Carlos Miele

In a Bind Gown

$165 to buy
$1,100 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look glamorous in this figure flattering Carlos Miele emerald gown. Add jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Kate Spade's Putting on the Ritz Bangle for a chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in cups support most bust sizes; we recommend sizing up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'10'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Green silk chiffon(100% silk. Surplice neckline. Pleated bodice. Multi strap back. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
Beautiful color!
This was a gorgeous green color. I liekd this dress, but didn't love it. I felt like the top (at the bustline) was cut off and a little tight. The style is beautiful, but the fit was a little strange for me.
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2012
Loved the color!
I usually wear a 6 or 8. The 40L was much more comfortable than the 38L. However, I am a 34C and the bust was big for me. I needed a strapless push-up to fill it out. Also, the fabric was very sheer and senstive to pulls. I absolutely loved the color though it is lighter than appears in the phot and received a ton of compliments for wearing such a vibrant green at a black tie affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2012
It was absolutely amazing and I received so many compliments!
This dress was so light and comfortable. It fit perfectly. I would definitely recommend this dress.
desireeNovember 7, 2012
striking
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
gorgeous!!!! so many compliments!!!!! i would never have thought of this color if i was buying one
after reading the reviews, i got the long in a size up from what i regularly wore and it was PERFECT! i wore ~4 in heels with about a half inch platform and the dress was just the tiniest bit long (ended up tearing the hem, not dancing or walking but getting up from a chair--thank goodness for insurance!). it flows so nicely and the back is very pretty. no bra necessary: the dress only has bust pads (not built in cups) but it is tight enough to be supportive. this dress is very figure flattering!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved this dress! Got it for my brother-in-law's formal wedding. Perfect look! Very elegant!
LENGTH: I was a little concerned about the length... the Long was not available for my event date so I got the Regular. The stylist recommended 1"-2" heels which were tough to find! Most of the formal shoes in that height were very granny. I ended up with a leopard print 2" that looked fabulous... the dress just brushed over the toes... my feet were not completely hidden like in the model picture. FIT: Wow. I looked freakin' awesome, if I may say so myself. I'm usually between 6 and 8 and the 40 was perfect. I already have an hourglass figure but the cut really made me shine. The "floaty" nature of the fabric accentuated my bosom... it was separated and lifted from the lining which fit snugly and had great support. It also fit great in the hips and thighs which is usually my problem area... I have muscle-y legs and a tush... no problem there! COLOR: Gorgeous shade of green. It's really more of a teal than you can see in the picture... which I thought looked forest green. It definitely has more of a blue tint. Beautiful! SERVICE: I will definitely use RTR again. This was my first time and I'm not gonna lie... I was a bit nervous about it showing up and fitting (the length particularly, as mentioned above). But it was great. I've told oodles of people about it and am already scanning the dresses for New Year's Eve.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 7, 2012
too small for me
This was my back-up dress. I LOVED the color but it was just too small for me. I have been in transition with my weight (losing pregnancy weight) and I guess I was too ambitious for this one. Otherwise, gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 7, 2012
The option of two dresses
The dress looked great in the bust area but the waist area made me look bigger. I ended wearing a different dress but this was a beautiful dress for someone taller less hips.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2012
This dress will always be extra special for me because it was what I wore the night I got engaged.
The fabric, color, and fit are very flattering; very Greek Goddess-like! The back is beautiful with the criss-cross straps. I am 5'9" so I chose the 6L and 8L for length. I ended up wearing the 8L because it was a little longer and didn't give me side boob! I highly recommend this dress to anyone who needs a head-turner for a formal affair or, perhaps, an engagement night :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 17, 2012
This was my 2nd Choice but the cut was not flattering on my body type.
I went to my 1st choice dress instead of this one as it wasn't a good fit for my curves.
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2012
Wore this for a fundraiser with the Young Patrons of Lincoln Center! Great Green!
I usually wear a size 6 and the six fit.... but for some reason the straps were really loose making the dress fall down strangely. The size 8 was looser but the straps were much better, so I went with the 8!. Its a really light flowy dress and the back is really nice! Im 5'3 and it was perfect with 3 inch heels. Thanks RTR!
RobynFebruary 27, 2013
Are these European sizes?
RTR CustomerMarch 4, 2013
Hi Robyn! Yes, Carlos Miele uses French sizing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
November 3, 2012
nice gown, but too short
I rented this gown for a formal affair, but did not end up wearing it because it was too short. I ordered 38L and 40L and I am 5'9" and was wearing a 2.5 inch heel, and it was still too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2012
Felt so glamorous!
Fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on the dress. People thought it was custom made.
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Beautiful and would definitely order again!
This dress was one I simply stepped into, zipped, and was on my way. True to size in body and length (I wore 3-inch heels and the hem was just right), and the chiffon and ruching were flattering in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 28, 2012
Absolutely a stand-out yet subtle dress
The fit was strange and I should have paid closer attention- all the other women who reviewed this dress were larger breasted; I'm all but flat. I ordered the 34 &36 and the 36 was super tight- like 'gosh darn glad I have an actual waist cincher and not just Spanx' tight. However, the top fit best on the 34. If I had sized up to a 38 the chest would have been a deal breaker. I had to tape the whole top to my bra as it was. I also had to fix the cups because for some reason they aren't sewn in, they're free fallin between the chest lining and the dress so they were all balled up in both dresses. Lumpy boobs are not flattering on anyone. BUT after all the prep work to get the dress on I absolutely loved it. In a room full of all the other Marine Corps colors this green was magnificent. It is such a vibrant green without being neon or gaudy in any way. I wore 4.7" heels and the length was perfect.
RebeccaJanuary 5, 2013
I'm also flat chested and wondering if I could wear a strapless bra with this dress...and as I am older, would the neck line be too low? I need a green flowey dress as the mother of the bride who is having a "Celtic" type wedding where all the dresses are to be a shade of dark green and "flowey." Is the waist really tight or something?
RTR CustomerJanuary 9, 2013
Hi Rebecca! There are built in cups in this dress, so if you have a smaller bust, you should have plenty of support and will not need an extra bra! It is definitely not too low cut and the waist is not too tight. I would definitely suggest this dress for you!
emilyJanuary 9, 2013
i wore a strapless bra and tucked it down under my waist cincher so it wouldn't creep up. I had to wear a bra because I'm flat, the cups didn't fit me without the extra padding and it looked bad, plus wearing a bra gave me something to pin the cups down to so they didn't go sailing in the wind as I danced.
emilyJanuary 9, 2013
It is low cut, but not scadalously so. I think it would be appropriate as a MOB dress. Maybe add a statement necklace to fill up the exposed skin.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 29, 2012
Gorgeous
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. However, it was just too small. The width around the rib cage was SOO tight. I am usually between a 6-8 and I had to have help zipping this baby up! On the plus side it gives you an amazing hour glass figure, but, alas, I couldn't breathe or move in it. I opted for my back up dress which fit perfectly, luckily! If you have a normal size rib cage or broader upper body, I would recommend sizing up!
hannahJanuary 21, 2013
is this the type of dress/material to be unflattering around the belly area? im basically your measurements so i was just curious. im interested in renting this for my prom this year. looks great on you by the way!
RTR CustomerJanuary 22, 2013
Hi Hannah! This material is not too unflattering in the stomach area. I would suggest wearing Spanx under the dress if you are worried, they work wonders!
MarlaJanuary 23, 2013
Hi Hannah, thanks! And no this dress made me look soo skinny because of the side rouching and hid my little "pooch" very well. But as I said in my recap above, maybe I just have a larger rib cage (didn't think so before!), but I would size up on this one :-) It's an awesome color in person, and I think would be really great for prom. Good luck!
StephanieMay 11, 2013
Hi Hanna, I am thinking about renting this dress
StephanieMay 11, 2013
I am 5"6 1/2 and 142-143 lbs. I am going to wear heals. My bra size is 36 full C. My measurements are similar to yours. Did you wear heals?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2012
i did love this dress
gorgeous
SimoneMarch 29, 2013
Did you have any issues with the chest being too big? I'm your same size measurements and interested in this dress but worried bc there are comments about it being better for large busted women!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 4, 2012
Didn't wear it
I ended up having a procedure and did not feel well enough to go to our event. The dress was wrinkled a bit but I am sure I could have addressed that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2012
Gorgeous!
This is a stunning dress and is great at hiding any unwanted bulges.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2012
Beautiful color!
I ordered the orchid Carlos Miele and received it with a hole in it, so this was over nighted as a back up. I ended up going with the orchid gown, but this was still very pretty. It felt a little 'mom' with the two spaghetti straps, and I wanted something a little more fun. The gathering at the waist is very slimming though and the color is beautiful. The fit was more generous than the orchid one too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 11, 2012
Green is the color of Prosperity
I was unsure of the dress but with the help of the stylist they picked out everything and that was a huge relief. I knew I didnt want the typical black dress for a black tie event. The dress arrived on time and neatly packed with all items included. I gave the dress 4 stars bc the cleavage was a bit much 36C and the dress came right to the top of my toes, (5'5") the length was a bonus bc I was hoping to wear flats anyway. We were up all night dancing and socializing who wants sore feet when you cant flaunt some fabulous shoes! Waiting for my room at the Seminole Hard Hotel I saw another RTR garment back headed up to their room, it put a lil smile on my face. The 2nd picture attached is on the star from "Wicked", she had a gown from RTR and looked beautiful. We were both delighted on RTR!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
January 12, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this to a black tie wedding and I definitely stood out. It fit like a glove and had a wow faster to it. The back was stunning!
BethMarch 2, 2012
It says you usually wear a 0, did you rent the 34R?
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 24, 2012
Hangs Beautifuly. Very sliming
I have a very short waste and this dress made my waste look lomg and slim. My breasy size is also a chalange on the sides and this dress fit perfectly with no spillage. Didnt even need a bra. I felt like a sexy fairy princess. The color on my picture is not right. It is a very green teal. Perfect for Christmas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2013
Beautiful dress, but really odd fit
I ordered this in two sizes because this was my number one choice to wear to one of the inaugural balls. The only sizes available were the 38L and 42L (I think the 40 may have fit, but honestlyI'm not sure). The 38L was really small in the rib cage- and generally I size down in tops because I have a small rib cage. But then the straps were long. the 42L was just wrong all over. The top was way too big even though I'm a 34C. The hips were even a little big, or just didnt hang right. And it was too short. My sister ended up wearing it. She's a bit more apple and is more like a 34 D- and only 5'6. I definitely would not recommend for anyone tall. It woudn't have touched the ground on me in flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 5, 2013
Excellent dress for the ball!
It fit great! The cups are not very well designed as they only provide shape on the sides.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
February 27, 2013
Hearing one of the other docs asking his wife why she doesn't dress "like her" and show off a bit.
Thank goodness I went with a size larger than I normally wear because it there was no way the 38R was going to fit. The pros are that this dress compliments the hour glass figure; it fits as if it was made just for you. The color is stunning and the cut very flattering; I had many compliments on it. The cons are that the 40R forced me to wear 4 inch heels and my feet are happier in the 2 inch Dior heels. I'm a 36C and this dress showed a tad more cleavage than I'm generally comfortable with. Finally, my unforgettable moment was being introduced to a consignment shop owner who offered to take the dress off my hands. RTR is my little secret!
Size worn:
34L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 28, 2013
beautiful dress!
fabric is great, color is just like the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 4, 2013
The dress was beautiful, but way more cleavage then I was prepared.
I am pretty curvy, usually wear a size 6 in dresses. The dress was fitted in the hip area but my main problem was the top. I wear a 34D and this dress defiantly showed the twins off. So if you are a bit bigger on top, think about how much cleavage you want to show. I received a lot of compliments and the dress is really flattering in the stomach area. You just have to rock it with confidence.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2013
Felt like a million dollars in this dress!
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and felt so beautiful in this dress. I love the color and style. I normally range b/t a 6 and an 8 (American designers) dress size; I ordered the 38 and 40 (both regular length). The 38 didn't zip up when it got to my bust area, luckily the 40 fit and felt like a glove, flattering but not skin tight. It hugs in all the right places and covers any stomach you want to hide- I didn't even wear spanx or pantyhose with this dress! I am a 34D so not wearing a bra was NOT an option, haha. As other ladies mentioned, the bra area has no boning or real support, it has pads (they are not sewn in, so when I first tried it on, they were folded on the inside so had to fix that but then they stayed put) but the pads add no support if you're well endowed in the bust area. I wore a backless, strapless bra by "Fashion Forms" for $40 that I got at a department store. It definitely helped keep everything in place and no worrying about sagging or flashing anyone while dancing! I was initially worried about the length (b/c I am only 5"3 I almost never wear long gowns, but I only wore 2" heels and this gown wasn't dragging on the floor but my feet were still covered- perfect! I would definitely recommend this gown to anyone who wants to feel special and stand out in a sea of black dresses! If this dress had more support in the bust area, I would rate it 5 stars; it all ended up working perfectly but I did have to buy a special bra to wear with this. Rent the Runway is awesome and I will definitely be using them for my next event!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2013
Great color, even the L runs short
This was sent to me as a replacement dress and was chosen by an RTR stylist. I was unable to wear it because it was a bit too short for the shoes I had on hand. Color is gorgeous, highly recommended if you want an EMERALD stunner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 13, 2013
RTR shipped overnight to make my wedding so fun.
great fabric and draping on the bottom half, however the top is heavily padded and looks unnatural. I didn't feel comfortable with the extra bust so I wore another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
December 20, 2011
This dress made me feel like a 1940's movie star.
I rented this gown for a concert appearance to sing in the Holiday Pops with the Virginia Symphony Orchestra. I wanted something classic, classy and glamorous. When I saw this gown I knew it was the perfect dress. I got compliments all night! Not only is this dress beautiful, but it is incredibly comfortable! Every time someone asked me where I got the gorgeous gown, I said "RentTheRunway.com" :)
DanielleJanuary 12, 2012
Is the color of this dress more like the teal green in your photo or the bright green in the advertisement? Thank you!
MelissaJanuary 31, 2012
are you barefoot in this photo? i'm 5'7.5" and am trying to figure out what height heels i can wear with the dress still brushing the floor. thanks!
AllegraMarch 20, 2012
Were you able to wear a bra under? If you did not, was there enough support for your bust?
RTRApril 23, 2012
Hi Allegra, there are built in cups that support most bust sizes!
KatieMay 9, 2012
I am your height, was the length okay? what kind of shoes did you wear?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2012
it was perfect for a formal affair, nice pop of color!
Loved the color of this dress and it was just so comfortable. The photo makes the material look shinier than it is, but it is still gorgeous. The way the dress falls at the bottom with the different layers is just gorgeous. True to size. Looser in the thigh area so, if you are in between sizes, the smaller will work. I am 5'4" and the dress was the perfect length with shorter heels. If I went with a higher heel, the long would have been necessary
amandaFebruary 5, 2012
You look absolutely stunning! I'm the exact size as you, 34c, hourglass figure, usually wear a 6 or 8 and I'm 5'4''. Your review really makes me want to get this for my senior prom..I have red hair and green eyes, people are always telling me I look amazing in green. Thanks so much!
maraMay 1, 2012
how tall were the shorter heels? thanks a bunch!
TaraAugust 10, 2012
just a short wedge ~2"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
February 8, 2012
Being a perfect mardi gras couple in my green dress and my husband in his purple cumberbund and bowtie.
I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball, and it was a perfect color and perfect fit! It was beginning to show some signs of wear (a small tear by the zipper and the lining in front slightly longer than the chiffon), but overall, you couldn't tell. I got tons of complements!
BethMarch 6, 2012
Is the color as bright as it looks on the website?
RTRMarch 9, 2012
Hi Beth! Yes it is just as bright.
LisaDecember 28, 2012
How was the length for you? Did you wear platforms?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2012
Calls for a specific body type
I say that this dress is true to size even though it did not fit me. No size of this dress would have fit me better, it just did not work for my body type. I chose this dress because the model seemed to have a similar body to me: busty and athletic. But I ran into a few problems. If you have a short torso, the meshy material that runs over the whole dress bunches at the waist takes away the shape. If you are busty and have a big ribcage, it just doesn't work at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 22, 2012
RTR was great. My items shipped on time and the packaging was soo cute. They even sent me a little sample perfume and some sticky tape. The instructions were very clear on how to return the items (super easy) and I got to keep the cute RTR garment bag.
I wore this to a sunset wedding and it was a beauty. My only complaint is that if you are busty like myself, it is very tight on the top. The straps are not adjustable so you have to wear it as is and I found by the end of the night that the straps were digging into my shoulder.I Probably could have gone up a size but I'm not sure if the dress would fit the same. Besides that, the dress was very flowy and the color was very elegant.
SominApril 23, 2012
how tight is the booty area??
RTRApril 23, 2012
Hi Somin, this dress is fitted in the hips so we recommend sizing up for your back up size!
LindsaySeptember 9, 2012
Kim, did you wear a bra with this? I have a bigger bust, usually size 8, but I could not fathom not wearing a bra. Haven't not worn one since middle school!
RTRSeptember 10, 2012
Hi Lindsay! We recommend wearing the Nu Bra or the Braza Strapless Adhesive Bra! They have a good amount of support and will work well with this dress!
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Kimberly! You should be fine running around in this dress, it is not too uncomfortable. Also, we recommend wearing 2-3 inch heels with this dress if you are around Kim's height!
CaitlinOctober 21, 2012
I am too large busted to wear a nu bra or an adhesive bra (I'm a 28F). Can I go without?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 22, 2012
RTR was great. My items shipped on time and the packaging was soo cute. They even sent me a little sample perfume and some sticky tape. The instructions were very clear on how to return the items (super easy) and I got to keep the cute RTR garment bag.
I wore this to a sunset wedding and it was a beauty. My only complaint is that if you are busty like myself, it is very tight on the top. The straps are not adjustable so you have to wear it as is and I found by the end of the night that the straps were digging into my shoulder.I Probably could have gone up a size but I'm not sure if the dress would fit the same. Besides that, the dress was very flowy and the color was very elegant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 3, 2012
Beautiful Gown
I got many compliments for the gown I wore for the black tie wedding I wore it to. My only complaint is that the fabric is slightly loose over one side of the chest area, but other than that it was perfect. It was very slightly tight, but fit me very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 8, 2012
RTR picked out the earrings for me - they worked great! My friends can't wait to try RTR!
This dress was super comfortable and fit great. I am 5'11, so I was only able to wear a kitten heel, but otherwise, it was perfect. I wore a bra, but you wouldn't have to necessarily... The color is beautiful and the material is really soft. Great for a black tie event! Earrings were RTR as well!
RobinMay 22, 2012
what kind of bra did you wear with this dress? thanks!
RTRMay 22, 2012
Hi Robin, this gown has built-in support in the bust so it doesn't require a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2012
I looked all over for a prom dress in this color, and I almost gave up on it before I found this dress. The emerald color is flawless and unique.
I rented this for my senior prom, and it worked great! I'm only 5'2", so ideally I would have rented at 38R, but the long was my only option because I waited a while too long to reserve it. Still, the dress fit beautifully, and I'm sure that the length would have been right if I were the intended height. Everyone told me I looked incredible! Everything from the customer service to the dress itself was perfect. Thank you so much!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2012
I received tons of compliments. My senior prom couldn't have been better!
I wore this dress to prom and it was wonderful. I am usually a 4, but the 6 fit me perfectly. The color was beautiful, and the dress came on time, clean and unwrinkled. I rented a 4 and a 6, but the day before the dresses were supposed to arrive, I got a call saying that the 4 was unavailable. If i emailed a stylist by 2 pm i could have chosen any dress of the same size regardless of price. Unfortunately I wasn't home, but the stylist picked out a beautiful dress for me. Luckily the 6 fit. The stylists are so helpful and concerned, I will definitely rent again.
HeidiAugust 8, 2012
How high a heel did you wear? I'm 5' 7", 135 lbs and I'm worndiering if I should get a regular or long - it's for a very dressy event so I'd like to wear >3" heels
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Heidi! I would absolutely get the long if you are going to wear 3' inch heels!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×