BCBGMAXAZRIA

School Girl Gone Bad Dress

$38 to buy
$258 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed at the party while wearing this insanely chic BCBG MAXAZRIA cut out dress. No one will forget this flirty style! Shown here with the Alexis Bittar's Dune Dust Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-6.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with adjustable sash at back
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Colorblock (Navy, Red, and Gray) jersey. V neckline. Cut-out bodice. Open back with tie closure. Pleated skirt. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
106 reviews
Fit
Large
(37)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 4, 2012
Awesome Dress
Rented this dress for a wedding. Definitely loved it, the ribbon in the back even allows you to wear a regular bra since it hides the strap if done right. Was different and fun and the cutouts are at a good part of the body. Definitely recommend if you want something different and are into the cutouts in a dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2012
I wore this dress to a party I threw for my boyfriend who just graduated with his MBA. I was getting compliments all night & it is the perfect combination of classy, feminine and sexy. LOVE!
I absolutely love this dress! The material is very well made, and the overall fit was great. I wore this to a Mad Men themed party and I got TONS of compliments. The little cut outs were larger than they appear on the model. I think this dress would compliment many different body types! If I had to pick a negative it would be the lining under the skirt. It was a short lining that kept riding up the whole night. It just hit right below my bottom so I kept pulling it down. BUT the skirt wasn't see through at all so it wasn't a huge deal. Other than that this dress was amazing! I wish I could keep it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 18, 2012
The incredible fit of this dress!
I rented this for a party, and it has been my favorite rental to date! The material was a jersey fabric so it was extremely comfortable. It ran true to size. I would wear a nu bra because of the interesting back. The length was to my knee when I was wearing 3" wedges. I highly recommend wearing this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 16, 2012
The way this dress moved is unforgettable and furthermore, it photographs great!
I love this dress. I wore it to an evening wedding and recieved so many compliments. It's super sexy and classy. I minimized the jewelry, wearing only earings. This dress is a stunner for sure. I wear a 0 and ordered a 0. The fit was very comfortable.
LindsayAugust 8, 2012
Looks so nice on you! Did you wear a bra with it?
RTRAugust 8, 2012
Hi Lindsay, this style is made of a thicker jersey material and you adjust the tightness of the top so a bra is not necessary. However, we recommend a NuBra for more support.
LindsaySeptember 10, 2012
Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2012
Received a ton of compliments - and a lot of 'where did you get that dress?!' it was so fun to wear!
This dress was amazing - loved everything about it :) I did buy a Nubra to wear with it but ended up going without and was comfortable the entire night. Received a ton of compliments all night and would def recommend!!
gayaMarch 2, 2013
That dress looks so good!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2012
Comfortable dress!
Awesome dress! It is flattering to any body type. The fit is very comfortable and true to size. If you must wear a bra with it - note that the top piece may move around, showing edges of your bra. I had problems with my bra showing at the base of the vneck, and if I pulled it up, the cut-outs would show the bottom edge of the bra. My fault for not bringing a better one along on my trip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 18, 2012
Amazing fit!
I wore this dress for my wedding Rehearsal Dinner. We had the dinner on a boat in the middle of summer in Montana so it was hot! The fit of this dress is super flattering, especially if you are smaller on top like me. The cut outs show an appropriate amount of skin. I would highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2012
I literally received compliments from every guest at the party!
I can not say enough good things about this dress. Not only did i get compliments all day, but i loved how feminine it made me feel. Its fun and flirty dress. I wish i could buy it! You cant wear bra with it because the beauty of the dress is the open back. But pasties work!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 30, 2012
Old lady: "OH MY GOODNESS I love your dress. Where did you get it?" Me: "Actually it's a Rent the Runway BCBG - I'm just borrowing it for the weekend." Old Lady: "Darling, don't tell anyone that! I love it, simply love it."
I wore this dress for an outdoor wedding, and was overall happy with it. However, the skirt isn't as full as the photo may lead you to believe, and i had a difficult time with the peekaboo in the front showing a little too much skin for my taste. I'm a small C and felt like my boobs looked a little saggy, but I got a billion million compliments on the dress and still felt great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 22, 2012
Perfect!
Everything about this dress was beautiful! The fit and colors were amazing for a summer wedding :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 8, 2012
I wanted to keep it!
This dress is everything I expected it to be - and more! I'm pretty tall, so I was concerned the length would be awkward, but it looked pretty much like it does in the picture. The cutout was bigger than expected - but it didn't look over the top. I don't think I've ever had so many women compliment a dress in my life. I got more compliments over this dress than I did my wedding dress! So, although the dress was nearly perfect and I never ever wanted to take it off - the one thing that I didn't care for was the lining under the skirt. It's actually a tight, spandexish skirt that is attached and it rode up at times. Not a huge deal, but not my favorite part of the dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 9, 2012
First date of many...
This dress was absolutely astounding. I rented it as a back up for a trip wine tasting. However, the trip got canceled so I wore it on a first date instead. My date was absolutely wowed by it and we've been seeing each other ever since. I even had other patrons at the restaurant stop me to compliment the dress. One of them even worked for Gucci. I wish I had a picture, but we were so caught up in our evening we never got around to taking pictures. If I had the money I would buy this one and I may even rent it again or save up to buy it later.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2012
This dress is feminine, sexy, and absolutely unique!
I wore this dress for an early September wedding, and I received compliments as soon as I walked in the door. It's a nice combination of elegance and sexiness. I am normally a 0-2, and I wore the 0 to make sure I had a snug fit around the bust. It has a deep neckline and is basically backless, so you need to feel comfortable with some exposure (but it's not inappropriate!) The skirt is a little sheer in the gray section, but there is a little "miniskirt" liner underneath, so you're covered. This is a fabulous dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 17, 2012
Soo many compliments!
I wore this dress for a beach wedding and it could not have been more perfect for the occasion. The material was light and soft which allowed me to move around comfortably the whole night. The cut outs on the side led to an open back that tied, which was sexy without being inappropriate. Everyone loved this dress and asked me questions on where I had found it, my response of course was renttherunway.com(even the bride told me how much she loved the dress). I will be using rentherunway.com from now on, I could not be more happier with the service (and free gifts).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 19, 2012
so many compliments!
The dress has way bigger gaps in the front and back than in the picture. If you go down a size, it'll fit more like what's shown here, because the top is adjustable (it's a jersey-like material, and the orange tie can accommodate your bust) and the skirt waistband is a big loop. The tighter the skirt fits, the smaller the gaps will be in the cutouts. I'm pretty small and ended up needing to pin the skirt in a little, but it ended up looking just like the picture (I didn't want to show tons of skin, since I wore it to a rehearsal and my friends' families were there). And since my bust is small, the tie came all the way together so I could wear a normal bra. I've never gotten so many compliments...all my friends, random people in the bathroom...everyone loved it. I loved wearing it, I felt gorgeous. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Great dress, perfect for a outdoor summer wedding. Lots of complements.
Lightweight and airy. Love the pop of red and open back. Great for a small bust, very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
BEST dress ever!! Period. End of story.
I ordered both size 2 and 4. Both fit well enough to wear out. I decided on the 4 because it had a little more wiggle room, and I felt like the cut outs were more flattering in that size for me. The material is comfortable without looking cheap. I was actually able to wear a nude, strapless bra. The trick? I wrapped some of the extra tie on the back of the dress around it. It worked perfectly. I have never received more compliments on a article of clothing I've worn before in my life. I felt amazing in it. Very sexy, while remaining classy.
gayaMarch 2, 2013
Oh my god! You look great in that dress!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Great Dress!
Great Dress! I received a ton of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress!!!
Great dress!!! Fit was awesome and was super comfortable! Will definitely make another purchase for next event :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
October 11, 2012
My dress was here in 2 days!
Wore it on a date. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
October 28, 2012
This dress made me feel sexy and fun! Thanks RTR for a great moment!
From the moment I opened the box and found a garment bag read to be hung up, I felt like something very special had been sent for me. I opened it and saw the dress I ordered, very neat and ready to be worn. When I put it on it was true to size. It fit perfectly! It's such a fun, sexy, and elegant dress, all at once! It just boosts your self-esteem. I felt so confident all night dancing in it! The color combination is very fun. Compliments flowed all night long, it's such a unique dress. Rent The Runway made it a very easy and enjoyable experience. I am never buying an evening dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
Stunning! Everybody loved it!
Fit very well & was able to wear my backless bra without the center clip showing. Fabric was so comfortable, too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 2, 2012
Wonderful dress!!! Received a ton of compliments about the color; overall very pleased :-)
Material was very comfortable and easy to move around in.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2013
Absolutely awesome!
Not as red as the photo depicts; the accent color is more of a dark melon shade. Material is stretchy and hugs the body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE this BCBG dress!
I wore this dress to a baby shower and it was amazing. Fit great and the style of the dress is so original. The back is a jaw-dropper and I the compliments were flowing that day for sure. It is definitely BLUER than the RTR pic but still gorgeous. May even rent this again this summer!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2013
It's a fun dress, and so comfortable!
The fit was a little on the loose side. Although, it was true to my size, I have a long torso and small rib cage, so it showed more skin than what I was expecting.
KimApril 4, 2013
What kind of wedding did you wear this to? I am noticing your date is not wearing a tie... I have a black tie wedding coming up and am afraid this dress, while gorgeous, might be a too casual. Thoughts?
kateApril 22, 2013
Kim, I saw your comment below and thought I would reply, as I wore this dress about a month ago as well.. for black tie, I think you have to go full length. As awesome as this dress was.. I would say it woudl be too revealing, or .. 'not quite dressy enough' for a black tie event, in my experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2013
Simple yet scandalous
Ordered this dress for Valentine's date with my man..he said it was the "hottest" dress I've ever worn. I got tons of compliments, and the scandalous cutouts were a hit! I had to use some fashion tape to keep the cut outs from slipping too far down, but other than that, I loved everything about the dress. I wish I would have bought it to wear again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2013
Very fun and comfortable to wear.
I wore it to a friends party and felt beautiful and comfortable the entire night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 15, 2013
Fun and comfortable. Unique!
The dress is versatile and comfortable. I wore it to work (with cutouts covered by a sweater!) and then to a party later that night. Easily transitioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
March 15, 2013
This dress was classy and sexy. A perfect choice for Valentines Day.
It fit well but the material is very silky so I had to wear a strapless and backless bra. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that the zipper in back kept digging into my skin. Otherwise it was very sexy without being overstated. Colors were nice and the fabric was soft and flowy. I may rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
March 25, 2013
This dress will draw attention!!
I received so many compliments, even when I returned to work the following Monday (two co-workers got married) people were coming up to me to tell me how neat it was/how nice I looked. I felt great in it, and it was the perfect mix of sexy and classy. The fabric is fantastic, allowed for comfortable dancing and above all, it was UNIQUE. I could not have been more pleased. My only regret is not having taken more pictures!
MaryMay 15, 2013
did this feel too provocative for a wedding? I'm considering renting it but it seems kind of sexy for a Southern Wedding to me?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 1, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this dress! I felt so gorgeous from the moment I put it on.
I usually wear a size 4 and the dress fit was true to size. It is the perfect mix of being sexy without too revealing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2013
This dress is gorgeous and you'll feel very sexy in it!
This dress is very comfortable. The red detail is CORAL though so plan shoes accordingly.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
It was a lovely dress and showed off the abs I worked so hard for but in a very classy way!
The dress fit well and was super comfortable. I don't have a large bust so I didn't need a huge amount of coverage in that area, I just wore bikini bra pads underneath the top and that worked out great. It was so much fun to dance in too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2013
The Kentucky was unforgettable and the dress looked amazing!
The fit was perfect and the delivery was easy!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2013
Great dress in theory...
Let me start out by saying that this dress is a show stopper. The cutouts at the waist give it a lot of interest and the tie in the back is also a lovely detail. That being said, I didn't end up wearing it because the fabric around the bust area (while clean and spotless!) felt a little old--I don't know how else to put it other than it seemed as though it had lost a good bit of its elasticity, which is important in a dress that you can't wear a traditional bra with. I do have a larger bust but I think this issue would have been worse for someone with a smaller chest. Overall its a lovely dress that I wish I could have worn but unfortunately it didn't work out and I don't think I'd risk ordering it again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2013
Beautiful..
This dress is beautiful! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and I received compliments all night! This dress is perfect for a summer wedding. I have a fuller bust, so the V cut in the front cuts fairly low. I used double sided tape to secure the V in place-- Problem solved :) As for the side cut-outs, I found that they fit everyone differently, so be forewarned. If you're thinking of renting the dress- Do it! You won't be disappointed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2013
Great backyard party dress!
I did fit a regular bra into this dress. I just tied the back straps to my bra and it hid the back of my bra. I just felt more comfortable with a bra. This dress is fun to wear. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 26, 2013
Perfect dress for dinner with friends and family!
The dress fit perfect! Everyone gave me such great compliments at my rehearsal dinner! Just wish it had a little padding for the breast area. You cant wear a bra because of the beautiful design in the back so I wish there was a little padding to secure my nipples.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 6, 2013
Great dress, very sexy yet classy.
Unfortunately when I rented the dress, my regular size (2) was not available, so I got a 0 and a 4 anyways since I loved the dress so much. In dresses I often will wear a 0 since I have such a slim torso. The 4 was an "OK" fit, but the cut outs sagged down pretty far due to it clearly being too big. And sadly the bust portion was not tall enough over my shoulders if that makes sense? the back tie part kept rising up (like a bra thats too small) and then the front would sag open. My guess is the 2 would have been perfect. Better luck next time, I guess. But honestly, the dress is to die for! I may even try to get it in a 2 next time, haha!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×