Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large21
True to Size68
Small28
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
March 11, 2011
Because of previous reviews, I thought this dress would be a knock out. However, this was not the case. The fabric seemed and felt cheap. Ended up NOT wearing it at all. Pretty disappointed.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2011
Runs small on taller people and thus is extremely short. It was unwearable without risking arrest. Size up appropriately.
SariAugust 3, 2015
Thanks for such specific advice! I have never had luck w/ fashion tape but I am ordering topstick tape now! :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2011
The dress was ill-fitting, to put it nicely. The draping looked more like saggy material and the draping was so thick it added size to my ribcage, which was the OPPOSITE effect I would have expected based on other reviews. Overall, this dress was a FAIL to me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2011
This is a beautiful dress. But I agree with some of the other reviewers...the right side strap/sash does not lay down flat. I had to keep pulling it down all night. Maybe my chest was too big for it. I wore this for a weekend away with my husband. He loved it. The dress fits true to size. I wore the 4. I loved that you could wear a regular bra with it. It was definitely short on me though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
February 20, 2011
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2011
I was so excited to wear this to a friend's rehearsal dinner but then was so disappointed when it arrived. This dress would be perfect for a night out in Vegas, but was not appropriate for a nice sit down dinner. It is very short, you could get away with the front but the gathering on the back makes it uncomfortably short. If you're looking for a get up for clubbing or the Jersey Shore- this is your dress. If you want to be classy or even classy with a bit of an edge- choose something else.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 7, 2011
I didn't love this dress- I wore it to an event I planned, so I picked this dress because of the thick straps and because the material looked like it would give a little. First off, it's actually a pretty heavy dress, and there isn't really any stretch to it. The drapping around the bust made it a bit awkward (but I'm a larger 34C so that could've been it), and it wouldn't have stayed in place if it wasn't for dress tape! It's also a bit awkward on the side of the dress, I think it's probably better for someone super tall or a bit shorter.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2011
I have a 34" inseam, so this dress looked obnoxiously short on me. Luckily, I rented a backup, which was worn. This dress is too expensive to look cheap, but that was the outcome. Would probably look great for clubbing or a hot date night out, but this was definitely too short to every be considered classy on a tall girl like me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2011
It was really cute, but I couldn't wear it. I have a large chest (32 DD) so the seam that is supposed to run under the bust ran straight through mine, If I pulled it down to where it should have been it made it super low cut. So... with it being so short and having to pull it down in oder for the seam to be where it should have been, I didn't look very "respectable". I would have loved it if I had a smaller chest!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2011
if you have a long torso, then I do not recommend this dress because it will not hang quite right at the top. I was totally bummed because it looks great in pics. Good thing I had an awesome back-up dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 17, 2011
I didn't really like this dress and ended up not wearing it. The material is not flattering and it falls short even for someone as short as me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2011
terrible dress. looked like a red potato sack. i am clearly not made to wear drapping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2011
Not for me...
I rented this dress for new year's eve but was not able to wear it. It would have fit perfectly if it weren't for my huge chest. I wear a 36D and the bands that go across the chest did not sit right. I ordered a L and M but didn't even bother trying on the M. Beautiful dress but I think it's more for smaller-chested women.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 10, 2011
This dress looks a lot better in the picture than in person. I was planning on wearing it to a weeding, but it was way too short and tight in some areas and baggy in other and the red a deeper red looking. This dress might be fine for a romantic night out but NOT a wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2011
This dress was fabulous! It fit just right and was quite comfortable. It was a little shorter than I anticipated, but that was not a problem. For having smaller curves, the dress accentuated perfectly. My boyfriend was a big fan. Would definitely rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2011
the dress came and was better than i expected!! i felt beautiful:)
absolutely loved this dress! while it did make me look a little big, it was because i ordered a large like i usually wear, but i should have ordered the medium. eitherway, the entiree night i got so many compliments and my confidence was through the roof (a rarity for me). the color was just stunning, and even though i am pretty pale it still looked vibrant and did not wash me out. especially for the price, this dress is definitely definitely a hit. if someone is skeptical about buying this, then i hope the best for you and if this dress boosts your confidence like it did mine, then i'm sure you are going to be a happy girl for w/e occasion this is for. loved it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
Fabulous dress. Very happy I went with it for New Years. It hides anything you might want hidden but it also shows off curves. I actually used some double stick tape to tape down the draping on one side to fix the issue with it "popping up". Great dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 28, 2010
Loved it! I'm usually a size 4 and the small fit perfectly. Large busted women may need to go up a size as I am a lg B and it barely fit my chest, although I had plenty of extra room in the waist and butt. The ruching provided a flattering drape. It was a bit shorter on me than shown in the model, but lots of compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2010
This dress did not work with my bust line. The fabric looked cheap and did not hang as it shows in this photo. I would never rent it again. I didn't even wear it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
December 26, 2010
I tried VERY hard to like this dress. I'm usually a size 0, so I got the dress in both XS and S and hoped that the bad reviews would only pertain to curvier girls...false. This dress didn't look good on me, either! I ended up wearing the dress to my event, but only because it was a formal event that required graduating seniors to wear RED...and of course I had NO other red dresses. The dress looks totally different on the model than it does in real life...from the draping to the neckline, which I had thought would be a lot sexier and lower. Sizing was not an issue because the dress fit fine...just didn't look great. The dress came extremely wrinkled and even after steaming, just didn't cut it. I wish I had opened my box sooner and tried it on so I could have returned it for a refund. Hopefully my next dress will be more successful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2010
I was very disappointed by this item. The material was a far less vibrant red, and looked cheap. The crossover draping in the chest area also didn't fall as pictured at all. I sent it right back.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2010
This dress is beautiful in peron BUT maybe because I am short, I felt it layed better on the model in the picture. I ordered a size small and medium as a backup and I fit into both just fine but ended up wearing the small. This dress is fun and very classy, I wore it to my husband's military ball and I got many compliments on this dress. The color is also very true to the picture its a bright fire engine red. I wore it with 5 in black velvet heels, pearls, and rd lipstick. Although I am short I still managed to wear this dress well. It is also very forgiving especially after a 3 course meal, the ruching on this dress is incredible and is tucked in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2010
The color, style and material are great. I agree with the other comments about it not being great for people with larger busts, as I did have to adjust the sash a bit. I also think this dress is better for longer torso ladies, because I felt that all of the ruching around the middle was a little much on my very short torso. Overall, the look is stunning, and I can't complain about the complements that I got when I wore it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 1, 2010
I REALLY wanted to like this dress because it had a pretty neckline. I tend to be a size 4 but have a booty, so I ordered this dress in small and medium. The small fit in width... however, it was INCREDIBLY short. On me, it seemed shorter than on the model in the picture. (I'm not sure how that's possible as the fit notes say the model's 5'10" and I'm a whopping 5'3".) It was not a classy look, as it was tight, short and RED. When I tried on the medium, the layers all sagged down in a really unflattering way. I showed both sizes to my husband and my best friend. Both are generally very kind in their opinions of how I look but, in this case, they agreed that the dress was truly hideous on me. So... for what it's worth, this may not be the best choice for petite girls with a butt. I will say, however, that the fabric was very nice and silky. The dress just didn't fit me in a nice way.... On a positive note the dress arrived a day early and, when I called RTR to say the dress didn't fit, they immediately credited my account so I could order a different dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2010
Unfortunately didn't have any success with this dress. I ordered both a M and L, but neither were very flattering. I am very curvy and the draping made my hips even wider, and cameflogued my waist. My experience seems to be unique as many other reviewers were pleased with their dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2010
This dress is stunning for a curvy figure and you will definitely stand out in a sea of black cocktail dresses (I wore to a fall wedding)! I was uncertain of what size I should order due to my standard size, the size chart and reviews saying it ran small... I generally would get a Medium, but after looking at the size chart it was indicating a Small, yet peoples reviews were making me lean towards a large (mostly because of my boob size). A fit specialist suggested I get a Medium and Small -- good thing I listened to her, I ended up wearing the Small. The Medium was DEFINITELY too big, and when it wasn't tight the dress looked extremely sloppy... when tight it was tailored and beautiful!!! I received many compliments and am happy I ordered it. My only complaint is that the fit kit that I never received would have come in handy to keep a few spots in place (I was fidgeting a lot with the lining).
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2010
The color of this dress is gorgeous. I am a size six and rented the medium and large, both of the dresses ended up not fitting. They looked awful on. This dress is not flattering on someone with hips, it made my waist look small but made my hips look enormous! I returned this dress ASAP and went out and bought another one for my event!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2010
Its a beautiful dress but did not compliment my body type at all. The lenght was great, it made my legs look sexy but not my arms and bust area. I recommend this dress for smaller bust.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
November 9, 2010
I was highly disappointed with this dress. Instead of classy draping, the fabric hung awkwardly and made me appear bulkier than I am. My boyfriend actually bought me another dress to wear to the event because he too was so disappointed in how this one looked. Both sizes that I ordered had the same draping issue so it was not a matter of the wrong size. Not worth it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
November 8, 2010
You will definitely stand out in this dress. I wore this dress to a black tie event although most of the women wore cocktail dresses. I had many people come up and complement me on the dress. Although this dress is fairly true to size, make sure your second dress is one size up. I am usually a 10, but thought the medium was too snug and ended up wearing the large. I did not have any problems with the bust area being too loose. I loved this dress and would likely rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
November 1, 2010
First, this dress came up in the "full bust" search, it is not for a full bust. Unfortunately, this dress fit poorly, and I would say it's not for curvy girls. The problem for me is that one size fit everywhere but the bust, and the larger size fit the bust, but was baggy everywhere else. I showed my roommate the dress on me, then when I showed her the dress on the model in the picture she laughed. I would say that if you are straight up and down or have hips but a small bust, this dress would fit you perfectly. Not for full bust, and not for apple shape though.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2010
I was not impressed with this dress at all. When I put it on for one the draping on the top was messed up and the pleating design on the skirt was completely gone so the dress overall looked strange and poorly made. The ruching does help a lot though overall with any flaw that might occur, I ended up not wearing this dress, but I did try it on to see how well it appeared. The photo does way more justice than in person though.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2010
I agree with most of what has already been said it’s very slimming, very forgiving and no stretch. I also agree that right side drape "pops-up" and I do not have a full bust. The color is vibrant…this is a stand-out dress! I received so many compliments while wearing this. My only suggestion would be order the size you think you are and then one size up. I’m a TRUE size 4 but I have hips so I thought by ordering the small (size chart says that’s a 4-6) and I felt it was a tad too small with no give.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2010
LOVE this dress! it is the perfect basic, but more exciting than a LBD. I got compliments all night! It is also the perfect canvas for fabulous jewelry!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
October 5, 2010
Gorgeous dress, beautiful color. Fits true to size and like others have said, the draping hides body flaws. I agree with the other reviewer that said this dress is not for larger busts. Also agree that since the dress has no stretch to it, order your normal size and then one up. Very happy with the dress and the whole rental experience!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2010
Sexy and beautiful! This dress is a gorgeous color and made me feel very confidant wearing it. The draping is forgiving and the ruching up the back very flattering. My only complaint is that even without a bra, the sash on the right side kept wanting to 'pop up' instead of drape flat. Not for full bust figures. Still I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2010
Great Party Dress
I LOVE THIS DRESS! Very flattering, and the ruching on it hides any little bumps and bulges but shows off my figure. Great for any curvy girl out there! The dress has no stretch, so make sure you dont order it small. I may buy this dress, I LOVE it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×