BCBGMAXAZRIA

That Kind Of Connection Gown

$90 rental
$338 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy open back style by BCBGMAXAZRIA will elongate your silhouette and accentuate your curves in all the right places! Shown on front image with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Erickson Beamon's Transformer Crystal Burst Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12. Two lengths available.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12. Two lengths available.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black and cobalt matte jersey (73% acetate; 20% nylon; 7% spandex). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Cowl back with gold chain detail. Straight skirt with ruching at waist. See size and fit tab for details. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

73 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 66
Large 6
Photos 49
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Wow! Possibly my favorite of 4 RTR rentals so far.

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. Everyone loved this dress. I was nervous renting this one at first for a few reasons. 1) No one had reviewed it yet, 2) I wasn't sure the front would be flattering since there was not a straight on picture, 3) I was worried it would end up looking like a big tent. This dress was so flattering. The jersey is a nice heavy jersey so it hangs beautifully. It skimmed over my hips just right and made me look thinner than I actually am. Obviously the back is amazing; that's why they show that first in the pictures. It's asymmetrical so doesn't drape down the center of your back but off to one side rather. The shoulders can be worn straight across like a boat neck but I found it more flattering to wear just off one shoulder. It's edgy for sure. The drape in the back is not so low that you need to be concerned you're giving anyone a free show. Lastly, I am just under 5'6 and wore 3.5 inch heels. I am SO glad I ordered the long. Last time I was on the fence about ordering regular or long and wished all night I had gotten long. Great dress! I know people always say they hate returning a dress but this one is actually a reasonable price so I may have to purchase it.
Dorrise
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Beautiful Classy Dress

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It was simply elegant in the front and sexy in the back. Perfect fit. I received a ton of compliments. The dress did fall of the shoulder a bit.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Interesting dress, but too "off-center" for me

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to love this dress & I liked it fine, but I didn't love it...I ended up wearing another one. It did fit well & was very comfortable - however, the asymmetrical design was just too strange for me (& I do like asymmetry in dresses, usually). I felt that it looked slightly off-center...but not enough that it was obvious that it was done on purpose. I couldn't figure out a good way to wear it so it looked right. Also, the material is very clingy around the hips, which can be good or bad, depending on your preference. The R length ended up being perfect for me, even with tall heels...so had I worn the dress, I would have been glad I didn't get the L.
Terri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

THe entire process was simply AMAZING!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This entire process was simply AMAZING easy user friendly and even when I made the mistake of entering my event date as my arrivel date emailed with the problem they got back with me within hours fixed it and made everything perfect! I will contiue to use this site for all my future events! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

the fit was spectacular!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was so easy to get into, and all was needed was someone to clasp the chain in the back. Love it!
NONNA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

THIS DRESS IS AMAZING!!!!!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I WORE THIS BEAUTIFUL DRESS TO A FOX HUNT BALL. EVERY PERSON I TALKED TO THAT EVENING, TOLD ME WHAT A WONDERFUL GOWN I WAS WEARING. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO MY NEXT EXPERIENCE WITH RTR. I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH THE TIME OF DELIVERY AND VERY VERY EASY RETURN.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'7", 34C, and the XS fit like a glove. The small was too large and baggy. I love that this dress looked a little plain from the front, but when you turned around, "Bam!" I had so many compliments on it! It was very comfortable and easy to dance in.
Natalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Apr 26, 2013

Great dress, fit like a glove!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie event when I was 6 months pregnant and it was amazing! The material is stretchy and forgiving, so I felt beautiful even with a bump. I would wear this dress again when I'm not pregnant because it's so flattering. I'm 5'3" and the size small with 4 inch heels was perfect.
Charlene
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
May 13, 2013

It was a prefect fit and a head turner.

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received many complements
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Jun 3, 2013

Received great compliments all night long! Great fit. You will need a backless, strapless bra.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
N/A
ps24
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

gorgeous draping

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this dress -- it was my second style for an event. The reason I opted against it was because the low back seemed slightly inappropriate for my event (a work function honoring my boss). But I wish I had occasion to wear it! The dress fits beautifully --- not clingy, not too lose, just right. the "straps" at the top can be arranged to create a scoop neck or more of a boat neck, both look fabulous. There is a piece of fabric that wraps around your waist (the edge of is slightly visible under the draped back) that keeps everything in place ---it probably would not slip at all. the fabric is a bit thin, so underwear might be tricky. The wrinkles that show in the official RTR photos on the bum do appear --- I had trouble getting rid of that wrinkle, which I thought was slightly awkward. But overall, a gorgeous dress. Would've been great with about four inch heels.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 23, 2013

a lot of compliments on the back

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it fit true to size and was comfy while being sexy at the same time
Diony
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2013

LOVED IT!!!

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. I felt beautiful in it and it was a hit!!!! many comments on how beautiful it was.
yaayet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Oct 11, 2013

Greta dress

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
beautiful dress, wore it to blue, black and white party. Very flattering. Only thing was the shoulders were tad too heavy, bc of the chain, so I was worried about slipping off.. Nothing that a body tape couldn't fix.
Nicole
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 25, 2013

It was a beautiful dress. It was an exceptional fit and totally amazing.

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for a gala that I attended. Nothing but compliments.
Jessalynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 16, 2013

Stunning but kept falling.

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved the idea of this dress but don't recommend it for a night of dancing. The material is very heavy and I kept having to hike it up all night. You also need perky boobs to make this work (mine are less so after two kids) bc there is no way to wear a bra. If you are going to be standing around mingling all night this could work.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

Amazing dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event, but in the end, wore my second choice...Nicole Miller Lady in Waiting dress. I ordered this dress in both a 4 & 6. The 4 fit very loosely and kept falling off of my shoulder when I first tried it on. With the exposed back, very much a "statement" dress!
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Unique, stylish, comfortable, and flattering.

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so easy to wear and draped beautifully. I wore a nubra with it and 3 in black pumps. You couldn't see my shoes at all. I got compliments all night, it's such a nice change from the standard black and sequins, very fashion forward. Loved it!
Danielle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Such a simple, stunning dress. Unique and eye-catching. I received many compliments!

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hugs in all the right places with a great stretchy material that is very forgiving. Because it is black in the front, you get all of the slimming effect of a LBD with a surprise twist when you turn around. The chain adds an edgy, unique touch. The fit of the dress is slightly askew at the top and over time one of the straps came slightly down my shoulder. I am not sure if it was supposed to do this but it looked good that way too.
Eily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Stunning dress

Size worn: LR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is fantastic. The draping is incredibly flattering, and the back is absolutely stunning. Added bonus: I was able to wear it with a super-low backed bra, once I removed one of the straps. I received compliments all night. The medium was out of stock, so I went with the large, even though it was a little big.
K8
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

I loves this dress! Very chic and comfortable! The back is gorgeous as well.

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material drapes beautifully and makes the sizing/body type very versatile
L.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

comfortable elegance!

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i wore this dress to a formal affair in the middle of my 2nd trimester of pregnancy & it fit great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jun 24, 2014

The back

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress didn't come w the shown gold chain. I had to see my own necklace in to act as a connector. It seemed to work just fine. The fit is flattering and comfortable.
aawalden
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Didn't end up wearing bc it ran short and had an odd fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hugs hug loose on waist and shorter than expected
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Unusual and sophisticated dress!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am petite, and have a difficult time finding dresses that fit without alterations.This is a lovely dress, but just too big for my frame. With the slinky material, the shoulders kept slipping off. I had to stand up really straight all night, if that shoulder came off, the whole dress would be in a puddle on the floor. I wore 5 inch platforms and still found I had to pick it up occasionally to walk, it was grazing the floor. It is also sheer and thin fabric, so I had to wear spanx underneath for a smooth line and a sticky bra. so you couldn't see through the top. It is lovely and very unusual, and the material is very fluid. Someone told me I looked like I was floating when I walked. I think if it had been a bit smaller (or I would have been a bit taller), I would I have liked it more, but it was a bit sack-like on me. Loved the color, style and fabric, simply too big!
Deanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Need a strapless bra but love and fits great!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

the back was gorgeous... and this is a curve hugging dress.

Size worn: LR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
definitely can't wear a bra with a back. the length of the LR was perfect for my 5'8" height and 4 inch heels. i preferred the fit of the large to the medium, mostly because of the length.
beshou
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 29, 2014

the fabric is sheer and unforgivable.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
did not wear it.
Shannon
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Felt great in this dress.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! I went to a blacktie wedding in Boston and I received tons of compliments. It is very form fitting, but I loved that about it.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

flattering and comfortable dress; very unique lots of compliments

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a small and I am fitting into 6s these days. I highly recommend this dress, it is beautiful, unique, and comfortable.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

This dress is fantastic and I highly recommend.

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
All BCBG dresses run large from my experience so I ordered a small and medium but typically wear an 8 in dresses. This dress was perfect at the high neck in the front balances the low and sexy back of the dress. The dress was sexy but tasteful and comfortable to move in all night.
Caryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Incredible dress!! Was sad to send it back!!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wow. That sums up my experience in one word. First off, were it not for these reviews, I would have never used this service. What made it so simple was that I found people of my same build and read their reviews, so that I was assured the dress would fit me properly. So, THANK YOU to all the reviewers!! You make this site what it is!! Now, for the dress. It arrived on time, along with the next size up that I ordered, Packaged nicely, and it even came with a little bag of perfume/hair samples!!! (Which, by the way, I've found my new favorite fall scent, thanks to you!) The dresses were very clean, unwrinkled, did not appear worn-looking - no snags, etc. It comes with a return UPS envelope. Easy. Peasy. The dress fit like a glove. It looked stunning. What more can I say? This is the first time I've rented from Rent The Runway. I'm now your biggest fan. I've been blabbing about this service on the Book o' Face to alllll my friends b/c I love this site so much!!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

Cute....but felt funny...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The small was too tight on the hips, but perfect in bust...the medium kept slipping off my shoulder, felt like it was going to fall off so I decided not to wear it. I think if you have a bigger bust or broad shoulders it would work fine...still a RTR fan...just didn't have good luck on this one....
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×