BCBGMAXAZRIA

Caia Pleated Gown

$180 to buy
$448 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Your black gown gets a makeover in this sultry style by BCBGMAXAZRIA. Perfectly placed cut-outs and lace will give you a black tie look for the modern lady! For a fashion-forward ensemble pair with Alexis Bittar's Onyx Skyscraper Drops.

Also available in blue and contrasting blues.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline with illusion lace cut-outs. Sheer full skirt with black grosgrain ribbon at waist. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Partially lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
90 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(13)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Such a classic dress! The description isn't lying when it says the waist of the dress is fitted (there is no give in the fabric here). I was able to wear a regular strapless bra without it showing in the back. Overall, gorgeous and you will get compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 17, 2014
Great dress, very flattering and pretty comfy.
This 2R fit great, although I typically wear a 0 and it wasn't available. I was pleasantly surprised! I received lots of compliments all night. I'd definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2014
Loved it!
I'm 5'9 and weight about 150; this dress was perfect in length, size, and was extremely flattering. I could wear a regular nude bra due to the nude sheer layer under the cut out portion. It was great!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 15, 2014
Beautiful.
Was way too small.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2014
Comfy and elegant
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. It was comfortable and I received many compliments :) I am 5'7 and got the long but probably could have gone either way, just depends what you like.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 26, 2014
Absolutely stunning!!!!!
This dress is phenomenal. It was perfect for my university's Senior Ball at Chelsea's Pier. I recommend if you live near a RTR showroom that it is a must. I have a larger bust and dresses don't always fit like I would want. Went to the midtown location and had an absolute blast finding the perfect dress! This dress was amazing and I received MANY compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2014
Very flattering with lace cutouts and a flowy bottom perfect for the dance floor
Opted to wear a different dress because I was afraid it would've been stepped on. I didn't have taller heels to prevent it from grazing the floor. When I tried it on, I paired it with a skinny gold belt. It was lovely and I loved it!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 13, 2014
Not only elegant & sexy but comfortable as well.
I absolutely love this dress and received so many compliments on the dress. It was the perfect combination of class and sexy. I generally wear size 2 dresses but the size 2 was sold out. I went with the 4P which ended up being very comfortable. Although it was not a tight fit around my waist no one would have noticed. I'm 5'2" and wore 3.5 inch heels. The dress just hit the floor perfectly. It's hard to send this dress back as I received so many compliments in it (even from the bride herself). I would recommend this dress and rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress! It was absolutely gorgeous and made me feel like a million bucks!
The dress is very true to size. I have a small chest and the top definitely fit just perfectly. If you have a larger chest, I would recommend going up a size because there is no wiggle room! The dress was a tad long but at 5'3" and 3" heels it was just fine. The sheer panel is not very sheer but gave just the right amount of sexiness to the dress. The top lace portions of the dress had a nude lining so I was able to wear a nude strapless bra without it showing. I totally recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 19, 2014
Perfect for a wedding
This dress was unbelievably flattering. The bottom half is more sheer than you would think though, so that caught me off guard but it was still beautiful. I wore this dress with 5 inch heels and it was the perfect length, but any shorter than that and the dress would have been dragging on the ground, so caution for those 5'2" and under!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 27, 2014
Classy and Comfortable!
This gown is stunning. The pleated skirt is so flowy and swings beautifully when moving and dancing, the bodice completely covers in all the right places. For small-chested girls (likemaself), you won't even need a b-r-a. The length was absolutely perfect, just half an inch above the floor. I'm 5'7" and wore 3.5 inch heels, making me 5'10.5" - if you're shorter than that, go with regular or you'll be tripping on the very fine fabric skirt. I couldn't count how many complements I received at this black tie wedding! This dress is the perfect balance between sexy, classy and comfortable. Highly, highly recommend for a formal affair!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 28, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was elegant and feminine. I wish I owned it!
Fits beautiful, I thought it would be a bit small but from reading the reviews I went with a 2R and it fit like a glove. Beautiful material and elegant design. Highly recommend for a formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 2, 2014
Too small
Too small in the bust area.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2014
Great gown with the perfect balance of formal and edge. Very comfortable.
Fit is true to size. Would wear again!
STEPHANIEJuly 21, 2015
did you have issues with the girls?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 8, 2014
Great customer service, dresses in perfect shape!
I am 5'2 ½ and the 4P was almost too short. I had to wear flats for the dress to touch the ground. Also, the waist was tight and not at all stretchy! I am a 34 C and didn't have to wear a bra so that was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
November 10, 2014
Beautiful!
I wore the 6R even though it was just slightly long because it fit better than the 8P overall. A 6P probably would have been perfect but it was unavailable. Stunning dress, super comfortable, photographed beautifully. This is a perfect dress for someone with a fuller bust because it's flattering without cleavage. I also found the dress very slimming.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 15, 2014
Compliments from everyone at the wedding!
Gorgeous gown, excellent fit, a few snags in the fabric but nothing noticeable. Wore to a black tie wedding and was complimented by everyone on how elegant and beautiful I looked. Aside from being very comfortable I felt beautiful and sexy without showing a lot of skin. Would definitely recommend! Note: I usually wear a 4 vs 2 b/c of a larger rib cage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2014
Incredibly flattering and elegant! My boyfriend said he felt like he was with a supermodel!
Perfect for a more conservative event where you still want to look sexy! The light fabric moves really well and is fun to dance with. The sheer look is very subtle and looks great. Can be a little static-y, but that's easily resolved with a bit of hairspray. The slip underneath is a bit short while sitting. I ordered it in the size 2 and 4 and i was surprised that both fit (the 2 was a bit more snug around the waist, but still comfortable enough to wear).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2014
Contemporary but classic for charity gala.
This dress is very elegant, and the sheer/lace sections make it sexy without being too over the top. Note the lace detail isn't as sheer as it appears in the picture, there is a relatively thick nude lining behind it. I wore the 4L, because I wasn't able to get a 6L on time. The dress is very snug in the waist area and I probably would have worn the 6 had I gotten it, however it wasn't too big of an issue. Definitely no room for a bra if you are chestier, although I'm not sure if there is a bra that would work under this. I'm 5'9" and wore 3" heels, and the dress (in the long option) just barely skimmed the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 22, 2014
Fun to Dance In this Dress!
I wore this dress to an evening wedding and it was almost perfect! I say almost perfect, because the waistband was very unforgiving which is why I wore the wide belt to cover up the fact I was practically being squeezed into this dress like a sausage...the length was perfect for me, I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels but the dress did not drag on the floor at all. The skirt was fun to play with on the dance floor too and I got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
November 11, 2014
Beautiful, fun dress!
I loved this dress! It is perfect for a formal wedding or event. The cut outs on the front and back are black lace but lined with a sheer nude mesh under- it gives the cutaway illusion with much more comfortable coverage. I opted for a backless stick-on bra but I think you could probably get away with a strapless. The pleated skirt is great, it has lots of fun movement. The material definitely has no give- I would typically wear a size 2 but went up because the bust was too tight. This was my first RTR rental and I was very satisfied. I bought shoes for this dress and selected the heel height based on their suggestion given the length of the dress and my height- they were spot on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
December 2, 2014
Drop-dead-GORGEOUS dress!
I loved this dress so much. Very true to size. I am 6'1" so I ordered the tall. I wore heels and still did not feel like it was too short. The skirt material is very soft and flows behind you as you walk. I got so many compliments and felt classy yet sexy. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2014
Nothing but compliments all night
I was a little nervous ordering this dress since my back-up size was unavailable but was so glad I went for it! I don't think I have ever received more compliments on something I've worn. Strangers were pulling me aside all night to let me know how much they loved the dress and even the day after, people remembered it. I will note that as some others have mentioned, it is really long and you definitely need a sticky bra on hand for this dress (or you can honestly forego a bra altogether) . I wore 3.5" heels with this dress, which made it the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
December 9, 2014
Beautiful long dress
This is a gorgeous dress. I had tried it on in another color at Bcbg, but would recommend ordering it blind as it is very flattering. My suggestion is to fit it to your top well as you can't wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2014
Amazing dress- fit like a glove
Fit true to size and was in perfect condition. Easily wore a nude strapless bra. It was a sexy yet classy dress for a black tie wedding. Only con- 6R was too short for the shoes I planned to wear. I'm 5'4" and planned to wear 6in platform pumps but it was too short. I ended up having to wear 3-4 inch heels for the dress to barely skim the ground.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
March 27, 2015
Looooved this! One of my favorites!
This dress fit so well and was such a sexy alternative to a regular black dress. The top was sexy but still classy. The dress flowed beautifully and the length was perfect. I was sad to take this off at the end of the night. Dont mind my husband in the photo, he thought it was cute trying to pose like me ;-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2015
Elegant and swishy skirt!
A little long for me but I was able to pull it off with high shoes. Skirt was beautifully swishy when you walk! Had lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2015
Really pretty, but runs a little tight/small!
This dress was so fun and perfect for my engagement pictures! The skirt underneath and the band around the waist run small and were fairly tight on me - I ended up wearing a size 8 whereas I normally wear a 6. I was able to wear it without a bra. Overall, I'm really happy I chose it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2014
Such a gorgeous elegant gown! Didn't want to give it back!
This dress was amazing. Hands down. I actually ordered it as my back up gown but my first choice wasn't what I wanted so I wore this dress and it was so perfect. The skirt looks so elegant on and made me look so much taller than I actually am (5'4"). I wore it with about 3.5-4 inch heels. The skirt is not as sheer as it looks on the model but moves beautifully and adds just the right amount of pop to the dress. The top for wonderfully and the belt at the middle helped to make my waist look itty bitty. The top definitely made me feel secure but I wore a backless bra just in case. If anyone is worried about the lace, there is a nude mesh lining underneath so it is definitely not completely sheer. I 100% recommend this dress to anyone who needs a formal gown! Loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2015
glamorous; loved the lace details.
i wore this dress to my boyfriend's brother's wedding and wanted to wear something that wasn't "too sexy", but that i still felt pretty in. i received compliments all night! the lace panels are lined with nude fabric so you're not showing too much skin, and i love that you can get away with not wearing a bra if you're smaller-chested. you can't really tell in photos, but the opaque lining of the skirt is mid-thigh length underneath the full-length chiffon, which i thought was a really pretty touch. i wore it with heels during the day and changed into sandals for the reception and it looked great with both; however, keep in mind that you can see your shoes through the sheer fabric so wear some cute ones!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2015
Gorgeous dress, perfect for evening formal wedding
Love this dress. Great fit. Love the shear flowy shirt and the cut out/shear design on the top. The fit was perfect for my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 29, 2015
Beautiful dress! I got so many compliments
The size 2 fit me perfectly, unfortunately the regular length wasn't available. I wore 5" heels for the ceremony and photos but then ended up going barefoot for the reception and safety pinning it up. I was able to wear a strapless nude bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2014
The dress was amazing!
The dress fit wonderfully and I got so many compliments on it. Unfortunately the size 6 was damaged so I only got my back-up size 8, but except for the bust area there were no problems for fit. I wore a basic adhesive bra with it, but the bust was still a little big. You couldn't really tell with the fabric crossing in the front though. Because of my height, I ordered a long and dress was the perfect length with 4 inch heels. The fabric flows beautifully and the hint of lace is revealing, but still classy. I definitely recommend it and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 154lbs
March 24, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
The dress was gorgeous! I'm a short girl, so I wore some nice heels that kicked me up making the dress to flow perfectly. This dress is also perfect for busty girls, it conceals graciously the breast area. I felt like a Greek goddess!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Amazing dress for black tie affair.
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was formal/black tie optional, and my boyfriend was the best man, so I wanted wear something special. This dress was a hit. It felt amazing on - super comfortable and flattering - and I received so many compliments. Plus it was great to dance in with the flowing skirt. The 4 Long allowed me to wear pretty high heals (5 1/4") which was perfect. I wish I had a full-body picture. I almost cried when I had to send it back.
KathrynMay 17, 2014
Maura - were you able to wear a bra with this dress?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
June 16, 2014
It was so beautiful. The perfect dress for the evening.
Ran a touch small, but the 6 was perfect! I had 5 in heels, which were perfect for the 6R.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 15, 2014
Perfect for a black tie optional wedding
The fit was amazing! The 8P was perfect and worked well with 3 inch heels. No necklace needed- looked great with some statement earrings. Did not want to return it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
Felt amazing in this dress! Rent it now!! Soooo many compliments... May run a tad small.
A tad tight around waist and a little long ... But sooooooo worth it!! BEAUTIFUL !!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
January 5, 2015
STUNNING! And looks EXPENSIVE!
I wore this dress at a wedding and I love how stunning this looks on me. It looks expensive, sexy, and definitely a head-turner. I was worried about the fitting because I'm a regular size 4 but only 4P was available and even though it's a bit tight on top, it was still wearable. If you are flat chested like me and want to wear a bra, you can still wear a convertible bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
January 25, 2015
Very flattering dress that is surprisingly comfortable to wear, great dress for a black tie event
Found out shortly before my event that my usual size 2 was not available. RTR sent me some additional back-up dresses, but I found that the size 4 was only a bit loose and went with my original dress. I wore it with 3" heels and the length was perfect. The top and neckline are very flattering and comfortable, and the bottom flows beautifully. The only con is that you have to be careful when taking pictures with flashes because of the short underlayer and sheer skirting- some of the professional photographs with bright flash were not very flattering because of how the layers sit in different positions. A great dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×