Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Lady Lace Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$1275 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stun the crowd in this Carmen Marc Valvo gown. You'll exude classic red carpet elegance at your next black tie event- get ready to strike a pose! For the ultra starlight look go with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black lace over nude silk with patterned beading(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Cowl neckline. Cowl back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

73 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 59
Large 6
Photos 39
E. G.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Loved It!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Based on the stylists notes I chose the R rather than the L. At 5'7" and wearing 4" heels the dress was a good length for me especially with dancing. Underfabric is a gorgeous satin that felt terrific! Really a great dress!
Judith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 31, 2011

This is a head turner!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I took a chance with this dress length, since I'm very petite. The length was an inch or two too long, but with high heels and a little cheating it up on stairs and in crowds, it was fantastic. Although the style is subtle and sophisticated (read: not flashy), it's obvious that this is a stunning and high-quality dress. I received a ton of compliments.
Aime
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

Loved it

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is true to size. It fit perfectly.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 7, 2012

Fabulous gown!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! The layers fell so nicely over one another, and the lace and sequins beading were beautiful! I received tons of compliments!
Hope
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 16, 2012

Stunning

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it! It was like it was made for me! Will definately order from you again. I got it to wear at my sons wedding. The most comfortable elegant dress I have ever worn! Thank you so much for making it so easy. I hated to send it back.
Sammi
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2012

Beautiful dress but too short

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is so elegant with beautiful beading, but runs a bit large and for me was way too short. I am a true size 12. Ordered the 12R because 12L not available and it was very short - mid calf length. I also had ordered the 10L which fit fine but was also short hitting right above ankles. Returned both.
Lissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 26, 2012

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'7", slender build but with cleavage and the dress fit me perfectly. It has beautiful beading around the top and the back has a nice reveal. I got compliments all evening on how beautiful the dress was. It's a very classy dress. Lightweight and the Long size worked well for me even in 2-1/2" heels.
Felisia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 9, 2012

well...

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The circumstances surrounding my selection of this gown were less than favorable (it was not my first or second choice). That being said, I will give the most unbiased review I am capable of :/. I ordered this gown in a 4 Long; while it did fit in the body (less a little tightness around the arm area where it zipped), the length of this was waaaaaaay off. The size and fit info suggested that the long length would accommodate up to 5'11''. I'm 5'10'' and this gown BARELY REACHED MY ANKLES. Not only that, the beige lining underneath was noticeably visible probably for two reasons: the gown was just too short, and the lining was just too long. I did what I could with it, but overall I was underwhelmed with this gown. **The "runs small" rating in the overall fit refers to the length.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 10, 2012

Very nice

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up wearing one of my own old favorite gowns (was afraid it wouldn't fit, so I got this as backup), but the fit is flattering, it has a pretty back , is comfortable and seems good quality. I just wish I had another event so I could wear this!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

This dress was perfect for a close friend's daughter's black tie wedding.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress but I needed to pin up the shoulder straps and duct-tape (!) the lining in order for the fit to be right. After the adjustments the dress looked stunning on me and I received many compliments.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

This dress was comfortable but made me feel so beautiful.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding we were attending. I'm 5'0 and wore 4 inch heals and it draped the ground nicely. It could have been an inch shorter but I was still pleased to wear it. You do have to get a special bra since the back is so low, but it was well worth it to feel so elegant. I received lots of compliments and truly enjoyed wearing it. This was my first time to rent online and was somewhat nervous. I did have a slight complication with my original first choice becoming unavailable, but the RTR customer service dept were so nice in allowing me to choose another dress and overnight it to me. Thank goodness it fit well and it worked out great. The process to return was so easy, I couldn't believe it. It was a lot of fun to Rent the Runway. I'll do it again.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Dec 16, 2012

Pretty dress, don't love the fit

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall this is a nice dress. Unfortunately it didn't wow me as much as some of my other RTR dresses. The dress itself is beautiful but the fit was not exactly what I hoped for. My biggest complaint was how it looked on my torso and upper body. It definitely made me look a little bigger up top (arms, etc.). This may be due to the cut of the neck (it's kind of high so it can make you look a little chunky?) I am 5'5 and wore the 2r with kitten heels so the length worked out fine. I am also pregnant (beginning of 2nd tri) and the dress fit just fine over my tiny baby bump. The beading on the dress is beautiful and I loved the back.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

The beading and intricacy of this dress is straight out of the world of Downton Abbey.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pictures of this dress online do not do the dress justice. The beading is exquisite. I felt so elegant wearing this dress to a formal affair in October. It does run a little short, so I would order the longer size if you want the right look. I was able to get away with a regular but I have shorter legs than most people my size.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Dec 27, 2012

Beware of the beading

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The beading was torn and I couldn't wear this dress for the event. Luckily I had ordered 2 different dresses and the other one was perfect.
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

the dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved it - fit perfectly!
Alice
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Pretty, got many comments.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress run true to size; was easy to zip up; no difficulty getting in or out of it. My only dislike was the shoulder straps--kept slipping off, which made me feel uncomfortable.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 15, 2013

Wore to National Design Awards Gala

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, so pretty, loved it!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Wasn't impressed!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
NOT a good look if you have a stomach at all. The drape and the beading just drew attention to my stomach. I wouldn't recommend this dress at all. There was just something not right about it.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Super classy look!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore the dress to a formal masquerade ball. Danced in it all night. Loved the fit and very classy look of the dress. Received lots of compliments.
amyfigarelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Short!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I read the reviews of many dresses, looking for reviews from other tall women to make sure the dress I chose would be long enough, but when this dress arrived, it didn't even skim the tops of my feet! I was so disappointed because the dress was beautiful and it fit well everywhere else. The beading is truly gorgeous and the dress was in great shape, just short.
kelley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

This was a fabulous dress. I felt like a million dollars! Beautiful neckline.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore 5 inch heels and the dress was exactly the right length. I rented a set of crystal bangle bracelts and wore a small diamond and pearl necklace with it. If I had to do it over again I would have rented a more sparkly necklace like the one on the model.. The dress can definitely handle it.
Jasmine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

Didn't wear this gown -- the length was too short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is VERY short (hits above the ankle). Thank goodness I had a back-up, because this was for the Presidential Inaugural Ball! I am 5'5, still needed a long in this style (regular length usually fits me just right). If you are over 5 feet tall, order a long. Pretty gown otherwise.
lyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

The dress fit perfect! I ordered a 12 and a 10....but the 12 was perfect.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a really pretty gown! It was perfect for a corporate formal function!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Elegant with gorgeous detail

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a black-tie ball. The detail doesn't come out well in the pictures - it really is beautiful with all of the beading! It felt almost "heavy" to put on, and so luxurious. A great dress!
rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 14, 2013

The dress fit perfectly and was comfortable.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size and very comfortable. I had to tape the lining which showed below the lace hem. The length was fine with 3" heels.. I had the dress sent directly to the hotel and took along every pair of heels I own.. just in case! The dress arrived on time.
Lisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Gorgeous dress but not long enough.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 6 and the 8. The 6 was a perfect fit, and while technically long enough the tan lining was a few inches longer than the black lace overlay so it was just unwearable. I ended up wearing the 8 because I had no other choice but unfortunately it was little short and with only 2 inch heals was a good 2 inches of the ground, luckily I was sitting for a good portion of the night. Beautiful dress, but even with the long not meant for tall people.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Beautiful, but short!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a black tie gala for work. The dress is beautiful, runs a little on the larger size, but is horribly short! I got the 4R. I'm just shy of 5'4" and the dress barely touched the floor while barefoot. It would have been impossible to wear heels, I didn't even feel comfortable wearing flats with it. I would recommend the dress, but unless you are shorter than 5'4" with shoes/heels on, I'd get the long.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

I didn't wear this one.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear this one. It was my backup because RTR didn't have the second size for my first. It is a beautiful dress but was extremely short.
Charity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Gorgeous dress but SHORT

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was gorgeous. The front neckline fit a little higher on me than the model picture. Unfortunately it was SHORT!! i am only 5'3.5" and it was at least an inch from the ground barefoot. So disappointing!!
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Sexy, comfortable and easy to dance in!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was sent as a replacement for the dress I ordered, since that one was apparently too damaged to be worn again. I felt lucky! It has enough weight to feel well made, but not so much to weigh you down. Perfect length with 2 1/2 inch heels (I am a shade over 5'4"). It's a really special (conservative + hot) black formal & I got tons of compliments. Shows off your shoulders, arms and torso; not as fitted as I like in the waist.
Elle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

I had on a great dress for my figure.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress arrived fast and ready to wear. I had been considering using Rent The Runway before but was nervous. I recently had a baby and had nothing in my size or the time to find a gown for a formal affair. I was please from start to finish with my decision. Great company I will certainly be using them again.
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

This dress was perfect for the Gatsby themed wedding i went to! The detail was fantastic!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5' 6" and ordered the regular at first since I wasn't going to wear heels. The long was definitely necessary. If you are above 5' 5" I would say order the long. The fit was so comfortable, form fitting but not constricting. The beading on the sides/underarms also was not scratchy (which i always worry about). The beading is absolutely wonderful and pictures don't do justice. The back cut is also fantastic and a little sexy, while still being appropriate or a family event. A backless bra is necessary.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Pretty

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is lovely, but I didn't like the way it looked once I put it on. It has a short hemline and the overlay is longer than the actual dress. This looked somewhat awkward, especially with my shoes. I ended up wearing a dress from my closet instead. Service from RTR was excellent and I will definitely rent again in the (near) future.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×