Carmen Marc Valvo

Golden Leaf Gown

$105 – $125 rental?
$1,275 retail
Stylist Notes

Make your moment unforgettable in this oh so glamorous Carmen Marc Valvo gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Gold and black lace (40% rayon, 40% nylon, 20% metallic, 20% metallic). Sleeveless. V-neckline. V-back. A-line skirt. Hidden back center zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% acetate). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
228 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(149)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 4, 2014
Beautiful gown!! It is soo much more striking in person.
The only reason why I did not give this gown 5 stars is because the shoulder straps were soo tight. It you are a busty girl like myself this is not a good dress, you will be uncomfortable all night. Otherwise it fit like a glove everywhere else.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
April 16, 2014
My experience wasn't he greatest, but I still look forward to renting in the future.
I wasn't overly impressed- my 2R ran too big and my 2Long ran too small! So neither dress worked perfectly. I ended up wearing the 2Regular, pinning it up, and wearing flats. It worked, but I definitely wouldn't say I was blown away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 26, 2014
Compliments all night definitely stole the room in this glowing gown.
Great fit overall
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
April 27, 2014
Compliments even from strangers!!!
Dress fit like a glove! Runs very true to size! I'm 5'2" and I got regular length and it just touch the ground with heels! So if ur taller get a taller length! Got many complements even from strangers! Got looks and smiles as well! Did show a lot of cleavage but I have a very long neck line a very little boobs :) I feel sad having to pack it up this morning and ship it back! Definitely made be feel stunning!!! Thanks RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 30, 2014
Photographs well
I'm petite so I always worry about renting long gowns. The length on this one was just right for me (wore 3.5-inch heels) so I would recommend this to petite ladies out there if you need a long gown for a formal event. The problem I had with this dress was the deep V neckline. I had to temporarily pin up the shoulder straps so it would be a better fit. I also put fashion tape on the neckline just to be sure. Loved the mermaid/trumpet effect. Fabric was a bit itchy but was pretty lightweight for such a rich and elegant look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2014
The dress fit my Great Gatsby themed Senior Prom and it flattered my curvy body shape.
I wore this dress to my Senior Prom. I had gotten another dress but because I was a size 8 in the top, and a 10 in the bottom, it just didn't work out. I got this dress in a 10 and it fit, although I did have to pin the straps a little tighter due to the low neckline. Overall, the dress fit the Gatsby Theme and I did get compliments on it. I got this in a 10L and I'm 5'5; I wore short heels due to the length of the dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
May 15, 2014
Cute but..whoa! Low-Cut!
The dress was beautiful and well made, but SO low-cut! I was not prepared for that level of plunge! Fashion tape was helpful but I still felt a little uncomfortable since this was a work event. Not a modest dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 215lbs
May 22, 2014
beautiful dress. runs small
great dress. order two sizes larger for best fit.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2014
Fit well and photographed beautifully. Lots of compliments. I will use RTR again!
I ordered 4L and 6L (I usually wear 4-6) and ended up wearing the 4L, though would have preferred it 1-2" longer. It was still a great dress that showed off curves at the hips, bust, etc. Very comfortable with a normal black bra; there were snaps to hold your bra strap under the dress's shoulder straps so no issues with bra showing. Reason it didn't get 5 stars: There were some long, stray strings that needed trimming along the seams and hem (probably from being dry cleaned a few times) and one of the seams was split on the thigh about 1" apart (and starting to in a few other spots), though it looked like part of the pattern so i wore it anyway. Overall it looked like it'd been dry cleaned a few times and probably needed to be pulled out of the rotation. RTR would do well giving these gowns a good look over before they send them out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Just a little too big/revealing :(
I got this as a last minute backup after being sent the wrong length of my original rental. While this is a gorgeous dress, I really needed an 8 (or possibly a 6) in this one. The top gaped a little too much to be appropriate for a wedding, and since it was delivered the day of the event, I didn't have a chance to get the necessary fashion tape. I am just glad I was paranoid and bought an extra extra back up dress. I ended up needing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
June 26, 2014
way too short!!! rent a long if you are going to do this one...this was to my ankles and didnt wear
way to short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 16, 2014
I loved this dress for the military ball I attended with my husband!
The top of this dress was really loose. I used fashion tape but it really didn't stay in place. The rest of the dress fit perfectly and was very flattering.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 30, 2014
great dress, rec'd LOT of compliments just ran big...
hides flaws GREAT... figure flattering... just runs too big
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2014
Amazing dress! It was the perfect dress for a black tie wedding!
The dress fits great but very true to size and NO STRETCH. I got so many compliments on this dress! The material is a gold lace overlay which is some what heavy but it gives the dress amazing dimension and it looks great in pictures. The dress was some what hard to move in because there was no stretch but overall I didn't have any problem dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2014
The perfect dress for a perfect evening!
This dress was incredibly beautiful! I wore it to the Creative Arts Emmys, and I received compliments all night. The pattern on the dress and the material made it breathtaking. The quality of the dress was outstanding; it made you look and feel like a million bucks! It was also very comfortable. I ate and danced all night with no trouble! Again, great material!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 183lbs
September 14, 2014
I felt so beautiful and elegant in this dress!
The dress fit very well. It was a little difficult to find a bra that worked with it because the back was low cut and showed a little of the strap. Overall, I loved the dress. The material was light and very comfortable too. I am not skinny by any means and most might think that this dress would not look great on a fuller figure, but it only flattered my best parts while hiding my not so flattering parts. Love, love, love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2014
Classic, Elegant, and Sexy
I originally ordered a different dress but was informed that it had been returned in such terrible shape that I would not be able to wear it. Rent the Runway let me then choose any dress that was available to compensate for the problem. This dress was amazing. The fit was almost perfect. It was a little loose in the bust but fit nicely in the bottom. I felt amazing in the dress and I was getting looks from everyone. I didn't want to give it back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
September 16, 2014
This was my back up, and it fit beautifully
It was a great back up dress, the bead work was a little heavy. The only reason why I didn't wear it is that my first choice fit and this dress was a little low cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2014
Not for Me
I did not wear it as my backup dress. Nice material, but not a nice fit! This dress was made with beautiful material and looked stunning on the hanger. It just just seems like it was not designed with pear shaped girls in mind. The neckline was very low because of my small bust and the tightness in the hips accentuated my hips in an unflattering way. This dress would most likely be perfect on a women with an hourglass, narrow or athletic build.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2014
Pretty dress!
True to size but is a little on the short side. Fabric is very forgiving.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 6, 2014
The whole experience.. Perfection!
A little low cut in the front, but loved the look and fit of this dress! Got several compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Great dress, great fit and extremely glamorous!
Great dress and very flattering. I think the bust was a bit bigger for me, so insert cups would have been nice to have to use with the dress. Otherwise I got many compliments and felt very glamorous.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2014
easy & flattering
very flattering gown for an hourglass shape, and you can wear your normal bra. not revealing, but still sexy!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 22, 2014
It did the job, but I wouldn't have made this my first choice.
This dress is gorgeous, but the fit is completely off. I'm barely 5'1, petite, wear a 0 and ordered the 2L as a back up dress with intentions of using hem tape in the worst case scenario. The length fit me perfectly, so it runs incredibly short. The black lining on the inside ran smaller than a 0, and it wouldn't even go over my hips without snagging. I turned the dress inside out and the hems on the lining were atrocious. You could tell previous renters had ripped it and repaired it over and over again. The actual gold and black lace fit like a glove, but that lining was 2 sizes smaller than the actual dress. I had no other choice but to wear it, so I put a black waist slip on to cover up the snags it had to prevent any skin from showing. Being short, the straps were about an inch too long, but wasn't too uncomfortable with body tape. Overall, it's short, and if you are hippy at all than order up, the lining has absolutely no give, but than I would assume the bodice of the gold/black lace might not be as form fitting.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2014
Terrific dress. I wore it for an "Old Hollywood" themed party.
The dress fit well not too tight. I am usually between a 4 and a 6. I received many compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2014
LOVE LOVE this dress! (wore for a Gatsby-theme, but great for many events!)
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a Gatsby-themed formal event at my law school. It's just like all the reviews say - the fabric is amazing, it's comfortable, but thick & slimming with a slight stretch. About the height: I debated whether I should get the R or the L and I'm 5'5". In the end I choose the L and I wish I didn't. I wore 5 inch heels and the R would have been the perfect length. But the dress was so beautiful, it's definitely 5 stars!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 25, 2014
Got lots of compliments on the dress!!
Fit was great. Loved it. Everything was perfect about this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 26, 2014
Customer service
Like many others stated in their reviews the dress runs extremely short. For this reason I did not wear the dress. However the color is amazing and the pictures do not do the details of the dress justice.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
November 15, 2012
I never thought i'd be able to wear a dress like this. It's STUNNING! Made me look and feel amazing.
If you want to feel like a star, this is your dress. The dress is super flattering because of the overlay. I didn't think this dress would fit with my curves but it did!! It's also much more bronze/gold in person - ideal formal affairs. Bra will be visible because of v-shape in the back, so you'll need an accessory that brings the strap down or wear without.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 29, 2014
Got so many compliments! Very elegant and doesn't like prom-y at all! Thank you!
Nice body hugging, slimming fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 14, 2013
Perfect dress! Looked and felt beautiful! Received so many compliments!
The fit and length were perfect for me. I was little concerned about the neckline because I am a 32DD but it was perfect, nothing at all to worry about. The dress photographed great too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 2, 2014
Great ordering process, quick delivery, and awesome return process
Great for a black tie wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 4, 2014
My back up choice and I ended up going with another dress.
This dress was an alternative to ensure I had something to wear to a friends "Hollywood Glamour" themed wedding. The dress isn't as forgiving as others. There is no ruching or draping to disguise 'problem' areas! The dress was harder to sit in and the bust area is not great if you have a larger than average bust. I tried it on with a 4 inch heel and the dress hit the ground perfectly. My husband actually preferred the look of this dress to my other choice however he could tell I wasn't as comfortable in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
Beautiful but poorly lined
This dress is gorgeous! That said, it is VERY fitted at the knee, making it hard to get into or out of the dress, and the zipper does not go down very far, so I had to put it on over my head to give you an idea. The black liner was longer than the hem of the dress itself, which you could see clearly and looked very odd. The liner itself was very flimsy and not sewn into the dress anywhere but the neckline, so it moved around a lot even when trying on the dress. If you are busty, this dress will have a very low-cut, revealing neckline. Just not what I was looking for for too many reasons, but I would have loved to wear it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
November 5, 2014
This dress was rented for a photo shoot.
While the dress fit true to size, the "Long" length was too short for a 5'7" woman in modest heels. The dress was unusable in both the 8L and the 10L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2014
Beautiful Dress
Loved the dress but the neckline was a little too lower for me and what I rented the dress for. Big bust woman caution!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
felt classy and sophisticated!
make sure to wear HIGH shoes if using the long dress version versus regular. pehaps I should have stuck with regular? great dress and you'll feel amazing!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 151lbs
December 1, 2014
Classic and memorable dress for any black tie affair.
I'll start with the bad because this dress was awesome otherwise... Cons: The shoulders were a little big and this dress was a little bit difficult to walk in with pointy heels because of the taffeta underneath. Pros: Everything else! It fit like a glove, looked beautiful in photos and presented a sense of elegance. Would definitely recommend. Many people asked about the dress and I was glad to pass on the good word of RtR!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2014
Wonderful, elegant dress!
It's amazing how this dress is both figure conscious but also very flattering--a rare and valuable combo. I would definitely recommend it! I got a ton of compliments, and felt like a bombshell. The long was a just right; I wore about 3.5" heels. As for fit: I generally can wear between a 4-8 in dresses depending on where the tight bits are. My waist/ribcage is fairly small, while hips and bust sometimes need a larger size. This dress fit in both the 6L and 8L, but I decided to go with the 8L because it was more comfortable on the hips. In hindsight, maybe wish I'd worn the 6, because the straps on the 8 were fairly long and the dress tended to stretch out a bit as the night went on (which did make it easier to walk in). I attempted to pin the straps, but that was a no-go, so I embraced the extra cleavage. If your hips are larger than your waist, expect to need the true size of your hips. Like I said, both sizes fit, so it'll probably come down to a matter of personal preference.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
December 7, 2014
Gorgeous PETITE sized dress!
This dress has been on my radar for a while now and I finally rented it for my work holiday party. The dress is gorgeous (picture, of course, does not do it justice). I was REALLY happy to find a petite long dress. As a 5'2" lady who hates wearing heels, but loves long dresses this was a dream come true. I wore 2 inch wedges with the dress and that made it barely skim the floor. The fit over all was really nice, but it wasn't quite as tight fitting as I would have liked it to be around my true waist. Overall, a gorgeous dress that should definitely be considered for any formal affair you might be attending.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×