Carmen Marc Valvo

Botanical Berry Sheath

$30 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

This gorgeous lace sheath by Carmen Marc Valvo is everything you've been looking for to wear for the engagement party. Add delicate accessories in contrasting colors.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16 & plus 16W-22W

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Fuschia lace (100% Nylon). Three-quarter length sleeves. Crew neck. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
797 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(480)
Small
(81)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 8, 2013
I received many compliments on my dress throughout the night!!
The fit was great, a little tight in the sleeves but overall, it fit very well. The only con to this dress is that a strapless bra was not the right bra for this. The lace back cut low as did the slip in the front so I had to use tape in the front but kept fidgeting with the back throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 14, 2013
Subtle sexiness and endless compliments
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner of a wedding I was in in New Orleans and got 15+ compliments on the dress from friends and perfect strangers on the street. It is BEAUTIFUL on, from color to fit, and it has a unstated sexiness that WOWS. I wore a thin-strapped nude bra (38DD) that was not visible through the lace, so NO you do not "have" to wear a strapless.
RobinMarch 17, 2014
Thank you for the bra size and color . That was a big concern of mine, now I think I can rent the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2013
Beautiful fall dress!
This is a gorgeous dress - got lots of complements. I felt that it ran small in the hips, so I wore the 8. The waist was then a little big, but not noticeable. The color is really rich and perfect for a fall wedding. I think this would be appropriate for any age as well. Great rent!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
October 24, 2013
Lace, Lace, Lace!!!
Loved it! The dress was actually long sleeve unlike the picture, but I still loved it. The color is amazing and the fit is true to size. I felt very pretty in it and received many complements as well. I'm obsessed with the lace. I recommend this dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!
I orignally rented this dress to wear to my Rehearsal Dinner. My friend and bridesmaid rented the Badgley Mischka dress (also pictured) and planned on wearing that. But when the dresses came, the BM dress was too short for her (she is 5'10''). So we ended up switching dresses bc this dress was a bit longer. It worked out perfect. Loved the lace. Love the bright color. LOVE RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 28, 2013
I love this dress! I wish I could have kept it!!!
Beautiful color, the dress fit true to size. I had tons of compliments. Very comfortable and I was able to dance all night in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2013
Perfect, gorgeous lace for a fall wedding!
The dress fit well and was extremely comfortable. It runs pretty true to size, thought I will say it DOES stretch. I wished I had gone down a size by the end of the night only because I ended up pulling it up to make sure my bra wasn't showing. I would go down a size for a backup dress. Great color and got lots of compliments!
MeganMarch 7, 2014
You look fantastic! That color is great on you :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2013
Fantastic!
Fantastic color, wonderful quality lace. Super elegant and flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
Great Fall Wedding Dress
This was the perfect dress for the weather getting a little cooler. Love the color. It's a little brighter than I thought, but still a great color. I got a ton of compliments, but I feel like I always do when I rent from this site. It runs a little small, but the 6 was pretty much a good fit. The sleeves are a little tight as a few previous reviewers mentioned, but it's not unbearable. Great dress! I wore a nude shoes, nude colored clutch and gold jewelry, thought everything looked good. Overall another great rental from Rent The Runway. This is the 4th rental and all have come on time, in good condition and been great to wear to weddings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 17, 2013
Wish this dressed worked
I was so excited to finally have an occasion to rent a dress from Rent The Runway...my wedding shower. I went back and forth between so many dresses, but I finally chose this dress. It received so many great reviews and from what I read, it seemed to fit my occasion perfectly. Unfortunately, it was too long and didn't show off my assets...my legs. It felt a bit "motherly" to me. I wanted to love it, and for the price, I definitely tried it on several times to convince myself. But for my couple wedding shower, I wanted to feel hot, and this dressed fell short. It was true to size though. I received the dress on Friday night and didn't have time to send it back that night to choose another dress, so I had to run out on Saturday and purchase something else. I hope to rent again though!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2013
Perfect dress & accessories for a fall wedding!
I originally had planned to rent the Trouble Maker dress, but a RTR stylist contacted me last week before my order went out letting me know that the Medium I wanted was damaged beyond repair. She let me pick whichever dress I wanted, regardless of price so I found this gorgeous dress! Then, the Large that I had ordered in that dress didn't make it into the order so Talia offered me a surprise accessory which I graciously accepted :) I was so pleased with my accessories - I had BOTH the Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright necklace & bracelet. I wanted to keep these sooo badly! I wore them both the night of the event, even with the lace I feel like the necklace was a nice added touch. The dress was wonderful - I love lace and it was perfect on the dress. The arms were a tad scratchy at times. The 8 fit snug in the arms, but not too bad so I didn't bother to try on the 10 since I felt it would be too large. It hit me about mid thigh which was perfect length for a wedding. Overall great dress and got tons of compliments that this was my best rental yet!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2013
Beautiful gorgeous. Got so many compliments. Felt awesome in the dress. Everybody was awestruck!!!!!
Beautiful. U really need a good fitting strapless bra though... I loved wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2013
Beautiful color!
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding. The color was beautiful and very elegant. I wore a size 2 but I felt as though it could be a little bit more snug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Customer service was fantastic
Did not care for the color, I thought it would be more cranberry. Was actually a magenta. Had a strong odor of dry cleaning fluid
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
December 22, 2013
I received so many compliments on the color and overall fit...from a lot of guys !?!?
I received so many compliments on my dress and my bf was googly eyed all night long :-). It was a bit snug/ revealing around the bust for my taste, but I think I may have been able to mitigate this had I went one more size up. The lace still kept it classy and covered them up a bit. I wore a skin toned bra as advised by another reviewer, which worked perfectly. Overall, a very good rental experience as always!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2013
Fun, trendy dress perfect for parties!
I wore this dress to a fun dinner party, and it was great for that type of occasion. The dress color is very similar to the fushia/ dark pink color shown online, and the length hit slightly above or at the knee. I only gave this dress four stars because the lace material was a bit itchy at first and the sleeves felt a bit constricting due to tightness and the 3/4 sleeve length. That said, these are minor issues that didn't stop me from having a great time in this fun, bright dress! Thanks for another great rental RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2013
Gorgeous!
I don't know why but this dress reminds me of raspberry sherbet...which is delicious, just like this dress. Haha. Comfortable and gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, the top is gorgeous.
fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 27, 2013
I did not wear this dress but it is a beautiful color and very flattering.
However, this dress was selected for a seven hour wedding event. I struggled to keep the lining from slipping down and exposing the strapless bra. Even fashion tape didn't hold the lining in place more than a few minutes. To be fair, I often have bust line issues with formal wear (36D). Though the 12 fit perfectly and the 14 was a little large, I hoped the lining might behave better with the 14. Was not the case. Thankfully my back up dress was ideal and totally hassle free. Lesson learned---always have a back up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2014
Great experience with RTR and a great NYE!
The dress is a beautiful berry color. I found it to run a little big on the top, but that may be because my shoulders are pretty narrow for the rest of my body. I always like to know what kind of bra I'm going to have to wear, so just FYI, I wore a nude strapless. Sometimes dresses like this are tight in the arms, but these weren't. I kept the look super classic with pearls and nude stilettos, and I got nothing but compliments from my boyfriend. This was my first RTR experience, and I would definitely do it again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 27, 2014
The color of this dress is beautiful!
This dress runs true to size, the material stretches so it's not restricting and it's very comfortable. You can dance and put your arms up with no problem. The color pops and looks great in pictures. I got compliments ALL NIGHT from the wedding guests, even the waitresses! It's the perfect cocktail dress for a wedding or any other occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 27, 2014
Cute pop of color in the winter...
This dress definitely runs small in the arms. I usually wear a size 2 but had to wear the 4 which ended up being loose everywhere else. Which is why I belted it. Cute color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2014
Gorgeous color
Great dress and the color is incredibly flattering for those of us on the paler end of the spectrum. I was smack dab between sizes and while both were wearable I went with the larger size for comfort. It felt a little bit shorter than it appears in pictures. Was able to wear a strapless bra with it. Lots of great options for accessories!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 8, 2014
Made an entrance - broke some necks!
Rented this dress for the Philadelphia cast & crew premiere of "Paranoia." My personal style is anti-pink, but this hot fuchsia definitely turned heads so fast it broke necks as I walked into the theatre -- a daring choice that paid off! :) The lace of the sleeves is unforgiving (has no stretch), so make sure you get a size UP for your second. But, the body of the dress is incredibly comfortable! I felt just as good in it while sitting two hours in a dark theatre as I did while mingling on my feet at the after-party. I'm 5'5" and the hemline hit about mid-thigh, so I never had to worry about being dangerously immodest. The lacy top shows just enough skin to be enticing in fall weather without letting you freeze. Simple, yet bold -- this dress made exactly the impression I'd intended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 20, 2014
Beautiful color
This dress fit perfectly. The color was beautiful, perfect for a November wedding. This was my first RTR and will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
February 21, 2014
Perfect fit, beautiful color, sexy but not skimpy.
Wore this to a shabby chic barn wedding in October- made for great photos and I got a ton of compliments. I chase my two kids all over and didn't feel overexposed. I have an apple shape, and have a tough time finding dresses that fit my shoulders and waist equally well- this dress really did a great job. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2014
LOOOVED IT!! FITS ANYONE!!
Gorgeous dress and fit. Fits anyone!! Great compliments. Totally would recommend and for second size choose down, I believe it will fit better. Great for any mid/formal affair!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 26, 2014
Gorgeous!
Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2014
Beautiful dress!
The dress was very comfortable. It was stretchy but fitted. I wore the dress for a valentines getaway with my husband. He loved the dress on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 6, 2014
PERFECT Birthday Dress
I just rented Carmen Marc Valvo for an Oscars Party and LOVED this dress as well. So flattering with the sweetheart and long enough to wear Spanx. Got tons of compliments all night and stood out in the sea of black. It comes on a little tight but holds everything together. Wore it for my birthday night!! Will definitely rent Valvo again soon.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 9, 2014
I wore this to a gala/fundraiser in February - it fit so well and the lace and color are stunning!
I put on some weight recently, so I was worried about how this would fit because I have been wearing anything from a 10 to a 14, and this looked more like a shift-style then an hour glass, so I expected some tummy to show that may be unflattering. While I was wearing Spanx, my tummy was as flat as I could have hoped for. The sleeves and quality of the lace are awesome, and it is short enough to be sexy without being too much. I paired with a nude heel and was very comfortable, although a little bit warm dancing. Overall, a really pretty dress for any age and many events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
March 16, 2014
The perfect dress for our anniversary dinner!
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore it last night when my husband and I went out to dinner for our 1st anniversary. I got so many compliments! And then when I made this photo my default on FB I got even more. It was definitely tough to drop my return package in the UPS box this morning. My hips are my problem area so I tend to size up on my backup with fitted dresses, but I surprisingly ended up wearing the smaller size of the two! The arms were a tad tight but no so much so that it really bothered me. The 8 was kind of baggy so I decided to wear the 6 since it looked more flattering. If I were to buy this dress I probably would've bought an 8 but had it taken in in the body to fit just right. The color was gorgeous and I didn't even realize when I ordered it that it was made of Alencon lace - which is what my wedding gown was made of! So that made it even more perfect for the occasion. Definitely in my top 3 of dresses I've rented from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2014
Gorgeous color.
Fit true to size. Stretched out a bit through the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2014
Beautiful spring wedding!
I decided to wear the size 8 because the lace in the arms was a bit tight. By the end of the night the lace did stretch, but I decided to be on the safer side by going a size up. The dress was very comfortable and worked great for a spring wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 19, 2014
Beautiful dress!
This dress fit perfectly in my usual size 6, and it also had a little stretch which made it comfortable to wear. The length is great (not too long, just above the knee), and the color is gorgeous! I highly recommend this dress for a special occasion.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2014
Beautiful fabric and color got the dress compliments all night
Absolutely beautiful dress that makes you feel elegant and attractive at the same time. I'm rather fair skinned with dark auburn hair, and the color worked beautifully with both. The length was not an issue for me at 5'10", and I didn't have to worry about any accidental views, which is always a relief. Also, although it suggests a strapless bra, you could get away with a nude bra with straps if you want to as a) it'd be hidden by the lace pretty well and b) that and if you have long hair down as well, it pretty much conceals a bra. For fit, I upsized from a 12 to a 14 just because the 14 gave me a little more room in the shoulders, as the lace can be pretty itchy when the dress is a closer fit (the extra fabric on bottom didn't look like a problem at all). HIGHLY recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 23, 2014
Stunning dress!
Beautiful color! The lace makes this dress! I absolutely loved it and got a ton of compliments!! It's a bit short (5'7) but it's ok. Otherwise, the fit was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 23, 2014
The dress was perfect for a conservative spring wedding
I received the size 8 and size 10 dresses, and since the 8 was just a tad tighter than I hoped it would be, I decided to wear the 10 for the conservative wedding I was attending. The beautiful berry color was perfect for a spring wedding, and the elbow length sleeves were comfortable and not tight or scratchy. I wore a nude strapless bra which I noticed would sometimes peek out above the liner of the dress, but I don't think other people could see it. I'm very happy with the delivery and return process for RTR, and I'm excited to wear other dresses very soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Weight: 140lbs
March 26, 2014
Got a lot of compliments on the color and design of the dress.
I did like this dress....but something about it made me feel wide. Maybe the cut of the dress is meant for more straight/narrow built bodies. It's comfortable though. The color is gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
March 27, 2014
LOVED this dress!!!! I received so many compliments. My husband was sad that I had to send it back.
The fit was true to size. I really would have been more comfortable in a 4 but it was unavailable so I worked harder the last days leading up to the wedding to fit snugly into a 2 :) I read reviews about the lace sleeves being tight but I didnt have an issue. Definitely wish I had another event to use this dress again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×