Blumarine

Lady Pep Dress

$104 to buy
$915 retail
Stylist Notes

Add some extra sass to your ladylike lace in this sheath by Blumarine. The defined waist and peplum detailing make this an ultra feminine cocktail choice!

Our model wears the dress with RJ Graziano’s Crystal Thorn Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38 - 48, Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy crepe (50% nylon 45% polyester 5% elastane). Cap sleeve. Crew neckline. Sheer lace back. Pencil skirt with peplum detail. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem.

Share
142 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(78)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2014
Pretty dress, but I didn't end up wearing it for a few reasons.
The dress was beautiful, but I didn't end up wearing it. The dress has velvet details- something I did not realize when I rented the dress. I was going to a wedding in august I just found it inappropriate and decided not to wear the dress. In addition, I will give you some details about the fit. I have a small chest so the 42 was too loose and I would have felt uncomfortable without some sort of support or someway to ensure it wouldn't shift, the 40 fit perfectly up top, but the skirt portion of the dress was snug. As I said, I didn't end up wear the dress to this event, but my boyfriend saw it on me, he told me later in the night that he was glad I didn't wear it. I looked great but he thought it was a little risque for a church wedding. I would consider renting it again for a late fall/winter event.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2014
Didn't Fit
I'm usually either a size 0 or a 2. I ordered sizes 40 and 42 based on the reviews. The 40 fit well on top but was way too tight on the bottom. The 42 fit better on the bottom but was so loose on top that the dress just felt sad and frumpy. I've decided to wear one of my own dresses to the wedding. Bummed that my first RTR experience didn't work out. I will say that I was impressed by the shape the dresses were in--they looked new. They were clean and the lace was intact.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
September 21, 2014
Gorgeous dress! Great quality!
This dress runs small. I'm almost always a size 38 and the 40 was snug, but I wouldn't have gone another size up. Beautiful fabric and loved the navy/black combo. Very classy! Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 26, 2014
Amazing wedding in Scotland for a beautiful couple!
Great dress with great weight fabric, so shapewear unecessary. Definitely runs small, wish I had the size up, but it wasn't available the date I needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 5, 2014
great dress. Sexy, but classic.
Really great dress. But it was small in the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 11, 2014
Beautiful dress for a wedding!
This dress is absolutely stunning. As other reviewers mentioned, the bottom part of the dress can be kind of constricting. However, I decided to suck it up and wear it anyways. I'm glad I did. I got a ton of compliments all night long. I would totally order this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2014
Classy and Sexy
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding. Its a tiny bit small. I'm almost an exact 4 and I found this a little tight around the bum. Also, the torso part of the dress was a little long, so the zipper bunched up on my while standing, but didn't bunch while sitting. I would say this might be better suited for someone 5'4" or taller. Over all a beautiful dress and I got a lot of compliments, but would probably look better on someone tall than on someone short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 23, 2014
I love RTR! Great service, and love that you get a back up size!
I loved this dress! It was classy/sexy and I was comfortable dancing on it too! I normally wear a size 4, and got the 42 & 46 as a backup after reading reviews. I def have some hips and booty, so the 42 was a tight fit around that area, which can happen w other size 4 dresses. There wasn't a 44 available as a back up so I wore the 46. It was a little big, but nothing uncomfortable, plus it gave room for dancing :D ! I wore an adhesive bra with the dress and was good to go! I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2014
Didn't wear this one. Didn't fit.
Didn't wear this one. Didn't fit.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2014
Beautiful dress, but runs small.
I didn't actually ge tto wear this dress because it runs small and there were no back up dresses. This was a back up dress RTR sent and it also ran small. I would rent again in a bigger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2015
Beautiful dress!!!!!
Unfortunately I ended up wearing a backup dress instead. The dress ended up being a little too formal for the wedding I attended. I would definitely rent again for another occasion! Snug dress, definitely suggest sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 17, 2014
Sexy but formal dress.
Beautiful dress. Cut a little small in the mid section with little give.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 27, 2015
Great dress.
I found this dress to fit great, overall. A little snug up top and around the hips, but not so much that it was uncomfortable. It felt good and had some give. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
May 22, 2015
Cute, but snug fit & heavy fabric
The dress was very cute, and fit snugly as described by other users. The fabric was very heavy, however, so it wouldn't have been comfortable for a May wedding in Austin, Texas. This is definitely more of a winter dress, and better if you aren't going to be dancing as it's very snug in the hip region. Definitely size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2015
Great Dress!
I wore this to dinner, felt very sexy in it. It is very form fitting, they didn't have a bigger back up size available but I wonder if I would have been more comfortable in it. The top fits great and comfortable but the bottom was a little too snug for me. I could barely cross my legs at dinner and had to take small steps. Overall great dress would probably try to rent the bigger size next time.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2015
Runs small on the bottom.
Unfortunately I couldn't wear this dress because it's pretty tight in the skirt area and has no give. The top part fit fine...even a little lose. I ordered a back up size but was not able to receive it so I had to choose another dress which also didn't work. If you're thinking about renting this dress go up a size from your normal size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 13, 2016
Sadly RTR shipped this to someone else by mistake...
I had tried this one on at a RTR in NYC and knew I had to rent it. My order was for 1 dress in one size since I'd already tried it on and didn't want a backup option. Unfortunately, RTR messed up the shipment and I never got it. Their customer service did what they could to help but still sad I didn't get to wear this one...maybe next time :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 19, 2016
Loved the detail
I wanted to wear this for my husbands residency graduation but the dress runs small and the back up size had a hole.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 1, 2014
Amazingly chic dress
I rented this dress for a wedding that was on New Year's Eve, which also happens to be my birthday (triple whammy!). Here's the rundown: 1. I am usually a size 4 or 6 in regular clothes, and I rented this dress in a 42 and 44. 2. The dress is VERY fitted, and I would recommend sizing up vs. down for your second size. I ended up wearing the smaller size (42), but if my hips were any wider, it would not have fit, and I would have had to wear the bigger size. 3. The fabric has absolutely NO give anywhere, so if you are curvier, this may not be the dress for you. 4. You cannot wear a bra since the back is all lace. That said, it's tight enough where that wasn't a problem for me (34D chest), but something to be aware of if you're uncomfortable going braless. 5. The photo makes the dress look black, but it is actually navy, and only the lace is black. Very chic, but just something to note if you're looking for an all black number. 6. Despite the cutouts, the tight fit and inability to wear a bra, the length, style and color still made this dress totally appropriate for a wedding (and it was a family wedding, but I was still completely comfortable). It is definitely sexy, but still classy. 7. The temperature was below zero outside the day I wore this, so I ended up having to wear tights or I would have frozen, but it still looked good with opaque black tights, and it made it a bit more conservative, too. Overall, I absolutely LOVED this dress. I felt great in it and it was perfect for the occasion. I would definitely rent this again and would recommend it highly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2014
LOVELY little dress! The perfect mix of sexy and classic.
A bit large in the chest for me (Im a small B) but cutlets did the trick! Hips fit fine, nothing was too big on my body (I went up a size to a 6 because they didnt have the 4, and it fit fine. The 4 would have been tighter. but the 6 was totally fine and didnt look big) Very sexy, comfortable and breatheable and I got many compliments all night on it! Perfect for a formal wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
July 12, 2014
Everyone kept saying how classy I looked!
I loved this dress, it's more navy with black lace, but I loved the color. Definitely need to get extra size up, it was very snug through the hips and thighs. The top part fit very nicely, and didn't have some trouble with zipper. All in all I loved how classic this dress was, and the look made it very unique!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2014
My husband told me the only time I looked more beautiful was at our wedding! I felt stunning!
Pros- gorgeous stretchy lace top that is super flattering for those with small busts Cons- the skirt is so tight that it's hard to move around in. I read the reviews and ordered a size up, but still it would have been better to go up two sizes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 4, 2015
Perfect for my graduation - a little more fun than the average professional attire
The dress is snug in the bottom, so I would recommend going a size up for this dress if you have curves. The top fit beautifully. I was concerned about wearing a bra with the lace, but you couldn't even see my nude bra through the lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 3, 2013
Many comments on how great the dress looked on me.
I went with the bigger size, it fit like a dream
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
September 6, 2013
This was my back up dress. Very pretty but not quite dressy enough for my event.
Very lovely dress. Lace is black, dress is dark navy. Very nice effect. True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147lbs
September 14, 2013
Compliments all night long!
This dress is amazing it fit like a glove and I loved it! The fabric has absolutely NO give whatsoever which made sitting and bathroom breaks challenging but it was well worth it. Beware that you can not wear a bra. Even the NuBra showed due to the cut out design but the dress was tight enough that it held me in place. If you are curvier I would say this dress is not for you because it is pretty straight in through the hips. I usually wear a 6 but I was able to wear the size 40 .. The 42 would have been a more comfortable fit but it was too big in through the torso which made the fabric gather so I opted to wear the 40 instead.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 14, 2013
Elegant, beautiful dress!
Perfect for a formal wedding. True to size if you have an athletic/straight and narrow build. However, if you have hips/bust there is no stretch in this dress which may make it feel a little small. I'm glad my backup was a size up instead of a size down. Absolutely beautiful dress, conservative yet sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 27, 2013
Classic with an edge
Beautiful dress! I received compliments all night. The dress is form fitting. Not much give. If you have a long torso it will ride up a bit. Overall, I loved the dress and would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2013
Got so many compliments! Everyone loved the dress and fit like a glove
Beware if you're curvier on the bottom, as it's not as giving. Be safe and get a back up size but other than that it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2013
Fantastic dress! Classy with just the right amount of sex appeal for a work Christmas party.
The is absolutely no give/stretch in this dress so make sure you get the back up size just in case. i wore it to fit like a glove and it was stunning.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 18, 2013
THis dressy was classy and yet had a sexy look without being trashy.Received many compliments.
The fit was true t size, only wore the bra petals , enough support . Very comfortable all around, not too snug but yet fitted without being tight. It has a very slight navy tone with the black lace so if you have to wear pantyhose ,especially on a cold evening, recommend suntan color , not sheer black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 19, 2013
AMAZING
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's firms' holiday party. It is definitely snug in the hips/butt but the overall fit was great. I received a lot of compliments and was very pleased with the fit. I wish I could have kept the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2013
Comfortable, classy, perfect!
A little pregnant, hid my little bump
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Amazing, classy dress!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party, which was black-tie optional. It was sophistocated, classy, and sexy with the sheer lace back. I usually wear a size 2 or 4, and the 4 fit perfectly. I would definitely recommend getting a size up for your backup size as there is not very much stretch to the fabric. Overall, it was absolutely beautiful and I wish I owned it! Got compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 4, 2014
Sexy & Beautiful.
the 40 fit perfectly. I usually wear a size 2. Dress was beautiful. The lace back and side cut outs made it feel super sexy.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
February 21, 2014
Perfect fit
Beautiful and perfect fit.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2014
Loved loved loved this dress and got so many compliments.
I'm normally a 4 and the 42 was a perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2014
the dress was comfortable, fit well, and looked classy.
it's a thumbs up in my book.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 137lbs
March 7, 2014
Loved this classy elegant dress
This was my first rental and I couldn't be happier. The dress was really well made as you can expect from a Bluemarine. I am glad I ordered 2 sizes as usually I wear size Italian 38 but with this dress I was a 40. It fits very well and I actually was happy to see that it was blue and black as it is even classier than all black. The only down side was when I actually wore it I noticed there was a small rip on the side. I wore it anyway as I figured it wouldn't be noticeable in a dark room.
debbieMarch 7, 2014
can you wear a bra with this dress?
MariseMarch 7, 2014
you can wear a Nu bra
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
March 7, 2014
Wore to a birthday dinner at Soho House
The fit was incredible. This was a beautiful and perfectly tailored dress. I would definitely rent again! Was very happy with my first experience with RTR.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×