Rent the Runway

BCBGMAXAZRIA

Serafina Gown

$90 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Va-va-voom! His jaw will drop when you saunter in wearing this ridiculously sexy gown by BCBGMAXAZRIA. Add accessories like Cara Accessories’ Dress Me Up Bracelet and kate spade new york accessories’ Kate Chandelier Earrings for that extra bit of wow!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (67% cotton 33% nylon). Sleeveless. Deep v neckline with racerback. Front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. See size and fit tab for lengths. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

112 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 87
Large 13
Photos 78
Carley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

My dress was perfect!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was BEAUTIFUL! I ordered the 0R and the 2R just to be safe, and the 0R fit me like a glove, the 2R would have been too large. I had to pin around the sides of the bust, but it was a small price to pay for such glamorous look and it wasn't noticeable at all. The neckline was beautiful!
Laurel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

This was perfect for my sorority formal! Classy and pretty!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very form fitting and flattering! I had a little trouble with the front being too low-cut but overall it was a wonderful fit and very good for an hour glass figure-it accentuated my curves in all the right places! The length wasn't too long even before I put on heels. And the back is BEAUTIFUL! (but you definitely need a good sticky bra)
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 1, 2013

Elegant yet comfortable!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I borrowed this dress for a wedding and I loved how beautiful it was and how comfortable I felt in it. I would advice ladies with smaller breast to use some fashion tape since it may be more roomy in that area. Other than the need for fashion tape, I felt the dress was true to size.
carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 11, 2013

Got tons of compliments in this beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly (runs true to size), stayed in place without tape which was much appreciated. Just a lovely dress all around.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
May 13, 2013

Sexy but comfortable

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually purchased this this dress in a size 2 from BCBG but 3 days prior to my event the dress still had not arrived so I ordered a 2 & a 0 from RTR. Boy am I glad I did - my original dress arrived and bc it has such a plunging neckline the 2 was too big. Size 0 fit to a tee. I usually wear strapless and never long but decided to change it up this time. It was a bit daring for me but got lots of compliments. I can't wait to use RTR again! PS - Thanks RTR for the Hollywood tape... I used it on the neckline. :)
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 30, 2013

Beautiful dress, just a little too short :(

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit but was too short for me at 5'11" plus 1-2 in heels. The size up was long enough but way too big. Could have used stick on bra inserts if needed, but was definitely not able to wear with a bra. A little lower cut than my usual style but being smaller up top, it didn't prove too much of an issue for me. Overall, great dress- just wish I had been able to get the size that fit me in a long (was unavailable for my event's date).
Allyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Not for the faint of heart

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress so much, but it was definitely out of my comfort zone. I wore it to the reception portion of my cousin's wedding. I usually wear an 8, but have lost some weight so I was so delighted that the 6 fit! I think it may run a bit large (fine by me!). Having said that, I received numerous compliments and I felt very sexy in this little ditty. I'm glad I wore it! PROS Want to feel sexy? This is the dress for you Comfortable Fit nicely, overall, but see below about chest CONS Very low cut in the front. A bra is not possible, unless you buy the kind that sticks just to your breasts. I wish I'd had any sort of support because I felt I looked a little too "loose." If you are small chested, this dress would be perfect without a bra. If you have larger breasts, find SOMETHING to keep those babies in. Tips: Use fashion tape Stand up straight (the back of the dress seemed to drape and cause it to hang lower in front unless I stood up very straight) Wear SPANX
liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

I loved this dress so much, fit perfectly!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was an A++. This was my first time using Rent The Runway and I am renting another dress for a wedding in the fall i loved it so much. I even considered renting the same dress. I received so many compliments at the wedding and my boyfriend still wants to buy the dress for me. The only suggestion I would give is get fashion tape if needed, I did not use tape but I was a little self conscious about slight gapping on the top when sitting down. Besides that I loved loved loved this dress!!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

RTR was easy, fun, and took the stress out of dress shopping! The 2 sizes part is genius.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The fit was fantastic and it was super comfortable. I went against the grain and decided to wear a bra with this dress!! I'm so glad I did! Although you can see the black strap in front, the VS bra had a crystal on it, so it looked like it was part of the dress. I used fashion tape to hold the criss-crossed straps in place under the bra in the back, and the straps could not be seen. I got compliments all night and felt fantastic. Never did I feel like I was going to fall out of the dress, where if I went bra-less, I'd feel less confident. 112 lbs, 5'3" 32C. The 0 was a perfect fit.
KMG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

Gorgeous dress at a gorgeous wedding

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! It made me look slinky and I got so many compliments - everyone said I shouldn't send the dress back and just keep it. The neckline does plunge but it is not risqué, though I did use some fashion tape to avoid any flashes when moving around. The regular was on the short side but that was perfect for me because I wanted to wear low wedges. The material is super comfortable - it's a beautiful gown but feels like wearing pjs (and traveled well without wrinkling). Highly recommend!
Mollie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

I absolutely LOVED the dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little nervous that the dress would be too revealing or that I would constantly be adjusting myself throughout the night, but it ended up fitting perfectly and staying in place. I used two small pieces of fashion tape and felt comfortable and confident all night. The dress was slightly shorter than anticipated, but I ended up wearing a small heel which worked out wonderfully. Chelsea T. worked tirelessly until the day my order went out - making sure that I had everything I needed and answering all of my questions. Wonderful first experience with RTR!
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Pretty in the online picture, terrible in person

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Pretty in the online picture, terrible in person. When I saw this dress online I absolutely loved everything about it... when it was sent to me to try on my opinion quickly changed...the slit in the middle of the dress was extremely high, and the dress barely reached my ankles when I put it on. I am 5'7" so it might work wonderfully on more petite girls, but to the taller ladies out there, this isn't going to cut it.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Beautiful dress. Loved it.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect dress for a wedding or formal affair. It has a plunging neckline, so requires double sided tape, however looks very nice. You should order a size slighly smaller (if between sizes), as I found it to fit slight larger as does all BCBG dresses and clothes for me. I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit perfectly. With 3in heals, the dress was a good length, maybe slightly short if anything, but great for an outdoor wedding.
Amy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

I definitely got lots of compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered it in a 0R and they didn't have the next size available but it fit like a glove. Length was good - I am 5ft and wore 2.5-3in heels. Did get caught a few times in the lace but nothing terrible, didn't trip or tear the dress. Would definitely recommend for a formal event or wedding.
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

I wore this dress to a wedding 6 weeks after giving birth to my baby. Made me feel sexy again!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, although it is a tad short as some people mentioned. Because I knew that from previous reviews, I made sure to buy a shorter heel to wear with it. This worked for me because I had just given birth 6 weeks before so I hadn't been wearing 5 inch heels much in the prior months. I got so many compliments on the dress and I loved it! I don't know that I would rent it again though in the future, as I do like to wear higher heels most of the time.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

The best dress I have ever worn to a formal event!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit so beautifully. I am athletic and only 5 ft 4 in., so I was afraid the dress would be too long and too tight in the rib cage. It was sensational. I ordered a 2 and 4 and wore the 2...If you are tall it will be too short with a very high heel.. I wore a three inch heel and the hem fell at just the right length. I also used plenty of fashion tape to hold everything in place!I received tons of compliments in a room full of women in black dresses. I just sent it back and cried all the way to the UPS drop off center. I love Rent the Runway and have had great experiences every time!
Sonya
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

The slit was to die for.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a little bit short for me (5'6" with a 5" heel). Would have been better in a Long. Fit was perfect. fit the bust just right.
Jess Z
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Rented it for a black tie gala and never felt so beautiful & sexy. One of the BEST!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I felt like a million bucks in it. It's VERY low cut in the front, so if you have a large bust, this might not be the best. You can't wear a bra with it. However, if you're curvy - which I am - it is still very flattering. Hugs in all the right places. Definitely one of the best dresses I've ever rented.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

I received so many compliments in this dress. Everyone who saw it, loved it.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I read all of the reviews before renting this dress and the best one's were the ones that said it was short. As a short girl, I was apprehensive in renting a long gown, but it is a true that it is a shorter length dress and was perfectly fine with 6 inch heels. I normally wear a size 4, but had to go up a size due to my bust. Other than that the dress fit perfectly. Not only did it fit well, the dress was so comfortable. I would recommed anyone renting this dress, it was amazing.
Terri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Absolutely stunning dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a NYE party and received several compliments. It was really pretty and even though it was on the short side, that allowed me to wear flats (which my feet definitely appreciated).
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall this dress is fantastic! I wore it for a NYE black and white masquerade ball and I received so many compliments throughout the night. I had to made a few minor adjustments and pin the straps to fit. The plunging neckline is super sexy as well is the back of the dress. I’m short and was afraid that the length would be too long but it was actually slightly too short. Other than that, this dress is perfect.
Jesika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 20, 2014

Sexy dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Too sexy for the event I went to. This was my original choice and I ended up going with my backup dress, which was a bit more conservative. This would be beautiful for a very special date night. My husband wanted me to wear this one. :) I chose the other out of comfort and class for the kind of event I went to.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

I didn't wear this dress because I thought it was too revealing for a black tie wedding.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I tried this on in a bigger size at the RTR showroom and even though the stylist clipped the back, I must not have been able to get a good idea for how it would truly fit because when it arrived, it was way too low cut and revealing for a formal wedding and the slit was really high. The dress was in good condition and felt comfortable but it just wasn't right for this occasion so I went with the backup.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Awesome!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding in NYC. It's not a style I would normally wear, but I decided to take a risk. It s delivered directly to my hotel. I did bring a back up dress, just in case this one didn't work out. I can't tell you how many compliments I received on this dress! Weeks after the event, people were still telling me how awesome I looked. This dress is long. I'm 5'3" and I had to wear 3" heels all night to keep the dress from puddling at my feet, and even then it was still very long. My only regret is that everyone saw this dress and it's so memorable, that I can't rent it again!
Grace
Age: 32
Jul 12, 2014

Sexy dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable and sexy. However it is very revealing. A little too revealing for my liking so I had to make some adjustments with a bralette under the dress.
Polina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 30, 2014

I couldn't use the dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress hugs your hips but is huge on the top. It doesn't support you on top at all and is a stretch material so droops. The 8 was to small on my hips and the top didnt cover fully (but still had no support). Dont know how that happened.
Erica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Amazing dress!!! Tons of complements!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well!!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Sep 15, 2014

Well I decided to return this dress and Rtr stylists were very helpful

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the dress in pictures but not for me! it fit tight on the bottom and too big on the top. It was a little too revealing in the bust area. Even my husband said it showed too much. Oh well.
Elizabeth-Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Awkward

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really wanted to love this dress, but it didn't seem to quite fit perfect anywhere. It was tight in some places and too loose in others. Luckily, there was a lot of fashion tape on hand all night.
Lindsey
Age: 35
Oct 7, 2014

My husband did a double take when I walked in. Enough said

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very fitted through the rib cage, but otherwise true to size. I was able to wear it with a strapless bra that had a deep v, but definitely recommend having some double sided tape handy. Got tons of compliments, and would absolutely rent this dress again
Cubscout
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Oct 28, 2014

The dress is classy and elegant

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a hit - very elegant and stylish. The only downside is that It shows acres and acres of sternum.
maureen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is very comfortable. Didn't need a bra. Received many compliments. Loved it!
Natasha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Very unique!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit really well, definitely more suited to smaller chested girls though. Didn't hold the chest area too much. Loved it none the less. Great slit, cute back, comfortable!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Comfortable, elegant gown!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit wonderfully! I thought I would need double-sided tape, but everything stayed put.
Kayt
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

Classic and sexy!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress certainly ran large! Thankfully, I had ordered a size down as a backup. It was beautiful and I received compliments all night. A concern I had initially was that, as someone with a shorter torso, the straps wouldn't fit as well as they should. A safety pin or two later, it fit just fine. As someone with a smaller bust, this was classy and sexy without being too revealing in the top, nor was the slit too high. It was comfortable and the back detail was absolutely gorgeous!
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

It was short :( I am 5'7 and the dress came down to my ankles. It was awkward with heels.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Showed a lot of boob for the wedding, but it was beautiful. Too short to be worn with heels for my liking.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

SUPER low-cut.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented this for a fancy Valentine's Day dinner and felt a little too revealing in this dress. The lace, fit, and length were great, but the V-cut was too deep. I tried to make it less showy with a safety pin, but it just looked awkward. If you're super confident about your chest, rent this! If not, go for another option.
Misti
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Great dress, but very short.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I REALLY wanted to wear this dress, but it came above my ankles. The Long wasn't available, so I was hoping I could get away with the Regular with flats or low shoes. Unfortunately, it was not an option. I am 5'6.5" and usually wear a 4 dress size.
Dionitia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only cons were I didn't have enough time to find a bra that worked with the deep plunge, it was still gorgeous and I felt it hid some imperfections.
Jane
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Apr 28, 2015

Great dress for a great night!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was absolutely perfect! So many compliments!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×