Magenta Orchid Gown

$70 rental
$995 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stand out in style at the gala wearing this gorgeous magenta colored Carlos Miele goddess gown. You'll float across the dance floor while the crowd stares at your style and beauty. Shown here with kate spade new york accessories’ Hot Pink Statement Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing 34-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in padded cups add support at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - One length available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing 34-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in padded cups add support at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - One length available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Silk Chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless with asymmetric strap. One shoulder neckline. Long, A-line skirt. Boning in bodice. Hidden side zipper. Lined. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size96
Small73
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
July 5, 2014
Too short to wear
Unfortunately, this dress turned out to be too short to wear. I am 5'8 and the38R was a few inches too short.
Size worn:
42P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 22, 2014
I kept getting compliments all night about how great the color looked on me and how well it fit!
Definitely true to size. The bust area is of course much tighter, so ladies like myself who are bigger in the chest area may be just a LITTLE self conscious. Cons: I did have to pull up on the top all night. The fabric hooked on to things easily (like my jewelry and shoes). Like many others said, the zipper was a little hard to pull up. Pros: Perfect length with heels. Beautiful color. Fits true to size. All around gorgeous dress. I loved this dress. Sad that I have to send it back :( The RentTheRunway team was AMAZING. My backup size wasn't available, so Alex on the stylist team helped me to pick out two alternate options and sent them to me at no extra cost! I will definitely rent from renttherunway.com again. Great experience.
RTR CustomerJune 24, 2014
You look gorgeous, Colette! ;-)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 20, 2014
Pretty Color and Easy to Wear
I rented this dress for a military formal dinner. As other ladies have mentioned, it runs small, simply because of the top portion (around the ribs). The zipper is also tricky, so plan on having someone help you. The color is beautiful and the fabric is light and doesn't cling to any unwanted lumps or bumps. No shapewear needed! The bodice has some padding and structure, so that is also a plus. Overall, it was another fabulous dress from RTR. I would recommend to anyone who needs a light, unique summer gown that is low-fuss.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 20, 2014
I wore this dress for prom and got a ton on complements. Fit perfectly. I Love this dress!!
The dress fit perfectly. It is really snug on the bust but is suppose to be. No bra was needed. Sense the style hugs your upper ribs, it made my bust look bigger then they actually are. So if you have a bigger bust, you might want to consider that. I was nervous about getting a petit size but the length was perfect. I wore about 2 in heals and the dress just came off the floor. The color of the dress was a little darker in person then in the original model pic but I preferred it. Over all I loved this dress and made my prom an event to remember.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 16, 2014
Got tons of compliments!! Color is beautiful!!
The dress fit like a glove once I got it zipped up. It's definitely snug around the chest, but I'm 32C/34C and got it zipped up after sucking in a bit and it stayed up perfectly all night with no bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Incredible color, great movement
As you can tell from the pic, this color photographs beautifully. The fit was great and overall, very flattering. I felt very glamorous in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 10, 2014
Gorgeous Dress! Received multiple compliments
The color of this dress is absolutely beautiful. I am very petite, so the fact that this dress runs small was a pro for me. Like other reviewers have said, it was a bit difficult to zip up, however once I was able to zip it the fit was snug (in a good way). I also ordered the 36R, which fit, but I thought the 34 looked better. The only con was that this didn't come in petite. At 5'2" in 4 inch heels the dress was still very long. The double layer of fabric made hem tape too difficult, so I just ended up tucking some of the fabric under the waistband to shorten it. Overall, great first experience with RTR. I didn't want to give this dress back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2014
Gorgeous color with a light, breezy skirt and tight bust
I wore this gown to an Army ball and received many compliments. The color is vibrant and beautiful in person. The skirt is flowy and comfortable (though very sheer, so definitely go with simple nude underwear!). As other wearers have suggested, the dress does run small up top. I reserved the 40P and the 38R three months before my event; Rent the Runway contacted me two days before my event to tell me that the 40P came back from its previous wearer in disrepair, and would no longer be available. I ended up being able to squeeze into the 38R. I have a 25" waist and my bust is a full 32D; it took a while to get the dress zipped, and it was quite constricting and uncomfortable on my ribcage. However, the petite size would likely have been too short--at 5'2", I wore 2-inch heels with the regular length, and it was perfect. My biggest complaint was a very visible pucker near the hip on the skirt caused by both the zipper seam and the tags, which I was only able to partially remedy with fashion tape (and that's why you see my hand or arm on my hip in all my pictures). Additionally, there was a small dark stain near the strap, and a deodorant stain on the strap that I was able to hide thanks to the way the fabric is gathered. RTR ended up letting me choose two additional gowns to have sent due to the snafu, but the first eight dresses I requested were not available. Of the two backups I was sent, one did not fit. The other was a tiny bit big, but very beautiful and would have worked in a pinch had I not had my heart and accessories set on the magenta gown. This experience will definitely discourage me from using Rent the Runway for important events in the future (like for a bridesmaid dress or recital), though I will likely still be renting for military balls or similar events. The customer service reps/stylists I spoke with were all helpful, calm, and accommodating.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2014
Beautiful dress
I did not wear this dress to the event as it was my backup but it was a hard choice
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 102lbs
June 2, 2014
It was exactly what I needed for a photo shoot
Gorgeous color, even more beautiful in person!
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2014
Dress was too small and I could not zip it, but it is a very beautiful dress.
This dress runs VERY small. I am normally a size 0/34, but could not zip this dress.
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2014
Everyone at my senior dance said I looked like a model!
The color is so beautiful! It is totally unique, so I stood out in the crowd. I loved the fitted bodice! The dress was really flattering without looking slutty. Lots of people walked up to me to tell me how hot I looked! Because of the unique color, my date wore a printed tie with the color in it, which added to our unique factor, but a plain black tie would look nice as well. The fit in the chest is a bit tight and the dress is pretty long. With my tall platform stilettos, it was the perfect length (just skimming the floor), but I couldn't take the heels off without it being way too long. However, I loved the dress! I felt so beautiful, and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
May 18, 2014
The color was gorgeous! So many compliments on the dress!
Definitely glad I got the petite - I wore 3" heels and it was perfect. The ribcage was a bit tight so I am glad that I ordered a safety size up. There was an issue at the zipper - it puckered and I had to fix the entire seam with fashion tape - but the other size I ordered didn't have the issue so I think it was just this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 15, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous color. Beautiful dress, wish I could buy it.
I ended up not wearing this because my back up size did not come due to damage and the size I ordered was too small. (Thanks RTR for overnighting me another dress!) But I literally killed myself trying to fit into it because I loved it so much. It's a beautiful color and really easy dress. For me, the bust ran a little small - that's why I couldn't wear it - but otherwise it was awesome and I will rent it again in the next size up as soon as I have the opportunity.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 15, 2014
Lovely Color!
The dress was extremely tight around the bust area and too long. With 6 inch heels on a still cleaned the floor with the dress. I received many compliments and even won "Best Dressed" from my MSW class. One day I will tell them my secret is #RTR The zipper was hard to lift in fact I had to ask for help while I laid down.
Size worn:
46R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
May 11, 2014
I was so happy when my dress came early
Fit was snug, but I absolutely loved the dress. I'm 5'8 and the regular length was perfect. The color is phenomenal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 10, 2014
Not worn - color too bright
Ordered this as a back up, and did not wear because felt uncomfortable in the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
May 7, 2014
Gorgeous dress
The dress is perfect, I received lots of compliments all night. I would have liked the 36R however I got a notice the day before saying the dress was unavailable so I went with the 38R which was fine just a tad large in the bust. The dress is really long, I wore 3 inch heels (I'm 5'3.5", 113lb) and it was still grazing the floor so I would have to hold it while I walked to not step on it. Dancing was the same situation. Otherwise, felt really comfortable all night and I loved wearing it. Also, I feel like it makes some people look pregnant in the pictures however I didn't find it to be like that - I think it's just posture.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2014
I felt stunning!
I was nervous about choosing a size for for this dress because I had never used RTR before. When my dresses arrived though I was pleased to find that the 40L fit perfectly! This was pretty lucky too because the 38R was too short for me with no shoes on, and it had ribbing from the corset protruding inside the dress. In person the color was darker than the images online eluded to, but it was still beautiful and elegant. This dress was great for my senior prom, but I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to dress to impress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2014
Beautiful color and comfortable dress!
The only reason I gave this dress 4 stars was because it was maybe an inch or two shorter on the length then I wanted it to be. I'm 5'6" and wore smaller heels (about 2 inch heels) I wanted to order the tall size but it wasn't in stock so I just went with the regular fit. Very comfortable dress and received many compliments!
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
May 4, 2014
The dress was absolutely perfect for the black tie wedding I attended in NYC. Great price, fit, look
I loved this dress! My first time using rent the runway and I was really pleased. The dress was beautiful and I got so many compliments, and it was a great fit lightweight material and very comfortable. Since it is empire waist it's an easy fit. Loved it, highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2014
The color was wonderful on my daughter.
The dress was beautiful. The zipper was tight at the bust, and it was shorter than we thought it would be. She was very pretty and liked this dress, but liked the one she rented last year better. Thanks for the wonderful opportunity.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 3, 2014
Fabulous color with a great fit!
The only negative about this dress is that it has a tough zipper otherwise it was perfect! I already rented it again for another occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2014
Luv the color, Beautiful!
Received lots of compliment in the dress.. Downfall it was a little long and I wore 4 1/2 inch heels with the dress.. The chest part after awhile a piece kept poking me on the ribcage had to fix it twice but thats probably due to a lot of ladies renting the dress.. However gorgeous for pictures wore it to a cocktail/formal wedding.
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 27, 2014
Wore this to my sorority 5 year gala. The dress was so comfortable. Great length too!
Only con is that the top, thin layer of the dress kept getting caught on my heels. Other than that I got so many compliments from my sisters on the dress and would wear it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 26, 2014
Gorgeous dress!!
I love everything about this dress but the size of the bust area. I thought I could make it work (because the only size they had for my time slot was my usual dress size), but I just couldn't. The dress fit nicely everywhere but the chest area -- it looked like I had 2 pairs of boobs. You will DEFINITELY need to size up if you have breasts that are a little on the larger side, just to be sure. Other than that I would recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2014
The color was perfect for a formal black tie winter wedding!
The top is extremely flattering. It showed the perfect amount of cleavage without being revealing. I loved the color, it grabbed attention, but wasn't too flashy for a wedding. Overall the length, color, and cut made it the perfect dress for a black tie winter wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
46R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2014
Gorgeous standout color
I loved the color of this gown and the grecian type draping of the fabric. I have a wide ribcage so I was afraid it wasn't going to fit from reading the other reviews, but it fit fine. The downside was I had to wear the larger size even though the smaller fit me better because of the length of the dress. The last dress I rented I chose the long size, however it tripped me all night because it was far too long. This time I opted for the regular length after reading reviews, but it was way too short :( The larger size was too loose up top for me, but I had to wear it because the length was a little longer...I'm 5'11" and was wearing flats.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 15, 2014
This dress was perfect for a formal dance at a fancy hotel.
I loved the color, texture, and length of this dress. The top of the bust area was a little loose, but the 38R was too tight (I got the zipper tied up, but it was too constricting and I wanted to dance). Overall, the dress was wonderful--very pretty and feminine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
April 12, 2014
Beautiful color!
This dress will make you feel absolutely beautiful. It's so airy and light! The color is gorgeous and will make any woman feel confident. The dress fit true to size, however the zipper was a little hard to zip without trying to break it. Other than that, I would recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 7, 2014
This dress took BEAUTIFUL photos outdoors and indoors! The color really popped!
However...zipping up the dress on the side took more effort than any other dress I've worn before. I'm 5'6 and wore 4 inch heels and the dress just hit the floor. If any ladies out there like to dance til they drop then beware of this dress as you may get sweat stains in the back. Overall, gorgeous dress, though!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 5, 2014
Felt amazing in it! Got lots of compliments, even from people I don't know.
Bodice fit perfectly, a little snug, but that's how I like my strapless dresses. Was long on me because I'm only 5'1" and I wanted to get the petite, but it wasn't available!
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 4, 2014
The compliments I received were amazing.
I rented this dress for my company party and accomplishment my desire to stand out in the crowd. The dress fit perfectly. I opted to wear a strapless bra for a little more definition. I am a small c cup. The material was great appeared to flow with my movement. This is a perfect dress for a formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2014
Short!
I ordered the long, and the size was too big. I received a smaller size but in the regular length and it looked comically short. A beautiful color! just not the right dress for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 16, 2014
I love it was strapless feeling, but not.
If you are tall you need heels
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
March 10, 2014
Loved it!
The dress fits a bit tight around the bodice but it helps if no bra is worn. Also, the length is perfect. I wore 5 inch heels and the length was just right ( I am 5'2 ). I would have worn the 38 R but it had a weird bump at the zipper, and I decided to go with the smaller size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 5, 2014
Great dress but a little short.
I'm 5'4" and about 125 pounds. I was worried that the dress would be too long based on other reviews (and because I've had issues with super long RTR dresses before!), so I ordered the 4R and 4P. Both fit very well. The 4R would have been fine with 2 inch heels, but anything higher would have shown my toes :) I went with the 4P and wore flats all night (hooray for being comfy!). The dress is a great color and photographs well. It's very comfortable. However, if you do have those little bra pads, I'd suggest wearing them if you plan on being in an air conditioned room...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
Loved!!!!!
Fits great, top area is padded so wearing a bra is not needed
View photos (1)
Size worn:
44R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 2, 2014
Every thing came together great color and perfect fit!!!!
This dress was amazing!!! So comfortable to wear...very beautiful and flowing. Dress length was great with 4in heels not to long like I though it might be based on previous reviews. The color of he dress is so vibrant perfect for the Mardi Gras Ball I rented it for!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 1, 2014
great dress.
Runs VERY small. especially across the chest. go for a larger size. Couldn't zip my normal size and even the size up was very fitted. Loved the overall design and received many compliments.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×