Black Halo

Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(29)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2012
My birthday started out crappy but this dress fit so well and made it all better :D

I used the double-sided tape that came with the dress for the shoulders because the material slips at the shoulders. Overall a great dress, I loved it and the color was perfect!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2012
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding... my husband would not let me out of the house in it !

This dress is SUPER short. I am only 5'4 & my husband said it was inappropriate. Is a def rent for maybe a bachelorette party or something where no family members would be around. This dress is def for a busty person. If my chest was not this large it would be droopy in the front. Gorg dress, wish I could have worn it !!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2012
I wore this dress for my sorority's recruitment.

I loved the way it flattered my body shape. Many people gave me compliments. It was a true red color too which I was happy about. The only problem I had was the one piece on top didn't stay in place very well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Was very easy to rent wear and return!

I loved the color, very bright and stand out. It felt a little short however I think I'm just not used to wearing the style of dress. The material was great. The fit was true to size, came on time and very easy to return!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
The dress was such a bright red - it really made you pop and stand out!

Everything fit me true to size (XS) except for the length. I have a bigger butt, so the length on me was a lot shorter than on the model. Other than that, the bust, waist and everything else fit perfectly! I really liked the layering of the dress, it added some interest. I rented this dress for a charity event, so I covered my shoulders up with a little gold shrug.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
This color really made the dress.

The rouching wasn't my favorite but I loved the color of this dress. Also a little on the shorter side but it did an alright job of staying in place all night. Might be better for girls who aren't too curvy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2012
I was complimented on how I looked from behind as much as from the front

I read the reviews and ordered my usual - M - and an S for the free backup as previous reviews indicated this ran large. For a true hourglass shape, however, I'd say this is just the right amount of material. But with any dress I run the risk of not enough give in the hips or bust. Plenty of room in the bust with an M, barely enough for the bottom. The dress is extremely short - which was very fun for this night but something to be aware of especially for big bottomed girls like myself. There's gorgeous gathering in all the right places but a seam down the back, which meant I was pulling on it all night to make sure the seam lined up correctly. That said, when it did line up it was super sexy and gorgeous. Husband was told by many that I'm getting more beautiful as I age and that kind of compliment can't be beat. I wouldn't order this dress again and am glad I didn't purchase it, but that's what is great about renting! The red was more orange than expected (but looks pink in these photos) so beware. I felt beautiful all night!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
SHORT.

My backup size was suddenly unavailable for a dress I rented, so RTR kindly suggested I try a different dress as a backup. Thankfully, the dress I ordered fit. This dress was incredibly short (I'm 5'10"). I was not wild about the hand of the fabric either. It felt very polyester-y. The drape in the back was unflattering. Not for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 16, 2013
Standing out in photos because of the vivid red dress shade!

The dress fit true to size, possibly even a little on the roomy side, most notably in the bust. Very comfortable and cute dress; I got a lot of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2013
Would have been lovely if the skirt was longer

Did not end up wearing this dress, had rented for a romantic Valentine's evening with my boyfriend and when it arrived and tried it on I realized any stares I would receive would be due to the extreme amount of leg (if not more) showing. Beware for taller women, I'm nearly 5'10 and it was much too short to wear in public. The draping is nice, though a bit boxy around the waist, probably a beautiful fit on curvier bodies I just didn't have the but to fill it out as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Stunning red, but short

Gorgeous red dress-has a slight stretch in the fabric, but this dress is not forgiving. It is quite short and my current baby bump definitely made it too short for a formal event. Loved the dress-would be great for petite girls or those looking for a daring statement dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2013
Great dress. Wore for work Christmas party.

Fit well, however, the folds around the middle can make it look like you have more belly than you do, so be sure to stand up straight!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 26, 2014
i received so many compliments and the red just popped.

the dress fit perfectly, especially a woman with curves.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2014
Everyone said I looked HOTT

The biggest problem is that I have a very muscled butt. I do crossfit and I run and cycle so the dress was extremely short on the backside. Otherwise, a beautiful dress. Make sure to wear a bra. The rouching hides a lot of imperfections so there's no need to worry about not having six-pack abs, which I don't have.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2010

This dress did not work with my bust line. The fabric looked cheap and did not hang as it shows in this photo. I would never rent it again. I didn't even wear it.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2011

This dress is amazing. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. Got tons of compliments on it, definitely a show stopper!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
April 23, 2011

Not pretty in person. The fabric looks cheap and the dress has a lot of bulk to it. I didn't wear it. : (

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2011

Dress was very cute in every aspect except the length. Both sizes (XS, S) were SO short that I couldn't even wear the dress--bummer.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2011

I really did not like this dress - the fabric was clingy and cheap and the rouching on the back was unflattering. I did not wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2012
Great for a night partying with my girlfriends.

I wore this to a bachelorette party in NYC's Meatpacking District. It was perfect. The dress was very flattering. I am about two sizes larger in pants than I am in tops (I usually wear a 0-2 in tops and a 4-6 in bottoms) and the XS fit well. It was very short, but I am tall and that was fine for spending a night out partying.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
October 1, 2010

Sexy and beautiful! This dress is a gorgeous color and made me feel very confidant wearing it. The draping is forgiving and the ruching up the back very flattering. My only complaint is that even without a bra, the sash on the right side kept wanting to 'pop up' instead of drape flat. Not for full bust figures. Still I received many compliments!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
November 8, 2010

You will definitely stand out in this dress. I wore this dress to a black tie event although most of the women wore cocktail dresses. I had many people come up and complement me on the dress. Although this dress is fairly true to size, make sure your second dress is one size up. I am usually a 10, but thought the medium was too snug and ended up wearing the large. I did not have any problems with the bust area being too loose. I loved this dress and would likely rent again!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2010

Unfortunately didn't have any success with this dress. I ordered both a M and L, but neither were very flattering. I am very curvy and the draping made my hips even wider, and cameflogued my waist. My experience seems to be unique as many other reviewers were pleased with their dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2010

The color, style and material are great. I agree with the other comments about it not being great for people with larger busts, as I did have to adjust the sash a bit. I also think this dress is better for longer torso ladies, because I felt that all of the ruching around the middle was a little much on my very short torso. Overall, the look is stunning, and I can't complain about the complements that I got when I wore it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2010

This dress is beautiful in peron BUT maybe because I am short, I felt it layed better on the model in the picture. I ordered a size small and medium as a backup and I fit into both just fine but ended up wearing the small. This dress is fun and very classy, I wore it to my husband's military ball and I got many compliments on this dress. The color is also very true to the picture its a bright fire engine red. I wore it with 5 in black velvet heels, pearls, and rd lipstick. Although I am short I still managed to wear this dress well. It is also very forgiving especially after a 3 course meal, the ruching on this dress is incredible and is tucked in all the right places.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2011

It was really cute, but I couldn't wear it. I have a large chest (32 DD) so the seam that is supposed to run under the bust ran straight through mine, If I pulled it down to where it should have been it made it super low cut. So... with it being so short and having to pull it down in oder for the seam to be where it should have been, I didn't look very "respectable". I would have loved it if I had a smaller chest!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2011

I didn't love this dress- I wore it to an event I planned, so I picked this dress because of the thick straps and because the material looked like it would give a little. First off, it's actually a pretty heavy dress, and there isn't really any stretch to it. The drapping around the bust made it a bit awkward (but I'm a larger 34C so that could've been it), and it wouldn't have stayed in place if it wasn't for dress tape! It's also a bit awkward on the side of the dress, I think it's probably better for someone super tall or a bit shorter.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 12, 2011

I hate to say it but I DID NOT like this dress. :( I'm a petite person and it made me look HUGE. Also, I rented this item before the more elaborate product details portion of the website so I did not realize it was shiny jersey. It was not suitable for the daytime event I was attending. I think this dress would be great for women with beautiful curves! :)

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 29, 2011

I had my senior prom last night, and this dress was quite the show-stopper! the fitting was remarkable. the only "bad" part about it is that it stretched out...ALOT. by the end of the night i was able to fit another person in my dress along with me. So that made it loose its shape, but then again I was dancing for 4 hours straight with the dress. In general, this dress was very beautiful, and the color is just perfect

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
August 2, 2011

I rented this and ended up wearing my back up. Didnt look like the dress on the model to me at. It was a pretty color though, and it was my first time renting, and I thought the whole process was very streamlined and easy.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 2, 2012
Didn't work for me

Like others have said, the draping was all wrong and looked nothing like the photo. I have a large chest, though, so maybe it's just made for someone with a smaller chest. I wish it had worked, though, because the color was gorgeous and it looked so sassy before I put it on!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2012
Great at first...

I felt that it looked fabulous in the picture but when I put it on, it just seemed cheap on me. It fit well but the fabric was not what I expected.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
September 28, 2012
RTR made the process so simple!

I did not like the fact that the fabric was shiny. This dress would have been to die for if it was just a matte jersey. Felt too 'holiday-like' for an April wedding.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 6, 2012
Nice dress

Love the color and style. Note: it is short (the model in the picture is 5'5")

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2013
I liked it, but the material was jersey and diffrent than i expected.

I wore it to a semi formal.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 5, 2013
Eh..

I was not crazy about this dress. It was super comfy but it just reminded me of something you would buy in Joyce Leslie.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 8, 2013
Not for me

This was just not a dress I would wear. It was really short and the material felt cheap to me. I think the shape is nice and I was sad to not love it, but this one went back unworn...and before I knew you could sent them back right away if they weren't right, so I paid full price...my fault but still sad!

See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×