BCBGMAXAZRIA

That Kind Of Connection Gown

$90 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sexy open back style by BCBGMAXAZRIA will elongate your silhouette and accentuate your curves in all the right places! Shown on front image with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12. Two lengths available.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and cobalt matte jersey (73% acetate; 20% nylon; 7% spandex). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Cowl back with gold chain detail. Straight skirt with ruching at waist. See size and fit tab for details. Imported.

Share
83 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
June 24, 2014
The back

The dress didn't come w the shown gold chain. I had to see my own necklace in to act as a connector. It seemed to work just fine. The fit is flattering and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
July 28, 2014
the back was gorgeous... and this is a curve hugging dress.

definitely can't wear a bra with a back. the length of the LR was perfect for my 5'8" height and 4 inch heels. i preferred the fit of the large to the medium, mostly because of the length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2014
the fabric is sheer and unforgivable.

did not wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2014
9 months along and still felt great.

Can't even tell you how happy I was that this dress fit my bump the way it did. Unbelievable. Medium length was perfect with a pair of kitten heels (I'm 5'6"). Stretchy, comfortable fabric. I didn't do a ton of dancing but when I did the right shoulder wanted to slip off. If I rented again a little fashion tape would be perfect. Loads of compliments on the back of the dress. At the end of the night the photographer even pulled me aside to tell me she had no idea I was pregnant until I turned to the side. Not bad for 9 months. Highly recommend. Thanks RTR!

haemsSeptember 7, 2014
You look great! I'll be 6m pregnant for my event, and I'm thinking this dress might be a great choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 8, 2014
I wore this to a James Bond party and loved it. It's comfortable, flattering and awesome.

I ordered the XSR and the SR. I'm 5'3" and the XSR didn't even reach the floor in bare feet. So I wore the SR which was the right length with high heels. No way to wear a bra with this so I wore Pure Style Girlfriends Pick Me Up. Worked like a charm for me (small chested) and another girlfriend who needed a little more help. Tons of compliments on this dress - I'm very sorry to send it back!

lynnSeptember 8, 2014
Anne, you look absolutely freaking amazing!!! We are about the sime shape and sie and I had a few questions. With the slit is it so high up that is weird, like do you feel like your flashing people every time you got up lol. I am also the same height as you, how high were your heels? This dress is pretty form fitting, I am assuming you wear a thong with this dress? Was VPL an issue at all is a thong necessary lol finally I ma also a 32B lol is it possible to wear any type of enhancement with this dress? You really look amazing thank you.!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 29, 2014
flattering and comfortable dress; very unique lots of compliments

I wore a small and I am fitting into 6s these days. I highly recommend this dress, it is beautiful, unique, and comfortable.

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2014
Incredible dress!! Was sad to send it back!!

Wow. That sums up my experience in one word. First off, were it not for these reviews, I would have never used this service. What made it so simple was that I found people of my same build and read their reviews, so that I was assured the dress would fit me properly. So, THANK YOU to all the reviewers!! You make this site what it is!! Now, for the dress. It arrived on time, along with the next size up that I ordered, Packaged nicely, and it even came with a little bag of perfume/hair samples!!! (Which, by the way, I've found my new favorite fall scent, thanks to you!) The dresses were very clean, unwrinkled, did not appear worn-looking - no snags, etc. It comes with a return UPS envelope. Easy. Peasy. The dress fit like a glove. It looked stunning. What more can I say? This is the first time I've rented from Rent The Runway. I'm now your biggest fan. I've been blabbing about this service on the Book o' Face to alllll my friends b/c I love this site so much!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2014
Cute....but felt funny...

The small was too tight on the hips, but perfect in bust...the medium kept slipping off my shoulder, felt like it was going to fall off so I decided not to wear it. I think if you have a bigger bust or broad shoulders it would work fine...still a RTR fan...just didn't have good luck on this one....

Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 25, 2014
A Party in the Back

The dress was amazing and made me feel amazing. It is totally covered up in the front but the back is unforgettable. I had random people stopping me in the hotel before going to our event asking about my dress. This one is forgiving through the midsection as well! You will not regret ordering this dress for a formal event.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 2, 2014
Awesome Dress

I am short so I did have to wear 5 inch heels. The dress is great. I loved how the back is such a surprise. Its comfortable and feels great.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2013
This dress is amazing!

The dress is beautiful! The XSR seemed a little too short to wear with 4-5" heels, however it was also a little snug. Called RTR and they shipped me SL - fit great! Hanna was a great help and I would recommend RTR to anyone.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2014
I was the belle of the ball! This dress is incredible!

This dress is a true show stopper with it's unique color blocking and bold blue! The material is very comfortable and the torso area is stretchy and unrestrictive. The sexy back was my favorite part of the dress. It wasn't too sassy for the military ball I was attending, but sexy with class. It fits true to size, and don't forget your pasties since you can't wear a bra! I was sad to send it back. I was overwhelmed with compliments that night and continue to get calls and texts..."where did you get that dress!?!?" Loooove it! Thank you RTR!!!

Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2014
Great cut and heavy material made the fit just as elegant as I'd hoped.

Very nearly didn't have the dress. There was an issue with the small long I had ordered as my back up size. RentTheRunway staff was incredibly accommodating and made it very easy to find a secondary option last minute. They even overnighted the order to ensure that I had it by the event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 29, 2014
Elegantly sexy!

Loved the fit. Felt gorgeous in it- the loose top allowed me to go no-bra without worry and the back was elegantly sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2014
This dress is amazing!!!!

This dress was amazing

Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Amazing dress!

This dress fell amazingly on my body. I am a curvy girl who is always self concious about my boobs and booty. This dress minimized and accentuated in all the right places. Best dress EVER!

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2014
The ordering of the dress was seamless. My dress came packaged beautifully. I ordered XS and SR.

The SR was the better fit and a tad longer. The dress flowed when I walked. The strap slid down when I took the photo of the back. The dress was perfect for the event I attended. The hemline of the dress was frayed. That section needs to be repaired or out of rotation. Luckily the lights were dim at the event. After the event I placed both dresses in the Labeled UPS package and dropped it in a UPS Dropbox. I would rent again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 20, 2015
Danced the night away

This dress was an emergency overnight dress when my first delivery went horribly wrong (terrible dress condition) But kudos to RTR customer service they were willing to overnight a new dress to my hotel (I was flying the next day to a destination wedding). I had limited options since I bought the bag and shoes based on the original dresses. The stylist was great and actually selected this one. Drawbacks were I couldn't wear anything underneath - I would have loved a bra or spanx. I also had to remove my silicon nipple covers after I saw them show up in a flash photo. But the best thing was it looked great, it was comfortable and I was able to dance the night away.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Love the dress and had great compliments all night.

I could've gone one size down but the dress fit well. I wore a 5 1/5 inch heels with 1.5 platform and the dress was slightly dragging but it was still gorgeous with the train....felt like I was on the runway!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 31, 2014
Felt great in this dress.

This dress was perfect! I went to a blacktie wedding in Boston and I received tons of compliments. It is very form fitting, but I loved that about it.

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2015
Made my night! I was 7 months pregnant at the time. Dress was still sexy and was so comfortable.

Pros: comfortable fit, don't even feel like you're in an evening gown. Cons: Can't wear a bra, ended up using double sided tape to cover the girl.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
September 28, 2015
My first rental...I was nervous, but all went well!

I decided at the very last minute to try my first rental on a very special wedding. I ordered on a Wednesday, it was waiting for me at my hotel by Friday. The additional size was unavailable, but this was my first choice so I still tried my luck. The dress is well made, great material and a real head turner. I received lots and lots of compliments. I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with the entire experience. I will be renting from now on.....

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2015
Comfortable and sexy!

The fit was great. I was 6 months pregnant at the time, so the dress was very bump friendly. The way the back opens is a little strange and off center, but it wasn't a problem.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
January 17, 2016
good fit

good fit

Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 26, 2016
Backless Beauty

The dress fit well, accentuated my curves! Got lots of compliments. Didn't have to commit to a full backless dress, but the peek was sultry!

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 26
February 23, 2016
Unique but hard to pull off

Based on reviews and sizing chart, I went with the small. This was an unflattering choice for my body type (very much hourglass- big butt and chest). The fabric is not forgiving- I felt very self-conscious all night. The back detail is beautiful, but the chain was missing on my dress so I had to tape the falling shoulder onto my body which was highly uncomfortable. If the dress clings to your chest, which for most chest sizes it will, you will absolutely need a sticky bra, which is also uncomfortable. As far as length, the regular was too short for my height (I wore normal heels, like three inches, and my toes and feet were visible. Would have been ok with flats. Got compliments, but wouldn't order again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was the best dress of the night!

I usually wear a small, but in this the XS just fit better overall. So many compliments on the back of the dress....It is gorgeous that way it falls. I wore it to a fundraising gala and it was perfect. I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 23, 2013
Party in the Back

This dress is beautiful! I got tons of compliments on it! I got the long dress but ended up wearing shorter shoes than I had planned on so It was a little too long on me which was a bummer. But all in all, I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2014
A stunner! So many compliments!

My friends know I am an RTR girl, and this dress did not disappoint! They couldn't wait to see what I would wear to our New Year's Eve event, and this dress was a huge hit. I wore an adhesive bra (strapless, backless C-cup), since a regular or strapless bra is not an option. The fabric was flattering. However, I didn't get any really good photos of the dress. This one shows a little of the back, at least.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
July 12, 2014
The dress was gorgeous! Very flattering and I loved the open back! I got tons of compliments!

It fit well. Normally I wear medium, but I went with a small. For a woman with curves it fit well. The back was low but not annoying. The only annoying thing was having to wear a backless sticky bra! I wish I could keep this one!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2014
Overall this dress was a big HIT with the unexpected lower blue back :)

I wore a backless black bra with this dress and had no issues. I did have to wear a lower heel about 3' so the dress could touch the floor. I absolutely LOVED how it hugged my body in all the right places.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2013
THe entire process was simply AMAZING!

This entire process was simply AMAZING easy user friendly and even when I made the mistake of entering my event date as my arrivel date emailed with the problem they got back with me within hours fixed it and made everything perfect! I will contiue to use this site for all my future events! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2013
the fit was spectacular!

It was so easy to get into, and all was needed was someone to clasp the chain in the back. Love it!

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2013
Great dress, fit like a glove!

I wore this dress to a black tie event when I was 6 months pregnant and it was amazing! The material is stretchy and forgiving, so I felt beautiful even with a bump. I would wear this dress again when I'm not pregnant because it's so flattering. I'm 5'3" and the size small with 4 inch heels was perfect.

BeaApril 26, 2013
Hi, can you tell what bra you wore with this? I'm also 6 months pregnant.
NatalieApril 26, 2013
Hello - I wore this http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/nordstrom-intimates-ultra-light-nubra/3231585?origin=category-personalizedsort&contextualcategoryid=0&fashionColor=&resultback=390&cm_sp=personalizedsort-_-browseresults-_-1_1_B
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 13, 2013
It was a prefect fit and a head turner.

Received many complements

Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2013
LOVED IT!!!

This dress fit like a glove. I felt beautiful in it and it was a hit!!!! many comments on how beautiful it was.

Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 22, 2014
Unique, stylish, comfortable, and flattering.

This dress was so easy to wear and draped beautifully. I wore a nubra with it and 3 in black pumps. You couldn't see my shoes at all. I got compliments all night, it's such a nice change from the standard black and sequins, very fashion forward. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
comfortable elegance!

i wore this dress to a formal affair in the middle of my 2nd trimester of pregnancy & it fit great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
July 21, 2014
Great dress!

Need a strapless bra but love and fits great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
November 5, 2014
Unique dress

Black and navy combos are very in this year. The fit of the dress was very good and it was quite unique.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×