Black Halo

Jacket Belted Dress

$50 rental
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The perfect interview dress or great for any cocktail affair, this Black Halo style is simple, classic, and elegant with a chic touch added by the jacket-like collar.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted in the bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Square neckline with collar detail. Cap sleeves with gathering detail. Includes leather belt. Hidden side zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(26)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2011
Runs Small in the breast area..... I wish I could have wore it :0( But CUTE DRESS it did fit like a glove!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2010
Talk about sexy sophistication! This is the perfect piece when you need a feminine but powerful look. And it cinches the waist for serious curves.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2010
I wore this dress to an interview and I felt great...SEXY AND POWERFUL. It did fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
December 10, 2012
Classy and clean! This dress is a great fit and will give you a tiny waist!
I LOVED this dress!!! The fit of the dress will give your body such a great shape. It has a structured fit which makes your waist look tiny. I really just loved how clean and put together this dress looked. It was a little snug throughout the ribcage (thats why I said it runs a little small). I will definitely be renting more Black Halo dresses in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2011
I have rented previously from RTR but never felt the need to write a review till with this dress that I'm actually thinking of purchasing if I can find it. I felt like Victoria Beckham in this dress, very sexy, flattens the tummy, gives you an amazing shape while hiding the little fat here and there. You want to feel classy, professional while keeping your sexiness and elegance this is the dress for you! 5/5 stars
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
Being 6', I was worried about the length on this dress. But it was a perfect knee-length, just as shown on the model. At the time of my rental, only the size 10 was available and I am always an 8. So I took a chance and just as others have said, it does run small fit like a glove and I'm glad I went a size larger! It fits very snugly in the ribcage area, so beware if you're considering this dress. I wore it to a chic private dinner in New York and every person commented on how beautiful it was, especially the fit. Thanks Rent the Runway and don't forget to keep adding some knee-length wear for those of us over 40! Loved this one.
PangelineNovember 29, 2012
I am so glad you suggested knee-length wear for us more mature ladies. All the dresses are so short that I have little to choose from. Your comment was very informative for me. Thanks
Tall+ChicDecember 11, 2012
And you wrote your comment on my birthday, no less! :) I agree...RTR, please add some longer-length cocktail dresses (though not floor length). Not everyone is 25 years old, or necessarily wants to show as much skin.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2012
Received many compliments!!
This is so perfect for someone who is taller and has a very small waist, but larger "assets." I loved this dress so much i actually ended up buying it somewhere else online. The ONE thing I strongly recommend is a long slips since this dress is not lined on the lower section, which is strange for a quality brand. Regardless, this is a fantastic dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 10, 2012
Unique, Professional
Gorgeous, but beware:the slit in the back was so high, it showed my underwear! My usual size 6 was too small. If you're busty or hippy, I'd go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Perfect fit! was so pleased with the way it fit my body! Love, love, love!
I def thought I was going to wear the size 6 but the 4 fit like a glove. So happy with the way I looked! Felt great, and the legnth hit me right at the knee, perfect for a Sunday wedding. I would def retn this dress again for another affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 17, 2012
runs small...could not get into it
runs small...could not even get into it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2013
Perfect fit!
The dress fit like a glove! I loved that you can wear it to a professional event or a party. It gives a conservative look while looking sexy at the same time! Would rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 18, 2013
Great classic dress!
This is overall a great tasteful dress. I actually wore it for a funeral and it was perfect. I'm glad I got the size 2 as my extra size because it runs a little small. I'm pretty straight and narrow and the 0 wouldn't even zip. I probably could have gotten away with a 4. My only criticism is that I felt like the top part stretched out as the day wore on so I felt like I needed to pull it up. Also, a strapless bra is needed with this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2014
I felt like a million bucks!
I wore this for a retirement party - the dress is just such a classic LBD but with some interesting structure. The overall fit was tighter than I would have preferred and I'm usually a a true 4. Overall, the dress was beautiful - I wore nude heels with it which in hindsight, was a mistake. Black heels would have been better - I made the nude choice due to the trend at the time and the fact that it was a daytime event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
Classy & stylish.
I wore this for a work event (Museum exhibition opening) and it was perfect.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×