which hung down just a bit on the bottom under the black layer. I taped it up on the inside, though, and it stayed. Not a big problem. I got several compliments through the night, as usual with these RTR dresses, and I really hate to send the dress back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
Super classy look!
Wore the dress to a formal masquerade ball. Danced in it all night. Loved the fit and very classy look of the dress. Received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2013
Wasn't impressed!
NOT a good look if you have a stomach at all. The drape and the beading just drew attention to my stomach. I wouldn't recommend this dress at all. There was just something not right about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2013
Wore to National Design Awards Gala
Great fit, so pretty, loved it!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 14, 2013
Pretty, got many comments.
The dress run true to size; was easy to zip up; no difficulty getting in or out of it. My only dislike was the shoulder straps--kept slipping off, which made me feel uncomfortable.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Fabulous Look!
This dress was great! I had to use the tape they sent to ensure the shoulder straps didnt fall, which would have beed ok except, it really doesnt look good off the shoulder the way the back is designed. The back of this dress is absolutly stunning, by far my favorite. UPS was late on delivery, not RTR's fault, but caused me to STRESS a bit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
January 11, 2013
the dress
loved it - fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2012
Beware of the beading
The beading was torn and I couldn't wear this dress for the event. Luckily I had ordered 2 different dresses and the other one was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
The beading and intricacy of this dress is straight out of the world of Downton Abbey.
Pictures of this dress online do not do the dress justice. The beading is exquisite. I felt so elegant wearing this dress to a formal affair in October. It does run a little short, so I would order the longer size if you want the right look. I was able to get away with a regular but I have shorter legs than most people my size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
December 16, 2012
Pretty dress, don't love the fit
Overall this is a nice dress. Unfortunately it didn't wow me as much as some of my other RTR dresses. The dress itself is beautiful but the fit was not exactly what I hoped for. My biggest complaint was how it looked on my torso and upper body. It definitely made me look a little bigger up top (arms, etc.). This may be due to the cut of the neck (it's kind of high so it can make you look a little chunky?) I am 5'5 and wore the 2r with kitten heels so the length worked out fine. I am also pregnant (beginning of 2nd tri) and the dress fit just fine over my tiny baby bump. The beading on the dress is beautiful and I loved the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
This dress was comfortable but made me feel so beautiful.
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding we were attending. I'm 5'0 and wore 4 inch heals and it draped the ground nicely. It could have been an inch shorter but I was still pleased to wear it. You do have to get a special bra since the back is so low, but it was well worth it to feel so elegant. I received lots of compliments and truly enjoyed wearing it. This was my first time to rent online and was somewhat nervous. I did have a slight complication with my original first choice becoming unavailable, but the RTR customer service dept were so nice in allowing me to choose another dress and overnight it to me. Thank goodness it fit well and it worked out great. The process to return was so easy, I couldn't believe it. It was a lot of fun to Rent the Runway. I'll do it again.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2012
this dress has a beautiful low back cut
This dress was perfect for the fundraiser that I attended. It looked classic, yet sensual due to the low back cut. The only thing that I did not like is the length, it was a little to short on me and the shoes with the close toe did not look good at all. I ended up wearing nude 4" Jimmy Choo sandals, which sealed the deal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2012
Felt like I had stepped off the set of Boardwalk Empire!
Wore this to a costume party where our theme was Prohibition-era gangsters and molls. I felt so glamorous, and comfortable to boot! Did not wear a bra, since the fabric was heavy enough to hide anything scandalous, and the lining was soft enough that the lace and beads were not itchy or bothersome at all. So gorgeous, and received many compliments!
FelicitaJune 11, 2014
You look gorgeous! I love the whole ensemble!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2012
This dress was perfect for a close friend's daughter's black tie wedding.
I loved this dress but I needed to pin up the shoulder straps and duct-tape (!) the lining in order for the fit to be right. After the adjustments the dress looked stunning on me and I received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2012
Very formal yet comfortable and easy to wear.
First I have to acknowledge the folks at RTR for getting a dress out to me amidst flooding, power outages and general tragedy and hardship across New York and the entire Northeast after Hurricane Sandy. It is just a dress, after all, and I certainly could have gone without. Thanks for your efforts, and I hope everyone on your team is recovering. On to the dress, then. This dress was my backup, as I really was thinking I wanted to wear the Badgley Mischka Putting on the Ritz sequin dress, which I also ordered in an 8R, but the fit was off; that dress was simply too big and looked very baggy. This Carmen Marc Valvo, however, fit like a dream for the most part, with the sole exception that the shoulder straps did have a tendency to slide down. (If I were less busty, this dress might have been a bit too big as well, although I did not find it too big over the abdomen and hips. It was very comfortable; not too tight.) I wore about 2 inch heels, and the dress fell perfectly just about the ground . . . if I were any shorter, I think it would have dragged. Overall, I was very happy to wear the dress, and felt good in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 9, 2012
I felt like a million bucks in this dress
The fabric was so silky - it didn't feel like the typical dresses I would buy for a function in the same price range as the rental for this dress. It was so worth it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
August 1, 2012
People said I looked like a movie star or model!
This is now my new favorite dress I have EVER rented! It is absolutely glorious, transcendant...there aren't enough glowing adjectives to describe it! I don't think any photo can truly do this dress justice...the beading and lace detail is just beautiful in person, and the layers of chiffon and beading fall beautifully over each other. It has that classy, Old Hollywood glamour to it. At the same time, it is extremely and surprisingly comfortable to wear. Even with the beading and sequins, it doesn't feel that heavy.. The inside is fully lined so your skin is shielded from the sequins and you don't get that scratchy feel (as you often do with unlined sequined dresses). I almost felt as comfortable in this dress as I do lounging around in my pajamas at home (although this is obviously much more beautiful!) It is loose fitting so I think I should have ordered a smaller size than I did...I got a larger size than what I usually wear because of the notes that this fabric has no stretch, but could have gone smaller. It also ran slightly long on me (guess I have short legs!) However, those are very, very minor quibbles and wearing this was more than worth it. I had people complimenting me all night about how gorgeous I looked in it! Thank you Rent the Runway for providing this dress at a more affordable price (sorry to say I don't have more than a $1000 to just chuck around...I'd otherwise have to say goodbye to paying rent and living expenses to wear this!)
michelleSeptember 23, 2012
I am short 5-3 to 4-4 without shoes. Will this dress be to long
RTR CustomerOctober 4, 2012
Hi Michelle! I would go with a regular length in this to ensure it's not too long!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
June 26, 2012
Ease of use!
Fits well, runs just a bit big but is comfortable. I'm 5'7" and couldn't wear heels higher than 1", so get a Long if you want to wear tall heels. I have a bit of a belly due to a recent baby, and this hid the belly well without having to wear spanx. I definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
March 27, 2012
My rep, Neal, was amazing!! I will be renting again because of him. He made sure I had the perfect dress on time and where I needed it to be. I could not have asked for better service or a more accommodating representative.
This dress was not my first choice to wear to my Uncle's black tie wedding. However, I could not have been happier with it. I do think that it could have fit a bit closer to me but even with it being a bit big the fall of the dress was really nice and it moved really pretty. I'm only about 5'5 and got the long size because I like to wear tall heals and it's a good thing i did because it skimmed the ground perfectly. The back is pretty low, but I got away with wearing a strapless bra and just pulled it down in the back. I got so many compliments all night, I felt like Rose from Titanic!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 10, 2012
Very nice
I ended up wearing one of my own old favorite gowns (was afraid it wouldn't fit, so I got this as backup), but the fit is flattering, it has a pretty back , is comfortable and seems good quality. I just wish I had another event so I could wear this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
March 9, 2012
well...
The circumstances surrounding my selection of this gown were less than favorable (it was not my first or second choice). That being said, I will give the most unbiased review I am capable of :/. I ordered this gown in a 4 Long; while it did fit in the body (less a little tightness around the arm area where it zipped), the length of this was waaaaaaay off. The size and fit info suggested that the long length would accommodate up to 5'11''. I'm 5'10'' and this gown BARELY REACHED MY ANKLES. Not only that, the beige lining underneath was noticeably visible probably for two reasons: the gown was just too short, and the lining was just too long. I did what I could with it, but overall I was underwhelmed with this gown. **The "runs small" rating in the overall fit refers to the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I'm 5'7", slender build but with cleavage and the dress fit me perfectly. It has beautiful beading around the top and the back has a nice reveal. I got compliments all evening on how beautiful the dress was. It's a very classy dress. Lightweight and the Long size worked well for me even in 2-1/2" heels.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2012
Beautiful dress but too short
The dress is so elegant with beautiful beading, but runs a bit large and for me was way too short. I am a true size 12. Ordered the 12R because 12L not available and it was very short - mid calf length. I also had ordered the 10L which fit fine but was also short hitting right above ankles. Returned both.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 16, 2012
This was my first time and it was so nice to have a formal dress that your only going to wear once fit and look better then in the picture, was very happy
I always worry when I order anything online for a special event, I have a very large chest and then a regular size 7 body and this dress fit me perfect in every area..
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 16, 2012
Stunning
Loved it! It was like it was made for me! Will definately order from you again. I got it to wear at my sons wedding. The most comfortable elegant dress I have ever worn! Thank you so much for making it so easy. I hated to send it back.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
Fabulous gown!!
This dress fit perfectly! The layers fell so nicely over one another, and the lace and sequins beading were beautiful! I received tons of compliments!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
January 2, 2012
Loved it
This dress is true to size. It fit perfectly.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2011
This is a head turner!
I took a chance with this dress length, since I'm very petite. The length was an inch or two too long, but with high heels and a little cheating it up on stairs and in crowds, it was fantastic. Although the style is subtle and sophisticated (read: not flashy), it's obvious that this is a stunning and high-quality dress. I received a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2011
Loved It!
Based on the stylists notes I chose the R rather than the L. At 5'7" and wearing 4" heels the dress was a good length for me especially with dancing. Underfabric is a gorgeous satin that felt terrific! Really a great dress!
AmyJanuary 22, 2013
Did the dress come to the floor with the regular and your heel?
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×